Submitted by Artax
L-R): Edison Alleyne (Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Environment), Margot Harvey (Chairman, Sanitation Service Authority), Dr Denis Lowe (Minister of Environment), Clare Cowan (CEO of Cahill Energy), Christopher Sinckler (Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs), Denis Kellman (Minister of Housing, Lands and Rural Development), Senator Darcy Boyce (Minister of Energy in the Office of the Prime Minister)

The PM and Lowe are not prepared to address issues relative to transparency, but are finding justification for the CAHILL project to start. Since both men are adamant the project must start, I felt it was in the best interest of the island for us to examine the economic/financial implications of a WTE.

Notice each time Lowe is challenged he resorts to engaging in “political distractions.” Remember when Mottley questioned him about CAHILL, he recited his autobiography in parliament, letting us know how poor he grew up and displayed unverified copy of his doctorate, while saying Mottley did not have a LEC to practice law in Barbados. The resident DLP yard-fowls obviously ran with this as it took “centre stage” for discussion, thereby distracting from the issues of transparency and accountability as it relates to CAHILL.

AG Brathwaite promised to investigate if there was any truth to these allegations. However, since he has NOT RETURNED to the public or parliament with the RESULTS of his INVESTIGATIONS, we can safely assume Lowe was LYING.

Moreover, a VIGILANT and RESPONSIBLE MEDIA (in the interest of transparency) would have REMINDED Brathwaite of his PROMISE and pressured him to REVEAL THE FACTS or EXPOSE HIM as a FRAUD and LIAR if he FAILED to do so, since enough time has elapsed.

Now we are witnessing Lowe, in the face of criticism, again refusing to answer questions about CAHILL and resorting to attacking social media. He is fully aware this source of news, especially BU, has kept the flames burning under CAHILL, while the Nation, Advocate, Barbados Today, CBC and experienced journalists such as David Ellis continue to give him a “free pass,” $200 for passing GO, and a “get out of jail free” card.

What is more comical is the Nation’s lack of interest in exposing CAHILL and other IMPORTANT ISSUES affecting Barbados, but preferred to send an “undercover reporter” to EXPOSE a WHORE HOUSE or featuring two “skippers” as a front page story. If that media house in interested in sleaze, perhaps they should send “undercover reporters” to Bridgette International Bar in Nelson Street so as to inform us about the variety of nationalities of women who sell their “wares” in that establishment.

BU must be congratulated for continued efforts in highlighting CAHILL with commendable zeal and remaining steadfast despite the DLP infiltrators trying unsuccessfully to “politically spin” the issue.

94 responses to “Denis Lowe the Cahill Scammer”

1. The force are the people of Barbados
    Who need to bring this thing and the perpetrators down …….

2. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Artax;

Looks like you have’nt read between the lines of the PM’s or the MOF’s statements that you quoted at 4:04 pm and 4:28 pm respectively and considered that the PM is a lawyer who is a past master at stringing words together in a manner that could lead to multiple interpretations.

The PM said: “You are hearing a lot of incoherent noises on this issue. I speak to you tonight as the Prime Minister of Barbados. Do not get worried about it because nothing on this issue is going to happen under the cover of night.”

He’s correct! Cahill will not be implemented under the cover of night, literally. It is intended that it will be done in broad daylight. All the relevant agreements have been placed in the public domain by BU. There is therefore no need for him to publish any more info, or indeed to respond to incoherent noises re. the information in the public domain. His listeners needed not to get worried. Its de uthers dat might have tuh worry.

The PM said we are not going to take any decisions that are inimical to the best interest of Barbadians. We are not going to take any decisions unless we can say that we have benefited from the best possible advice.”

He’s correct! The decisions that were inimical to the best interests of Barbadians were already taken and reported on the previous year. See the BU exposes involving the PM himself. Those decisions were taken after the famous 4 benefitted from the best possible advice as determined by them alone and perhaps the PM himself. We can only guess who were the advisers who gave the best possible advice from a well circumscribed cadre of consultants.

The PM said “When the time has come for me to speak on this issue and engage the population, I will address you. You cannot put down a plant in Barbados unless you have land on which to put it. If the Government is going to be involved, the land has to be acquired and it has to be debated in Parliament. There has to be a full debate on the land acquisition and since the land would have to be acquired under the Land Acquisition Act for a public purpose, you have to say what the public purpose is.”

