Rico Wazir Reid shot in the head last week Wednesday.

The horrific shooting incident that saw 50 human beings killed and 53 injured at a night club in Orlando, Florida earlier today serves to confirm the frailties of humankind. Human beings everywhere must feel a sense of disgust at the wanton and senseless act of ‘mano a mano’ violence which seems to be sweeping the globe. Many are quick to explain that we have always had to live with violence going back to the Crusades of the 11th century. The struggle will continue until…

In recent weeks and months Barbados has experienced an several reports of gun related and violent crime. Fortunately we have not had the experience of multiple killings to compare with Paris, Orlando, Ohio and other places across the globe, however, there is sufficient evidence of the changing local crime landscape to be very concerned.

There was a time not too long ago on the island of Barbados a murder evoked a public conversation not just because it was a tragic act but infrequent as well. The tranquil and pristine nature of our neighbourhoods have become threatened as a result of lifestyle changes we have embraced influenced by the global village we have embraced. Barbados WAS the model tiny Black country others use to benchmark against, a country built on the tenets of law and order enabled by superior leadership in all facets of our tiny society. It seems to the BU household the characteristics which made us great we have willingly relinquished and are now being washed along in a stream or moral relativism.

Many of us have heard the saying when the US catches a cold the rest of the world, especially in the Caribbean, we sneeze. This saying although located to matters of economic performance the extrapolation can extend to the non economic. Given what is unravelling in the USA, Europe and other corners across the globe it portends the worst is yet to come.

There is another concern for Barbadians given the escalation in gun violence many attribute to drug trade, gang violence and a general break down in law and order. Reports coming out of Trinidad and Tobago where gun crime is out of control  indicate Venezuelan soldiers are selling high powered weapons for food. The soldiers are very poorly paid and have succumbed to the temptation of reporting their weapons ‘lost’.

The time has passed for long talk and to be prolix. It is time for our leaders to act. It is time for the denizens to act. We have high unemployment among our youth and the devil as they say will find work for idle hands. An interview with youngsters on the block last week in response to shootings was eerily insightful. Enough is not being done to win the hearts and minds of our idle youth population. In a small society it takes a only a few disengaged youthful souls to disrupt the quality of life we want for our children.

We hope the Barbados Coast Guard and Marine Wing of RBPF have taken notice of the food for gun trade between Venezuelan fishermen/soldiers and Trinidadian and Tobago fishermen. We do not need another conduit for high powered guns being dumped into Barbados. While this is unfolding we are told to expect 700 Chinese workers to enter for the Sam Lords Castle project.

How do we get our boys off the blocks to be constructively engaged?

89 responses to “Guns Everywhere”

1. @ Acting Commissioner of Police Tyronne Griffith

With all due respect sir, (Mia tell me to respect the positions of authorities and the institutions of law in the lands) if wunna was to get off wunna donkeys (I said donkeys not as*es) and have a police officer walking through the community all ovah Barbados, or pun Horseback, more regularly, you doan tink dat dis ingrunce would stop?

You doan feel dat community policing, like was used tuh happpen years ago in Bulbados, would cause de public to be reassured about wunna presence?

Why de under day I was driving through Sandy Lane and I see dat it does still happen down dey among de white rich people, every single morning.

Oh and by the way, since wunna is looking fuh drug dealers and criminals and guns, could you inform the general public what happen with the Remington 30.07s dat de whlte collar, sorry in wunna case it is de black collar criminals in the Office of the Commissioner of Police, teif way and cant be found??

Wunna really is de laughing stock of the caribbean doah.

Looka you doah.

“THE POLICE HIGH COMMAND will be going into Brittons Hill this week as the top cop attributes a rash of gunplay last week to rival gangs in the St Michael district”

This should not be something that you are hiding to do as in ““I spoke to him on Friday and so he is putting together the team to do that sometime during the week” Griffith said.”

This should be the customary activity of our Men in Blue, constant patrolling, instead of wunna being out there driving out the gas in the Suzuki’s or reporting people at Lancaster Gully for speeding with every one of the lawbreakers doing exactly 94.7 km/h.

Needless to say the ingrunt reporter she was quick to add that you did not say which day.

“Dear Criminals, On tuesday this week we plan to pass by you at 11 p.m. so hide all guns drugs and paraphernalia” Signed Heather Lynn Evanson Nation reporter and Ignoramus.

I wonder if i cud find a picture of her online?

