Submitted by Wayne Cadogan
Barbados Amateur Athletic Association

Over the years I have heard many stories about athletes who had athletic scholarships and had returned to live on the island, and would not give back by getting involved. Personally, I have seen it first hand for myself and can sympathize with many of the athletes for their actions of taking a back seat attitude. I certainly cannot blame the majority of them for not getting involved, because when they offer their services and if it does not fit into the BAAA agenda which happens to be a close-knit organization, they are not welcomed with open arms and similarly the majority of the other sporting organizations. A few days after the recently concluded 2015 CARIFTA Games, I happen to run into one of the local high school coaches on the streets and was making a point to him, that although it was a very admirable achievement for Mary Fraser to have won the three gold medals, that it was too much of a work load for her young body to take at that tender age over a three day period. The body needs to go through a recovery process after each race and according to the distance, would need a day recovery for every mile raced.

Although I applaud her achievements, I do not agree with the manner in which the young lady is being handled because her body is not developed for such vigorous training and participate in so many races in as many days just to win a medal. The distance for high school girls in the United States running cross country is 4K and for the boys 5K. If she is not handled properly she will suffer the same fate of burnout like those before her, such as Rudder, Comissiong, Alleyne, Greaves and more recently Burke who was very dominant in primary school and has yet to feature in high school athletics. These were all very young promising youthful athletes who seemed to have a bright future ahead of them but did not make it because they were all handled very badly in my opinion. Some of the athletes mentioned above were burned out because of the heavy load of training, races and type of running for their ages. Distance runners do not reach their peak until their 30’s. Janelle Williams was a promising runner at her tender age, very talented, but again, the load for her age was too great and burned her out.

During that conversation with the coach, I lamented the fact of Sada Williams having to miss the CARIFTA games through an injury that she picked up a week before the games. I told him that she is a world class ranked Junior 400 meters runner and should be specializing in her pet event, which is the 400 meters. I said to him, that the injury should never have occurred, and that the reason for the injury was because she ran too many events at the Secondary Interschool Sports and that the coaches did not look at the bigger picture, which were the CARITA Games and the World Juniors and other international world class meets. Her school did not even have the faintest chance of winning the inter school girls championship and therefore should not have been competing in all those evens to risk injury which happened. Well, his response was very aggressive, stating that it was not from running all the events, because she jogged all her races and was not pressured in any of the events. I was there and watched all the races and what I saw was very competitive in every event, I did not see any athletes jogging in any of the heats, what I saw were athletes running flat out to qualify by placing in the first two and the third fastest time going through to the finals. As a result, she misses out on the CARIFTA Games, which would have been a warm up for the World Junior Championships and any other international meet. Now instead of peaking for the World Championships, valuable weeks of training was lost and after recovery, will now have to resume her training program instead of tapering down.

The response that I received from the coach was very shocking, I would never have expected from him as he has never seen me in any athletic forum or have we ever had any conversations or discussions on athletics at anytime. Ranting and raving, I was told that “you think you are an expert on everything”! It is comments like this that stop our country from going forward in sports, and as usual, that is why the other so call smaller islands have gone ahead of us. I now really understand why other athletes keep their distance and do not get involved. I too will be joining the ranks with the others and will continue observe from the side line. Every so-called coach is looking for glory and that is why they do not want any input of any sort regarding their charges, in the end, it is the athlete and country that loses out. While I am on the subject of athletes not going forward, I was very disappointed with the statement made by the Minister of sports on the return of the athletes from the games in St. Kitts at the airport, regarding a new stadium. What does a stadium have to do with athletes improving, absolutely nothing other than to make the spectators comfortable? What Barbados needs is a proper sports program, which is lacking in all sports. You have better facilities now than the sixties and athletes today are running slower. A school boy’s football or cricket team from the sixties would beat any current Barbados team, which has better gear, equipment and playing conditions. Yes we need proper facilities but that does not make or sports any better than what it is, it is a proper sports program and more unity among the various coaches, especially in athletics.

There are approximately 12 track clubs in Barbados and yet at Nationals in some cases you have to scratch an event, because you cannot find an athlete to compete. In most cases, the majority of races are straight finals with less than eight athletes. Is a stadium going to improve the quality of athletics, well I do not think so. Yes, the pig pen that we have for a National Stadium is a disgrace and is in dire need of renovations, and closing it down every two years for repairs doesn’t make any sense. Yes Barbados does need a new ultra modern stadium, but I am not so sure that it is going to improve the standard of sports, but improvement of your sports programs will improve your sports!

21 responses to “Sports Illustrated: Now I Really Understand”

1. Those who watched the IAAF/BTC World Relays in the Bahamas last few days would have compared the stadium in the Bahamas with the National Stadium in Barbados with a sense of pessimism.Then there was our cream of the men lagging the world’s best by over a second.

10155544_10152416706311068_6774891582152653715_n

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

There was a group called the Freedom Striders who I came across during the 1970’s.

