Adrian Loveridge

If the media reporting on the recently selected board members of the newly formed Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc is accurate then I have to express enormous surprise at the apparent absence of a senior impartial member of the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association. It is almost inconceivable that you could not include someone who has a vested financial interest in the sector with proven experience and that would contribute to how the island is marketed. To me it raises the question of what is the purpose of the board.

Is it there to ensure due diligence, accountability and that monies are spent in the most cost effective and productive way or is it simply for political window dressing. If a sufficient number of members of the board are devoid of hands-on experience in marketing a product like a destination, how can it possibly judge if the persons actually managing the entity are doing a good job. Looking at some of the other tourism boards across the region ‘we’ appear to be moving away from the model that other holiday competitors are using successfully to generate increased visitor arrivals and spend.

There are also several other issues. Surely this is a time when all vested interests should be working closely together to maximise results. According to recent media reports and documents contained on the website of the Inter-American Development Bank a loan of US$20 million (BA-L1033) is being negotiated with Government for the stated ‘objective to promote tourism, trade and investment between Barbados and Latin America’.

I could find no mention of a repayment period or interest rate and perhaps this will be revealed to the taxpayer in the due course of time. Latin America currently supplies a tiny fraction of our overall number of long stay visitors, one wonders where the promotional funds will be sourced for our four highest performing markets, the UK, USA, Caribbean and Canada.

I urge all those in tourism to carefully read the IADB Project Document proposal for this loan. Conclusions reached included a ‘resulting decline of arrivals and receipts from key markets over the period 2007 to 2012 both cruisers and stay over arrivals declined 16 per cent and 6.3 per cent respectively, while tourism receipts dropped 24 per cent and its (Barbados) market share in the American region was reduced (21.4 per cent for expenditure and 17.4 per cent for international stay over visitors’.

Bearing in mind these sobering facts, again it is difficult to understand the logic behind not pooling every available resource, both in terms of finance and expertise. Without a non-aligned BHTA presence on the BTMI board, what is going to become of the Tourism Fund, launched by former President Wayne Capaldi in 2003? I understand the voluntary contributions raised by this fund helped co-promote many initiatives that were derived from BHTA/BTA collaborate efforts.

We have an incredible opportunity to change the way we do business in tourism with the formation of the BTMI. Let everyone of us who have a passion in the industry hope that this fortuity will not be squandered by a lack of vision and the very best use of all available talent.

Following last week’s column about the possible future of Fairmont Royal Pavilion, the Toronto based group’s Director of Public Relation’s Mike Taylor was kind enough to arrange a meeting with the new acting General Manager, Tim Morrison, more about their plans soon.

36 responses to “The Composition of the Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc Board”

1. […] The Composition of the Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc Board […]

2. Mr Watson Parkinson Avatar
    Mr Watson Parkinson

No surprise there, just look at the state of West Indies cricket… Where are the great players of the past in helping…! They’re were deliberately ignored in favour of people who knows NOTHING about the beauty game of cricket…! Germany should be an example to us!

3. Mr Watson Parkinson Avatar
    Mr Watson Parkinson

The time for Affrimative action is now…! If you’re not qualified for the job you should not be employed to do it… It’s all about who you know in Barbados…!

4. If you expect any sort of sense to come from the charlatans allegedly running this country you are sadly deluded.
    Is there one Authority or one Ministry or one public body that is run and staffed by those that are qualified?
    It seems that the qualification that is required is to be friends with, have a favour owed by or otherwise have some hold over the person doling out the jobs.

5. @ Adrian who wrote “a senior impartial member of the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association.”

What exactly do you mean by impartial?

I would think that a member of the association would be focused on the needs of said association.

How about the BHTA present their ideas to the BTMI through you column and on BU?

I presenting mine right now for free. My program is called

Slam tar BTMI or should it be “Hit de road BTMI”.

Hope to see a BTMI stannin up longside a display in de eaton centre.

get my dfif?

Lawson an Pat would like to see one in a mall in ottawa too.

6. Not a good day for tourist in Barbados today. The rain, the rain.

7. @ David,

Smart hoteliers would have all day “happy hour”.Mount gay at half price to compensate for the rain.

8. Adrian/David

I posted the following in the Minister Chris Sinckler’s Press Conference blog, and thought I should post it here to ensure you see it and to hopefully get Adrian’s feedback.

This past weekend DD attended the Zoomer Show in Toronto, an exhibition of vendors promoted by the Canadian Association of Retired People (CARP) and directed at the 45+ demographic. Most attendees appeared to be retired people, or those approaching retirement.

