Submitted by Bush Tea

What the hell!

Bushie turned on the TV by accident this [yesterday] morning only to see Jeff Broomes and two of his students – the head girl and deputy head girl – on the DLP TV talking about a peer program at Parkinson School on Mornin’ Barbados.
Some Shiite gotta be wrong with Broomes. In this age of total and complete shiites in eddy kashun in Barbados this man keeps coming up with impressive ideas, selfless developmental concepts, and high quality initiatives that goes completely against the grain…. He gotta be looking for enemies…

The man turns up with two TOTALLY impressive young ladies on the TV, IMMACULATELY dressed, looking confident and relaxed, and totally on board with his leadership. Shiite man Jeff…. Wuh you think you at HC or wuh?

Then they go on to outline a program that is clearly designed to build camaraderie among students, teachers and parents, to address bullying, to improve academic results,  to improve the school’s image….and this program cost almost nothing.

This is madness!

Why does Broomes not get with the program, take a leaf from Sir Cave Hilary’s book and ask for about $60 M to be invested by government for some esoteric program involving new buildings in Bridgetown, hiring a dozen PhDs, and begging COW and SAGICOR for land?

Why does he not shut down the damn school and go on strike like the other teachers who want to get promoted to Chief Education Officer?  ….or send home all the children until their parents teach them some manners and how to dress properly…?

Clearly Broomes is out of step with education in Barbados. No wonder Froon appointed a Commission to move his ass from Alexandria, and no wonder some want him out of Parkinson…he is clearly a problem.

Those two girls ARE impressive however….shiite man, they gave Bushie goose pimples… Pity that they are Bajans and so destined to grow up to be brass bowls …once authorities finally succeed in saving them from Broome’s dangerous clutches…

136 responses to “Jeff Broomes is a Glutton for Punishment”

1. bush man would make a good door to door salesman he good at wrapping up shite in toffee paper and selling it as candy. de guy gets up centre stage big ass grin from ear to ear tell the Bu audience that Broomes is a good leader then runs out the back door when some in the audience trow rotten oranges in his face this ole fart is one bold faced triple star lying hypocrite. then some ole senile retard comes limping across the stage to salute him proving that in the land of the blind the one eye man is king

2. @ GP
    “…many theatre orderlies at qeh used to tell juniors how to set fractures and complain to the boss if the youngster did not listen…”
    “Juniors”? ….. “Youngsters”….

Come on GP.
    Bushie is nor referring to interns, apprentices, or recruits. This is part of the overall training system and these are essentially still students.

In any case, the trouble we are talking about don’t come from ‘youngsters’ but from old hard-back failures…
    We are on about full paid, appointed, trained and permanent staff.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac February 5, 2015 at 4:44 PM #
    “.. bush man would make a good door to door salesman he good at wrapping up shite in toffee paper and selling it as candy. ”

LOL!!! Oh Shirt (or should that be Shite)! That’s the version of the firm of acs I like; full of wit and humour instead of deceitful lying piss.

Pity you would be the Candyman Bushie’s one and only customer, hooked like a rat on cocaine of brown crap.

4. @Observing

Yours is a question open to rivers of debate. Without getting vague a good leader in a practical sense must be linked to our ability to compete as a country, functioning NGOs etc, our key indicators like crime, happiness in the society, an ethos of efficiently solving problems etc. All this of course based on a general consensus of what kind of society we want to build. We are a small country and this should be difficult to accomplish. GP just posted a practical example of what leadership is in a narrow context.

5. i don,t get you either donna with your slick innuendos of passing of broomes as a leader of anything, broomes is not and have never been and will never be a leader you get here using coded language attacking bush tea for the same thing you say in many of your comments you have annexed the word leader next to brromes then you try to erase it with some kind of a round about explanation. now that is A1A hypocrisy, forget talking about IF’ broomes could a or woulda , the fact is the word leader is not synonymous with jeff broomes in any sense of the word far removed from he barely can inspire unless he use dominance or fear other than that he is a lost soul drifting out to sea on dead wood, did i say “dead wood Oh! i was thinking about Bush TEA
    stop being sneaky you got yuh own double speech going on but you not fooling ac, try that on fuh size with the geriatric crowd, they will buy anything.Btw don;t try changing my mind i read your language and it is full of innuendos like BT, both of wunna need to become travelling road salesmen .

