ag-trotman

Auditor General Special Audit of the National Housing Corporation -The GROTTO and Valerie

The GROTTO

The GROTTO Apartments, UNOCCUPIED

In 2008 Barbadians voted for a Democratic Labour Party (DLP) government by booting the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) out of office after 14 long years. Then under the leadership of Mr. Integrity Fruendel Stuart they won a close election in 2013.

There was an expectation by those who bought into the DLP manifesto promises that mistakes made by the BLP would not have been repeated by the DLP. Ladies and Gentlemen we make available the Special Audit National Housing High Rise – 2016 prepared by the indefatigable Auditor General. Although the Auditor General does not say it, there was blatant corruption associated with the projects audited.

If you were watching a game on football game on TV this would be when the REPLAY is played.

Tags: , , ,

113 Comments on “Auditor General Special Audit of the National Housing Corporation -The GROTTO and Valerie”

  1. Simple Simon November 10, 2016 at 1:07 PM #

    For 5 years I served on the volunteer board in the not for profit housing sector. We used government loans and grants money to house families. Some families were low income, some disabled, some elderly, some on welfare, We hired contractors, got the housing built, interviewed tenants, collected rents, paid the mortgage, hired maintenance and clerical staff staff, evicted non-paying tenants, dismissed employees. Some tenants paid rent geared to income. Some paid market rates. All of the board members were elected by those who lived in the housing. The men and women of the board were indigenous people, immigrants and native born, as were the tenants. The board members lived there also and so were highly motivated to see that things were run properly.

    It was not that hard. We did not drink big mout’ drinks at board meetings. In fact we were paid NOTHING AT ALL, and juice, cookies and tap water was what was served at board meetings, NO ALCOHOL.

    When I returned to Barbados I offered my volunteer services to the Ministry of Housing and was refused.

    So I shut my mout’ and know my place.

    But still willing to help if asked. I want no money. I want no job.

    Like

  2. Vincent Haynes November 10, 2016 at 1:09 PM #

    So who is going to file charges against this ministry/department or PS for infelicities,incompetence or simple dereliction of duties……we know that no minister signs docs or chqs so their hands are clean unless fingers are pointed and a paper trail exists.

    Like

  3. Simple Simon November 10, 2016 at 1:10 PM #

    Like the auditor general our board would not have approved the contract like the one granted to the builder at the grotto.

    Like

  4. Simple Simon November 10, 2016 at 1:13 PM #

    The private sector, the government and the senior public servants are are rippin’ off the people, or are colluding to the people being ripped off.

    Like

  5. Bush Tea November 10, 2016 at 1:36 PM #

    @ Simple Simon November 10, 2016 at 1:07 PM #

    You just described a typical community-centric, cooperative approach to dealing with low income housing.
    But why would you even expect that Black, albino-centric, wannabes should be interested?

    There’s nothing in it for them…

    Like

  6. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. November 10, 2016 at 2:51 PM #

    Bush Tea November 10, 2016 at 1:36 PM #
    @ Simple Simon November 10, 2016 at 1:07 PM #

    You just described a typical community-centric, cooperative approach to dealing with low income housing.
    But why would you even expect that Black, albino-centric, wannabes should be interested?

    There’s nothing in it for them…

    Which is why I have posted several times that the first step towards solving the civil service problems in this country is to marginalise it to insignificance.

    5% retire every year, within 5 years over 20% would be gone if everyone did nothing.

    Despite the argument that the unemployment social fallout would be worse, no argument could be made that we as a nation are befitting from the civil service being the employer of last resort in this country. They stand in the way of everything we need to do to recover economically.

    There will be no economic recovery under Fumble’s inept, civil-service-apologetic Fools.

    Like

  7. Simple Simon November 10, 2016 at 4:30 PM #

    And by the way I was only in my 20’s then and nobody thought that I was too young to serve on a cooperative housing board.

    Like

  8. Simple Simon November 10, 2016 at 4:34 PM #

    It ain’t that hard. I was young, a full time worker, a part time student, a single parent and served on a board.

    It ain’t that hard.

    But our decision making was not slowed down by alcohol, nor by having politicians looking over shoulders.

