Psychiatric Hospital Meal

BU was reliably informed the the image is a typical meal being served to patients at the Psychiatric Hospital as a result of government cutbacks.

95 responses to “A Typical Meal @Psychiatric Hospital”

1. The plate’s contents are not aesthetically presented notwithstanding what it nutritious content is.

When I was younger i will admit that i have eaten a good set of dog food nuggets as most inquisitive 4 or 5 year olds will do (and, depending on whose house you eating at, i can say that the habit has persisted until I was much older heheheheheh)

Knowing Caswell one must not take his publications on their face value.

Let de ole man explain.

Suppose that their is a food problem at the Mental hospital and that one would wish that some investigative journalism be applied to the plight of the situation down there.

Being the ole fart and neanderthal that I am, i am not of the opinion that this plate of food was Caswell’s.

Let us suppose that, like in the vein of a file dropping off a truck, or a video being emailed to the Blogmaster, let us suppose that a well intentioned cook took a pic and sent it to the Social Advocate Extraordinaire Mr. Caswell for his use.

If there are 6 cooks at the Mental wunna doan tink dat Caswell going come heah and say “dis picture come from one of the cooks, and is the type of food dat dem does give the patients down dere every day?”

Steupseee, wunna really thing that Caswell going sit down and write an article like this cause he ent like the plate of food that he get during the GreenGates Open Day?

2. @ David,
    We have been using cooked biscuits as stuffing from the time I have known myself. I think that you have missed my point that cooked biscuits is a part of our traditional Bajan cuisine. As I said i am not defending the meal that was photographed. I never said that the meal was acceptable or unacceptable.

3. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

This is no subject to debate. Caswell provided a photo of a typical meal at the Psychiatric Hospital to obviously highlight a matter. As far as I am concern, the meal has a starch and protein source, with a bit calcium, iron and vitamins (A & C) coming from the beet, if that is indeed beet). The problem is that our brains are programmed so much towards appeal and decorative that if things do not have certain format or specific presentation, then it is considered not acceptable or of poor taste. Two carrots, not shredded and a bean or two in there, along with a drop of parsley on top, with a piece a salt meat or shredded saltfish, I am sure it would not have been subjected to the same critique it is getting now. The problem is that cook eclipse biscuit has its roots steep in the days when poor people had to find alternatives. What if it was rice tea in coconut milk and white flour dumplings with a added twist of bayleaf water to increase the aroma. Or what if it was just corn meal pap. At least it ain’t (remmy) or white rice with no sides.

4. I posted that picture to show what was being fed to the patients at the Psychiatric Hospital. This resulted from Government cutbacks to that institution but not as most people would think. At one stage, the hospital did not have the funds to purchase the ingredients to supply the patients with a balanced diet. Nonetheless, the hospital attempted to meet the nutritional needs with less money by serving smaller portions but the portions were to small. That resulted in patients becoming emaciated. To fix that problem, they started to serve cooked biscuits so that the patients would regain weight rapidly.

5. @Caswell

Do you know if this is the traditional mincemeat with beef, pork, mutton and all manner of meat minced? Is there consideration given to individual needs of the patient religion, preference etc?

@PUDRYR

We are on the same page. If you are treating a patient suffering with mental health problems you want to meet some level of expectation as far as food is concerned. The slop on the plate does not cut it .

On Tue, Sep 20, 2016 at 5:25 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

6. cASWELL
    THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH YOUR PICTURE POST

WHAT IS WRONG IS THE EMOTION DISPLAYED BY THE DAILY BU DRIVLERS ON THE MATTER WITHOUT KNOWLEDGE OF THE WHEREFORS OR WHEREATS

AS I HAVE SAID BEFORE THE ONLY THING THAT CAN BE SAID ABOUT THAT FOOD IS THAT IT IS NOT AESTHETICALLY APPEALING BUT NOTHING CAN BE SAID SCIENTIFICALLY ABOUT ITS CALORIE CONTENT TASTE OR COMPOSITION

7. Quick recovery for Minister Lowe? no way he should suffer immensely and be a subject for the others Ministers and DLP yardfowls

8. It is not like Caswell, in addition to posting the adjusted rations for the inmates of the institution and its patients came and posted something like the poster below.

