BU shares the Caswell Franklyn Nation newspaper column – he is the General Secretary of Unity Workers Union and BU Contributor.
Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

NOT ALL BLACK AND WHITE: Unions seize chance for redemption

THE RELATIONS BETWEEN the Government and trade unions in this country has been unnecessarily reduced to […] a state of government induced chaos.

It would appear that the major unions have delinked from Democratic Labour Party control, leaving the Government rudderless in the sea of industrial relations.

Previously, Government did not see the need to develop any expertise in the area of industrial relations because it relied on its minions who control the decision-making organs of the unions to keep a lid on the simmering cauldron of employee discontent.

It was not unusual to hear commentators, myself included, say that the unions would have been engaged in vigorous battles in defence of workers rights if the Barbados Labour Party were in power.

It had become apparent to all but the purblind that control of the unions was ceded to the DLP, to be used to wrestle power from the BLP, and when in power, to pacify the workers.

Fortunately, the major unions, Barbados Workers’ Union (BWU) and the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW) are under new management, and coupled with falling membership, they were forced to act or witness the demise of their organisations.

The forced retirement of workers from the Barbados Investment and Development Corporation (BIDC) has given the NUPW a platform from which it could start to redeem itself in the eyes of its membership. And with right on its side the union has seized the opportunity with zeal.

The issue in contention is a very simple matter which could be settled without much ado if Government were interested in a resolution on anything but its own terms.

The dispute can be reduced to very basic facts: BIDC is relying on section 8 of the Statutory Boards (Pensions) Act which previously gave the board the power to compulsorily retire workers at any time after they reach 60 years of age; on the other hand, the NUPW is relying on section 8A of the same act, a 2004 amendment, which essentially took away that power from the board and allowed workers to retire at the age at which they could access their full pensions from National Insurance, which is now 66 and a half years.

Even though the amendment is pellicud, I will rely on Hansard to show that Government is being unnecessarily contentious.  The debate took place on December 14, 2004, and according to the official record, the first person to speak on the bill, Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley said and I quote:

“Mr Speaker, this amendment before the House today seeks to do the simple thing of amending our Pensions Act such that we remove the compulsory retirement age for public servants from 60 years old to 65 years old.”

She went on to explain later in her speech that the amendments were recommendations from a committee that was established to review the Public Service pension arrangements by saying:

“Mr. Speaker, that committee recommended that the retirement age at which pension becomes payable in Barbados should be harmonised with the retirement age at which pension is payable under the National Insurance and Social Security Schemes of Barbados.

“I want to repeat that point because what we are seeking to do now is to take two separate pension arrangements and ensure that there is a harmonisation of the pension rights and arrangements thereto. The retirement age at which pension becomes payable under the Public Service of Barbados should be harmonised at the retirement age at which it becomes payable under the national insurance and Social Security Scheme.

“Mr Speaker, this is going to be done in a gradual way. It would mean that this would permit a change in the compulsory age of retirement from 60 to 65, and ultimately by the year 2018 going to the age of 67 years old. This does not in any way, Mr Speaker, change the right of persons who now have the right to take early retirement at 55 years old.”

It does not change, and this is perhaps the most important point for those who are communicating this generally to the public, that this does not change the right of persons who may now retire early at 55 years.

If you still wanted to retire at 60, 61, 62, 63 or 64, you could go ahead under this legislation, but you must retire at 65.

The only two entities that are not covered by this amendment – and that is because their arrangements are normally dealt with by the Constitution and we would continue to treat to new arrangements for them in the Constitution – would be the Auditor General and  the Director of Public Prosecutions who, under the Constitution of Barbados must retire at the age of 62 years. They do not fall under this amendment . . . .“

When this bill was debated there were three members of the current Cabinet that were present in the House as Opposition members.  Surely, at least one of them should have remembered.

Government must now do the right thing, that is, admit the mistake and let industrial peace reign, not on its terms or on the union’s terms but in accordance with the law.

– See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/69786/black-white-unions-seize-chance-redemption#sthash.wuSQGNeq.dpuf

150 responses to “The Caswell Franklyn Column – Unions Seize Chance for Redemption”

1. @ Dompey
    “If it is cheaper to import a commodity rather than manufacture it at home, you do so”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Does that explain your wife dumping your ass?

