Walter Blackman - Actuary and Social Commentator
Walter Blackman – Actuary and Social Commentator

In April 2015, I wrote an article captioned “A new agenda for Barbadian workers and their families”. In that article, I made an attempt to highlight the existence of a struggle between two opposing forces – Barbadian workers and their families versus the political class.

Writing from Chicago at the time, I tried to capture as much of the perceived negative features and weaknesses of the political class as I could. I then tried to show how these perceived shortcomings of the political class were negatively affecting the economy, and ultimately making life somewhat difficult and challenging for Barbadian workers and their families.

To be thorough, I also highlighted the perceived weaknesses of two very important decision-makers and members of the political class – the Prime Minister and the Minister of Finance.

Having laid out a historical case against the political class, and having highlighted the fact that some members of this class were extremely vulnerable until February 2016, I dared the unions to start fighting on behalf of all Barbadian workers and their families, and to exploit the temporary vulnerability of the political class. The next strike called, I challenged them, should be a strike on behalf of all Barbadian workers and their families.

Clearly, in April 2015, the cards were heavily stacked in the unions’ favour. Back then, one would have been heavily inclined to support any widespread industrial action brought by the unions aimed at benefiting Barbadian workers and their families.

Nineteen months later, in November 2016, Barbadians can now see the extent to which my article has exposed the unions for their ineffective and, sometimes, pretentious defense of the interests of Barbadian workers and their families.

Since April 2015, at least three special groups of Barbadian public sector workers needing effective union representation have attracted national attention:

1. Some workers 60 years and older being forced into retirement.

2. Persons working in temporary positions for 3 years or more remaining un-appointed.

3. NCC workers being retrenched.

In November 2016, all fair-minded Barbadians can now hold these truths to be self-evident:

1. As a result of the industrial relations process related to the above-mentioned Barbadian workers and their families, the unions emerged weaker and the government emerged stronger.

2. The temporary period of vulnerability for some members of the political class ended in February 2016. Having secured their pensions, these members now feel less personally threatened by union actions, strategies and tactics.

3. No meaningful, sustained, pressurizing industrial action was taken on behalf of Barbadian workers and their families prior to February 2016, or since.

Now that February 2016 has passed, and now that some members of the political class can no longer suffer personal anguish and pain as a result of being rendered ineligible for state pensions, Barbadian workers, their family, and their country must now become sacrificial lambs in order to achieve a short-sighted, individualistic, and perplexing union objective.

Barbadians (local and foreign), their families, and tourists must now suffer from anger, frustration, and fatigue as they try to pass through, or do business at our two ports of entry. The memory of our nation’s 50th anniversary of independence celebrations must now become marred and tainted, and our local tourism industry must now face a risk of reduced revenue, all because of industrial action started by “irresponsible and reckless” unions.

Mind you, whereas the unions could not find it possible to bring pressure to bear on the political class on behalf of all Barbadian workers and their families, they now find it very possible to speedily commence industrial action on behalf of one man. “Hurting many, for the benefit of one” seems to be the new slogan and mantra being adopted by the unions.

By the way, hasn’t a precedent been already set and accepted by the unions for the manner in which the Akanni McDowell case should be handled? Shouldn’t the Personnel Administration Department (PAD) and the NUPW repeatedly meet, if necessary, to negotiate a settlement? If the differences between the goals of the two contending groups prove to be intractable, and all efforts at achieving a settlement fail, shouldn’t the case go to the Employment Rights Tribunal (ERT) which should act as final arbiter? In other words, why should Mr. McDowell be treated differently from the NCC workers?

It is highly likely that the current industrial action and its attendant politics, being pursued on behalf of Mr. McDowell by the unions and the opposition, do not have the support of the majority of Barbadian workers and their families. Consequently, one is now heavily inclined to side with the political class and castigate the unions for attempting to damage the fragile economy of Barbados at a critical time because of narrow, political, singular and individualistic motives.

With respect to effective representation of the rights and benefits of Barbadian workers and their families, the reputation of the unions has wobbled noticeably since April 2015.

The act of effectively representing the interests of many workers and their families, when confronted by the opposing entrenched interests of the powerful few, must be seen as the raison d’être of all unions worldwide. Rather than assume a hostile, confrontational stance against the government and attempt to wreak havoc on a weakened Barbadian economy for one man only, the unions ought to ascertain if there are any major problems that Barbadian workers are beginning to encounter as a result of increasing private sector greed and contempt for our labour regulations in these difficult economic times.