And like me this poster intimates that it is “ineptitude of the current administration that has led to the paucity of the food that our patients at our health institutions islandwide are experiencing”

Whether it is by subliminal connections or blatant overt speech, it is natural for people to move to a position that places the burden of a load on the nearest donkey which in this case is the one that we have had for 8 years.

As simplistic as that might seem it is not a long stretch for anyone here in the rumshop to posit, correctly or incorrectly that these ever decreasing portions of daily meals are integrally connected to the inability of the DLP to provision the machinery of government with its diurnal needs.

If something as simple as the shortage of toilet paper at the QEH has been shown to be one of the many things the sitting government CANNOT provision how much moreso the food at the Green Gates Hotel. (I used GGH because of familiarity of the name not as a derogatory term)

http://imgur.com/a/Aa5lv

9. @PUDRYR

If the primary care health institution and polyclinic are routinely without/low on toilet paper and gloves what is feeding slop to mental health patients even if it meets some scientific content?

10. @Watchman

You should not wish sickness even on people you disagree.

11. Unfortunate situation.
    Differently, wishing the Minister a speedy recovery. Illness can strike anyone of us and when we least expect it.

12. That plate a food looks terrible but it is possible that the meat was well seasoned and spiced up.

If you can’t make the food “pretty” mek it taste “sweet”.

13. @ David,
    We all recall those days. However, what is presently happening, in relation to the water crisis, to the citizens of St.Joseph and other areas is a national disgrace of monumental proportions.

14. Caswell this time you got smack right in the groin.Remember next time you post a picture to attract sensationalism and nitwits attach a disclaimer.. foolburt
    Someone said there is nothing wrong with the picture except judging by the analogy of most comments the contents of the picture was not worthy for an animal to eat.
    Well well.on my way to cheffete anyone care to join

15. millertheannunaki Avatar

@ George C. Brathwaite September 20, 2016 at 3:25 PM
    “Unfortunate situation.
    Differently, wishing the Minister a speedy recovery. Illness can strike anyone of us and when we least expect it.”

There is definitely a place in the human heart for sympathy for persons undergoing a prolonged bout of sickness.
    But there is also a Force above simple human understanding called Retribution or Karma; or to put it in a more ‘Christian’ analogous setting, Divine Intervention.

Isn’t that what you, by George, have been hoping for all along? To rid your country of the pestilence called the Destructive Lying Party administration?

Probably it’s the blatant refusal to accept responsibility for the sad state of garbage collection and disposal which has taken a toll on the ‘god fearing’ doctor. Don’t you think the removal of this academic and Christian fraud of a deceitful lying doctor from office (like the other doctor for water woes) might just be the appearance of the Morning Star to begin a new day for Bim?

Why wait until 2018 when you can have it in 2016 before or after November 30th as a mark of the final raising of the flag by the current lot of deceivers, liars and political prostitutes.
    Long live Blackmout the Lowedown man who has taken Bim to a heap of garbage and wasted sewage talk about MAM’s right to practise Law in Bim!

We can all hope that the long-suffering dismissed NCC workers would find it in their hearts to wish the go(o)dly doctor a speedy recovery even if they are still not in receipt of their promised compensation.

“I mean that we here are on the wrong side of the tapestry,’ answered Father Brown. The things that happen here do not seem to mean anything; they mean something somewhere else. Somewhere else retribution will come on the real offender. Here it often seems to fall on the wrong person.”~ G.K. Chesterton

“Disease is the retribution of outraged Nature.”

“To be left alone, and face to face with my own crime [will be my] just retribution”.

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs…dont forget to eat a lot of Chefette…lol

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

All morning I been staring at the water in the plate…how much of the food is swimming in water.

18. Does anyone believe the NCC workers have not been paid by government despite the ruling of the ERT? Where is the trust, the integrity.

19. Wish the Minister well.

20. Well Well

That is not water: it is gravy.