    Like

  9. Simple Simon November 10, 2016 at 4:40 PM #

    I am merely black Bajan. Nothing more. Nothing less.

    Like

  10. Retribution-things that make me go hum! November 11, 2016 at 10:21 AM #

    So WHEN will Bajans say enuff is enuff!

    Like

  11. Simple Simon November 11, 2016 at 1:47 PM #

    @Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Nation of Laws’ my ass. November 10, 2016 at 2:51 PM “Which is why I have posted several times that the first step towards solving the civil service problems in this country is to marginalise it to insignificance.”

    I don’t agree with you that the civil service should be marginalized into insignificance. I don’t know of any country anywhere which can operate without a civil service. Sure the civil service should be made more efficient, but to “drown it in the bathtub” NO that is foolish talk.

    But we also need a private sector that REFUSES to offer or to pay progues (bribes)

    We need politicians and civil servants who REFUSE to ask for or accept bribes.

    There is a lot wrong with Barbados. And that “lot wrong” includes the private sector, the civil service and the politicians.

    Fixing one side without fixing all sides is not a sustainable solution.

    Like

  12. Simple Simon November 11, 2016 at 2:07 PM #

    @Retribution-things that make me go hum! November 11, 2016 at 10:21 AM # “So WHEN will Bajans say enuff is enuff!”

    The last election was 21 February 2013.

    When this Parliament is dissolved the Governor General has 90 days within which to issue a writ for general elections.

    So elections will be called no later than the first half of 2018.

    As you well know there is no way to remove a government except by elections or by violence.

    We are capable of violence, but we much prefer elections.

    Because if there is violence the people who will be shot and whose heads will be broken will not be the Frustrated Businessmen of Barbados, nor their wives nor their children.

    So we the non-business people do not feel like sacrificing our limbs nor or lives in order to relief the suffering of the business community.

    This is the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth, so help me God.

    Like

  13. Simple Simon November 11, 2016 at 2:22 PM #

    It seems to me that business people not only in Barbados but everywhere like to take over the profitable parts of government, and to leave the halt, the lame, the blind, the sick, the elderly, the children, the mad, the bad, the unemployable, the criminals to the government,

    And the government must somehow manage these marginalized groups with an inadequate amount of tax money.

    These people, the halt, the lame, the blind, the sick, the elderly, the children, the mad, the bad, the unemployable, the criminals are Bajans too. We can’t push them off a cliff at North Point, because you know what within a short time there will be more marginalized people because “the poor we will have always with us even to the end of the world.”

    I don’t see any private geniuses telling us how they could better deal with the marginalized.

    We must remember what Adolf Hitler did to Germany’s marginalized people, the j
    Jews, the gypsies, the homosexuals etc.

    We remember the blood shed.

    In our haste for quick fixes (final solutions) we must be very, very, very careful that we do not go the way of fascism.

    Like

  14. Simple Simon November 11, 2016 at 2:26 PM #

    Today especially 11/11 we must remember where fascism leads.

    In our impatience we must not go down that road.

    Like

  15. Walter Blackman November 11, 2016 at 3:59 PM #

    Sunshine Sunny Shine (SSS),
    I was on an overseas trip and had to leave for the airport in 5 minutes’ time when I read your last post. My one-lined reply was intended to alert you that I had read it.

    I read your last two posts once and at the end of the exercise, these are the words that stuck in my mind:

    “all I am reading from you is a whole bunch of shite rhetorical and subliminal nonsense”
    “some of your statements sounds very much like you are compelling the reading audience to tune into the violin melody playing ”the pity me song.” “
    “As to BU, if you are trying to mix it up in this forum, you are a darn fool.”
    “Notice how easily you have lost your standing by trying to come to a level that subjected you to ridicule.”

    Given the fact that you could not quote anything I wrote to support your words, I naturally tried viewing your posts through a pair of political binoculars. This is the response that my mind instinctively and quickly came up with:

    “SSS,
    Whilst going through your words of advice to me, I came across some poisoned pills that were designed to inflict serious psychological damage.
    Since you could in no way provide justification or references for “planting” these poisoned pills, you have lost my respect.

