Jeff Cumberbatch - Chairman of the FTC and Deputy Dean, Law Faculty, UWI, Cave Hill
Jeff Cumberbatch – Chairman of the FTC and Deputy Dean, Law Faculty, UWI, Cave Hill

As was the Prime Minister of St Vincent & the Grenadines, Dr Ralph Gonsalves, I, too, was not overly enthusiastic at first blush about the involvement of some of our neighbouring jurisdictions such as Antigua & Barbuda, Dominica and St Kitts-Nevis in the Citizenship by Investment [CBI] programme or, as it has been more popularly referred to, “the sale of passports”. While addressing the launch of the Chamber of Industry and Commerce Finance Fair in May last year in St. Vincent, Dr Gonsalves maintained his administration’s opposition to the programme that he described as “a race to the bottom”.

This is understandable. After all, as individuals, we tend to regard some things as being not for sale, however destitute we may become. We, or at least most of us, would not sell our dignity, for instance, nor our lifeblood or vital organs; we would not sell our children. In a similar vein, one calypsonian was proud to proclaim a few years ago that come what might, he would never sell the old donkey that he had recently inherited from his deceased father.

I readily concede that others might be of a different persuasion, a different practice even. Dr Gonsalves was of the view, however, that his country’s passport was too sacred a document to be sold. According to him, while wishing his colleagues well, “We just simply have a different perspective on it…we start from the simple proposition that that the two most important books in a house, in any house in St Vincent and the Grenadines, are the Bible and the passport….”

I have since re-examined the matter. And, on further analysis, I observe that in the finest mercantilist tradition, we, as a region and as a people are given to the ready disposition of our finest assets to the world for lucre; our beachfront property, our glorious weather, our educated workforce and low tax systems; our natural resources. Our cricketers now sell their talents to various teams in the world’s T20 leagues as they once did to the English counties. In fine, we are a people easily given to the sale of our treasured assets so long as a willing buyer for a sufficient consideration might be found.

Hence, it is understandable that some of our neighbours might be willing to sell citizenship of their jurisdictions, even though it must be noted in contrast that for those who should seek to acquire it by means other than by purchase or investment, it may be a legally complex and constitutionally involved process.

But there do exist those who have, and are willing to expend the money or investment quoted to acquire citizenship of these jurisdictions; an entitlement that will permit them a degree of access to parts of the world that possession of their own national passports could never accomplish for them.

At that level therefore, the sale of citizenship is comprehensible, although it equally brings to mind the notorious remark variously ascribed to Sir Winston Churchill, Mark Twain and George Bernard Shaw and addressed to an indignant female that “we have already established what you are…we are now merely haggling about the price”.

In last Sunday’s issue of the Barbados Advocate, Sir Ronald Sanders manfully defended the practice now being discussed and in her essay published on the Barbados Underground blog, Ms Alicia Nicholls, a trade and development specialist, did the same. One of the main thrusts of both arguments is that the practice is not restricted to these regional jurisdictions only but, indeed, enjoys global popularity, being extant also in some European and North American jurisdictions.

In fact, the regional passport is not ranked as highly desirable globally as some others similarly available –one website notes that purchase of the Austrian passport gives visa-free access to 171 countries, while the Dominican travel document by comparison severely limits the investor to a mere 91. Arguments also focused on the comparative rigour with which relevant applications are vetted and the relatively dire state of most of the regional economies, a phenomenon that has appeared to be almost intractable in recent years, that has driven them to this “desperate” measure.

Sir Ronald stressed this inescapable point. In his weekly column, “Passports: Sale or Saviour”, he wrote, “…all of the Caribbean countries involved with Citizenship by Investment programmes have come to them by necessity. Poor terms of trade, vulnerability to financial downturns in North America and Europe from where most of their tourists come, declining aid, persistent natural disasters and no access to concessional funding have forced them to be creative in raising revenues. They are all faced with fiscal deficits, high debt and an international environment that is unresponsive to their predicament…”

Ms Nicholls’s likewise adverted to this –“once carefully managed, CBI programmes can be tools of development. A prime example is St. Kitts & Nevis, which at one point had been among the world’s most indebted countries, and has seen its economic fortunes turned around”.

