Submitted by Anthony Davis
markmaloney_markcummins
Mark Maloney (l) Mark Cummins (r)

It has taken three years to get to this stage but work on the much anticipated US $100 million Hyatt Centric Resort is finally set to get under way within the next two months – Barbados Today

In a letter to BARBADOS UNDERGROUND under the headline BAJANS WAKE UP! YOU ARE ABOUT TO LOSE BROWN’S BEACH David Comissiong wrote, among other things: “The foreign businessmen, Patrick McCudden, also informed the people of Barbados that all senior positions at the new hotel  WILL be filled by “EXPATRIATES”! (Apparently, we Barbadians are only qualified to hold low level jobs in this Hyatt hotel!)

Pray tell me, ministers Sealy and Sinckler, didn’t the PM say recently that the BLP has a number of spineless men in its party?

If what Mr. Comissiong says is true about only expatriates will have the top jobs at the Hyatt hotel, where are your spines when you allow some foreign bigot to stipulate such?

Are there no people in this country who qualify for such positions?

I, like Mr. Comissiong, am totally against the building of such a monstrosity on any part of Brown’s beach!

Brown’s beach is one of the last pristine beaches in this country where not only the indigenous go, but many of those repeat visitors who cannot afford the type of prices the clients of this hotel chain can.

If no planning permission has been given yet, does that not make the signing of that document null and void?

I cannot see how “the exterior will be blended with historic Garrison and Bridgetown”, because, as far as I know, there were no twelve storey eyesores during the time of slavery.

What makes it worse is that there will be 12-storey twin towers desecrating the landscape along Brown’s beach. This means that one will not be able to see the beauty of the beach when one drives, rides, or walks along Bay Street, meaning that those tourists who come here for the first time, and hire cars will not know what as beautiful beach hidden by that 12-storey, camouflaged hotel!

What about vehicles entering/exiting that property?

That will cause more obstruction/congestion on Bay Street – especially at peak times where the traffic is already very bad!

I surmise that the highest buildings during the slavery period would have been Sam Lord’s castle, and the churches, so wheel and come again!

I have the feeling that not one of you cares if Barbados loses its WHO World Heritage Site designation.

Dresden, a city in Germany, lost its its designation because the authorities had the bright idea of building a new bridge over the river there. I really think that you should keep the drawings for that monstrosity exactly where they are – awaiting approval. This hotel will be right opposite Bethel Methodist church, so tell me how will it blend in with the architecture of that church?

I’ve not heard so much gobbledygook in a long while!

Brown’s beach should be left as it is.

I’m also one who think that we will not be able to walk among the rich, the famous and the bigoted once that monstrosity is there!

I would also like to know what kind of sweetheart deal the owners have received, seeing that the indigenous hotels have not received the same deal that Sandals has up to now!

Government will not see one red cent in foreign exchange from the owners of the condominiums, as that money will leave the island as fast as it comes, and the owners will be foreigners.

How about the Building Code which states that buildings should not be above a certain height?

Has that been rescinded?

You are selling our heritage, our scions’ and their scions’ heritage for thirty pieces of silver!

I hope that you know what happened with Judas!

The marvel of all history is the patience with which men and women submit to burdens unnecessarily laid upon them by their governments. – William H. Borah

87 responses to “12 Storey Hyatt Hotel to be Built on Bridgetown UNESCO World Heritage Site”

1. To the Naysayers; they know who they are.
    Oh ye of little faith, who have no vision, who never think positively, who think that every project will be a failure; whether it is conceptualized, financed and brought yo fruition by Black or white,Bajans. What is the matter with you?
    The people who are building the TESLa electric, self driving vehicles, are positive thinkers, and they have been able to convince INVESTORS to put up over five BILLION dollars to construct a plant to manufacture the BATTERies that they will power the vehicles of tomorrow. FIVE BILLION dollars!!! (US), Hyatt has the vision to see the value of taking interest in this hotel, utilizing some of the best beachfront st land in the world; even though there are many others right here in the Caribbean which are on par with Browne’s beach. Architects study, and designers envision, the changes that will provide the most attractive buildings that fit in with the environment. Don’t ups think that Hyatt would ensure that the hotel envisioned fits in with other Hyatts around the world that conform to their aesthetics?
    Give me a break.
    A certain man called Nathaniel once asked “Can anything good come out of Nazareth?” And who came out of Nazareth, GPAnd other Christian adherents would know.
    How come there were not these Naysayers when the Four Seasons, was first conceptualized? (Remember it was a completely private sector led initiative. When the road was shifted inland to accommodate the building of SandyLane, where were they?When hotels were constructed at Paynes Bay that blocked access and views to the see, where were they? When Accra was constructed, where were they?
    Wait and see.Demand to see the plans and the models. Bay Street will not be the same.

