At his best, man is the noblest of all animals; separated from law and justice, he is the worst –Aristotle.

Former Attorney General disagrees that laws are needed to force businesses to comply with shutdown order issued by the DEM.
Former Attorney General disagrees with current AG Brathwaite that laws are needed to force businesses to comply with shutdown order issued by the DEM.

Unlike many in Barbados and Trinidad & Tobago, who ascribe their frequent near misses from hurricanes to divine intervention or seek to ascribe a nationality to God that tallies with theirs, my unlearned view inclines rather to the thesis that these countries lie outside the presumed “hurricane belt” and that what might frequently appear to be contrived diversions from hypothetical paths are in fact consistent with the traditional directions of these phenomena.

Of course, this does not create a total immunity, given the frequency and magnitude of these events, although it may ensure that any “hit” is akin to a deflection rather than directly off the meat of the bat, if you will excuse the cricketing analogy. Thus, it is my understanding that the hurricane that is still spoken about with awe locally, the one named Janet in 1955, for all the death, damage and dislocation it caused, was not a direct hit but rather had passed much to the south of the island.

In this context therefore, we should never leave ourselves unprepared for such another such eventuality and, fortunately, it has become almost cultural for locals to store an adequate supply of water and to purchase, albeit at the eleventh hour, enough non-perishable foodstuff to last during any enforced period of restriction to their homes as a result of the passage of the storm.

Further, the state, as part of its constitutional responsibility has established an advisory body of high-powered officials to coordinate the public management of such emergencies. We are thus well organized as a nation to confront any likely danger.

However, in light of the actuality that forecasting the weather is scarcely a precise endeavour, there are likely to be circumstances when, in the interests of public safety, the authorities will be prone to over-caution and to prepare for the worst-case scenario through preventive measures that entail restriction of the freedoms of citizens to act as they might please. Invariably, when the worst case does not eventuate, instead of gratitude, there is no shortage of what those football fans in the US would call “Monday morning quarterbacking”, (and what we might call in these parts “batting from the pavilion) –whereby, with the aid of hindsight, some individuals seek to pillory, to various degrees, both the meteorological forecasts and the official state action that had been taken in good faith with a view to ensuring the public safety.

The extreme state action taken in this context is an island-wide or national shutdown, purportedly regulated by a policy document, impressively titled “Policy Framework and Standard Operating Procedures for the Systematic National Shutdown & Reactivation of Barbados.” It declares itself as formulated to provide for an orderly shutdown and reactivation of the country following a severe weather, tropical storm or hurricane WARNING (sic) issued by the Barbados Meteorological Service after collaboration with the Department of Emergency Management.

In spite of its significance however, the document trusts rather to ethical suasion for the enforcement of its provisions rather than to the rule of law, with the result that some of its provisions may easily be ignored without legal sanction. Indeed, it is by now notorious that some businesses elected to open their establishments on Wednesday last, much to the chagrin of those state officials who bear ultimate formal responsibility for the operation of the national shutdown.

In their defence, the document, perhaps owing to its essentially collaborative nature is not the most happily drafted piece of regulation one will ever encounter. For example, after expressly stipulating that “…On the issue of the National Shutdown Instruction, private sector entities/companies shall close their operation…” taking certain stated matters into account, it then proceeds to catalogue a number of private sector entities “which provide essential emergency services to the general public in times of emergencies” without any further positive or negative provision in that regard.

If it were to be subject to the traditional rules of interpretation, one would be tempted here to apply the principle of construction inclusio unius est exclusio alterius” –the inclusion of one in a list implies the exclusion of another that might have been included therein, but is not- and to argue accordingly that those entities not mentioned should not open at all during the shutdown, presumably since they do not supply essential emergency services, while those that are listed and do supply such services are entitled to remain open.

