Wow! What an Editorial the Barbados Advocate posted today (08/12/2016). BU sides with the author of the editorial, tail wagging the dog indeed!

Stephen Lashley, Minister of Culture

Should he find the time to reflect further on it, the Honourable Minister of Culture, Mr Stephen Lashley, will readily concede that his response of “It’s not illegal” was a surprisingly inadequate one to those who had complained that some of the costumes worn in the Grand Kadooment street parade on August 1 were too revealing or “skimpy” as it was put.

Among the protestors was veteran bandleader and designer, Ms Betty West, who expressed dismay at the number of semi-nude women on the road, especially those of a certain size. Her counterpart, Ms Gwyneth Squires, was of a similar view, regretful that “the police did not lock up” some of those in the more revealing costumes. Other bandleaders consoled themselves that they were simply giving the people what they wanted; a twisted scenario of the tail wagging the dog, where the reveller becomes both the designer and bandleader. Indeed, there were reports that some revellers had adjusted their assigned costumes to suit their individual tastes, inevitably of a more revealing nature.

Apart from the suggestion that the police should have locked up some of the more egregious offenders, the complaints generally appear to relate more to a question of public decency rather than that of criminal conduct, a much more complex and subjective area.

Nevertheless, the Minister, who is legally trained, sought to revert to the letter of the law to respond, offering his legal opinion that those people who wore revealing costumes during the street parade were “well within the law”. He may very well be right as a matter of strict law, although we would be loath to determine what is to be considered decent for public exposure purely on the basis of whether it is criminally indecent.

In most circumstances, an infringement of law of indecent exposure requires the showing of the genitals in the case of men, and the internal genitalia in the case of women; a reality that would be abhorrent to most Barbadians viewing the parade.

However, public decency is ordinarily to be assessed by community standards that may be based on religion, morality or tradition. In fine, whether the behaviour in question is repulsive to the public. There is, we submit therefore, a difference between indecent behaviour that is repugnant to right-thinking society and indecent exposure that invites criminal sanction, although there exists of course some intersection between the two concepts.

The sometimes-stark contrast between what the average individual may consider as indecent and what the law deems it to be is best seen in the exposure of the female breasts. While this occurrence at Kadooment would be, we assume, frowned upon by most, even when covered in paint as has happened previously, it is, at best, a moot point whether it would constitute an indecent exposure in law since the breasts are clearly not genitals.

The tendency to “push the envelope” is rampant in modern day society, and the Minister’s words may give some comfort to some of these individuals who intend to test local tolerance with the exposure of as much of their bodies as they are allowed to without falling foul of the law.

The Minister’s further query as to how does one go about policing what people should wear does seem an odd one, given his earlier assertion that “the NCF has rules and regulations regulating what type of costumes people can wear”. We should expect that these regulations are not mere carbon copies of the legal provisions on indecent exposure and that they go much further in the public interest.

49 responses to “Law and Public Decency”

1. This is another of the very boring ministers of this DLP government,and I mute him every time.This man is about himself,every other word is I,my opinion,my view,as far as I am aware etc etc.The man has no sincerity of purpose,he is just looking for votes,for being supportive of the vulgar exposure that passes for costumes.I saw this trend about 6 years ago by a certain husband and wife, thick in the DLP so it’s a DLP thing.

2. With lawyers they tend to err on the side of being politically correct.

With lawyers they tend to cloaked positions in legalese.

We need to have leaders willing to help anchor the population in a value system that defines who we want to be and seen as a people.

3. DAVID I RECOGNISE THAT YOU HAVE A MORAL CODE.

MAY IT EXTEND TO THOSE WHO USE VILE PERVERSE RHETORIC ON BU.

THANK YOU FOR THE ARTICLE IT NEEDS TO BE SAID OTHERWISE EVERY KIND OF PERVERSENESS WILL BE ALLOWED TO EMERGE AND INFLUENCE BARBADIANS FOR GENERATIONS TO COME.

