Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

In an effort to recover monies owed to the Student Revolving Loan Fund by delinquent borrowers, the Student Revolving Loan Fund Management Committee (Committee) has resorted to naming and shaming delinquents by publishing their names in the print media. I wish the Committee well in its efforts but I am afraid that it is going to be difficult to shame persons who seem to be devoid of any conscience. They made use of the funds and now have no compunction about not repaying so that others can benefit, as they did.

Many of these heartless defaulters had asked friends and family members to be guarantors. Now that the loans are in arrears, these kind-hearted souls are left holding the bag and are required to repay the debt. Unfortunately, in many cases, the guarantors are retired public officers who rely solely on their pensions to keep body and soul together. And now without showing any mercy, the Committee has issued instructions to the Accountant General to garnish their pensions.

I do not know if the Accountant General has acted upon those instruction but the Committee will soon find out, if they have not already done so, that it has no authority to issue those instructions.

Pensions granted to retired public officers are intended to maintain the pensioners’ quality of life, and can only be levied upon in very limited circumstances. Regrettably, satisfying another person’s commitments to the Student Revolving Loan Fund does not qualify. Section 15 of the Pensions Act states:

15. A pension, gratuity or other allowance granted under this Act shall not be assignable or transferable except for the purpose of satisfying

(1) a debt due to the Crown or a debt due to the Housing Authority under the Public Officers Housing Loan Fund Rules, 1958;

(2) an order of any court for the periodical payment of sums of money towards the maintenance of the wife or former wife or minor child of the officer to whom the pension, gratuity or other allowance has been granted, and shall not be liable to be attached, sequestered or levied upon for or in respect of any debt or claim whatever except a debt due to the Crown or a debt due to the Housing Authority under the Public Officers Housing Loan Fund Rules, 1958.

The Student Revolving Loan Fund is not the wife or minor child of any of the guarantors and it is certainly not the Crown. It is a statutory board established by section 3 of the Student Revolving Loan Fund Act. Section 4 established the Student Revolving Loan Fund Management Committee, and goes on to say at subsection (2):

“The Committee shall be a body corporate and section 21 of the Interpretation Act, Cap. 1 applies thereto”.

For the purposes of this article, part of subsection (1) is relevant, it states:

21. (1) Where an Act passed after the 16th June 1966, contains words establishing, or providing for the establishment of, a body corporate and applying this section to that body those words shall operate-

(a) to vest in that body when established-

(i) the power to sue in its corporate name;

(ii) the power to enter into contracts in its corporate name, and to do so that, in relation to third parties, the body shall be deemed to have the same power to make contracts as an individual has;…

This does not mean that a guarantor, who is a government pensioner, does not have to repay the loan in the event that the borrower fails to honour his/her commitments to the fund. It means that the Committee would have to take those pensioners/guarantors to court to see if they have any means to pay, other than their pensions.

While I condemn, in the strongest terms, those borrowers who refuse to repay their debt to the Student Revolving Loan Fund, the Committee must share in the blame for accepting men of straw to be guarantors.

129 responses to “The Caswell Franklyn Column – Student Revolving Loan Fund: Guarantors Left Holding the Bag”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

By the way…the Student Revolving Loan needs to upgrade their online payment system, it’s unfair to borrowers each month they pay, to be told they have a balance they do not owe.

There are one or 2 scholars who are very proficient in creating payment systems for international companies worldwide and would be glad to help…if yall would PAY.

2. @ Caswell
    “… (A)lvin (C)ummins = AC. I won’t be surprised if he is not the original AC”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    There is a difference….
    Alvin is simply a well-known idiot.
    AC is a stupid little woman whose BU ID is shared with a set of fatted calf feeders – all singing for their supper.

3. Well, well,
    You are right about insurance companies. The problem is that our politicians do not understand how insurance companies work and so do nothing about them.
    With the Mutual, we politicised that debate and, in my view, allowed them to get away with lots of money. Hillary Beckles is not an actuary of insurance lawyer. But, like in most things, he took over the debate.
    We as a nation and policyholders have been the losers.
    The business model of insurance companies is the opposite of that of banks. They invest for the long term, not like Clico by investing in plantations and property, illiquid assets, but mainly in gilts and equities.
    Their pooling must be actuarially sound and vehicles, such as with profits, need to be monitored and regulated expertly.
    In the meantime, may I thank all those people who voted in the Protection Review annual awards for me as the journalist making the greatest contribution to protection insurance.

4. Caswell,
    Bushy wrote:Alvin is simply a well-known idiot.
    AC is a stupid little woman whose BU ID is shared with a set of fatted calf feeders – all singing for their supper.
    Ergo AlvinCummins (me) and ac cannot be one and the same. Just goes to show, you are swiping again; letting go the bat (as usual) and hoping to connect.
    Well Well,
    Goes to show that despite your vitriol over the past couple of years I have been proven right. Have no fear I; like you, will pass from this life, so I am not worried. My function is to prevent people like you from presenting a constant one sided approach to issues which you try to foist on people who are susceptible. Won’t let you get away with it, ever.

5. millertheannunaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins September 14, 2016 at 11:02 AM
    “Bushy wrote:Alvin is simply a well-known idiot.
    Ergo AlvinCummins (me) and ac cannot be one and the same. Just goes to show, you are swiping again; letting go the bat (as usual) and hoping to connect.”

For you, Alvin the Clown Prince Cummins, to understand Bushie was suggesting that you, the primate idiot, are the same person as ac the consortium of accredited cretins, you must be a crazy old jackass suffering from the effects of the final stage of advanced dementia.

We all know you A C are the oldest version of a jackass pretending to be a yard-fowl.

While the other acs are an amoebic amalgamation of crap that feeds off the same DLP feces as you the asinine yard-fowl.

6. Miller u ole fart listen to the bovine excretment that rolls out your mouth what has any of it to do with the issue. I know you might be angry and in need of a job since OSA fired your as his boot shining a.ss. Idiot you know nothing about ac. neither does that antiquated bush whacker irrelevant lamp pole known as bush sh.it

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Hal….it’s a pity the dummies in parliament wont let you report on the scam that is the insurance industry in Barbados.

Alvin..the dummy, read and weep, I know what’s killing you is the fact that those senior citizens robbed by Leroy Parris will get back their money, those who live, you will go to ya grave angry that they did, that is your blighted lot in lifel

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/85485/sinckler-sorry

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/09/14/dont-blame-me-2/

Alvin…this should help you and the other useless ACs along a little faster, lol, when ya finish read the article, read the comments below…ha-ha.

9. “IT IS NOW up to individual employees of the Customs and Excise Department to decide whether or not they will join the Barbados Revenue Authority (BRA). ”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/85930/bwu-opts#sthash.c28yAfw2.dpuf

10. Hants

The stance taken by the BWU is a sellout position. How can they in one breath tell the workers that everything is in order for them to make an informed decision and in the next breath tell the same group of workers that they will now have to negotiate the terms and conditions. How can these workers make a decision when they don’t know terms and conditions under which they would be employed?

11. If the BWU are satisfied that their (the workers’ presumably) demands have all been met …then why not unequivocally endorse the change to BRA?
    It sounds like hands washing of the Pontius Pilate type….

12. Bushie

It is not like washing hands like Pontius Pilate, it is more like the kiss of Judas. BWU needs financial assistance from Government in order to remain viable, so what is selling out a few Customs workers.

13. Instead of people like Caswell fanning the flames of fire to bring down barbados he should be heralding the changes to customs necessary changes that for over the years have breed incessant relationships in the workforce and held more or less a chokehold on management which has led to poor productivity driving by irresponsibility and a poor respect for management

14. for over the years have breed incessant relationships in the workforce and held more or less a chokehold on management which has led to poor productivity driving by irresponsibility and a poor respect for management
    For clarity AC, (not holding bushie’s breath)…
    You talking about BRA…?

…cause looka woman, Bushie had some dealings there recently and ‘letmuhtellya’ …. SHIITE!

BTW
    Do you mean incessant like the rain …or ‘incestuous’…as in what Stinkliar is doing to you in the DLP?

15. @ Caswell
    it is more like the kiss of Judas.
    C’est la vie.
    Especially bout here…. it is every dog fuh heself …and the Devil take the hindmost…
    The BWU are therefore doing what everyone else seem to be advocating…

Suppose they put principles first – and cause Stinkliar to withdraw the government bribes …oops …stipends /grants/ tax waivers/ …while not getting support from their selfish workers who all want benefits – and hate to pay the little pittance fees…

Shiite man Caswell …. they would end up like….. ‘U’
    …as in UNITY.
    ha ha ha ha

Boss, the price of doing the RIGHT things in a SHIITE world can be as much as crucifixion …and as routine as obscurity…..

Unless of course you were to BUP…. Now THAT is different…
    …Cause when BBE is FOR you, not a brass bowl can stand against you….

16. Touch? Bushie but I sleep good at night in the full knowledge that I did not deceive my members.

17. Bush sh.it i thought u said you do not read my posts and suggest others refrain Guh long do i knew i would catch yuh lying a…ss.

18. @ Caswell

On page 15A of today’s Mid-Week Nation, there is an article headlined: “Student revolving plan to go after pension halted.”

The article went on to mention that a retired 60 year old lady sought legal counsel after attempts had been made to garnish her pension to repay a loan of $50,000 she signed as guarantor for a relative in 2009.

Her attorney sent correspondence to the Fund requesting them to stop the process. The Fund responded by a letter, signed by the Acting Administrative Manager, indicating the direct debit plans were to be discontinued.