6. Deeword,

You sound a little wounded there. Don’t let the Bushman whack you! Usually you make a lot of sense. I followed your argument and agreed with most of it but I did get a little tied up in parts. Besides Bushie knows when he’s lost an argument even if he refuses to admit it to us. I can tell when he deliberately starts to misunderstand what we are saying.

7. @Stuspe

The quality of student at QC and by extension the social circle? Don’t drop standalone statements.

8. donna don’t get up in here pretending you tried in your earlier post putting broomes on a leadership pedestal then back track,

Donna @ac

I am saying that by choosing him as principal the Ministry of Education has thrust him into a leadership role. He has unfortunately been unable to fulfill the requirements of that role. There are ways to handle people who cannot yet see our vision. It’s called expanding their horizons. If Mr. Broomes would slow down and take the time to deal with his staff less abrasively it would eventually save him some time in the long run. He can spend his time putting out fires and fighting wars or he can slow down and spend some time building a team that will do some of the work for him. I refuse to accept that that cannot be done by the right person.

what de fk…plenty double speak going on.here again…the miniustry did not put him in no leadership role , he was the one that morphed into some kind of leader / and failed miserably

Jeff Broomes took the job as principal. That means he is the leader of his teaching staff. if he did not want that position or does not want that position he should have remained or should return to his comfort zone in the rank and file. He was excellent there.
    ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    stop this shite talk about leader,, he was never a leader he was given an administrative post with laws and rules whereby he was to administer and adhere to. stop trying to muddy the water.
    he was never appointed to be a leader , he was an employee of an education system that had a mechanism in place that all schools were to follow. here is where the problem begins just like many of these comments broomes misunderstood his role as an administrator with a belief that he can transformed and reform under a plan using the leadership model ,

9. a good leader has the spark of enthusiasm which ignites and inspire, good leaders are a rarity, e;g martin luther king. one who was the embodiment of inspiration a rarity ever found in any of to days leaders.

10. ac,

But you hardears though! I said Jeff Broomes is SUPPOSED to be a leader in his capacity as principal. In my opinion he is not doing a very good job. What about that is double talk or slick innuendo? Are you not smart enough to know when someone has sifted through your pile of nonsense to find a little something they can agree with?

11. “a good leader has the spark of enthusiasm which ignites and inspire, good leaders are a rarity, e;g martin luther king. one who was the embodiment of inspiration a rarity ever found in any of to days leaders.”

So, true… and by this statement, you have essentially admitted that Freudel Stuart does not possess the requisite attributes to qualify him for a place among eminent leaders.

12. ac,

Just saw your last post. I believe if you reread my posts you will see that nowhere did I praise Mr. Broomes as a leader. I said he is a man who has a vision and believes he can make a difference. Your definition of a leader is a good one and yes, good leaders seem to have disappeared from today’s world. But I don’t think it would take a Martin Luther King to fix things at a secondary school in Barbados. I disagree with you that a principal is nothing but an administrator. My headmistress Dame Elsie Payne was not just an administrator. She set the tone for the school. She created an environment.

Finally what you see as double talk and hypocrisy is actually an ability to see the other person’s side of an argument and accept its validity. But I wouldn’t expect you to get that. That sort of thing is way beyond your capacity.

School is out!

13. bushie this donna gal got you by the balls
    i think she has given you atrophy of your testicular apparatus–OR WHATS LFT OF IT

LISTEN TO SHE GOOD
    MURDAH

Donna February 5, 2015 at 6:49 PM #
    Deeword,

You sound a little wounded there. Don’t let the Bushman whack you! Usually you make a lot of sense. I followed your argument and agreed with most of it but I did get a little tied up in parts. Besides Bushie knows when he’s lost an argument even if he refuses to admit it to us. I can tell when he deliberately starts to misunderstand what we are saying.

