Parody submitted by Douglas
Jerome Walcott BLP candidate

Good evening, Members of parliament, former members of Cabinet, members, friends of mine, friends of Arthur, friends of the Men’s Club, Diplomats, media, family and Maria Agard.

[…]

I gave that introduction to set the tone for my speech as very often in making deliveries people accuse me of rambling.  So today, I have scripted all my thoughts and clearly set out my delivery.

My opening remarks reflect the reality of this great party.  We don’t want to admit, including me, that we are more divided than we ever were under any former leader.  For that, I accept full responsibility.  My charge as leader was to prepare this party for the reins of government at the next election. To date, all I have achieved – without the support of a particular group of four selfish members of Parliament – is to take to the highways and byways to deliver the message of MIA.

Members, I have tried to include everyone in my Rubbing Shoulders and People’s Assemblies. I have taken to the skies and exchanged greetings with many living overseas. I have reached out to the media houses gathered here today in an effort to be as open as possible. We even followed suit and started our conference on the day before with the gala evening as the Democratic Labour Party has been doing.  It does not matter whose idea it was, once it good, I taking it!

I took the relatively easy decision to have nomination meetings on Thursdays so this Party and ME can get Friday coverage in the dailies. I also decided I would speak to you on Saturday because I think Sunday coverage is important for me.  Members, it may seem as if all of the spotlight is on me as leader but no one complained when it was on Arthur. I even agreed to use his face on the front of our manifestos so we could romp home to victory and we did. I put it to you this evening, that if you allow me the same latitude as we did Arthur, I will also deliver this party out of the wilderness.

I must say though, I am severely challenged by the possibilities of the influence the former chairman has over this party. Remember, I said this address was scripted so I am very aware of what I am saying. This is not an attack on the good gentle man or his office. Jerome Walcott, is a hard working political soldier of this party. I have defended him on several occasions in the past.

These criticisms were often levelled against his political acumen in the riding in Christ Church South. Jerome inherited a relatively safe seat in the eyes of the political pundits and gave it away to the Dems. For that, I forgave him and defended him. This evening, I am publicly calling on Jerome to stand next to me and help me lead this party to government and I am saying here tonight that once he does that he will be taken care off! Members, I am asking you to trust me in this regard. I am also giving you the assurance that all of you sitting here will also be taken care off.

I will leave no one behind …except Maria Agard. Members, I cannot lie, Maria has caused my efforts much embarrassment and this party. Can you imagine after all the work I put in she will publicly say what she says and then do full spreads in the social media. This evening is a funny evening!  I wrote this speech with a deep sense of renewal and focus. My words are not mixed. I have forgiven all the bandits who went public and online and gave her support.  I can’t blame all of you for this but I can blame the person that started it.

I am aware of the whisper campaign in relations to my public actions in 2011. Members be fair to me what I did in 2011 can’t be compared to what Maria is doing. People are saying I went on the call in programmes and aired my concerns why can’t Maria do the same?  I wrote a letter dated September 19th 2011 of which I have a copy here this evening. I am not hiding anything! All of you here with this letter thinking you will prosecute me…Good luck!

My reasons for behaving and acting in the manner are a matter of public record. I will repeat again what happened in 2011. A vote was not taken but yet this party was advertising and announcing an “INCOMING CHAIRMAN”.  Added to that I said on page two of my letter:   “We must quell all other attempts to secure the domination by a few to the detriment of the majority. For we must ask ourselves, after the women and young people who will be next in the line of attack? Why is one-man one vote so threatening to the leadership a modern democratic Party?”

Members I was in a struggle to survive as future leader and I am asking Please don’t hold that against me as my efforts paid off.  Today I address you as leader!
If this party is to remain relevant it must understand all must have a voice and that no one person looms large. Members, in closing, as I will address you again remember, I Mia Amor Mottley will not leave anyone behind except Maria!

