Submitted by Old Onion Bags
Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur
Leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur says the Bees are ready.

Time we face up to facts. Too often now, plasters are to quick to be offered for every sore. Like Mathew Farley the said megalomaniac. Though some can see the truth behind the unfortunate situation, they would rather cower to a defensive stance and represent like a pit bull, giving all to their cause.  Oh how we love not to face up to the truth and call a spade a spade. It has become contagious now. It is as if by some strange complexion, we would rather be blinded, than to take the path to truth.

So what is so wrong with looking at a shovel and saying its another word for a spade? Why must we take the round about route with mundane discourse? For those who are accustomed playing dominoes, if the board calls for sixes and duces, fours or threes cannot play. It just won’t be right. If by accident, a mismatch, the result will be chaos when coming to near end of the game.  A six is a six and a duce a duce. There can be no substitute.

Why then in life’s situations we are tempted to play the  wrong cards? A three for a four…..a blank for an ess? Why do we attempt to do such hubris and sabotage or cause problems to life’s domino game? Why can’t we be honest with ourselves sometimes when we know of the obvious error? Why continue to throw good time and money after bad? Like The Four Seasons. $400 millions now sunk and irrelevant past cost to any future decision making.  Sometimes we know different but blinded by the folly of our error, continue to hold tether, hoping for change.

No one in their right minds would disagree, given the state of affairs in Barbados today, we are headed on the wrong path. Excuses don’t cut it, nor believing, given another term, some miraculous change. Simply we drew a bad hand this game. A spade must be called a spade. Finding all kinds of faults in a polls for instance, that has been proven correct 100% time with 90% accuracy, is just another plaster. Because it  does not suit one’s betterment, must we find fault rather than face the truth? Minister Donville Innis deserves full kudos here, being man enough to accept the results of the polls and seeing how best to manoeuvre, however bitter the pill. For other professionals and politicos to  speak of skew and bias is playing a six for a five, and complicates the game. Rather than face up to the present situation, they would rather lament later.

Time we learn life is like a domino game, sometimes we draw a good hand, other times a loser. We must learn to play the hand we draw (this game )and hope for a better one. So when asked next time to ‘wash the rice’ and reshuffle, make sure we sit up and draw, reaching prudently, pulling those ivories, hoping not to find one’s self with bare blanks again, when the board demands for aces. Remember blind men don’t play dominoes, this coming elections, we got to try and pull a proper hand or face the consequences.

143 responses to “Blind Men Don't Play Dominoes”

1. @ Carson

Surely you must remember that the DLP had a WHITE, AMERICAN campaign consultant assisting them in the 2003 election campaign.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Artaxerxes | October 23, 2012 at 8:52 AM |

Don’t expect a response from CCC.

The Truth to him is like Daylight to a vampire.

A no show on this one from CCC and ac! Wait until Darkness of Lies overcomes them for another attack on OSA the vampire slayer.

3. brilliant dynomite Avatar
    brilliant dynomite

@ Millertheanunnaki

WHEN OWEN GINE CALL THE PUBLIC ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE TOGETHER TO INVESTIGATE THE NASTINESS AT THE PIERHEAD MARINA, YOU VERY SILENT NOW.

IS IT CAUSE HE CAN’T FOR FEAR OF VOMIT BEING THROWN IN HIS MOUTH (by D & G gang) AND THEREAFTER CHOKING POLITICALLY?

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ brilliant dynomite | October 23, 2012 at 9:09 AM |

READ MY LIPS: SOS TO OSA!

OWEN SEYMOUR ARTHUR WHEN ARE YOU GOING TO CALL THE PAC MEETING ON THE PIERHEAD MARINA. WE WANT D BOYCE THE QUISLING THROWN OVERBOARD OR IS HE BEING PROTECTED ALONG WITH BANNY BY BOTH THE DLP AND YOURSELF.

DO IT NOW OR FOR EVER HOLD THY HARPING.