14. @Donna

Good last comment. It is about sharing and learning from all. It is only an idiot who will hold fast to ALL positions and we have a few ion the blog.

On 5 February 2015 at 23:40, Barbados Underground wrote:

15. Donna the word LEADER was in no way synonymous ..attached ,, annexed to Jeff Broomes he was an administrator, that was his ,job he was not to “Supposed” ( to) he had rules and guidelines that govern the education system across barbados, Broomes was caught in a catch 22 and tripped all over himself trying to transform and such remains the case as he still struggles trying to figure out his role

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David BU:

We have noticed that here of late you have been attracting not only the politically tarnished riffraff (like ac and the miller) but also the hoity-toity of academia of class conscious Barbados.

Maybe a stint of life overseas like our friends “Pieceoftherockyehright” and retired “Colonel Buggy” or even Hants and Sargeant can put them back on the road to reality of the modern world.
    Barbados revolves around the rest of the world; not the other way around.

17. donna you did not ” praise” him your inferences glided ever so softly as a pretext to condition the reader with an informal intent of supposition

18. @ artexeres
    i said what i meant,, however if putting words in my mouth suffice you ,,be my guess

19. @Miller

A unique characteristic of BU you must admit is the given opportunity for the intelligent and the dullard to collide.

20. you david is a nasty work of art, because two differing opinions collide that does not make one a higher authority than another the only “thing” dull and boring around here is YOU,

21. Miller,

I must have missed something. Who was it that implied that the world revolves around Barbados? This is not a rhetorical question. I genuinely want to know.

22. Letter in todays Nation by CARL MORE.
    We BARBADIANS love flattery. We punch above our weight, now there’s this abstruse concept called “the idea of Barbados.”
    …………………………………………………………………………………
    Previously we also had , what ever that was , something called ” The Bajan Way”, which we had expected people from all over the world to flock to Barbados to experienced this unique thing. Yes we are punching above our weight, quite acceptable, when you are shadow boxing.
    Have you had a look recently at one of our “Premier” Heritage attractions? The former home of His Excellency ,the late Sir Grantley Herbert Adams, where we expects visitors to come an pay good money to see . It is on track to join Culloden Farm, as well as H.E. Errol Barrow’s birth place in St Lucy

23. I requote a blogger above

“David Browne, principal of QC, hardly comes on television and notice the success of QC in every sphere ranging from academics to sporting to technical. QC is quickly becoming the most preferred school while HC takes second spot”

David Browne principal of Queens College not coming on TV to laud the schools accomplishments IS NOT THE SAME AS Mr. Broomes coming on TV to big up the accomplishments of Parkinson’s former Pine Prisoner Population or Springer Memorial Whores.

The problem with many of you readers is that you are sooooo very far removed from the psychology of the underdog schools in Bulbados that you cannot understand the pedagogy and commensurate style that would have attended and attends Broomes battle with teachers and students at these “lesser institutions ”

I put it to you who would decry broomes because of his interpersonal skills, that the effort to teach and inculcate a pattern and ethos of achievement in a student at Queens or Harrison’s College is significantly less, and less complicated than the challenges facing Broomes.

I would even bet that none of these ivory league principals could be placed at Parkinson and obtain the results that Broome has and will get

Indeed “ambition should be made of sterner stuff…”

24. I have to admit that you may be on to something there. It’s something like having a Black History Month. There doesn’t need to be a White History Month because their history was taught in schools. Funny though when I was at QC we took great pride in our school but we were blissfully unaware of the names you mentioned for some of the newer secondary schools. We just thought of the students as children who had received a little less marks in the common entrance. We even had an exchange going with the St. Leonard’s School at some point. I still think that Dame Elsie would have had success in any school, though. She was calm, logical, fair to both teacher and student. She was genuine, compassionate and commanded respect without having to say a word. She had presence. She would have turned some lives around, I’m sure!