45 responses to “Mottley’s Address to the BLP or What is left of it”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Seems like Hilary Clinton, she ain’t ready yet and I have a real problem with Jerome Walcott, PeterbHarris’ business partner and a sitting director at Bayview Hospital, too much conflict of interest and continued subtle brutality directed at the people of Barbados.

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

That would be Jerome Walcott, Peter Harris’ business partner and a sitting director at Bayview Hospital… Had to make that very clear.

3. A tongue in cheek commentary but is very real to being one of truth.
    Mia has lost the control and respect that OSA had when he was leader of the BLP, Quite noticeably is her silence on the many issues which she bandied about during her notorious marches in the her early days of redeveloping the party
    As one watches the bickering within the party there is without doubt that Mia is sending a clear message to the OSA die hard supporters that she possessed the where withal to be strong and resolute in making hard decisions even if it means losing a few of her loyal supporters
    Although it might seem strange to some that Mia would take a calculated risk by ousting Agard it could also be a ver clever move that add gains rather than rejection from the loyal followers of OSA who seemed to have been mummed on the happenings but are ever so watchful and keen on the out come .
    Makes one wonder if OSA influence even by symbolic gesture still is alive and well within the party and a card which MIa proposes to play in a timely fashion

4. This piss poor opposition leader is showing everyone who would listen that if she ever gets her hands on ultimate political power it will be ANIMAL FARM around here for her and her cronies. A self promoting megalomaniac who will use every opportunity to try to promote herself and inject cheap politics even trying to use the rainfall effects in Dominica to play politics when there was clearly no need to. She could not resist.

5. Elements of the Mottley campaign for power include:
    The attempts of Peter Wickham to use Brass Tacks as his weekly Mia Mottley campaign promotion show.

Her mouthpieces who write weekly letters in the papers on her behalf like Heather Cole and E. Jerome Davis.

The NEW executive council of the NUPW who were bought and paid for including the council member who is seeking the BLP nomination to run in St. John.

Ryan Straughn who was “planted” in the BEC and on Brass Tacks pretending to give independent non partisan economic analysis when he was on political trip spinning from day one.

Both Straughn and Marsha Hinds – Layne ended up writing for on line paper Barbados Today and both subsequently are now seeking BLP nominations to run in the next election while they used their writings to push the same party for which they now are trying to run.

Harry Russell and Tennyson Joseph – political writers who appeared at Mottley’s so called People Assemblies and are weekly doing Mottley’s bidding in their writings.

In all this you will not hear Mottley outline any specific policy objectives that will call for any political sacrifice- no – Peter Wickham has admitted on Brass Tacks that he will advise her to just sit back and cuss the government everyday and then she can waltz right into Illaro Court while she keeps the attacks on Chris and Freundel blaming them for everything from lack of rainfall to the man who snatches a purse while never giving any credit for anything positive. Peter Wickham is not God- he was wrong before. Keep up the campaigning Peter but Bajans will vote for who we want and not who you tell us to.

6. The present political administration will go down as the poorest in living memory. That is not in dispute. That should be enough to see them leave office whenever elections are called. But things are never that simple. First of all this opposition is numerically the strongest but in terms of output, it is the poorest opposition anywhere in the free world. That alone would give the DLP a fighting chance. And if you compare leaders, even with Freundel’s obvious shortcomings Mia has shown that she is no match for him.

The Opposition has not shown that it is a credible alternative government. It things start to turn around in the economy people might very well stick with the devil they know rather than risk their lives in the hands of a fractious BLP.

I’ve said all that to say that Mia, as leader of the BLP, is the DLP best chance of staying in office.

7. @David,

“…I am saying here tonight that once he does that he will be taken care off! Members, I am asking you to trust me in this regard. I am also giving you the assurance that all of you sitting here will also be taken care off….”

Seems very much like David Thompson’s much maligned (by BLP YARD DUCKS) fatted calf speech, don’t you think? Should she win the government then the same thing they are arguing against in politics will continue unabated.
    Y

8. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I told you that he is an idiot. He really believed that speech to be Mia’s. As Bushie would say, Oh shirt!