He’s correct! The land has now been passed for acquisition for the SSA as you’ve shown in your last post. That matter was spoken to by the members of the House. There was no need for a special address on the matter by the PM. That aspect of the conditions precedent have been taken care of it seems.

Your second post dealt with the MOF statements at the debate related to the acquisition of land at Vaucluse for the Cahill project and other renewable energy projects.

Chris Sinckler “assured parliamentarians that research was done to determine if Cahill’s claims about the technological capabilities of the scheme were “accurate or near accurate”, whether or not it is safe “or relatively safe” and whether or not it was affordable.” Sinckler continued: “And I say to this Parliament today, from the best of my knowledge and from my involvement, all three of those basic principles were examined and found to be in the positive or plus column.” [Source: Carib Flame News, October 28, 2015]

He has the powers of MoF and therefore he is essentially correct. However, He’s not respecting the intelligence of his non-yardfowl listeners who might ask such questions as: Can you tell us some more about the research? What was the research done and by whom? What are their qualifications in this area? What were their track records in this area? Can we see the reports? etc. etc.

Anyhow, Glad to see that he acknowledges his involvement in clearing the way for the Cahill project to progress after the publication of the copious leaked information that is suggestive of a massive scam. Some day in the future Bajans might well hold him to that acknowledgement and demand reparations.

So you see, The PM and his Ministers are on the same page re. the Cahill project. Anyone who thinks otherwise is not reading between the lines.

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

@RF101
    I think there is more to this…..somebody we haven’t included yet, the missing link.

4. @artax
    The land may be acquired by the government but has it been transfered to Cahill ownership free gratis ar required by contract????
    Transferring the land to Cahill gives her the one and only asset in Cahill.an asset that will be liened and chased by everyone owed money by Cahill.

5. @AC, nothing short of the impeachment of Dr Denis Lowe will suffice. #ImpeachDenisLoweForCahillSilence

Why has Dr Denis Lowe failed to engage in a public discourse on Cahill?#ImpeachDenisLoweForCahillSilence

Why has he not engaged the residents at Atlantic Shores which is in his constituency
    who have started an active Community Recycling Network every Saturday? #ImpeachDenisLoweForCahillSilence

Why not legislate curb side recycling? #ImpeachDenisLoweForCahillSilence

Who are the local beneficial owners of Cahill? #ImpeachDenisLoweForCahillSilence

How big is the RBPF Special Branch Cahill file? #ImpeachDenisLoweForCahillSilence

Is the Financial Intelligence Unit working with Interpol on the Cahill case? #ImpeachDenisLoweForCahillSilence

Does the BLP have hands clean enough to investigate the Cahill deal should they form the next GOB? #ImpeachDenisLoweForCahillSilence

Why commit to a deal that offers more expensive electricity than the Barbados Light & Power offers? #ImpeachDenisLoweForCahillSilence

Why give Cahill a 30 year contract that can be extended in a world of falling oil prices and Solar PV Cells?

Who would negotiate an increase every 3 years with some many variables on feedstock prices? #ImpeachDenisLoweForCahillSilence

Where will the water come from in water scarce Barbados and will Molyneaux aquifer be pumped dry due to wells to be drilled uphill? #ImpeachDenisLoweForCahillSilence

Did the Prime Minister authorize Dr Denis Lowe to update the country on Cahill despite his September 15th,2015 Cahill reassurance? #ImpeachDenisLoweForCahillSilence

We have but one Barbados we can either choose to fight for it or sit idly by and wonder what happened!

6. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Artax;

I forgot to mention above that the parameters of the research were studiously circumscribed to examining:

If Cahill’s claims about the technological capabilities of the scheme were “accurate or near accurate”.

whether or not it is safe “or relatively safe

and whether or not it was affordable.

Note that elsewhere those parameters would have been

Claims of the technological capabilities were accurate, near accurate or INACCURATE

The technology was Safe, relatively safe, or UNSAFE.

Looks like our Government was not in the least interested in getting views about whether the claims were inaccurate or the technology unsafe. That alone should allow future investigators to determine the frame of minds of the local people who were involved in acceptance or otherwise of the project.

7. @ Artax February 16, 2016 at 4:04 PM #

How is it that in 2014 an “Agreement to build a Waste to Energy plant in Barbados was UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED by CABINET and SIGNED by the GOVERNMENT of BARBADOS.