To gain some insights into the new anti-worker practices being embraced and developed by some Barbadian employers, the unions should begin having collaborative discussions with the Ministry of Labour.

246 responses to “Hurting Many for the Benefit of One – the unions exposed”

1. @ A C

just a little note, Ministers have no control over public officers. The Public Service Commission does, The problem in the public service is that there are no bench marks to measure performance and operational systems to outline how long it should take to complete jobs.

2. i understand that but running to the media does not help He does have a measure of influence which he can leverage as minister

3. @Commentator aka musing aka waiting aka DLP Yardfowl

@Realist aka balance

All of you are a pack of dishonest posters.

#JAs

4. @David

The kettle should not call the pot black. The problem with you is that you can not clone people to think like you and hence you resort to name calling. Remember one thing you have an obligation to your parent to respect the bloggers you BLP yard fowl.

You can not or will not get me to think your way, the messenger is not important but the message. Nice try but go and do some research and come again. Who are you? a BLP duppy or a mule. just forget Michelle advice. That’s not a laser response, but one the old recket response.

5. @AC

thanks for the acknowledgement. I am agreement with Donville, he knows there is more than one way to skin a cat, like how you skin the CYBER BULLY who recently has been bullied around as he meets another bigger bully than him? How yah like that mah Girl/Boy/ LOL

6. David u talking shit” balance” is not any of the monikers you mentioned. if you read balance comments they have no kind of commentary recognition or affiliation to those other monikers you mention
    it is obvious from your frustration you are shooting at fish in a barrell while casting a very wide net
    what you need to do is stick to the job of being an impartial blog master and stop picking sides, after all these years you should have known your place by now

7. You continue with your defense and we will reveal more.

The BU household is a simple one but we understand a thing or two about blogging.

#dishonestyardfowls

8. ok David you can have the last word it is your blog and you can keep talking shi..t
    Have a nice Sunday

9. “The poster who frightens the shoite out of David Bu and his unpatriotic sycophants miller, artass. prodigal, bush art tee etc is Carson C Cadogan . Do you know where he is. If you do ask him to return. The blog owner and his pimps shite bricks when CCC is around.”

@ Commentator

You DLP yard-fowls never cease to amaze me…. criticize the DLP’s policies and you are labelled as being “unpatriotic.”

Dishonest Carson C. Cadogan???? You have to be joking????

I don’t “know where he is,” however, he was last seen being highlighted in a full page Nation News article, having DUPED a Rasta-man during the 2013 election campaign.

Perhaps the “heat” he would have been given if he “showed his face” in BU “frightened the shoite out of” him, causing him to “shite bricks,” because he left the halls of BU soon after that article was published in the Nation.

10. Artax you know nothing of CC for all intents and purpose any moniker posting pro govt can be a CC.
    In any case maybe like you he got fed up with David one sided approach of placing certain restrictions on bloggers he disagree while championing the positions of those he agree
    Bro check your facts evidence is crucial to any discussion

11. First things first, I NEVER post any contribution unless I can guarantee its authenticity or without submitting the necessary substantiating evidence.

You of all contributors to BU should be aware of this fact, because I have a success rate of 100% proving your contributions are often misleading and without verifiable facts. And you know I ALWAYS present the evidence to substantiate what I write.

Is he the same Carson C. Cadogan to whom you made the following response on his blog?:

“ac: February 7, 2010 at 12:54 am: @carson cadogan: So what if the taxpayers fix kensington oval. It belongs to them. Only if Sir Frank house is sold to the Government then and only then would the taxpayers be willing to fix it. Right now that is a family matter not a government matter.”

Everyone in Barbados knows that CCC, similarly to you, is a DLP yard-fowl.

The article clearly identified Carson C. Cadogan…… that’s enough evidence.