9. @Caswell,

I agree wit you. I am an idiot. I should pay closer attention to who the story is submitted by, but when i see the Headline of the Blog, and read the contents I concluded it was factual, since i am not there to verify what is going on. I know there is confusion in the BLP over the Maria Agard situation, so when I read things like “…Members, I am asking you to trust me in this regard. I am also giving you the assurance that all of you sitting here will also be taken care off.

I will leave no one behind …except Maria Agard. Members, I cannot lie, Maria has caused my efforts much embarrassment and this party. …”
    I take it on face value. Like a lot of other things posted on BU as factual. However after I read your submission I went back to the source of the posting,and saw that it was a “parody”. It is no excuse, but the font was so small that I missed it. I erred in not paying close enough attention to that small but important detail.
    I am not apologizing for my statements but it won’t happen again I assure you.

10. Green calls for political change at BLP Conference

Share on facebook Share on twitter

Spoken word artist, Adrian Green is calling for political change in Barbados.

But he is not calling for a change in government, rather a change in the political culture.

Green, the featured speaker at last night’s 77th Annual Conference Awards Ceremony of the opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP) said the old system is not working and has left many Barbadians dissatisfied.

“I am talking about a change in the political culture across the board because as strong as you may be in here, as devoted as you may be in here, this room cannot win an election,” he told BLP members gathered at the Christ Church Foundation School.

“There are a number of people outside of this room like myself who are looking on and looking to see who is willing to really make a difference, and we don’t care what colour they’re wearing. So you can stay and speak to yourselves or you can stretch out your hands and speak to the Barbadians outside of this room who want the same thing as you ultimately.”

Party leader Mia Mottley said though her choice of speaker went against the grain, since the speaker is traditionally from within the Party ranks, it was necessary.

While thanking Green for his “honest words”, Mottley said she felt the Party could not move forward without listening to the people.

“We cannot respond to people’s concerns unless we know them,” she said.

“It is important for us to hear truth and to encourage people to know that this Party must always be prepared to listen to those who have the courage to speak truth to power,” Mottley added, to loud applause.

http://www.loopnewsbarbados.com/content/green-calls-political-change-blp-conference

11. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

So is this the real deal Oppo leader now? Cause it sounds like more make believe Anansi palaver to me…LOLLL

“It is important for us to hear truth and to encourage people to know that this Party must always be prepared to listen to those who have the courage to speak truth to power,” Mottley added, to loud applause.”

12. Wha gine on hey ?

Two urgent and confidential letters sent to Barbados’ Prime Minister by his Vincentian counterpart earlier this year have yielded no answer.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/73686/letters-ignored#sthash.Gx18VQ3f.dpuf

13. LT.HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE.

That is Green in that photo? Hmm looking somewhat like Wickham,i hope,then again let me keep quiet.

14. Solutions Mam ! Solutions ! enough of the recitations

15. @AC

Come next election the people shall provide the solution that will start the process to rectify the acute situation that the DLP has intensified , in the solution, all bad gases like you ACs will be through out

16. small black contractors being shot almost on a weekly basis when they go with cash to pay their works on Friday. Yesterday it happen in Fort George and the small contracted received two bullets to his legs

17. There are many reasonwhy business world wide employ the services of security guards maybe the time is long over due that contractors do diligence for the safety and protection of themselves and employees
    In this era of selfishness and greed it is not wise to be a penny wise and a pound foolish

18. ac

You mean in this era break-ass-ness and poverty strictness from the DLP clowns>?

19. Whatever and what solutions do you and the other blp yardfowls have to offer the contractors
    I will bet my last penny “Absolutely Nada’i mean your suggestions are as empty and shallow as Mia mad marches of distractionary tactics

20. @AC
    you ever, that is if you can read and understand what is posted here on BU, you are a really fuckup minded whatever,

21. Watchman……………did we not tell you not to argue with the ac’s………….

They are small minded JA’s whose only ambition in life is to defend the DLP morning noon and night……………..you have to remember that they are terrified that this country will fall apart soon and that they would not have reached the 14 years in power they so desperately need.

