Submitted by Caswell Franklyn
 Mia Mottley, Opposition Leader

The Barbados Today reported in the June 3rd edition that the Barbados Opposition Leader, Mia Mottley’s recent visit to St. Lucia has become the subject of regional political debate. There is some speculation that her presence there was in support of the United Workers Party (UWP), the current Opposition in the St. Lucia Parliament.

However, she was quick to point out that her visit was strictly to provide legal representation for a client, but while there she had attended meetings of both political parties.

Coincidentally, two of her personal advisors, Debbie Hughes and Lucille Moe, were also in St. Lucia at that time. When Barbados Today queried their presence, Ms Mottley is reported to respond by saying:

“What is this? Am I being followed by the Gestapo?”

However, today’s (June 3rd) Weekend Nation reported that St. Lucia Prime Minister, Kenny Anthony, expressed concern that an “unprecedented” number of Barbadian “political operatives” were involved in the UWP’s campaign.

In a telephone link-up from Castries P.M. Anthony identified a number of people connected to the BLP as being in the forefront of the UWP’s campaign. He also stated that Ms Mottley was in St. Lucia but had given him the assurance that she was merely on holiday and not getting involved in local (St. Lucian) politics.

If I am to put the stories from both the Nation and Barbados Today together; it would appear that Ms. Mottley was in St. Lucia strictly to provide legal representation for a client, while being merely on holiday and; she felt it necessary to have her close political advisors tag along.

Somebody is lying here; either the Nation, Barbados Today, Kenny Anthony or Mia Mottley. I leave you to decide. Be that as it may, I have some advice for the Barbados Labour Party if it is determined that it is Ms Mottley that is being untruthful. No-confidence motion or a visit to the Governor-General – You decide!

179 responses to “No-Confidence Motion in Mia Mottley Anybody?”

1. @ Heather

And there finally we have it.

The word “defame” finally comes to the fore

“damage the good reputation of (Heather); slander or libel.

as in “she claimed that the article defamed her blogs”

synonyms: libel, slander, malign, cast aspersions on, smear, traduce, give someone a bad name, run down, speak ill of, vilify, besmirch, stigmatize, disparage, denigrate, discredit, decry;

That is where you and your ilk play in the domain of “thou shalt not say anythong contrary to what i have said” and in that word, for me at least, you show yourself no different to the very Fumble that you are campaigning against.

2. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Another synonym, Pieces…CALUMNY.

Heather, I asked the question because it certainly seemed so to me! Who,then, appointed you an arbiter of content on this blog?

3. @PUDRYR
    Tried to give you two thumbs up.
    Caswell post and the comments it generated was a real eye opener for me.
    Now the focus is elsewhere.
    Seems as if these guys have to pick a side or feel the flames.

4. ….and are presented in a manner that is more likely to detract from than to enhance the process of us getting there on time and with minimal disruption.
    Getting us exactly WHERE AWTY?

You speak as if that most basic of requirements for national strategy has been determined …then you posit that our best bet is to continue as we have done in the last 50 years, by voting AGAINST the current idiots in power, knowing full well that the OTHER set of idiots awaiting power are incapable of any other outcome than repeating the crisis in five years.

Perhaps if you were to give some SERIOUS thought to where we SHOULD be positioned in another five years, you may see the folly of persisting with this stupid game of see-saw

5. @ De Word aka De Pedantic Dribbler

I dont think you really give as much credit to Social Media as you should.

Let me give you a quick lesson in “guerilla warfare and ambushes”

The VietCong defeated the United States in Vietnam as did the Mujahideen defeat Russia in Afghanistan

The reason for such “success” (success being measured in the outcome to the victors and not as an indication of my support of one or the other, Lord knows that I am already on their “Persons of Interest” List already and don’t want another enemy) is because the victors understood one thing.

War, where you fight in the plains, WITH A SUPERIOR ENEMY, is suicide.