MAY WE BE AN EXAMPLE AND RAISE THE BAR OF THINGS OF COMMON DECENCY THAT WERE TAUGHT OF OLD WHICH ARE NEVER OUTDATED?

OTHERWISE WHEN THE DAY COMES AND OUR JOURNEY HERE IS ORE, WE WILL STAND ASHAMED WHEN WE MEET OUR FOREFATHERS ONCE AGAIN.

4. Would the Minister be pleased if his wife was on parade in such scanty attire for Kadooment? His answer to this question would be quite revealing. I do not believe his answer would be yes. Therefore his answer about giving the people what they want had everything to do with getting votes.

5. Anonymice - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymice – TheGazer

“Especially those of a certain size” demonstrates the hypocrisy that is rampant in Barbados. Those of a certain size should tell their critics to kiss their ample size ….. Personally, I long for the day when we can walk in the Garden of Eden without covering our nakedness.

Yawn…..

6. GAZER WE ARE NOT IN THE GARDEN OF EDEN RIGHT NOW, MANKIND HAS FALLEN AND HAS BECOME SENSUAL AND DEVILISH… WE DO NOT NEED TO EXPOSE OURSELVES TO ENCOURAGE LUST OF EVERY KIND.

DAVID I RECOGNISE THAT YOU HAVE A MORAL CODE.

MAY IT EXTEND TO THOSE WHO USE VILE PERVERSE RHETORIC ON BU.

THANK YOU FOR THE ARTICLE IT NEEDS TO BE SAID OTHERWISE EVERY KIND OF PERVERSENESS WILL BE ALLOWED TO EMERGE AND INFLUENCE BARBADIANS FOR GENERATIONS TO COME.

MAY WE BE AN EXAMPLE AND RAISE THE BAR OF THINGS OF COMMON DECENCY THAT WERE TAUGHT OF OLD WHICH ARENEVER OUTDATED?

OTHERWISE WHEN THE DAY COMES AND OUR JOURNEY HERE IS ORE, WE WILL STAND ASHAMED WHEN WE MEET OUR FOREFATHERS ONCE AGAIN.

7. Gabriel is EXACTLY on the button.
    This man is a sham…. and a short one at that.
    His words mean absolutely NOTHING.
    He lies routinely, makes promises he KNOWS we will not keep
    …and says what he thinks to be politically expedient….

No class, no vision, no results, …..no damn height.
    He suffers from the short man complex….

8. These politicians are all about saying the right thing to to pad their popularity. Where is the leadership?

9. Do be reminded that a Statesman looks after the next generation, while a politician looks after the next election.
    Is there anyone, in or out of active, politics who can be seen as a statesman in Barbados?

10. Bush Tea August 12, 2016 at 9:49 PM #
    No class, no vision, no results, …..no damn height.
    He suffers from the short man complex….
    …………………………………………………………………………….
    His arse may be too near to his brains , but that did not affect the following short men.

Martin Luther King…………..5’7”
    Winston Churchill…………….5’7 ”
    Napoleon Bonaparte………..5’6″
    Mahatma Ghandi……………..5’4″
    Andre Carnegie……………….5’4″
    Yuri Gagarin…………………….5’2″
    Pablo Picasso………………….5’4″
    Genghis Khan………………….5’1″
    Aristotle…………………………..5’5″
    Colonel Buggy…………………5’7′

11. @ Heather

Are you sure he still have that wife? I heard that he is somebody wife or husband

12. One wonders how many of Lashley’s cronies and hangars- on ,have accompanied him, compliment of us tax payers, to Rio

13. @Watchman

There is no need to go low.

14. @ Colonel Buggy
    Interesting list…
    Delusions of grandeur yuh think….?!

15. @Watchman, I do not know what you are referring to. Mine was a general comment. What I do remember is that when he was first elected there was a picture of his wife who appeared to be very very very conservatively dressed and the response by the public was very critical. So much so that he made a statement asking the public to reserve their negative commnents for him. The reason that I mention this is that if her mode of dressing was appropriate, to the same man what was on display at Kadooment could never be appropriate. Perhaps back then he should have given the people what they wanted in terms of how his wife was to be dressed. He did not pander to the public then why now. Morality can never change.