12. @AC

David must remember that bloggers have a recourse and they can complain to the enabler of the blog about his attitude. Do not let him frighten you. It appears to me that he is interested in one dimensional bloggers, those who are archaic in thinking like him. LOL

13. Artax what does that response having anything to do with the present back and forth at hand/ differences are part of meaningful debate.
    However in your first response you indicate by sourcing an article as reason why CC might have ceased commenting on BU to which my reply pointed out a similar direction you took when u took flight from BU.
    I meaning everyone has a reason to be offended but your conclusion via media sourcing as a reason why CC is not posting ( btw which u have no proof to verify since anonymity is applied) is ludicrous and unsubstantiated

14. Plse remind me what Castro did for Black Cubans between 1959 and his death?

15. Looks as though making a reference to Carson C. Cadogan “got your knickers in a twist.”

It is clearly evident that English language, and more so comprehension, seem to be very difficult for you to understand.

I wrote: “PERHAPS the “heat” he would have been given if he “showed his face” in BU “frightened the shoite out of” him, causing him to “shite bricks,” because he left the halls of BU soon after that article was published in the Nation.

The word “PERHAPS” is used to express UNCERTAINTY or POSSIBILITY.

Therefore, bearing that in mind, how could you possibly write that I “indicated by sourcing an article as reason why CC might have ceased commenting on BU,” when my statement cannot be seen as definitive because I used the word “perhaps?”

Surely you must agree that, in the absence of you not knowing the definition of “perhaps” and not being able to comprehend what I wrote, your response “is ludicrous and unsubstantiated.”

Secondly, unlike you, I’m not obsessed with Barbados Underground. You eat, drink and sleep BU. More often than not, you are the first and last person to post comments on BU. And, with the exception of Well Well and Simple Simon, you are the only other contributor that posts MULTIPLE contributions/responses to EVERY article on this blog.

Your obsession is not normal and the manner in which you use BU to defend every and anything perpetrated by this inept DLP administration, is indicative of one who is PAID to troll this forum.

Yes, I took plight from BU because I have a real job. During my absence while you were on BU writing your usual rhetorical political propaganda and defending these DLP shiite ministers as though they are gods, I was in Antigua and Anguilla conducting audits and setting up accounting systems for clients.

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Commentator December 3, 2016 at 7:41 PM
    “The poster who frightens the shoite out of David Bu and his unpatriotic sycophants miller, artass. prodigal, bush art tee etc is Carson C Cadogan . Do you know where he is. If you do ask him to return. The blog owner and his pimps shite bricks when CCC is around.”

Commentator aka waiting aka Musing, the miller must admit that he finds rather amusing your turn of phrase “shite bricks”. Couldn’t come from a more qualified rose tree trimmer of the political yard-fowl variety.

But you know what, “waiting” it is not bricks that you and your shitty administration will be excreting from your bowels in the coming weeks but runny mortar of mortal fear that would make the faecal situation on the South coast smell like driving through a field of lavender and roses.

Two diarrhetic discharges of shitty bricks are about to hit the fan. One is already is odoriferously befouling the air and causing visitors to fall ill.
    Both you and Carson the political criminal intimately know which business that is bad for.

The other would soon fall on your administration’s head like a tonne of shitty bricks ‘baked’ in Hell with the IMF’s economic restructuring measures the building codes to be followed.

Even one of your academically-trained bricklayers Dr. JR is on the job already laying the foundation. When is the other quack Dr Frank going to join the OSA choir? Or is he fully retired and not yet cured of his former foot-in-mouth anti IMF disease?

Is your man Donville Inniss about to jump ship like a drowning rat since he himself is totally pissed off with the PM’s failure to approve the Hyatt project in a timely manner thereby putting a lie to the Stinkliar’s claim of being able to secure $1 billion in foreign investment and foreign exchange before year end?

Are you still planning earlier than scheduled general elections for 2017 just after Estimates or are you hoping one of the boys drop dead on the job to force your hand?

Now you certainly can’t go to the electorate promoting divestment of State owned assets (like GAIA which is in direct line of sight of the IMF’s divestment rifle) and the outsourcing of more social services with the alternative being the dreaded Devaluation to drive the fear of God in the hearts of Bajans?

So why not do another deceitful move of a political sleight of hand and propagate the gospel of morality in public life to make God laugh with the Devil over a glass of rum laced with mauby to camouflage colour and odour of your shit-filled campaign?.

