‎CEO at Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc ( BTMI )
Billy Griffith, ‎CEO at Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc ( BTMI )

BARBADOS, Bridgetown. July 14, 2016 – Long stay visitors to Barbados spent 20 percent more money during the first quarter of 2016 than during the same period in 2015.

These are the findings of the quarterly survey conducted by the Caribbean Tourism Organization (CTO) on behalf of the destination. According to the report, total visitor expenditure on island grew from US $280 million to US $337 million in the first quarter.  This was achieved through a 14.9 percent increase in visitor average length of stay and a total growth of 7.4 percent in visitor arrivals. The latter compensated for a decline in the average daily spend of 5.6 percent to generate the recorded growth in expenditure of US $57 million in the first quarter of 2016. – see full article

Related Link: Q1 Statistical Table

24 responses to “CTO Q1 Report – Tourists Visiting Barbados Spent MORE”

1. of course they spent more the price of everything went up

2. Unemployment down! Tourist spend and arrivals up! Deficit down ! barbados on the road to economic recovery , the prophets of doom and gloom are being pushed over the cliff while nation has remained strong and resilient in the face of every negative challenge thrown against it .
    NO effing SEAT for the BLP

3. DEMS now ! dems Again!

4. I would guess this “increase” in tourist spending is mostly attributable to measurement errors in the data series.

5. @chad99999

Maybe so. There should be a positive correlation to forex reserves. Time will tell when the reporting lag catches up.

6. The boys and gals at the BTMI will have to rollup their sleeves for yet another challenge from a key source market where coincidentally the spend is higher than in other markets.

Friday 15th July 2016

Published on Friday, July 15, 2016

OTA’s UK bookings plummet after Brexit vote

Brexit has caused a drop in bookings to London and the UK, but an even bigger fall in Brits booking to go abroad, according to an online travel agent.

Tripsta, which claims to be one of Europe’s top five OTAs and the largest in South East Europe, said the political event had an immediate, detrimental impact on both inbound and outbound bookings.

It claimed European travel bookings to the UK capital and the UK dropped 28% and 27% respectively on June 24, the day the Brexit decision was announced.

During the two weeks that followed, the fall-off continued with London bookings down 35% on the same period in 2015.

But the impact on outbound bookings was even more significant, with bookings down 90% on June 24 and 69% in the two weeks that followed.

"The Brexit watchword has been uncertainty," said Tripsta CEO Philipp Brinkmann.

"This has left its mark on the stock market and we can see from our booking data that it is also impacting the UK, and especially London, as a travel destination.

"We serve millions of Europeans everyday and this is a significant drop in demand for London as a destination, which we see as perennially popular with our customers.

"This is not due to a new Brexit-inspired xenophobia, but a country in the midst of seismic political change is not appealing from a destination marketing point of view.

"We are confident travel to the UK and London will thrive again, but it is crucial stability is regained as soon as possible to minimise the damage done to the UK’s tourism industry.

" In terms of any wider impact on UK outbound travel, last minute flight bookings for the 2016 summer season will prove to be a key indicator."

http://www.travelmole.com/news_feature.php?news_id=2022929&c=setreg&region=3

7. When the BLP led by Mia roll up her sleeves and lay out an economic plan for barbados .Then the blp would be taken seriously. Mia plan of hiding behind soft issues is nothing more than a ploy to gather support.
    Barbados economic gains cannot be good political news for the BLP who had six and half years to be honest and truthful as to how having a better economic plan than govt would be helpful.No but have ran and hide behind those issues meant to divide a nation.
    The govt is now hitting sixes while the Blp bowling performance flounders leaving them scratching their heads and wondering what to do next
    Not One effing Seat For The Blp

8. LOL
    Is it not funny how, incompetent square peg jokers sitting in wrong holes are always on TV either making excuses as to why things that went wrong are not of their making…. and quoting shiite statistics suggesting that luck seems to be on our side?
    The police actors are the most consistent in this regard, but these tourism jokers are a close second.

What EXACTLY do these people do?

