Submitted by Douglas
Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley (l) Owen Arthur MP (r)
Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley (r) Owen Arthur MP (l)

DEAR Mia,

It has been over a year since we parted company as party colleagues. I thought it provided us with an opportune time to reflect on the progress we have made on our separate political journeys. I must say M, I feel refreshed and invigorated since […] I have decided to move to the beat of my own drum.

My health has improved somewhat, I am eating healthier and taking my medication and my outlook on life seems all the more optimistic.

The Old Boys club still engages me from time to time, seeking my views on certain matters going on within your circle. They always seem to seek out my company as you would have noticed when we meet at the house. But M, I try to stick to my words when I left and I try not to interfere or air my views on what is going on in your little circle publicly.

I hope you have accepted the reasons why I had to move on. I will reflect a little bit more on them later as I share my thoughts with you now. M, I did not like that you felt insecure and incapable of leading in my shadow. Your insecurity was glaringly obvious and it resulted in this rift which developed between us. You and others who were close to you made it seem that I was attacking, tearing down and not supporting your strategies as the new leader. This was one of the main reasons why I left so that you would have full reign to guide the organisation how you felt best.

You remember I said that I felt that the party had lost its way and its soul? That hurt me to the core M, and I could not stay around and watch it be destroyed while knowing that my efforts to turn it around were not welcomed.

I found that more and more the institution was moving away from its political grounding and philosophy. It seems that you were building your own fan club at the expense of the name and legacy of the institution.

Look M, over the year here are two recent mistakes which you have made which has caused the name of the institution to suffer. When the Transport Board workers went on that strike which disrupted students from getting to their exams, why did you go out there to protest with them? M, it made it seem that you would jump on any bandwagon to tear down this country at anyone’s expense. If the party legitimately felt aggrieved at what was going on at the Transport Board, you should have mounted a platform as the political leader among the members of the Party and call out the government for any potential wrong doing. That is what a political leader would do; so that the party and not you M would get the glory and the support of the people.

Now M, do you know that from the time you encouraged your parliamentary colleagues to march with the NUPW in their protest against the BIDC, that you placed all sorts of political undertones on what should really be an industrial relations matter? I don’t have to explain to you the mess that it caused and the country has not recovered from it yet. Again M, you caused the people to see the party as a villain and not a friend.

You see M, now that I have stepped aside, I hope that you would be the woman who would accept these mistakes as her own. You cannot blame me for the negative impact which the party has suffered as a result of these ill-advised political strategies.

M, you also did some things which I did not like. Many of which were revealed in the Barker Report. I want to assure you that the Barker report has been well circulated. Those close to you are well aware of its contents and it is a source of major discontent among them. You need to deal with this matter M! Come clean and put it behind you, otherwise you will always have a challenge in gaining their support, just as you lost mine.

I do know for a fact that many of your professional and party colleagues are not pleased with the fact that you seem to attract a certain level of privilege because of who you are. Many of them do not like the idea that the path selected for you always seem easier than the road the rest of us must trod. You need to distance yourself from that perception of being entitled and privileged if you want to secure the support of your colleagues and the people in general.

In closing M, I hope that you will take these words as constructive criticism. It may be hard for you to accept coming from me, but I mean well and I will always have the best interest of the party at heart. I am as always available to you for advice and guidance.

Your estranged mentor,

O.A.

40 responses to “Take Heed, Mia”

1. De Ole man flabbergasted!!

My first Question to the reliable Blogmaster is this Submission for real?

Once you tell me so, I got alot of commentary I wants to write

2. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Dougie,
    You did not give proper credit to some of the sources responsible for your writings above. Let me correct that mistake for you.

“The party has lost its way and its soul…. more and more the institution is moving away from its political grounding and philosophy.” An angry and disappointed Errol Barrow giving his assessment of the current DLP.

“I like that you feel insecure and incapable of leading in my shadow.” The discredited and crooked David Thompson speaking to Freundel Stuart directly from hell.

“I don’t have to explain to you the mess that it caused and the country has not recovered from it yet.” What the Commissioner of Police should be saying to the DPP as he sums up the role played by Leroy Parris, Terrence Thornhill, David Thompson, and others in the great CLICO scandal.

“Many of them do not like the idea that the path selected by you, for a few handpicked individuals and businessmen, always seem(sic) easier than the road the rest of us must trod(sic).” An independent view of how Barbadians feel about the level of inequality and injustice being practised against them by the political class.

3. The person who wrote this ‘….mistakes which you have made which has caused…’. HAS caused? It’s HAVE caused! Please!!! Stupse. I discontinued reading so I’m not aware of any more poor English ‘writings’.

