Cahill_Waste_to_EnergyFor the cause that lacks assistance, the wrong that needs resistance, for the future in the distance, and the good that [BU] can doGeorge Linnaeus Banks

[…]

A growing number of Barbadians continue to advocate for transparency in the Cahill Waste-to-Energy deal. So far not one iota of credible information has been released to the public domain to assure Barbadians it is a well thought out waste management strategy. The most recent gaffe by Cahill principals was the launch of the website  The Barbados Green Energy Complex (view cache link) that was hurriedly taken down in less than 24 hours when discovered.

How embarrassing!

In contrast,  Future Centre Trust Advocacy Director Kammie Holder has been able to mobilize approximately 8,000 members on the Facebook page Bajans Against $700M Waste to Energy Plant, held two town hall meetings, solicit signatures for a petition against the Cahaill project, launch the Zero Waste Barbados program, promoted the cause in the media, champion the cause at a BCCI luncheon, leverage international support …

The latest effort: the placement of a well appointed advertisement in the Nation newspaper.

How organized!

15 responses to “Cahill Energy Bloopers and Blunders”

1. Good job, Cammie!

2. DD is confused.

NOTICE says: On June 15, 2015, it was revealed that the government of Barbados signed an agreement for waste management with Cahill Energy Barbados!

In fact, it was March 15, 2014, that Barbados GIS revealed that:

“Government has signed an agreement with the Guernsey based Cahill Energy for the construction and operation of a Waste to Energy Plant which is capable of providing up to 25 per cent of the island’s energy needs.
    ………………..

At the signing last Saturday, March 15, at Government Headquarters, Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs, Christopher Sinckler, said: “This investment by Cahill Energy represents a ‘game changer’ for the island and truly belies any doubt that Barbados is still a preferred destination for solid and impactful foreign direct”
    …………………..

http://gisbarbados.gov.bb/index.php?categoryid=9&p2_articleid=12084

3. “The most recent gaffe by Cahill principals was the launch of the website The Barbados Green Energy Complex”

Was the website actually launched by Cahill principals?

Or was it the Group of Four Ministers?

It seems to DD that the Waste-To-Energy facility mentioned in BGEC website is likely the Ridley Energy Group inc. (REGI) facility revealed on June 15 –

See
    http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/06/13/another-firm-looking-to-set-up-a-waste-to-energy-plant/

4. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

As de Ole Man was saying before elsewhere.

Dis Cahill fiasco got dis guvment name all ovah de West Indies and de World.

De United Nations Index got we listed and de most stupid guvment in de Commonwealth

In fact, dis guvment is so stupid dat it is de only party with 16 ministers so dumb that they all tripped over the wire connecting the cordless phone to the base station..

Wunna doubt de ole man”

Den look up cretinism in de Webster dictionary “a usually congenital abnormal condition marked by physical stunting and mental retardation and caused by severe hypothyroidism” in udder words DLP

Me son dat wuk at de *** Bank copy de article uh dem fuh wunna jes in case wunna jes too lazy tuh go to de article wunna self

http://i.imgur.com/nusQKvzb.jpg

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

6. Piece
    Old man you talk alot of Johnny sometimes though. You actually reminds me of my friend’s grandmother who started talking to the dog as though he was a sentient being, but we couldn’t have imagined neither understood that my friend’s grandmother had had the onset of dementia.

7. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Hee Haw

I am sooo sorrry that your friend’s Grandmother started talking to you that way, “as if you were a sentient being”

My apologies, you said the dog and not the village donkey

It must have been quite and experience for you though to have the adulation of a sentient being while you brayed

Sorrrry I am mixing up the animals in this story dog and Balaak

I do sincerely apologise Dompey for not putting up your picture too but I was already into “c” s andhas passed “assinine”

Dont worry I will soon get to the “cu” section and you can be sure that you and your pally george will get a picture there too

Would you be so kind as to send me a recent photo? One with the labia in splendiferous display?

I going ban me’self doah, heah I is having too much fun with the beasts of burden

“Fools for I too had my hour, one fast fierce hour and sweet, there was a should about mine ears and palms before my feet…..plagiarized from G.K.Chesterson

8. Piece

One has to wonder as to what gives rise to your demented thinking, and if the government of Barbados takes seriously the issue of Cognitive-Decline in those persons of advanced age? Your writing leads one to concluded that you’re in or are approaching the stay where your elevator refuses to go to the top floor. Now let me make this formal appeal to the ministry of health to intervene in your case before you start to smear the walls with feces, if you haven’t done so already. Research has just taught us that the lack of an adequate supply of oxygen to the brain is the number one cause of Cognitive-Decline in those persons who are in or are approaching advanced age.