Yet in September 2015, Stuart, who is head of the cabinet, told the DLP faithful “that NO DECISIONS HAD BEEN TAKEN ON THIS ISSUE,” and “If THE GOVERNMENT IS GOING TO BE INVOLVED, the land has to be acquired and it has to be debated in Parliament.”
    ……………………………………

Artax,

It just confirms what we all know…….the PM and his cabinet are damned liars and our parents always said…..you cannot trust a liar!

In my humble opinion, this government has lost the moral right to continue to govern this country.

8. Some of you are getting ahead of the argument. How was Cahill Energy shortlisted based on the expression of interest posted. What qualified Cahill.

9. To repeat it again and again.

Show me, where is such a plant running on big scale and producing lots of electricity around the globe? It is used on small scale for very problematic waste.

Cahill will NOT come since the technology is NOT working.

No jumping up and down in church, no kisses to the ass of the ministers, no trolls on BU, no other postcolonial mockery will make such a plant run.

The muppet show in Bim cannot alter the rules of physics.

Maybe the Canadians are using Cowan as a tool to gather information about the local muppets to arrest them when they visit DLP Canada after next election without immunity.

10. Cahill is a dead project. Mark Cummins will need courage for his team to approve the Cahill project. If he does he will have to immigrate.

11. @David, the bid document which is in circulation clearly shows Cahill does not meet the criteria which was set. This document is in the public domain and knowledge and will be made available.

12. @David, our international sources have told us that the shortlist of 12 went to a shorter list of 4 and Cahill was never on list. Perhaps, Mr Zephirin of the UK based 7th Heaven can tell you who is entitled to share in the finders fees which would indicate the beneficiaries. The Williams brothers were shafted big time while their competition had better luck.

#ImpeachDenisLoweForCahillSilence

13. Please tell Jepter Ince shut the hell up and explain why he sits on the BNB Capital Board with Darcy Boyce and Trevor Carmichael.

Chris Sinckler and David Estwick Saga Continues – Money is Sweeter than Sugar

by David on November 14, 2014 in Barbados News, Politics Edit

BU understands the Minister of Finance & Economic Affairs Chris Sinckler will play hardball with the sugar industry deal unless Minister of Agriculture David Estwick appoints BNB Capital Corporation to provide the financing for the new sugar factory. It is being discussed in certain circles that the minister of finance arranged for BNB Capital Corporation […]

225 CommentsContinue Reading →

web analytics

14. From: Stephen Mader

Sent: May 26, 2014 11:24 PM

To: donville_inniss@barbadosbusiness.gov.bb

Subject: Waste from Energy

Dear Minister Inniss,

It was a pleasure to meet you this evening at the reception. I had my staff look into the Letter of Intent, and thus far it seems there was no RFP. I will continue to have them look into this matter. As well, at first blush, it seems the Barbados Government is paying far too much for the technology and the plant. This is just based on our (Forth State Energy ) own projections. I am having our people look into this and I will report back to you.

I will also send to you a list of officials I spoke to while I was in Barbados.

Again, it was a pleasure to meet you this evening, and I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Think outside the Landfill.

Sincerely,

Steve

Stephen J. Mader

President & CEO

Fourth State Energy

smader@fourthstateenergy.com

1-902-220-8790

http://www.fourthstateenergy.com

15. OMG

16. CTO is Duck Shite Avatar

Jeptor Ince is a simple county boy, he ainting too smart. He so foolish he aint even know he foolish. Not much better than his PARTNER Leroy Greenverbs.

17. If he is not too smart how come he is parliamentary secretary in the ministry of finance?

18. CTO is Duck Shite February 16, 2016 at 10:10 PM #
    We could say the same of Donald Trump. Leroy Parris, and probably Jeptor Ince, like Trump, are all laughing their way to the bank.

19. David February 16, 2016 at 10:16 PM #

“If he is not too smart how come he is parliamentary secretary in the ministry of finance?”

Perhaps similarly to how Leroy Parris was CEO of CLICO.

We all know that Stuart gave majority of the losing candidates in the 2013 general elections appointments to the senate and as parliamentary secretaries in various ministries, irrespective of being the largest cabinet in the history of Barbados.

Patrick Todd, Harry Husbands, Esther Byer, Irene and Jester….. all of them getting “free money.” Can anyone tell me exactly what Todd does to earn his pay?

This is something that definitely needs investigating… what is Patrick Todd’s job as parliamentary secretary?