2. Hants August 2, 2016 at 9:46 AM #

The island of Barbados belongs to the people of Barbados.

Excluding of course those enclaves in Sugar Hill, (not the one in St Joseph) Sandy Lane, Mango Bay,(free water for 10 years) , Apes Hill , Royal Westmoreland, Cattlewash et al.
    Of course someday this will come become a reality when we sell these rich property owners Barbados citizenship.
    These fields and hills, and the cow jump over the moon.

3. Barbados is a densely populated island which is not blessed with plentiful supplies of oil or gas. It has no gold or diamonds, or even potash or bauxite. It does not have waterfalls or coal or uranium that can be used to generate energy.The soil is not particularly fertile.
    Yet Bajans expect to live well and they complain constantly if they don’t have a house, a car, a TV, a washing machine and a refrigerator of their own.
    They have practically given up on farming because it is too hard. They are not good at factory work, at least not compared to Asians, which is why Intel closed down its factory. They don’t mind doing a little banking in air conditioned comfort, but there is only so much fugitive money from North America to play with. Banking is not enough to keep everybody employed.
    So foreigners come here with money to build tourist hotels, and local activists say “No. All the beaches belong to us. Don’t block the view with any tall buildings. We want to see.”
    Question is: How do these fussy, lazy people expect to support themselves at the standard of living they have become accustomed to if they are not prepared to make sacrifices? Go figure.

4. @ Chad999999999
    Question is: How do these fussy, lazy people expect to support themselves at the standard of living they have become accustomed to if they are not prepared to make sacrifices? Go figure.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Answer is: Prostitution….mainly by kowtowing to rich people with more dollars than sense through ‘tourism’, and by selling the family silver like ‘Parros’…

But shiite man….. does that mean that we must now allow ourselves to be screwed by these thieving jackasses? …..have you checked how jackasses are hung….?

We may be brass bowls Skippa…. but we ain’t all female rabbits…

5. Things must be pretty desperate in BIM when one of your esteemed Minister goes on record to laud Chefette who will be building a fast food outlet in the Lancaster region.

The article below is from today’s Nation.

“A NEW DEVELOPMENT AT Lancaster, St James, is expected to bring some major returns to the Government of Barbados.

That projection from Minister of Housing, Denis Kellman who commended the fast-food chain Chefette for its foresight in building a branch at that location.

One of the best commercial sites in Barbados will be that development at Lancaster. As you would appreciate, it’s a four junction, you go the East, the South the North and the West. And Chefette has quite cleverly recognised what other business people should’ve recognised,” he said.

He said Chefette now has a “golden opportunity” to recapture the market they had at the Sunset Crest branch, which was sold several years ago. “That area at Lancaster is going to become one of our prime areas and that is the area that might help us to reduce our deficit in a significant way. Because we have a pretty large portion of land on that area. . . .When you have land like that, you must maximise the returns so that you can help the poor people of Barbados.” (YB)

6. I have always maintained that this minister based on his thought processes appear to be retarded.Who else would talk such crap.Childish and insensible.Chefette?More diabetes?
    Btw who speaks of somebody “coming first” in an interview.Further proof of a JA.

7. Yes fast food can be a contributor to diabetes in any case do not see the rationale or point of argument in the issue.
    People can make a choice the only reason that fast food chains remained in buisness is because of a popular demand by the people.
    What the minister said is not a contradiction but is analysis borne on statistical fact findings on consumers demand

8. ac August 4, 2016 at 8:41 AM #

“What the minister said is not a contradiction but is analysis borne on statistical fact findings on consumers demand….”

You always allude to “truth” and “fact,” but have never been able to successfully substantiate any opinions presented in your contributions.

Perhaps, on this occasion, you could make the “analysis borne on statistical fact findings on consumer demand” REPORT available to BU for our perusal.

If not, then your comments are based on political rhetoric “designed” to make it appear as though you are privy to certain information and, more so, to defend the minster.

