Submitted By Freedom Crier

clip_image002One of the mantras of Leftist Socialism is “Never let a Crisis go to waste”, even made up ones! Such are used in the Bait and Switch and Smoke and Mirror tactics that distract the populace from the real crisis’s at hand and which undermine the fabric of Societies. Let’s be clear, this critique is Anti-Tyranny not Anti-Government!

• In Barbados, instead of the Government focusing on high unemployment and other problems, what we see is the economy is on its last leg.
  • Education in crisis, (I am not talking about the tertiary kind)
  • Road repair neglect, every ride is now is a bumpy ride.
  • Loses at CBC running at $70,000,000.00 PER YEAR
  • Loses at the Transport Board: Yet the mini buses are making money with smaller sizes, more employees on the mini buses & regulations up to the hilt.
  • No water: will not fix the underground leaks but they are now planning to buy desalination plants. Facilitation fees? Has anyone tasted or smelled the water coming from the plant on Spring Garden?
  • Irregular garbage pickup. Need to buy more trucks but can’t fix the ones they have. More facilitation fees?
  • Fiasco of Cahill. Should we look forward to the next boa dangle that will be hung around our necks? You must realize by now that we the people of Barbados pay, while the government never pays, they just collect.
  • Mark Maloney who is a “get up and go” Entrepreneur and Builder of Barbados is being targeted by the Tear down Government. They instead should be the Build it up Government of Barbados! This whole issue has a scent to it, particularly in the showmanship exhibited by those representing Town and Country Planning.
  • Do you know how many small people have lost their business because they have been denied permission to expand or have a business at the side of their house?

Do you know that everyone who owns a house is in contravention of the Town & Country Planning Department? Do you have permission for the colour of the paint on your house? Yes, they control that too and many other laws & regulations that you do not know about. Watch out, they are coming for you if you cross them.

• Why are Barbadians paying more in Taxes for Vehicles than our Caribbean neighbours who do not even pay their yearly vehicle registration licence fee?
  • What about the Government control of the Sugar Industry. When Tate & Lyle managed the production, the Government saw they were prosperous, thought they could make that money by doing it better and took it over (at the end of the first contract). What happened? Surprise, surprise. Lower sugar production, loss of income, lands going out of production, fertile land overrun with bush and rats, very poor management, inputs irregularly received or not at all and Bajans paying more for Local sugar than imported sugar (after the government takes their cut from the imported sugar). Not to forget that Socialists love spending other people’s money e.g. like wanting to build a State of the Art Sugar Cane Factory in spite of what was mentioned above and not enough canes grown to feed the mills. Once again facilitation fees??? Do not to forget the planned expansion at the Airport at a cost of 1.5 Billion Dollars. How many planes are going to land in Barbados and at what price to land? Would it be cheaper to go to Granada? While on that subject, what about the problems at the Port with not enough Cruise Ship Berths restricting more Cruise Line Business? Why not Build more Berths in Carlisle Bay? Also reduce those exorbitant port charges and sky high port worker wages not in line with any other workers in Barbados. No wonder we have to pay through our noses for everything and the cost of living grows ever higher!

clip_image004The cost of imported fruit and vegetables is high because of the myriad number of middle men they go through before they reach the consumer. The Question is who is profiting? If the goal of the BADMC is for more vegetable production why can’t they set up a response team with the amount of people they have employed to respond to calls to protect farmers from larceny? People in Barbados are limited as to their intake of fruit and vegetables because of the High cost of not only imported items but local as well. Imagine a yam sells for $11 plus in the supermarket and Sweet potatoes are now Sour potatoes selling for four times the price of English potatoes which come from all over the world. Sweet potatoes are one of the most nutritious vegetables, but as the number of farmers decreases each year as they age (the average age of farmers in Barbados exceeds 55 years of age and not much interest being shown in agriculture by young people – maybe as a result of continuing stigmatization by the so called historians on the hill in the West – Lux non ex oriens occidente, now the people are paying the price in failed health, with Barbados leading the pack in the Caribbean in many non communicable diseases including Diabetes, Hypertension and Cancer. Agriculture in Barbados revolves around sugarcane production and once this declines steadily it has direct negative effect on all other food crops including sweet potatoes, yams and vegetables. Let us not forget the scandalous importation of many of these crops when large quantities are available locally i.e. like with onions at present and pumpkins a few months ago. Who grants these licenses to import these commodities? Could it be another example of the increasing number of facilitation fees? And we are told that there is little or no corruption in Barbados. Hah!

