Dennis Holder - DLP   Dale Marshall - BLP*
Dennis Holder – DLP                     Dale Marshall – BLP*

Bios

35 responses to “St. Joseph”

1. coldstorm2k8 Avatar

easy win again blp

2. The DLP candidate Holder is reported to be a public servant i.e school teacher. The practice in the past was for public servants to resign once the decision is made to toss the hat in the ring.

3. @David
    Do they withdraw on the decision to toss in or on actual filing with the treasury???

4. @observing

Good point, perhaps a clarification will be forthcoming from others in the know.

5. Prodigal Son Avatar

Is the humbug Rommell Marshall still running up in St Joseph? Poor soul,looks like the boys on the block run him from up there for good.

6. Does anyone know why Randall Rouse was jettison?

7. The BLP has formed the government for 2/3 of the last 36 years and has represented St. Joseph for 86% of that period.
    The people of St. Joseph will decide if they are happy with the infrastructure or lack thereof in the parish.
    I remember Sir Richard Cheltenham just like Sir Louis Tull complaining in Parliament about how their constituencies were being neglected by their own BLP party. If the good people of St. Joseph do not send Dale Marshall packing, then they will have to prepare themselves to endure the neglect that will follow after the election.
    Marshall is a poor representative relying more on traditional BLP party loyalty in St. Joseph than any meaningful accomplishments.
    He only realised that Joes river bridge needed to be fixed in his constituency after the government changed in 2008 and the bridge was about to collapse.
    Let us also see if Mottley will work behind the scenes to take him off the backs of the good people of St. Joseph. I am sure that she has not forgotten his treachery.

8. @David, 7:32
    try losing four times….including in a swing.

9. Not even the DLP supporters are fully backing Holder, they complain he was cast upon them without notification, he never even when to branch meetings.

10. Here are some issues the government will probably have to deal on the campaign trail:

The lack of reliable water supplies in areas like Lammings? Why wasn’t the Scotland District Authority as proposed by the former BLP Administration acted upon?

Why wasn’t the pavilion at Proute ever completed by the DLP Administration even though it was started by the last BLP administration?

Why are there only big signboards announcing house spots at Branchbury and St. Anns but no actual houses under the proposed 500 lots programme? In one case the area is covered by tall bush? Is it because these are waiting to be handed out at election time in order to sway voters to vote for a particular party who may allocate these lots?

How will the recently announced plans by the Ministry of Transport to stop of road and 4×4 activity in the Scotland District affect those residents who currently benefit in one way or another from the many tours like Adventureland etc. which pass through their areas – Joes River Forest, Hackleton’s.Bathsheba etc?

Why was the Tamarind Hall Civic Centre named after US Attorney General Eric Holder and not one of the outstanding residents of the parish? It seems that Mr Holder has little connection with the parish (other than being named Holder) and the fact that his parents are Barbadian.

11. @DAvid
    You are only a candidate when you pay your money to the Treasury, Then you have to resign if yuou are a civil servant

12. @true to form

Thanks for the clarification.

13. It always amazes me how the BLP machinery works!!!!! 15 YEARS in power and in 4 years they are asking the DLP questions like this–The lack of reliable water supplies in areas like Lammings? ASK DALE WHY ESTWICK DOING A JOB HE SHOULD HAVE DONE– Why wasn’t the Scotland District Authority as proposed by the former BLP Administration acted upon? TELL DALE THE MONEY WASTE IN THE DUMP THAT FULL OF COB WEBS
    Why wasn’t the pavilion at Proute ever completed by the DLP Administration even though it was started by the last BLP administration? ASK DALE IF THAT PAVILION WAS’NT JUST AN ELECTION PLOY —

14. Ya jumping boundary lines Paul. Which constituency are you from again?

15. I was referring to David’s comments he spoke about the scotland district which to my knowledge is in St Andrew

16. fyi

The following Branch meetings and activities are coming up this weekend, you
    are asked to come out and give your support.

If you are unable to view the activities below you can click on the link
    and see them on our Facebook page.

http://www.facebook.com/DLPBB/events

Joint Branch meeting of St. Andrew and St. Joseph Constituencies. Sunday
    27th May, 3:00 P.M., at Chalky Mount Primary School, Chalky Mount , St.
    Andrew, Guest Speaker : Prime Minister, Hon. Freundel Stuart Q.C., M.P

Branch meeting Christ Church West, Sunday 27th May, 5:00 P.M., at Arthur
    Smith Primary School, St. Matthias, Christ Church, Keynote Speaker:
    Senator, Verla Depeiza, Candidate for Christ Church West Constituency.