16. @ David

Sorry for that, it will not happen again, but these Ministers are not high standing, they are low, therefore the need to be drag , check how Jones talk to people with his two fingers up

17. The good book tells us that we sin by Thoughts, Words, and Deeds. So those of us who ogle ,salivate and eye-shag these skimpily dressed females ,are just as culpable.

18. @Colonel Buggy

Is your observation true in a non secular world?

19. how many worlds are they?
    is there no longer any standards?
    is there no longer right or wrong?
    re The good book tells us that we sin by Thoughts, Words, and Deeds. So those of us who ogle ,salivate and eye-shag these skimpily dressed females ,are just as culpable.

THIS IS SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED IN ANY WORLD

20. RE Anonymice – Personally, I long for the day when we can walk in the Garden of Eden without covering our nakedness.

DO UOU HAVE ANY IDEA AT ALL ABOUT WHAT YOU ATE TALKING ABOUT?

21. “His words mean absolutely NOTHING.
    He lies routinely, makes promises he KNOWS we will not keep
    …and says what he thinks to be politically expedient….”

Isn’t that par for the course in the armoury of the DLP up to now from head to toe and used with great success too as has been proven by their return to office.

22. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, very interesting observations you have made re the Bajan moral code of the skimpy Kadooment’s displays. You are besides yourself that skimpy has taken control of sensibly sexy costumes and I am amazed.

How is the ‘indecent’ display of flesh as free expression of will any different to the equally ‘indecent’ display of words here on BU. Isn’t the same moral code being crossed when the ‘non-acceptable’ but legally just remarks are allowed here !!

I see absolutely little space to moralize between ‘flagrant’ physical ‘over-exposure’ and the naked verbal vitriol.

It’s almost as if you are saying that the decay of society can be evidenced by this almost inexorable failure to arrest nudity at Kadooment, but we can withstand the equally uncouth, crass and naked cussing seen here and all across social media.

Life as you know does not work in such a separate silo based construct. All these facets contribute to our moral ‘naked departure’.

incidentally, the point about the display of the female chest is always an interesting one, legally and otherwise.

The picture of that Olympic athlete proudly carrying his country’s flag with his bare chest as proudly displayed garnered some excellent publicity. He will long be heralded back in his homeland for his 15 minutes of fame. A medal now would be almost like the icing on his cake of internet popularity.

Of course any female colleague equally well developed as he would have been hard pressed to wear the same attire in the same bare-chested way. She would have absolutely been 10 times more popular and 1000 times more vilified.

So the double standard of the verboten bare female chest in public parades as compared to that easy acceptance of our ‘Serge Nubret’ (body building days of yore) muscled pecs is always interesting.

23. Free The Nipple movement
    Nudity is not pornography
    except for perverts

24. There was a proposal by then prime minister Owen Arthur who assumed responsibility for the Culture ministry to split the NCF into two divisions, one responsible for nurturing culture (by what definition you chose) and the other unit would have been responsible for its commercialization i.e. making money. Like many promises politicians make this has not come to fruition.

It is difficult to fathom how a politician and a lawyer can drive the cultural industries. Lashley’s decisions will be about making decisions to improve his popularity and visibility nationally as well as within the pecking order of Cabinet.

25. Anonymice - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymice – TheGazer

Thanks GP. Indeed I may be in above my head, It is with great reluctance that I admit that I cannot contribute in a meaningful way to this conversation. Sometimes, I get stuck on a single phrase and it becomes impossible for me to clear that hurdle.

“Especially those of a certain size” are the words that drives me insane. Those words negates everything that was said before and afterwards, Isn’t this what we now call body shaming? Women of a certain size cannot wear the same outfit or perform the same acts as what a skinnier woman.