2. In a small country like Barbados one would have assumed community policing should be an every day strategy. It is about growing relationships and trust. The success of the police force to be able to effectively fight crime is correlated to the relationship with the public it is sworn to protect and serve.

3. I assume all these Chinese coming in to work on the Castle project are all fingerprinted.

4. But looka dis fella Gabriel doah!!

Looka how who has the name of the Arch Angel of the Lord, dont seek to cause ruption.

I can absolutely guarantee you that, as a condition of the bilateral aid programme that, while implicit with such intra governmental collaboration, NO SUCH PROVISION OR PROCEDURE WILL BE DEMANDED.

Them Chinese is above the law and while me and you gots to get a Police Certificate of Character to effect what is going to be a de facto emigration for years for these 700 menses, THAT HAS NOT COME ON SCOPE FOR THE MINISTRY OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS.

Lets say that I want to emigrate to Murica or Englant. I gots to get a Police Certificate of Character and when I carry it into de Commission/Embassy dem fellahs does verify the document, even though I good at falsifying documents through their on the ground access agents.

Dat is how de US Embassy find out dat de Remington 30.07s ent gone tuh the designated recipient that the Office of the Commissioner of Police lie and say so bout.

Look dis is about “Equity in Sovereignty”

When Diplomatic Staff get post to a Cuntry the courtesy among equitable partners e.g. Russia and the U.K is that we are going to post our spies in your jurisdiction and you will post yours
    in ours. That is equity.

When the Chinese post their military, their spies and their criminals, the GoB is not an equitable nation, we are beggars, in fact we are talking monkeys who, in keeping with that Primus inter Pares ape that leads us now, WILL NOT INSIST ON ANYTHING.

In fact, as long as Maxime McClean get a trip to China, to buy some chinese clothing, every ting good.

No sir, Fumbles is not going to insists on (i) files for all the parties who are emigrating here prior to them arising and (ii) certainly no fingerprinting.

Plussing you dun know that the same way all uh we niggers look alike, every Chinese look alike so when I transpose Wong Oing hai fingerprint, who is de Chief Immigration Office tuh say dat it ent he?

5. Still saying NO!to finger printing .one day the chickens will come home to roost..just saying!

6. The videos posted by Ping Pong last night are depressing. I love lewdness as much as the next man but these offering have no artistic value in my humble opinion.

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Chickens roosting already AC…check the auditor general’s report, check Mark Maloney, yall better fingerprint him real quick.

8. Let me just say the garden calypso is nothing more than a foolish copy of one Kitchener did many moons ago. At least it had some of the old time double entendre.

On the AG’s so-called comfort of citizens. I find it shameful that instead of doing what is necessary in Barbados to clean up the crime, our government finds it necessary to compare us to Trinidad, claiming we can be happy we not as bad, as if that is to give us hope for the future.

The rest of the videos, and the remarks, have brought streams of tears, filled with shame and fear for our future. Almost feel like there is no hope whatsoever. The feeling is so profound, I have nothing, and I mean nothing more to say except shame, shame, shame as I take to my bed with the vapours.

9. The police work diligently to arrest reckless youth with guns and put them behind bars. Different crime fighting tactics are needed to add to what the police are doing. Former COP Dottin carried out regular raids on blocks where gunmen spend their days. Resume the raids. When the block goes underground intelligence helps find them , continue the raids. Raids by law enforcement keep gunmen off balance denies them room to plan shootings and crime. Resume road blocks. Charge motorists and motorcyclists breaking the law. Businessmen who import product, chicken wings for example without the knowledge of customs can similarly bring in weapons. Raid them. Fishing boats are vulnerable to smuggling, target them. Customs have to work closely with police. Take down corrupt customs officers . In the recent past security guards at the Port were arrested for criminal activity.

10. In and Out June 13, 2016 at 11:25 AM #

“Businessmen who import product, chicken wings for example without the knowledge of customs can similarly bring in weapons. Raid them.”

Good observation In and Out. Anyone know who imported the chicken wings?

11. I don’t really get the gist of the Chinese fingerprinting. What do we need to know bout dem that de fingerprint gine offer? If a fellow got a record because he was one of dem religious gas-killers of years ago in China which database are we going to match the prints against to know that. The one in China? They gine bring a fellow like dat and den tell we too?

No effing benefit of fprinting besides a good talking point, peeps.

The Chinese coming to do a project. When dem done they gone. Any who hide-bout and stay will be easy to find among the 50 Chinese who now live in Bim.