To bring the debate closer to home, Barbados, so far as I know, has never indicated an intention to go this commercial route, even though its passport is perhaps the most globally attractive in the region. I recall arriving in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, in 2003 on a teaching assignment for the International Labour Organization after a 16-hour flight from Amsterdam to see, with equal measures of surprise and pride, that the holders of our passport were listed among those that were exempt from the requirement to obtain an entry visa.

Is it then that by our reluctance so far we are playing, as my late mother would have termed it, “poor-great” or is it that we value our document so highly that, as “scrunting” as we are currently, no amount of money can lure us to make it available to others who are not constitutionally entitled to it? What do you think?

One pertinent issue that seems to have escaped regional discussion, although alluded to by Ms Nicholls, is that of the impact of the CBI programmes on the regional initiative of free travel under the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas, as judicially detailed by the CCJ in the Shanique Myrie case. This is to the effect that every CARICOM national is entitled to a right of free entry into the territory of a Member State and the right to remain there for a period up to six months, unless the national is an undesirable person with in the restricted meaning of that term and subject to certain other procedural guarantees identified in the decision.

Given the nature of this right, interregional comity should at least require a consensus among member states of CARICOM that this entitlement might also be acquired by a stipulated investment in any one of them under CBI.

81 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – A Race to the Bottom?”

1. @ millertheanunnaki who wrote,

“Which rich, law-abiding (pardon the oxymoron), well –heeled and connected individual would want to bribe corrupt politicians in the Caribbean for a piece of paper which has restricted acceptance internationally? ”

You are stating the obvious. Anyone worth a few million dollars does not need a “Caribbean Island passport. ”

Only those hiding something or running from something.

2. Guyanese will soon be leaving Barbados if this “pans” out as I hope.

http://oilprice.com/Latest-Energy-News/World-News/Exxon-Finds-More-Oil-Offshore-Guyana.html

3. @Hants

Only those hiding something or running from something.

There are probably a few honest ones who prefer to travel on a passport from a ‘çlean’ jurisdiction to replace the one from a country on the watch list.

4. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Sargeant January 15, 2017 at 12:39 PM … I can agree with you that “we can and should do better”. However, your reasoning to reach that is not as persuasive.

Let’s accept that there is a bit of “a copycat mentality” across the region. But frankly and reasonably I would ask you if this is not true across the world.

When we speak of competitive advantages and after we separate those nations with distinct or unique advantages from natural resources or developed resources then all the rest are copycats! Not so???

The CBI programs in the region are nothing new as noted by others. The US/UK and other major powers had them for generations.

So I would suggest that the genie has long been out of the bottle and we are late to a party where the music could be rudely curtailed abruptly. As suggested before, what happens when the major powers look askance at passports from us because they are too ‘freely’ available to undesirables.

The positive side of the debate is that if the passports are more ‘widely’ available then it could be par for course that ‘spooks’ have Bajan or St.Kitts passports as part of their ‘Idenit kit’. In essence, the super powers let ‘sleeping passports lie’ and this CBI ting does not blow up in our faces.

So yes of course we need more long term investment rich programs like Silicon Valley incubator sites and solar energy research et al…. But how long ago now has Intel left Barbados (and took with them fellows from Caswell’s and Jeff’s alma mater)?

And what has become of the nascent work solar energy development from Prof. Headley?Didn’t much of that go to ‘copycats sites’ somewhere else!

Yes we need to do better…but we have been down this road before. We do need to get back on the long haul route…as we certainly know what to do!

If we can’t respect the written word for it “logic, reason and [persuasive accuracy]” but are rather focused on who wrote the words are we all not a bunch of hypocritical SNOBS.

This line of argument is absolutely amusing. A coterie of intelligent folks who don’t hesitate to tell us what degrees they have (or recently how much marks and A’levels) or any other note which reinforces their gravitas and who will speak of their support of the ‘progressive’ agenda for the ‘small’ man and yet snipe so much about monikers.

Do you folks listen to your carping hypocrisy!

I read Jeff or Caswell because they write thoughtful well balanced articles and posts nine times out of 10. Bushie, Sargeant, Are-We, Artax and Pieces et al for the same reason. And I read Chad45 because he is ‘bad word’ who enjoys being a provocateur.

I do not want to know who those folks are. They write good stuff (or BS). But I like it. How is knowing who they are going to change what they write!