26. Sounds more like a “pimp” than a minister at best, or lawyer in the least!

27. WHEN OUR FOREPARENTS IN THE GARDEN THEY PERCEIVED THAT THEY WERE NAKED
    IT SEEM THAT SOMETHING TRIGGERED AN INSTINCT THAT THEY SHOULD BE CLOTHED SO THEY SOUGHT TO COVER THEMSELVES WITH FIG LEAVES—–MAN’S FIRST ATTEMPT AT SELF RIGHTEOUSNESS.

GOD HIMSELF KILLED ANIMALS AND CLOTHED THEM WITH ANIMAL SKINS THUS PREFIGURING THAT WITHOUT THE SHEDDING OF BLOOD THERE IS NO REMISSION OF SINS.

GOD DETERMINED THAT HUMANS–UNLIKE THE OTHER ANIMALS SHOULD WEAR CLOTHING. SINCE THEN THIS HAS BASICALLY BEEN THE NORM

ONE OF THE MOST NAUSEATING SIGHTS IS THE NAKED HUMAN BODY

28. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Gazer, why are we so uncomfortable with the basic truth “Especially those of a certain size”. We alle feel anxiety about some aspect of our body and that’s why there is so much energy expended at gyms and so much money spent on slimming aids, protein shakes, plastic surgery remodeling and all the related heath and beauty products.

We wear clothing as much to protect others from laughing at or overly praising our various out-sized, small-sized or odd-sized bodies’ bits and pieces as we do to keep warm.

Why should any person who does not fit ideally into a loin cloth or into two strategically placed strips of clothing across their breasts and genital area feel empowered to parade around scantily attired at Kadooment and not take such a broadside.

People of different body types all look absolutely lovely with minimal clothing …take a look at SI body issue series ( and I only saw about 2 pcs) and it’s easy to understand that beauty comes in all sizes, colors and shapes.

If one is a plus size man or woman or skinny or whatever there is nothing to be ashamed of. Nothing.

But lazy people who allow themselves to run to fat (or to skin and bone) and then feel happy to parade at Kadooment inappropriately attired in a manner which clearly displays their lazy attitude to exercise should be called out as: “Especially those of a certain size”.

The minister’s words may have been inarticulate but the theme is spot on.

Skimpy clothing are for those with fit bodies; all others CAN wear more suitable costumes if they can’t or don’t want to spend some months getting their certain size into shape.

29. @ The Gazer

When I read your comment I got the impression that you were speaking in defense of persons who were what we used to call big boned and which the term “plus sized” seems to have been recently applied.

I further got the impression that your remark was a defence for the oft used derogatory comments per larger persons.

To whit Colonel Buggy then spoke to the element of height as would anyone who may, in hearing the term “short me crutch”, take affront per a reference to height if they are so challenged

People resort to characteristics when you present soundness of rationale. It is a normal strategy to rattle one’s opponents who may have that chink in their armour

Your third point dealt with the much published original state of unclothed man in the garden of Eden until we sinned and believed that we were naked, so we have come from the “east” to the west from “naked come I into this world, and naked go I out” to hijabs and bolts of cloth, and skimpy bikinis and our exhibition of our assets.

Will the body we inherit post this existence have a penis or a pudenda or shall they be a Norin Radd Silver Surfer form that supposes that “there will neither be marriage, nor the taking as in marriage in heaven?”

30. well, he traded in the ‘conservative’ wife for another.
    Why are you all surprised. My tax money is sponsoring Bashment thanks to the Minister. Lil Rick and Peter Ram did not have an outlet for their bashment years ago so they were ‘forced’ to up their game. Now this Visionary Minister has decided that rather than encourage persons to lift up their standard he has decided to go into the gutter with them. Andropause or maybe he was always there?

31. Anonymice – TheGazer August 13, 2016 at 7:53 AM #
    RE Women of a certain size cannot wear the same outfit or perform the same acts as what a skinnier woman.