4. Mia Mottley laments in 2015 that the Bajan calypsonians have not sung any biting calypsoes attacking the Dems.

Mia has forgotten that in order to get biting calypsoes…..she will have to write those calypsoes herself……. because she is the Queen of BITING anything that begins with the letter…..’C’ !

5. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

Now we know the identity of the young clown that keeps calling brass tacks trying to create distractions. DouglASS.

6. @Hamilton

Barbadians like this kind of politics.

7. @Douglas “Now M, do you know that from the time you encouraged your parliamentary colleagues to march with the NUPW in their protest against the BIDC, that you placed all sorts of political undertones on what should really be an industrial relations matter? I don’t have to explain to you the mess that it caused and the country has not recovered from it yet.”

Dear Douglas: Get lost. Or as we say in Bajan “haul ya ass do!!!”

8. I did not find it constructive neither valid criticism. Who else Douglas is, please throw away your pen. Owen would not invest his time in non issues. Talk about a real problem. Do not create an imaginery one.

9. I started to read this piece in yesterday’s Advocate and could not get past the second paragraph…………..belongs in the sewer. After 7 years in government, is this all you can come up with? Pathetic.

Hey………DouglaASS………..OSA is no longer a factor in the BLP.

Please write about Lowe, Boyce, Kellman and Sinckler.

…..We need to hear about Cahill

…..We need to hear about the lack of trucks to clean up the garbage in Barbados

…..We need to hear about solutions to fix the horrible conditions at the Psychiatric Hospital

…..We need to hear about solutions to fix the horrible state of affairs at the QEH and the lack of drugs and supplies available to do the basic daily requirements

……..Tell us why we need a half billion dollar sugar factory when we do not have sugar canes to supply it

……….We need to hear when the law abiding taxpayers will get back their income tax refunds

…….We need to know if children will get bursaries to go to UWI this year.

Tell us these things not the shiiite you wrote above!

10. Douglas, I will say that you are more friend to Mia than you realize. Mia political missteps is rooted in her being entitled and privileged, her political albatross

11. Do you believe in free speech. If so let the writer have his say. Right or wrong the blog master is allowing the writer his say. If it is right for most of you to criticize PM Stuart or the DLP on the whole then Mia is fair game. She is the leader and she expects the attacks.
    Grenville Philips barely said he is starting a third party and the attacksstarted

12. David

I must congratulate you on publishing or allowing this article to be published.

I did a review of your polical articles over the past 7 years and this one takes the top prize for:

Truthfulness
    Lack of bias
    Insightful political commentary

Kudos

13. Again stupidity garners nitwits and nueturds….a letter signed O.A????? . Ossie and Adriel B maybe, both wishing to remain in asylum (Jenkins). Some credence for a full kudos

14. @Fracture BLP – I am overjoyed to make your acquaintance after reading you comment above. I’ve always longed to meet the jackass that Jesus rode through the the gates of Jerusalem on and your comment laid bare what you are. Keep cheering while the crowds keep jeering. Typical DLP.

15. O A in your next letter ask M what happened to her LEC inquiring minds want to Know,

16. Dear David:

Is this Douglas the very same person as Douglas Leopold Phillips AKA the DLP’s official spokesperson?

17. If so the DPL needs to fire this Douglas and hire an official spokesman who can read, write and speak English.

18. @Simple Simon

This article is the very same which appears in the Advocate as the DLP column.

On 1 August 2015 at 22:57, Barbados Underground wrote:

19. David you could have posted Beresford’s article for balance though. I thought it very amusing.

20. The DLP article was submitted and posted. When the BLP have submitted in the past similar courtesy was extended.

On 1 August 2015 at 23:33, Barbados Underground wrote:

21. LOL
    It seems that the DLP has been unable to entice any of its intelligent members to represent them…..cuh dear..It cannot be a coincidence that ALL DLP spokespersons seem to be “literacy challenged”
    Wuh…
    Stinkliar can barely read …and is yet to grasp decimals…
    Froon is stuck in the age of Chaucer and Shakespeare ..and completely out of touch with current realities
    The great PitBull has been neutered…
    Darcy mumbles as if he has some shiite to hide…
    Nobody notices Donville since the ‘new Hospital’ talk; the BIDC fiasco; and now hearing that he is just as clueless about Cahill as is AC
    Fractured BLP just cracking jokes..
    Shiite then….
    Dompey and AC have become the chief DLP spokespersons…

oh shiirrrtttt!

