Rihanna
Rihanna

BU has come to the realization pop star Rihanna is a slave to publicity. To be fair to her, the line of business she has made her own requires a script to be followed to sustain success, this a business with a relatively short shelf life and making money is the name of the game.  To quote Rihanna her, she intends to raise the bar by breaking the rules.

One sure way celebrities attract publicity in this world is to bare it all, especially when the body state satisfies the stereotypical view of what is beautiful. There is a view held by many Barbadians we should not be critical of Rihanna because of her unprecedented global success. There is another view – why criticise Rihanna, she does not care or neither does it erode her success.  Theses perspectives are spurious and soaked in false logic. Barbadians on a daily basis offer critique about Presidents Obama and Bush and other non Barbadians so what is the point?

Another reason Barbadians have a right to critique Rihanna’s public persona and behaviour; she was made Ambassador of Youth and Culture by the government of Barbados. If her appointment was rescinded and diplomatic passport withdrawn, we have not been made aware. Barbadians have a vested interest therefore how Rihanna’s behaviour may  influence young impressionable Barbadians. If not why give her an ambassadorship?

The majority of Barbadians love Rihanna BUT it does not mean we have to remain silent if she carries herself in a manner which offends the individual morals of some.  We wear clothes of different styles for different reasons when visiting different places. If Rihanna decides to expose her beautiful body in public because her handlers believe it is an asset to draw publicity, it is her right. It is equally the right of Barbadians  to opine about Rihanna if they feel like it.

BU’s position is unequivocal, Ambassador for Youth Rihanna’s sluttish outfit worn at the Council of Fashion Designers of America last evening brings into question what  moral fibre we want to nurture for Barbados given the willingness of government to attach to her brand.

169 responses to “We Give You Youth Ambassador Rihanna”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Beauty hath fallen to brutish beasts and men have lost their reason. Having endorsed her the clowns cannot I endorse her lest, as with so many of their silly choices of late, it comes back to bite them with her making a statement about the island and going into exile for 5 years or something like that

2. This girl too sweet. Look Rihanna is BIGGER, far bigger than tiny old Barbados … With that in mind, be greatful that we can still piggy back on her success …

3. No class, No style .Little talent.Filthy mouth.
    Great youth ambassador for Bim.

4. david of all people u should be the last to lecture any one about morals after u allowed BU to be the stomping ground and means by which anyone can flagrantly depict over 16miilliongay ( people most of whom u never met ) in the most despicable tone and manner by GP,,,, YES DAVID u should hang your head in shame before pointing a finger at any one or in any direction to judge what is moral ,, even more insulting is your use of protecting such despicable language hiding under the law of FREEDOM OF SPEECH,,,,well , the same can apply to RHIANNA where it is permissible by law for her to freely express herself in any form shape or fashion,,,, now next time u start pointing fingers take a look at yuhself first and asked who am i to judge,,,

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BAFBFP | June 4, 2014 at 6:59 PM |

I share your view. Rihanna, despite her “perfect imperfections”, is way outside the narrow small-island petty moral confines of insignificant Barbados. She is the most widely known Barbadian and does more in promoting the little piece of rock of hypocrisy than anyone else.

Unlike many of her compatriots towards her ( e.g. “bareminimal | June 4, 2014 at 7:07 PM”) Rihanna never bad talks Barbados but uses every opportunity to identify positively with the speck on the Globe. Barbados benefits from Rihanna not the other way around. Unlike the jokers who condemn her she is a major foreign exchange earner for Barbados, not a spender.

6. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

WELL SHE DONT NEED NO LOAN FROM THE IMF OR IDB, HER S&P . AND MOODY IS AAA , BARBADOS AND THE DBLP FRAUD GOVERNMENT IS JUNK TO THE 9 POWER-LESS

7. fair and balanced the other side

8. Bajan junk bonds
    Bajan junk stocks
    Bajan junk food
    Rihanna’s junk is the only one that anyone is interested in

9. Michael Saunders Avatar
    Michael Saunders

509-1011 Concordia Ave.,

Winnipeg, Mb., Canada:

R2K3H1

sss@shaw.ca

To any company shipping Items To Canada:

When shipping any item of value to Canada be very leery of utilizing any format that uses Canada Post as a carrier. (USA POST SHIPS THEIR ITEMS INTO CANADA UTILIZING CANADA POST TO DELIVER SUCH).