The place itself is a damn mess….and getting worse.. Most of these white people come here mainly to reinforce their sense of superiority ..when they see how nasty and broken down every shiite looks…

Where the hell else can such tourists go anyway…?
    Few other countries have blacks who are as naturally subservient to whites and as we are…
    and many others remember how their ancestors suffered under these people…we don’t.

It is obvious that these CTO people are just feeding off the fatted calf – assigned to jobs as rewards for their loyalty to the DLP….. the least they can do is shut the hell up and enjoy their time at the trough

9. Ex Hilton Employee Avatar
    Ex Hilton Employee

I really do not know what is happening in Barbados where the rights of workers are concerned.I am dumbfounded at what Is being told to me by employees at Hilton Barbados Resort.
    Hilton Barbados Resort can be now classified as a bad employer in Barbados since the Argentinian George, Grenadian Sherene as well as the former Indian F & B manager Pradeep were in control.Workers were/are being terminated in the most disgusting manner imaginable.At this moment three workers from the Room Service Department are on suspension pending dismissal for carrying out the instructions of General Manager George.
    It is alleged that General Manager George telephone a captain in Room Service and instructed that individual to inquire on credit card information of a guest.The worker did as instructed.The guest made a complaint and as consequence the worker as well as another worker were suspended.The other worker was suspended because it was alleged that General Manager George made another call inquiring if his instructions were indeed carried out and during the investigations this worker indicated that he did received a call from George.Subsequently, the number the calls were made from was traced back to General Manager George.George is now claiming that he did not made those calls.
    General Manager George is now on the warpath and casual & part-time workers at Hilton Barbados have now being laid off pending termination even though the hotel is very busy at this moment.Many of those casual & part-time workers are employed for periods of 5 years and over.
    On another note the hotel is in disgusting state especially the Lighthouse Restaurant where the bird droppings are all over the restaurant from the rails to the chairs and tables.George had stopped the cleaning firm from cleaning the hotel.He terminated that contract and that has resulted in a stinking Lighthouse Restaurant.
    Prime Minister Freundel Stuart,Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy,The Board of Directors of Hilton Barbados,The Unions and other interest groups ought to pay close attention to the developments at Hilton Barbados.
    The management practices of General Manager George & Director of Operations Sherene need to be investigated also.Another Barbados Light & Power incident is possible at Hilton Barbados

10. Apparently, the Employee Rights Tribunal has ruled in favour of the retrenched former NCC employees.

Since the ERT found that the NCC could not prove it adhered to the “last in, first out” protocol, how would this ruling affect those employees who were recruited from Denis Lowe’s constituency prior to the 2013 general elections, and remained employed after the retrenchment process?

Perhaps NCC’s GM Neblett and Minister Lowe should do the “honourable thing” and resign.

11. What self image can a people have for themselves when even every little shiite that they still own is managed and controlled by strangers with strange ways?
    How can a Prime Minister and government be able to show their faces in public – when a place like Light and Power comes to be known for white people kicking black workers? ..when Bajans – with 50 years of free education, are like plantation workers of old – being laid off (and laid) JUST like the days of slavery at the Hilton…?

…and then we have CTO shiites talking jobby about shiite statistics …while themselves INCAPABLE of actually MANAGING one damn thing successfully….

Imagine we need George from Argentina; Sherene from Grenada; Pradeep from India; Macdonald from Canada; Babram from Trickidad …… to run things in Barbados…. and then some billy talking shiite …as though he is capable of making ANY damn difference to any shiite….

STEUPSSSS!!!

12. @ Artax
    Perhaps NCC’s GM Neblett and Minister Lowe should do the “honourable thing” and resign.
    LOOK!! …don’t make Bushie blue vex now yuh!
    The whacker get tek way … but Bushie still gotta old collins…

What do what honourable thing what??!!
    The ‘honourable’ thing bout here is to go on TV and talk a roll of shiite – using “shitestistics” to show how things ‘are not that bad after all’ …and that the scum should be able to keep their jobs…

Neblett’s ass should have been fired when Maloney showed that two damn men with a few simple pieces of equipment could keep the grass on thewhole highway clean…
    …instead he still bout the place making shiite excuses for his incompetence…while the poor workers who simply did as they were told …get sent home….

