Submitted by Heather Cole of The Barbados Lobby
Heather Cole

On December 16, 1773, there was a political protest in the Boston Harbor by the Sons of Liberty. The protest was simple but yet effective. It was simple because it was the destruction of 342 chests […]

of tea by dumping them into the harbor.

It was effective because it culminated thirteen years of increasing British oppression through taxation on the thirteen seaboard colonies in the USA. It was effective because it was the trigger that led to the American Revolution and ultimately independence from Britain.

Tea was a commodity that was used by the colonist every day and cellphones are now used by the people of Barbados every day. The situation in Barbados is similar, eight years of oppressive taxation with thirty five new taxes to which a VAT of 22% was added on cellphone calls yesterday.

A few weeks ago it seemed to be the eighth wonder of the world when the Minister of Education from out of nowhere informed the nation that cellphones which were previously prohibited would be allowed in schools. It makes one wonder if taxation was the intent that caused the Minister of Education to allow cellphones in schools.

Eventually this taxation crisis in Barbados will lead to a showdown and the cellphone tax may very well be the straw that breaks the proverbial camel’s back. This will only happen if the people believe that the 22% VAT on cellphone calls have violated their rights to speak for as long as they please.

This tax brings into question the extent and legitimacy of Parliament’s authority to infringe on the constitutional rights of the people. Will the next tax be on the air that one breathes? It may very well be if the Cahill Plasma Gasification Plant becomes a reality. If the people abstain from this tax by turning off their cell phone services the tax will not be collected and the government will be the loser. The Government’s solution should be to find projects to earn income and not resort to taxation.

There is a need for an iconic event to change the outlook in Barbados; that will lead to the first Barbados Revolution that changes politics, the government, governance and the mindset of the inertia on the island. As the Sons of Liberty proved, change can only come from the people. One hopes that the imposition of the 22% VAT on cellphones will create the catalyst for change that the island is crying out for.

Defiance and resistance are missing in Barbados. Perhaps we need our Sons of Liberty to prove that a political protest can work. So while the Government is attending all of its pomp and pageantry the people should be having a VAT party. There is no tea but there is an abundance of the sea all around the island. Symbolically, VAT can be dumped into the sea. Why not have a VAT party on November 3oth to let the government know how the people feel.

86 responses to “The Barbados VAT Party”

1. @ millertheanunnaki

In case you have not noticed, the AC consortium has been pushing the agenda that this DLP administration has used ALL the correct policy initiatives to deal with Barbados’ economic issues. Each government minister and senator has said and done everything that is correct as it relates to good governance of this island.

In other words the DLP is PERFECT and cannot do anything that is WRONG. Hence, they deserve to remain in government as long as possible, because they love Barbados. Tufiakwa!

Miller, an informal interrogation of an individual whom you have not informed is a suspect (but is actually a suspect) in a matter, reveals many interesting characteristics of that individual. For example, some people become “over co-operative” in that they go beyond normal limitations to offer assistance. They may also become very defensive depending on the line of questioning, because they assume the investigator is implying they may have knowledge of or committed the offense.
    Others, in the face of overwhelming substantiated evidence, may try to convince the investigator that they are innocent and seek to blame others or that the offence was justifiably committed.

The AC consortium has been trying to convince BU that this DLP administration has done everything that is correct and have exhibited good governance, even though there is an “overwhelming abundance” of evidence which clearly indicates the DEMS have made some significant mistakes.

Do you realize the consortium becomes very defensive and overly aggressive when any contributor provides the necessary evidence which clearly indicates that a particular government policy is unsuitable?
    Do you realize they seek to blame everything or everyone else under the sun for the DLP’s shortcomings rather than accept responsibility?

Notice how the legion has been trying to convince BU the cell phone tax was justifiably imposed on Barbadians, who from August next year can use the savings from electricity bills to pay the additional 4.5%. And to think that the tax will be introduced in January 2016; so what are we going to do for the 7 months (January to July)? Are you not amazed at such folly?

DO YOU THINK IF THE CONSORTIUM ACTUALLY BELIEVED THIS ADMINISTRATION HAS BEEN DOING A GOOD JOB, THEY WOULD COME TO BU TO GO BEYOND NORMAL OR REASONABLE LIMITATIONS TO SUPPORT THE DLP?

It is not BU they are trying to convince, Miller. The consortium is try to CONVINCE THEMSELVES the DLP has been doing a fantastic job.