9. Ok sir later in the day when i can acess my fact finding computer i shall reply to your request.lol

10. @Artax

Have you read the article authored by Ezra Alleyne that appeared in the last Sunday Sun? He discussed the importance of the yardfowl base to political parties. In fact we see the yardfowl phenomenon playing out in the US as we type these comments. A democracy being highjacked by JAs. Why should a political party have to survive based on yardfowls? Why not promote a base of independents?

11. @ David BU

Yes, I read the article and I understand the role of yard-fowls in politics. However, as it relates to your reference to the US political situation, Donald Trump has been consistently “putting his foot in his mouth,” and his yard-fowls subsequently go on national television to do damage control and defend the shiite.

And this is what irks me about yard-fowls. Why would “intelligent” people venture blindly into the realm of stupidity to defend obvious shiite? And for what reason?

12. The First Truthful Thing killery said that I could remember!!

https://www.facebook.com/foxandfriends/videos/1126116804142581/

13. EXPOSED: HOW THE CLINTON’S LIKELY STOLE BILLIONS FROM WORLD’S POOREST…

Investor and financial crimes researcher Charles Ortel joins me to uncover what he is calling “the “largest UN-prosecuted charity fraud ever attempted.”

Charles reports that the Clinton Foundation is part of an “international charity fraud network whose entire cumulative scale approaches and may even exceed $100 billion, measured from 1997 forward.”

And the most shocking aspect of the Clinton Foundation’s missing Billions is that much of it was stolen from those who need it most, the world’s poorest of the poor. Bush the Clinton’s formed The Clinton-Bush Haiti Fund after the devastating 2010 Haiti earthquake.

Charles says, “What the Clinton’s have done, is they are stealing the people’s physical gold in Haiti, as well as perhaps stealing or diverting massive sums that were sent towards Haiti and refusing to make an accounting for it.”

This is a story of fraud and corruption so vast in scope that it should result in putting the Clinton,s in prison, not back in the White House.

14. @ Freedom Crier

You sure you’re posting your “copy and paste” contributions in the correct forum?

Shiite, man…..what the f*** does Hillary Clinton and the American elections have to do with building a Hyatt Hotel in Barbados?

Are you trying to convince Barbadians to apply for visas, go to America and vote for Donald Trump?

@ David BU

All of a sudden this fanatic has systematically worked his/her way into BU and uses every opportunity to fully dominate this forum with a lotta “copy and paste” shiite and self fulfilling propaganda that does not bear any relevance to the topics presented.

This “Freedom Crier” character killing BU and making the forum boring. Shiite, I don’t even feel like giving the ACs heat nuh more.

15. Gabriel August 4, 2016 at 5:32 AM #

Btw who speaks of somebody “coming first” in an interview.Further proof of a JA
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Not if its a Wuk fah Wuk interview,of which a few past and present Government ministers are noted for. Kelly may be a game player.
    http://i.imgur.com/xK7oB0R.jpg?2

16. @Artax

This is why some say the political class needs to be ‘checked’.

Freedom Crier was advised by BU to try to observe blog etiquette. Let us see what respect she has for suasion.

17. . David August 4, 2016 at 11:32 AM #…DAVID STATING “In fact we see the yardfowl phenomenon playing out in the US as we type these comments”.

. Artax August 4, 2016 at 1:59 PM # Antrax Responding, “However, as it relates to your reference to the US political situation, Donald Trump has been consistently “putting his foot in his mouth,”

. Artax August 4, 2016 at 3:37 PM #

@ Freedom Crier

You sure you’re posting your “copy and paste” contributions in the correct forum?

Shiite, man…..what the f*** does Hillary Clinton and the American elections have to do with building a Hyatt Hotel in Barbados?

. David August 4, 2016 at 5:05 PM #

@Artax

This is why some say the political class needs to be ‘checked’.

FREEDOM CRIER

TRUTH…

http://media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/cf/23/cb/cf23cb2106474f92fc13257f86c81872.jpg

18. Comic relief! Tee-hee! I’m laughing so hard right now!

19. Is the site right in front of the government offices where the PMs office is? Tell me it’s not there (where there is an esplanade). Can’t they do it further up the road, up Bay Street?

20. Analyzer August 4, 2016 at 8:01 PM
    You are way off Mark. The site is what used to be Detco Motors, immediately to the north of the Boat Yard, and just yards to the west of the old Empire Cinema.