If i hit you in short bursts from tunnels and in mountain passes, i do you much more damage that your bunker breakers and, over time, my impalers, demoralize your armies of occupation (like the Barbados Public Service)

THe Digicel Fugitive and the Guinness 1/2 Hour.

What was their construct?

Who did they attract?

What was the cost/benefit?

What was the short term outcome?

You cant really expect me to be more explicit here on a forum where I am part of a faction engaged in battle with the powers that be!! Surely that is not what you are asking?

Why that would make you even more stupid than AC and you do know that Heather would invoke the “close it down clause, that is in her power to do. (when her people mia get in heheheheh)

That is why i got real respect for AWTY and Gazer

They are able to see two lines of what a man writes and return 5 lines of accurate assessment of what a person is hinting at. Dem doan need a body to spell it out

Anyways here goies.

We be “the injuns” sending morse code against the enemy using smoke signals, an enemy who has Winfield Repeaters while we only got Bows and Arrows. I hope you understand that by bow and arrow i mean that all we have is the internet while dem gots expesive Abed Bunting and posters all over de peeple dem wall.

But of this you can be sure “Custer got slaughtered at the Battle of Little Bighorn and while they subsequently have wiped out all the indigenous peoples or sent them to reservations, same ting, Custer was Scalped.

Now that remark aside, let me try to explain to you WHAT I DO NOT INTEND TO EXPLAIN!!

All You want is the ballots of the people on the day of the general election, all else is pith.

I dont care bout all that million dollars in bunting my man, anything of woman born can be killed, irrespective of your Swiss Guard and Legionnaires and many a Pope and Caesar hath experienced.

Now I means killed figuratively and scalped at the ballot box, you understand me.

Many people heah sort uh slow and cant think but draw a line from Digicel Fugitive, treasure, hints, and prizes and you may get to understand that which I sought not to explain, like how Downlowe and Fumbles does do when asked to explain Cahill and the Auditor general’s Report you understand?

Find 30 men, we can do the rest.

6. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Bush Tea;

re. your 12:30 pm post

There; is restoration of a minimal standard of living equivalent to that of at least 8 years ago for all workers in Barbados.

There: is the reduction of the level of corruption in government and its dealings with the private sector to pre 1966 levels

There: is full implementation of a doable anti corruption and FOIA system.

There: is full reform and right-sizing of the public service in a way that is minimally wasteful of resources.

There; is a system that allows full ethical interactions and parity between Government and all aspects of the Private sector.

There: is an educational system that ensures that all Barbadians have access to the maximum level of education and training they can meaningfully absorb.

There: is implementation of a system of controls that would ensure that Cahill type scams would be thing of the past.

There: would be a Barbados that fully utilizes renewable energy at minimal costs.

There: would be a Barbados where Tourism and Services and an Agriculture that is geared to rational import substitution coexist optimally and produces the relevant services and items at world class standards .

There: is a Barbados that is no less well endowed in appropriate digital technology skills than are countries of the North and can sell such services in the global consultancy markets at competitive rates.

There; is a new Barbados that builds on the good things of the past and new technologies to craft a sustainable Barbados of the 21st Century.

There; is a new Barbados that coexists symbiotically with our Caribbean neighbours as well as compatible larger Northern and Southern members of the global community.

IMHO, Getting there, in all or most of its intertwined manifestations, is unlikely to be possible if we summarily throw out the current system and opt for a total change that first takes us into unknown territory that is clear only in the minds of visionaries like yourself, Pachamama and PUDRYR and perhaps a few others. A Barbados, full of the brassbowls that you know so well, is unlikely to eagerly hold fast to revolutionary actions. In addition, grafting a less threatening Credit Union patch onto the current system of governance, imho, still needs a lot of explaining of the requisite strategies and modalities. Perhaps, it is possible and the best option out there but I am yet to be convinced.

Perhaps there; might be coincident with or a resultant of the Second Coming or the return of the newly discovered Planet X or even of Niburu (Miller can explain).

7. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Oh lawd @ Pieces, they tell me here that I can be too prolix but it’s a good thing you are a sage so I does still read all you words ‘causing’ you real, real long-winded sometimes. LOLLL.

Ok, let me establish the ground rules. When I put your name at the top of the post then I talking to YOU and all other sensible practical folks. Not to AC or any of their persuasion. Thus I fully expect you to grasp word usage implicitly as much as the word is ‘explicit’.

So my brother let’s concatenate and truncate. I said explicit’ You said:”You cant really expect me to be more explicit here on a forum where I am part of a faction ….”

And then captured the exact context in three words: “Find 30 men…”.

That bro is the end result of my meaning of explicit…certainly NOT a chapter and verse of the ‘to do’. But the difficulty of that end result. That is the explicit crux of Are-We’s thrust.

Where are these representatives who will contest the next elections? How can our seedling activism get 16 MPs in the House in less than 2 years?

Explicit means (putting aside the other practical issues like money and advertising) we need to accept that the personalities step is a major leap…one that I perceive is a tad more difficult than you are suggesting.

Yes social media can create viral popularity at a low cost and effectiveness never experienced before. And just as surely we don’t have to debate the ease to create the opposite of a popular meme!

I get you clearly. But the The VietCong’s was a long period of attrition to defeat the United States and so too the Mujahideen took a while to defeat Russia in Afghanistan with guerrilla strategies..

Don’t lets get tie up, OK. I am simply saying the plan has to be modulated with different acceptable scenarios as a real strategy.

Oh and remember the US busted the Taliban’s backsides in those same Afghanistan caves…times and technology change. Don’t lets forget that either. The US would simply send in drones now over that jungle and with their refined heat seeking technology ferret out movement activities and bust the way to those tunnels too.

Don’t lets get tie up, OK. Your strategy is solid but it must be parsed in the reality of the circumstances!!!!

8. calling some one Stupid is akin to gorilla warfare in that the word Stupid like a loaded gun pointed at the enemy is supposed to render the enemy helpless driven by fear by its sight even if not one shot is fired except of course the enemy is a toothless and gutless soul of which ac is not So fire away lock stock and barrel not going to be belittle or in fear of the amusing brigade as they passeth by LOL

9. MIA defends.

10. @ watchman you forgot the others who seem to think that Owen will live to 125 and come back as PM again. Do you listen to the old dreary voice which can easily be mistaken for an old harlot or witch called Glyne Murray. David Ellis hired the jack ass just to curse Mia Mottley. After he has suck Owen nipples dry and enjoyed all the BLP had to offer he is like a really hungry maingy puppy looking for survival and now turn to sucking Ellis nipples as Freundel got his reserved for Leroy Parris. Then you have Poor Lynette Eastmond and broke ass Callender so insignificant can’t remember his name who seem to think Freundel will recognize them but they have something else coming…

11. @ac you are
    Qstupid and the nonsense you write supporting a direspectful,corrupt inept government tells it all. Then again you are part of it so don’t change .The electorate will do the changing…

12. Bajan boy bring the evdience post all on BU nitwit

13. Hants June 4, 2016 at 7:25 PM #
    “ST LUCIA’S PRIME MINISTER Dr Kenny Anthony has expressed concern about an “unprecedented” number of Barbadian “political operatives” involved in the opposition United Workers Party (UWP) campaign for Monday’s general elections.”

Why focus on Barbadian polititians in St. Lucia when a large delegation from Jamaica was also in that island. Why are we so hypocritical and keep overlooking common sense.

14. …..Barbadian politicians……..