17. Artax do not try pulling a Donald Trump of sematics.. in the final wording with “perhaps”inserted it does not take away from the crux of your argument which meant to sway or give the impression that the article which CC posted in the paper would have contributed to him not posting on BU for your reasons given which you cannot know for sure ir verify .
    What if i say perhaps he does not live in barbados any more the perception given can draw various conclusion some right or some wrong
    The overall riding factor in opinion is fact and truth which you have chosen on many occasions to ignore or conviently forget however shrouded in suspicion and perception
    Again my question to u with so many different monikers posting here on BU how would u know if he ever have posted since that article in the paper
    You seem to have a position base solely on perceptions back very hard to solidify as facts

18. AC, by your response you have once again proven you are an idiot.

And by the way, I never wrote anything to suggest “CCC posted an article in the paper.”

Then again….. what are you really arguing about? Where are you taking this trivial issue?

I wrote my contribution, and based on your limited knowledge of the English language, you interpreted it as you saw fit……….. end of discussion… sheeesh!!!!

Shiite, you need to grow up.

19. Yes and my interpretation bodes well to what u have stated
    Shit man u need to go get a life

20. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

This could never be the intelligent AC writing this nonsense. Got to be that other imbecile AC. LOL

21. @ SSS

None of the ACs are intelligent!!! It’s a FACT often PROVEN by the INCOHERENT CONTENT of their contributions.

And it’s VERY AMUSING and at the same time SHOCKING that, against the background of them WASTING VALUABLE TIME on a DAILY BASIS responding MULTIPLE TIMES to EVERY article posted to BU for “discussion,” they could SHAMELESSLY offer advice re: “U need to go get a life.”

But we must forgive them…… BU is their LIFE; it’s where they get their 5 minutes worth of fame when people decide to respond to the shiite they write 7 days per week, 52 weeks per year.

“U need to go get a life”

@ ac

You should hang your head in shame when wrote the above comment, especially coming from a group of illiterates that log on to BU for an ENTIRE DAY until after mid-night, posting the same rhetorical political diatribe.

There is an old saying: “the devil finds work for idle hands,” i.e. “when people who have no work or activity are more likely to do things they should not do, such as commit crimes.” [The Free Dictionary, by Farlex]

You best exemplify that adage, as it seems you don’t have a job or a life, hence you log on to BU to post your daily amount of shiite.

22. Artax December 4, 2016 at 9:21 AM #

<<<Dishonest Carson C. Cadogan???? You have to be joking????
    I don’t “know where he is,” however, he was last seen being highlighted in a full page Nation News article, having DUPED a Rasta-man during the 2013 election campaign.<<<

Was it CCC or the lawyer boy Gregory Nicholls who some man insisted borrowed thousands of dollars from him on election day 2013. We aren’t familiar with CCC or the lawyer boy Nicholls.

Just asking you Artass to identify the real culprit for the benefit of the BU household . After all the lawyer boy Nicholls took up residence in the infamous Lawyers in the News gallery from then .Could you help.

23. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Artax

There is one AC whom I find their writings to be quite intelligent. I give credit where credit is due. That AC is the only AC on here that I respond to, now since the other pimp that I use to abused, I do not even bother my pretty little head with it anymore. She, it, whatever the shite it is, is just a washbasin. So I cannot agree with you ma-bau.

24. Well let me tell u sumthing Artax uh sound miserable as sh.it wuh ac done yuh and btw how would u know how many hours ac spend on Bu unless yuh spend 24 /7 on Bu.Seems my telling u to get a life was good advice after all instead of spending time doing day and night duty watching ac every movement on BU
    It is a good thing i never run into u in the halls of Bu cause for sure i will kick u straight up where the shine does not shine. Btw give Mia my best regards and congratulations for attending the 50TH Celebration all bubbled up with a spirit of patriotism

25. Commentator December 4, 2016 at 12:45 PM #

“Was it CCC or the lawyer boy Gregory Nicholls who some man insisted borrowed thousands of dollars from him on election day 2013. We aren’t familiar with CCC or the lawyer boy Nicholls. Just asking you Artass to identify the real culprit for the benefit of the BU household . After all the lawyer boy Nicholls took up residence in the infamous Lawyers in the News gallery from then .Could you help.”

@ Commentator [jack-ass yard fowl]

What does “the lawyer boy Gregory Nicholls” have to do with me? I don’t care from whom he borrowed money.

