Submitted by Anthony Davis
Senator Irene Sandiford-Garner

Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Tourism and International Transport Irene Sandiford-Garner today expressed sharp criticism of local tourism businesses, accusing them of lacking innovation. “Speaking in the Senate on the Appropriations Bill 2016, Sandiford-Garner complained that the private sector was not doing enough to extract maximum benefits from tourism – Barbados Today, 23 March 2016, p6

I wish people in this Government would stop blaming others for the demise in which this country finds itself. You said that no one can take the money out of the visitors’ pockets, yet you expect the private sector to come and do such. The Prime Minister said that if a man has $10 he can’t expect him to spend $11, do you expect him to spend $11?

When the former Prime Minister Owen Arthur allowed the building of the first all-inclusive hotel in Barbados he said that there must be a limit to them. Along came your Government and every Tom, Dick and Harry could apply to build an all-inclusive hotel, and get permission so to do. All-inclusive hotels are the bane of any country whose economy is built on tourism. The system on which they operate kills off all of the stand-alone enterprises which usually accompany tourism. The taxis, stand-alone bars and restaurants, rum shops and other businesses which depend on tourists leaving their hotels and taking in the atmosphere of the country, and so spending more in the destination which they visit.

With all-inclusives the visitors need not leave their fortresses unless they are going on tours which are included in the packages. As one lady said in an interview pertaining to all-inclusives: “I wanted to bring my cards with me, but I’m glad that I didn’t because everything is included, and I needn’t go outside the hotel.”

You opened the bottle in which the genie was, and now you want to blame others. The worst thing about all-inclusives is that the most of the foreign exchange leaves the country, because people like Thomas Cook bring in the visitors. Those who book their own flights and stay at Sandals and the others have the same type of accommodation, and therefore no money is spent here. Sandals even has its own dive personnel and boat which should never have been allowed.

It is obvious that all of the foreign exchange flies out to Jamaica and other places as this Government didn’t even put certain restrictions on the number of foreign entities who could build such hotels here. The owners get the sweetheart deals, while we pay the taxes, and suck salt.

Hotels can also run up water bills in the hundreds of thousands of dollars, whereas if some pensioner owes $5 or $10 his/her water is likely to be cut off. The visitors also use the most water on the island – not the populace of Barbados as many in your Government claim, just like they generate the most waste on the island.

So, Mrs. Sandiford-Garner stop whining, because the private sector cannot do anything about the hole into which you and the others have dug this country!

“No one party can fool all of the people all of the time; that’s why we have two parties.” – Bob Hope

17 responses to “All-inclusive Concept Killing the Goose”

1. On the nail !!

2. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

nothing but money grubbing crooks, and robbing tourist of their money , buying houses, land, time share all fraud , make up things as they go along ,

Only reason for new tourist is to rob them like vampires sucking your bank and credit cards,

We warn you all and now its here , By the Numbers people by the Numbers of the PONZI and Fraud,

Stay away from Lawyers in Barbados and real estate Agents, A Clear Title deed is the Key to all things in Barbados and in any other Nation,

Hold all money until the next Elections when the CUP and put things back in Order,

3. This might mean more competition for Bim. Guadeloupe might soon be in a position to offer visiting tourists not just water skiing, but downhill skiing as well. 🙂

Snow falls in Guadeloupe in extraordinary weather phenomenon

No, it is not an April Fools Day joke, snowflakes actually fell in the neighbouring French island of Guadeloupe.

The event, which was described as ‘exceptional’ by a French meteorologist took place on Thursday, March 31 in the municipality of St. Claude.

Reports from French media indicate that a very fine snowfall blanketed the hills above the town.

French meteorologist, Alain Museleque, explained the extraordinary phenomenon on Guadeloupe Premiere TV.

“We had a mass of clouds that arrived over St. Claude,” he said in French and translated by McCathy Marie. “Accompanying this mass of clouds was some very cold air. In this very cold air, in the mass of clouds, we had the creation of some snowflakes which fell to the ground. This has never before been seen in Guadeloupe. This is an exceptional event that we will never forget.”

http://dominicanewsonline.com/news/homepage/news/weather/snow-falls-in-guadeloupe-in-extraordinary-weather-phenomenon/

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

They are in their tourism hole and sinking quickly…good

5. The problem of foreign exchange leakage in the tourism sector is not new and has always been serious. Stand alone businesses rely heavily on imported food, fuel and machines too, so it is hard to tie the issue to all-inclusives. Why small hotels cannot or will not build linkages to local agriculture and manufacturing (furniture and paper factories, for example) is a mystery. Instead of this foolish politician sneering at businessmen, she should get the government to take some of them by the hand and provide step by step guidance on how to create a more integrated, self-reliant tourist sector. The expertise required is available and can be hired.

6. Barbados was the lead story on city tv news at 11 in Toronto.

http://www.citynews.ca/2016/04/01/malvern-student-among-four-caught-smuggling-drugs-into-barbados/

7. where does the girl come up with 50,000 in lieu of jail time and need a free trip ????

8. @lawson “where does the girl come up with 50,000 in lieu of jail time and need a free trip ????”

And………………….How did they not get caught in Canada prior to departure? Might be an inside job all the way round.

9. An observation to make is the fact we have tourist arrivals on the increase BUT forex/spend is down or certainly not properly correlated. How will All inclusive help?

10. Vincent Haynes Avatar

David April 2, 2016 at 9:58 AM #

All inclusives do not benefit the host country….never has.

11. Concessions?

Ozone coming

12. Vincent Haynes Avatar

David April 2, 2016 at 10:22 AM #

The sad thing about concessions is that they have never benefitted the country in the long run….just think back to EWB’s 10 year tax exemptions of decades ago,all companies left on the expiry of those concessions……we just dont learn.

13. racehorse bringing coals to Newcastle , what on earth were those girls thinking. I can only believe these girls do not have a tv because every night the reality show customs and border guards is on ..catching people just like them. But I know how they feel when I was pulled aside for meat in my luggage the customs officer was wailing like a banshee on me being a smuggler etc until I pulled a permit out to her surprise. Maybe they were bringing down trudeau’s personal stash just in case he decides to vacation in Barbados rather than st kitts

14. All-inclusive fits to places like Jamaica, where tourists are robbed and raped as soon as they crawl out of the hotel gate. The concept does not fit to Barbados

The same is true for these cruise ships. The present ships are swimming hotels with built-in shopping malls. Barbados does not profit from the cruise ships at all.

The problem is indeed, that the local politicians with their backward attitude and their poor social background have no clue of any innovative products like water parks, adventure parks and so on. Sun, rum, sand and water is not good enough anymore.

And another point. Sending so many young people to university here is a complete waste of resources if one looks at the tourism industry. You do not need a master course to cook, clean or to manage a hotel.

15. SMH…. An’ wunnuh does wont tuh try tuh convince me dat Irene ent one uh de ACs.

16. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

lawson April 2, 2016 at 1:10 PM #

Chuckle….your boy Trudeau seems to be getting some kudos.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/04/05/the-dawn-of-real-change-in-canada-2/