2. Good morning Sir . I a not trying to convince any one of anything ,However i did produce a necessary solution based on a fact ,A fact which has been transparent in the media, and confirmed by the parties involved with one of the many ongoing energy project which they have stated via media would be an energy saving to the govt and people of barbados.(10million dollars annually )
    Sir please do not be driven down the foolish path of my friend miller who hates to see any govt program with great potential to be of benefit to people and country,
    My only need to engaged on this subject was solely to dispute what the article explicitly want Barbadians to believe a public Right to speak on their cell phone is a Guaranteed Right which in Fact and TRUTH is another BLP Untruth of biblical proportions which should be called into question.

3. Heather Cole et al have only found their voices since the DLP came to office. when OSA and the Bees were running amok in this island not a word from these sanctimonious self-opiniated righteous so-called Bajans. I have never supported any political party in this island per se, but the wickedness and deceitfulness of Heather Cole et al will compel me not just to vote for the Dems but also to canvass fo rthem and to help finance their campaigns.

let us look at this cell phone tax matter. First off it was a nasty piece of deceitfulness to say that the GOB has imposed a VAT of 22% on cell phones. It is an increase from 17.5% to 22% (4.5% more or a 25% increase in VAT or if your basic bill is $100 you will now pay $4.5 more per month or 15 cents per day). is that a matter that merits public demonstration? For the love of God people this is principally discretion spending here. Each one of us can reduce our usage a bit to keep within budget and not compromise on communication effect.

Secondly, Bajans complain about high levels of taxation. let me tell all of wunnah something – in the USA my tax rates are similar to those in Barbados but I have to pay for my children’s education, my health insurance bill is USD $575 per month for a family of 4 and that is subsidize by my employer.

When I look at the amount of services the GOB provides for the people of Barbados vis a vis what is paid in taxes Bajans should complain less. We allow a few politically mischievous misfits to come on this blog site, led by one David King, to tell lies and seek to stir up mischief.

When OSA and the Bees had money galore they should have restructured the Barbados economy. but no, they went wild with the spending. the Dems have come in and had to address some structural deficiencies in the system like a bloated public service, unsustainable education and healthcare costs and bad governance structures whilst faced with the worst global recession known to mankind.

And as a nation we have not faired too badly.

All of a sudden the Coles et al want to talk about corruption and transparency, implying that the Dems are a bunch of crooks and misfits. Why is there still a feeling that only intelligent people are in the BLP. is it because the Dems have been seen more as a party of the masses. Stop the bullshit people. The Dems today as of yesterday are bright men and women and can hold their own anywhere in the world. Stop the subliminal snobbish behaviour Ms. Cole

I see Ms Cole and a bunch of pale skinned Bajans and foreigners on and on about Cahill and saying some nasty things about DLP Ministers. You go to facebook and you realize that most of them are close friends with the BLP folks. This is not about love of country as some make it out to be. it is about destabalizing the Government of the day to get their BLP friends back in office.

What is most nauseating about the whole matter is that the critics just criticize but offer no damn alternatives. heather Cole et al – you think all o we stupid. Bring some alternative views.

Tell us how to pay for University education for all Bajans. Tell us how to pay for developed countries health care systems with the limited resources. Tell us how to pave every road in each constituency with the taxes Bajans pay.

Meanwhile tell us that the increase in tourist arrivals are due to Mia Mottley and not Richard Sealy. tell us that getting the fiscal deficit down from 125 to 6% is as a result of ignorant Ryan Straughan who professed not to be political whilst cursing the DLP as President of the BES. Tell us that the lower cement prices today at the cusp of an increase in construction is due to Glyne Clarke and not fearless Donville Inniss. Tell us that renewable energy policies are due to Dale Marshall and not Darcy Boyce.

I could go on and on but you get the point.

All is not well in Barbados, but it as much to do with a selfish bunch of political clowns masquerading with intellectual garbage in the name of the BLP as it is to do with FS et al. It is time that some of you genuinely put country first. and that includes you David King – a faceless, weak person who can find nothing good happening in Barbados. I will take you guys on one by one or collectively. You will not destroy Barbados with your nasty propaganda.

4. @Deflon

Spoken like a true MoF.