Over the past year I have had three different deliveries coming through Canada Post mysteriously disappear….The latest, which Canada Post claims was delivered, was done so when no one was at our residence to receive it (we had left our residence at 13:00 hrs. so to be at a doctor’s appointment at 14:00hrs…a 25 to 30 minute drive from my residence…. which I arrived at 13:35 hrs.) yet they incest that the package was delivered to our apartment at 13:30 hrs on the day in question……

I had ordered a Tablet from a supplier in the USA….a gift for my Grand Son. Living on a meager pension I had to save for four months to be able to get this item and when it didn’t arrive I had nothing to present to him for his birthday. I ended up spending my grocery monies so/as to get him a gift for his birthday (I couldn’t afford to purchase a tablet) but I could see the disappointment on his face when he didn’t get what I had promised him.

When I contacted Canada Post I received nothing but a complete run around. They insisted that their driver had delivered the package to my apartment at 13:30 hours and that it had been properly received. They told me to check with my landlady to see if she had received the package and failing that to check with the other people on my floor.

I checked with our landlady and she stated that no one from Canada Post had come to her office at the time (Re: 13:30 hrs) that Canada Post had supposable delivered the parcel) nor had she seen anyone from Canada Post go up in the elevators which are in plain view of her office.

I checked with our neighbor’s living on the same floor and they did not seen anyone that didn’t belong on the floor anywhere near our apartment…..(Our neighbors are extreme busy bodies and don’t miss anything that transpires on our floor)…..yet Canada Post insists that they had come to our door and had delivered the package to our apartment!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I guess that someone had broken into our apartment just after we had left for the doctor’s office and had received the package from Canada Post then had left locking the door behind them all without alerting our vigilant neighbors nor disturbing anything in the apartment……..

By the way if you think that this transpired then I have a nice piece of property for sale in Florida…..running water and nice pets and I will deliver the paperwork van Communist Post….that way you will be assured of receiving it!!!!!!!!!!!

And this is one of three packages that had mysteriously vanished!!!!!!

One, a blueberry rake ordered from Bangor Maine….something that is not available in this part of Canada…. went missing when Canada Post had stated that they had delivered it to out apartment. In Aug. I was out at Sandy Lands (A local wilderness area noted for wild blueberries) where I was picking wild blueberries. At one patch I noticed a person using a blueberry rake of the type that is used to harvest blueberries in Maine (something that is extremely rare in Manitoba). When I complemented her on such and asked her where she had gotten the blueberry rake she stated that it was a gift from her husband. I then asked her where her husband worked……she stated CANADA POST!!!!!!!! I can only guess where my blueberry rake ended up!!!!!!!

Even though I cannot prove that Employees of Canada Post are doing anything illegal (and have been informed by their UNION REP that I will be charged with slander if I even mention them in any investigation)…..and the fact that I, without catching them red handed, cannot prove any of these allegations……I can only surmise what has transpired. All I know is that I have never had any item not arrive which was shipped by a courier…..but with Canada Post……..three that I know of in one year out of seven deliveries being made!!!!!!

So, in closing, when you have to ship anything of value to Canada try and utilize a shipping method that accurately traces each and every package and insists that all items are signed for with proof of residency before they are released!!!!!!!!

Something that Communist Post Does Not Do Unless You Insure The Items In QUESTION and demand that the delivery is verified!!!!!!!!!! Using this method you just might receive the items that are shipped to you!!!!! Otherwise kiss it goodby!!!!!

10. Michael Saunders sounds like Laser Ship in the USA. They share the same company mission statement! Amazon uses Laser ship to save a few dollars and the goods never get there or if they do they get there days late.

11. Oh please! Leh de girl loan do! Why wunnah eating up wunnahselves bout somebody who ain’t got a frigging clue of wunnah existence? And to boot, somebody dat filthy rich and ain’t scrambling to meet the high price of every damn commodity in Barbados? Even de local ‘ambassadors’ don’t get noticed right here in Bim. Just move on and focus on wunnaselves. Stupse. I doan tink she begged to be an ambassador.