9. “Is the Caribbean a paradise for renewable energy?
    The Caribbean nations have all the incentives and resources to convert to 100% renewable energy. But is it happening?”

http://www.theguardian.com/global-development-professionals-network/2015/aug/06/caribbean-paradise-for-renewable-energy

@pieceuhderockyeahright, I note that that you have returned to the BU forum. Can we not bring Pachamama and GP out of retirement?

10. 8,000 members which are a minority which leaves a remaining 265 thousands unheard voices on this matter.

11. Thine hignorance knows no bounds.

12. If numbers are suppose to influence then by all purpose the numbers quoted by the Future Trust should be representative of a larger percentage of the population
    So far what is being witnessed is a vocal minority with a certain amount of political clout being adamant
    Fortunately in a democracy these voices have a right to be heard but unfortunately these voices alone does not have the final say so.
    As with all issues and staying within a time frame of good goverance speaking to facts on these issues should only be done when fully explored and relevancy and reliability is taken from several experts or professionals in WTE
    So far there has been plenty hue and cry which borders on emotionalism and questionable servings of self interest by various groups living outside of Barbados speaking with serpertine tongues

13. DD believes that one of the “expert” panelists with Clare Cowan (Clown?) at the recent open house/town hall was a guy from Stantec – Andrew Hutchinson?

Googled “Stantec Barbados”; and found lots of interesting links – including a 2007
    BFP blog “Stantec – Heading For Another Project Disaster?”

https://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2007/10/14/stantec-heading-for-another-project-disaster/

Included in the article by Richard Goddard was:

“Among other things, it mentioned that detailed road design, including the associated drainage work, had been carried out by STANTEC Consulting, “a well established and respected profesisonal engineering firm in Barbados, in conjunction with their offices in the U.S. and Canada. They are one of the largest and most respected engineering firms.”

It would appear to me that STANTEC is the major brain behind this project, and that it will end up as a disaster for the motoring public, as well as for the taxpayers of Barbados. For those with short memories, or who have just recently arrived in Barbados, STANTEC Engineering is the new name for Stanley Engineering of Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. Its name change took place about 10 years ago, after the failure of the engineering design for the Greenland garbage dump in the Scotland District National Park, St Andrew, Barbados.

Was this name change undertaken to avoid civil or criminal liability on this project?

Stanley Engineering had worked in Barbados from the early 1970s, which included road and land use in the Scotland District, and the ocean currents flowing around Barbados. When they tendered for the solid waste disposal study in 1994, they recommended that the dump site be retained in Mangrove Pond in St Thomas, but it had to be better managed and financed.

Government told Stanley Engineering to go and look again and include Greenland in St Andrew. Stanley Engineering re-submitted their findings and recommended Greenland, but with a provision that they had never considered Greenland, because they had understood that it was in the Scotland District National Park as outlined in the physical development plan of Barbados.

The studies carried out by Stanley confirmed that the Scotland District had a long history of storm washouts and landslips, and that Greenland was particularly subject to this. However, they went ahead and designed a landfill which was built in 1996 at a cost of over $20 million, plus the re-building of damaged roads and a bridge for a further $11 million. To date not 1 lb. of garbage has been delivered to the site.”

And this comment:

reality check
    October 15, 2007 at 5:43 am

“so basically Stantec told the government to put the site at Mangrove and the government ( David Simmons’s riding ) didn’t like their experts message, so they put it in the most sensitive area in Barbados with the fewest votes.
    Not only does this prove that he who pays the pipers calls the tune but if you pay enough money, even an international company like Stantec will drop its clothes and its integrity shamelessly in favour of bad overall planning.”

Seems to DD that Clare Cowan has described Stantec with words similar to:

“a well established and respected profesisonal engineering firm in Barbados, in conjunction with their offices in the U.S. and Canada. They are one of the largest and most respected engineering firms.”

Different project – different party, but same shite.

He who pays the pipers calls the tune – if you pay enough money, even an international company like Stantec will drop its clothes and its integrity shamelessly in favour of bad overall planning.”

Could Kammie Holder/Future Trust be the Richard Goddard of Cahill WTE?

14. Stantec did nothing but the waste study on this thing
    They were there as fillers as the team the Cowan woman put together all abandoned her ….
    I can’t believe Stantec agreed to be exposed to the nonsense of that “open house”
    Hopefully they were well paid for their punishing appearance .and hopefully they didn’t fall for the “jamtomorrow” tactics of the potable water lady who does talk through her sewer.

15. Interesting article in NationNews.

Waste to energy: what you should know (Part 1)
    CLAIRVAIR SQUIRES,
    Added 09 August 2015