Submitted by Buddy Cal

west_indies_cricketLuke 13; 7-9. Parable of the fig tree. “Then said he unto the dresser of his vineyard. Behold, three years I come seeking fruit on this fig tree, and find none: cut it down.

[…]

Why cumbereth it the ground? And he answering said unto him. Lord, let it alone this year also, that I shall dig about it and dune it and if it bear fruit well: And if not, then after that thou shalt cut it down.”

I support WICB President Dave Cameron for not allowing the Governments of the Caribbean to dictate to the Board what to do. I have said before that politicians are elected to manage the affairs of countries; keep them out of West Indies cricket.” Reverend Errington Massiah – Weekend Nation Friday Nov27, 2015.

Preacher, I can quote the scriptures also; 1st Kings 21:21. “Behold I will bring evil upon thee and I will take away  thy prosperity, and will cut off from Ahab him that pisseth  against the wall and him that is shut and left in Israel.”

Acts 9:5. “And he said who art thou Lord? And the Lord said. I am Jesus whom thou persecutest; it is hard for thee to kick against the pricks.”

How can the preacher admit that ‘the team is no good’. They have lost more tests than any other team since 1995 when they lost the world championship to Australia. Caribbean Governments are elected by millions of people. The WICB is elected by 14 members.

Yet, despite Caribbean/UWI 2002 cricket conference held at the Cave Hill campus June 2-4 with over 100 delegates drawn from  as far as the US Virgin Islands; the Patterson, Wilkins, and now Barriteau reports , the WICB refuses to implement anything. Furthermore, of the ten test playing grounds , CARICOM governments have built 8 and can’t have a say? Well let the WICB play on their grounds.

88 responses to “Leave Cricket to Players and Board”

1. @ Balance who got carried away and wrote:

“but Government’s efforts to restore cricket as a game of national pride can begin by making cricket a MANDATORY part of the school curriculum.”

Mathematics is a mandatory part of the curriculum but according to UWI there is a crisis in numeracy among Caribbean students. Making something part of curriculum does not lead to competency or success.

Why cricket anyway? Golf is a much bigger sport and ties in with our tourist industry. Only a few Barbadians are interested in standing in the sun for hours at a time playing a game. In fact fewer Barbadians want to stand anywhere doing anything productive other than playing with an electronic device, gossiping and narcissistically looking at their selfies.

2. What is sentiment.

3. Sargeant December 18, 2015 at 1:25 AM #
    I thought that cricket was a grass roots sport. When did that stop?
    Perhaps that is part of the problem

ENJOYED YOUR POST

4. Those of us who went to secondary school in the 60s and 70s would remember that cricket was played during games period.

We also played for our “House” if we were good enough.

Then there was competition among schools.

At Kolij we had Games masters and teachers who could play and coach cricket. Major Headley, Mr Ashby, Colin Martindale come to mind.

I still remember Major Headley to “stop swiping or leave the field. I had just hit a “red top”and he was standing by the canteen.
    So I had to “stan up an bat”.

So Bushie influential adults like you should encourage the administrators to redevelop cricket in schools so de fat children would lose some weight.

5. Sarge

The article below gives credence to your opinion.
    There was a similar article in Cricinfo recently with respect to English cricket
    http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/72418/jeff-broomes-maple-continues-shine

Balance
    some of your suggestions are reasonable

when Barbados cricket is strong west indies cricket is strong

question is how can we possibly make barbados cricket strong again

6. Pleasant memories HANTS
    One remembers fondly the Old boys game and th game vs the Masters
    I think these things became things of the past after co-education–including House cricket

We still have very well organized and coached primary school cricket, but thes days, after common entrance exams I dont know what happens

7. @ Hants and Georgie

Wunnuh Har’son College boys dun know that the ONLY school in Barbados that takes cricket seriously is Combermere. Cricket is “unofficially” a part of the curriculum from first form and we have a cricket coach on staff.

Our students have been excelling at the game from as far back as the “Ronald Tree” tournament.

8. Women teachers HATE cricket …and most other ‘sweaty’ games, and discourage boys from the ‘vile’ practise during school time…(coming back smelling-up the damn classroom…)

…besides who wants to be all sweaty at lunch from cricket …when the boys and gals practising “six-thirty twerking” behind the lab during lunch-time….