See http://www.zoomershow.com/events/toronto2014/

Included among the exhibitors were a variety promoters selling vacations and vacation/second homes in such sunny destinations as Florida, Dominican Republic, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Nicaragua, etc.

Toronto FM radio station The New Classical had a booth, which was shared by BTMI. Visitors to the booth could enter a contest to win “a 7 night trip for two to the Classical Pops Music Festival in sunny Barbados”, via Air Canada with accommodation at Bougainvillea Beach Resort.

See https://www.facebook.com/zoomershow/photos/a.10150318989437503.339118.347998647502/10152446895907503/?type=1

It was good to see a BTMI representative at the booth chatting up attendees who dropped by the booth, promoting Barbados and passing out promotional material, including Bougainvillea brochures.

DD has no political affiliation; so says without political bias – Congats to BTMI for taking part in the show and waving the flag for Barbados tourism.

BUT, where were the other private sector hoteliers apart from Bougainvillea.

They complain that the cash-strapped Government is not doing enough to promote tourism; but none of them used the Zoomer Show to promote their properties to a targeted audience of thousands of retired people in the third largest tourism source market who attended the three-day show.

To those who complain; get off your butts and promote yourselves.

9. Thanks DD, good to learn Barbados was represented. It would be interesting to get feedback from local hoteliers why they passed knowing that Canada is a good source market. They can’t criticise Sandals and play passive.

10. Good job BTMI.

A lot of people over 50 do not use the internet as much as these pre geriatrics on BU. lol

It is important to do road shows and interact with the over 50s.

11. Adrahn,
    man yuh does bus muh brain.
    Mus be yuh pas yuh prime.
    Res yuhsef man .
    Yuh gine up yuh sef boxy.

12. As if changing boards or splitting into two could be the answer. What a bunch of nonsense.

13. @ Answer
    …rearranging the deck chairs on the Titanic.
    Don’t be surprised if they have a big concert soon to distract the bowls while they sneak off to the lifeboats….

14. An interesting read:

Degree or No Degree

October 28, 2014

By Ry Rivard

“She is able to penetrate that culture and that’s of tremendous assistance,” Catanzaro said.

Haynes is originally from Barbados. The questions over her degree had temporarily jeopardized her visa to work in the United States, Goldsmith said.

The Tennessee Board of Regents expanded an annual audit of the college once it heard questions about Haynes’s hiring, Catanzaro said.

15. “This month, Duquesne retroactively awarded Haynes her degree after it “concluded that Ms. Haynes should appropriately have been awarded her degree in 2005 based on the curriculum she completed,” according to a Duquesne spokeswoman.

Now, she also has another title: chief innovations officer.

Catanzaro said her job was to help build an entrepreneurial culture at Chattanooga State. He said, among other things, that she’s working with the University of West Indies in Barbados to bring Barbadians to Chattanooga.”

WHY IS THIS WOMAN OF INTEREST TO BU ?

16. Was watching Jeopardy tonight and Barbados was one of the answers, of course our household got the correct answer 🙌 but none of the contestants did 😢.

17. BTMI Board of Directors named

10/14/2014

The Ministry of Tourism and International Transport yesterday announced the appointments of persons to serve on the Board of Directors of the Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc. (BTMI) and the Barbados Tourism Product Authority (BTPA) as follows:

Effective October 16th, 2014, the composition of the Boards will be:

BTMI – Alvin Jemmott (Chairman), Nicholas Brancker (Deputy Chairman), Kevin Yearwood, Cecil Miller, Anthony Arthur, Kashka Haynes, Permanent Secretary, (Tourism) Ministry of Tourism and International Transport, CEO, National Cultural Foundation (NCF)

BTPA – Cecil Miller (Chairman), Dr. Sherma Roberts (Deputy Chairman), Alvin Jemmott, Anthony Arthur, Kashka Haynes, PS, (Tourism) Ministry of Tourism and International Transport, Exec. V.P., Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association, (BHTA), General Secretary, Barbados Workers’ Union (BWU)

In the meantime William “Billy” Griffith, a Barbadian and a former Director of Tourism of the Bermuda Department of Tourism, takes up office from today as Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc. (BTMI)
    The Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Barbados Tourism Product Authority (BTPA) will be announced in due course.

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=local&NewsID=39369

18. @David,

I am disappointed for reasons you would understand. lol

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2014/10/29/new-tourism-heads

19. @Hants

Close enough.

20. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

David, This is absolutely ludicrous. Two seperate organisations with another SIXTY SIX (66) positons to be filled just for the marketing arm.
    What on earth are they all going to do? Compare this madness with a private sector marketing company with a similar budget. If there were another 66 people walking the streets promoting Barbados, perhaps it would make sense, but purely for administration and paper pushing?