LOL I GUESS THE SAME HOLDS TRUE FOR BIG FAT MEN LOL

RE It is with great reluctance that I admit that I cannot contribute in a meaningful way to this conversation.
    DONT FEEL BAD MAN. ALL KINDS OF IDIOTS DOES TALK SHITE PUN BU DAILY
    YOU ARE NOT NEARLY A MORON LIKE THEY ARE

YOU ORIGINALLY WROTE Personally, I long for the day when we can walk in the Garden of Eden without covering our nakedness.

I RESPONDED WITH DO YOU HAVE ANY IDEA AT ALL ABOUT WHAT YOU ATE TALKING ABOUT, BECAUSE WE WONT BE GOING BACK TO DAYS IN THE EDENIC ERA IN THE FUTURE.

ABOVE I HAVE CITED WHY HUMANS WEAR CLOTHES

32. He is Genghis Khan’s ‘height’. How fitting for a “Lil Hitler”

33. @ de Word

Often while sitting in that part of your architecturally exquisite home of yours with that sky window layout I recall us speaking of many a topic as you would shift fluently from one item to another, with various reasoned supporting material.

I know that you are new to BU and, in using the word vitriol, would be aghast at true vitriol that has been used here in times afore time.

Your reasoning per the Blogmaster s use of his rules of engagement in and among bloggers confuses me for 4 reasons.

One. Some bloggers write scvunt and, irrespective of how you reason with them with an eternal hope that common sense at least will break through, these come a time when you will say, as you have yourself said, “you may have the last word” or “I dun wid dat”

Two. You would seek, like another has, to excoriate the Blogmaster for the comments of the bloggers as if he was responsible for our thoughts but I would ask you this.

“He who callers his brother a fool is in danger of hell fire” seems first of all to damn all of us who have used more damning words than fool in our lives.

That being the case it would seem that you would assign the Honourable Blogmaster the unenviable role of timely censure of every single word that appears here that does not conform to your “baseline” of verbal standards and acceptable repartees.

That is disingenuous to say the least. Next thing you going want is that David imposes Sharia Law

Three. Dis is David King ting and when we ascend to spiritual and moral heights where the naked botsie sorry scantily clad bottom shown in the picture in the lead article or the buxom lady in the baked chicken? position that Kiki presented, insults our respective delicacies, then I would suggest dat we lef de studio too.

Have you ever taken time to listen and/or watch Kiki’s music blogs here?

She intersperses some (scantily clad) female models in such a tasteful manner that it becomes obvious that she is an artist who has no hang ups on female or male form.

Four. Beauty is in the eye of the Beholder.

Nandoris wearing beauties may be my thing while belly warmers on larger frames may be yours.

You may prefer your buxom babes to bare their behinds while dangling from on a bar in your bedroom while I may, under this ever expanding concept of “we culture” as defined by our always partying Lil Caesar, enjoy the expression of such enthusiasm for the entire world to see their assets barely contained on Spring Garden.

This expansive morality is best summed up in the callous pronouncement that you and I were raised around “if she old enough to bleed, she old enough to breed…” said as we spiral deeper into the morass

34. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces, so lets sojourn under the skylight as the discussion goes to the heart of what makes BU the rousing social success it has been: the question of what really makes us tick.

It seems you have misconstrued my remarks. I did not ask the blogmaster to censor words here. Rather I said :”It’s almost as if you are saying that the decay of society can be evidenced by this almost inexorable failure to arrest nudity at Kadooment, but we can withstand the equally uncouth, crass and naked cussing seen here and all across social media.”

How can he highlight one decaying fruit as wrong for the good health of society but easily add another decaying fruit to his menu!

I do NOT believe there are any ‘bad words’ in language. But yet I would not be upstanding before a crowd and describe a person as a ‘cunt’. Nope. I would use a more PC word for the audience. Frankly, even among friends I would personally demur from using such ‘expressive’ language but I have no problem when other adults do.

I have a problem, good senor, with uncouth behaviour and lack of decorum and common decency.

