Submitted by Anthony Davis
Denis Lowe, Minister of the Drainage

The Cahill project may be a thing of the past, but the Freundel Stuart administration has not abandoned the idea of a waste-to-energy plant on the island.In fact, Minister of the Environment Dr. Denis Lowe warned that Barbados ‘cannot fully develop without the inclusion of waste-to-energy technology’, as he piloted a resolution on the Barbados Green Economy Scoping Study in ParliamentBarbados TODAY dated October 25, 2016

Once again someone in this Government is trying to lay the blame for his dilemma on the populace of this country. When they wanted to hike the water rates Minister Kellman came up with the flimsy excuse that the populace used the most water in the island, whereas it’s evident that the hotels especially, use the most water. Other businesses, and Government also use a lot of water.

Pray, tell me Mr. Minister, did you not read the “Burnside Mangrove Pond Green Energy Complex & Beautification Programme and Environmental Impact Assessment Outline Review TCDPO Ref: 1123/07/2013C” which you should have received re the Cahill Waste-to-energy plant?

It states at 4.1:

Waste Generation and Disposal Requirements
Waste generation is closely linked to population, though for Barbados, tourism contributes a disproportionate quantity of waste. A rule-of-thumb is that each tourist generates roughly three times the waste of a local person in the same period of time.

If we take as an example that 50,000 tourists came to Barbados in any given year, how much waste would they have generated as opposed to 50, 000 locals?

I didn’t go to university so I need you to do the math for me.

Why do you single out the businesses – especially the restaurants – to put on the pranger?

What tax do you want to call this one?

The business tax?

I guess the businesses -including the restaurants, already pay heavy taxes, except they are one of those belonging to Sandals which doesn’t pay any taxes and won’t be doing so for years to come.

You can fleece the indigenous businesses and the rest of the populace, but you can waiver the taxes for some foreign entity, and in the meantime renege on your promise to give the other hotels of the BHTA the same sweetheart deal you gave to Sandals with the stroke of a pen.

Which type of waste-to-energy plant are you planning for Barbados, Mr. Minister?

Under 2) Gasification, of the said Burnside report it states:

Several waste gasification processes have been proposed, but few have yet been built and tested, and only a handful have been implemented as plants processing real waste, and mostly in combination with fossil fuels.

Wouldn’t such a plant produce more environmental pollution than we already have?

What made you lash out at some of your Government’s favourite people?

Have they stepped out of line?

Won’t you have to depend on them some time again?

Where are the anti-environmental pollution laws which you promised us for this year, Mr. Minister?

“Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere.” – Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

77 responses to “Denis Lowe Struggles to Implement a Waste-to-Energy Solution Late in a Second Term”

1. @AC, what a load of crap for a response that speaks to nothingness.. Paul Bynoe is my friend and I know intimately his trials and stumbling blocks.

Why would an international banker Mr Bynoe was sourcing funds from have reasons to inform him of who was running around with Cahill. Where is your conscience for fairplay. transparency.

Too many excuses to justify bad decisions. “Excuses are the tools of the incompetent they build bridges to nowhere and monuments of nothingness.”

Vacancy exist for political candiates who will put country before self and party for the sake of future generations. #ANewWay is coming to a constituency near you in the future!

2. Kammie M Holder Avatar

@Bajan Yankee, dont waste your time responding to AC. Political operatives are dime a dozen and will always sing for their supper. Like you I know Mr Bynoe as he freely shares his problems with whoever would listen.

3. @ Piece
    That business of ‘using real name to stand up and be counted’ is so naive that it hurts…
    Lotta shiite!!

Nothing wrong with standing up, ….IF YUH GOTTA WHACKER..!!
    …but just to be demoted like the Akanni fella, … or have you uncle’s reputation dragged through the mud; or …have AC and Donkey cussing you and yours for fun …..only detracts from the message…

People use their real names mostly when they want ‘noticing’… or where it is an unavoidable part of the message being delivered -like Caswell and Jeff…

If ANYONE (including highly placed whistleblowers) has a valuable MESSAGE to bring to the forum, then the “real name’ don’t mean one shiite…

Even Carl Moore now gets that basic point …..after GP ripped his donkey apart last time he ventured here…

4. Kammie M Holder Avatar

@David King, no pain no gain. Bussa was betrayed by his own. To be fearful is natural and I do I understand what you speak. The most vicious things have been said about me by those who would wish for their financiers to continually benefit from GOB inefficiencies. However, those in the camp would say I am fair and consistent in condemnation nor do I hold any political bias. Why educate me then expect not to question and think.

