Submitted by Anthony Davis

OTT_Services1Barbadians will begin paying a 22 per cent tax on voice and other transmissions from their cell phones from January 1. “And Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler

[…]

said today the $14 million raised annually would be used to fund university scholarships – Barbados Today

My, my, my, Mr. tax collector!

You have really overdone yourself with this one. You are setting up the ISPs in Barbados for being hauled before the court in the USA, or the EU by taxing services that are free worldwide, because Whatsapp, Skype, etc. are not taxable anywhere in the world – not even in Russia, China, or the People’s Republic of North Korea.

Why should we pay tax on something which is free? That is why you are having a problem with the promoters of shows in this country. I deem the “soon-to-be announced university scholarship fund” to be nothing but an excuse for imposing a new willy nilly tax which will redound to the disadvantage of Barbados and doing business in Barbados.

You refused to continue funding Barbadian education at the UWI, and now want us to believe that you are putting your hands deeper into our pockets just to fund education at the said UWI? How many potential students have missed the opportunity of getting a university education in Barbados? How many belonged to the lower echelons of our society?

“All of these things were ‘certainly in in my mind” clings very hollow, seeing that you are the mastermind of putting many a fledgling business, and small- and medium-sized businesses out of business in our country as many of them rely on cell phones for keeping in contact with their employees in the field.

You are intent on destroying the above types of businesses.

You call yourselves a “people-centred Government”?

Which people are you talking about?

You already receive millions of dollars in taxes which you give away as if they were your own by handing them to companies like Cahill Energy. I am totally against paying taxes on things that are exempt tax – especially as they are US companies, which does not bode well for Barbados if this madness is carried out.

Can anyone imagine the USA wanting to tax Whatsapp, Skype, Facebook, or any of these free social media apps? I can’t!

You have also given the poor, the needy and the vulnerable a blow below the belt as they depend on these free messaging services for keeping in touch with their children when they are on the road, or with relatives overseas.

What happens if the child is attacked on his/her way home?

What if that child has to be taken to the doctor/hospital?

Then again, you were never interested in the welfare of those in the lower echelons of our society.

I believe it is also illegal to tax such services.

What about the idea of using the technology in schools?

Should teachers waste their money by showing students how to use these messaging services properly, if they have to pay for them?

I should think not, because we never know when the next willy nilly tax will appear.

On the other hand, why should any parent/guardian want to pay extra money for a service which is free all over the world?

I believe that it is also unconstitutional to tax something which is free.

You will want to tax the polluted air of Barbados next!

Tax collection and being a minister of finance are two different things.

How will the tourists be taxed?

I don’t see you doing that – especially if they are EU or USA citizens!

One minister says he would like to see Barbados become the technology hub of the Caribbean, and the other ruins the idea by taxing the very technology which is to take the island there.

This is a case of one step forward and a dozen backward!

Education is a vital part of any democratic society!

69 responses to “Barbados Government Taxing WhatsApp and Skype Usage”

1. @ David
    Note the interview was conducted by Senator Irene Sandiford-Garner
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Yuh Lie….!!
    Say it ain’t so…. That HAD to be AC …pretending to be Irene…. 🙂

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://nakeddeparture.com/2015/12/20/peter-harris-of-bayview-hospital-and-cgi/

How can state entities (the transport board belonging to the taxpayers) or anything else be expected to work when said state entities are tied up with the above scum and scummy politicians.

3. Chief Black foot aka Bushtea will be giving smoke signal classes at the polytechnic Jan 2016. Enroll early to secure a place.

4. Bush shit i have advice my attorney to send you notice of an intent to seek remedy from the court as to have a cease and desist action to be place against you referencing the “ac” moniker to other names or places or things
    Merry Xmas deputy dawg

5. @ AC & Islandgal
    …and a blessed and merry christmas to you two as well… 🙂

Were it not for Donna, one o’ wunna would still be Bushie’s main squeeze…

For the other one, it remains better to live in a desert …with snakes, than to even contemplate any kind of association with her….
    ..or to try to decipher her ramblings here on BU…

6. Here is an example of bafflegab by a Nigeria official which was brought to my attention by a Nigerian friend.

First a bit of background ”My Oga at the top” refers to my boss or my superior and the poor guy couldn’t give a straight answer to a simple questions. According to my friend the answer “Oga at the top” was a source of parody throughout the country and many people – even bridal parties- would take photos and adopt poses with the phrase “My Oga at the top”.

7. LT.HORATIO CAINE. Avatar

More and more i am coming to realize that Chris Sinckler is at a loss as to what he is doing time to replace him Mr PM.