If I allowed their ID or clothing in their closet to change my views on their words then I would be a carping hypocrite like some of you guys! Fah real.

5. @ David “There are probably a few honest ones”

Agreed…. but it’s the crooks that we should be concerned about.

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ hants January 15, 2017 at 3:49 PM

Crooks indeed!
    There go any further plans to fingerprint or biometrically monitor its citizens!

If Barbados can’t even deal with the home-grown talent like Leroy Greenverbs how would the easily-manipulated authorities deal with the more sophisticated international version?

China has 17 million men in excess of requirements.
    Don’t be surprised if Barbados is forced to ‘import’ some of these unattached males in return for a fistful of American dollars or even yuan.

7. @DPD
    Very interesting Gravatar, are you telling us you are a man of and from the heights?

There is a saying “give a man a fish and he will eat that day, teach him to fish and he will never be hungry”. Our approach to these things are of the ‘give a fish’ variety we should be interested in attracting investment that will stick around and grow. Let’s invest in education, invest in those who are non- traditional n their outlook, we have too many ‘arts’ folk like Bushy who can’t see the forest for the trees.

We are constantly looking at each other and trying the same approach which means the pie is being sliced thinner until it’s like cellophane. Why don’t we look at other countries outside the region and see what we can learn from them and see if we can apply the lessons learned. I read that Israel is the number 1 country in the world for startups, what did they do? Can the same methods be applied here? I know we are unlikely to attract the kind of investment that Israel attracts from its large coterie of non resident citizens and those with deep pockets who are of the Jewish faith. That approach will garner criticism because of the politics and optics but what have we gained from embracing others (except some three wheeled ambulances and money which goes to certain schools that are no go areas for the majority of the population.
    Surely there is some funds available for investment in a country that has a stable Gov’t , non -violent society and excellent communications. The only thing that is missing is an educated worker who can apply the lessons needed to combat 21st century environment and that’s the job of the Min. of Ed in conjunction with the University.

Over to you.

8. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Sargeant, was playing around with the gravatar tingy so used an old travelogue photo taken years ago. Will change it as time moves on.

So nope not from any Heights! Just a local ‘village’ boy all the way.

BTW, to you and others so inclined here is an interesting blurb making the social circle:

“​Let’s send the Obama’s out in solidarity on Fri, Jan 20th 2016 by changing all profile pics to pictures of The Best First Family, Ever. We need everyone to participate for the maximum impact. In order for this to work you must change the profile pic on EVERY social media network. Pass along THROUGH INBOXES ONLY and participate! #THANKSOBAMA​”

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/92500/ccj-frowns-unnecessary-delays

This is the race to the bottom.

Miller…if Bajan men refuse to acy like real men and take care of their families, nithing wrong with the Chinese men replacing them, just like in Africa…hahaha.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/92507/trump-warned-watch-words

You go boy, dont stop cussing the US Intelligence agencies, just keep giving them their business, that’s what they deserve…lol

10. @ Hal Austin

I call it as I see it.

Are you suggesting because Arthur “was lead Prime Minister for CARICOM/CSME,” he made an “autonomous decision” to allow “free movement of graduates and professionals (when journalists negotiated their way on to the list) passed in to local legislation, giving graduates of UWI and the University of Guyana an automatic right, and other graduates from other universities a right with ministerial approval,” without input from the other heads of Caribbean States?

Perhaps you should avail yourself of more information on the issue.

11. Mahogany Coconut Avatar
    Mahogany Coconut

Mahogany Coconut Group 9/4/13

Citizenship For Sale
    We present and encourage progressive Caribbean views of Caribbean and world Affairs

Is the Caribbean on the auction block ?

As the economic crisis lengthens, Caribbean governments strapped for foreign exchange and foreign investments have decided to sell citizenship in order to plug holes within their economies. We have already stated that we are being drawn into a whirlpool of global proportions that may very well, forever, change the image and direction of our island states.
    There are those who will argue and quite correctly that bigger and more economically powerful countries, including the United States of America, are already involved in such activity. Once again we are forced to ask: Why are we following others?
    Many of our people, who live in the Diaspora, have given up on returning home because of what they consider to be the high cost of living. While we do not support such positions, we are fully aware that those who have planted roots in other countries have many factors to consider when contemplating a return to our island states.
    However, what we fear is that those who do want to return will now have to compete with very wealthy investor/ economic citizens, who once they become settled, would want to reap all the rewards of their investment in citizenship. We must therefore question the wisdom in these short term remedies to problems that cannot be solved overnight.
    We can therefore expect several negatives to emerge which will be bordering on economic and social discrimination. The question should be: Did we endure four hundred years of slavery and colonialism to sell our birthright? The question once asked of Barbadians ,by the Errol Barrow, must now be asked of the entire Caribbean: What kind of mirror image do we have of ourselves?

