The following article originally posted at Bajan Reporter.

Did Sir Hilary change tune because he was “kicked upstairs”? Or how Bajan Media make Piranhas seem ethical…

Ian Bourne - Bajan Reporter
Ian Bourne – Bajan Reporter

by AirBourne / May 13th, 2015

When UWI enrollments diminished by 4,000 students compared to the previous year, Sir Hilary Beckles was enraged – he said Barbadian education has taken a 20 year retrograde step in development and an assault on the average student of UWI –  a working class mother with (at least) one child…Fumble Freundel Stuart instead of recognising Sir Hilary’s genuine concern, accuses the man of trying to form an alternative Government, so disagreement is not an option? What kind of idiot are you, you should’ve stayed asleep! average student of UWI –  a working class mother with (at least) one child…

Read full story HERE

35 responses to “Sir Hilary Beckles and a Bought Bajan Media”

1. @David

What type of a rhetorical question is being asked?

We already know that central to the Bajan ethic is a firm determination to be a lackey, a pimp!

Beckles has a rich ancestry in cultural betrayal.

At the university alone, there have been many people who presented as if to ‘represent’ and all they ended up doing was serving self or the same interests they pretended to be anathema to.

We readily recall Keith Hunte who was a firebrand, at first, and turned out to be no less of an Englishman than Beckles. Beckles like any proper pimp knows more about pimping a society than even his ‘illustrious’ fore-bearer, Keith Hunte.

The sickness in this society even extends to the personal history of the man whose image is captioned here. He has one type of history but fronts as if that were untrue.

2. John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES, Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES,

Sir UWI is a Histroy crook , also the lands on UWI and below, Cave Hill Plantation and the Risk Plantation , buildings are on , He know his slave History from the 1640 to 1975 dealing with his name and family , But not with the names of Jemmot or Agrad , Beckles , Henry, Some thing smells real bad, Where is the rest of Bajan History after slavery,

We had no planes for tourist and yet we live and grew with out fraud, Restore our History and show the truth of this massive land fraud,

Then Bajan can send MIA , Owen , FU and dumbwit off to the hell, DLP/ BLP , was of the people VAT and TAX , and the new modern day Slavey by Black Nigger and White Niggers ,PIMP title holders as these crooks liars and scumbags promote self above good hard working not getting no where People of Barbados,

3. The Guyana election results are headed for further delay.According to the Chief Elections Officer of GECOM Keith Lowenfield, Donald Ramotar of the PPP has asked for recounts in Regions 1,2 and 8.Ramotar is quoted as saying”THE REQUEST WAS NOT FOR A GENERAL RECOUNT BUT IN …..’AREAS WHERE WE HAD REPORTS OF A LOT OF VOTES WERE REJECTED FOR SPURIOUS REASONS’……”
    Lowenfield detailed the PPP wants recounts of 16 boxes in Region 1; 989 in Region 2; and 8 in Region 8.In the case of Region 8,four of the boxes are in Mahdia and the remainder in the North Pakaraimas.In the case of Region 2, the PPP wants recounts up and down the Pomeroon river,and from Charity to Good Hope on the Essequibo coast.
    Recounts are to begin Wednesday and continue into Thursday or Friday before an official declaration of the winner.

4. Region 2 boxes should read 98.

5. We expected this in Guyana Gabriel, aren’t there international observers present? So far BU has not received any reports from our Guyanese friends.

6. APNU+AFC says PPP/C call for recount contrary to law

The opposition alliance, APNU+AFC today said that the PPP/C’s call for a recount was contrary to the law and it called for the elections commission not to allow this attempt to delay the declaration of the results of the poll.

The APNU+AFC statement follows:

It has been brought to the attention of A Partnership for National Unity and The Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) Coalition that the People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C) has called for a recount of the ballots cast in the 2015 General and Regional Elections in several Electoral Districts.

APNU+AFC affirms that this is contrary to section 83-89 of the Representation of the People Act of the Laws of Guyana.

APNU+AFC therefore regards the PPP/C’s call as a deliberate attempt to delay the declaration of the May 11th 2015 Polls and to frustrate the will of the people.
    APNU+AFC calls on the Guyana Elections Commission to resist that attempt by the PPP/C to further delay the declaration of the results of the poll and to make their declaration as required by the constitution of Guyana.

http://www.stabroeknews.com/2015/news/stories/05/13/apnuafc-says-pppc-call-for-recount-contrary-to-law/