I dont know if it still exists today cause them is runners and the only thing the ole man knows to run is me mouth or, according to my arch-nemesis, (now pluralized with the appearance of the other fellow who retired like me) my “verbal bowels”

The way I ran into them was so by-chance.

At that time de ole man used to live in New York and went to a social at ** in Flatbush one Saturday and came across 5 young athletes who were on sports scholarships from the Freedom Striders!!

And the Colleges that they were attending were not fly by night places either and de ole man stopped and enquired about the FS Club.

What was shared about this community based Bajan organisation and its ability to attract the common man/woman, and train them to be of such an athlete that Amurican Collleges took an interest in them fascinated me.

But it was the dedication of a club with little resources and its ability to kick out champions that kept me spell bound.

The fact is David[BU] and Mr. Cadogan the ability to train is not something that can be autogenerated by a building and therein lies the problem that we have, across our entire society.

We have come to believe that as long as we have a building, the talent will come, and that forms the basis of 95% of the requests for funding of facilities and buildings across the spectrum of Bajan endeavour irrespective of the sector!!

I am going to share a secret with you actually I will pose said secret in the form of a question

Say you were an American coach/head hunter visiting Barbados looking for talent and you had two choices (i) to view where the athletes trained (ii) of view documentation on the efficacy of their training – the performance numbers, which of the two would you prefer?

I figure that you would say the data yes?

Suppose the statistical records were in a rusty looking “exercise book” purchased from Neville Rowe’s shop on Baxters Road, would that data be still worth anything to you.

Yes again?

You do see where I am going with this.

Here we are 40 years later still seeking pretty buildings yet failing to optimize tried and tested systems that “delivered” the goods at an international level to satisfy the head hunters.

Furthermore, we still lack any modern mechanisms that record these performance in the “exercise book” of 2015, and thereafter make such information available for the market, in a manner that the Amuricans are more accustomed to.

All form WITHOUT SUBSTANCE

3. There was a lotta talk about a National sports program being launched a few years ago around the time of the BOA elections. Did Steve Stoute not commit to launching such a program if re-elected?
    …or was that like the DLP’s transparency legislation in 100 days…?

4. Did Steve Stoute and his minions at the BOA not declare after the London Olympics they would work with stakeholders to get a head start for RIO. Is a progress report available? One year away our best 4×100 is over 1 second behind the best.

On 6 May 2015 at 11:46, Barbados Underground wrote:

5. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re Ranting and raving, I was told that “you think you are an expert on everything”! It is comments like this that stop our country from going forward in sports, and as usual, that is why the other so call smaller islands have gone ahead of us. I now really understand why other athletes keep their distance and do not get involved.
    MAN YOU RIGHT
    IF YOU KNOW ANYTHING IN BIM YOU JUST KEEP SILENT CAUSE YOU WILL BE TOLD “you think you are an expert on everything”!

RE I too will be joining the ranks with the others and will continue observe from the side line YOU RIGHT HERE AGAIN

NOTE THE SUBSTANCE OF YOUR POST HAS NOT BEEN ADDRESSED ONLY A BIT ABOUT A BUILDING

LET WE MEK SOME SPORT IN THE RUM SHOP TODAY MANI

NEXT YOU WILL BE TOLD YOU KNOW WHAT YOU KNOW BY LEARNING BY ROTE AND YOU ARE NOT INTELLIGENT AND YOU ARE A LEGAL DRUG PUSHER ETC INTERALIAQUE ah lie?

6. Here we have the same concern again packaged in a different submission.The problem with sports in Barbados is petty politics and the inability to motivate the players.Look at two consistently performing players.Darian King.Chelsea Tuach.No Minister.No politics.It would be interesting to find out why Barbados’ top overseas basketballer recently declined for national duty.

7. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE t would be interesting to find out why Barbados’ top overseas basketballer recently declined for national duty.
    IT IS BETTER TO GO OVERSEAS THAN DEAL WITH THE MORONS IN BARBADOS WHO THINK THEY KNOW BUT REALLY DONT KNOW.

LOOK AT HEALTH AND EDUCATION IN BIM TODAY…..DO YOU THINK THAT THOSE WHO THINK THEY KNOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING REALLY KNOW ANYTHING.

I HAD MY EXPERIENCES AND THEY WERE FUNNY. I JUST WENT TO WORK DID THE HOURS AND WENT HOME TO WORK ON MY REAL ESTATE.

8. Cadogan is wrong when he states athletes in the sixties were faster better than athletes now. The times don’t back up his opinion. The 100 relay men in Bahamas last week hold the record for Barbados’ fastest how can the sixties athletes be faster than them? Nostalgia is good its also misleading. Comparing sportspeople across eras is pure guess work. Was Rocky Marciano better than Mohammed Ali? The computer match up said yes. Most of us who saw Ali and never saw Marciano say no. Its hard to believe that Marciano could stop the awesome skills of Ali. We will never know.