We tend to WRONGLY equate ‘bad words’ or, as the Kadooment example highlighted, ‘skimpy attire’ with ‘uncouth’ and as the crux of the problem. When in fact that is just a symptom (of frustration). You for example often use ‘bad words’. Nine times out of ten – in fact I could say 9.999 times out of 10 – I never find you uncouth.

Kadooment is a day of revelry. A day when folks let their inner devil step out. Those who want to show off their attributes are entitled to do so. That’s not inherently ‘indecent’ or uncouth for the average Bajan.

They are being as expressive as those who cuss like pirates here (like you or your friend in the other sky-lit home SSS). There is nothing that makes either group more morally deficient than the other? In fact nothing that makes either group morally deficient, period?

Neither you or Miss SSS appear to lack a moral compass simply because of your expressive speech. Just the opposite actually, your compasses are perfectly locked in.

So, we agree that callous or uncouth can invoke a ‘blood libel’ (oh dear, don’t lets get into the extensions of that; just my play on words). Thus when a man disagrees with a woman and says she had ‘blood coming from her wherever’ he is really a contemptible piece of human flesh.

Keeping it real…he has gone straight to the ‘cunt’ in order to dehumanize and shame his opponent. His moral compass never points to true north, obviously. Not locked-in. It’s always awry.

A guy or a gal who jumps up and wuks-up a few days in the year could never be equated to that because of how much skin they choose to display.

Don’t lets get lost with the visible symptoms and miss the underlying serious and dangerous issues that truly affect life and discourse.

Uncouth and unacceptable comes in a police station with Nazim, in a presidential election and in the personality of biblical teachers…long before they show up on Kadooment Day!!!

That sir is the context of my ‘prosecution’ of the blogmaster remarks.

35. @Dee Word

Please read with comprehension, the article is the Advocate editorial of yesterday clearly stated at the op of the page.

You should accept the true meaning of a word derives its meaning from the context i.e. it can be through ignorance, lack of education, intent to be malevolent etc.

This is a forum frequented BU is willing to guess mainly by adults, a stark contrast to revellers exhibiting lawlessness on the public byways and all that goes with it.

Stay on scrip Sir!

36. Lock them up..Smfh

37. TINGS DAT RING BELLS Avatar
    TINGS DAT RING BELLS

This is all our Minister of Culture deserves – all four feet of him. NOTHING. NO COMMENT. And this too. Laughter of the cackling kind.

38. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David, I actually thought my comprehension was a-ok so I appreciate your clarity here. Yes, you said it was an editorial from the Advocate.

There were over 1 millions articles written yesterday – give or take – several of them editorials from major news-outlets. You highlighted but ONE of them here. So my comprehension, such as it is, told me that “BU sides with the author of the editorial, tail wagging the dog indeed!”meant that you POWERFULLY AGREED with the words written.

With that in mind I certainly thought that I could ‘prosecute’ the article as if YOU had written it. The same way we prosecute Money B for his agreements with Trump’s words. So are you pulling a Trumpism here and disavowing your avowal! LOLL.

And I surely expect that adults frequent BU, thus bobbing and weaving across the moral compass is even more unacceptable.

Many people say that Trump resonates with the ‘uneducated’ but I suspect not even those of that group that previously got their laughs from David Letterman. He asked Trump last year rather passively, ‘so where were these made’ (his shirts and ties). ‘They’re made somewhere’ was the reply. Letterman then clarified that the shirts were made in Bangladesh and the ties in China. Then the Trumpster mumbled something about ‘so folks in Bangladesh get some jobs’.

I quote that to confirm that like your Advocate editorial I agree with Letterman’s inherent tone that Trump is a charlatan. Generally that is staying on script, my friend.

So you can prosecute me as if the views were mine. LOLLL. If you quote someone extensively I expect that I can do the same!

39. David August 12, 2016 at 10:57 PM #
    @Colonel Buggy

Is your observation true in a non secular world?

…………………………………………………………………………
    To quote the Minister of Culture , ” It is not illegal.”