21. Don’t worry about how it looks, the calorific value is adequate.

22. Caswell Franklyn September 20, 2016 at 6:19 PM #

Well Well

That is not water: it is gravy.

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

LOL so much for caloric content and nutritional value

Sent From my i phone

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

23. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

Make the food look nice. It doesn’t have to look like slop.
    Show some respect.

24. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

There is ground between a 5-star restaurant and a trough

25. @ David

That Minister Lowe actions has caused many poor people to suffered, therefore Minister Lowe should suffer with what ever break down his sick mind and body behold, my sorrow is not for Lowe and people of his ilk, a lot people in Barbados would like to say such

26. Lord have his mercy. Now I here longing for ackee and saltfish, rice and milk and corn meal pap with crackers as served in Jamaica. I am practically drooling like Pavlov’s canine and I wont be there until next month. I gine have to hold on though. Please keep the delicacies out de discussion.

At least I just had me a mess of callaloo with garlic and tomatoes. Could not wait for the rest of the dinner to finish cooking, so I stir fried it and ate it all up. I find I wait too late to start to cook. Last night I had my tomato, basil and mozzarella salad, drizzled with olive oil, [extra virgin] red wine vinegar which I made from my own grapes, a dash of salt and some black peppa. When I finish, I put the bowl to my head and drank the juices. sweet, sweet, sweet. Nothing tastes like organically home grown heritage tomatoes. Envy me some?

27. Could some one enlighten me….. what is a super beet? I have a fall crop almost ready, are they super too? they are the cylindrical beets, ready in 40 days.

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Caswell…my glasses probably need changing….I been staring at this thing from morning….I did not want anybody to say am bitchy and nastty and insulting people’s food.

I was wating for someone to mention the water.., sorry, gravy…in the plate and no one did….. I can’t believe I am the only one who noticed.

It’s a plate of slop that could have been presented better….at least make the water look like gravy.

29. You know as we go through these articles day after day after day after day I wonder if people really get this.

By this I mean the business of government and running it effectively.

A minister, newly added to the fold, MUST HAVE THE ABILITY TO ABSORB ALL THT IS NECESSARY TO RUN HIS MINISTRY from the time he swears to do so at Government House.

I wonder if people understand what that means?

YOu tek a man who de bailiff running down pun a day to pay fuh he car and who telling he wife tuh tell de man dat he ent deah, a man who cyan even sell two cars at de car sales place dat he wukking at, and gi he de Ministry of Transport and Wuk to run.

A place where de Permanent Secretary know all de tricks to getting marl and 2 down deliver to he palace in Shop Hill, and de Supervisors getting jobs brek off wid de tractor pun a weekend, and parts getting order but divert in de port to dem parts store up in Slaters St George

You see whu we really doing by electing dese doufuses and scvunts based on popularity?

What de ef does Steve Blackett or Patrick Toad Minister of Sidewalks or any of these effers from de DLP or de BLP know about running a government?

Yet here we are pointing out de ineptitude of de Minister who could not even get a ting do at Banks and we wondering why people got to wipe dem pooch in a bedsheet at queen elizabeth horspital?

And we going do it again in a few months.

Dis is why we seeing minister Stinkliar vex wid Pornvill and the late delivery of of the vaseline for our welcoming donkeys.

WeJonesing ent complaining doah…!!

http://imgur.com/a/n8jsq

30. bajans September 20, 2016 at 7:23 PM #

Could some one enlighten me….. what is a super beet?
    Recently there has been a lot of hype online about a product called SUPER BEET.
    It is really just another scam. BEET ROOT IS BEET ROOT. Its main nutrient after digestion is the products of sugar i.e glucose and fructose. As you might know fructose or fruit sugar enters the metabolic pathway that begins the conversion of glucose into energy.

the production of energy is most likely one of the reasons for the beet on the disputed plate

31. Well Well & Consequences September 20, 2016 at 7:31 PM #

the food may have been presented better–THAT IS NOT IN DISPUTE

but all we seem to do on BU daily is to BASH BASH BASH

the dummies who posted can not see past the appearance of the food

they cant lift their thoughts or the discussion to real importance things about food such as I have outlined

if you are not bashing bashing you dont seem to be welcomed on BU
    IF YOU DONT TOW THE LINE you dont seem to be welcomed on BU

