Submitted by Check-this-Out (CTO)
St. Lucia Westjet
St. Lucia Westjet Ad

Both DLP and BLP manifestos included grand statements about what changes they will make to be more efficient and to stimulate tourism.

On February 18 BU family member Hants commented:

“Honourable mention. Every night for the past two weeks or so the BREAKFAST IN BARBADOS ad has been on prime time 6.30pm in Toronto. Nuff respect to the BTA.”

CTO has seen and heard the the TV and radio ads, and visited the 104.5 CHUM FM website. Same info is at Totally Barbados – The daily grand prize is return airfare for two to Barbados from Air Canada Vacations, One week at the gorgeous Tamarind by Elegant Hotels and $1,500 CDN spending money from CIBC Aerogold VISA Infinite.

Like Hants, CTO’s initial reaction was kudos to BTA – finally some Barbados promotion; particularly given the absence of BTA advertising in the Toronto media over the past several months. It is interesting to read the 2011 Totally Barbados article which includes the following

Radio Station 104.5 CHUM FM from Toronto is the number one radio station in Canada attracting a staggering 1.3 million listeners. For the last twenty-three years 104.5 CHUM FM have been broadcasting their morning show with Roger, Rick and Marilyn live from Barbados for one week every year. Now Darren B. Lamb has taken over from Rick with Roger, Darren and Marilyn.

The idea first came about when Irv Skinner, a Barbadian who was working at 104.5 CHUM FM suggested that they run a competition for listeners to win a trip to his Caribbean home of Barbados and that Roger Ashby, the breakfast show host should broadcast a show from here at the same time. The first broadcast from Barbados came from a property known back then as ‘Heywoods‘ as it was located on Heywood’s beach, now 23 years later Roger is back at the same property, which is these days known as ‘Almond Beach Village Beach Resort‘. That was back in 1986 and the interactive promotion has gone from strength to strength every year since.”

According to the promo material “Breakfast In Barbados is Toronto’s most famous trip giveaway.”  The 2013 contest sponsors are: 104.5 CHUM FM, Air Canada Vacations, Elegant Hotels Inc, Barbados Tourism Authority and CIBC. There are thirty-six (36) Prizes each consisting of a trip for two (2) to Barbados. Trip includes: round trip economy air fare for two (2) from Toronto; seven (7) nights accommodation (based on one (1) room, double occupancy) as chosen by the Contest Sponsors at their sole discretion; and, $1,500 spending money from sponsor CIBC Aerogold VISA Infinite and two (2) tickets to the special CHUM FM concert.

BUT, what are the costs of the giveaway, who is paying for the giveaway, and what are the benefits of the giveaways (other than to the lucky winners)?

CTO is no economist, financial analyst, or an authority in tourism matters (and certainly no deep thinking Hal Austin); so the following is an uneducated ball park guestimate at best, and assumptions maybe wildly inaccurate; but it does not look like a very good ROI.

The daily grand prize is return airfare for two to Barbados from Air Canada Vacations. One week at the gorgeous Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, With $1,500 CDN spending money from CIBC Aerogold VISA Infinite. Who is paying for Toronto’s most famous trip giveaway? Is CHUM FM paying – not likely – they are likely getting paid to conduct the promo which is being run to increase listeners. Air Canada – not likely – they may be providing discounted airfares, but complimentary? Tamarind (or Heywoods, Almond, Hilton etc before them), – providing free accommodation – don’t think so. CIBC – providing 36 X CDN $1,500.00 prepaid VISA card – CDN $54,000.00 – not a chance.

Who is paying the air fare, and accommodations for Roger, Darren and Marilyn (and their technicians’)? Who is paying the performance fees, air fare, and accommodations for the American entertainers (and their bands and technicians)? One has to assume BTA (the taxpayer who pays) is footing the bulk of the bill.

Assuming a total of 90 visitors in the 2013 BIB group (36 winners X 2 = 72 + Roger, Darren and Marilyn and crew + 2 featured American recording artists and bands and technicians), at a per visitor cost of CDN$2,500.00 for air fare and accommodation, plus 36X CDN$1,500.00 VISA cards; BIB 2013 would have a cost of approximately CDN$280,000.00.  NOTE no cost for performance fees for the American recording artists were included in cost gustimate.