• Who do you think is responsible for the slow process of the Judicial System? The Government will not appoint more Judges, and the few they have are overburdened in their clerical duties. In an educated society why is there a lack of Stenographers in the Supreme Court resulting in Judges having to write every word instead of it being recorded by competent Stenographers and also by video. Everything is reduced to an antiquated snail crawl with all Civil Cases taking very long to be heard and yet the Banks are given fast access to judgments against citizens? Could it be also that the lawyers favour only cases where they know they can make a lot in legal fees etc.? The rest of the cases simply then pile up and clog the system. Who pays the price in a system when Judges retire without giving judgments and cases remain in endless limbo. This is beyond shameful and a farce of what True Justice represents. The Attorney General has a job, to right the wrongs otherwise corruption abounds.
  • What about our Gun laws where good citizens cannot get a license to own a fire arm but criminals have easy access to guns. Even the Police Commissioner implicated the Customs Department for letting in guns. Facilitation fees? The Good people cower while the Bandits make out well, like Bandits.
  • The Private Schools are winning. All the good scores are going to the private schools – so what does that say about the low standard of public education and our future “productive” citizens? And why raise Taxes on Soft Drinks as an excuse to hike taxes and prices rather than educate the masses of the health risk involved? Force is faster than education?

Rules, Rules and More Rules = Tyranny! “The grater the number of Laws and Enactments, the more Thieves and Robbers there will be”. Lao Tuz.

And I might add “those who enact More and More Rules and Regulations on the people, their aim is to exert more Power and Control over them, bringing about Bondage and Enslavement! I thought we got over slavery but maybe I was wrong.

• The Newspapers are under so many regulations that they cannot be critical of Government because of the liable and slander laws that have been placed on the books. Hence the watch dogs of society have become muzzled. They are reduced to advertising, “pieces of paper” that pass now for comment by the editors.

The reason socialism HASN’T worked in the past, and DOESN’T work now, is because it CAN’T work. -> https://goo.gl/2j900I

The Government’s debt repayments are over 2/3 of its revenue. If Government can be run on 1/3 of revenues why do Politicians’ insist on borrowing more than is required? One of the problems is the grandiose plans that are exposed by Governments as mentioned previously and the spending of our hard earned dollars to ensure votes to keep them in power.

• Then they are the rampant rumors of “paid for access to higher up government officials” and people being refused because they are unwilling to pay “permission money”. Who employs whom? Are the elected officials our Masters or are they Public Servants employed by the people? Do they serve or do they lord over us? Or at election time they serve and after elections they lord? Barbadians have very short memories and politicians even shorter. But as they say when yuh mek yuh bed yuh got tuh lie down in um. WE put them there. Do we accept the consequences?

clip_image010clip_image008clip_image006

30 responses to “Is Barbados In Jeopardy?”

1. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

Is Barbados In Jeopardy? YES , from as far back as 1964 , Remember they are looking for us to die about 72 years old , When you live past that and they have plans for your companies. …they get very mad when you dont die,, Now to live 21 years past that really made them mad,
    SO if you are near 72 get your things in Order,
    The DBLP are waiting for you to die , and to rob your Heirs,

Your list needs to be a lot longer, but We are glad to see people are waking up, We will know when the bell rings for the next elections, We will see who Vote for the Party crooks,

2. Lawrence James Bauer Avatar
    Lawrence James Bauer

Q: What is the definition of a Socialist?

A: A philanthropist with other people’s money.

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

In jeopardy only because of it’s weakest link….politicians and government ministers.

4. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

All philanthropists spend other people “s money. The rich get rich by mis- appropriating more of the revenues from sales than they give to management and labour.

5. Here we go again! I’m struggling to figure out how the “writer” gets from point A to point B here. How exactly is all this connected to Capitalism vs. Socialism? Methinks the “freedom crier” here is “unaware” that too far east will always be west. Democratic socialism is not the problem. Unrestrained capitalism is not the answer. People will always need to be restrained by a system of checks and balances. In every system this will be so. Each system will only be as good as its checks and balances.

6. “Each system will only be good as its checks and balances”Ne’er a truer word Donna.Even the oft quoted EWB made the point in reference to the NJM of Grenada,when he observed that the ballot is not the only way to make changes in governance.

7. The cost of a Barbados vacation just increased by 8% for the Brits.
    Canada wants to scrap the double taxation treaty.
    Yes. Barbados in in jeopardy.

8. is

9. @ Old Baje
    Is ‘jeopardy’ the same thing as “duck’s guts”?

Bushie is thinking that it is a little worse than ‘jeopardy’ – which is a RISK of danger…. and more like Duck’s Guts – which is located up ‘Shit Street’.

10. Point taken, Bushie.

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol..

12. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WW
    YOU VERY LATE TODAY
    I HERE SAYING WW HUSBAND GOT SHE IN THE KITCHEN BAKING OR SOMETHING SO MURDAH

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

No GP…had to make a morning run. I really don’t like going out these days unless I am forced to, so it’s one if those days.

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol….check out your buddy Alvin going crazy on the George Brathwaite link GP.

15. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Well Well & Consequences June 24, 2016 at 12:01 PM #
    No GP…

i am so very disapointed MURDAH

16. Lawrence James Bauer Avatar
    Lawrence James Bauer

Microsoft says that it (alone) has 300,000 different apps for I-phones available in its online store.

How many of these were written in Barbados?

17. @ Donna June

This article and its “reasoning(s) smack(s) of the Sand Nigger styling, promoting one segment of the society, like Baloney and decrying the Chief Town Planner etc.

It is a good practice to see patterns and metres and didactics

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/GeIq301CqDb

Important things Caribbean people don’t know.

I doubt that there are 2 leaders who know about this, if they did they would never entertain the Bizzys, Maloneys and Bjerkhams, then again, greed is a powerful motive to sell out when they are never satisfied with their salaries.

19. interesting article – Barbadians are a resilient bunch and they can smell the Peter Wickham / Mia Mottley Bait and Switch strategy at work. Mottley is leading a series of PR appearances .You will not hear one specific recommendation coming from this piss poor opposition but the strategy is to criticize criticize criticize.

This opposition is not serious about solutions , they are interested in saying what they believe people want to hear. The Bajan public is a lot more sophisticated and intelligent than the demon recognizes.

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Thanks for the down vote. …that will ensure people take a look at the article and educate themselves. The whole Caribbean, made of majority blacks should should this information…particulsrly at this juncture.

This is not far from happening again…if it’s allowed in the Caribbean. Your politicians are weak, but most of the people are not and are in the majority.

21. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The whole Caribbean, made up of majority blacks should share this information…particularly at this juncture….let your children and grandchildren have this information. It was buried for a very devious and savage reason.

The savagery is still there.

22. Breaking news in Canada. “Royal Bank sparks backlash with fee hikes in the Caribbean
    Customers line up to close their accounts after RBC introduces new banking charges

http://www.cbc.ca/news/business/royal-bank-fees-caribbean-1.3649790

23. @Hants

This is ‘old’ news that has been making its way around the Caribbean for weeks now. Barbadians can learn a thing or two from the EC islands.

Anytime banks take it upon themselves to overcharge you for using your own money which they themselves make millions per month using your money….close your accounts, it’s your money.

25. Talk about spinning top in mud. Many years before we gained independence,many of the mainstream Broad Street banks had no desire to deal with the low waged people of Barbados, who were seen more of a nuisance, than that of a client.
    The Government Savings Bank was established, to give the low waged Barbadians an opportunity to save some money. The GSB became a success story, and morphed into the Barbados National Bank, which our government sold to Trinidad for pocket money.
    Today Barbadians have millions upon millions of dollars in deposits in the Bridgetown Banks, including the former BNB, now rebranded RBTT, and these same Bridgetown banks, with the blessing of the Central Bank of Barbados is treating Bajans in a similar fashion , by committing their deposit funds to ‘Slave Labour” , where It is working for a pittance , while making its modern day Massa rich from its usage.
    http://i.imgur.com/yfrvfmH.jpg

26. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@Colonel Buggy

this is something else to celebrate in our 5oth year of Independence!
    you can call it advancing backwards or back pedaling

thanks for giving the real origin of the savings bank and BNB

I HAD ONE OF THE FIRST CREDIT CARDS THEY ISSUED IN 1994
    SINCE THE TRINIDADIANS TOOK OVER THEY HAVE NEVER SENT ME A CARD
    SAME THINK WITH THE BANK THAT WAS INITIALLY MUTUAL BANK

27. Colonel Buggy Avatar

But lets fact it. There is a some element of truth ,according to the present rumor , that people in Barbados are dropping dead from lead. However the lead is not coming from the BWA’s water, but from a Glock ,Smith & Weston or a Browning 9 mill pistol.

28. Some people coming to the Caribbean look at the Crime Statistics of the various Islands. They are murder figures in one Island for 2017 reaching 1,616. They see another Island recording 494 in 2017 and already 38 in 2018, or about one murder a day. They see other islands struggling with figures of 195, 98, 67, 58, 36 and then they look at Barbados with not only the lowest number of murders but also the highest rate of solving crime and not discriminating when they arrest and imprison drug runners and users. They come to Barbados which last year recorded its highest tourist arrival figures for both cruise ship and stay over visitors. Just making an observation.