Not to mention dem other family life in China gine get catspraddled by de party officials.

Even from the top of the Central Bank building I not seeing how this should cause conniption. Well other than de contraptions dem that the Chinese gin hide way in be top suites to snoop pon de business big shots who come pon holiday or business to de island.

Wanna think did sorta thing easy nah, well come again. That is de sorta worry from dese descendants of dat mongol ruler Genghis Khan.

When the chinks gone dat is when we peeps will get job opportunity and hopefully also get more of Genghis’ hordes as Chinese tourists. Now dem we definitely want to match in dat US fprint database. Just to be careful. hehehe.

12. Guns everywhere, Liars everywhere, Thieves everywhere, Frauds everywhere and Crisis Actors working for the US gov’t everywhere to take away people’s guns which they will need to kill the Jackboots after they crash the economy. Americans keep your guns for the real terrorists are your government. They are behind all these shootings.

https://youtu.be/z0thCKVuWts

13. If anybody should still be doubtful that Obama is a stinking BULLER, bear with us as you see the decisive differences when his initial comments about the Florida incident are compared to the South Carolina incident.

One was a brutal murder, an act of terror, hate. An attack on all of us. Great clarity. And rightly so.

The other he relies on Biden and seeks to mollify Blacks. He is clear about Florida but much less clear about South Carolina.

14. He does not even mention that Pinkney was an elected official, a member of state government.

15. Georgie Porgie Avatar

YOU ARE VERY OBSERVANT PACHA

16. I have said before and will say again the AG should resign. We are not interested in what the crime statistics are in Trinidad. What a lame duck lament for an escalating crime situations.

All persons on getting elected should be given a bush bath to protect them from losing their common sense and integrity.

17. Why has mainstream media allowed the AG to get off so easy. It seems no journalist in BArbados has any balls either small or big to ask the hard pressing questions irrespective of consequences.

Perhaps, Bajans were born to act zombie sheeple and to betray those bold enough to fight for justice.

18. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces introduced us (me anyhow) to the phrase “I’ll be your Huckleberry” and sometimes when I post to respond to some bloggers I almost feel like that counter-weight to an outlaw position. But frankly that is not the case as all gunslingers are welcome on this wild west site.

So my colt-45 shooting back at de gunslinger @Pacha.

When some bad-boys comes into town it’s impossible for his aura not to come with him…in short he will be a bad-boy in every saloon regardless of circumstance because that his is position in life. My bad-boy aura has a very different position. Take the saloon as it is and try to shoot straight and true based on de prevailing circumstances.

President Obama delivered a personally tinged report on Charleston. Very personal on many levels. He knew Rep Pinkney personally. This was a deliberate racial issue with direct echos of one of the worst racist tragedies in US history – from which he deliberately quoted. He spoke briefly but glowingly of the racial history of that church. He invoked Dr. King to say we must engage peace this is not a time for bloodshed.

He frankly could have ignited a power keg of rhetoric and physical violence akin to LA riots or worst if he displayed the searing anger that surely coursed through his body and soul.

Do we recall the climate of the time with all those police vrs Black matters.

Yet this gunslinger comes out shooting wildly that the man is a Bajan ‘epithet’ of the male bovine group and was not ‘clear’ about the tragedy.

On the other hand details on the Orlando attacker were clear based on his calls to police. There was no doubt about who he was or what were his intentions. And Obama certainly did not have the explosive circumstances like Charleston to navigate…other than the rhetoric of an election campaign. Thus he was brief but incisive and pellucid.

So what is clear from my fellow gunslinger is that he obviously can pull his gun and shoot pretty but if he had to govern the town and thus use his weapon judiciously to control and guide the townsfolk out of danger that he would be an absolute failure.

Lots of people can prosecute a war but it takes a real man (or woman) to negotiate and manage the peace.

19. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

20. https://www.facebook.com/BarbadosToday/videos/10153835056823191/Barbados Today

3 hrs ·

As the island continues to grapple with rising gun violence, Supervisor at the Government Industrial School and political hopeful John King has been lamenting the high number of illegal guns in the hands of some young people.

He says the situation is worrying and charges that the proliferation of guns in Barbados and the rest of region is not by accident.

21. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And he is right…it’s all being done by design, the only people being killed are blacks killing each other. There are no coincidences and the guns are not being imported by poor people….it takes money, planning and contacts to successfully run guns through so many islands.

22. As long as the “boys on the block” and the fellas in the ghettos keep killing each other, nothing will be done to stop gun crime in Barbados.