5. At least one Caribbean court case has been won partly on the basis of the right to communicate and access to communication. It was in Dominica and was brought by a company called Marpin. When Margaret Thatcher introduced the Poll tax which included students in Britain like myself some Brits referred to it as a tax on air. So some taxes may be seen as counter the citizen’s constitutional rights.

6. I find it interesting that people hide or are allowed to hide behind pseudonyms and attack others in the most vicious way. I am neither Bee nor Dee but taxes and the types of taxes are matters worthy of discussion. When you are not working or receiving a steady income of course increased and current taxes matter. We can only cut back so much. Which is why I don’t tale cost of living figures too seriously when I read the retail price Index is down because one has to look at the impact and the extent to which there has been declining purchasing power since 2007-2008. The fact is we have high taxation and it is increasing. I could be wrong but it appears to be more people are living in poverty. I don’t mind is some calls me a misfit because they do not pay my bills but it would be the decent thing to know the name and face of the accuser. Just in case I bump into him or her on broad Street.

7. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Hallam

One the one hand your impassioned plea about disclosing one’s name on the blog seems reasonable but look at the other side of this coin just a second.

Let us just supposed in your logical reasoning you say something that offends the minister of Finance or the Minister of Labour.

So for example you said “…The fact is we have high taxation and it is increasing. I could be wrong but it appears to be more people are living in poverty…”

Now suppose that the MoF is Deflon and that he returns to this site tomorrow, as is customary, and encourages Minister Suckoo to come here and he interprets you to be saying (i) that he is a harsh minister imposing taxes and is responsible for the general malaise in businesses and lack of spending and BCCI gloom and (ii) she extrapolates on your comment and says Hallam is saying that unemployment is 30% in Barbados.

Suppose that thereafter they then decide that they are going to get back at you for your mouth, as they are normally driven to do, and since Dorothy has passed, may she rest in peace and Kenneth is out of their reach, but that Donna or Gina are working at their respective ministries, and seeking appointments, and while they cannot get at you personally, they are going to make you pay for your mouth by taking it out on them, do you think that it makes sense to be as outspoken as you have always been, while using your real real name?

It might seem like guerilla tactics to come and talk powerful and effect character assassinations but the unfortunate fact is that we live in a state which has long been a place where we have few liberties and each day, those that we think we have are slowly slipping away in front our very eyes.

Very few are like you, Caswell Franklyn, Jeff Cumberbatch or William Skinner etc, to (i) dare to say that they have come to BU and (ii) after coming to BU (iii) state their real names and then more specifically (iv) state clearly and unambiguously an opinion which may be controversial.

Dorothy and Kenneth raised you, and all of your sisters, to be men and women and speak your minds but as big as your balls are you know full well that, if you are seen to be the Toussaint L’Ouverture of the people, dem going pull a “Fort de Joux” on your Black Napoleon A.ss and left you to wallow away somewhere on the landscape of this Piece uh De Rock Yeah Right (that we get promised and get tricked by de negrocrats and de pale faces dat Deflon talking bout – but wait en Deflon supposed to be a big up negrocrat heself?)

8. Everything this govt has done so far to benefit of the people and country, The BLP misfits have tried very hard to throw cold water over, That is the only kind of alternatives the BLP brigade lead by a indecisive leader has to offer barbados,
    One would be amazed if in the coming two years the leadership has or find something of value to bring to the table beside Doom and Gloom
    Their recitations have got them no where .which also reminds me of the govt sale on bonds that was the big slice of cake that the almost choke the BLP footsoldiers Never in their wildest dreams were they prepared to see the large volmues of purchase which the public bought with rapid space and ease
    Never in their wildest dreams did the footsoldiers expect that Barbadians would have sufficient TRUST in govt to ensure that in a five year period the govt would fulfill its promise on the rate of return on the bonds
    That was a shocker which sent shock waves through the BLP camp and a signal of confidence given by the people of barbados to the govt,
    A shocker which will remain in the footsoldiers memory as a constant reminder that the people of Barbados would not be fooled by political propaganda and yardfowl politics

9. @Hallam

Welcome old school mate of mine……I see that you have been duly warned to keep your head below the parapet………no wonder another alumnus refers to Bim as country of brass bowls whilst keeping his nom de plume.

Remember Mr Lopey’s immortal words…..Despite my age I fear no man attack and I shall defend…..that was the Bim we grew up in.

I can but chuckle,when on here a clamour exists for change not realising that change is about fearlesly standing up for your beliefs irregardless as to where it leads.