Do you, ‘dynomite”, like that piece of brilliance from the real Dynamite?

5. Artaxerxes,

Oh yes, the Dems have done so much nonsense that I actually forgot that Jennifer Lazlo fiasco in 2003. CCC she was a white American.

Remember the campaign slogan “Crime and Violence” which then turned into a big joke………on the lips of most Barbadians….. crime and violence! Then the candidates of the DLP said in the aftermath of the huge electoral defeat that the dead king never even discussed bringing this American to run the campaign.

CCC, you forget this, you are the pits. Defend this. As if I expect you ever would, hypocrite!

6. yet the BLP say thatthe DLP get nothing right but goes and copy the same tactic of a campaign manager/consultant as was done by the DLP 2003.expect this 2012 and one would have thought a lesson was learnt and the BLP would have taken the high road . HA, HA! thejoke on wunna.Talk about f…k up HA. HA!

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 23, 2012 at 10:34 AM |

The person you are vilifying is a Barbadian. Do you have a problem because of his European ancestry (Like CCC)?

You are such a racist bigot it beggars belief. Maybe if he was ‘gay’ you might be a bit sympathetic because the likes of you would have something to say about OSA and his possible ‘rearguard’ action. FS might just agree with you.

Yes, go ahead and open your cuss book at page bookmarked “OSA”.

8. Miller don,t blow a gasket wuh dawg i was only pointing out de hypocrispy of it all when in 2003 wunna made fun at the DLP now to turn around in 2012 to copy the same style. i guess that is only a preview of how the BLP gonna run the govt “if” wunna win

9. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I have always said that the Barbados Labour Party takes years to catch with the Democratic Party.

there are so many examples of this. In the next twenty years they will be praising Freundel Stuart just like how they are praising Errol Barrow now.

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

prodigal son

It was not anyone on the DLP side who said “that MASSA DAY DONE”.

Now the Barbados Labour Party’s chances of winning back the Government is so slim they have now turned to MASSA to help them.

This just shows how POWER HUNGRY the Barbados Labour Party is, Next the country will be told that the Barbados Labour Party will be enlisting the help of SATAN THE DEVIL to help them.

They are now using a WHITE MAN TO GET black people to vote for the “Black” Barbados Labour Party.

It is going to be cat piss and pepper.

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The Barbados Labour Party is always spitting up in the air and it keeps coming back down in their faces.

when Jennifer Lazlo was assisting the DLP she vilified and curse in the worst way by the Barbados Labour Party.

We were told that NO WHITE WOMAN can tell Bajans how to to vote “How dare A WHITE WOMAN come to meddle in our politics”

The thing is there are many Bajans who dont have short memories.

As the old Bajans always say, “do so dont like so”.

Now they are bringing a WHITE MAN to tell BLACK BAJANS how to vote. I am delighted that the Barbados Labour Party has made such a choice.

Thanks very much SEETHRU

TtHIS IS THE BEST THING YOU HAVE DONE IN THE LAST FOUR YEARS OR SO.

DEAL WITH THE BLOW BACK WHEN IT COMES.

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

PRODIGAL SON

Are you saying that it is alright for the Barbados Labour Party to use a white person to try to help them, but all wrong when the Democratic Labour Party use a WHITE WOMAN to help them?

I think not!!!!

13. CCC,

The difference is that Mr Serrao is a Barbadian and Jennifer Lazlo is an American. You would not see the difference, though.

Hey did you work today for miller, onions and my taxpayer dollars?

14. This should not be about colour.

Serrao was the EB commissioner for 2 or 3 elections and the only questions should be if it is legal for him to be a campaign manager/

The ethics and optics of his appointment is a matter for the electorate.

I think there others without any baggage who could have been effective campaign managers.

I guess the focus is on hummuch cornbeef an biscuits an rum sharin out.

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Prodigal Son

Your party made her colour a BIG issue.