However, based on your suggestion, I decided to read the BU gallery you mentioned in your above comments… and low and behold, I saw FOUR other lawyer boys who also “took up residence in the infamous Lawyers in the News gallery” and will identify the real culprits for the benefit of the BU household.

The FIRST one is MICHAEL SIMMONS who “disappeared” from Barbados, “leaving behind a $2.5 million-plus debt to 47 creditors” and he is “being sought by lawmen for questioning in connection with a number of other criminal matters they were investigating.” Fortunately for him, an arrest warrant for him was withdrawn after he repaid the $90,000 entrusted to him that fraudulently converted for his personal use.

The SECOND one, RICHARD BYER, charged the Caves of Barbados $766,855.24 as legal fees to give an opinion on a $25.7 million loan. I’m sure that you are aware another lawyer provided a similar legal opinion on the original loan agreement for $33.7 million and only charged $17,000 plus VAT.
    I also know you are aware Byer VERBALLY ABUSED the Caves’ former CEO, Jo-anne Grant because she questioned his “exhorbitant” attorney fees.

THIRD on the “identification list” is Speaker of the House of Assembly, MICHAEL CARRINGTON. Recall he with-held his former client John Griffiths’ funds for a number of years, before that client filed a civil suit seeking the court’s assistance to have Carrington return the money. The High Court ruled against Carrington, ordering him “to surrender nearly a quarter-million dollars to Griffiths, FUNDS RECEIVED and WITHHELD over two years ago from the sale of a property as well as various bank deposits.”

The FOURTH culprit is DAVID THOMPSON who, through his law firm Thompson and Associates, assisted Leroy Parris in duping CLICO and thousands of its policy holders of $3.33M, under the dishonest guise that the company owed him that amount as gratuity.

I also identified an interesting commonality among the four, (i.e. a feature or characteristic held in common)….. they are all members or associates of the Democratic Labour Party.

So…… there you go, Commentator-ass.

26. ac December 4, 2016 at 8:03 PM #

“Well let me tell u sumthing Artax uh sound miserable as sh.it wuh ac done yuh and btw how would u know how many hours ac spend on Bu unless yuh spend 24 /7 on Bu. Seems my telling u to get a life was good advice after all instead of spending time doing day and night duty watching ac every movement on BU.”

@ ac

Your IGNORANCE has once again raised his ugly “weave totting head.”

If you were to CLOSELY EXAMINE any contribution to BU, you will immediately notice that the contributor’s name is FOLLOWED by the DATE and TIME of the contribution. (But then again you are so ignorant, you missed that small detail).

Therefore, an individual does not have to “spend 24 /7 on Bu,” he/she could log on to this site in January 2017, select any article and will be able to identify how many times any contributor posts contributions.

SSS, you sure you don’t want to re-think this “ac is intelligent” thing?

27. An ‘intelligent AC’ …is an oxymoron.

28. Hi Artax it is ac again ammm what time is ?

Ok btw no body interested in the ole school revisted recitations about the dead corpse of David Thompson. How about the monies that OSA accused Mia Mottley of stealing from the BLP campaign funds.
    Why dont u add Mia name to your list of illegaties and unfounded allegations.
    I say unfounded because you have no proof to substantiate theft occured by all names mentioned

29. You DLP yard-fowls are of the misguided opinion that ANYONE who is CRITICAL of the DLP happens to be a SUPPORTER of the BLP. Again, another SIGN of your IMMATURITY and STUPIDITY. Unlike you, some people are independent of thought and will not reason or base their lives within the confines of a political party. You seem to have great difficulty in separating your personal lives from the DLP….. you should seek psychiatric help.

I am not a member or supporter of the BLP, so what Mia Mottley did or did not do is of no concern to me.

However, in response to your mentioning “about the monies that OSA accused Mia Mottley of stealing from the BLP campaign funds.” “I (likewise) say unfounded because you have no proof to substantiate theft occurred by (the) name mentioned.”

Are you not tired of exposing how stupid and childish you lot are? The more you respond the more you expose your immaturity and stupidity. Another silly response is expected because you cannot help yourself.

I suspect if the DLP loses the next general elections you would commit suicide. As campaign time draws near, perhaps it would in your party’s best interest to place you on suicide watch.

Dun wid you, yuh stupid is ass shiite bucket yard-fowl.