A Barbados Advocate editorial on Friday sought to treat some of the thornier employment relation issues that are likely to arise for those workers who are called out to the workplace during a national shutdown. It is further understood that some employers arranged transportation for some of these workers, thereby creating the legal scenario that the employee is to be taken as having begun work from the time he or she boarded the designated vehicle and was therefore immediately owed a duty of care in respect of their health and safety by the employer.

In another section of the press today (Saturday) the general secretary of the Barbados Workers’ Union, Ms Toni Moore, accused some businesses of focusing solely on their bottom lime, which, with all respect is, within the limits of the law, the raison d’être of free enterprise.

Thing is, there is no current applicable law in force against what occurred on Wednesday, and while there may be some merit in an assertion that there is no law to govern commonsense and ethical behaviour, law is nevertheless the basis on which our society is governed and may be the only language that some will understand.

92 responses to “The Jefferson Cumberbatch Column – On Weather Emergency Management”

1. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Vincent, come on bro you are much more astute than that. And as David suggested your question has essentially been answered by examining what you are asking.

If you are part of the “district emergency volunteers” team then of necessity you would be designated as a first responder and you are a part of the emergency solution not a part of the thrill seeking problem.

Who engage in repairs during a disaster unless it’s on a very personal homeowner level, anyhow?

Any first responder would be tasked with getting folks to safety, wouldn’t they. And even then that is a toss up. It is impractical to attempt to save one life and automatically jeopardize the lives of the supposed saviors.

So yes in a real ‘state of emergency’ situation we must all wait on the all-clear unless its part of our own roof blown off and with it our son or daughter is dashed outside by the high wind. Then of course we rush out and risk our life to save our child.

If the neighbor comes to help that is his call but can we really be upset with him if he didn’t risk his life in a 60 – 75 mph gale.

Maybe it was stupid to stay in a house which one knew had a risky roof!

First responders are there to provide a safety net not be sacrificial lambs to ‘stupidity’ or lack of foresight.

2. Look at what is scrolling at the top of the website. Guess the IT guys forgot to update the site.

http://www.dem.gov.bb/

3. This is the kind of indiscipline that doesn’t encourage public confidence. >

4. The Deadliest Atlantic Tropical Cyclones, 1492-1996
    http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/pastdeadlyapp1.shtml

In this 500 year period 8 of these most deadly hurricanes hit Barbados.

10 August 1674

10 September 1675

27 September 1694

21 October 1817

10 to 11 August 1831

10 to 16, October 1870

10 to 11 September 1898

22-28 September 1955

5. The one of 1898 left my great grandmother as a 38 year old widow of 14 children.

The family suffered for generations.

6. Which means that Barbados IS IN THE HURRICANE BELT.

504 divided by 8 is 63.

Barbados last powerful hurricane was 61 years ago.

We can expect another of these monsters at any time.

7. The businessMEN (and yes they were ALL MEN) who forced the opening of their businesses were WRONG.

They are EXPERT businessmen, but honestly how much do they know about history or weather forecasting?

I will bet my last dollar that just like the rest of us they know little or nothing about weather forecasting, and next to nothing about the history of hurricanes in the Caribbean.

8. @Vincent Haynes October 2, 2016 at 7:25 AM “Based on all the above was Kellman right or wrong to open Moontown in St.Lucy to as he said assist his people?”

He was wrong.

Those men gathered at his place should have been at home looking out for their own families.

Idiots.

9. A few things to “bump up the volume” of our conversation outside of the (waste foop) kudos that DEM and the minister are giving themselves

Item One. Disseminating the Message.

While there are many means to do this I would be the last person to expect that in 2016, with all these applications and internet tools that their (ii) Flood Safety – Self Help Advice (ii) Hurricane Hints for Households and (iii) Hurricane Preparedness advice tools are in PDF format.

Any doufus could do a powerpoint document and give it to the BIGLY Toon Boon enterprise dat Minister Maxine Maclean was talking bout or the IT fellers dat Ester Byer Suckoo was presenting in her soft voice to create a tool for distribution on ALL the threats that we face

Item Two.