22. @David August 1, 2015 at 7:08 PM “This article is the very same which appears in the Advocate as the DLP column.”

Well then the DLP ought to be ashamed of itself.

Why can’t the DLP get the MInister to write the DLP column?

When Cammie Tudor was the Minister of Education he wrote eloquently on behalf of the DLP.

What has happened since that time?

23. I happen to know a few writers who could write for the DLP.

But the DLP would have to pay them the going rate, and treat them as the respected professionals that they are.

24. Wait… Doug like he got over he Infatuation with Santia! Now he is Dear Christine? Wuhloss.. The DEMolition party like dem in got nuttin to offer but Dear Christine gibberish..
    Cuhdear, this is what it has come to. Doug do like Donville said and show us the documents relating to Cahill nuh! Mr 20% Mr 15% Mr 10% etc.

25. @ Simple Simon
    When Cammie Tudor was the Minister of Education he wrote eloquently on behalf of the DLP. What has happened since that time?
    LOL …ha ha ha
    Perhaps they have continued that policy …of having the MoE write for them…
    Ha Ha Ha LOL ohhh Shiirrteee !!

26. @Simple

The party appears to miss the writing and tactics of Hartley Henry.

27. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

David, you really think so in truth, that they miss the tactics of Hartley Henry? The same tactician in all his brilliance that was the right hand man of the avowed swindler, charlatan and consummate liar David Thompson. The man whom he made King.

Henry said: “My tenure ends with David Thompson, so I am not going to work with anyone else…”

So leff Henry ‘The Kingmaker’ where he is in the lap of of his well earned luxury

28. One thing for Sure the BLP ammo is predicable always attack the messenger, from CAHILL to BROHA Hill it is always the same when the message is on point .The same few misfits putting on their firing gear loaded with stink bombs firing at an out of range target on equal like flies trying to fight their way up the nose of an elephant which is not going to happen APPLAUSE APPLAUSE only unto themselves
    Here the BLP misfits have a Leader MIA Mottley who was cast aside not once but twice by her former leader who found that she was not fit to become the leader of the BLP because of several infelicities damaging to her political life standing in the way of disapproval and having the role of which she yearns and craves that of PM of Barbados ,Yet the BLP yardfowls would find no wrong/s with MIA past political life but would pretend and hold on to a manufactured and deliberate propaganda of popularity similar to that which cause the BLP defeat in the last election
    In the BLP mind of delusion with a theater cast of fear mongers any one can figure a repetition of the last election is not far fetched.This country has seen the disrespect shown by MIA and her lost crew and would repay them on equal footing,

29. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

AC know this is hard to appreciate but the substantive criticisms on Cahill are not directed towards the messenger in the least. No one cares what is written about Clare Cowan other than she herself, her family and her money people.

Anyhow, I wanted to call you on your Mottley critique. What is obvious and troubling with your broadsides on her is that some are almost identical to what was said about your deceased party leader. Two peas in a pod they could be.

So, if once again Barbadians elect a flawed leader what makes us any worst than when we elected the other flawed leader?

I was rereading some of the glowing tributes – now validated as a conflagration of lies- of your leader; comments like-

“…every decision he made had, ultimately, to serve the people of Barbados – all of them”…” his unpretentious lifestyle impressed even casual observers”… “He made certain that the social safety net was sufficiently strong and flexible to ensure that our people, especially the most vulnerable among us, did not slide back into poverty.”

This about a man who presided over the destruction of CLICO. He colluded to take money by illegal means as an attorney while the sitting PM and allowed thousands of Bajans who were dependent on that insurances comp. to be financially raped and left for dead.

A man who is reported to have left an estate of millions of $$ but yet touted as unpretentious and a saviour of the poor and down-trodden

So go hard at Mottley. Maybe you can find hard evidence to support your claims.

If your team find any I am confident it will not save your party from defeat at the next elections though. It will just force the BLP to make a new leadership choice.

30. @ de ingrunt word…David is on point with his HH observation. .Long before this train had come completely off the track, it was painfully obvious that PR was a concept to which this admiinistration was not committed, hence its leader’s thunderous silence even in the face of pertinent issues. This is the only political party that has chosen to adopt a strategy that invites speculation, rather than coming to the country and clear the air. They choose to speak to their base only. At the appointed time that same base should be the only place where their message should find resonance.