…don’t even talk about the minister… who should be in Colonel Nurse’s care as we speak…

13. A day does not go by that the blp is not asking for govt members to resign .nothing of the such will happen. However when it comes to resignations they should reflect among themselves and see which high ranking member of the party to be first in and last out to give their resignation papers
    A blight and pox on the blp parties reputation which would be forever recorded in the history books.

14. Bush Tea July 15, 2016 at 12:11 PM #

“Neblett’s ass should have been fired when Maloney showed that two damn men with a few simple pieces of equipment could keep the grass on the whole highway clean……instead he still bout the place making shiite excuses for his incompetence…while the poor workers who simply did as they were told …get sent home….”

@ Bushie

Man, Bushie, you right, yuh.

The ERT has ruled in favour of 97 former NCC employees, stating they were UNFAIRLY DISMISSED. In other words, the NCC did not adhere to the “last in, first” out protocal.

As a result, the NCC/government will now have to pay those former employees substantial sums of money in LIEU of REINSTATEMENT, INCLUDING 52 weeks pay.

Denis Lowe and Keith Neblett should be tendering their resignations TODAY, especially taking into consideration that Lowe’s “LAST IN” CONSTITUENTS (who should have been “FIRST OUT”) REMAIN EMPLOYED.

Surely these development are embarrassing to this DLP administration. But then again, the DEMS have proven time and time again they “ain’t got nuh shame.”

And some shiite ugly ass yard-fowl writing ‘bout one “DEMS now, DEMS again……. wuh de shiite??!!?

15. As so was the same with Maria Agard who unlike the retrenched workers was not even given a fair chance of representation. However the blp would now pretend to be guardians of all where wasMia voice when the door was slammed shut in Agard face not allowing her a place at the table to be represented

16. I always say there are not ANY philosophical or other DIFFERENCES between the BLP and the DLP. Whatever happens in the BLP, one can REFER to a CORRESPONDING situation that OCCURRED in the DLP, vice versa.

We all know about the situation between the BLP’s former CHRIST CHURCH WEST candidate, Maria Agard.

However, Uglicia’s continual reference to Agard will not prevent us from FORGETTING the DLP’s former CHRIST CHURCH WEST candidate and member of the party for over 30 years, TAAN ABED, who was SIMILARLY unfairly treated by his DLP colleagues. But in this case, Abed was forced to “jump ship” before he was expelled.

I’m sure you must remember that, in August 2011 during a General Council meeting at the party’s George Street headquarters, the DLP OPTED to NOMINATE Verla DePeiza OVER Abed to contest the Christ Church West seat for the DEMS in the 2013 general elections, even though he SOUNDLY BEAT her by 86 votes to 5 in the BRANCH’S NOMINATION BALLOT on May 29, 2011.

“But in a letter addressed to DLP’s general secretary George Pilgrim, the Christ Church West BRANCH has REQUESTED the PARTY to RECONSIDER its DECISION. In the letter, the branch’s secretary, Andrew Cave, said, “With all respect to you and the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) in my humble opinion married with facts and figures, I BELIEVE WE AS A PARTY HAVE MADE A GREAT MISTAKE BY CHOOSING Verla DePeiza rather than Taan Abed as the Christ Church West DLP candidate to contest the next national poll.” [Nation News, September 15, 2011].

Abed subsequently brought his CASE to the ATTENTION of Prime Minister Freundel Stuart and NO ATTEMPT was MADE to ADDRESS the ISSUE.
    Similarly, “as so was the same with (Taan Abed) who unlike the retrenched workers WAS NOT EVEN GIVEN A FAIR CHANCE OF REPRESENTATION.”

“He also complained that “several of the current Cabinet ministers and DLP used to visit my home on a regular basis” but that they no longer visited.”

He also voiced concern over comments made by some senior members of the DLP following the overturn of his nomination.
    “A member of Cabinet told me to my face, I am a Hitler. HE ALSO SAID THERE IS NO ROOM FOR A WHITE MAN LIKE ME IN THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY. This was said to me even though I have lived in Barbados for the past 35 years and my three children were born and educated here [and] are now productive members of the society.” [Barbados Today, February 6, 2016].