25. @pdyr

in reference to your term”overambition”have you ever heard the saying “that too much of anything is not good maybe that kind advice is necessary especially in a setting where some are not easily and readily acceptance for change.better yet a formula made up of differing opinions preparing all to get on the same page would be more acceptable when dealing with multiple voices in an adult setting whereby the majority interest in placed first

26. @ AC
    “better yet a formula made up of differing opinions preparing all to get on the same page would be more acceptable when dealing with multiple voices in an adult setting whereby the majority interest in placed first”
    …who ever was your primary school English teacher, if deceased, should be resurrected for 20 minutes …..just to have their ass flogged ….for imposing you on this blog.

…If still alive, they probably suffered enough already….

27. @pieceuhderockyeahright February 6, 2015 at 8:10 AM …I would even bet that none of these ivory league principals could be placed at Parkinson and obtain the results that Broome has and will get——————-

Sir, I can’t speak to the modern day Bajan ” ivory league principals” but I think you do Tank Wlliams, ‘Joe Physics’ Smith, Charlie Pilgrim, ‘Spoony’ Roach, Mr. Blackman, Capt. Barker, ‘Can I marry You’ Symmonds (Dame Symmonds of St. Mich Sch) and indeed Dame Elsie (as Donna noted) a grave injustice to suggest that they would have been unable to get into shape any school of which they were the principal.

I can’t agree with you there sir.

Surely Parkinson and all of the ‘newer secondary schools’ have their ingrained difficulties but as skilled as I perceived that group showed themselves to be through the many challenges of their day I have no doubt they would have found the way to harness whichever institution’s strength and get the best results possible from it.

As Ms. Tudor did to harness the best from Springer and was done in recent years there as well by others.

PS: ‘Can I marry You’ was a joke I recall on the Dame re her strict grammar requirement that supposedly scuttled a marriage proposal!

28. @ DeeWord
    If any of those you listed were in active duty now they would either operate VERY differently than back in those days…. or THEY would meet serious challenges somewhat like Broomes,
    …do you recall that a certain big-up ‘Miller’ almost ate Joe Physics alive…? 🙂

29. Bush shite i wou;ld expect that response from a tin horn dictator

30. @ bush shite which reminds me of you”too much knowledge is a dangerous thing”

after yesterday class clown act on stage you finally reemerged to insult primary school teachers you goof ball, what a limp dick,

31. …besides DeeW, there were no idiots at the level of AC back in those days to frustrate strong teachers.
    It took millions of eddy kashun dollars and years of brassbowlery to produce the ‘AC’ class of brassB idiot.
    Now…not only are they a dime a dozen, but they are running things… (into the ground)

…of course this had to happen so that the prophecy would be fulfilled which says that “in the last days, the first shall be last and the ass shall be first” (or something like that 🙂 )

ha ha ha LOL rotfl… shiirt!!!

32. @Donna” But I wouldn’t expect you to get that. That sort of thing is way beyond your capacity.”

Off the back foot, cracked past gully, along the ground, glorious shot!

Sir Carl Hooper would be proud.

33. ac February 6, 2015 at 6:41 PM #

Notice when ac don’t get her way she gets insulting…..

34. nobody ever insult ac .Right! no wonder i tagged you a demonic force walking this earth, if insults were lashes ever inch of my body would be covered, yet you crusoe get up in the stan pipe school house and telling lies,, your a,ss deserves a got beating down along with a forced apology,

35. What is happening at Parkinson School? Why is the BUT accusing Broomes of ignoring an incident with weapons yet Broomes was not present and it was never reported to him.

36. Caribbean’s different gender gap: women rise, men stagnate.

http://news.yahoo.com/caribbean-gender-gap-grows-women-rise-men-stagnate-050421731.html

Also congrats to Prof Barriteau.