30. Excuse me. The more u respond to my “childish” comments the more childish you appear .In any case like moths attracted to lamp u cannot help yourself

Since you have agreed that all your allegations postings on BU are unfounded..why dont u listen to your voice of moral conviction and retract or discontinue posting unfounded allegations against members of the present govt where u attempt to present those allegations as factual
    Dont u think u it is hypocrtical of u that when ac present similar allegations against Mia all of a sudden you agree that your postings are unfounded and cannot be substantiated as truthful
    Now why would u think i would belive u when u say u are not a blp supporter

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs…ya been getting destroyed on this blog for days now and still you beg for more, gluttons for punishment. ..lol, hahaha, lol

32. You could attempt to twist what I write to your irrelevant and uneducated interpretations.

However, the fact remains that Michael Carrington, Michael Simmons, Richard Byer and David Thompson are ALL DISHONEST lawyers and by their dishonest actions, they can be CHARACTERIZED as THIEVES.

All the evidence to prove their dishonesty was reported in the media.

And I will continue to remind you and the other DLP yard-fowls of these facts.

33. So was Mia dishonesty published in the media as told by the former leader of the blp Osa and then again repeated by one of her members when disagreements erupted among the blp membership during the vetting period of Mia becoming the leader of the blp
    So there u have it two members from within the blp party which she is now leader has questioned her honesty
    Have a nice day

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac. December 5, 2016 at 12:33 PM

Ac, you old shit crab, why are you dragging a red herring called Mia across the trail?

You might just be better off blaming her for the shitty events occurring on the South coast.

Why don’f you just take a dose of something poisonous which could act as a permanent plug to your runny mouth now overflowing from your verbal diarrhea that would rival the putrid effluence on the South coast.

35. Miller why dont u act with some class instead of spouting filthy sewer mouth language and btw i was not the one who fired the first shot about Mias dishonesty had not for her former leader OSA giving such revealations to the media no one would have known about that act of dishonesty
    Btw miller have you found a new job yet since your last job of shining Arthur/s boots was discontinued after he resigned from the blp party

36. millertheanunnaki December 5, 2016 at 12:54 PM #

“Ac, you old shit crab, why are you dragging a red herring called Mia across the trail?”

@ Miller

By referring to Arthur accusing Mottley of allegedly stealing money from the BLP, the consortium of yard-fowls are grabbing at straws.

Yes, we have to agree that the issue was reported in the media. But the question is, was there a court case and if so, what was the court’s ruling? If Mottley’s matter is before the court, but has not yet been heard by a judge/magistrate, (who based on the evidence presented by both parties would determine whether or not a crime was committed), the accusation of theft will be considered an allegation, and as such, it would be presumptuous to assume she is guilty of any offence.

However, as was the case with Michael Simmons, there is EVIDENCE to SUBSTANTIATE that (a) Simmons’ had a case of fraudulently converting over $90,000 entrusted to him; (b) he hurriedly and secretly left Barbados (i.e. abscond), typically to prosecution for an unlawful action such as theft; (c) he owed Barbados National Bank and Inland Revenue Department thousands of dollars; (d) a warrant was issued for his arrest in connection with a number of criminal matters.

According to an article, written by Tim Slinger, in the May 22, 2011 edition of the Sunday Sun, Simmons returned to Barbados after 18 years on the run from justice to attend his sister’s funeral. He reportedly absconded leaving “behind a $2.5 million-plus debt to 47 creditors.”

“A warrant for his arrest for FRAUDULENTLY CONVERTING over $90 000 ENTRUSTED to him had been withdrawn after the sum was paid, but shortly after his disappearance, then police public relations officer Inspector Jeddar Robinson had INDICATED Simmons was being SOUGHT by lawmen for QUESTIONING in CONNECTION with a NUMBER of OTHER CRIMINAL MATTERS they were investigating.”

“Former Solicitor General Woodbine Davis, who had been appointed official assignee and receiver in his investigation of Simmons, had publicly declared there had been little chance of recovering the $2.5 million debt left behind.”

Miller, the yard-fowls cannot refute this evidence.

37. @AC

I have been following the orchestrated attacks on you by those who claim to be neutral, but what I have observed they are all BLP CYBER BULLIES. DO not be cowared by their sustained attack. Give your perspective even if you are the only person with that point of view. A drunken man never admits to being drunk. They will say they are non-political, but just follow their postings for a while and you will subsequently come to a conclusion.