20. @kamie
    In reading through the posted documents Cahill claim this is proven technology !!!
    I defy Cahill to produce documented evidence to show this to the public of Barbados.
    Case in point is the Air products TV1 and 2 project.
    Same gasifer as the one proposed by Cahill
    The project is 2 years behind for phase due to gasifer problems
    This scale of gasifer project is NOT a proven technology .

Point of interest is the removal of all reference to Cahill in alter NRG documents per the request of Cahill

It’s a scam and we all know it.

21. @Redfactor

Post the links to support your last comment.

22. @David, now we know why Donville Inniss is not supportive of the Cahill project… #ImpeachDenisLowe

Was this letter made a document of the house and be prominently placed on this blog.
    This strengthens my call for the impeachment of Dr Denis Lowe in the Court Of Public Opinion. #impeachdenislowe

23. @David, can you ensure the world knows about this Cahill fiasco. Let us hashtag the Cahill stories with such hashtags as #UsJusticeDepartment #ImpeachDenisLowe ##RCMP #UKFinancialCrimesUnit ##CahillEnergyBarbados #Cahill #FBI you can add more relevant hashtags

It’s the easiest way to draw international attention to the Cahill deal. We cannot allow another Greenland, 3S or Dodds

24. #ImpeachDenisLowe Bushie’s ass..

Impeachment is something done to high officials who ‘yield to temptation’ and do shiite… like entertaining Monica Lewinski in the White House …or depositing a campaign cheque in your personal account… or pulling a gun in parliament…

One does not ‘impeach’ low-life scum.

He just want locking to ass up …. and he should be PUBLICLY BOOED and ridiculed every time that he shows his ugly sick-looking face in public.
    Steupsss…
    Anyone who entertains this criminal should share in the karma that will inevitable envelope his nasty tail….

25. @CTO is Duck Shite, Selwin Harte the Climate Change Advisor to Ban Ki Moon, Jepter Ince and I all grew up in Church Village. Thus where one grew up has nothing to do with silly partisan rhetoric. #ImpeachDenisLowe

26. Kammie

But you have not disproved what CTO alleged, that is that Jepter Ince is simple. Deal with the issue, is he simple or not?

27. “The turnabout in Mr. Obiang’s fortunes is part of an effort by the federal government to recover assets it says were stolen by foreign officials — dictators, politicians and ruling elites – and laundered in the United States. Since its start in 2010, the Kleptocracy Asset Recovery Initiative has grown to include a dozen government lawyers and teams from the F.B.I. and Homeland Security.”

http://www.msn.com/en-us/news/world/wanted-by-the-us-the-stolen-millions-of-despots-and-crooked-elites/ar-BBpAEBe?li=BBnbfcL

28. Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass.

Kammie Holder February 17, 2016 at 8:10 AM #
    @David, can you ensure the world knows about this Cahill fiasco. Let us hashtag the Cahill stories with such hashtags as #UsJusticeDepartment #ImpeachDenisLowe ##RCMP #UKFinancialCrimesUnit ##CahillEnergyBarbados #Cahill #FBI you can add more relevant hashtags

It’s the easiest way to draw international attention to the Cahill deal. We cannot allow another Greenland, 3S or Dodds

You already got them: BWA head office, Andrews Sugar Factory (already destroyed), Grotto ‘low income’ $500 per square foot condominiums, Lancaster houses, Coverley not-village……………..

Should I go on?

29. @Frustrated

What about the SBRC racket and the IONICS scam deal? How many tens and tens of millions of dollars have SBRC and IONICS taken in taxpayer money for CAPACITY as oppose to services/goods/product provided??
    TAKE OR PAY CONTRACTUAL SCAMS HAVE HELP WILLIAMS BECOME A VERY, VERY WEALTHY.

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

These things have to be exposed or the international community will not know, which reduces the chances of investigations of those who take advantage and enrich themselves with the help of and aided by corrupt, greedy politicians and other public officials.

31. Would be good model for Barbados politicians to follow.

“FORMER contractor general Greg Christie says that Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller should lead all aspiring parliamentarians in declaring her assets, income, and liabilities for public scrutiny amidst growing calls from her People’s National Party (PNP) for Opposition Leader Andrew Holness to lay bare his finances and details of the transactions for the house he is building in Beverly Hills, St Andrew.”

32. David
    But according to the documents the GoB is responsible for getting planning permission NOT Cahill.

33. @enuff

Do you mean prepare the EIA for submission to the TCP?

