Adrian Loveridge

By the time this publication hits the streets we will be half way through this year’s Tourism Week and I, among several persons have been privileged to join the Starcom Road Runner on Monday morning 26th September. Not only is it a great opportunity to spread awareness of the upcoming Restaurant Week which is actually scheduled over two weeks from 22nd October and the re-DISCOVER dining programme, but to better explain the critical linkages between tourism and commerce generally.

The Barbados Tourism Product Authority has put together what I consider a perfect blend of heritage and opportunities for small businesses.  The itinerary includes the Nidhe Synagogue, Glass Creations at Pelican Craft Centre, Magnolia Chocolatiers, the newly opened Caribbean Wax Museum and ends with a visit to the organic J and P Farms in St. George.

We often forget the critical role that a relatively small Jewish population played in the early development of Barbados. Without the technology of the giant windmill, it is even doubtful whether we would have had a sugar and rum industry at all.

After speaking to literally thousands of visitors both here and numerous travel trade events overseas it is also abundantly clear that when guests come to Barbados they don’t want to return home with cheap factory made ‘foreign’ trinkets, but literally take back part of something they know contributes directly to economic growth of the country and employment. With the increasing extra airline charges and restrictions associated with checked baggage, it is also that our craft people and artists bear in mind that souvenirs are small and light enough to not to incur additional charges.

The last stop on the agenda is also of special interest. There has been an increasing interest by our visitors to eat healthier foods from a well being and sustainability point of view. Over the years I have followed with admiration, the passion of an independent Senator championing the need for more tourism businesses to source local products and produce and I totally agree with him. But there are clear challenges, until we can find a better balance of supply and demand. For our smaller tourism partners it is easier, because we frankly don’t have the luxurious option of bringing containers into the island, so at least to a degree, we are forced to source locally.

If you have 200-300 rooms of course it’s a different story, you simply cannot accept that, as an example, there are no tomatoes available this week. For our distributor’s, it is also difficult to always calculate anticipated demand and when stocks are exhausted, the replacement time is frequently prolonged even without custom clearance delays.

There is also need for better communication. Our local suppliers should not wait for the phone to go. Be more proactive, let the entire tourism industry know what you can supply, have an up-to-date website where prices, availability and sizes can be checked. And with all the demands on time, create a portal where it’s possible to order and pay online.

Many of us, I am sure, genuinely want to buy more locally, but you have to make it easier and less labour consuming.

18 responses to “The Adrian Loveridge Column – Improving the Link Between Tourism and Agriculture”

The 25 best destinations for winter sun

2. For more than 50 years, graduate students at North American universities who hail from the Caribbean have been writing theses and dissertations on the need for improved linkages between agriculture and tourism in the region, in order to reduce the import leakage of tourist expenditures. Hundreds of tourism workshops and seminars and speeches by politicians and tourism industry executives have also addressed this subject.
    And yet we seem to make no progress at all. Hotel managers still insist that the quantity and quality of local produce is unreliable, and that they do not have enough information about even the limited supply of fruits and vegetables that is available.
    This is not brain surgery. You would think that some agricultural marketing agency would have resolved these issues by now. It is failures like these that explain why Barbados is not yet a developed country.

3. Agree with you Chad. It is a low hanging fruit we should have exploited years ago.

4. A committee was set up many years ago called ….Agro-Eco-Tourism…. with individuals from the respective areas on it……..one of its major stumbling blocks was availability on regular basis.

5. How about exposing the link between slavery and agriculture and how it has made the parasitic jews some of the ‘wealthiest’ people on earth today? The ‘jew’ and whatever association he may have with windmills in Barbados and the sugar industry (***** these ‘jews’ did not invent the windmill) was NOT for the benefit of Blacks in Barbados, but merely for his own economic advantage. The ‘jew’ didn’t give a rat’s ass about the well being of Blacks because they were the chief perpetrators and beneficiaries of the Black Slave trade. So while touring that SINagogue, let them know that the sinagogue was where he gathered to give thanks to his god for the wealth that Black slavery brought him in Barbados. The use of the windmills was about the ‘jew’ maximising his profits from the hard work of Blacks.

But they won’t teach you that in Barbados.

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hopi September 26, 2016 at 11:22 AM
    “How about exposing the link between slavery and agriculture and how it has made the parasitic jews some of the ‘wealthiest’ people on earth today? The ‘jew’ and whatever association he may have with windmills in Barbados and the sugar industry (***** these ‘jews’ did not invent the windmill)”

Agree that the Jews didn’t invent the windmill but they sure made lots of money from exporting it from Amsterdam just like the many other items used in the slave trade and for the sugar plantation operations in Brazil and the Caribbean.

The question to you though, Hopi, is this:
    What’s the difference between what takes place in the House of “SIN” of the jewish god’ and what is taking place in the mosques of allah today while living among blacks?

Do you think the rich Muslims (none of African descent by the way) in Barbados brought their wealth with them from India or Pakistan?

When will Blacks find their own God who gave them their black skin in the first place and develop their own religion thereon?