If wunna old fellas think playing ‘tag’, or running bout behind a ball, was fun, wunna should visit a school during lunch-break nowadays…

Cricket shiite… 🙂

9. balance December 18, 2015 at 6:43 AM #

Balance, in MY opinion, this is another “top notch” contribution.

10. re he ONLY school in Barbados that takes cricket seriously is Combermere. Cricket is “unofficially” a part of the curriculum from first form and we have a cricket coach on staff.

THE RESULT?
    KRAIGG BRATHWAITHE AND JORDAN WHO PLAYS FOR ENGLAND!!!!!!!!!

SO CAW/MERE PROVES THAT WE CAN STILL PRODUCE WORLD CLASS CRICKETERS!!!!!!!!!
    THIS IS IN ADDITION TO PRODUCING THE PRESIDENT OF GRENADA CRICKET ASSOCIATION DWAYNE GILL

11. @ Artaxerxes, the other secondary schools also produced good cricketers in the “Ronald Tree Cup” era.

12. @ De Word

The reason why I asked if you ever watched cricket in the other islands (and perhaps I should have given much more clarity to my question) was to determine if you ever experienced any insularity.

Let me give you an example. A small of friends used to visit the other islands to watch ODI cricket. I remember watching two weekend ODIs in Grenada and travelling from there on the Monday to watch two ODIs in Trinidad the following weekend. On checking through immigration, a fat “pot bellied” Trini Indian immigration officer asked me the purpose of my visit. Upon I telling him vacation and to watch cricket, he “stupsed” and immediately asked: “Duh aint got cricket in Barbados?”

The seats in the stand we were occupying in Queens Park Oval were numbered and we had tickets with sequential numbers accordingly, so we could sit in a group. When some of the guys and women went to buy refreshments, a Trini Indian and what I believed was his family proceeded to sit in the seats. We told him the seats were occupied and he refused to move, while cussing and asking “Wuh wunna bajans doing ‘bout here?”

This prompted us to call the usher, who then looked at his tickets and told him he had to move because seating was according to ticket numbers. He subsequently moved, but not before telling us how much he resented Bajans.

A similar attitude is exhibited in Barbados, by Barbadians, in response to some act or perceived threat perpetrated by a Guyanese or Jamaican “residing” here. (And I used inverted commas to denote dat a lotta dum does be here illegally).

What amazes me is that I have heard both Jamaicans and Guyanese criticizing Bajans and Barbados, yet they feel it’s their right to live here illegally or they don’t want to leave.

13. @ Hants

Wunnuh hailing fuh wunnuh school, so leh me hail fuh mine too, nuh.

Hahahahaha.

14. The Myrie incident explains the latent insularity at play in the WI.

15. Artaxerxes
    DO YOU KNOW THE NAMES OF THE PLAYERS WHO WON THE DIVISION 1 CUP FOR CAWMERE?

I SUSPECT IT CONTAINED HALL LASHLEY BRANCKER
    WHO ARE THE OTHERS

16. It shocks me how much time we allocate to discussing this old colonial game. I have always argued that our region should cease from playing the long game of cricket and concentrate their efforts on twenty-twenty.

Those individuals who participate in the long form of the game require a certain skill’s set: a high level of self-sacrifice and dedication, a degree of intelligence, an intellectual capacity to comprehend the nature of test cricket and how it is conducted on the field, the ability to stand their ground and fight when all around them are losing their heads.

There was a period in our history when we had the intellectual and emotional intelligence to resist and fight. These traits were not taught they were passed on genetically from generation to generation.

Why should we expect our cricketers to excel in the international arena when our region remains uncompetitive in just about everything?

We should set ourselves goals that are achievable. We are a people who do not believe in the merit of hard work. We like things simple. Hedonism and short term gains are the currency of choice within our region.

Test cricket is a serious business. Let us concentrate all our efforts on the one-day game.

17. @Georgie Porgie
    Combermere won the Division One Cup in 1940 season.
    The team included: Mr Derek Sealy ( West Indies Test cricketer); Charles Alleyne, Frank Thomas, Frank Worrell, Alan Ishmael, Cuthbert O”Brien ” Dolly ” Crick, Harold Brewster (brother – in – law of Frank Worrell ), Mr Stanton Gittens ?, Mr Lionel Gittens, Harry Sealy,
    Browne. Dennis Bowen.