At some point in time we must all say united we stand divided we shall all suck salt. The unions, churches, media houses and some NGO`s have all sold out. To whom do we turn.

When a man has lost all, there is nothing else to loose. #ANewWay

5. Even in the best companies employees are allowed an encouraged to whistle-blower read anonymously.

On Thursday, 3 November 2016, Barbados Underground wrote:

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Kammie M Holder November 2, 2016 at 10:57 PM #
    Our only hope is that the greedy fleece or break some US law. I am a betting man that we will see a body snatch for money laundering in the very near future.”

That’s one way to purge the island of those useless bastards, but there are other ways to get them all gone……ALL, the greedy business people, the greedy and stupid ministers, the greedy politicians.

Focus on the message…..the messengers are not important, the damage being done to their scams and schemes against the people…… by BU and other social media forums is irreversible.

The most important think is that none of them can stop the flow of information, trust me they really tried, I so hoped that they would all go broke trying.

7. @ Well Well & Consequences

And that is “the point of the spear.”

Try as they may THEY CANNOT KEEP BACK THE TSUNAMI THAT IS SOCIAL MEDIA!!

WW&C that “focus on the message” is a superb exhortation.

Look at Barbados UnderGround!!

No let us not do that let us focus on Naked Departure.

Let us “go low” just to show this point.

As inflammatory and defamatory as its content may be (purported to be) it has wide readership among a certain cross section of the population.

On another blog the Honourable Blogmaster speaks to the issue of whistleblowing.

Right now Mia Mottley and the BLP troika has amassed a mobaton of “whistleblown” documents which speak to the indiscretions read teifing of the Demonic Lying Party.

But the thing is this.

What is she, and Eddie Hinkson (whom Pornville hath reliably said wishes to be the next prime Minister of Barbados) and others who have the dirt, going to do?

It is not like they are going to send the material to Naked Departure or to Barbados UnderGround!!

They can’t because (a) for the most part few of them understand how to anonymize their identity and the material sent (b) with Naked Departure ONLY they have to be careful since Veronica MAY BETRAY DEM when she get in a mood and (c) they want to seem “in the know” during the coming General Election!!

And that is the main issue really, “they want to feel powerful when they expose the information” on a platform

Now let the ole man examine that for a while a la Hilary Email Dump (failed) strategy

It is the constancy of “UP IN YOUR FACE” that gets a people like the docile Americans AND THE SUPER DOCILE BAJANS riled to the point of rejection.

Your audience on the election platform is a few thousand people at most and unless it is TOXIC materials, the link between (a) exposure (b) assimilation and (c) action on the leaked information takes time to foment.

But that is the disconnect that these so called strategists are waddling in.

They do not understand how the internet works and are caught in that old time “Queens Park”
    denouement and exposee which in their antiquated opinion is going to change how the people going vote the following day!!

They believe that their static posters pasted all over Westbury Cemetery’s wall, ad nauseum, going “carry the day” in 2016 among the undecideds.

They think that a few wuk up fets and a suzuki van with a loudspeaker on top going mek tings happen.

They fail to comprehend that dem posters and bunting all round de Light and Power posts are for the party faithful WHO DUN MEK UP DEM MINDS ALREADY.

So them keeping all the info close to them chest so that when the election bell ring dem going “expose a fellow” and dont realize that “with an audience that is slow to move” read clinically a dead electorate, they need to repeat the message over and over and over again until the people, while not showing what they are going to do, WILL DO IT, “VOTE EVERY ONE OF THE DLP SCVUNT OUT” on Election Day

https://youtu.be/JIblvylrLY4

8. We need to seek the help of Wikileaks…can someone reach out to wikileaks or anonymous?

9. Please download Tor if seeking to contact wikileaks or anonymous to ensure your transmissions are secure from the security agencies.

10. Bush Tea November 3, 2016 at 9:45 PM #

You are armed and covered in the glory of the whacker with abounding faith in BBE,hence no mortal/humanoid can phase you and yours.

…….either the afore is “true” or if false you would have discredited yourself and all you stand for eternity.

……your actions will give us the answer.

11. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right – INRI November 3, 2016 at 9:20 PM #

All I can say….to each their own…..your way and my way do not converge on this issue.