    They say that old habits die hard.
    When you ordered me to “STOP mixing it up”, you mistakenly thought that you were ordering around one of your submissive lesbian lovers, or one of your soft, womanish men (pieceuduhcockyeahright readily comes to mind).

    Listen to me, and listen to me well. It is extremely important for you to remember and understand that whenever you are dealing with me, you are dealing with Mandingo. There is only one difference between me and my brothers who visited the Congo: I never had a white meat yet!

    The point I am making, SSS, is that you are dealing with a real man. So whenever you see me on the blog, make sure you rip off your dominatrix jacket, fling off your high-heeled, high-rise black leather boots, “pelt way” the whip, unstrap the dildo, pick up your confused, sexually–convoluted ass, and FLY RIGHT.

    By the way, whenever my wife hears me laughing out loudly at my desk, she invariably asks: “Walter, are you making Pacha curse again?”

    I used to employ a “poke, provoke, and milk” technique (similar to the one used to “milk” snakes for their venom, and to “milk” bulls for their sperm) on Pachamamum, but he caught on and I am now unable to “milk” one curse word out of him.

    In order to create a new source of jocularity, merriment, and mirth, I have no other option but to poke, provoke, and milk you henceforth.

    I readily admit that I love to hear you and Pachamamum curse. Believe me, no one calls Mia a “bitch” and AC a “cunt” as sweetly and melodiously as you do. So don’t become squeamish, and apologetic, and start saying stupid things like “Sorry about the language”.
    Go ahead and lather my backside in curse whenever you want to.”

    SSS, as man, that was my instinctive reaction to your posts. One could easily argue that I would have just been me if I had submitted such an irreverent reply. However, I knew that fashioning a response which concentrated only on “being me” simply would not cut it. There are always associated factors that must be taken into account, and there will always be a need for me to be judicious and thoughtful.

    To be balanced, I searched for some positive aspect of your last post, and all things considered, I came up with a much better and improved response in my mind:

    Sunshine Sunny Shine November 8, 2016 at 3:42 PM #
    “Walter Blackman
    I am sure, Walter, that in you is a man that want to do the right thing under the right set of circumstances. I believe you mean well……”

    Walter Blackman November 8, 2016 at 5:52 PM #
    “Sunshine Sunny Shine,
    Your point has been eloquently made, and well taken.”

    Eventually, I concluded that it would appear to be a bit too self-serving were I to quote and post only the positive part of your comments about me, so I took my ego out of the equation, and further simplified and finalized my response into the one that I posted above on Nov 8 at 5:52 pm.

    l have a reason for everything I write. At least I think that I do. For now, I assure you that I have not changed. I am simply using different tools and techniques to unmask a bunch of deceiving, self-serving hypocrites who are trying to masquerade themselves as fair-minded thinkers on this blog.

    No malice or ill-feeling is intended.

    Like

  16. Sunshine Sunny Shine November 11, 2016 at 7:37 PM #

    Walter Blackman

    I provided you with an honest assessment of your writings of late, and you decided to take the route of a fight? If you want to have the last word it is yours; but before you listen carefully mister mister.

    Let me make it clear to you that you were one of the few people on here to whom I kept their commentary. I told you what I felt I needed to say and I said it. I was not ordering you around but if that is your interpretation then let the chips fall where they may. I am sure you will get your orders in due course. Let us hope that you exercise similiar conscience to assert your testicular fortitude as you reinforce the position of your real manhood. I never thought for once that you were something else. Telling me shite about you are a real man is intended to do what? Make me buckle at the knees, wee wee and beg your pardon? And, where the heck you get off about you lost respect for me? I ever ask for your respect or to respect anything that I do on here? You could only be a kubba! Looka, if you want to mix it up go right ahead. Do your thing, I won’t lose respect for you you are already doing a nice job of that in this forum. I wish you well Walter Blackman, honestly I do because I want people who will serve Barbados with intact integrities. Take care and adios amigos. Don’t bother writing, we done!!!