7. Although there is a significant Guyanese community in Barbados,it is mind boggling that there seem little interest in goings on in Guyana,if our local press is anything to go by.There was coverage of the StKitts election for crissake but nothing for The Guys.I heard a caller to Brasstacks today with a yanky twang accent saying she was born in Guyana but don’t live there and the PPP has done so much for Guy etc.When you read Kaieteur News(it has the third largest overseas hits from Barbados,the U.S. and the UK have more)and when you read Stabroek News,there is a lot to be desired in present day Guyana.The indo guy political class seem very corrupt.The Georgetown Hospital is woefully short of drugs,infant mortality is unprecedented,shortage of human and material resources lead to premature adult deaths .The mayor of Georgetown is powerless because the town clerk is a PPP in plant and local government elections have not been held for almost 25 years.Newspaper columnist Freddie Kissoon writes daily of the dirty,filthy condition of the city of Georgetown.Roads are bad,traffic lights don’t work,police are corrupt because of poor salary structure and poor physical plant.Indo guy ministers ill treat the man in the street,some magistrates were fired recently for poor work ethic and questionable decisions.Chinese based companies are accused of denuding the forests and becoming involved in mining and land purchasing without proper legal checks and balances.Former president Jagdeo is involved in the administration of the country despite having no locus standi.The Chief Justice has been acting for years,the University of Guyana is in very bad physical shape…….Guyana is a mess.
    David Ellis went to Guyana for the opening of the new Marriot,built with lots of shady deals and hidden funding.He has maintained a stony silence on what he has seen and heard in Guyana.I forgot the Trini connection and the Guyana connection.Jagdeo sold his house to a Trini.Allyuh think is only dog dat have muzzle.

8. REAL Undercover – The Marriott Hotel Guyana

If there was a prize for the worst Marriott Hotel in the world, with the worst beach in the world…this would get it. Join Real Guyana on an undercover tour of the new Marriott Hotel Guyana so you can see what the $12billion dollars ($12,000,000,000) stolen from taxpayers by the Bharrat Jagdeo, PPP/C government.

9. @ Gabriel,
    I often read The Kaieteur and Stabroek News. Sadly, Barbados is heading in the same direction as Guyana. Just like the rest of the Caribbean.

The Caribbean islands exist only to be raped and pillaged by hostile foreigners and those groups who were never enslaved.

Do you not find it very strange that the large majority of the black community throughout the Caribbean region are indifferent to the plight of their brothers and sisters in Guyana or Haiti? I don’t think you can put it down to apathy. We as a people have become virtual zombies. Too many of us have become brain dead.

If it were not the Chinese “denuding the forests” then it would be another group.

10. Exclaimer
    You are so right.I think it’s the lingering effect of the Sociology of Slavery.The enslaved African never had to look out for himself in the scheme of the plantation system.Everything was provided by the slave owner,whether good,bad or indifferently.The gimme mentality prevails in the west and the political class like Stuart,Sinckler,Blackett,Lowe,Estwick,Braffit and the whole bunch,they all exploit their own people and rob them of their dignity and say “dah is we culture”.

11. Anthony,
    Thanks for the clip.A picture is worth a thousand words.Poor Guyana,nice people,nice country destroyed by barefoot,lowlife,coolies.

12. @ Anthony,
    You have stumbled across a masterpiece. This has to be one of the finest investigative programmes that I have had the misfortune to view. It is a pity that we in Barbados do not have such access to quality journalism.

Chinese or Indian, take your pick. Both groups are predators with terrible hygiene practices. Can you remember after the Haiti earthquake how our friends from Nepal brought cholera to Haiti? Both countries have populations of one billion plus. It makes you wonder what our ex-Prime Minister Erskine is getting up to in China.

These are worrying times for the Caribbean region.

@ Gabriel,
    We can only hope that our countrymen will one day see the light. Our collective future looks disturbingly bleak.

13. @Exclaimer

Sandiford was replaced by Dr. Chelston Brathwaite last year wasn’t he?

Yes the Chinese have a bad habit of spitting anywhere.

14. @ Exclaimer

I don’t stumble, I read and research a lot of what is going on worldwide daily.

15. The latest from GECOM is that in response to a challenge from APNU/AFC that any recount is illegal and the fact that the PPP’s Ramotar had said they did not ask for a total recount but only in 1,2&8,they have changed their tune and called for a total recount in all Regions.The GECOM started this process however the APNU/AFC have countered that such an act would be illegal according to the Guyana constitution and Jimmy Carter has got into the act and expressed similar views and has called upon the GECOM to release the results without further delay,that the law alows for challenges etc in the courts of Guyana.GECOM has therfore stopped the charade and is on record as saying that it will release 94% of the returns at 9pm this evening.
    Meanwhile,seeing the writing on the wall some ministers’ offices have been caught on camera removing files prompting the APNU/AFC to inform the Police to protect all Government Offices.It seems the PPP have lost the election.

16. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Gabriel May 13, 2015 at 2:31 PM #
    What amazed me about that Guyanese woman with the yankee accent on Brasstacks,is her claim that Guyanese from all corners of the Globe,are trekking back to Guyana. But when the question of her own return was put to her, she laughed.

17. With 490 boxes to be counted the GECOM has released the count as 157347 APNU/AFC and 157304 for PPP/C.Hopefully the remaining 490 boxes will determine the final outcome tomorrow.

