AnonymousOne of the most popular profiles on the Internet is ‘Anonymous’  defined as a loosely associated international network of activist and hacktivist entities. […]

Whether you subscribe to their method or not one cannot deny they have been successful in getting their message out to the establishment by being disruptive.

The inability of the establishment to muzzle ‘Anonymous’ is a big part of their effectiveness.

Let BU be clear we hold sacred the right of the citizenry to freedom of expression as a human right, and this is supported in the Constitutions of all democratic systems of government.  However, the imperfect society in which we live where greed and power supersedes the right to do good based on traditional values have forced ordinary citizens to retreat to anonymity to  balance championing personal interest and maintaining themselves and family.

A key plank on which the  idea of a democratic society is built has to be a strong and vibrant mass media offering.  Countless incidents have exposed traditional media for what it is, a slave to the advertising dollar and susceptible to the manipulative practices of the agenda of a politician not always aligned to the interest of ordinary citizens. The betrayal by traditional media has given rise to citizen journalism with the advent of the Internet and ubiquitous access to social media. It has come as no surprise therefore governments have have been trying to impose control on the use of the Internet and social media. When governments use state radio and TV entities to disseminate  propaganda there is hardly a concern that there is hypocrisy being practiced.

It is hardly surprising ordinary citizens would leverage the anonymity social media provides to share opinions and fight causes given the risk to life and limb in the kind of world that exist today. The BU household is aware of the stories of ordinary citizens who have not been able to gain worthwhile employment since this government assumed office. This will repeat if/when another party gains office.

Some prefer to focus on the negatives associated with social media and those who retreat to anonymity to keep the establishment on its toes. Here is a story of the positives associated with assuming anonymity in a corrupted system.

Click to watch a riveting video on how an undercover agent is working to root out corruption in his country.

Here is the link to the story on Aljazeera.

14 responses to “The Undercover Citizen and the Right to Freedom of Expression”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

You Go David…..Go, Anonymous

2. @ the Honorable Blogmaster

You said and de ole man begs your pardon as I expand your quote.

“The betrayal by traditional media has given rise to citizen journalism with the advent of the Internet and ubiquitous access to social media..

..the betrayal by the Office of the Ombudsman, the very party appointed to represent the grievances of the people being himself a lackey of the same parties being investigated…

the rape by our Law Courts through its Registrar …

the collusion among lawyers, most of whom are now on the collective dole, working against the clients from whom they have levied fees…

the constant violation of trust under the banner of the RBPF, our so-called police who, while tasked to “Protect & Serve”, are nothing more than a band of thieves, using the technology of the state, to wiretap citizens of the state, and who when one of their own speaks out will kill their own officers no better than the common crooks themselves…”

Be Vigilant Blogmaster because they, on boths sides of the divide, seek to destroy this last bulwark against institutional anarchy…long may BU reign!!! and de grandson said that he hopes that your ZERO log practices though impossible, keep the “enemy” at bay notwithstanding ” hosting companies taking snapshots of machines (for backup, DDOS purposes, or at the direction of international law enforcement agencies.)

“Je suis Anonymous…” still has to be mindful of Amused’s recent remark about the process of investigating blogs in general.

That “familiarity” with what is not a widely broadcasted process/procedure is a signal that it is being done.

What is ironic is that similar effort is not applied to strengthening transparency, accountability and good governance but, like the Ghanian experience detailed, they are seeking injunctions, international warrants in our own form of TROIKA

3. “Be Vigilant Blogmaster because they, on boths sides of the divide, seek to destroy this last bulwark against institutional anarchy…long may BU reign!!!”

Well said, PUDRYR. It is indeed the last bulwark against the BDLP gangsters. I think you meant institutional tyranny, though. It could eventually lead to anarchy if the masses can take it no more.

4. Freedom of speech in a democracy would always Be Free in a ! No matter what May,,,but the inclination to ABUSE the Freedom would not be tolerated in a democracy

5. “To have a right to do a thing is not at all the same as to be right in doing it.”

G. K Chesterton

BY all means say what you have to say but guided by Truth and Fact and not persuaded by lies and distortion

6. Oh piss off AC

7. Here it is BU has shown why we have seen the growth of citizen journalism in an environment where those with political and economic power seek to control and, with her political slanted eye, come with simplistic bullshit. Always on the side of the politicos whose string is being yanked by others in the shadows. Then there are those of us who have to seek anonymity to help with protecting freedom of expression. We have not even scratched the service yet to compare to what Anas is doing in Ghana.

8. Yes indeed social media has placed itself as a vanguard for advocacy.However for its relevance to be taken seriously and be counted as another arm of journalism there must be a recognition that when all that is said and
    done the quality and not the quanity is what serves the public,s best interest
    Those of us who indulge with such a privileged right must also be consistent in discouraging the demolition of the freedom of expression by the advocacy of truthfulness to those freedoms.or else we fail

9. “…for its relevance to be taken seriously and be counted as another arm of journalism there must be a recognition that when all that is said and done the quality and not the quanity(sic) is what serves the public,s best interest…”
    Shiite AC, …you feeling suicidal or what?
    Are you arguing that you should be banned by David in the public’s best interest then…?

Damn perceptive of you… 🙂

10. Don’t you get it this is not about social media per se but about an alternative avenue to give ordinary citizens a voice that cannot be easily controlled by those with agendas?