12. Dayum!!!! I wish I could wear that shit!!

13. Slave Driver, Shaka the Warrior Avatar
    Slave Driver, Shaka the Warrior

Clothes are a white man thing

14. Slave Driver, Catch a Fire Avatar
    Slave Driver, Catch a Fire

15. She can’t be youth ambassador any more because she is too old.

At age 25 she is a hard back woman. Youth wah???

That said she is not baring it all.

I see a pretty young woman in a very pretty floor length dress.

If I was still the 114 pounds I was at 25 (instead of the 200 I am now) I would wear that dress.

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

BU David you need to lighten up man.

Rihanna ain’t walking up to the altar at St. Leonard’s Church to take Holy Communion.

She is an entertainer and she dresses like an entertainer.

16. The “Good Girl Gone Bad” continues to sing the praises of Barbados and she even mentioned the Island in her acceptance speech while wearing the rhinestone dress. Barbados doesn’t have the budget to pay for that kind of product placement.

Life is short and then you die…..

17. ac

Indeed. Spare me what passes for morality in this place.

BAF

Of course, even if she has no upper register and is basically an electronic contrivance. Boney M wore similar outfits in the ’70’s and as an ambassador she spells SUCCESS. The griping is from dirty old men who are bitter because they’ve lost the knack, or those kill-joy Christians who’ve forgotten Eve once cavorted naked in the Garden, or the green never-will-be’s who think they are or might-be- someday’s.

18. Rihanna Twerking Avatar
    Rihanna Twerking

Rihanna is a Pop Tart like Miley Cyrus, Lady Gaga and Madonna and is supposed to shock to stay in the headlines. She has more talent than the other 3 industry hags put together.. Who would have thought a fashion shoot would have a woman posing semi-naked flashing her puppies..

check the twerking vid
    http://www.vanityfair.com/online/daily/2014/06/rihanna-so-naked-cfdas-dress

19. Do some of you read?

Rihanna can do whatever she wants we are all agreed. The point being tabled is that the government has leveraged and attached itself to her brand, there is the 3-year tourism arrangement, and the fact she is Youth Ambassador, Barbadians have a right to critique Rihanna. You mean if she bends over and exposes her willy to the wind we should all applaud? We have not learned from the story ‘The Emperor’s New Clothes’?

On 5 June 2014 05:51, Barbados Underground wrote:

20. Please remember that Rihanna gave the QEH 3 (or more) new radiation machines for which I and many others are very grateful. I hope she continues to prosper and keep doing good for her country Barbados.

BTW anyone remember Josephine Baker? Nothing new under the sun.

21. @Ping Ping

You have joined those who will give heavy weight to economic considerations? And yes we thank Rihanna for the donation and look forward to others. No doubt she will enjoy the tax benefit.

22. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

I see nothing wrong with Rhianna’s outfit – Smoking hot. AC baby you see Rhianna’s shape and boobs – THAT IS ME BOO BOO!! Its just smoking. but my boobs a little bigger.

The world (Barbados) taboos a woman baring breast, skin and a sexy ass butt, but accepts as normal nude beaches baring all.. The world says WE MUST EMBRACE GAY RIGHTS AND THE RIGHT OF GAYS TO COHABITATE AND MARRY. We accept that lesbians and homos can have free reigns of power to manage business and nations and that if a man or woman wants to change his sex its not a problem – THEIR CHOICE – accept it. The world says: accept a gay priest and a woman to the priesthood – not a problem times are changing. Barbados says: all politicians are thieves – crooked, liars, perverted and pilfering, yet we accept that as a passed norm. But Rihanna must be criticize on the basis that she is an ambassador for youth and a symbol of great influence. As a result, what she is doing is totally negative in the eyes of the youth. So I say to all you hypocrites is not what I stated above all negative to the youth and have some influence?

23. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

All you critics tell me something. Did Rihanna influence that teenage boy who was featured on Black Berry messages pelting his little 4 inch dick in a sheep. Or what about the two teenagers who were engaging in some serious stand up and tek it in the back sex for which the nation news hierarchy had to go to court. Tell me who influence that? Or did the scenes for which the boat cruises and beach parties are now an open display of lewd sex with “others” or with banks beer bottles an influence of youth ambassador Rihanna Robin Fenty?. Did she influence that? Or what about the recent perversion addition to Barbados sex plays called”Spartacus, ” Failing not to mention, the allege open wife and husband brothels by some big ups on the island. Did Rihanna influence that.

24. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Tell me all you hypocritical two face critics: is Rihanna’s Ambassadorship an entitlement that binds her to the rules and aegis of all that is good about Barbados? You hypocrites make Barbados sound like a Vatican of holiness and not even there is holy. I think you who look at the mirror to see Rihanna’s wrongs should start looking in the mirror at yourselves to see what is not so good about you. Tell me, was vote buying wrong or right? Tell me, was Fruendel Stuarts acknowledgement of knowing and witnessing vote buying but doing nothing about it as Prime Minister make him wrong or right? Tell me, is a minister who is known to have made his wealth from pornography a right or a wrong. Tell me is Mia Mottleys lesbianism right or wrong and should she be a potential leader of an island or do we accept her lifestyle as a norm with no influence or consequences to the youth. When you can answer these questions come back and tell me more about the wrongs of Rihanna as a Youth Ambassador compare to the rights of our, lie-ing, homosexual, wife swapping, cheating, pilfering, bulling, crooked, bad talking, low life so called role models.

25. Honestly, great body that she has, dressing that way shouldn’t shock us any more. Anyhow, very few could carry it off the way she did. What came across to me is a young lady with tremendous poise, great speaker with that Bajan accent, and with a sense of humour. It is THOSE things that should make us proud of her, because those are the things that she took from Barbados to the world.

26. @SSS

Isn’t yours a facil argument? It takes a village to raise a child. All organisms in the eco system we call earth are connected, some of the output is known, some unknown. The moral of the story, we are shaped by everything around us, this must be obvious for the impressionable minds of the youth.

27. David

Of course you’re allowed to gripe and those who oppose you are entitled to say you’re a bunch of tossers. Bit worried about your use of the word “willy”” though.

28. And the “impressionable minds of the youth” would gather what from the fact that BU condones death threats?

29. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Influences are not restricted to one entity, though one entity can have great influence. Constitution determines what will be accepted and what will be rejected. Thus Rihanna could be all good but people could easily be influence into doing bad because of perception in one of her songs. Or Rihanna could be all bad but influence some little girl or boy to aspire to vocally to succeed in a singing career like her without the so called perceived extremes. To say that Rihanna’s entitlement should be the hinge on which her life swings is to say that the bestowment of Ambassadorship should take precedence in her life. The ambassadorship did not make Rihanna it was a gift for great achievement. Thus it should not define her.

30. @SSS

Maybe so, maybe so all bound in the tension of living.

31. but really ac. is flabbergasted that David would even go the route of shaming rhianna because of her all but nakedness when david all but exposed his nakedness full frontal by allowing hate and bigotry on BU. does he not see an immoral connection.Here David let me throw u a fig leaf as your nakedness has too been exposed for us to see

32. @ac
    Don’t you mean his “willy”?

33. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@AC my Boo Boo

What hate do you keep alluding too boo. What makes BU good is the freedom of expression. And expression carries both a moral and immoral sway. Surely boo you know that were there is fire they bound to be water; and where there is hate there bound to be love. Why are you trying to expose David’s mirror and not your own.

34. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Tension is living and living is tension. What is your point?

35. peltdown..not sure if David have a Willy at his age it could have gone the way of the dinosours ..but one thing i know for sure what little of his moral compass he had left was all but destroyed in his effort to appease GP tirade and immoral attacks on the gay community who had done neither of these individuals anything. freedom speech requires responsibilty in the same manner that David sees fit on calling upon rhianna to do ..while excluding and exempting himself..to ac that is a boldness wrapped in hypocricy..

36. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@AC boo boo

Why are you ignoring me pumpkin. Why… I am sadden by this lack of attentiveness by you….Boo are we not good?

37. @SSS

A nation must have a moral compass and there is a reason why the dial quiver.

38. yes a nation should have a moral compass ..and most important do its best to secure and preserved and not allow friend or foe to. abuse out of selfinterest .the same concept aldo applies to individuals like u David u had not the moral decency to do the right thing and rather disregard recklessly. those who would use your forum as a punching bag to heap scorn and hatred on a community who asked for equality..David that is an immoral. act and u have not now the moral authority to speak on those things u deemed to be immoral.