    Like

  17. Watchman November 11, 2016 at 9:41 PM #

    Commenters on BU, please take a read of the great Walter PPK Blackman, November 11,2016 at 3.59PM, his new improved techniques of responding,in order to unmask SSS and other commenters on BU,

    Like

  18. chkmyip November 11, 2016 at 10:56 PM #

    VOTE DLP

    “When you ordered me to “STOP mixing it up”, you mistakenly thought that you were ordering around one of your submissive lesbian lovers, or one of your soft, womanish men (—— readily comes to mind).

    Listen to me, and listen to me well. It is extremely important for you to remember and understand that whenever you are dealing with me, you are dealing with Mandingo. There is only one difference between me and my brothers who visited the Congo: I never had a white meat yet!

    The point I am making, —, is that you are dealing with a real man. So whenever you see me on the blog, make sure you rip off your dominatrix jacket, fling off your high-heeled, high-rise black leather boots, “pelt way” the whip, unstrap the dildo, pick up your confused, sexually–convoluted ass, and FLY RIGHT.”

    Like

  19. Well Well & Consequences November 12, 2016 at 12:22 PM #

    Walter..I was waiting fpr SSS to answer you first.

    Dont knock white meat until you have tried it…….lol

    You will have noticed by now that a lot of black DLP ministers are owned by what they preceive as white meat on the island …..whether they have tried white meat or not, the same goes for black politicians from BLP, it is a weakness, blight and trend in parliament, that they all love being owned by what they preceive as white meat…try not to fall into that post slavery, post independence, decades old trap….

    …….having a white meat or being owned and had by a white meat……what’s the difference….I will tell ya…being had by the minority white meats in Barbados means you are using the people’s parliament to sell them out and stagnate future generations of black bajans….you are enfranchising white meat and disenfranchising your own people….there is a distinct difference…just thought you should know,

    Don’t let us hear your name being called as owned, bought and paid for by white meat.

    Like

  20. Vincent Haynes November 12, 2016 at 1:29 PM #

    This govt real hard ears doa…..

    Speed up reforms, IMF economist warns
    By Marlon Madden on Nov 12, 2016 01:06 am

    img_0619xcopyA senior economist with the International Monetary Fund (IMF) is sending a strong warning to Barbados that it must accelerate a number of critical structural reforms in order for there to be real economic growth in the medium to long term. Barbadian-born Dr Kevin Greenidge said while there had been transformation in some areas, it […]

    http://barbadostoday.us11.list-manage.com/track/click?u=d13288d6e435e8111d9c39065&id=4bf2f9332d&e=d16b80b1d3

    Like

  21. Sunshine Sunny Shine November 12, 2016 at 1:44 PM #

    WWC

    Normally I would have light in his ass, but I have respect for him on the basis that he could be the key to change. I always give him the benefit of the doubt as I have told him before. I chose what parts of his commentary to respond too. So all the other stuff means squat to me. He has something in him. And, if he chooses to muddle it up by getting involve in all the shite that makes this DLP led bunch of fools to appear nasty, then that is his foolish business. Until that time, he has the benefit of the doubt and my respect regardless if he respects me or not; it is totally irrelevant.

    Like

  22. Well Well & Consequences November 12, 2016 at 2:04 PM #

    SSS…I too wish Walter all the best, with all the traps and pitfalls ahead of him, we hope he can avoid.

    Like

  23. Watchman November 12, 2016 at 3:00 PM #

    Walter Blackman is a man, just like Lowe and others ministers , who think he can achieve the goal of getting rich in Barbados, expressly at this stage of corruption in the DLP, but ,timing and his age is the deciding factor

    Like

  24. Vincent Haynes November 13, 2016 at 1:05 PM #

    Chuckle……Kellman is giving some advice on Brasstacks now……we must think positive,we must stop borrowing…..then proceeded to justify Sandals’ deal as one of growth as we had stopped growing and needed them to restart it,as they brought a unique product that changed the dynamics in Bim…..he needs more like Sandals…..then he says we need community tourism……as this country must cater to all,like we did in sugar……on being asked on what is required for the way forward…he stated …Kellmanomics.

    Give him credit as being the only one willing to stand up and face the music…….sorry he was not asked about the Auditors report here.