18. Add to the list : Albert Selby; Bob McComie ( younger brother of Val Mc Comie )

19. Exclaimer December 18, 2015 at 3:41 PM #

There is much merit in your argument

re Why should we expect our cricketers to excel in the international arena when our region remains uncompetitive in just about everything?

I THINK YOU HAVE SAID IT ALL HERE. THIS IS THE CRUX OF THE MATTER
    SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED

20. Is this Michael King the King of Stats?

21. @ Michael I. King December 18, 2015 at 3:53 PM

THANKS SIR

BUT WAS THAT THE ONLY TIME THEY WON? I THOUGHT THAT THEY WON AGAIN LATER

WAS THERE NOT A STELLAR TEAM SOME TIME IN THE MIDDLE TO LATE FIFTIES

22. TheGazer (formerly The Observer) Avatar
    TheGazer (formerly The Observer)

@Exclaimer
    Those individuals who participate in the long form of the game require a certain skill’s set: a high level of self-sacrifice and dedication, a degree of intelligence, an intellectual capacity to comprehend the nature of test cricket and how it is conducted on the field, the ability to stand their ground and fight when all around them are losing their heads.

Whoa… wuh u saying? we 3 dum fuh test quicket

23. TheGazer (formerly The Observer) Avatar
    TheGazer (formerly The Observer)

3 dum = too dumb

24. @ David
    @ Georgie Porgie

Another Michael King who played cricket for HC, Barbados Schools ( 1964 – 67 ) and Empire Club.
    Combermere won once. HC won in 1927 and 1930.
    I

25. Michael King who played cricket for HC, Barbados Schools ( 1964 – 67 ) and Empire Club. yOU MEAN THE FORMER AMBASSADOR TO US, AND NOW PS?

26. @ Georgie Porgie.
    Retired two years ago and enjoying a life of leisure and pleasure.

27. CONGRATS MICHAEL ! ALL THE BEST!

28. Another 50 for KB.

29. “Another 50 for KB.”

and to think that KB is a limited player. Blame the board for that too. The players have to step up to the plate and earn their keep when selected.

30. “Those individuals who participate in the long form of the game require a certain skill’s set: a high level of self-sacrifice and dedication, a degree of intelligence, an intellectual capacity to comprehend the nature of test cricket and how it is conducted on the field, the ability to stand their ground and fight when all around them are losing their heads.”

Whoa… wuh u saying? we 3 dum fuh test quicket
    The above comment is fitting and cannot be ignored as a factor which is lacking in the players.

31. @ Artaxerxes at 2:05 PM…re “The reason why I asked …was to determine if you ever experienced any insularity.” Absolutely understood you first up and I was prompted to offer that I saw what you deem ‘insularity’ as competitive spirit and emotion.

The reason I adopt a laissez-faire attitude towards the strident calls of insularity is because it’s really a very simple human emotion to show prejudice or dislike for anything about which you are attached/like. So yes the Trini spectator and immigration officer’s behaviour can be described as insular but no big deal really.

If you were at Inter-school sports these Kolij boys here would have cussed your and your buddies backside wassa if you had told them to move from your designated seating. LOLLLL.

I appreciate, understand and ACCEPT that Trinis or Vincentians etc will diss Bajans and vice-versa but I really don’t stress it. It’s human nature!

@Exclaimer December 18, 2015 at 3:41 PM… You cannot be SERIOUS! So you are suggesting that since that “… period in our history when we had the intellectual and emotional intelligence to resist and fight” we are now no longer capable of achieving same?

Wasn’t the region “uncompetitive in just about everything” at that time as well?

And if “These traits were not taught they were passed on genetically from generation to generation” then how come the DNA transfer has ended?

What exactly are you saying…that we are now too lazy and indifferent to compete intellectually or physically?

Should we therefore also not expect our DOCTORS or LAWYERS or SCIENTISTS or MUSICIANS to excel in the international arena when our region remains uncompetitive in just about everything?

Your statements are difficult to comprehend.