Kindly read the related article below:
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/02/12/caribbean-islands-sell-citizenship_n_2670241.html

12. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ Jeff

The answer is yes to your rhetorical question in the caption, whether you accent the first syllable or the second syllable in the last word.

13. Hants

Corrupted public officials flourish in Barbados because of a public that won’t demand accountability, and a media that is incapable of bring such corruption to the public awareness. We must demand from our public officials honesty, fairness and a respect for the rule of law, but merely articulating this incessantly, and not being able hold public officials answerable for their improprieties gets no way quickly. It is often said that we ought to elect the kind of individuals who are qualified both on the moral and intellectual level, but we fall short of realizing that there is a corrupted culture in the epicenter of power that with time consumes those persons with the best intentions.

14. Aretax,

If you call it as you see it then you need glasses. We talk about the Barrow, Adams, Sandiford, Arthur, Stuart governments. We talk about the Reagan, Trudeau, Thatcher governments. It does not mean a dictatorship. It is how western governments are defined,
    I note you have not said when the relevant legislation was introduced.
    When the legislation was first introduced I remember taking part in a discussion at Friends Meeting House in London and there was not a single word said in opposition, even though diplomats and, a minister and academics from Barbados were there in the audience.
    Let’s debate the substance.

15. A very unlevel playing field.

http://bbc.in/2jW9SgC
    BBC Politics and BBC News shared a link.
    Eight billionaires ‘as rich as world’s poorest half’ – BBC News
    bbc.co.uk|By BBC News

16. @ Vincent
    Have you ever sat down to consider that you may be judging by the wrong playing field?

Suppose the REAL playing field was slanted completely differently, ..such that what you though to be ‘first’ was indeed ‘last’ …. and vice versa..?

Cud shiite man Vincent …. Yuh went to a good school… so when you look at the general inclinations of the vast majority of brass bowls alive, are you disposed to conclude that their idea of a ‘master playing field’ is likely to be accurate?

Boss, trust the bushman when he tells you that wealth is not all that it is trumped up to be…
    It is obviously VERY attractive to those who are poor …and who have been convinced that the thing that is lacking in their lives is money.
    But what is REALLY lacking is an appreciation of the real playing field upon which success is defined…. for BOTH rich and poor. The disadvantage for the wealthy is that while the poor can mistakenly hope for success through wealth, the wealthy, realising that they continue to be unfulfilled, become hopeless……

17. Bushie

We have no basic disagreement with your statement,it has always puzzled me,this urge to accumalate wealth for its own sake.

We have enough resources on this planet for all to be comfortable untill such time as we fulfill ourpurpose to die.

18. Well if you agree that the accumulation of wealth should not be our main purpose in life, what do you think it should be instead…?
    …or are you saying that you are incapable of exploring such deep thoughts?

19. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

We sure are making progress on BU. It is heart warming that Vince and Bush can testify that “all is vanity’. So as the wise man Sirach said ” enjoy life while you may”. It is all vapour . It is there in the early morning and disappears in the heat of mid- morning sun.

20. LOL @ Bernard
    …the cussing just ain’t start yet….
    You know Vincie too… 🙂

21. Bushie

Chuckle…..when yuh right,yuh right……..now that we have established the basis of living is to die and that all is vanity,we can have an esotheric discussion on what should/could happen in between.

22. http://wef.ch/2jANC8C

Consider this. At the start of every month, around $1000 is deposited in your account.
    Why we should all have a basic income
    It’s like we live in a game of Monopoly but we’re no longer collecting money for passing Go. A universal basic income would correct this, writes Scott Santens.
    weforum.org

23. @ Vincent
    ….now that we have established the basis of living is to die.
    Which ‘we’ established that boss?