By the way, watchman, ask ac where is the Central Bank report for the quarter ending September!

22. Freundel Stuart, must be forced out of office. Ho much more can the Caribbean take of him?

23. @Prodigal
    Must direct that question to stinkler but his dead eyes and pinup guts, due to the fact that he is so greed, his bad mind don’t know when to stop eating, the force of his evil ways

24. Prodigal check yourself first before opening mouth to speak Who are you to condem/ or crticise any individual political leanings or response
    For surely you leave no stone unturned in your political leanings and support for the blp

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Watchman…. are you saying Sinckler had stomach reduction surgery?

26. Aren’ t you supporters feeling let down after your leaders relentless attacks of govt for change and having to witness that her leadership of the blp has not healed but created further chasms and division
    The fact that several key members would absent themselves from the conference at a time when all ministers support would have display a healthy display of healing is mind boggling
    Ac does not believe the Nation call for transparency meant the bold incitive absence of those minister from the conference whereby if OSA was leader would not have given a second thought to absent themselves
    What is going on here Prodigal? Please explain

27. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

That makes sense; he came down too fast.

28. yes and its part of maloney/bjerkhamn plan to make him a prime minister.

29. @WW&C

I was near, hear some School boys talking and the fat one said he mother threaten to get he guts pinup like the Stinkler guts if he don’t stop eating ,a little one ask he what you going to do, he said,stop eating a lot , you can see how dead Stinkler eyes look he too greed, my mother say he even eat out a woman lap

30. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

While I would not go as far as to say that Chris ‘ tummy tuck was a Maloney Bjerkham plan I would however want to speak of the Alternative Prime Minister Plan and why this bodes well for a Third Party like never before.

Both the DLP and the BLP have their factions with court jesters who “would be King”

Mia has to contend with oblong Head Kerrie, Payne, Dale Smiley Teets and two others, one who would be a good PM.

Fumble has to deal with Stinkliar, pornville and Lil Caesar.

That puts 10 seats at risk , 10 seats where the sensibilities of the average Bajan who outward beliefs per “lifestyle choices” and the prevalent perception that Fumble is not a man of the people or for the people, gives room for a third party in the “valley of discontent”.

No de ole man ent no political scientist like Wickham nor Joseph but here is de ole man thoughts.

OSA and Walter Blackman and eight others carefully chosen horses for courses NOT AS INDEPENDENTS BUTAS A PARTY

De Ole Man cud pick de names fuh wunna if wunna cud get me a pick at de nation or de advocate.

In the resulting election results there would have to be a coalition to govern and in a coalition anything will play.

Mottley ent going lose St. Michael North East I will give wunna a hint St. John Barrow stronghold up fuh grabs and a suitable 3rd party candidate will win there

THREE YEARS AND A SKILLFUL CAMPAIGN AND THE LANDSCAPE OF POLITICS IN BARBADOS WOULD CHANGE FOREVER

CHANGING THE COUNTRY THAT IS ANOTHER THING…

31. Bush Bar Friend October 24, 2015 at 11:31 PM #
    ‘Freundel Stuart, must be forced out of office. Ho much more can the Caribbean take of him?’

An international arrest warrant is out for Jack Warner on charges of money laundering and grand theft. He cant leave Trinidad if he does the Americans will nab him. He was not forced out of office. John Compton and Ralph Gonzales were accused of pedophilia , rape and molestation . They weren’t forced out of the office. The Antiguan political directorate hold a reputation for corruptness. John Ashe and Stanford spring to mind . They were not forced out of office.

Guyana is on the Corruption Index as one the most corrupt countries. Trinidad is no stranger to coups and corruption. Jamaica’s Dudus Coke affair didn’t force politicians from office. None of them were cut short nor was the Caribbean asked how much more can we take. Why then must an unbought, unbossed, uncorrupt, lawfully elected Freundel Staurt be cut short? No fc#k*ng way.