Branch meeting St. Philip South, Sunday 27th May, 5:00 P.M, at Princess
    Margaret Secondary School, Six. Roads, St. Philip, Speakers: Hon. Adriel
    Brathwaith M.P. Attorney General, Minister of Home Affairs, Presenting his
    Constituency Report; Dr. Hon. David Estwick M.P., Minister of Agriculture,
    Food, Fisheries, Water Resource Management, Featured Speaker; Prime
    Minister, Hon Freundel Stuart Q.C., MP
    Kind regards

Winston Dottin

The Democratic Labour Party

” DLP…Continuing to make People Our Priority”

“Kennington”

George Street,

St. Michael

Barbados, W.I.

17. @ Paul Arthur

I am letting you know that the Scotland District includes from the Ridge Road, Frizers, Bissects (?), Spa, Parks, Cattlewash, Cambridge and all lands in St. Joseph abutting on St. Andrew.

18. Observing (and waiting) Avatar
    Observing (and waiting)

Just out of curiousity. How many times did you receive this email David? A friend whispered that the exact same email appeared in his inbox six times this week. 🙂

19. @observing

Get these emails all the time especially from the DLP. Still waiting to be placed on the BLP’s media distribution list 🙂

20. Why should we embrace Mr. Dennis Holder when his very party never really wanted him? Andre worrell was the preferred candidate .its good to know that his wife is the vice chair of the st Joseph constituency council and the parish ambassador president. I guess that will work in his favour. (campaign money).

21. Political Intelligence Avatar
    Political Intelligence

Barcititizn your logic is typical of backward basic BLP thinking. Measuring Holder and his wife with the BLP tiefing yardstick. How the france monkey PIC money and Council pennies could fund a campaign??? But tiefing in the BLP DNA from the biggest BLP politician to the smallest.BLP cashier or clerk. All the tiefs in Housing, Waterworks and Transport Board is BEES Payne put in. Check it out. We woman in St.Andrew got Payne chipping all now. He cant sit stand nor go and we woman will MAKE SURE HE BUSY and cant help Dale. Dale could drag up the reject Pat Parris and canvass.
    St. Joseph fuh DEEEE this time!

22. Political Intelligence, can you enlighten us on your gov’ts record in St. Joseph for the last four years. or is it simply to let st. joseph rot and blame Dale!. Can you tell us what happen to the Edge water project and the Joe’s river bridge that was in a mad rush to be completed. All we can see is vines and rust. or is this work ” …..being fast tracked albeit at a slower pace” ( coined from Sinkler on “Four seasons restart” ) .You cant win by neglect and blame .Josephines are not stupid!

About Four weeks after Hurricane Tomas ….Dlp went parliament and voted 38 million to help with disaster assistance. Four year now! see how they helped St. Joseph, most of the houses that needed a little assistance will have to be demolished and rebuilt, I guess you can blame Dale for that too. the roads , the bridges, the water mains that keep bursting.
    We will call this inept Govt to account. unfortunately you will still be sitting it out as do your operatives.
    This present Govt is mind boggling, unbelievable and out of this world,and think bajans are excited at their “clown acts” . We bajans will deal with this when the bell ring.do you remember your Govts slogan ” how long is too long if its good” ) well we bajans want to know and will ask the DLP …..”how long is too long if its bad”.

Explain these few senarios:

*Dlp holds parties galore ! ..jones however say bajans keep too much parties
    Colin spencer dont want owen…but wont blame DLP for his inability to party with out fees that closing down entertainment sites.
    *Stephen Lashley jet off to olympics at tax payers expense …. freundel say hold strain money low
    Hammie say he give his support and … then jump off ship quickly
    Sinkler says he is committed to free garbage collection..then charge levyin the next paragraph.
    Dlp is committed to free tertiary education….then impose financial burden on students.
    Boyce fires 3SR for road building then reappoints the same people under a diff company name and then commit bajans to pay compensation.
    eager 11 stage a protest ,deny it on air.. then hold private meet and hide issues.
    oh my…
    now after being relegated to junk….
    cabinet says “dont worrry every thing under control”…
    now …our Prime Minister freundel is telling us in ” two phases” so far (1) we must do what ever is necessary to keep the ship afloat…and (2) we must all break for ourselves!!!! ….we wait on phase (3) or (as usual) he has gone long ago.are we sure we can find the captain.
    ……sound like shipwreck.. Hammie i think you will have nuff followers jumping ship too .

we josephines knows better and has seen better.
    …….lord help us.