12. @ Frothy Mouth

In addition to the TorBrowser do not (a) play shockwave files on sites that you suspect because (at time of writing) Tor CAN BE CIRCUMVENTED BY shockwave files and (b) DO NOT DOWNLOAD PDFS, JPEGs or mp4s since they can have code embedded which conveys information about you that you want to safeguard

For Example the US Small Business Agency is a conduit for the US Department of Homeland Security and customarily sends html code to subscribed users machines and harvests data from those machines through inbuilt and purposed “persistent data” access.

It is like you have a neighbourhood watch and as one of your members you have the “Dead Bolt Man Nicholas”.

you and your members cant understand “why your houses are being robbed everytime you are off to work, especially when he is the Secretary of the Watch and has been entrusted with the work schedule for all the people in the neighbourhood.

13. Kammie Holder “political operatives are a dime a dozen” very interesting set of words coming from you one who actively engaged the operation of carpet baggers a known set of special interest group in opposing the WTE plant
    Now for what it is worth i will agree with your statement ” political operatives are a dime a dozen”

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yes Piece..lol

15. @ Mr. Kammie Holder

John (who does normally talk a good set uh ingrunce bout udder tings) jes raise a point bout garbage and water pun a next blog and before I forget leh me revert to something that you have been preaching for ages.

I copy this from a next site

“Another idea is that of an integrated waste management system.

“In the integrated waste management system, there are three tiers of priorities: primary pollution and waste prevention, secondary pollution and waste prevention and lastly, waste management.”

“Often when the phrase “waste management” comes to mind, I would think of the last two tiers which involve recycling, reuse, incineration and landfills. However, the first tier is the most important as it reduces the waste generated right from the start, diminishing the need for the next two tiers.”

I would like to suggest something to you Mr. Holder

Why you and your future Centre Trust doan go to the IDB for a small grant for Sustainable Cities or something, but the idea simply is as follows.

De Future Centre Trust going adopt an entire Community for a pilot project that is going to pilot that 3R mantra.

So you look fuh a developer whose properties can accommodate (OR BE RETROFITTED FOR) separation at source PUN EVERY PROPERTY IN THAT DEVELOPMENT!!

Each property will have 4 receptacles (i) Paper, (ii) Plastics (iii) Glass and (v) Metal

The property will have an Organic Compost and there may be an augmented community storage Bin for Batteries, Metals and Glass.

You need to capture the metrics as in the total tonnage, the savings etc versus the costs.

You have to stop talking bout these things ammmmm Mr. Holder.

The fact is that you need to accept as I do now that these people around me are brass bowls who simply cannot do any better, it is not arrogance, it is not sanctimoniousness, or pride.

It is simply fact.

You think that if Jester Ince or Chris Stinkliar or any of the rest on either side had an inkling of your sense that we would be in the shyt##e that we are in now??

The fellers are simply Waste Foops and once you realise that and accept that then you understand what you have to do.

You is a man dat the IDB respects doan mind that you got some good waste foops on your Board that cant spell Recycle but you have to recognise that as well and work around them.

Most of the time Waste Fopps like to stank Up and get awards for thngs that they know nothing about but talk nuff on.

Look at Lil Caesar Stephen Lashley who all he good to do is find a wuk up and jump bout de place and dem read a speech wid he pretend voice.

You ent bout dat so what you got to do is to say let de waste foops do dem waste foopism tings but you got work to do.

So Future Centre going adopt a village/development someplace and with IBD funding wunna going do a lil project to show the efficacy of the concept okay?

Write de ole am at peaceuhderockyeahright@gmail.com and I gine give you de name of a no nonsense consultant that is an Environmental Man dat trained.

He doan stand fuh no shy##te so if you going waste he time he going dun wid you jes so.

Let Us Adopt A New Way

16. http://blog.nus.edu.sg/singapore2100/category/sustainability/solid-waste-management/

I does doan need too much information to understand a concept.

that is my gift from My Almighty GOD.

It doan really matter whu um is HE DOES SHOW ME HOW IT WORKS and how to make it work

I speak this into your life Mr Kammie Holder that you will make this Lilliputian #R pilot a success at the macro level and will rollout a parish project shortly thereafter.

