During the Sunday VOB Brasstacks Program (22 November 2015) the popular and always provocative caller Mr. Anti American launched a broadside on the local media. His intervention triggered […]

a fierce exchange between veteran journalist David Ellis and the youthful and eager Corey Layne. Corey labelled local journalists as lazy, the accusation was not received very well by David Ellis. Was Ellis being his usual provocative self? With him one can NEVER tell!

61 responses to “Local Media Accused of Being Lazy”

1. @ The blogmaster,

This is a very important lecture which may explain why we in the Caribbean hemisphere appear to be so hamstrung in comparison to other regions in the world.

“Juan González on How Puerto Rico’s Economic “Death Spiral” is Tied to Legacy of Colonialism”

http://www.democracynow.org/2015/11/26/juan_gonzalez_on_how_puerto_ricos

2. @exclaimer

Do you view all these vids? The one about the anonymous lawyer in Africa is excellent, will try to highlight it at some point.

3. Now tell me, which media house would carry the audio posted on YouTube under the search “Ralph Gonzales phone sex scandal”?

4. The following article which appeared in the newspaper today too some critique on FB today because it was grossly inaccurate.

So the Nation wants me to believe that 60 aircraft landed or took off every hour for 12 hours on Saturday, from BGI? That’s 720 flights, nah!

Terry Bent's photo.

5. There is a very important line in that newpaper article Blogmaster that is very important.

I had was to use de zoom button to see it cause you know bout ole people eyes dem

“While he could not comment about the movement of passengers between the airport and the seaport (to Carnival Cruises) he said that …”

In short while nuff peeple dem is landing at de airport Loveridge and de udder hoteliers is not getting any uh dese tourists dem becausing dem is “transfers”

Of course dem so called journalists dat report de article did not have anyone at the port to see if de tourists dem was leffing but, as brilliant as dese Carl Moore Investigative jurnalists is, dem rely pun de lying airport manager, de fox, tuh give dem arrival statistics from which we is tuh impute bed nights!!

6. Ha! HA! the misfits have nothing to talk about now so they using the magnifying glass to highlight every mis/spelt our left out word in the media,
    I remember the days when every cock fight and duppy lay low to punch barbados in the eye , now them days are gone and the masters of negativity still laying low hoping that they do not get the shitty end of the stick come next election.

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I personally am not impressed with those calling themselves journalists in Barbados, with the exception of Timmy Slinger, I know nothing about Carl so I cannot comment. However, the journalists are gagged by mean spirited, spiteful minded, small island politics coupled with convenient libel laws to keep them in check, they are mere political tools to be used by political parties fraudulently misrepresenting the real agendas of politicians. Most of them are afraid, given the size of the island and political strangling, they are left with no options. Jounalism in tiny jurisdictions is all a huge joke against the very people it should help.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And the 2 newspapers are so politially corrupt and libel intimidated, that they ought not to even be in existence.

9. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Well Well

“Notwithstanding the libel laws and muzzling of local newspapers, the fact is that the journalists are not only lazy they are inept” if re-written as “Notwithstanding the libel laws and muzzling of local newspapers, the CLAIM is that the journalists are not only lazy, they are inept” conveys two completely different messages.

That singular noun change softens the statement’s contentiousness and increases its “palatability”.

That nuance which my opening paragraph posits for consideration, is not generally taught in schools/university and very few of our journalists have that capacity.

Here is another example for consideration as I await hot Sunday food, and hot food, that I have not had regularly prior to me Madam s return.

“Caribbean Export’s Executive Director Dr. Hamilton is said to be doling out the Direct Assistance Grants Scheme to her friends”

A true journalist could say “Staebrok Newspaper in Guyana in their newspaper article dated such, lays a claim that there is a “selectiveness” associated with the DAGS program at the Caribbean Export Development Agency currently headed by Dr. Pamela Coke Hamilton.”

One is libel while the other is not, one even though true, enjoys the “freedom” afforded by the Digital veil of WordPress while the other requires journalistic skills of fashioning a remark, for national public consumption, which the lazy peeple at the Nation and the advocate, exemplified by what they would proudly call their journalistic equivalent, Pudding And Souse, DO NOT HAVE!!!

10. Does Barbados have Journalists or News Reporters?

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Hants…..They are news reporters….Piece…I see your point, all it takes is a little creativity with word play to dodge the muzzle…yep laziness.