The political spin doctors are out in numbers and if we listen to them the Barbados economy is on the bounce. We sure hope so!

However, while the country debates whether there will be about 1% growth or greater than 1%, a reminder economies in our key source tourist markets have been improving and therefore increasing has led to improving economies in the region. Not to forget international reserves appear healthy because of unprecedented low world oil prices.

BU will NOT be distracted and prefer to focus on the root cause of many of our societal challenges; one of governance. Take for example the repeated revelation the Transport Board has been sending buses to be repaired to private suppliers L&M and Tran-tech Inc and not UCAL. And that the minister is driving a vehicle registered to one of the suppliers of services to the Transport Board. Why has the government and the minister not feel the urgent need to respond to the accusation which if true is an obvious conflict of interest. Why is UCAL being starved of work to the point it is owed several million dollars by government?

We wait for the traditional media to engage in what is referred to as investigative journalism to find out more.

See comment submitted by Artaxerxes on the Transport Board Strike Conspiracy to Deceive blog.

But how can the DLP boldly face Barbadians on the issue of integrity when the integrities of their Speaker and Deputy Speaker have been compromised?

Transport Board employees staged a “strike” this morning citing supersession, unfair hiring practices and a myriad of other issues as their reason for the industrial action.

And UCAL also joined into the fray, claiming the TB owes them approximately $23M, which has presented UCAL’s management with some difficulty in paying employees their salaries/wages as well as their accrued bonuses.

Ironically, yesterday I was in the company of 2 UCAL employees who were complaining that they are not receiving any buses to fix, to the extent that they were given only one bus yesterday morning.
I asked where are the buses being sent for repairs; their reply was L & M in Cane Garden, St. Thomas and Trans Tech Inc. in Kendal Hill, Christ Church.
One guy argued that it was obvious the TB management and certain other individuals must be the recipients of some sort of ex gratia payments for ensuring all the work was being distributed between these two businesses, while an individual has had the fortune to be using a BMW SUV owned by Trans Tech.

What can we expect when politicians from both sides continue to breach integrity? The DLP must be held to scrutiny since they presently form the government.

How can the DEMS talk about integrity when they employed a former bank employee as the Manager of the Transport Board, just to say that this government created history by employing the first female manager of TB, especially when her only qualification for the job is being a member of the Democratic Labour Party.

The situation at TB has become worse since Sandra Forde became its general manager.

So, “it is truly (not) dumbfounding that the DLP yardies would give their party a free pass on integrity legislation as they sit on their backsides” and defend their position on this issue. “However, most knows the reason why.”

167 responses to “Minister Michael Lashley Needs to Respond to Conflict of Interest Questions”

1. Dear Lt. Caine:

I think that you are being disingenuous in your defense of the Minister.

You know as well as I do that the United States does not arrest sitting Cabinet members.

2. Anthony May 13, 2015 at 7:05 AM ‘… Khamraj Lall…”

Lall was NOT a diplomat or a Cabinet Minister. He was just a pilot. The U.S. arrests drug trafficking pilots all the time.

3. http://www.ask.com/wiki/Vienna_Convention_on_Diplomatic_Relations
    Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations
    Diplomatic immunity is a form of legal immunity that ensures diplomats are given safe passage and are considered not susceptible to lawsuit or prosecution under the host country’s laws, although they can still be expelled. It was agreed as international law in the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations (1961), though the concept and custom have a much longer history. Many principles of diplomatic immunity are now considered to be customary law. Diplomatic immunity as an institution developed to allow for the maintenance of government relations, including during periods of difficulties and even armed conflict. When receiving diplomats—who formally represent the sovereign—the receiving head of state grants certain privileges and immunities to ensure they may effectively carry out their duties, on the understanding that these are provided on a reciprocal basis.

Originally, these privileges and immunities were granted on a bilateral, ad hoc basis, which led to misunderstandings and conflict, pressure on weaker states, and an inability for other states to judge which party was at fault. An international agreement known as the Vienna Conventions codified the rules and agreements, providing standards and privileges to all states.

It is possible for the official’s home country to waive immunity; this tends to happen only when the individual has committed a serious crime, unconnected with their diplomatic role (as opposed to, say, allegations of spying), or has witnessed such a crime. However, many countries refuse to waive immunity as a matter of course; individuals have no authority to waive their own immunity (except perhaps in cases of defection). Alternatively, the home country may prosecute the individual. If immunity is waived by a government so that a diplomat (or their family members) can be prosecuted, it must be because there is a case to answer and it is in the public interest to prosecute them. For instance, in 2002, a Colombian diplomat in London was prosecuted for manslaughter, once diplomatic immunity was waived by the Colombian governmen

4. CHAPTER III
    PRIVILEGES AND IMMUNITIES, DIPLOMATIC AND CONSULAR RELATIONS, ETC
    3 . Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations
    Vienna, 18 April 1961
    https://treaties.un.org/Pages/ViewDetails.aspx?src=TREATY&mtdsg_no=III-3&chapter=3&lang=en

5. Bushie kind of justice.

“He immediately took his position on the bench and declared in the voice that oozed annoyance and misery, that he was tired of having to interrupt his Saturday morning gardening to come to court, and he was therefore in no mood for time-wasting. He further announced he would be lenient with anyone who pleaded guilty, but anybody who pleaded not guilty and then he found them guilty, he was sending them straight to Glendairy Prison, regardless of the offence.””