Doan relly matter which of the tribe of clowns in the house of parliament you know what you have been put here to do, SO JES DO IT!!

http://blog.nus.edu.sg/singapore2100/files/2014/10/integrated-waste-system-11cie9g.png

17. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right – INRI, thank you, we have some CoreNetworks aka Comunnity Recycling Networks going but I do see aspects within your proposals how we can tweek. We will contact you.

We must find a way to hold Denis Lowe and those who aid and abet him accountable for his poor stewardship of his ministry by using all international watchdog organizations including the one he is deputy chair.

The Waste To Energy plant will also impact our micro climate.and we must use all means necessary both local and international to stop it. Why not solar farms Dr Denis Lowe now PV cells are at an all time low? Will Dr Denis Lowe use his minister`s salary to provide the monitoring equipment needed by EPD?

Emtage, Williams, Maloney, Bjerkham,Dasilva, Arthur, Rayside,Bannister and front men must understand the social implications when the wealth is deliberately concentrated in the hands of a few. Sorry to say but both political parties are in for a rude awakening during the next election.

Where are the politicians and citizens who are bold enough to break ranks for sake of country over party loyalty.

18. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ mr Kammie Lowe

I promise that I will give you a project which will do three things.

As long as you and your agency ensure on requirement de ole man will give you a trinity project that will (a) revolutionize water heating (b) provide a home based PVC matrix and (c) significantly affect all imports of fossil based fuels for Barbados.

I no longer see these clowns as Competitors Mr Holder their Hands are too short to Box with GOD so while the will continue to contend, they have already lost e battle since HE has given us the victory.

As long as your entity sticks to its mandate …

19. Kammie M Holder Avatar

There is much to celebrate in our year of jubilee, however there is also much to complain about in a country expected to punch above its weight. The apathy towards our Jubillee celebrations lies squarly at the hands of our ARROGANT politicians drunk with power of office. A little engagement thru conversations would have made a world of difference…

@pieceuhderockyeahright The Future Centre Trust nor I will never compromise. Death is better for its just migration to another plane of existence.Our country needs men and women who will not only think about winning an election but do all necessary to protect the legacy of future generations. I know the inherent dangers in speaking out and can choose to either humble and grumble our cuss speak on environmental issues as a passion.

I can still smell the rank from the sheep rope, the bladders from cutting cane at Hill View and Cliff Plantation, the ink from my purity bread bag which acted as my school bag still lingers on my hand and the dust trapped by the lard oil on my feet has long been washed away but I cannot forget the shine on my feet.

We must all do whatever is necessary to ensure that Barbados is a just and all inclusive society where the majority are given equal opportunities. Speaking out in the most non partisan way without fear or favor. The mantra of evey right thinking Barbadian and even those who are sober enough from the worldly distractions such as sports must be ” Barbados Must Come First.”

#ANewWaymust be found to get our politicians to a conversation and not confrontation. Will it be easy? No, for even their proxies will seek to sabotage your desire to speak out.

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“We must all do whatever is necessary to ensure that Barbados is a just and all inclusive society where the majority are given equal opportunities.”

That should not have to be given by anyone…in any country where you are the majority…like Barbados is a black majority country…a BLACK NATION…it is an automatic right….automatically accepted by everyone else.

Check UK, Canada, US etc…, their majority enjoy automatic rights, why should it be any different or have to be given in Barbados.

21. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Apparently…it’s the fools in parliament who are not aware of this and even if they were are so dumbed down and like to kowtow, bow and scrape and take bribes from the minorities, that they have for the last 50 years.., ignored the inalienable equal rights of the majority…their own people.

I am getting tired of pointing out these elementary things, there is wide access to the internet all this information is online for the world to see, this should no longer be an issue to the point that it is still a topic on BU…

…….apply more pressure to the government ministers and politicians. ..they are the weakest link, stagnating progress and recognition of the rights of the majority people on the island.

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

How Rwanada, an African country got rid of the blight of plastic bags.

“She cited the capital’s exceptional cleanliness as an example. Unlike many major African cities, it is free from the blight of plastic bags accumulating in every gutter: that’s because Kagame outlawed plastic bags entirely in 2008, to the point where they are confiscated from tourists entering the country.”

23. It’s in reality a great and helpful piece of information. I’m glad that you simply shared this helpful information with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

24. You has interesting and great content. I will bookmark this posts. I had to take a break from playing with my dog to read your article. I really like your blogs.

25. You saved me a lot of hassle just now. good insight. Such a deep answer! Thank you for sharing your info. Do you have you tube videos on the subject?