21. From the archives. Bay Street not very long ago.
    (Photo borrowed from Flickr)
    http://i.imgur.com/Vp33zj9.jpg?1

22. VOICES WHO SUPPORT COLLECTIVISM INSTEAD OF INDIVIDUALISM ARE CLEARLY MANIFESTED HERE …

YOU SOUND LIKE THE QUOTE REPRESENTED BELOW!!

https://labourpartysupporters.files.wordpress.com/2015/11/labour-party-left-wing-anti-fascists.jpg

23. @Colonel Oh okay. I could be very wrong but wouldn’t this bring much needed life and activity to the area. Someone is supposed to be renovating The Empire too. Sounds like progress to me. Maybe 12 to 15 stories might stand out like a sore thumb though but we don’t know if it’s been approved, correct?

24. Back in 1966 the Treasury Building stood out like a sore thumb. The renovation of the Empire Cinema, is like the ever promising ferry, schedule to run between Barbados and the islands.

25. @ David,

Don’t tell anybody that the posts above were mine.

A smaller version of that hotel would look good a mile west of Paradise beach.

26. Colonel Buggy you are right. The Old General Hospital has been rundown since 1963, along with the Eye Hospital, which was briefly used by the Welfare Dept; a number dilapidated buildings next to Oistin’s post office, a number of buildings in the Garrison, the Grand House at the Eerie, Judge Hanscell’s old house – we can go on.
    Successive BLP and DLP administrations, and the private sector have failed us.
    But you can only sell the family jewels once – once they are gone they are gone.
    As my old grand mother used to say, you never miss the water.

27. And to think that we had brought in one of the leading “renovationists” in the Caribbean,Historian Dr Lennox Honychurch, to head up the Barbados National Trust,as its General Manager, effective July 1, 2015, and less than a year,probably out of sheer frustration, Dr Honychurch appeared to have quit the job and returned to his native Dominica. This is the man who supervised the restoration of the old and abandoned British Army officer’s quarters at Fort Shirley ,at the Cabritts .He would have done wonders,especially at the Garrison site.
    http://i.imgur.com/C0Cm6Wo.jpg?1

28. Meanwhile this is the crap which we are trying to sell tourists. The home of Sir Grantley Adams, the first Premier of Barbados and the First Prime Minister of the bruggadung West Indies Federation, and the father of a subsequent Prime Minister of Barbados.
    http://i.imgur.com/iJqshM5.jpg?1

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Colonel…you do realize it would be hard to find a bribe in restoring hundred year old buildings right..,..therefore the politicians and government ministers are not interested.

New buildings bring ciot overruns in the hundreds of millions….a bribetakers wet dream.

30. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Colonel Buggy

Do you remember Victor Roachford?

He used to be the Manager of the Port years ago in the 80’s may have passed by now.

He had a relationship with a specialist surface reconditioning company I think it was called Consolidated something

They pioneered the reflective paints in the US, bonding glass beads in paint.

He marketed a paint 30 years ago that was 3times as expensive as Bruggadown s paint but lasted for 5 years.

Look at that gate Colonel.

A lot of our upkeep of our buildings lies in the materials we use to outfit them initially and their respective resiliences

A penny wise and a pound foolish.

This simple mathematics is what our purchasing department should, in conjunction with the Barbados National Standards Institute, be doing.

Requesting resilient paints, telling prospective vendors the specifications and purchasing the supplies with warranties which, if not experienced, result in either the vendor rectifying the situation, return of monies paid, with interest and the publication of the name of the substandard products and the vendor

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Victor Roach not Roachford, this iPad just acting up

32. Is he the tall fellow who lived in St Lawrence at a house where cars always run into his guard wall? If he is, he died a few weeks ago.
    Its not just a matter of penny wise and pound foolish, but what is in it for me. We have seen road marking paint overseas, which lasts a life time,with the occasional cleaning and de-grimeing .In Barbados we used what could be termed, household paint to do our road marking. We do it in the morning, and by evening , unlike we old soldiers, it starts to fade away, which is damn good business for the supplier and his rewardee. Some bright spark at MTW began to use this very durable paint for road marking, but this exercise collapsed and went Bruggadung.
    Speaking of upkeep of our buildings , look at the controversial Al Barrack Towers, just a baby, and ready for a refurbishment job, or scrapped if it is now owned by government. But what takes the cake is the building on country road , the Headquarters of the National Housing Corporation.

33. “THE CONSTRUCTION OF high-rise buildings across Barbados, and the use of new chemicals and materials on the market, all present new challenges for fire officers, and necessitate additional training.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/84308/changing-trends-necessitate-training-officers#sthash.hjzNhkzI.dpuf