10. Deflon November 30, 2015 at 1:12 AM #

People like wunnuh so does cuss Barbados Underground, yet wunnuh does still log on to read the articles and corresponding comments. Yuh like yuh cahn help yuh self, or wuh?

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Vincent Haynes November 30, 2015 at 7:34 AM
    “Remember Mr Lopey’s immortal words…..Despite my age I fear no man attack and I shall defend…..that was the Bim we grew up in.”

V H, you are revealing your age. What a character of a teacher Mr. Lopey was! In the same ‘comical’ vein as Rubber Nut Thorne with his famous “Who is that shouting some one?” Mayers, Husbands, Jessamy & Millington were the chief harmless miscreants for teasing poor Rubber Nut.

12. @millertheanunnaki November 30, 2015 at 8:56 AM #

Chuckle…..I am of the days when the late “Sippy”Corbin crawled up to Mr Thorne and wrote rubber on one shoe and nut on the other shoe as he was teaching maths to the form of which I was part of and he never noticed or said anything about it later.

13. @Hallam, your concerns about bloggers hiding and using some very salty language to describe others is understandable. You are (were???) a journalist and your word is your bond. You cannot be salty or even be inaccurate in your statements or your competence, ethics etc are called into question. That obviously is not what drives the average blogger

But I would ask you when was the fist time you heard the word ‘rashle’ or ‘f***ing kiss-m-a-johnny’ used to vociferously and viciously attack a neighbor, workmate or some random person. And if per chance you never experienced that then I recommend the BU Jokes corner and search for an audio piece between a person identified as a Police officer and a Bajan citizen. That is salty.

It is exactly the way many Bajans express themselves daily in BIM. Not the less being our political elite who on occasion season their platforms or branch meeting comments with a lot of salt.

I think we should only be really concerned about speech when persons are actually making threatening remarks.

And what about your ANONYMOUS sources? … Almost goosey and gandery, not so!

Let’s be real, blogging invective might be unmannerly and in poor taste but that’s a reality of society and more important anonymity definitely has its place in any society…

You and your fellow journalist Carl Moore are quibbling around the edges and both of you should know only too well that this is not wise because if anonymity is stopped here the end result of such a campaign would completely chill the ability for professional journalists to earn a living.

14. To hear adults excuse filthy language is another reas o n society is in social decay

15. @the illiterate

Let’s be real, blogging invective might be unmannerly and in poor taste but that’s a reality of society and more important anonymity definitely has its place in any society…

16. @Deflon it is a matter of perspective. To you it is propaganda but to others it is the blind truth. I am here to educate the people, to cause them to think and not accept everything without questioning it. I want to inspire them to seek change, to be the building blocks for future generations of Barbados. I am determined to achieve this. I have only just begun so stay tuned.

17. @Heather ..Alright lol

18. Yes Dread!

19. Heather November 30, 2015 at 10:54 AM #

“@Deflon it is a matter of perspective. To you it is propaganda but to others it is the blind truth. I am here to educate the people, to cause them to think and not accept everything without questioning it.”

Keep up the good work, Heather. Continue “inspiring (us) to seek change (and) to be the building blocks for future generations of Barbados.”

The DLP’s apologists, sympathizers, supporters and members would want right thinking Barbadians to remain silent at what has been occurring in this island under their watch, while making remarks such as: some people “have only found their voices since the DLP came to office,” because people choose to be openly critical of any policy initiative that affects them.

What people like this Deflon character purposely forget is that during the 2008 election campaign, the DLP highlighted a number of “inadequacies” in the governance practices of the previous BLP administration and emphasized: “There is therefore a need to clean up politics in Barbados.”

They even dedicated 3 pages of their 2008 manifesto, under the heading “Good Governance,” to outline and explain what policies they intended to implement to return transparency and accountability into Barbadian politics.

Ironically, on page 46 of their 2008 manifesto, the DEMS wrote:

“AT THE MOMENT TOO MANY BARBADIANS PERCEIVE VOTING AS A WASTE OF TIME SINCE MANY PARLIAMENTARIANS HAVE MADE PROMISES DURING THE ELECTION CAMPAIGNS, WHICH THEY HAVE NOT DELIVERED. THEY HAVE SUBSEQUENTLY MADE THEMSELVES INACCESSIBLE and BECOME UNRESPONSIVE to the NEEDS of THEIR CONSTITUENTS. Very few people outside political cliques want to pursue a career in politics, for a variety of unflattering reasons.”