34. David

Heads of Terms (Final)

“The government shall procure that all Consents shall be granted for the PG plant at the Site within six months of application for the same by CEB and shall procure the Environmental Protection Department, the Town and Country Development Planning Office and other competent authorities comply with all statutory or other requirements and procedures relating to the granting of such Consents.”

All yuh sure permission wasn’t already granted within the six months agreed to?

35. @enuff

At no time in the pronouncements from government ministers has there been an admission permission was sought and granted by the TCP.

On 17 February 2016 at 23:49, Barbados Underground wrote:

36. Permitted Development????? mmmmmm

http://www.townplanning.gov.bb/content.aspx?c=42

37. @enuff/David
    You are reading the terms incorrectly
    The government is not responsible for the creation / preparation of the submission to TCP or any other government body they are responsible for making sure all government bodies do their reviews and approvals in a timely manner . however the submissions must be correct and lawful and abide by the laws of Barbados
    To date no submissions have been made to any government dept.
    Case in point the waste analysis study and final report.
    Nothing official has gone to the government for review … A clear breach
    Cahill are responsible for the design ,build and operation of the plant
    They have done nothing to date other than an estimate to the tune of $700million based on assumptions and guess work.

38. https://youtu.be/c5BL4RNFr58

Barbados still has NO TRANSPARENCY – shame. I wouldn’t live there. I just wouldn’t live there.

39. https://youtu.be/nC_iiq06qck

Say what you want about the United States, it does persecute dishonest politicians, it does have transparency and integrity, lots of excitement too. The North American Auto Show in Detroit is a big deal, Madi Gras in New Orleans is a big deal. This too, The NFL Superbowl.

40. Kammie Holder Avatar

Air Products pulls out of Tees Valley EfWs

4 APRIL, 2016BY ROB PRESTON

Air Products is quitting the energy-from waste (EfW) sector and has pulled the plug on its two major gasification facilities on Teesside.

A statement from the company’s base in Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, Air Products said that exiting the sector would cost between $900m and $1bn (£700m) in writing down its EfW assets.

The initial facility in the north-east TV1 (pictured) was expected to be completed this year while the identical plant TV2, believed to be 72% complete, was mothballed in November – attributed to the first plant taking longer than expected.

Now the firm has decided “it is no longer in the best interest of the company and its shareholders to continue the Tees Valley projects”.

It said testing and analysis indicated that “additional design and operational challenges would require significant time and cost to rectify”.

The firm said it “will work to optimise the cash value of its investments” but does not specify how this will be done.

It hopes that exiting the EfW business “will allow the company to direct its resources to its core business of industrial gases”.

Air Products chief executive Seifi Ghasemi said: “We pushed very hard to make this new EfW technology work and I would like to thank the team who worked so diligently.

“We appreciate the hard work of our employees and contractors at the site, and certainly understand their disappointment in this decision. We are also disappointed with the outcome.”

The company said there are currently approximately 125 employees at the site and the business office, as well as approximately 20 contractors.

Unite regional officer Steve Cason described the announcement as a “massive surprise” and was hoping to find out more at a meeting with the facility manager Andrew Connolly.

In March, the company denied Unite claims that TV-1 site had been mothballed, saying ”Air Products continues to work on starting up the TV-1 facility, targeting the end of this year for commercial operation. Some contract workers have been released, but this is consistent with the type of work currently being carried out at TV-1.

”As previously stated, we have identified learnings that are being implemented into the TV-1 facility and we are currently in a period with higher engineering, design, and procurement activity and less activity in the field. We expect the activity in the field to again pick-up in a few months.”

Both facilities have been designed to generate 49.9MW of renewable electricity a year, using 350,000 tonnes of non-recyclable residual waste.

41. Kammie Holder Avatar

Why is Dr Denise Lowe so adamant that Cahill Plasma Gasification must go ahead? Oh how I miss politicians like Harold Blackman who would put country first and break party ranks. Where has all the good politicians gone Dr Denise Lowe?

42. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Kmmie;

You and I and the BU family know why!

I suspect that an election will be called before there is transparency on the Cahill project. Indeed the portents are trending towards a snap election by mid year. After all, most of the Political Class in the House have become eligible for the receipt of their pensions and the Economic news is unlikely to get better before 2018.

43. Kammie Holder Avatar

Sad that the BP will not hold anyone accountable. In our beloved country of Barbados young boys are sent to prison for a marijuana cigarette and young women for steal a package of Ramon. Sadly the honorable aristocrats are free to steal without consequences.