8. “The tax cannot be applied per call, since I do not expect to receive notice from FLOW or the BRA informing me that, during January 2016, I made 40 calls for a duration of 100 minutes @ 20¢ per minute, costing $20.00 and I have to pay $4.40 tax to the BRA by the 15 day of the following month”

Notwithstanding that FLOW DOES NOT have to give customers an itemized bill, since information pertaining to call details can be accessed on line from their web-site. An itemized bill is considered a “luxury.”

The absence of the above would add to the confusion in the collection. I recall there was an initial tax on the purchase/use of mobile instruments when they were first introduced to the public; I can state irrefutably that most of this revenue ended up in the coffers of the Barbadoss Telephone company.
    The history of the collection of revenue by private entities on behalf of Govt has always been detrimental to Govt. The airport departure tax collected by airlines and the sales tax introduced by Dr Haynes are examples where private entities have been able to profit at the expense of Government through lack of inadequate monitoring procedures.

9. “……… the man of many hats and member of the Payne vs Hinkson bassa bassa.”

Seems as though he and Michael Lashley had a little bassa bassa pun White Hill, too.

10. Skype is not free for calls to landlines and cell phones around the world. For such calls you need to have credit in your Skype account, and if you use a Barbados credit card to top it up, the tax could be applied at that time by the card issuer. I believe this is how the UK government charges VAT on Skype top ups when UK credit cards are used for credit top ups. There are ways round it however, eg by using a non telecom payment intermediary.

11. I have a feeling Bajans are being set up.

One year before elections there will be a lowering of taxes to “buy votes”.

12. Here is the future of Barbados. High taxes, no state services, but alms at Christmas.

Read Barbados Today: More Christmas surprises for North West.

Sinckler will win his seat also next term.

Will people in St. James South get a DVD for Christmas from their MP instead? 😉

13. Here is a question posed.

Never did check the VAT on mobile services before. The question is since government needed to make legislative changes to increase the vat… Was the vat properly being charged in the first place.

I wasn’t aware that vat was deducted from pre-paid service until very recently.

14. “The question is since government needed to make legislative changes to increase the vat… Was the vat properly being charged in the first place?”

Hmmmmmmmm

A very interesting question!!!

15. We have been (APP) aptly taxed!! Now apply for a DLP friendship card and get a subsidy or waiver.

16. DLP (ruling party) & the telecommunications monopolies in Barbados continue to use laws & policies that abuse the public for profit.A few examples are given below :
    1) Increase VAT on data.
    2) Some companies ( Digicel) are engaged in blocking apps like ‘Viber ‘.
    3) Increasing data charges.
    4) The placement of an short expiry date on data.
    New technology has made telecommunications significantly cheaper, however, FLOW/ LIME ,& Digicel are fighting to keep an obsolete system to exploit the public.
    The FTC is clueless to the new technology & just willing to maintain the status quo.
    All the above measure have been put in place to ensure that your phone bill is high.

17. “Artaxerxes December 24, 2015 at 12:59 AM #

“The question is since government needed to make legislative changes to increase the vat… Was the vat properly being charged in the first place?”

Hmmmmmmmm

A very interesting question!!!”

No big thing – We have now been conditioned to accept what ever the administration does as correct however incorrect it might be.

18. “said today the $14 million raised annually would be used to fund university scholarships – Barbados Today”

and he forgot to mention The independence election anniversary celebrations

19. @ balance
    The biggest joke of all is that we sit back and take it all in …like true bowls…

Imagine slimey FLOW /SLOW/ WOLF is spending huge sums of money promoting English football in a country that has a national football program….. every damn minute they are promoting english football…. in Barbados….

Imagine the BAJAN press are so pissy and self-depreciating that people like Stetson Babb lowers himself every damn day at 12 noon to ‘interview’ some lame sounding albino from SLIME/FLOW talking shiite about some PR initiative on ‘Network News’ – while providing the WORST service imaginable to customers…
    How can anyone TAKE BABB seriously when he comes later at 12:30 with his ‘this is the latest…’ ? …damn Judas….!!

Then we have the SPORTS reporters, who are the voices of local sport –
    … every damn minute on the radio about ‘Manchester United, ..Liverpool’ and such FOREIGN shiite – like the idiot Ronnie Clarke ALWAYS does….

WHAT MIRROR IMAGE do these unpatriotic media bowls have….?
    What kind of journalist allows themselves AND THEIR REPUTATION to be brought for 20 pieces of shiite silver by foreign mercenaries like SLIME?

Lotta Shiite
    …but then again did the OLYMPIC SPORTS PEOPLE not sell out their awards ceremony to SLIME too…? …and THEY are supposed to be leaders in BARBADOS sport…?
    Perhaps next year we will select an English footballer as sportsman-of-the-year for brassbados….
    …and many bowls would welcome it too…
    Just like we welcomed an international name for our UWI track…

Brass Bowlery Inc.