31. @ Hants,
    Caught any Salmon or trout recently? a people in Barbados talk a lot of Vote Buying. Have you had a clear case of vote buying than the recent behaviour by Harper and the Conservatives? Just before he announces the date for the election, due in October, He announces the payment of over 3 billion dollars in money allocated as child allowance- increasing the money allocated for each category ($100. for those 6-12 years moving to $160. ) The Conservatives immediately moved further ahead of the NDP and the Liberals in the polls. Your reference blog shows the manipulation he is engaging in even more. He seems to be wanting to move Canada’s traditional election machinery closer to the american model; requiring lots of money to compete-a model that encourages all the evils of the Democratic system. Wouldn’t you agree? Vote buying?

32. de igrunt if what you say is true about DT surely one can say that his past has followed him to his grave, then what should be troubling that MIA would be accepted and excused from similar infelicities and given a pass by the BLP brigade on her pusuit of PM
    The fact is that the BLP has set the stage for morality by their relentless attacks on a dead man who have no way to respond, as their leader (too) is confronted with infelicities and being alive have refused to respond

33. Alvin Cummins August 2, 2015 at 10:19 AM #

@ Hants,
    Caught any Salmon or trout recently? a people in Barbados talk a lot of Vote Buying. Have you had a clear case of vote buying than the recent behaviour by Harper and the Conservatives? Just before he announces the date for the election, due in October, He announces the payment of over 3 billion dollars in money allocated as child allowance- increasing the money allocated for each category ($100. for those 6-12 years moving to $160. ) The Conservatives immediately moved further ahead of the NDP and the Liberals in the polls. Your reference blog shows the manipulation he is engaging in even more. He seems to be wanting to move Canada’s traditional election machinery closer to the american model; requiring lots of money to compete-a model that encourages all the evils of the Democratic system. Wouldn’t you agree? Vote buying

Mr Cummis to add my two cents worth to your comment- one could say analytically that the answer is yes. However, vote buying in this sense by Mr Harper might be overlooked if the goodies he now dispenses are not reversed if he wins the elections as was the fate of the thousands employed by the DLP just before the elections to assist struggling candidates in marginal constituencies or the reversal of the promise not to impose fees on tertiary education.

34. @Blance,
    There was never a commitment NOT to impose fees on Tertiary education. It just followed. I attended both Mona and Cave Hill and did not have to pay fees at Cave Hill, but fees at Mona. If circumstances change, changes will have to be made. If I had a job paying me a high salary, and I promised someone a Mercedes, and then I took ill and could no longer work, should I be still held to the promise to give the Mercedes? Should I be pilloried if I could only afford a Suzuki? The person should be grateful they getting a car!

If as you say “vote buying in this sense…might be overlooked if…”
    No Ifs or Buts. Vote buying is vote buying, however it is wrapped up, so people have to decide what they want. Vote buying employing millions of dollars, is vote buying using a hundred dollars. We tend to be too hypocritical.

35. @De Igrunt word,
    I have said it before and I will say it continuously:The person to be held accountable and who should be pursued and brought to justice is Dupree. He was the person who engineered Inter and intra company loans and withdrawals, accountable to no one, and who used these as his own cash cow to make flawed investments.

36. Over 100,000 employed during first quarter of 2015 in Barbados

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/assets/12056495/barbados-flag.jpg

37. BRIDGETOWN, Barbados (CMC) – The number of Barbadians employed during the first three months of this year totalled 127,900 according to the latest figures released by the Barbados Statistical Service (BSS).
    It said that the unemployment figure stood at 11.8 per cent for the period January to March this year, representing 17,200 people with 8,900 males and 8,200 females.
    BSS said that the data derived from the Continuous Household Labour Force Survey, showed that the unemployment rate among males stood at 12.1 per cent and 11.6 per cent among females
    But it said the labour force stood at 145,100, while people not actively looking for work and excluded from the labour force, were 77,300.
    The BSS also noted that during the first quarter of 2015, the wholesale & retail trade sector generated jobs for 20,200, while the accommodation & food services sector employed 17,400 persons.
    The construction, mining & quarrying sector generated employment for 12,200 persons; while the manufacturing sector created employment for 9,800 persons.
    Meanwhile, the index of retail prices for May 2015 stood at 167.6 points, representing an increase of 0.7 per cent when compared with the 166.5 points recorded the previous month.
    The figures show that increases were recorded for fuel and light by three per cent; transportation by 1.9 per cent; medical and personal care by 0.9 per cent among other sectors.
    But there were deceases registered for clothing and footwear and housing.
    “Between May 2014 and May 2015, the Index of Retail Prices decreased by 0.7 per cent from 168.7 to 167.6 points. The average inflation rate for that period was 1.2 per cent,” the BSS added.

38. Is this all that Douglas and the DLP have to offer? I am so ashamed! I cry for my country!