15. @ Bajan Boy

Mia was in the Ministry on Bay Street when Caswell Car got taken up because tardy paying of the car loan he got from Government, as an assistant to Minister, he blame Mia, and things went south, leaving Caswell out in the COLD, short of getting his dream second 5 years terms, as a bag carrier for a BLP Minister who moved on and became CJ, Caswell allowed hatred toward Mia / BLP to retard his progress, BUSH TEA keep trying Caswell may remember his days of marching and advance , too late he will be old then and think he still in school

16. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Caswell Franklyn June 4, 2016, at 4:39 PM #

FearPlay

These matters are not mutually exclusive but you, AWTY and others are behaving as though they are. Your problem is that each of the persons who condemn this post has a horse in the race, I don’t.

I stated my objection to your post because it is not in keeping with the type of objectivity I am accustom to reading when Caswell Franklyn put forward his views. What, the shite, have you achieved by condemning Mottley as exercising poor judgement in her choice to attend a St. Lucia political campaign? Tell me, I listening sweet Caswell.

However, you cross the line when you are implying that the SSS has a horse in the race. You should know by now that I spare no criticism for a boy, especially the two political parties. Unlike you, who can do much better representing the people in the halls of parliament as one of a few who still have a conscience and standing on an intact integrity, you prefer to be the big head of a personal union, a writer of a weekly column, and a contributor to the Barbados Underground. ‘You certainly are making a significant change in the landscape of Barbados at your respective levels.’

17. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

SSS

I apologise. When I stated that the persons, who condemned the post, had a horse in the race, I was not thinking of you.

18. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Caswell

Apology accepted. You are a critical component towards the landscape of change in Barbados. The Mottley criticism was of poor taste. Mia Mottley has done enough to prove that she is a nasty piece of work. You did not need to highlight that any further by pointing out what you perceived to be another poor judgement call on her part. I am sure other writers would have taken up the task though I do not see why her presence in St. Lucia was given the type hype that it received. But, she is Mia Mottley. Be that as it may, no love lost between us.

19. Many in the divided, fractured BLP parliamentary group know how dishonest and undermining Mottley is . That is why she threw Maria Agard under the bus because Maria as a loyal BLP supporter was thinking party and country before bowing to any power hungry despot.
    Look for constant political self promotion and cheap political stunts in the coming weeks – she cannot help.

20. @Bajanfuhlife

You seem to be working overtime of late. Exercising the Hartley Henry strategy, attack the head.

21. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Be gone blights!!!

Caswell…there is no other option for the people right now, these blights have to go, 7 more years of them and ya children’s future will be at risk….don’t like the other party either, they are no more than the other side of the same coin….but look at this..BLP & DLP = equally dishonest, but look at this….

“GOVERNMENT’S MANAGEMENT of the economy came in for a battering yesterday following Moody’s Investor’s Service triple point downgrade of Barbados’ credit rating from Ba3 to B3, pushing this country further into junk bond territory. Economists, business organisations, politicians and civic leaders here and in New York all said the downgrade was expected and showed Government needed to get “serious” in achieving an economic turnaround. In its report on Monday, Moody’s said the size of the downgrade reflected the reinforcement of negative fiscal trends given the increasing size of the country’s fiscal deficit and their expectation of continued challenges to Government’s efforts at fiscal consolidation.”

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/81995/uwp-win-election-st-lucia

St. Lucians are not tolerating corruption….why should bajans.

23. David , lol – just bringing a little balance just like you do.

24. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

25. From one red man to another. Duh ent got nuh black political leaders in saint lucia?

MIA and the BLP must be salivating as the winds of change blow through st. Lucia on the way to Babadus.

26. @ Sunshine Sunny Shine,

You and Pieceuhderockyeahright like wunna in business together wid these posters.

27. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Hants

My Sweet Piece and I want Change. Barbados leaders must be held accountable and placed under a level of transparency the likes of which have never been seen before. If you desire change, then design a poster exposing what you perceive to be wrong in Barbados.

28. @ Sunshine Sunny Shine,

You and Piece doing an awesome job with the posters. No need for me to join the posterization………. yet!

29. are-we-there-yet Avatar

SSS;

Wow! That 7:51 am poster is awesome!!