Next assume that BTA covers half the cost – CDN$140,000.00, (which is likely conservative) and the other “sponsors” cover the other half. We are now in 2013, so for 28 years BTA (Barbados taxpayers who pay their taxes) has been funding the BIB promotion to send a group of lucky Canadians to Barbados for a week of sun and fun, including a concert featuring North American entertainers. Assuming the same numbers in 2013 dollars times 28 years the cost is CDN$3,900,000.00.

What, on the other hand, are the benefits?

Do the contest radio and TV promos create an interest in the listeners and viewers to take their next vacation in Barbados, and pay for it.  Maybe a few. Will any of the winners be so excited with their free trip to the Gem of the Caribbean that they return for a second, or third, or fourth vacation on their own dime.  Probably some; but how many – 10%, 20%, 50%, 100%?

For the purpose of this exercise, assume that 50% of the 2013 winners come back with a partner (total 36 visitors) for a week at a resort, at a cost of BDS$4,000.00 for accommodation and spend BDS$2,000,00, for a total spend of BDS$6,000.00 per visitor. VAT at 8.75% for the accommodations is BDS$350.00; and VAT at 17.5% on the other BDS$2,000.00 is BDS$350.00 for a total VAT of BDS$700.00; times 36 visitors = BDS$25,200.00.

So, for an outlay of BDS$280,000 (CDN$1400,000) for the BIB promo, with 50% visitor return rate Government (the taxpayer) would recover BDS$25,200 in VAT. CTO repeats he is no economist, financial analyst, or an authority in tourism matters, but from here BIB looks like a bad deal for Barbados taxpayers (who pay their taxes) so must be missing something.

Beyond the economics, I am puzzled at another issue with BIB. It is my understanding that Barbados has no shortage of internationally recognized recording artists to headline a concert, and whose performances would give the prize winners good reasons to come back to Barbados. Why then does the promoter (BTA) deem it necessary to include in its BIB package a concert featuring two American recording artists?

Just asking.

A couple of quotes:

Everyone has heard Albert Einstein’s “Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. In his column in the February 21 edition of Barbados Today Walter Edey quotes Peter Drucker saying “every organization must be prepared to abandon everything it does to survive” Both DLP and BPL manifestos included grand statements about what changes they will make to be more efficient and to stimulate tourism.

Unless the benefits of BIB to Barbadian taxpayers (who pay there taxes) can be demonstrated to exceed the costs; CTO suggests that BIB is a good place to start changing, after 28 years of doing the same old sale old.

Meanwhile, as BTA has been virtually invisible, apart from Toronto’s most famous trip giveaway promotion, in the Toronto media for the past several months; Saint Lucia Tourism has been partnering  full page and half page newspaper ads with Westjet Vacations  which appear in one or two Toronto newspapers once and sometimes twice a week to drive demand. CTO will not attempt a cost/benefit analysis of this campaign, but thinks it safe to say it is driving more demand than the giveaway. See copy of the Saint Lucia/Westjet ad.

You may want to look at an informative article titled Jamaica Tourism Arrivals From Canada Hit Record High in 2012 in Toronto weekly news magazine Pride targeted at the West Indian community.   It quotes Philip Rose, Regional Director for Canada of the Jamaica Tourism Board,  Sorry I could not cut and paste or link to the article.  Go to the website, click the Int’l News tab and scroll down to find article.  Suggest you go to the website to view the article ASAP, as I do not know if articles are taken down or archived when the new weekly edition is published.  Here is a profile of Philip Rose,     also Youtube video.   It might not be a bad idea for BTA to try to hire Mr Rose or someone else who can think outside the BTA box.

19 responses to “Toronto Breakfast in Barbados Promotion, Who Pays?”

1. @CTO

Maybe you need to factor a greater inflow from the 1.3 million listeners which CHUM FM is report to attract.

2. I hope someone is telling the lucky winners to leave their gold jewelry at home before they come.

A menace – Robberies of visitors for gold hurting tourism

Four daring daylight robberies of visitors in the space of a week have the chief of two popular hotels at his wits’ end.

And the leading hotelier has had enough.

He wants to see authorities take a fresh look at the cash-for-gold enterprise, a phenomenon he believes is the biggest threat to Barbados’ already struggling tourism industry.

Requesting anonymity, the chairman and managing director of the two South Coast hotels said he had already written the president of the Barbados Hotel & Tourism Association (BHTA) about it, but planned to raise it again at the next monthly meeting.