“Good Governance ASSURES THAT CORRUPTION IS MINIMIZED, the views of the people are taken into account and that the voices of the most vulnerable members of society are heard in decision-making. It is also responsive to the present and future needs of society. Barbados needs Good Governance now like it never has before.”

The DEMS promised to introduce ITAL immediately upon being elected to form the government after the 2008 general elections. Unfortunately, 7 ½ years later, the only reference made about ITAL comes from the mouths of Rastas, who refer to fruits as “ital.”

There is no difference between what the DEMS said occurred during the 14 year period under the BLP and what has occurred during the past 7 years, 11 months under this DLP administration.

When “the voices of the most vulnerable members of society are heard,” you can expect a response from the DEMS similar to that of Deflon. You are called “sanctimonious self-opinioned righteous so-called Bajans,” or “wicked and deceitful.”

The STATUS QUO remains the same.

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Deflon November 30, 2015 at 1:12 AM #
    “let us look at this cell phone tax matter. First off it was a nasty piece of deceitfulness to say that the GOB has imposed a VAT of 22% on cell phones. It is an increase from 17.5% to 22% (4.5% more or a 25% increase in VAT…”

No , no Deflon! You got it wrong here. People are not against the cell-phone tax. They are justifiably critical of your administration’s feckless inability to implement a tax proposed and approved by Parliament since 2009 or thereabout. You ought to be concerned about such unacceptable level of ministerial incompetence and blatant absence of imagination, commonsense and simple technical know-how.

“When I look at the amount of services the GOB provides for the people of Barbados vis a vis what is paid in taxes Bajans should complain less. We allow a few politically mischievous misfits to come on this blog site, led by one David King, to tell lies and seek to stir up mischief.”

How can this be? A government providing more services whose costs are greater than it (the same government) collects in taxes to cover the costs? Oh, yes, by borrowing! And who has to service and pay back these loans? The politicians? Or the people through taxes? What specious reasoning from a financial wizard of the asinine variety!

“When OSA and the Bees had money galore they should have restructured the Barbados economy. but no, they went wild with the spending. the Dems have come in and had to address some structural deficiencies in the system like a bloated public service, unsustainable education and healthcare costs and bad governance structures whilst faced with the worst global recession known to mankind.”

And this is the “most” unkindest cut of all.
    How then can you in your right mind, like a drowning man clutching at a straw, turn to OSA for help in saving the economy from greater disaster. How can the architect of a badly designed house be the engineer of its reconstruction? Isn’t OSA the paro economist the devil behind the current government’s junk bond printing press?

Don’t you think it’s time you put to rest the international recession bogeyman? Why not refer to it as the Great Bajan Depression?
    But there is light at the end of the economic tunnel. It’s raining pennies of tourists from European heaven thanks to Minister Sealy and his band of mercurial miracle workers performing wonders that other Caribbean destinations have not been that blessed to witness.

21. Deflon
    Maybe you have not been a witness to the destruction of the Barbados economy at the hands of the three senior misfits on this DLP government,namely Stuart,Sinckler and Worrell,and make the kind of statements you did and expect the support of the majority Bajan electorate.Most if not all of the 70% contras(those who did not vote for the present Government)would not support your inept defense of this administration.Folk such as you are blinded by the benefits you or some relative receive as a member of the Fatted Calf Brigade so for you this rotten government cannot see that it should set an example and demand more productivity from its cabinet by drastically reducing its size.Pray tell,why so many ministers and parliamentary secretaries.What is your level of borrowing NIS funds now 1.5 million per day?

22. LOL
    It seems that some of these DLP people are not just incompetent…. but downright dumb enough NOT to see the shiite that they have dumped our asses into….

Seriously…. this Deflon fella almost repeated a speech made by Stinkliar made last week during debate on the legislation designed to ban poor people from earning overtime.
    Apparently, we are lucky to be so well off….compared to the USE, Canada and UK – who pay more taxes etc

Wait…. don’t those people OWN their OWN banks, utilities, stores, hotels etc?
    ….don’t they CONTROL their own destinies …and even those of other brass bowls like us?
    …. do these people have to beg at the table of FOREIGNERS for a little employment?
    …. can ANYONE just go and buy their companies in Canada? ..like the Canadians can ours..?