It does not matter what happens in Trinidad,Toronto,Jamaica or Montreal.

Barbados is small enough an Island to at least reduce the flow of guns and drugs into the Island.

I suspect that they are a bunch of untouchables running guns and drugs in Barbados.

23. Probably the only person, technically, in the Police Force who have had hands on experience in dealing with the apprehension and curtailment of illegal firearms , in a situation with an organisation far more lethal and brutal than these so called soljers gangsters, now involved in shooting up the community, has been sent of long ,lonnnnnnnnnnnnng, leave.

24. ‘White’ people in Barbados have had guns for centuries to protect their ‘property’ and this social dynamic has never been an issue.

No criminality has been associated with them having guns, in those times, any times.

Still today, White people and Blacks thought to be honorary Whites, could have guns and there has never been any real challenge to this status quo. It is the creation of super citizens. Private citizens who have a license to take the law into their hands and kill people, sometimes on a whim.

They see so-called illegal guns as a challenge to their monopoly on violence.

We remember well, a man who used to own a restaurant in Belleville, can’t remember his name presently, shot a young man one day for stealing some limes.

Ours is not to justify taking anyone’s belongings. But Jesus Christ, killing a man for a few limes, man.

If this writer, as a, youngster, were shot for stealing a few mangoes here or some achees there, and more,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, we would have been dead 1000 times.

But then again, after the first few reincarnations the ignorant Bajans with guns would have recognized that Pachamama is God and would so worship. LOL

We should get the rid of all guns for everybody including the military and the police as part of a wider agenda for peace. Barbados as a zone of internal peace. And that is what our tourism product should be informed by. Not the BS marketing trite as promoted by the Tourist ‘Board’ for ages.

Pay people to turn in, if necessary!

25. @ Pachamama

You remember wrong

John the Lime Stealer was s dope addict and was a very aggressive dope addict and he threatened the owner of the Hideaway? and the owner was right to use “deadly force” against John the aggressor

Some of us remember we “in times aforetime”

That is the thing about Remembrance, like Nassar and others, when enough of the old people have died out the younger people rather those still alive remember whatever the shythe they want to.

26. @ Piece

Your remembering may very well be correct. And we bow to that, humbly.

We remember being so repulsed by the incident that that place ceased to be a meeting place for us.

You however don’t seem to remember an investigation and circumstances, to which we were really never well informed, still appear murky.

One question though. If this person was aggressive and obviously had mental issues, per his addition, is deadly force justified when he lacked the ability to use deadly force himself, in what you deem as aggressive actions?

And how can we build a zone of peace when these circumstances are acceptable? Would it not have been better for the shooter to take a beating as opposed to the outcome? When, as a society, did we decide that an arms race, this is what we have now even between criminals and property owners, is a good thing?

Again, we surrender pre-eminence to your seemingly better memory.

27. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

There is a good reason that the Lord give us computers to write lots of Maloney and Baloney.

@Pacha. Are you the same bro who writes on these pages about using a guillotine? The same man who now speaks fondly of a zone of peace???

So let me understand your elevated and enlightened thinking today.

You come into my establishment and steal my property AFTER you threatened my very existence (or to cut off my head). Witnesses, in the person of another fellow called PieceoftheRock confirm that you were often aggressive towards me and others. They say this was due to your use of hallucinogens or such substances that may cause hallucinations and other wayward behaviour.

Ok lets take a breath and blow a tapi puff.

So with all this in the mix: you are once again taking my property and you are once again making threats (directly or otherwise) at that moment I can accurately determine that you ” lacked the ability to use deadly force …”.

Your mind is partially fried and at times you talk to yourself or attack imaginary things but I am expected to invoke a zone of peace because I absolutely know my life is not at risk.

Thus, I should confront you and dispense instead “a beating”.

May the Lord above give us grace and commonsense to decipher your absolute duplicitous words as we do with the other intellectual wags in society. Steeupse.

28. @ Dribbler

Is this Lord you speak of not well known for dispensing death to those who would mislead the people.

We prefer true peace as a result of justice. We accept that people like you are to be killed (justice) in order to get to peace. And there are no misgivings about that position!

Part of your wickedness is the misleading of the people through a massive mis-education. Certainly, that is worthy of death, is it not?

But when you and those you purport to represent demand to have ways to kill others for the slightest of reasons. When you demand the sole right to the technology of death you deny others, because they are not like you – honorary Whites, that is worthy of death.