Emergency Communications

Barring the non-availability of electricity for ISPs (and recharging one’s personal phone) one would think that the ITU would have spearheaded some alternative emergency Wi-Fi Backbone that could be available for some peer to peer communication (caveat being electricity availability and minimal infrastructural damage)

Item Three

Mobile Enabled Status Reporting Software

Again the caveat being infrastructure, one would think that with al these brainiacs around that there would be a Quick Status Tool that a citizen could touch, and like how Google Maps shows where my house is, it would notify the relevant authorities where a specific matter is e.g. a downed tree, a live power post, burst pipes, gas line breaks.

If Apple could have one of their satellite companies with 20K employees so wired, why can’t 166 square mile barbados?

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Thanks for the info Simple…..shared it with my family,

11. @David October 2, 2016 at 7:58 AM “What about all the other citizens who ignored the order to remain indoors? We need to fix the problem at source.”

David I beg ya ta tell me please “what is your strategetic plan for fixing idiocy?”

12. David&dpD

The point I was making was to beware of over regulation..
    Once you have set the parameters,leave it to the volunteers to use their commonsense and initiative to deal with any given situation including getting a shopkeeper out of bed for some nail and galvanise before the all clear.
    The volunteers will be atuned to the state of the weather and be aware of the risks.
    We are creating a nanny state if govt has legislate everything.

13. Sorry create simple storyboards/pictures, animations or videos of Disaster Preparedness Actions.

These can be sent to me and other bajans by whatapp like how my buddy sent my Fadda Fox video for my information.

But then again we are talking bout a Bajan agency and whu is we to expect???

14. @Anonymouse – TheGazer October 2, 2016 at 8:51 AM “I resent the fact of the government telling a sane and sensible man to stay indoors during bad weather.”

Dear Anon: Look around you. Why do you believe that people are sane and sensible? Doesn’t the good Bush Tea tell us everyday that people are brass bowls?

And if those idiots who will go outside even in a category 5 hurricane get injured they then turn up at government institutions begging “please help me” then my little susie has to go through the hurricane to show up at the QEH to give them anesthesia before their surgeries.

Putting her life at risk.

Unless you are suggesting that we go ahead and do their surgery WITHOUT anesthesia.

15. @Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right – INRI October 2, 2016 at 3:25 PM “Emergency Cmmunications. “Barring the non-availability of electricity for ISPs (and recharging one’s personal phone) one would think that the ITU would have spearheaded some alternative emergency Wi-Fi Backbone that could be available for some peer to peer communication (caveat being electricity availability and minimal infrastructural damage)”

Piece are you a post independence baby?

Matthew just brushed Barbados a bit…and yet the place where I stayed was without electricity for several hours. There was a flash of lightning…I was the only one in the house who saw the flash because I am old enough to have what is called life experience…and immediately the electricity was gone, the wi-fi was gone..the internet was gone, the landlines were gone, the cell phones were gone.

I personally was not too bothered because I lived in a house without electricity for the first 13 years of my life, and without running water for the first 12, so I have the life experience to know how to get by without electricity, running water, telephone (we didn’t get one of those until I was a working adult) internet, wifi etc.

On Tuesday as soon as I saw which way the wind was blowing, I turned my refrigerator up to the highest point and stuffed my freezer with blankets and towels. On Tuesday evening I turned off my electricity, left home, came back 40 hours later and everything including the little ice cubes were still fresh and frozen, and I did not have to worry about electrical damage while I was away from home.

16. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

@Simple Simon
    I get your point. But a genuine brass bowl will find a way to hurt himself/herself.
    No amount of law can prevent them from doing so…

17. @abajanhowe October 2, 2016 at 7:43 AM ‘Kellman and the others saw the bottom line figures and opened their businesses not for the benefit of the public or in Kellman’s case his St Lucy people but rather to male a killing had the storm devastated the Island.”