11. So then what was your argument on point to be adjoining social media advocacy as a necessary arm to journalism as to give voice to issues not given enough transparency in traditional media
    I do belive that the article tried very hard to sway or convince the reader that social media was indeed doing the job of exposing undercover mischiefs
    Which i find no fault under the right of freedom of speech
    However where i rightfully take pause is to how the information is filtered and by those who are doing the filtering.Meaning that at some point and time there can be errors made with no way of reprisal
    A simple example can be one of a innoncent man being hung

12. BTW since the article has taken the reader down the path of censorship .if my memory serves me correct i do remember Mia Mottley (yes that Mia Mottley the one with the nooze hung around her neck for over exposing her self to be an advocate against freedom of speech) i do remember the tongue lashing she gave to the blogs along with overexposing her hands as an advocate for censorship

13. @ The Blogmaster

I know that you have an article up on this subject matter on the BU site but allow me to post this here. (As many of you know de ole man doan have no original thoughts so I teifing from de internet wid minor changes)

“What Is Defamation?

“The publication or broadcast of any libelous or slanderous statement about an individual or business that can be proven to be false and published with the intention of harming that entity’s reputation is considered to be defamation.”

“Online defamation is the publication of such statements made on any Internet based media including blogs, forums, websites, and even social networking websites. While many Internet users believe that they are free to say and do as they like while on the Internet, this is untrue and the same defamation laws and regulations stand for online defamation as they do in any form of media.”

“Mek you point ole man!!

“The Difficulties With Proving Defamatory Comments”

Now Blogmaster, I would appreciate if you add your expertise on ISP Policies when you see dat de ole man remarks in whu I copy and paste here are wrong.

“Much of the difficulty that surrounds successfully winning an online defamation case, notwithstanding the Barbados Computer Misuse Act 20**, is brought about because the plaintiff must (i) first prove who the publisher or writer of the statement is and (2) that the statement is false and written with the intention of causing damage.”

Now, in another blog here, Amused made oblique reference to the difficulty of authorities going to the Barbados courts and getting a subpoena to force BU to reveal the identity behind the faceless accounts that certain bloggers, not that they have not tried during the reign of Mia Mottley and are not trying during the mismanagement of Adriel Nitwit AG, but there are some issues that besiege their efforts.

Den dere is the layers of Hosting Servers that them got’s to navigate through in various jurisdictions, and the legal processes in each jurisdiction AND UNLESSING it is a matter of national security fuh de authorities in them jurisdictions, nuffin gine happen…

“It is certainly possible to find out the details of a computer that was used to publish a statement or post content.”

However, if (a) it is a PUBLIC computer, then it is almost impossible to narrow down the identity of its user (unless pictures with time stamps, pictures that link the user and the material) are taken by the internet cafe, libraries, businesses, and other public areas where the computer was used or (b) if VPNs (and other tings dat me granson does tell me bout), anonymize de IP pun wunna IPad and cuntputers, authorities will have difficulty affirming that you are the poster

Now by now, after their “cease and desist letters” to BU, they understand that the Barbados RBPF, specifically de CID unit, ent no UK GHCQ so dem now gone to enlist de services uh various local “IT savvy companies” fellows dat pretends dat dem is Cyber Space Dan Gorgons (but Blogmaster you already hardened your WordPress exploits and plugins, you is a boss den!!)

Dis is why de ole man (and udders of wunna supersleuths) cant post pun Nation Newspaper and de BLP websites causing dem gots AWStats or Webalizer, Vivianne and Mia and she peeples keeping visitor logs pun wunna scvunts which with GeoMapLookup and LIME tell dem who wunna is and where wunna scvunts live!!!

The reason that you can post here at BU is (a) he keeps no logs on you (b) he hosts with jurisdictions which don’t give a fart bout Bulbados where the laws concerning ISPs categorically do not considered the ISP to be responsible for the information that their hosted Blogs and their commenters publish online and their courts will not force the ISP or the Blog to remove content from their servers and/or blog and (c) the Blogmaster is driven by “For the cause that lacks assistance, the wrong that needs resistance, for the future in the distance, and the good that (BU) can do…

Fellers like BarbadosToday, Nation News, De Advocate and de rest uh dem does call dem people at LIME, gi dem you IP and whaplax your troll remarks, your IP address and you ID gone down to Adriel Nitwit!! BU dont do dat shy.te

So please, don’t join Kellman nor Mia nor none us dese new political groups webshytes, unless you really infiltrating dem site with software dat does exploit dem Enterprise Vulnerabilities. Imagine dat, spying pun de very peeple dat spying pun you!! Whuloss dat is a sting fuh yah!!!

@ AC (de bright one)

Cud you comment bout dis remark from the Electronic Frontier Foundation

“A speaker or writer should be responsible for his or her words.

A bookstore or newsstand SHOULD NOT BE responsible for the content of what it distributes.”

To simplify it for you dense a.ss self “a lawsuit by the Royal Barbados Police Force, against Roberts Book Store, for Defamation, cause the latter is selling “Boys in Khaki”, jes aint going work in a court of law, but you can axe Caswell and Jeff Cumberbatch bout dat.

Until de nex time den, I remains one of de anonymous? bloggers euphemism for “menses who frighten uh blogging under dem real name, becausing I frighten de big boot men

14. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right December 17, 2015 at 8:55 AM #

@ AC (de bright one)

“A speaker or writer should be responsible for his or her words.( Correct)

A bookstore or newsstand SHOULD NOT BE responsible for the content of what it distributes.”( Not correct)