    Like

  25. David November 13, 2016 at 1:16 PM #

    @Vincent

    Who is hosting brasstacks?

    Like

  26. Vincent Haynes November 13, 2016 at 1:31 PM #

    David November 13, 2016 at 1:16 PM #

    It was Corey with guests Boos and LaTouche…..and they said all that we continously moan about here on BU all be it with a wider audience.

    Like

  27. lemuel November 13, 2016 at 2:01 PM #

    Sunny Sunshine:

    I see you giving your two bits on Barbados Today. It was good to see the cussing was absent!!

    Like

  28. Sunshine Sunny Shine November 13, 2016 at 2:31 PM #

    Lemuel

    Shite is not cussing. If you read all my comments I only use two bad words…never the F-word or the R.word..only the C were and shite

    Like

  29. N orman Datt November 13, 2016 at 3:12 PM #

    HER ROYAL MAJESTY – THE QUEEN1

    In 1953 we celebrated your coronation
    Then you presided over the Commonwealth
    Including almost every colonial nation
    Caring for their welfare and for their health

    Then we embraced your Jubilee celebration
    You’d still presided over a Commonwealth
    Including almost every colonial nation
    Still caring for their welfare and their health

    At that time to some it made sense
    To some to have their freedom readily
    You gave them their independence
    Many abused that privilege eventually

    Forty years later you’re still serene
    Many clamour for the demise of the Monarchy
    As the world got cruel and mean
    You maintained your cool and kept your dignity

    You hold your head and still walked tall
    To your family you’re still their matriarch
    But you’re still loved by one and all
    And to us, still the one and only Monarch

    My dear Queen, you being mother and wife
    Always showed pride and affection
    Yet sincerely maintaining a vigorous life
    As you jet from nation to nation

    You continuously showed a commitment to caring
    And there would be far less violence and rage
    There would be far less misery and less hurting
    If from your book many leaders can take a page.

    1 I wrote this poem in 1992 and the Queen replied on 8th Sept, 1993. She said she was ”very touched by the loyal sentiments I expressed in verse” when I returned from England this story was featured in their Pickering Newspaper entitled “ POETRY FIT FOR A QUEEN’ by THE POET LAUREATE OF DURHAM ,The pics of her letter and clipping from the News Advertiser still hangs on my wall.

    Like

  30. Walter Blackman November 16, 2016 at 4:48 PM #

    Sunshine Sunny Shine November 12, 2016 at 1:44 PM #
    “WWC

    Normally I would have light in his ass, but I have respect for him on the basis that he could be the key to change…….
    He has something in him……
    ..he has the benefit of the doubt and my respect regardless if he respects me or not”

    Sunshine Sunny Shine,
    Your writing has changed. Your tone is much softer, and it would seem that you are adjusting your normal behaviour because of me. There is nothing wrong about that.

    My last posts were intended to show you the extent to which consideration for you, and the encouragement you have always given me, made me work hard to discard all instinctive negative thoughts and produce a reply that was insightful and respectful. That insight into my thought process was meant for your eyes only. As I said, no ill-will or malice was ever meant to be directed at you.

    Undoubtedly, our exchanges have changed us for the better.

    As to be expected, some commenters on BU will marvel at the way our souls seem to have naturally reached out to each other recently as they passed like two ships in the night.

    On the other hand, you can rest assured that there are some who would be delighted to wag their scandalous tongues and swear that they see a platonic “empty space inside of you that only I can fill.”

    Let all of them talk. I want you to know that you have my deep appreciation, understanding, and respect. Always.

    Like

  31. Walter Blackman November 16, 2016 at 5:15 PM #

    Well Well & Consequences November 12, 2016 at 12:22 PM #
    “Dont knock white meat until you have tried it…….lol”

    Well Well & Consequences,
    You have me a little confused. Doesn’t one try white meat by “knocking” it?

    I notice that you implicitly got some fun and joy from your experience. I urge you to rejoice and be exceedingly glad, for everyone is not so fortunate.

    A female relative confessed to me that she tried “white meat” once. Says she, Whitey was able to whip it out, but before he could get it in, he succumbed to a spout, right outside the mout’. Remember, these are her words, not mine! LOL

    She has lost all faith, interest, and confidence in white meat since then.