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

onions is going to have a difficult time, I promise him that

17. @ Carson

Jennifer Lazlo’s colour was not an issue. It was that she was foreign, out-of-touch with Barbados, rude and contemptuous. You remember her reference to workers in the hotel sector as “toilet scrubbers?”

Why do you persist with these false equivalencies? They just undermine you arguments.

18. @ Hants

Your argument does not hold water because the members of the ECB are all political appointees and diehards. The system is set up for them (politicos) to be the check and balance on themselves – 3 government reps and 2 opposition reps. So it is pure nonsense to raise issues of ethics.

No doubt the DLP will try to exploit people’s ignorance and the perception that the ECB is made up of independent persons.

It is only from the perspective that the DEMS will try to twist it to their advantage, that I would question the move.

19. It appears as though Carson Cadogan subscribes to the view that if you tell a lie regularly enough people would start believing it. The issue that caused all the uproar that Jennifer Lazlo was not Barbadian and the BLP played that angle up to the hilt and got a lot of political mileage from it. That was good politics as far as I am concerned.

20. welll caswell it is all about PERCEPTION or isn’t it?

21. I predict the the DLP will harm itself immeasurably if it pursues Carson’s and ac’s racist line on the issue of Mr. Serrao being the BLP’s campaign manager. They would be well-advised to stay clear of it.

On the whole, Bajans are afraid of overt race talk. They like whispers about “white shadows” and things of the sort, but would abhor a direct confrontation on the issue.

More readily acceptable would be a line about propriety. Nothing may be wrong with the former ECB Chairman running the campaign, but the false perception would tickle our fancy.

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DavidB

The advice that can be readily dismiss is the advicee that comes from one’s enemies!

23. @DavidB

Your assessment is correct, most Barbadians and especially independents are politically fatigue already. They want to hear issues i.e how are the parties planning to make things better.

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | October 24, 2012 at 6:41 AM |

Both you and ac are racist bigots with two empty shells between your ears. No better than harry callihan!
    Why don’t you tell members of your party in ministerial positions to stop being on the jada payroll? Who own that outfit ? Niggers?

25. barbadians have for some time now been paying indirectly if not fully for education and for certain services at the hospital as well

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

balance | October 24, 2012 at 7:27 AM

Therefore it is now the intention of the Barbados Labour Party to make every Tom, Dick and Harry pay for all things Health and education.

Under any Barbados Labour Party regime all Bajans can expect to pay for even Ambulance services.

what next the Barbados Labour Party intend to make Bajans pay for?

Police services? fire services?

If your house is burning the Fire Service not leaving the Station unless they have the assurance that you have money in your pocket to pay to put out the fire?

……..and these are the same Barbados Labour Party begging Bajans for their vote?

The WHITE CAMPAIGN manager advised the Barbados Labour Party to take this course of action?

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Is that why he is always of BU talking about selling this and selling that, privatize this and privatize that?

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“OK, here’s a question for you. Imagine you’re on holiday in a country whose language you don’t speak.

You’re walking through a market and someone commits a crime – steals a handbag, say – near where you are standing.

The police turn up and arrest you by mistake. Then they take you to the police station, and talk loudly at you in their language which you don’t understand. And then they lock you up.

Sound a bit Kafka? A bit post-Soviet? Well, it’s exactly what interpreters and legal campaigners say has been happening throughout this year in Britain.

Why? Because at the end of last year the government here decided to privatise – outsource – the courts’ interpretation service.

The rationale is straightforward enough: the old system was a bit clunky, bureaucratic, they said.

Courts were hiring interpreters themselves, there was no centralised billing system, it was expensive.

Cheaper, leaner system

A privatised system would be cheaper, leaner, easier to account for.

That’s fair enough, maybe. But what happened was that the company that won the contract – Applied Language Solutions (ALS) – failed to provide an interpreter to a third of all the court hearings it was supposed to in the first month of its contract.

Since then, courts all over the country have been reporting that trials have had to be suspended, at great cost, because translators simply haven’t turned up.