2. @ are-we-there-yet July 13, 2015 at 11:15 PM #

Prodigal Son;

Is that true? The Acting Commissioner appealing the Nation 3 case? On what grounds? Where was the story reported?
    …………………………………………..

AWTY,

It was reported in Barbados Today edition of 13 July, page 8.

3. The huge JA Guyson recommended to the huge fool PM with which unthinking animal we have been saddled since we the people did not vote for him to be our PM,Guyson says he should do a Reagan and a Thatcher and fire the striking workers and dont rehire them.Now the JA Guyson is suggesting that the bigger JA Stuart follow a Federal President with 300 millions souls to account to politically and a PM of Great Britain with some 70 million souls to account to with a puny state of under 250000 souls.His PM should fire the entire workforce because the entire work force was coming out in support of all the unions in this going down.It was beyond the stupid and insipid JA and AH Guyson that we are not here talking about a tiny sector of the workforce,but about the entire workforce in Barbados.And look sharp,the private sector just waiting to withhold all statutory deductions so as to starve this incompetent government of funding.For sure not a cent from Customs and Excise,not a cent from Licensing Authority,not a cent from Swan Street or Broad Street.Listen PM Stuart,you only have power that was GIVEN to you.In similar vein in the twinkling of an eye it can be TAKEN away and no law you pass or your henchmen pass will pass mustor.You are not fit to lead this country and you prove it every day by your stupid language.JA!

4. Amen, Gabriel!

I subjected myself to listen to this JA last night and endured the torture.

Can you imagine a Prime Minister on national TV saying ………I dont know for sure but I was told that the union want to pull the air traffic controllers out so that planes cannot land……just to teach this government a lesson.

Mr PM……….let me tell you something for your own good…………this statement made you look like an idiot……………you stooped to that level? You are PM and in charge of intelligence and somebody tell you something and you repeated it without any proof whatsoever?

As Malik would say…..who would do that……only a madman!

5. Bush Tea

I would be glad if my wife dump me right brother because I got me eyes on this young tender Spanish chick with this enormous bottom.

6. Why Dompey…?
    …she needs a cheap gardener? ha ha ha

That is precisely the point of your idiotic quote…. to make decisions on purely economic criteria – like wild animals.
    What the hell do you think the result would be…?

Your poor unfortunate wife probably sticks by you despite your obvious idiocy, your ridiculous features, and your complete lack of any viable future….meanwhile you looking around for some big-ass spanish floosie….

Civilised people do not dump their old reliable homemade stuff just because something cheaper comes along…
    Factors like LOVE, LOYALTY, COMMITMENT, and co-operative support regularly trump ‘cheap and easy’

Why don’t you stop quoting shiite you don’t understand nuh…? (in other words,…stop writing…) 🙂
    …or better yet…why not tackle Islandgal (Bushie’s EX…) …and leh she straighten out that twisted face of yours with the 2 X 4……

7. @Caswell

The young turks did not mention the ole dawg once this evening.

8. Bush Tea

You’re the ridiculous type because at your advanced age you obviously cannot distinguish between a joke or when someone is serious. I must say though: I can’t help but to admire your characterization of who you think that I am, and the way in which I fulfill familial responsibilities. Bushie, you’re out of order with cheap comments which only reflects your puerility and your incapacity to think critically.

9. Bush Tea, you better ask about the Fenty family in the St. Michael area, and I am quite sure you will find out that we are amongst the better looking people in the entire area. And that’s a fact Bushie!

10. Bush Tea

Here is Adam Smith actually quote which rings true still today: “What is prudence in the conduct of every family can scarce be folly in that of a great Kingdom. If a foreign country can supply us with a commodity cheaper than we ourselves can make it, better buy it of them with some part of the produce of our own industry, employed in a way in which we have some advantage.
    Adam Smith. Bushie, now does Smith’s concept holds true for North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA)in the modern context?