And to answer the doubting persons who question the hoteliers commitment. Of course they have to do more. We ALL have to do more, which is why some of us donate hundreds of hours of our time FREE of charge without the benefit of per diem expenses.

21. @Adrian

How many were employed at the BTA before the change?

22. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

David, I believe around 130 in total.

23. The new Boards will be measured by the numbers over the next two years or so.

24. LOL
    The new Boards will be measured by the numbers over the next two years or so
    ++++++++++++++++
    What are these two boards intended to do that the original board could not do?

David, this is just bull shit. ….designed to baffle brains while these ministers accumulate valuable pension time…..

what numbers will you measure? …years to go before these MPs qualify for their pension?
    steupssss
    Bushie is calling for ANY PARTY to run in the next election on a single platform item….
    ALL MP Pensions will be nullified and treated on the same basis as senior civil servants…

25. Bush Tea

It amazes me how you seem to have the all solutions to all of the problems confronting the small island of Barbados, but yet Barbados is still on this perpetual road to decline. Now, any patriot who cares anything about his or her country, would seek avenues to address these shortcomings rather than run of his or her mouth incessantly, as though cheap talk is going to solve the country’s ills.

Moreover, if you claim to have all of the solutions to address the lack of foresightedness now being exhibited by the current administration, why don’t put your foot in the political waters? Or better yet, counsel someone who has the intellectual artifacts to do the job. Because at the end of the day your shallow words, are in route to the disposal container Bushie. And finally, someone once said that, “There three types of people in the world: those who make things happen (a very small minority), those who watch thing happen, and those who wonder what happened.” Bushie, brother, where do you fit into this equation? Now you know, there is a saying in the Military: “That if you want to lead men, you have to do so by example.” It is called active -participation Bushie.

26. We should give the new BTMI a chance to succeed.

Give the at least one year.

@ GEORGIE PORGIE,

There is hope for our continued enjoyment of Windies cricket.lol

http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci-icc/content/current/story/794451.html

27. Bush Tea

No more cheap talk ought to be the slogan here on BU.

My friend, it is profitable to find workable and practical solutions to address current shortcomings in the system, but it will call for Creative as well as Inventive thinkers Bushie. And that is where the focus ought to be rather than on negative critique which oscillates like a two edge sword. Now, where would our human civilization be today without the critical thinkers like: Galilea, Socrates, the Wright brothers, George Washington Carver, Sir Isaac Newton, and Albert Einstein and in our modern era, Mark Zuckerberg, Steve Jobs and Bill Gates? But, this kind of thinking brother calls for one to think outside of the box as well as to effectively utilize one Sociological imagination.

28. Manjak of My Lords Hill Avatar
    Manjak of My Lords Hill

Re Adrian/BTMI
    Had to read your post twice as one thought that you may have mis printed the numbers. Is there a kind of madness the afflicts the management of tourism in Barbados.
    You and a few others have been banging on for the past five years and more proposing what appears to be sensible solutions as to how the management of tourism can be better administered in Barbados. To the financial benefit of hoteliers/restaurants/workers in the industry and the state.
    It appears that throwing pearls to the swine (BLP/DLP) is essentially what you have been doing. Sweet Jesus it must be deeply depressing.

29. Cryus the Virus Avatar

Manjak

Adrian Loveridge was fired by Sealy in the most cruel manner, he then went to Cabinet and branded Loveridge as trouble maker and a board member who promoted his own self-internest above that of Barbados. THAT IS A FACT.
    Loveridge was told that the BTA board was being split and that he would be brought back to sit on the Marketing Board. No being too wise to the politics of Barbados, Mr. Loveridge was unaware that that was coded speak for “We are sending you to Siberia but here are few words to make you think you are no frozen to death”

30. The Barbados tourism product is doomed. …The numbers speak for themselves…twice as many people are more interested in who is screwing who up the ass…..

31. @ Cyrus

Adrian….
    Caswell…
    Jeff Broomes…. and many more..
    ……anyone who seriously seeks positive change, but who refuses to bend over prostrated before our political lords and masters will be vilified..
    ….and you could imagine that johnny named Dompey calling on Bushie to put down his whacker and go and bend down in front of his DLP /BLP friends….?
    ….he could only be a shiite….

Bushie will fall prostrated when and ONLY when BBE calls…and then all o’ wunna will see which God wunna serving…
    Until then, um is the whacker in wunna tail… ha ha ha

32. Numbers up for the Region, Barbados down.

http://www.caribbean360.com/news/caribbean-tourism-numbers-up-for-first-half-of-2014

It is ironic the MoT of Barbados leads the CTO.