THIS is why these DANM people pay taxes …. for self respect, enfranchisement, dignity…
    Why are WE paying at the same damn level TO BE SLAVES /BEGGERS /LACKIES…?
    They pay for LEADERSHIP…
    Why are we paying..? For Leader’s shit?

This deflon person must be blind deaf and DUMB as shiite yuh….

@ Hallam
    Look boss…. don;t come with that name shiite now like Moore yuh…. You may be looking to make a name fuh yourself – good promotion for your business eh? …as they say in PR … all exposure can become good PR….
    …but some of us have no such interests…

If Carl Moore was as smart as his cousin, he would have realised by now, that Bushie was making the point that..JUST BECAUSE HE USE HIS ID, it becomes possible -indeed EASY, to distract from ANYTHING that he says – by just using some some personal information like his relationship to Ossie.
    If he had used a pseudonym then bushie would have been FORCED to respond to his LOGIC….
    This business of using your name is reserved for REAL men like Caswell, Jeff, Loveridge etc who can stand the test of SCRUTINY… not for mock men who just have good ideas / news to share…

So you don’t come with that same shiite… cause as Lopey would say in response to unsolicited answers from know-it-alls like Vincent to questions asked of others….

Despite my age, I fear no man
    attacked, I will defend
    I know the village you are from..
    Its a dirty village…
    YOU are a wuffless fellow..
    You do NOT know it..
    SIT DOWN!

up and on…

23. “And beginning around August next year Barbadians would see a drastic reduction in electric bills in part due to the initiative plans by Erma [Emera] in correlation to govt energy policies towards energy saving. With those plans becoming a reality would it be not be of a sufficient saving cost to households who then can use the monetary benefits from the energy savings towards the cellphone vat.”

What a load of shiite!! Wuh part dese idiots went school?

People are hurting from being over taxed and some idiot wrote people could pay the additional 4.5% from the savings they will benefit from electricity bills.

“Everything this govt has done so far to benefit of the people and country……..”

Nuff more shiite!!!!

Steve Blackett said the Constituency Councils are “cash strapped” and he wants to ask for additional funds in the next Estimates. It seems government is looking for ways to finance their source of distribution of the fatted calf.

Yet, as Minister of Social Care, I have not heard him express disappointment at the NIS back log of 20,000 people who cannot receive their sickness, unemployment or maternity benefits; those individuals who are awaiting their reverse tax credits, income tax and VAT refunds since 2010; and the former Beautify Barbados employees who are yet to receive their severance more than one year after being retrenched.

24. “Tanzania’s newly elected president, nicknamed “the bulldozer”, has become a Twitter sensation across Africa after introducing radical government cost-cutting measures.

Immediately after his inauguration, John Magufuli scrapped independence celebrations, choosing instead to spend money on sanitation, fighting cholera and new beds and equipment for hospitals.

John Magufuli winning the vote in early November.”

25. “Declaring it shameful to be “spending huge amounts of money to celebrate 54 years of independence when our people are dying of cholera”, Magufuli said that on independence day, every household will be required to participate in a nationwide cleanup campaign.

A state dinner for the official opening of the country’s parliament, for example, was going to cost 300m Tanzanian shillings (£92,500). Magufuli slashed the budget to 25m and ordered that the rest of the money be used to buy 300 hospital beds and 600 sheets.

Other austerity measures include a moratorium on foreign travel, meaning no more first-class tickets for government officials (with the exception of the president, vice-president, and prime minister) or expensive hotels and cars. Lavish cocktail parties and dinners hosted by public institutions have also been cut back.

The president has also prohibited public officials from sending Christmas and New Year cards from the government’s budget. The funds set aside for the printing of these cards will instead be used to pay off government debts. Another bold move was that, instead of sponsoring the annual World Aids Day exhibition, the money budgeted for the event will be used to buy drugs for HIV patients.’

26. @ Susan
    But if Froon did that shiite what would be the point of being in ‘power’?
    You did not hear about the “fatted calf” plan…?

Shiite den… living large is our government’s whole raison d’être…..
    Which is why they are happy to sell every shiite they came and found…and borrow every cent possible …so that they can afford the luxuries of ‘power’…..

Wait till the 50th anniversary shiite starts ….and the Repub-a-lick….