It has also been claimed repeatedly that, in any number of cases, the translators that ALS did provide were utterly clueless, couldn’t speak the correct language, and failed to translate to the defendant, who was left not understanding what was happening to them.

It’s not difficult to imagine if it was you – stuck in a court in another country being talked about in a language you don’t know – just how frightening that might be. And just how great is the potential for a miscarriage of justice.”

This happens when a country privatises everything.

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | October 24, 2012 at 8:23 PM

What’s your point?
    That’s a failure of the regulatory or State supervising agency.
    Remember CLICO and the SOI?

What about the women that were finger F**k at the airport and sexually molested in police custody? What about the recent liquidation of a rogue in a certain centre?

Were these committed by privatized law enforcers?

STFU, CCC!

30. don’t mind miller he wants to hand little barbados to the corporate world who helped in bringing the worldto economic dooms day and saw walk street scrambling on its knees and millions of people worldwide losing what little money they had invested in the stock market all private companies lead by greed and corruption,

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 24, 2012 at 8:54 PM |
    “.. millions of people worldwide losing what little money they had invested in the stock market all private companies ..”

According to you world of economics they should have invested their money in government bonds instead of the stock market and private companies and their world would have been prosperous and perfect like the Soviet Union.

32. yes yuh idjiot, !

33. remember hurricane katrina with all the problems govt encountered in dealing with the crisis including slow response to the citizens not one person called for the privatisation of govt agencies like water and transport and seaport and air all these agencies remain in tact as part of the workforce of govt, ,reason being that the in times of crisis govt outnumbers the private sector in labour especially in the military field who is better prepared at handling catastrophic situations than the private sector in areas of law and order

34. Snip from above

Time we learn life is like a domino game, sometimes we draw a good hand, other times a loser. We must learn to play the hand we draw (this game )and hope for a better one. So when asked next time to ‘wash the rice’ and reshuffle, make sure we sit up and draw, reaching prudently, pulling those ivories, hoping not to find one’s self with bare blanks again, when the board demands for aces. Remember blind men don’t play dominoes, this coming elections, we got to try and pull a proper hand or face the consequences.

35. Wax couple blank, Wax blank ess

36. So ever said blind men don’t play dominoes? Look how Bajans now draw another BLANK again.

37. Time we learn life is like a domino game, sometimes we draw a good hand, other times a loser. We must learn to play the hand we draw (this game )and hope for a better one. So when asked next time to ‘wash the rice’ and reshuffle, make sure we sit up and draw, reaching prudently, pulling those ivories, hoping not to find one’s self with bare blanks again, when the board demands for aces. Remember blind men don’t play dominoes, this coming elections, we got to try and pull a proper hand or face the consequences.

38. So when asked next time to ‘wash the rice’ and reshuffle, make sure we sit up and draw, reaching prudently, pulling those ivories, hoping not to find one’s self with bare blanks again, when the board demands for aces.
    Now what D Fcku I tell wanna…..doan believe these men in black….they does fool ya…..NO RETRENCHMENT OF JOBS,… .NO PRIVATIZATION…looka come January anyway from 3000 – 6000 gine home…..bare blind men….bare blind men. I Won’t LIE, CHEAT or STEAL gone to the great beyond …but there now we got a survivor…..

39. SHORT CUT…….Man bring down couple six AGAIN……who got it ?

40. Seems like WE left to D blind men all over again…….Wanna won’t learn to pull a good hand last elections….now the wolves all bout D pasture (LIME FLOW RBS FCIB,Jen FU WU) ….now we running fuh holes and hollarin fa murda…..truth is all who so put DEM deh should learn to swallow deh medicine…These Blind men din get there all by their own….it took an X

41. Four more years brudda man….4 long hard years fuh unna to wait for the Sleeping Giant to arise….

42. Wanna won’t hear……pull annuda nasty hand,..WHOOOPPPAXXX… tekk D licks!