40. And while we are focusing on women in skimpy costumes, our men are exposing themselves to the fullest, pissing here, there and everywhere.
    http://i.imgur.com/1bz9sJm.jpg?1

41. even Trump knows how to expose his nakedness and get some laughs lighten up folks .

42. This half naked thing may be the work of the Lord, even eyeballing it!
    Nahum 3:5

“Behold, I am against you,” declares the LORD of hosts; “And I will lift up your skirts over your face, And show to the nations your nakedness And to the kingdoms your disgrace.

43. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

I have to disagree with a lot of the comments concerning the so call skimpy carnival wear. That is because I have seen skimpier and far more revealing. It is expected and, should be expected that Kadooment is evolving and as the generations from before are replaced with the generations of today what was considered provocative and obscene is now sexy and trendy. It is the same with movies of old and movies of now. You cannot expect to have a decent movie without nudity and the famous sex scene, compared to yesteryears when such movies would have raged public outcry and evoke the wrath of the illustrious clergy and censorship board. It is the same with homosexuality. You cannot have a comedy series unless you depict the feminine fella with the very female speaking antic and body gestures. Try showcasing a homosexual scene a few decades ago, like in Brokeback Mountain, and imagine the response. Are these things not so common place, now, that they have found acceptance in many societies, even in Barbados who do not mind watching it on TV but want to condemn it elsewhere?

I do not like to speak about my beloved island’s hypocrisy, but many in Barbados are just simply hypocrites. They want decency in one thing and accept vulgarity in another. Look, the only thing that remains constant is time. Do not expect what use to hold true as ‘decent’ in crop over to remain constant in a changing environment. Also, do not expect crop over music to remain ‘Black Pawn’, Gabby, Colin Spencer, and Adonijah et al either. That style of calypso would be considered old school and boring.

Decency must be given its recognition under a definition that reflects a changing environment. Remember we are no longer gay, but happy. Gay is now a negative word with a negative connotation.

So what if we have a problem with nudity, many societies do not have a problem at all showcasing theres.

We bajans were not raised to showcase our body particularly in public displays of nudity. However, I am sure many have visited other countries and see the male and female anatomy in different forms and in many different places all bushed and dangling. No one pays attention to that because it is as normal as wearing clothes.

What some see as vulgar displays of crop over wear, others see as simply and expression of the carnival mood. I am sure many have seen what the women in the Brazillian carnival wear. Come on, we have to move with the times. and get past our so called ideals of our yesterday what-use-to-be.

Barbados has lost much because we are stuck in a mindset that does not support much progression and change.

The girls might show some cheeks, I have seen complete body painting with the sisters not wearing a single thing. I am sure none of you would want the girls to be jumping in bloomer type depicted undies. How attractive would that be? Sorry is france I could not make it home this year. I would be one definitely struting a skimpy.

44. Sunshine Sunny Shine August 14, 2016 at 2:52 PM #
    Reminds me of a lady some years ago who called in the police , complaining of her neighbour parading in his home as naked as he was born.
    The police , entered the woman’s home and looked through every window ,and told the woman, it does not seem possible to observe the neighbour through any of her windows.
    “That’s not so “, the woman said, ” put that chair on top of the dining table, stand on it, look through the upper skylight window, and tell me if you cannot see him.”

45. Prudishness about nakedness is a European concept about civilisation and morality
    but people with melanin from hot countries are by design intended to catch the sun all over

@Piece
    FYI photographer is called Roseography a youth in Atlanta circumventing industry norm publishing works on platforms such as tumblr, instagram, facebook etc

https://youtu.be/9g_4oMnIN-w

46. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

Is it the nudity that much as it is the vulgar gyrations in the Nudity? Sex in Broad day light. Most of the women that goes skimppy does not even look appealing – there I said it!
    Women have some bloody self respect.

Minister of culture you have promoted Barbados carnival well – the carnival where you can get “easy” ass.

I do not take note of one word any of these Ministers have to say. The Hospital is well on track – Umhum, Minister of Health – who yah fooling, the 80% of illiterates on this island?

47. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

Lol Colonel