I HAVE A MIND OF MY OWN— AN EDUCATED MIND AND I WILL STAND UP FOR WHAT I KNOW AND I DONT BACK DOWN WHEN I AM RIGHT

WITH RESPECT TO THE GRAVY
    IT MIGHT HAVE BEEN A SIMPLE BUTTER SAUCE TO REDUCE THE FAT CONTENT OF THE MEAL
    I PERSONALLY DONT USE GRAVY FOR YEARS AND I AVOID FAT BECAUSE I KNOW THAT MY BODY WILL MAKE FAT FROM METABOLISM OF PROTEIN AND CARBS IN MY DIET

I DONT USE SUGAR EITHER
    I EXPECT THAT ANY GLUCOSE I NEED WILL BE MADE FROM GLUCONEOGENESIS FROM THE PROTEIN IN MY DIET

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Gravy….you can still have a gravy, with no butter, just a light oil, my preference is grapeseed, or a light virgin oil, there are ways of creating gravy without the high fat content, pumpkin or leaves help thicken a gravy, spinach etc are cheap, easy to grow…I do it everyday.

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

GP….lol…I meant GP.

34. @the Kitchen Staff of the Psychiatric Hostel

On behalf of the patients who have to struggle with mental health challenges PLEASE improve the presentation of the food. Also watch the cooking of the beets.

http://www.vegkitchen.com/tips/beets/

35. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

You should also add that it is better to make the cook biscuit an after dessert side instead of part of the main course. I am sure there are enough yams and sweet potatoes that could be used instead.

36. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/ONWS304q41N

The No. 1 killer, dont care how good your diet.

37. @David September 20, 2016 at 6:23 AM “It would be an interesting comparison to see a meal served at the QEH.”

Within the last 2 years the QEH breakfast was good:

“one boiled egg, 2 slices of whole wheat bread, an orange, and tea with milk (thankfully no sugar)”

38. @Georgie Porgie September 20, 2016 at 8:40 AM “please explain why water is a poor alternative to soda or kool aid.”

You are right. No hospital, school, prison or home should be serving soda or kool aid.

39. But that said a serving of breadfruit, yam, or sweet potato would have been a better alternative to Eclispe biscuits which after all are made primarily of highly processed white flour.

40. @RE bajans September 20, 2016 at 10:15 AM “That plate is lacking a green vegetable, a yellow vegetable, a glass of milk, and half a banana, slice of pawpaw, or some other fruit.”

It may well be that the fruit serving was on/in another plate or bowl. Certainly when I was served food at the QEH the orange was in a separate bowl, not on the same plate as the meat/veg/starch.

41. @David September 20, 2016 at 12:41 PM “People back in the day ate cooked biscuits because they were poor and could not do any better.”

I must confess that when I bake/roast a whole chicken I still stuff it with Eclipse biscuits.

Poor or not. Being able to do better or not.

Soak the biscuits in cold water, squeeze out the water. Add onion, thyme, marjoram, rosemary, and a little oil or butter, maybe a little salt and a little pepper. Stuff the bird with this mixture, close it up.

Bake/roast.

A piece of this chicken, some Eclispe biscuit stuffing, a li’l rice and peas, and cooked veg or salad and ya gone clear.

But I only do this 3 or 4 times a year, mainly because I hate having to go to the trouble of stuffing a bird.

42. Looking at that plate,I do not think it would have lived. It had no eyes or ears .The abortion was a wise option.

43. bajans September 20, 2016 at 7:23 PM #
    When I google Super Beet, it is what my father and a lot of small farmers used to grow on a daily basis. The same as those that Brown Downes used to cultivate in the school garden.The beets now available locally are relatively small. We have grown so accustomed to mediocrity , that we have forgotton, or have not researched the things we had before. The same goes for carrots. The Bajan variety are some hard stringy things that no self respecting hawker of yesterday would have offered for sale in the markets in Bridgetown. We now import large carrots from Canada, these still are not as big as the Danvers which were once produced locally.