He revealed that on one day last week two guests were robbed of their gold jewellery at 11 a.m., and a couple days later innocent tourists using the popular Richard Haynes Boardwalk in Hastings, Christ Church, were also relieved of their precious metals.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/a-menace-robberies-of-visitors-for-gold-hurting-tourism/

3. David “Maybe you need to factor a greater inflow from the 1.3 million listeners which CHUM FM is report to attract.”

I don’t listen to CHUM but I watch TV along with
    CTV Ratings Alert – 6 Million Viewers

I have seen Bill Boards posted in Toronto (where I live ) advertising CHUM BIB.

David I hope you get a clearer picture of the Advertising value of this initiative and regardless of who originated it the BTA has been supporting it and should be given kudos for that.

4. Interesting that you have two contributors with similar nom de plumes “Check this out” and “Check it Out” and they are both into long winded speculative submissions.

On the one hand we have Loveridge with his weekly column lamenting the decrease in tourists visiting Barbados and his view of a seemingly inactive BTA and here where there is evidence that the BTA in association with other interested parties is actually doing something to alleviate the situation there is criticism about the costs. Visit a few websites string together a few numbers and we have a guru in the making.

Chum is part of a large media empire primarily of Radio and TV Stations and this contest is promoted on their media mainly within the Toronto area with winners from all over Southern Ontario. How much is that promotion worth? Yet I hear that someone hasn’t seen the Island promoted in newspapers but there is more than one way to skin a cat, some radio and TV more than makes up for an absence from the newspapers.

I don’t know what arrangements the sponsors have but each probably pays their fair share for this event, does anyone want to bet if Barbados steps away from this how soon will we see a Breakfast in Jamaica or St.Lucia etc.?

5. Check-This-Out Avatar

The purpose of the post is not to be negative, and create a battle of those of us concerned with the promotion of tourism in Barbados. Rather it is to encourage analysis of how Barbadian taxpayers money is being spend.

If doing the same thing over and over again is generating positive results – by all means keep the BIB promotionup..

If Peter Drucker is correct that “every organization must be prepared to abandon everything it does to survive”; it may be time to abandon BIB.after 28 years

@DAVID

Maybe you need to factor a greater inflow from the 1.3 million listeners which CHUM FM is report to attract.

Agree there will be some inflow; but really wonder how many attracted to the media exposure for Toronto’s most famous trip giveaway will be encouraged to vacation on Barbados on their own dime..

I too would hope to get a clearer picture of the Advertising value of this, radio, TV, Bill Board and online initiative.

@ Sargeant

CTO repeats that he is no economist, financial analyst, or an authority in tourism matters (and certainly no deep thinking Hal Austin); so the post is an uneducated ball park guestimate at best, and assumptions maybe wildly inaccurate; but from his crude analysis it does not look like a very good ROI.

Hope I am wrong.

6. @CTO

Bajans need to ask more question. Question away!

7. @Check-This-Out

6 million Television viewers and 1,3 million radio listeners every day for a month.

Now tell me what you think is likely to happen.

If you can’t figure it out ask Bushie,GP and David to help read an spell fuh yuh.

8. What would be interesting is to find out if the BTA has done surveys over the years to get some measurement as to the success of the CHUM initiative.

9. Check-This-Out Avatar
    Check-This-Out

“6 million Television viewers and 1,3 million radio listeners every day for a month”

“Now tell me what you think is likely to happen”

I would like to know what happens – in terms of tourist arrivals in Barbados.

I would also be interested to know the cost to the Barbadian taxpayers of “6 million Television viewers and 1,3 million radio listeners every day for a month”

Is it possible that the entire advertising/PR/promotional budget has been dedicated to Toronto’s most famous trip giveaway

10. @CTO
    CTO is no economist, financial analyst, or an authority in tourism matters (and certainly no deep thinking Hal Austin); so the following is an uneducated ball park guestimate at best, and assumptions maybe wildly inaccurate; but it does not look like a very good ROI
    The problem with “ball park guestimates” is that sometimes one is not even near the ball park and as for assumptions you know what they say about assuming.

It is your right to criticise the BTA till the cows come home but having said that you are no financial analyst you should have refrained from providing figures to “sex” up your lengthy submission. You create random numbers and then proceeded to extrapolate those hypothetical figures over a period of 28 years to support your narrative.