27. #WhatWouldFreundelStuartDo

28. @Deflon…Do we need to remind you and the others around you that it is you guys who have the people you referred to as pale skin living the hog right now. It is you guys that have given all of of the contracts to a select few of the pale skins and long term leases. Pay them 30m for the high rise buildings at the Grotto. It is you guys who have given them the cheap long term leases on hotels and the oil company for spit. The concessions on the St.Peter Marina and we can go on and on about the significant amounts that you and your cronies have allowed to be dished out obviously for your cuts at the expense of poor Barbadians.
    You are used to cursing women so it is surprising that she hasn’t been called a BARE POOCH cat without the whiskers.
    Every single one of you guys have betrayed the trust of Barbadoans and are now the beneficiaries of the most expensive houses and cars,biggest bank accounts, ZR vans,rental properties and the list goes on.
    The new van stand is now being realized since the current man in charge of them have bought four to date and have them on Silver Sands route. You guys are the worst thing that ever happened to Narbados and the electorate will deal with you all accordingly.
    The no reputation company Cahill is a classic opportunity to engage in massive corruption obviously why you guys chose them. You would be in full control of the money and how it is spent..
    Like the former leader many of you will not get a chance to enjoy your ill gotten gains. .

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bajan boy. December 1, 2015 at 7:13 PM

The TRUTH always hurt the guilty.
    Expect a few markdowns to your sterling observations above.

30. When professionals do not pay their share of taxes, the remainder of us pay more because of Government’s efforts to make up the shortfall through increased taxation. The doctors should pay their taxes and comply.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/75259/docs-hot-bra-request

31. Some tough questions

The changing of the season is signaled by the migration of animals or birds. Has there been a change of season in Barbados for expatriates?

My mother bought a home with the intention of returning to Barbados. After unpleasant dealings with neighbors and home repair men and she decided to sell. She managed to recoup a large portion of the sales price from the lawyer, but not all. The BA is a joke. She has no plans of returning to England and is now looking for a place in the US.

Calling to inquire about a home in Barbados can put the listed price of the house up by tens of thousands of dollars (I blame caller ID). I am fast approaching the age where I plan to retire and put my two feet up in the air somewhere in the US.

I read postings of Bajans who seem contented to visit, but seem to prefer living in the US or Canada.

Is this a trend? Are expatriates voting with their feet as they choose to find a place elsewhere?

Once it was the dream to go overseas, make a few bucks and return to the island and live in comfort. Is this dream dead? Is the island too expensive (land, house, doing business), even for expatriates? Is there too much trickery in the island?

Magazines touting places to retire seldom (if ever) list Barbados as one of those places. Why?

These are the type of questions that need to be addressed by those in power as they scour North America and Europe to raise cash. Expatriates will be cautious about doing business or investing in a place where the populace think they are idiots because they boarded a plane or a boat.

32. In the US we sometimes refer to a telling of an incident as anecdotal. Don’t let the anecdote become the full story.

33. Violet C Beckles Avatar

More VAT to come, more pain to come , more Long talking and not looking at the roots of land Fraud , PONZI , corruption , laundering of drug money, Bank money , white mans money all fair game in Barbados ,Every branch of government is the TAKE , TAKEN and TAKING, Police, Lawyers, Judges on the Bench and in Bed with each other , Same Blood line, Same DNA of crooks liars and scumbags, Headed by a bunch of White Niggers of the DBLP government in a world wide crime Family running the country in the stones of the land, 22% cant done, 29 to 33 is the gold to reach , 22 % is 25 % we can not make change in Barbados we have No , CENTS,PENNY, THE MOF DID NOT put it at 20 where there are 5 cents or nickels , rounded off up and not down all other is at 20 for there is no 17.5% so we dealing with 20 and 25 % VAT…more vat of 25 % will go to water , light , gas, and every thing at SLIME-FLOW, inter net, TV and CELL phone where you all are being SELL out and SOLD like slave to the PIMPS, Bajans wake up stop being NIGGERS AND WAKE UP IN YOUR OWN COUNTRY,

34. @TheGazer December 6, 2015 at 9:46 AM #

Sad to say that your conclusion is correct.

35. News from Trinbadus

“Trinidadians dominated this year’s full Barbados Marathon Race.”

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/12/06/tt-athlete-wins-run-barbados-marathon/

36. This article was carried in today’s Barbados Today on page 16 entitled This Barbados Vat Party. The last paragraph was changed to the controversal throwing the cell phones into the sea.