6. @ Hants
    ……Perry?

7. @Caswell Franklyn “there is one rumour that would not go away which to my mind is far more serious that is calling out for the Minister to make a statement to clear his good name. And that is the allegations surrounding a suitcase of money that was seized from him in the USA.”

Caswell if the Minister will not talk to you surely the U.S. Embassy knows the answer. If you ask maybe their Public Affairs Officer Yolonda Kerney will tell you: bridgetownpublicaffairs@state.gov
    http://barbados.usembassy.gov/embassy-information.html

8. Forgot to credit the columnist so here is the link.

“stories of how “Dick Walcott” ruled his court”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/67330/public-dick-walcott-approach-justice

9. Ambrose ‘Dick’ Walcott,a fee paid graduate of Oxford,son of the fearless,hard talking EK Walcott,famed AG. of Barbados in the good ole days of law and order Buhbaydus,told a story of a certain young upstart who took over part of his father’s big business.This upstart fellow named Brian had done repairs to Lill’s(his madam)computer and refused to give it back until the bill was paid in full.Dick said Ok Brian,I got some former prisoners that owe me a favor.If you don’t send the computer by 10 o’clock tomorrow morning,tell your father why all the show windows glass get break up.
    The computer was returned by Brian ‘eself cos he wasn’t gine tfek no chances wid Dick Walcott,the barefoot magistrate who wore his gown when on the bench and held court at night too!

10. @ Gabriel
    If you don’t send the computer by 10 o’clock tomorrow morning,tell your father why all the show windows glass get break up.
    Oh shiite …. YOU!!! Bushie like he in truth yuh….

11. LT. HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT. HORATIO CAINE.

DEAR simple simon can you tell me how many elected officials in these united states of America have been arrested and criminally prosecuted for Offences ranging from prostitution,to simply spending funds on secret girlfriends etc. Do you believe that a cabinet minister from a perceived third world country with a suitcase of money which would afford evidence to suggest money laundering would be given a slap on the wrist? I think not dear simple simon,i think not.

12. LT. HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT. HORATIO CAINE.

Oh by the way simple simon was the convention not afforded to persons like NORIEGA?

13. Bushie
    An old lady brought an old man into Walcott’s court and the old guy was shuffling like he had St Vitus dance.Walcott done know how Bajans can put on an act in court and must have seen through what the two were doing.Hear Walcott “look dis en no coroners court.get he out a hay rite now.Get he outta my court constable”on another occasion,Walcott refuse to hear further cases saying”My Union,the NUPW pun strike,so I am strike.All cases adjourned”

14. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Is there any truth that a certain Minister of Government has bought Easy Hall Great House? The one which was previously owned by a multi millionaire, the same one who, I believed, had gifted the sugar industry some $1/4 Million some years ago to start the sugar harvest.

15. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Why are we straying so far away from the topic. I have raised some questions concerning the same minister as well as the doings of the PM that I think are all disturbing developments that have enough nasty to tarnish reputations. I want to know why we are not interested in the PM’s complete ignore of the findings of the forensic report. How people can sit back and accept his trumped up shite about a list of those who bought into the sweet real estate deal and has not once reference the lies from two liars concerning 3.33 million and the other lie that saw a crooked dead PM giving CLICO a 10 million dollar injection into a company he had foreknowledge had already sunk. The current PM has esteemed Leroy Parris and call him friend. These are reputation tarnishing develoments and yet the persons at the centre of these controversies seem not to be bothered about what is being said about them, regardless if it is damaging to their reputations or not. I see nothing coming from these people that say they are bothered by rumours, all except Donville Inniss, who is trying to turn a moral leaf but you people keep on bringing back up his pass immoralities.

16. So Mr Denis Lowe has promised to “deal sternly” with anyone found dumping garbage illegally.Whatanass.I did not know that Lowe is a policeman,further that he is a magistrate or judge.The foolish,sick JA.
    Next he invokes patriotism when he suggests that the truckers are holding the citizens to ransom.Patriotism,the last refuge of scoundrels like Lowe.

17. LOL @ Gabriel
    Skippa, the way you are hitting of late …Bushie is seriously looking at retirement from this whacking shiite yuh…. Wuh you got the damn bushes round the place so neat and lowe …. not a damn thing left fuh Bushie to whack…
    …’cept for a few Ants and Centepedes (ACs) 🙂

Until Lowe comes clean with his mother’s fortune ..and his reluctance to share it with his siblings …NOBODY of worth will want to hear one shiite from him….
    If his siblings were smart they would keep FAR from that tainted fortune anyway…

In any case, Bushie dissed him since the Allard emails showed him to be nothing more than a high price prostitute selling off citizen’s asses to the highest bidders….