First of all you can’t even get the credit card figure correct it may be $1500 this year but I remember when it was $500 but you calculated the amount of $1500 over 28 years so it is a case of GIGO or “garbage in garbage out”. The other amounts are just speculative and shouldn’t be even considered.

Then you venture into the Broadcast business, you do realize that CHUM is a Toronto radio station with a GTA audience? Why the beef about the hiring of US entertainers? The shows are all being broadcast back to Toronto and their listeners want to hear the music that they are used to, feed them a diet of Caribbean music for a week and they will be hell to pay when the rating books come out. People get fired or those kind of screw ups.

Finally in your most recent comment you wrote “Is it possible that the entire advertising/PR/promotional budget has been dedicated to Toronto’s most famous trip giveaway” This seems to be the norm around these parts, make a series of misleading statements and then use those misleading statements as a justification for a conclusion that has no basis in truth.

11. it is interesting to note that we have experst here on this blog, who have no traing or experience in tourism planning not wanting to rely on the expert in determing where to advertise to get the best return on investment.

Does anyone believe that the tourst board will continue to use that markwting toll if it was not getting a return on investment? Barbadians, we have been educated to think. R we saying that after so many years we d. lordont know the benfits of such an approach. Lord come for this world.

12. one should not start with a speculative premis as the conslusions will be speculative, if check this out or check it out wanted to post a meaningful blog he should start by doing some research on the amount of money spent on this marketing initiative, and the amount of tourist come to barbadaos as a result of this initiative, if ships had wings, would we need an airplane.

13. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Check-this-Out, To-the-Point and David,

I think all three or you have have raised the point that we need as taxpayers to know, not that the BTA is spending money but how cost effective is that spending?
    Certainly, the objective of my utterings have never been to criticise for the sake of it, but to help find better and more productive ways of doing things.
    What is wrong with David asking. just what business the CHUM promotion has generated. Surely we NEED to know?
    Sadly, some people don’t seem to understand that.
    Its the same argument I made, whether it was more cost-effective to send a large BTA delegation to the Bahamas for CHTA MarketPlace or a couple of people to ‘man’ a stand at one of Canada’s largest travel shows.
    Some last minute intervention means that there WILL be a BTA presence at the Ottawa Travel Show this weekend and thats a positive.

14. @Adrian

i applaud u for ur tenacity in raising these issues. The BHTA might need to be transparent in such issues, and i further believe an audit should be done to determine value for money in advertising. I would like to see all those hotels who rely on govt for marketing to fill their hotels to contribute.

last year i was in jamaica and when i got my hotel bill it has so many little charges that i was amazed, i think one was a room tax. There need to be greater cooperation between the hotels and the BHTA. We have to find a solution to get the tourists coming. We need ot feed them with local foods.

I beleive that the BTA should bring home the top brass qnd have a marketing retreat and also read the riot act to those stationed in markets not performing should be told to shape up or be shipped out.

sports tourism should be given some high priority during this tenure of the govt.

15. Remember that homemade anti-aging skin care products
    do not contain preservative chemicals and fresh batches need to be made
    often. Natural skin care usually also smells good, and certainly not
    chemically, due to its incorporation of plants, flowers and herbs just
    like chamomile, vanilla, bergamot, ginger, organic and natural tea and coffee, and also lavender.
    In reality, Numerous individuals with pimples will be told this by their
    peers and the end up will be incredibly counter-productive;
    they end up washing their faces too a lot.
    It effectively reduces dark circles around your eyes.

16. You may want to research promotions a bit more. CIBC does foot some of the bill, CHUM does. BTA does. Infact I’m actually considering going because of it. A norrow minded bean counter view as accounted above sadly loses site of the experience of life.

17. Here we are in 2016

See at 3:00 in video

And this year about 225 lucky winners from across Canada have just arrived for an all expenses paid week of sun ‘n fun in Bim.

Wonder if BTMI has done a cost/benefit analysis to justify the cost, of if they are doing it cause they always do it – for over 30 years

18. Kinda late to this, but as a Canadian who moved to Barbados during pandemic I note that BIB is hugely popular in GTA, and that has spread throughout Canada.

More interesting is the stats as to visitors by country. Canada, with a population of only 10% of the US now provides a third of what the US provides in tourism.

From my per respective, kudos to Barbados Tourism. Proof is in the numbers.