ONE: If a storm had devastated the island, the debit and credit cards, and the automatic teller machines which are the life blood of any modern business would not work, because the electricity would not work, and the telecommunications would not work maybe for several days or for several weeks. And bad cheques would be written.

TWO: In addition a devastating storm would also devastate the finances of many, many families. And if ya have no money ya cannot shop.

THREE: i think that we have forgotten that in the Bible it says that a hungry man is permitted to pluck an ear of corn on the Sabbath day (that is he is permitted to break the commandment which forbids work on the Sabbath) in order to satisfy his hunger.

FOUR: When (not if) a devastating storm hits we will take what we need to satisfy our hunger, and the hunger of our children and grandchildren. And if the business men and lawyers and the judicial system think that we will let a law (or a commandment) that says we should not steal stop us from taking what we need by any means necessary then they are all truly living in la-la land.

18. @Vincent

There is the Occupational Health and Safety Act that regulates the affairs of workers. The government needs to craft laws to support the DEM activities to protect the interest of all with the existing laws.

19. Here is the Gospel for today:

The Lord of the Sabbath
    (1 Samuel 21:1-9; Mark 2:23-28; Luke 6:1-5)

“At that time Jesus went on the sabbath day through the corn; and his disciples were an hungred, and began to pluck the ears of corn, and to eat. But when the Pharisees saw it, they said unto him, Behold, thy disciples do that which is not lawful to do upon the sabbath day. But he said unto them, Have ye not read what David did, when he was an hungred, and they that were with him; How he entered into the house of God, and did eat the shewbread, which was not lawful for him to eat, neither for them which were with him, but only for the priests? Or have ye not read in the law, how that on the sabbath days the priests in the temple profane the sabbath, and are blameless? But I say unto you, That in this place is one greater than the temple. But if ye had known what this meaneth, I will have mercy, and not sacrifice, ye would not have condemned the guiltless.”

This passage is for wunna Pharisees.

Hungry people have the RIGHT to eat.

20. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

Past what law? their are laws on the books and we dont see lawyers and ministers going to jail. if you go out after warnings and get hurt , who will you sue? The store keeper or the customer ? Those crooks in the peoples house just looking to act like they are working making up Sheit as they go along, Better go look for the VAT and the over 400 millions dollars that the DBLP loan or took for self and never repaid,

21. (1 Samuel 21:1-9; Mark 2:23-28; Luke 6:1-5)

At that time Jesus went through the grainfields on the Sabbath. His disciples were hungry, and they began to pluck heads of grain and to eat. But when the Pharisees saw it, they said to him, “Look, your disciples are doing what is not lawful to do on the Sabbath.” He said to them, “Have you not read what David did when he was hungry, and those who were with him: how he entered the house of God and ate the bread of the Presence, which it was not lawful for him to eat nor for those who were with him, but only for the priests? Or have you not read in the Law how on the Sabbath the priests in the temple profane the Sabbath and are guiltless? I tell you, something greater than the temple is here. And if you had known what this means, ‘I DESIRE MERCY AND NOT SACRIFICE,’ you would not have condemned the guiltless. For the Son of Man is lord of the Sabbath.”

This passage is for wunna Pharisees.

Hungry people have the RIGHT to eat.

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Unless you are suggesting that we go ahead and do their surgery WITHOUT anesthesia.”

That would be a start to cure idiocy and bring all the other idiots to watch the surgery without anesthesia.

23. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Vincent Haynes at 3:34 PM re “The point I was making was to beware of over regulation..
    Once you have set the parameters,leave it to the volunteers to use their commonsense and initiative to deal with any given situation including getting a shopkeeper out of bed for some nail and galvanise before the all clear.The volunteers will be atuned to the state of the weather and be aware of the risks. We are creating a nanny state if govt has legislate everything.”

That sounds absolutely copecetate but I believe we can still accept that in the case of serious hurricane/disaster events an official all-clear is grounded in practical issues of liability for governmental activities.