The persons charged with running the various sports disciplines are prime reasons for the shortfall in performance and sports infrastructure. Most of them are in administration long after their sell by date although they may have made contributions at some stage. Many agree the sports administrators are involved for their own aggrandizement. They are jaded by the sport yet ego driven and show a love for the perks, the free travel and the power moreso than the athletes progress. More than one blogger suggested Morris of table tennis and Randy Harris of the BFA are notable exceptions.

The new Barbados kit in the Bahamas was awful. Its too busy and nondescript. Lets stay with the Carifta kit. Its classy, the national colours design is creative and reflects the bright young guns who wear it. Why change for changing sake. The Jamaicans have been wearing the leopard themed vests for years and are immediately identifiable. They are the best in the world in track follow them. You cant go wrong.

9. The following link is instructive if discussing athletes across eras.

http://www.ted.com/talks/david_epstein_are_athletes_really_getting_faster_better_stronger/transcript?language=en

On 6 May 2015 at 14:35, Barbados Underground wrote:

10. The following comment was received from Wayne Cadogan the author of this submission who is experiencing difficulty logging to BU:

To the gentleman who said that I was wrong regarding athletes were running faster in the sixties. I agree with you on the current records, naturally, records are meant to be broken, have to start at some point in order to break them. What I am speaking of is the standard and quality. In the sixties, athletes were running 47 seconds for the 440 yards at Kensington Oval on grass. Today, our athletes are struggling to run 48 seconds for the 400 meters on a much faster track that is supposed to help the athletes run faster. This is so for many other events also, and if one was to do a comparison of times, heights and distances, they would see that they are not that far from todays times. Naturally, you will have an outstanding athlete in a particular event in the midst that stands out way above the others, or should. The consistency is just not there and it is time that we stop fooling ourselves over the mediocre times that our athletes are producing today.

11. Jamaica is better and they will continue to improve. They have a world class sports program and the stadia to support meets which attract world class athletes. Is there the Jamaica Invitational this weekend?

12. Jamaica has discovered another star:

Jamaica International Invitational: Elaine Thompson wins women’s 100m

Saturday, May 09, 2015 | 8:27 PM     1 comment

Elaine Thompson (FILE PHOTO)

KINGSTON, Jamaica – Elaine Thompson continued her world-leading performance Saturday, claiming the women’s 100m in 10.97 ahead of Nigerian and Commonwealth champion Blessing Okagbare, who finished second in 11.05, at the 12th staging of the Jamaica International Invitational (JII) Track and Field Meet.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport/Jamaica-International-Invitational–Elaine-Thompson-wins-women-s-100m

13. @ David
    You need only look at the Website of the JOA and compare with the Barbados equivalent to understand why Jamaica is a successful Olympic sport country….and why the current leaders in Barbados continue to be successful – in enjoying personal benefits.

LEADERSHIP.
    Mike Fennel has demonstrated leadership at the highest level – running the Commonwealth Games Association successfully for years.
    What have our leaders (who have been around since the 1980’s) done at either the national, regional or international level that is of any note…?

Check out the report on the JOA AGM held on Jan 22…..about ATHLETES, financial statements and anti-doping.
    Compare with the BOA report on their AGM… all they would be able to talk about would be changing the constitution so that the current people will extend their time in office …by deferring elections to 2017

Barbados …. home of mediocrity and mendicancy.

14. The sweets are too good to pass up, Steve Stoute will have to die in office before he relinquish the reigns. Life has been to sweet and what does Barbados have to show for his tenure as President of the BOA, nothing. Absolutely nothing, but he personally has a lot to show.

15. Note the Barbados football team was trashed by St.Kitts and Nevis last night.

16. Jamaica International Invitational 2015 – Complete meeting

17. Thanks Anthony.
    Amazing meet…
    Perhaps our sports officials are unaware of the impact of such an event in inspiring the country’s youth, in building national pride, and in building a sporting heritage.

Imagine Barbados is possibly the ONLY CARICOM country that is presently (and in the near future) TOTALLY INCAPABLE of hosting such a meet….

After having a National Lottery supporting sport for decades…..
    After having practically the same set of jokers in leadership for decades…
    After talking shiite year after year and making false promises upon promises…

….and we will probably keep those same idiots as ‘leaders’ for decades longer…..cause we like um so…. besides, we don’t have ‘incontrovertible proof’ that they are incompetent ..so we can’t ask them to explain their lack of progress…..we can’t question where the millions of lotto dollars have gone…. and we CERTAINLY can’t take away their special perks including world travel, free cars, free phones …..and Lord-knows-what-else….

BBs

18. […] Perhaps our sports officials are unaware of the impact of such an event [2015 Jamaica International Invitational] in inspiring the country’s youth, in building national pride, and in building a sporting heritage – Bush Tea […]

19. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Congrats to Sir Charles Williams for being listed into the Guinness Book of Records as the oldest Polo Player, at 82 years of age.