18. @ Gabriel

The 490 boxes are in Region 4 ((Georgetown and surrounding areas) which is the Coalition stronghold with them having at least 80% of the vote.

There will be a new government in Guyana.

19. Any comment on the promise by the MoF finding has been found for the UWI? It appears the government will turn a new page to coincide with the incoming principal.

20. Anthony,
    Agreed.Region 4,Demerara-Mahaica is the opposition stronghold,hence GECOM is stalling just like St Kitts did,to allow the incumbent PPP to remove and destroy any evidence the the new government will have to jail their backsides,starting with Jagdeo who has publicly cussed the chairman of GECOM Surajbally last night.

21. David
    I noted all of a sudden both Ronald Jones and Stuart have found their tongues to lavish praise on the UWI Cave Hill campus and have both made big promises to Eudine Barriteau largely because they could not defeat Sir Hilary who had a counter for everything they lied about.Hilary Beckles could have singlehandedly destroyed the DLP.
    It was also posited that Neville Duncan who famously coined the phrase ‘Barbados is DLP country’ was similarly removed from Cave Hill because he was a thorn in the side of OSA.I have no idea if that was true but I sure recall Ralph Gonsalves being declared ‘Person none Greater’ by Tom Adams in the late 70’s.I think Tom did a similar thing to that coolie rag writer Rickie Singh for whom the Trinidadian Indian and the Guyanese Indian can do no wrong,yet his wife and kids lived in Barbados,not in those two Caribbean satellites of Calcutta with all its dirtiness and filth translated into Port of Spain and Georgetown.

22. GECOM had promised to release final tally at 10am.According to the TV Ustream site Guyana for Peace,that broadcast is not slated for midday

23. ….is now slated for midday

24. GECOM has delivered a “preliminary” final count with the opposition winning the poll by 5360 votes.Final tally so far:206817 for APNU/AFC,201457 for the PPP/C.Good riddance to the nasty politics of the indentured class of Jagdeo,Ramoutar,Nandlall,Singh and all their henchmen/beneficiaries like Brassington and Ramroop.Maybe Glenn Lall will see his long expressed desire of them wearing pumpkin jumpsuits for all the corrupt,dishonest,thieving acts they perpetrated on the poor Guyanese people.

25. @Gabriel

Let us hope the people remain calm and there is no street violence.

26. The lesson here is interesting, we have a country with a growing economy yet the incumbent appears to have been rejected.

27. @ David
    Growing economies are only one part of the ‘performance matrix’. Some of the fastest growing economies are those of criminal organisations, plantation-type countries (sheikhdoms), and the desperately poor. (10% growth in Haiti cannot be compared with 10% growth in the Bahamas).

Guyana has become an openly criminal organisation under Indian control. Hopefully the citizens, instead of running away to other jurisdictions as they did in the past 30 years, will now stay at home and FORCEFULLY reinstate the rule of law.

Job number one would be to lock up and try Jagdeo, Ramoutar, Nandlall, Singh and others responsible for the mass murders committed over the years…..

JUSTICE and social development are other CRITICAL components of national development.

28. The Chinese have a bad habit of spitting anywhere someone wrote. Now never have I heard such nonsense emanating from a group of individuals who are believe to be educated. How can an educated people attribute such a charge to the collective- Chinese – organism? Now if this poor hygiene practice is conducive to the Chinese population in the region of the Caribbean, one would understand the nature of such comment, but in my estimation and by any standard of judgment, this comment is racist to say the least.

29. @Snowman?

It wasn’t ‘someone’, it was the blogmaster, you and your partner can continue tossing your barbs, BU has been around too long to be affected unduly by it.

China, Spitting and Global Tourism

By DIDI KIRSTEN TATLOW OCTOBER 16, 2013 7:03 PM October 16, 2013 7:03 pm 9 Comments

Living in Beijing a long time, you learn to anticipate a spitter. The crackling crescendo may begin as he nears, leaving you wondering — is it a territorial thing? Then the finale: a terrific “ptchoo!” and an opalescent glob whirling like a tiny Frisbee into the gutter or onto the pavement near your feet. Or your eye, as happened to my companion standing downwind from a spitter at an open train window, in the western region of Xinjiang.

Wait! I hear you say. Why is she writing about public spitting? Isn’t it disrespectful, even anti-Chinese, to bring up this personal habit, which was once also common in the West? Ireland had its “spit and sawdust pubs.” In North America there are sporadic reports of people fined for it.

http://sinosphere.blogs.nytimes.com/2013/10/16/china-spitting-and-global-tourism/?_r=0

30. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Perhaps we should be more concern with the home made fertilizer which the men from China Construction Company,used to grow those lovely cabbages which they often sell to Bajans.

31. “caviar and lobster tails”…..at UWI ???

32. Should Sir Cave bite his tongue or offer a clarification?

33. @David,

Flying fish roe and land crab claws would be more politically palatable. lol