Private citizens can always act to their own whims and suffer any consequences accordingly sans government liability.

If you believe you will need nails then get them well in advance. And no one should be effecting a galvanize repair in high wind. There are named tragedies with that introduction already written why would you want to fill in the blanks….WHY!

@SS your simple ripostes often belie a sage commentary. However, you seem to be doing a Poonka above. On the one hand you define how your experience led you to carefully safeguard your frozen food. Yet you lambaste as “idiots” other grown folks supposedly who just like you also have some solid direct and transferred experience from elders for making their choices to assemble at Kellman’s business.

So why do you perceive their homes were not already organized too. Tut-tut-tut.

And I concur with WW&C. Good historical info. So let it be known that YOU have warned us that we due.

DAVID…you need a new mast head warning, bro!!

And @Pieces, how you expect these DEM folks to get your practical and real recommendations on modern info sharing to the Bajan public and yet these committed civil servants can’t get their bosses to appreciate that a ‘framework’ is not a mandatory directive!!!

But all that said, I am confused how some ah we lambasting sensible Bajans and offering that they can’t make a practical decision about travelling during heavy rain and wind…particularly with non-binding policy directives blowing before them in the same damn wind.

24. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Correction – – copecetate: copacetic!

That’s my ‘bajan’ spelling of the word.

25. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

Going to turn in.
    One thing is abundantly clear
    There is no shortage of brain power on that 166 square miles
    Which begs the question — How did we allow our island to go backwards????
    Listen to others, even the dull and “the ac” 🙂
    Good night to all,

26. Dear Members of the Press,

Dear WWSF Partners,

We are happy to send you our Press Release announcing the nine selected Laureates for the annual WWSF Prize for women’s creativity in rural Life 2016.

Press Release English

Communiqué de presse Français

Link to read about the Laureates

Lien pour lire les profiles des lauréates

laureates 2016

27. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“There is no shortage of brain power on that 166 square miles
    Which begs the question — How did we allow our island to go backwards????
    Listen to others, even the dull and “the ac””

The leaders lack the brain power…most of the people have no such problem.

28. @ The Gazer Goodnight

@ Simple Simon

It is possible for DEM to outfit the island with “mobile” generators at fixed points and provide a matrix that does not require the normal electrical grid.

Such a project would be underwritten by ITU and a forward thinking Information Society of Barbados were they not interested in (a) flying bout to conferences and (b) sucking the pooches of LIME and FLOw or whichever name dem using nowadays

You do see that your “patterns of posting” predisposed you to be someone who worked on a shift?

Now the profession is out heheheheheh.

You are a bit of a survivalist yourself judging from that blanket in the fridge act no doubt you would have seen those times when cloaccus bags were used around that wooden contraption to make ice-cream or to protect the christmas ham while suspended from the rafter in the roof.

29. Steupsss
    Just when Bushie thought that this subject could not possibly get more idiotic…. Simple Simom gets off the damn ZR to join the broom-stick jockey WW&C….

“ONE: If a storm had devastated the island,….” Storm shiite!!! it was a tropical depression – a big name for some damn rain….

“TWO: In addition a devastating storm would also devastate the finances of many… ” so would a tsunami ..and Stinkliar …BUT IT WAS JUST SOME DAMN RAIN.

“THREE: i think that we have forgotten that in the Bible it says that a hungry man is permitted to pluck an ear of corn on the Sabbath day” ……. It says no such thing. The Bible say that by the sweat of a man’s brow he should eat bread…. You come an pluck one of Bushie’s corns and see what happens to your ZR ass…

“FOUR: When (not if) a devastating storm hits we will take what we need to satisfy our hunger…” ……..FROM WHERE? You can barely eat in good times – in an emergency you will line up in long desperate lines… for US/UN aid…. like all other lazy brass bowls.

Look woman, poor people who catch ZRs and don’t even own a standby generator should NOT seek to advise others about what is financially expedient….