    Like

  32. Walter Blackman November 16, 2016 at 5:48 PM #

    Well Well & Consequences November 12, 2016 at 2:04 PM #
    “SSS…I too wish Walter all the best, with all the traps and pitfalls ahead of him, we hope he can avoid.”

    Well Well & Consequences,
    it is not sufficient for you to wish me the best. I need your assistance also.

    SSS has backed up her theories, hypotheses, and pronouncements about Mia with some persuasive and lively cartoons. Please see if you can put some of that creative energy, which you possess in abundance, into the project.

    SSS’ posters are quickly eroding the low level of support that Mia has taken ages to build. As soon as SSS’ last ‘cartoon’ hit the blog, here was the typical reaction:

    chkmyip November 11, 2016 at 10:56 PM #
    VOTE DLP

    Like

  33. Walter Blackman November 16, 2016 at 6:41 PM #

    Watchman November 12, 2016 at 3:00 PM #
    “Walter Blackman is a man, just like Lowe and others ministers , who think he can achieve the goal of getting rich in Barbados…”

    Watchman,
    I spent 4 years at UWI (Cave Hill campus) studying Public Administration. I spent 2 1/2 years at the University of Nebraska (Lincoln campus) studying Actuarial Science at the masters level. I spent about 7-8 years studying for my actuarial professional exams. I spent 21 years in the USA, arguably the most regulated and complex pension market in the world, gaining experience and insight into designing and valuing all types of pension plans. Most significantly, I spent the last 4 years waking up to “a cold and grey Chicago morn” so that I could master the design of smaller pension plans which are better-suited to Barbados and the Caribbean.

    Today, there is a global shortage of actuaries. The education, experience, skills, and expertise which I have amassed are all marketable.

    If I market my skills in Barbados and become rich by doing so, what crime have I committed?

    Indians, Syrians, Lebanese, Arabs, Jews, Gentiles, Europeans, Latin Americans, North Americans, and Asians with far less skills than the ones I possess leave wherever they were born and come to Barbados to get rich. Almost all of them succeed.

    Like some trained dogs on the island, your mind has been programmed to only notice and bark at black Barbadians. Pity and scorn should be your reward.

    Whilst I was investing time in my education, you were wasting your years “dribbling and drooling” over Tom Adams’ speeches and his picture. Today, you have grown into a bitter, spiteful, envious, and malicious old man.

    Sticking on to my “behind” like an undersized spandex underwear, and trying to pull me down every chance you get, will not create a better life for you.

    I recently heard Ed Bushell advising a youngster : “Don’t be bitter. Be better.”
    That’s good advice for you also. Take it.

    Like

  34. Watchman November 16, 2016 at 8:29 PM #

    @ Walter Blackman

    The Lowe man,say he has Phd degree , yet in the eyes of many Barbadians he is one of the despicable men in the DLP that you need to be company with, I liken you too, in 2008 if the dogs were really trained, as you said, Barbados would not be in this state,

    Like

  35. vincent haynes November 17, 2016 at 8:24 PM #

    David

    I need some input here…does the methodology differ between running a rumshop and a government?

    Like

  36. David November 18, 2016 at 12:44 AM #

    Of course Vincent, running a government is several times more complex and requires a different skill set.

    Like

  37. Vincent Haynes November 18, 2016 at 1:21 PM #

    David

    We agree on the different skill set but the methodology would have to be the same for the traditional village rum shop that afforeded credit and loans to the community as well as offering guidance and child support.

    The majority of those shop keepers were women as well who incurred debt,borrowed money trusted goods and sent children to school.

    Like

  38. Vincent Haynes November 18, 2016 at 1:25 PM #

    David

    Ellis on Brasstacks today spoke about a document falling off a truck pertaining to some lawyers letter to MOF over the same NHC audit on here,requesting answers of him……can you find the truck and see if a copy will drop off again?…….what was interesting was Kellman calling in a bit upset over him reading it out on the programme.

    Like

Join in the discussion, you never know how expressing your view may make a difference.