The lady said: “If you read the Student Revolving Loan Fund Act there is an amendment and it said nothing about garnishing people’s salaries or pensions, and I’ve spoken to a number of attorneys and they say you can’t do it.”

This was essentially the gist of your article.

Caswell, those individuals who sought to “rubbish” your article should hang their heads in shame, because the action and subsequent success of the legal action undertaken by this 60 year old retiree vindicates you.

19. Thanks Artax. I’ll check it out.

20. All these problems by recalcitrant beneficiaries of the Fund,will make it doubly hard for other students to benefit from the facility.Its equivalent to the ‘kick down the ladder’mentality of the PM and his cabinet who benefitted from state funded tertiary education but denies it to the hundreds who as recent as this year have been disappointed by not completing the admission to classes process.

21. So here we go again the same ole farts condoning the rights of the defaulters over the right of the state to take collection action

22. millertheannunaki Avatar

@ ac September 21, 2016 at 10:23 AM
    “So here we go again the same ole farts condoning the rights of the defaulters over the right of the state to take collection action”

If only you the all-seeing consortium would encourage the same government to go after the NIS and VAT defaulters with equal vigour.

Don’t you think the VAT defaulters are nothing more than registered bold-faced crooks who collect money from consumers but blatantly refuse to pass it on to the Treasury?
    The Net VAT payable is not a cost to the business but a legal responsibility as a tax collection agent as imposed by the Law.

Why not publish a list of all the businesses along with their owners and directors that are in default of their VAT commitments.

Shouldn’t the consumers who were forcefully required to pay over VAT to these crooks demand their money back?

23. Starting with a popular city store which is alleged to have been released from a 25 million dollar vat payment by none other than the stinkerman.I am sure they are not indebted to the printed or visual media for advertising payments.Buy one get one free.Sell one,collect vat,keep the vat.Iz ah rite wid the fatted calf eat ah food members.

24. Miller you can throw as many rotten apples into the barrels. The fact being that the Fund reliability is dependabe on those who borrowed to repay and unless that money is refunded there would be no money left for new applicants
    The vat measures are not the same although there needs to be equal vigour in going after those who refuse to pay the state

25. Gabriel

You said:

“Its equivalent to the ‘kick down the ladder’mentality of the PM and his cabinet who benefitted from state funded tertiary education…”

You are not serious. After listening to these politicians and seeing their output, can you seriously say that they benefitted from education, state funded or otherwise.

26. millertheannunaki September 21, 2016 at 10:47 AM #

“If only you the all-seeing consortium would encourage the same government to go after the NIS and VAT defaulters with equal vigour.”

@ millertheannunaki

My experience on BU has taught me that engaging in any activity with a fool is an exercise in futility.

Caswell or those individuals who responded in accordance with his article are not “condoning the rights of defaulters over the right of the state to take collection action.”

He clearly stated he “CONDEMN, in the STRONGEST TERMS, those borrowers who REFUSE to REPAY their debt to the Student Revolving Loan Fund……”

Additionally, Caswell also wrote: “This does NOT mean that a guarantor, who is a government pensioner, DOES NOT have to REPAY the loan in the EVENT that the borrower FAILS to HONOUR his/her COMMITMENTS to the fund.”

What concerns him is the process by which the Fund is requesting the Accountant General to garnish the pensions of guarantors in an effort to solicit repayments, goes against the provisions as specified in the Fund’s Act.

The case I referred to on page 4A of today’s (Wednesday, September 21, 2016) edition of the Mid-week Nation proves Caswell point.

Only an idiot who likes to politicize every issue into a BLP and everyone else versus DLP scenario, would be unable to identify this point.

27. Did not read the article nor care not to read the bottom line of repayment is of most importance than to one individuals refusal to do so bearing in mind that those who cannot access the funding would not have a chance of enhancing their future goals.
    Every body has a disposition of one form or another however when one uses that disposition to gain favourtism eventually one masters the art ofavoidance which leads to corruption in one form or anothet.

28. I believe the word “disposition” in that comments has not been used in its proper context.

However, if one juxtaposes the comments to Michael Carrington’s actions of avoiding his legal duty to pay John Griffiths and keeping the money for 14 years, clearly demonstrates how (Carrington) used “that disposition to gain favourtism (among the DLP faithful) and eventually mastered the art of avoidance (by with-holding Griffiths’ property for 14 years), which lead to corruption in one form or another (i.e. Carrington lied to his former client, dishonestly diverted the money for his own use and ignored Griffiths’ requests for reimbursement).

29. Ok..yardie..but not understanding your correlation to a matter of the RSF than can have devastating effects to others who might be unable to get access to the fund in the future. For what it is worth the possibility of Carringtons legal problem with Griffith is going to affect a collective group of students negatively is between slim and none.
    Furthermore there is no evidence to verify whether or not Carrington monetary compensation to Griffith is tied to any form of favourtism