Hungry people have no damn right to eat….that ‘right’ exists only in your imagination – along with the nonsense about shutting down a whole country because a heavy shower is forecasted.

30. Bushie’s heavy shower.lol

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The next tiime a category 5 “heavy shower” floats around Barbados I hope we dont see the Bushman on a ladder trying to board up his windows. ..

…….and should he fall off that ladder during that “heavy shower” and break both legs and arms…., take him straight to the hospital…no anesthesia, what would he need anesthesia for from just a “heavy shower”…lol

32. @ Hants
    Why don’t you stick with Hamilton nuh…?
    This is Barbados boss… some roads get like that from a heavy dew….

Our road builders do not do drains…..

33. The next time a category 5 “heavy shower” floats around Barbados….
    Go back to bed WW&C,….it was NOT a Cat ANYTHING. It was a tropical depression…… some damn rain accompanied with a low pressure disturbance…

…and Bushie don’t have to climb no damn ladder – just press a few buttons… 🙂

34. @ Bushie,

35. @Bush Tea October 2, 2016 at 8:23 PM “Simple Simom gets off the damn ZR…”

i wonder if you are jealous of the ZR men because they are young and handsome and VIRILE.

36. The worse Atlantic hurricane EVER recorded hit Barbados in mid October 1780 and killed an estimated 20,000 out of a population of about 80,000.

Barbados IS in the hurricane belt.

If we fool ourselves…and let successful businessmen make meterological decisions…we will at sometime live with the consequences.

NONE of these businessmen are qualified enough or experienced enough, or even old enough (all of them were unborn or very small children when Janet hit in September 1953, so they have ZERO experience of how a hurricane actually behaves) to make meterological decisions.

NONE.

37. Bushie lives in a big hurricane resistant wall house and drives a full size luxury SUV.

He does not have to go outside in a storm or hurricane because he can pay people to run errands for him.

right Bushie ?

38. Why does the Nation Online censor ideas it does not agree with. Does it believe in a fee market of ideas? How does it expect to widen the public debate? Who makes these decisions?

39. The very reason you complain is why the social media space has become active.

40. hahahahahaha

@ Hal Austin

I find it soooo funny what you just said about the Nation “censoring comments” (you could equally say it about Barbados Today)

There are a few things that you need to be aware of Mr Austin.

They have a cookie which they send to your machine and if your browser does not allow them to place that on your device, FOR FUTURE TRACKING, you will not be allowed to post!!!

Most of them do have these features and statistics counters e.g. google analytics, doubleclick, heat sensors to see where your mouse moved to on the screen, stackpile.io for 3rd party integration

Just think of it like they need to know who you are and what do you do before, during and after you visit them.

Then, IN BOTH cases, remember who their allegiances are to – the barbados Labour party so, depending on if the cookie says you are a DLP big wig, they will let you post because the DLP is the party in Power.

But, if you are a notorious BLP supporter post the first assignment of your loyalties, read global acceptance and permission for you to post, you thereafter can post to your hearts content.

De ole man is not allowed to post pun any of the sites

Why is the BLP.org.bb site offline for all this long time?

maybe they too are working on scorecards and polidady and other monitoring apis to track and monitor a body pun dem site

41. David,
    It is one of the reasons why our debate is like a sixth form debating society. It is the unintended consequence of learning by rote.
    You read the book, remember what the author says and repeat it like a parrot. Just look at what passes as a debate about the economy. Nonsense about foreign reserves, ignorance about financial intermediation, lack of a defined monetary policy.
    Over he last eight years all these ideas and more, from the various schools of economics, pass Barbados by.
    Just over a year ago two of our leading economists wrote a paper, not a single reference was past-2008, the greatest economic timebomb since the war. It says a lot about their mind set.
    Had this been written for any leading university – or think tank – they would have failed or it would have been binned.
    In Barbados it passes as expertise.
    Instead of intelligent debate we indulge in personal attacks.