This is how the DLP treated a 30 year member who also gave the party financial support.

At least Agard was expelled by a process…….. the same cannot be said about Abed, who was stabbed in the back by the DLP.

So, what lessons can we learn from “The Tale of Two Former Christ Church West Candidates?”

Uglicia AC, go and come again.

17. Recall Abed subsequently brought his CASE to the ATTENTION of Prime Minister Freundel Stuart and NO ATTEMPT was MADE to ADDRESS the ISSUE.

“However the DLP would now pretend to be guardians of all where was Fruendel’s voice when the door was slammed shut in Abeds’ face not allowing him a place at the table to be represented?”

AC, you are a very poor representative of the DLP.

But a party is reflective of its members, and as such with people like Reggie Hunte, “Jester” Ince, Mara, Irene, Maxine, Esther, Lil Caesar, Carson C. Cadogan, Kellman, Michael Lashley, Carrington, Stuart, Blackett, Todd and Denis Lowe in the DLP, wuh I cant expect nuttun different from you.

Shiite, yuh mean you gine leh me t’rough summuchie lashes in you all de time?

18. What process ..process by a dictatorship alliance and proceeding which gave Agard cause to head to court
    Say what the blp like about last in first out or vice versa. The retrenched workers were given their workers right to appeal and heard before a comittee whivh was satisfied that the workers had a right to be heard
    The only voice which was heard in the AGARD saga was that if despot Mia and her minions who mads it clear to Agard that she had not a right under the rules and guidlines of the party for her voice to be heard which as OSA said was a contradiction to the ethical rules and guidlines which were principled in the foundations of the blp

19. It will be interesting to observe the political spiel from Lowe, near in mind Neblett is a functionary.

20. You spend too much time “minding the BLP business,” while Mia Mottley remains living rent free in your head.

Unlike the Abed issue, the Agard issue has been given a lot of publicity and we all are aware of what happened. We want to know about ABED!!!!!

Why worry about “contradiction to the ethical rules and guidlines which were principled in the foundations of the BLP,” when SIMILAR shiite is presently occurring in the DLP?

In Abed’s case there are blatant similarities of DICTATORSHIP and DESPOTISM, evidenced by the DLP’s general council opting for Verla DePeiza ahead of Abed, when he won the nomination 86 votes to her 5 and Freundel Stuart not address Abed’s case.

Rather than bothering yourself with Agard, you need to EXPLAIN the Abed situation. Failing to do so will result in the lost of the 0.99% integrity you have left in this forum.

Note, despite you calling her a “dictator” and “despot”, in February 2016, Abed pledged allegiance to Mottley and “has shifted his support to the Opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP) and its leader in the next general election.”

21. Never mind who i represent suffice it to say ac have two wins in the past seven years 2-0 under Mottley and OSA
    If you dont think them victories not enough lashes for you and the blp then do not know what u are drinking.

22. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Lawson
    Assuming prices went up, ALL visitors except the Americans managed to spend LESS per day, but stayed longer, this increased the overall spend. Confirms what the currency markets tells us, with the $USA strength vs others, esp since Bim is pegged to the $USA. Also confirms despite inflation, the pressure for lower prices vs competitive tourist markets.

23. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Artaxerxes

I too was concerned about the faint wail, once battle cry of Demselves Now Demselves again”

But what concerned me more was the use of de ole man meme “not one effing seat”

Dat hurt me dat really hurt de ole man.

Next ting you know dem gine be using me posters to incite riots!!!

Now here is a BBC headline that should add some interest perspective to the mix

Lowcost Holidays demise blamed on Brexit vote.

See http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-36810558

Holiday booking company Lowcost Travelgroup has gone into administration, as uncertainty ahead of the EU referendum and the fall in the pound were blamed for its demise.
    The group has 27,000 holiday makers in resorts and 110,000 more with bookings.
    Administrators said Lowcost Travelgroup ceased trading on 15 July, with the loss of 120 jobs in the UK.

Smith & Williamson and CMB Partners were appointed administrators after the firm’s own rescue attempts failed.

Those “exhaustive” attempts had been “hampered by the recent and ongoing turbulent financial environment”.