39. Shiite man…it looks like GP still have the goat ac losing sleep over than pounding she got with the bulling thing….
    What the hell do you want David to do? Delete GP’s comments? …then won’t he have to ban you ALTOGETHER?….you know how much pup you does talk…?

…Interesting how it is always those who talk the most shiite that are first to call for the referee to censure others when THEY are on the other end of the stick…

….hope GP come and catch your brass on here… and put some more lashes in um….. 🙂

On the subject though, ….when it comes to Rihanna, perhaps the maxim should be “Judge not, least Ye be judged”…
    She is clearly NO SAINT….but then she never claims to be…in fact, her claim is to be a “GOOD GIRL GONE BAD…..”
    …Wuh shiite then…..at least she is honest.

Personally, Bushie is highly suspicious of Rihanna’s associates (JZee et al) and their satanic connections…….phenomenal and unexplained success in this world of ours is hardly ever a 100% coincidence…..
    ….same shiite with Obama…..

But given her CHOICES, one has to admit that she has certainly EXCELLED……. Something which CANNOT be said for the VAST MAJORITY of us who claim to be “GOOD BOYS DOING GOOD… ”

When we have role models who actually reflect RIGHTEOUSNESS in their living…..THEN we can judge her….

40. David
    when it comes to judging “who more wutless than who” I get a bit nervous cause “suppose I’m caught out” …. I don’t know much about Rihanna except that I am grateful for her gift to the QEH. I don’t know or care about her motives. While some criticize her (probably with good reason) I simply wish to acknowledge her good acts and encourage others to follow her example.

41. @Tea Bush & Ping Pong

The scary thing is that we have reached a point where the prevailing attitude is to allow any thing and anything. There will be a price to pay.

42. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

DAVID
    TODAY SUCCESS IS MEASURED ONLY BY THE AMOUNT OF MONEY YOU MAKE
    TODAY SUCCESS IS MEASURED ONLY BY THE EMOTIONS GENERATED AND HOW THINGS APPEAR

43. @ David
    What the hell is this “Tea Bush” business now……Sunny Shine Sunshine got you under her spell now…? 🙂

44. @GP

Agree with 100%.

45. bush tea .not surprising that. the short -me -crtuch slime ball that u are would support hate speech.given all the other hate and vindictive comments that u made on BU .most notably your approval of parent having the right of discipling their children with instruments to deliver deadly force…the criminal that u are i would have been surprised. if uu ve said anything. different u to o bit imbecile

46. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

POOR AC
    HER TWISTED KNICKERS IS GIVING HER A WEDGIE IN HER NIEMAN PICK-ESQUE BRAIN
    THIS WOMAN SO STUPID THAT SHE CANT GET HER THONG ON STRAIGHT, AND SHE THINK SHE CAN ARGUE WITH SCHOLARS AND INTELLECTUALS

WHAT A LAUGH
    WHAT A BAJAN BELLY LAFF

AND SHE TALKS ABOUT HATE SPEECH

47. the fact is thst i do not support hate speech..and the fact that David would allow BU to be an advocate. for such dispicable and demeaning language demonstrate his tolerance to enable immoral acts. further more if any of such language is played out by vengeance ..i could not see how David or any one whose silence was defeaning to words could have a moral authority to speak out when those words are used in acts of. voilence…the fact is that all have a moral responsibily to inhibit what is wrong and not chery pick those issues we crave out as immoral..rhianna lifstyle as an individual has the right to pursue in which direction she sees necessary as long as it does not impede or curtail the rights of others .that is her life and she has all the freedom to do what ever she is dam pleases with it.

48. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

AND GP HAS THE RIGHT TO PRACTICE HIS CULTURE BY CALLING BULLERS BULLERS AND WICKERS WICKERS.

THAT SIMPLY IS BAJAN VERNACULAR AND NOMENCLATURE
    AC GO AND UNTWIST YOUR PANTIES LOL

49. and to u GP. u are a shameless piece of turd .can,t see how u would even got. the nerve to quote bible.your tongue is sepertine having the face of the devil a face which u proudly displayed for all to see and what a show it was indeed. even the devil applauded .u low life scum bag