Stuart remains until Bajans and only Bajans call time. Wickham, George Belle, Ryan Straughan, Tennyson Joseph the foreigner and that wicked cabal carry no sway on public opinion. We the people decide not you.

32. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I Spy

When was Freundel Stuart lawfully elected?

When is it lawful to overspend and make declarations to the Supervisor of Elections that were not reflective of actual expenses? You must remember that I went to the Registry for the election returns and some were posted here on BU.

When is it lawful to distribute election paraphernalia that were banned by the election laws?

We have more than enough laws to guarantee a free and fair election if they were enforced but unfortunately both parties ignore them with impunity so neither could tell the other come back.

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…Watchman, you are killing me, now if only we can staple the brains of the politicians in the same way, to reduce the greed and corruption, the battle would have been won.

I Spy….the government of the day in Jamaica, was indeed kicked out of office by the electorate, very shortly aftr the Dudus Coke brouhaha.

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Blogmaster

This is why the Chief Electoral Officer and the Officers at the Boundaries Commission or whoever has the responsibility and oversight over elections should be locked up

You see the number of fliers with Stinkliar face, not to mention the billboards and bunting all through Deacons and he cvntstituency???

A ghost must be did put up dem signs and a next one pay de bills fuh dem cause not one uh dem ent mention pun de returns unless ing dem was appendices!!!

Doan worry doah annuder ghost gine feature in de 2018 elections

No not David Thompson one, he down in hell according to Noel Lynch.

No the “doan got a ghost of a chance” tuh win a seat dat be de ghost I talking bout!!!

35. All will be for nought so long as there continues to be deafening silence and no commitment to integrity, transparency, accountability and freedom of information legislation. It is not being discussed nor is it held to be of the utmost importance to good governance. Current members of parliament and aspiring politicians of both parties will not push for any change in the system because their goals and interests will be sorely affected if not thwarted. Bribery, corruption, croneyism, nepotism will continue unabated at the “top level” of our society, and crime, serious crime, will continue mostly at the “lowest level”. Those in the middle will continue to be at the mercy of both other levels because they are content to “see nothing, hear nothing, say nothing , and do nothing” while the society continues to fall apart ! How sad ! How very sad ! God help us !

36. Uote Albert brandford

comment on the Maria Agard debacle

It is an important test for her leadership of the BLP at a critical juncture as it seeks to chart a new course in uncertain waters.
    ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
    but why at this time and so late in the game? Mia had six and a half years to rebrand and charter a distinct and dignified path for her leadership but choose( not to) but foolishly allowed yardfowl politics to be define her
    At this juncture there is not much re branding or image re-making that can save her from the ghostly and ghastly hands of perceptions/ leaving her standing on a stage of weakness and cowardice and allowing her minister the opportunity to set the standards and show disrespect towards her
    Too little too late would be Mia battle cry.

37. Instead of focusing all you vitriol towards Mia, you would do well to concentrate on your PM…………..

Did you not see him tonight on DLPTV news? The man looked so sick, he did not seem even able to hold his head up for a minute, he kept looking down.

You should be concerned about him, not Mia!

38. Prodigal man draw back the curtain give the folks a peek at what Mia coming with next week to stop the circus in the BLP. If Maria Agard says no dice, FO, to the shoulder rubber what next. The political pundits are staying tuned Prodigal yet still you could let go a little tra la of what Mia will say and do.

39. dems now Dems Again

40. Dems now, Dems Never Again!!

41. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

Fumble the fool up to last weekend still blaming Barbados’ economic woes on a ‘world recession’ that hasn’t existed for years. We may have to change the method by which the education level of our people is measured if this gang of idiots is still depending on the ignorance of voters to keep them toeing the party line.

There will be no economic recovery under Fumble’s Fools.

42. And all the BLP ministers are blaming the Minister of Doom and Gloom Mia Mottley for the blow up in the BLP Party