38. Let us give it up for realist aka radical aka etc

39. So you go to media archives and drags up a story going as far back as 1993 about a bankrupt lawyer who was not a member of parliament but allegedly had connections to the DLP party.
    So what does his problems have to do with any one in this present govt .while in the meantime scrillous allegations lay bare in the public domain about Mia while she seeks to become the PM of barbados..Why dont u address that problem

40. Realist you know with every pot shot the blp yardfowls level i shrug my shoulders and steupse loud and hard

41. Yuh is a BLASTED LIAR, if you used to “steupse loud and hard,” you would NOT undertake a PARTICULAR EFFORT to RESPOND to EVERY “pot shot.”

BTW, if the “scurrilous allegations lay bare in the public domain about Thompson,” as revealed and proven by the CLICO forensic audit, “while he sought to become the PM of Barbados,” surely a TRIVIAL allegation that you are making out to be such a big issue, (WHICH HAS NOT BEEN PROVEN), should not prevent Mottley from becoming the next PM of Barbados.

And the “scurrilous allegations lay bare in the public domain about” dishonest Michael Carrington, who, by with-holding a former client’s funds for 2 years, (as revealed and proven by the civil suit filed against him by that client), brought shame to the position of Speaker of the House.

“Why dont u address that problem” at the DLP’s next annual conference.

You need to come wid sumting better and factual dan dat shiite you always bringing ’bout Mottley.

42. Oh well that deserves a shrug and a steupse loud and hard
    and hard.

43. Take note that the Union has returned to the bargaining acting in good faith on behalf of its members /not that is what unionism means / not the kinda of bullying uncalled episodes that does more harm than good with an attempt to destroy the country and the union reputation
    When life throws lemons the best way forward is to make lemonade , Throwing the baby out with the bath tub is never a good way of seeking resolve

44. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

@Walter
    I am still way back here in your first paragraph. Please correct any false ideas that I may have developed.

Your division of Barbadian society into two classes seems like you were plagiarizing
    Animal Farm where the “political class” are the pigs who are in the house (of Parliament) and the working class are the animals on the outside looking in.

I am hoping that you provide a more detailed explanation of the “political class” and that it is more than a polishing of the words ‘politician’ or “MP”.

The fact that you have returned and inserted yourself in the”political class”, tells me that you consider the political class as a step-up from the working class, for it is the nature of man to seek to improve his lot.

If I take this to the logical conclusion, I can see you adopting the behavior and values of our current political class and becoming less transparent to the working class. This lack of transparency is already reflected in your writing. The Walter of old (before “Walter Blackman is black”) was joy to read. Even a fool like me was able to follow his working class line of reasoning,;but these day I struggle to understand the obfuscations being made by Walter of the political class.

It may be too late for you to cross back to the other side, but at least you can decide to recross the bridge that separates the working class from the political class.

I wish you well.

45. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

@Walter

I am still back here. I like the brother and would like to see him do well/better.

It was somewhat disheartening to see, you, an aspiring politician divide Barbados into two classes; the ‘political class’ and the ‘working class’ However, this simple division of Barbados gave rise to an understanding of your thinking and that of the party in power.

Let us examine the composition of this ‘political class’. I will assume that all politicians fall into this class (by default). And what about the business titans of Barbados? Clearly, they are not a part of the working class and so they must automatically be part of the political class.

Like the French king, this ‘political class’ believe that it is your divine right to pilot the good ship Barbados for all time. You ignore wants and need of the ‘working class’ and strive to maintain the wealth and dominance of this political class.

The masters (Bizzy) and house slaves (MPs) have been replaced by the ‘political class’; the field hands are now called the working class. This ‘political class ‘ is taking us backward in times.

As a young political aspirant you may escape the working class but you cannot escape your blackness. Oprah with all her money, had to travel to Europe to find out that without her white entourage, a black billionaire was just another black woman.

Put aside your political aspirations and return to reading and understanding Animal Farm. The term ‘politician’ or ‘house slave’ does not suit you.

Reclaim your soul; reclaim your pride.

46. Given the current outcome of which the workers are seemingly well pleased do you still believe that many were hurt for the benefit of one