All the boys on the streets should have the means of death, guns, which you would seek to deny them. And those guns should be aimed at the right targets – the real oppressors and their enablers like you.

We thirst for peace everywhere ONLY on terms of justice. No obeisance to lackeys like you, your ilk and masters.

29. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Pieceuhderockyeahright June 14, 2016 at 8:39 AM #
    @ Pachamama

………….. and the owner was right to use “deadly force” against John the aggressor
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    I was always under the impression, that it was ‘Necessary’ or ‘ Equal’ force.

30. The guy went on the property and picked some limes.He was shot , and ran out on the street and died.It was broad daylight on George Street.Unnecessary loss of life.The man was unarmed and posed no threat.

31. @Whoever “Many are quick to explain that we have always had to live with violence going back to the Crusades of the 11th century. The struggle will continue until…”

OH boy!!!

Whose Eurocentric “bright” idea is it that human violence started in the 11th century? Human beings have always been violent. We have been violent for hundreds of thousands of years. Maybe millions of years.

That is how we are.

32. SuckaBubby June 14, 2016 at 4:57 PM #

“The guy went on the property and picked some limes. He was shot, and ran out on the street and died. It was broad daylight on George Street. Unnecessary loss of life. The man was unarmed and posed no threat.”

@ SuckaBubby

I agree with you, it was an “Unnecessary loss of life.”

I remember the incident because I had reason to be in Belleville on that fateful morning. Unfortunately, I saw when the perpetrator breathed his last breath.

Based on information received, the guy’s nickname was “Chinese” and he was from the Orleans. Apparently, it was his custom to enter the premises of an establishment located to the top or bottom (which ever way you enter) of 1st Avenue Belleville, called The Great Escape and steal limes. On that morning, “Chinese” entered the premises to perpetrate his usual act, but this time he was confronted by the owner, Mr. Alder, who shot him. He ran a few yards before collapsing and eventually dying on the spot.

When I arrived on the scene, Alder was looking at “Chinese,” who was breathing faintly, before returning to his property.

33. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

There are any number of circumstances where they are senseless loss of lives.

A blogger described this character as ‘aggressive’ and a user of illegal drugs so its a bit difficult as far as I am concerned to circle the wagon train so efficiently to determine that the theft on that morning was just an illegal act on the part of the owner leading to the senseless loss of life.

Seems to me that both individuals were being callous and indifferent. Unfortunately one had a weapon that he used rather laxly and the other should have been acting more judiciously but was badly impaired.

So with the owner’s impaired thinking that day based on raw anger that this man walked onto his property regularly and with impunity stole limes despite surely being warned off several times. Days or weeks or months of a growing sense of lack of safety exploded in a gunshot.

And the other fellow had weeks and months and years of not cleaning and oiling the weapon he had called a frigging brain which brought him to his death with his lax perspective on life. As an adult he believed that he could so cavalierly steal stuff as if he was a boy stealing a few mangoes or coconuts from the families in his neighborhood.

Senseless. Clearly.

You call the police. They come, warn the fellow, maybe even send him for a few days rests to Station Hill (as it was then, I presume). He serves his time and is back on the street and does the same shiittee again and again.

Senseless. Clearly.

Any homeowner or proprietor, callous or not, who experiences that level of ‘Chinese’ invasion wants to get-rid of that invader after awhile.

Senseless and ‘vigilantic’ and possibly criminally liable . Clearly.

34. Very often we hear the statement that soldiers make bad policemen as they are trained to kill.
    Here is a snippet from the Soldiers Yellow Card on Opening fire in Xxxxxxxx Xxxxxxx,against not lime or crop thieves ,but hardened terrorists.

Never use more force than the minimum necessary, etc etc
    Always first try to handle the situation by other means than opening fire.

35. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Why am I not surprised that a man has been detained attempting to enter a Bridgetown court while carrying an unlicensed concealed firearm.
    And if our wait-and-see excuse for leaders, think that they safe from this crazy show of blatant respect for law and order in this country, they may have a surprise on their hands.

36. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Colonel

We usually follow precedent from Britain. A female LABOUR MP was shot and stabbed to death today.

37. With an automatic hand gun and two magazines/clips of ammunition , this young man could have done untold damage, US style , in and around the Bridgetown court yesterday, and as far as our leaders are concerned its business as usual. Go on home folks, the show is over………………For Now!

38. A gun up in his botsie. A hate to think what else is up in his botsie this hot, hot night.