23. Political Intelligence Avatar
    Political Intelligence

@barcitizn
    There is nothing that is occurring in St.Joseph that the DLP should answer for. Why? Because neglect of 21 years cannot be undone in four. Since Maizie Barker Welch represented the people of St. Joseph, they have not had one single politician who cared. And they know it and will say that emphatically when the next bell rings.
    The candidate Holder has been just that, a candidate for mere months! And already he has prevailed upon the government to get Fruitful Hill done. And whatever he can ask for he will, I am sure. Voters are not stupid. He has no case to answer, neither does his government.
    Dale Marshall was the representative for 18 years and he rode on the BLP loyalty shown by the people of St. Joseph. Bought drinks, skinned his teeth and leaned on Payne for support. Unfortunately that crutch will not be available next election. Payne of Ego is fighting for political pride as we speak. The writing is on the wall for him. He knows he will be unable to help Dale.
    All that you have listed have been an indictment on Dale Marshall, and I hope Holder has read your list so he can use the information. He has a clean slate. He would be smart to lambaste Dale Marshall with your presentation.
    The DLP never neglected St. Joseph, the Bees did. Ask Johnny Cheltenham and the people of St. Joseph.

24. @ political intelligence

You are probably right in everything you said. However, knowing some of those Josephines like I do, including ‘old onion bag’, if the BLP ran a four legged canine in St. Joseph, people would vote for it. This includes my family.

25. The present administration has a duty to provide for services in all parishes in Barbados, in times of dire need it is even more pressing. To allow St.Joseph to rot for four years and blame Mr. Dale Marshall will not cut it. Will we have the Joes river bridge complete before elections ?

It is noticeable that a few things have been done in St.Joseph by the Dlp for the last four years, namely- the re-naming of the tamarind hall project and “the short cut” in hillswick all done under the BLP govt. Is this how the DLP stamp their names?

Not a word on edgewater project,and the many sent home. “The Structure ” well is now a ghost town from Fri nights thru Sun nights , Why?.
    Low water pressure throughout the mornings and tomas’ destruction still apparent. We know why because we support BLP despite the swing!

26. By the way ,St. Joseph has always had strong, caring and powerful representative within the BLP. But i must add lloyd smith (boychild) as exception from the other side despite he never won.
    To date the worst rep. was Mazie barker welch,(won”t mention whats she has been good for) and Josephines got disgusted with her begging.
    Mr Holder “Profess ” is not even the Dlp’s preferred choice. Well i think he was about to resign before the DLP nomination, but had some challenges getting tcpo permission to open his school. His nomination secured that permission and now when he’s beaten he will eventually resign and pay that attention.(look at his pic)- that’s where his heart is! . The Dlp always looks for any “homeboy/girl ” to throw at the electorate, no wonder they can’t function as an effective Govt.-” any means necessary to try a win”.
    (ref: hammie, mara.)

27. Has the candidate for St. Joseph utter a word as yet?

28. I am amaize to hear that Mazie was the worst representative for St Joseph .I have been living in the US since 1982 and I didnot hear of anything done to the parish untill she was elected lets be fair , and sadly by the next election she was replace that reflects the mentality of the people of ST JOSEPH I refuse to let it be know that I am from there.

29. Mr holder is on record as saying that “he was tired teaching” long before he was on a DLP ticket. He started the development of his private school at home and intended to resign to run it. but problems with town planning caused him some discomfort. he was refused permission(on conditions) . he knows that! mr holder God knows that is true don”t let political expediency cause you to lie.
    when holder was announced a possible candidate he got TCPO permission for the school and then he allowed another to take over its operation. while he sought a political career, Profess you know this is true. it is painful to see you using this as an attempt to try to woo josephines. …”politics make strange bed fellows”.

Save your soul and repent of this lie..profess. dont go down this road.please.

30. barcitizen | October 30, 2012 at 8:21 PM |

……by the way “David”, Dale and Mia’s pic was posted in the daily nation looking over the Joes river bridge and discussing its repairs long before the govt changed in 2008. its on record so please stop giving the false impression and spreading propaganda…..do your research.

31. Time for change

32. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS
  33. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS
  34. Crazy Horse Jockey Avatar
    Crazy Horse Jockey

Dale is being out spent by the new comer Holder. Reports suggest Holder’s campaign manager Cumberbatch, from the water authority has hooked up some SERIOUS financal donations from Williams and Burton Ward and Maloney.