Dying is just a natural consequence of living, just as dark is only defined as a lack of light.
    The BASIS or reason behind that the fleeting experience called ‘life on earth’ is another matter altogether.

Surely you recall the psalm of life by Longfellow…
    The big question is whether the whole thing is just some colossal accident of chance…
    …or if some brilliant, super-human, big boss engineering entity designed and implemented the whole experience.

24. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@Bush Tea at 11:24 A.M.

I think it is time that you and Vince leave Mt. Sinai and see what mischief Jeff and David creating at the bottom of this mountain. We still have a Barbadian Society and Economy to put back on tract.

25. Bernard

Valid point……I note brasstacks is very tame today.

We are dealing with facts not conjecture or mans interpretation of things beyond his ken.

……..we are born to die and that’s the only thing we have to do on this plane.

……..we have a finite time on this plane which varies from person to person, what we do with it is up to every individual.

…….some love burning bushes or fermented beverages and arrive at many different theories springing from a very varied fertile imagination triggered by the smoke/fumes.

…….others enjoy their time on this plane……..until the time to depart when all will or willnot be revealed.

26. @ Bernard
    What are you suggesting?
    That we let Rome burn …and instead climb down from Mt Sinai and fiddle…? 🙂

@ Vincent
    It is hard to believe that you can be so simple as to find yourself in the midst of a most extraordinary experience called ‘life on earth’, …and that you would take the decision to treat it all as a dream …which should just be endured until it goes away.

This is what Bushie would expect from a wild animal …or a fool, who can be easily distracted with a beer or a grog.
    A wise man would ask (like a little child) WHY? WHO? WHAT? …until rational answers are provided….. and THEN order his living accordingly.

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea January 16, 2017 at 3:07 PM
    “This is what Bushie would expect from a wild animal …or a fool, who can be easily distracted with a beer or a grog.
    A wise man would ask (like a little child) WHY? WHO? WHAT? …until rational answers are provided….. and THEN order his living accordingly.”

Hi BT you are most philosophical today, aren’t you?

What have you been up to? Peeping in books other than your Judeo-Christian tome of mythology and in some cases downright bold-faced lies?

Maybe you have accidentally stumbled across some writings from the Greco-Roman culture to boost your understanding of what is this meaningless occurrence called LIFE on the little blue orb floating in one of billions of galaxies.

Is it just a zero-sum game your eponymous mentor Solomon (Son of man from the Sun) referred to in the best written work in your collection of mythologies Ecclesiastes to as ‘Vanity and Vexation’ to the human spirit?

The innocently puerile question you posed has been debated by philosophers throughout the ages even in rare periods of ‘Enlightenment”. Even your concocted character Jesus an ascribed son of both man & God found the ordeal on the cross (the 4 points of the compass on magnetic mother Earth) a bloody waste of effort and time to save mankind.

There is no difference between your evolved son of Man and a wild animal except ART.
    The question you need to debate is where did the ART instilled in man come from? Your fictitious BBE or the real engineering bosses that twisted the strands of DNA in monkey man?

“I have seen all the works that are done under the sun; and, behold, all [is] vanity and vexation of spirit.” ~ The Preacher.

“Life is just one damn thing after another.” So let us just eat, drink, sleep, and do it like our bonobo brothers and sisters. ~ Mr. Eponymous

28. Bush Tea January 16, 2017 at 3:07 PM #

Chuckle……… A wise man would ask (like a little child) WHY? WHO? WHAT? ………that wiseman hopefully when he becomes an adult will understand that we will never know the answer on this plane………yuh too hard ears.

29. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ Vincent at 4:48 PM

A wise man remains a child; and spends his time on this plane asking Why? Who? What? He gets enjoyment from many satisficing answers, which although not “true” are adequate for the time and the occasion. Unlike those from another galaxy, we cannot conceive of definitive answers.

30. Within time the wise man gradually ascertains to answers to life unanswered questions so long as he continue to probe for the answers for those unanswered questions. It took Einstein to probed beyond Newton’s classical physics to arised at his quantum physics etc.

31. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

Caribbean Island economies nowadays are built around ”economic gimmickry”. No economic fundamentals .When they are not prostituting themelves to the highest bidder- from tax doggers to shady investors- they now up the ante; resorting to selling their birthright for a few trinkets. This is filmsy short-term solution that is not sustainable .