32. RE balance December 18, 2015 at 11:23 PM #

and to think that KB is a limited player.
    IS HE REALLY LIMITED? OR DOES HE LIMIT HIMSELF BECAUSE OF THE TEAM’S NEEDS?
    [I KNOW THAT HE IS CHANDERPAUL-ESQUE}.

TOWARDS THE END OF HIS LAST TEST INNINGS HE WAS SHARING LICKS GOOD AND PROPER

33. De Word

Dem Har’son college boys full uh dem selves… wait, Word, you is a Har’son College boy too?

Lol

34. Georgie Porgie December 18, 2015 at 3:04 PM #

“Artaxerxes: DO YOU KNOW THE NAMES OF THE PLAYERS WHO WON THE DIVISION 1 CUP FOR CAWMERE?”

No I don’t, Georgie…… I would have to check because I was not born or was too young when the school teams played first division cricket. However, I heard that HC was a force to be reckoned with and won the first division a few times.

35. @Bushie, you and this cricket dead ting is showing your age…stop wid that. Fah real.

BTW, the only reason female teachers would be concerned about boys being sweaty after lunch is if they were inclined as scores of these US based teachers seemed to be with an interest in ‘extra-curricula’ sexcapades with the lads. Oh lawd.

But seriously, I can agree that the average lad is not inclined to be sweaty next to a lovely lass…that is a problem; as compared to how most fellas here spent that lunch period.

Anyhow, back to cricket. You have a cell-phone right? Very likely and definitely an I-pad. Do you still have a land-line phone at home…also likely. So Alexander’s famous phone invention is dying – in its original form. But it has exploded beyond wildest expectations with the cell-phone, not so.

A convoluted analogy to say that test cricket lies flat but T20 is exploding the game as never before.

The greatest irony of this entire WICB debacle resonates on the point that WI cricket would have been super dominant if T20 cricket was forged into a popular event during the Lloyd halcyon era.

Back then we made 50-overs our ting and they told us then we were calypso cricketers who did not have the temperament for test cricket. So we won those games in three – four days to show them we had the temperament, intellectually gravitas and skills for that TOO.

Now we are being told the same ‘stupidness’ again. Why do we not understand folly for what it is?

Oh and the land lines will be with us forerver, even as we move to our Dick Tracy wrist phone device era.

So too cricket (TESTS) even as we find innovative ways to swipe at that red-pink-white ball with T-10 or whatever.

36. @ Artaxerxes at 11:57 PM “De Word…Dem Har’son college boys full uh dem selves… wait, Word, you is a Har’son College boy too?” ROFLOLLL….short answer, no!

Oh lawd. Me at Kolij. A few family members went and I grew up wid a bunch of dem HC fellas, but not me boozie. Not bright enough, Dr GP would tell you.

I went to my #1 choice. So I was happy as a lark. It was good enough for me.

37. Artaxerxes December 19, 2015 at 12:03 AM #
    Georgie Porgie December 18, 2015 at 3:04 PM #

“Artaxerxes: DO YOU KNOW THE NAMES OF THE PLAYERS WHO WON THE DIVISION 1 CUP FOR CAWMERE?”

MICHAEL KING HAS GIVEN THE ANSWER ABOVE

I was not born or was too young when the school teams played first division cricket.

WOW YOU ARE YOUNG

However, I heard that HC was a force to be reckoned with and won the first division a few times. YES TWICE AND CAWMRE DID WITH A TEAM THAT INCLUDED A TEST PLAYER WHO WAS A TEACHR AND A YOUNG FRANK WORELL

THE RECORD FOR THE FIRST WICKET IS STILL I THINK HELD BY TH CAWMRE PAIR OF WINSLOW ASHBY AND RICARDO RICHARDS CRAIGG

de Ingrunt Word December 19, 2015 at 12:03 AM #
    @Bushie, you and this cricket dead ting is showing your age…stop wid that. Fah real.

BTW, the only reason female teachers would be concerned about boys being sweaty after lunch is if they were inclined as scores of these US based teachers seemed to be with an interest in ‘extra-curricula’ sexcapades with the lads. Oh lawd.

ACTUALLY BUSHIE IS CORRECT FOR A CHANGE
    WHEN MY SON WENT TO HC IT WAS THE THING FOR BOYS TO CARRY RIGHT GUARD AND THE FEMALE TEACHERS FROWNED ON SWEATY BOYS IN CLASS