If only the Blacks in the West should find spiritual concordance with the Hopi people in their worship of Tawa, they the real blacks might just find their way home to freedom from mental and economic enslavement.

7. It never ceases to amaze me the BS that Loveridge and Ministry of Tourism officials like to discuss and/or deliberate as solutions for our tourism industry while ignoring the critical aspect of and need for “drivers or products” that attract the tourists in the first place.

The following article can be viewed at http://www.globalpartnership.org/news/rihanna-appointed-global-ambassador-champion-education

It reads in brief “Rihanna appointed global ambassador to champion education. Press Releases – September 23, 2016|

“New York, September 23, 2016 – Rihanna is to join a campaign to ensure that girls and boys in the world’s poorest countries can get a quality education.

Rihanna’s Clara Lionel Foundation today announced a multi-year partnership with the Global Partnership for Education (GPE) and international advocacy group Global Citizen.”

Bajans are truly brassbowls of the 9th Circle of Hell true hewers of wood and drawers of water “accursed by GOD’ the “tragedy of all two footed things” devoid of a capacity to recognise and then capitalize on the worth that is in front of our faces.

We are always saying that our greatest resource is “our people”

Yet, we have consistently refused to leverage “our people” while other people, GPE and Puma and all the others continue to do so.

People like Obadele Thompson & Rihanna Fenty ARE NOW “LOST” to our world.

Why is it so hard for we Bajans to actively seek or create “collaboration” with these daughters or any son of our soil, similarly positioned to create (i) Indigenous Niche tourism offerings complexioned á la Rihanna or whomever (ii) Bajan Celebrity spearheaded “Encounters” or what simply put is having a well known Bajan Influence a tailored “Purpose Built” program.

Of course that would mean that the touriseseses doan come here jes to see sargussum populated shores and garbage, accompanied by hotel accommodation FIVE TIMES the cost of a hotel in Miami for a 1 STAR hotel.

I tired seeing dese tings doah, simple tings dat de ole man submit 6 effing years ago dat “white people” like Loverige construct and now going utilize to the maximum for the benefit of the Global Partnership for Education and International advocacy Group Global Citizen.

We jes is not ready, come leh we jes go and wuk up…

8. @MAnnunaki………I didn’t just inject the jew in this piece ya know. Mr. Adrian insisted on ‘re-minding’ the bajan folk of the ‘great’ contribution this ‘jew’ made to the economic development of Barbados which I find comical…forever glossing over relevant truths. To inject the A-rabs/Muslims now I think deserves a separate thread.

@PieceODRY…….”Cast Thy Bread Upon the Water” and not upon that drunken, drugged-up bed-wench of hollywood…for you shall find it later. For that bed-wench is controlled by the dark forces which runs hollywood which seems to have used her to cast a spell on the minds of the youth in Barbados and elsewhere who seem hell-bent on selling their souls to the devil in an effort to be like her…..be careful what you wish for. How has educating girls changed the world for the better other than reducing their dependency on a man. More Masters and Phds are given out today probably more than any other time in history, yet we’re still descending at a faster rate into the morass of cultural
    and self-destruction. What good is this education, if they’re being educated to carry on the sickness of the anti-gods?

Blasphemy! Blasphemy!

9. @ Piece
    People like Obadele Thompson & Rihanna Fenty ARE NOW “LOST” to our world.
    Why is it so hard for we Bajans to actively seek or create “collaboration” with these daughters or any son of our soil
    Because people like Oba and Ri Ri will not kowtow to the class of jackasses we have in leadership positions here. They call it as they see it, and having been exposed to international professional management, they openly rebuke the idiots we have entrenched here in Brassbowl land.

Have you heard Oba’s disdain for the Olympic and athletic jokers we have in power?
    Do you know of Rihanna’s frustrations with our mediocre jokers like?

Our culture of ‘yard-fowlery’ and mendicancy runs contrary to that of the exceptional talents we have who have managed to overcome the odds and reached world class status….despite these brass bowls.
    This is a KEY problem that would be solved by having a meritocracy.

10. Sandals BARBADOS.

Just watched the ad on CTV news Toronto. First time I have seen it.

11. Now, at the risk of handing out too many compliments, which is always inadvisable for a columnist, the question has to be asked: How can a Government which has dragged its feet for so long on so many critical decisions of national economic importance, and which continues to be trapped in its own indecisiveness, have finally gotten it right on tourism?

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/87324/hoyos-file-celebrating-tourism-team#sthash.CbO23jkJ.dpuf

12. Until the farmers take marketing and sales seriously , there would be no improvement in the connection between agriculture and the tourist industry. Farmers want to do everything and most of them do not have the marketing and or salesmanship skills.

13. William Skinner September 29, 2016 at 1:09 PM #

Well said and I will add that they should also become unified(more than paying dues to an organisation) and grow to schedule.

Those areas as well as a processing plant have been identified for decades as the prerequisites for a viable farming operation in Bim.

14. I think the jury is still out on the contribution of Dr Kerry Hall.

15. PNM expressing lots of numbers for Sandals Tobago in the Budget 2016

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160930/news/imbert-sells-sandals

16. It probably explains the delay with Beaches Barbados.