11. I guess it is beyond Bushie bed time because you know he has to rest his swollen ankles and arthritic toes?

12. Bush Tea

“To make decisions on purely economic criteria, like wild animals”

Bushie, you seem to suggested that I have referrenced more than one economic principle of Smith’s? Judging from your statement above at least, when in actuality, I spoke of Adam Smith’s sole principle of import a commodity at a cheaper rate of exchange rather than to manufacture it at home at a more exorbitant price. But yet you have employed Criteria in your above statement to described my comment, when you should have employed the word Criterion (because let’s face it; I referred to one of Smith’s principles) with has a singular meaning rather than Criteria which has a plural meaning. I understand Bushie, If you’re having trouble distinguishing between the words Criteria and Criterion, just visit the lexicon my friend.

13. Bush Tea

“Civilized people do not dump their reliable homemade because something cheaper comes along”
    Bushie, that’s is the most load of crap I have heard in quite sometime. Why do people part ways with their significant others ofter thirty or forty years of marriage? Reliability has little to do with the deintegration of such union my friend, perhaps the union has reached a point where irrespective of years of relative transquility the differences amongst such couples are so great that their can’t seem to see eye to eye regardless of the trust and reliability that still existed? And how dear you employ the term Homemade in the age of political correctness; a term interwoven female domesticity?

14. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I am getting a bit confused by the agreement or is it non-agreement between BIDC and NUPW. What is the status of those talks? Will the matter now proceed to court since, as Dr. Byer-Suckoo-Carter, indicated, there is no agreement.

If the matter goes to Court, which judge would be left holding the can? I expect to hear some recusals. I wonder if we are going to find a judge with sufficient distance from this matter that would enable it to proceed without unnecessary delay.

The main loser in this case would be the judiciary. If the matter is heard by one of the Judges appointed on the recommendation of Owen Arthur and the case is decided against the Government, there will be some doubt in the minds of the people, and I am quite sure that there would be some suggestions that the judge would have given a political decision.

On the other hand, if the case is decided, in favour of the Government, by one of the judges that owes his/her appointment to DLP, there is no doubt in my mind that the decision would be seen as political.

If the Chief Justice decides to hear the matter at first instance, as is his right, reasonable people would become uncomfortable even before the the first submission is made to the court. And that is not to cast aspersions on the character of the CJ; it is only to point out that anything he does, except ruling against the BIDC, would be viewed with suspicion because of the controversy surrounding his appointment.

This is one royal mess that can only serve to shatter the residual confidence that remains in the judiciary.

Barbados the eyes of the works are upon us.

15. The NUPW confirmed the 10 are ready to return to work.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/69958/ready

16. Simple done stop the back and forth in the media both parties go back to the negotiating table with a agreeable starting point. i.e Country leave the long arm of politics behind and move forward amicably from thereon. there should be no victory in this except for the country,
    THe rest of the wheel can be turned according to law with various stipulations give and take ,.
    The necessity for court involvement would only hardened hearts and stiffen neck.Other than that the young turks need to see there mistake as a learning experience and should not have the need to rely on the apparatus of political mechanism for guidance but overall commonsense and a philosophy that takes them away from rhetoric and dogmatic principles to appease,

17. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

@Caswell re your 5:26 AM post, you got me perplexed that such an interesting statement can be said now as if the country started yesterday.

You are a reasonable and bright fellow but how is this judiciary any different to every other group over the last 50 -60 years?

Since independence all judges appointed owed some affiliation to the government in power. So are all political decisions in the courts to be considered tainted.

(Like the US Supreme court -across the judiciary there really…all heavily politicized appointments.)

Please understand I hear you loudly (I asked the other day how do we actually get business done, bout here) but I am simply saying this is status quo so we either accept that our judges can be objective and reasoned professionals despite who appointed them or start resolving matters like the US Wild West days! Well, not really there is still the CCJ.

Just the other day with the Hinskon-Payne-Mottley suit stemming from their internal squabbles your point would be well made. Which Judge did not sit in class with either the plaintiff or defendant; have some family connection or have known them for many years. So who would hear the case if it gets to court?

So at the end of the day one has to hear the case and both parties have to accept him/her and be confident that the final decision is offered based on the validity of the law because THAT is what judges do. That is what they HAVE to do.

In a small community we have to have confidence in their integrity. Otherwise we doomed.

18. “This is one royal mess that can only serve to shatter the residual confidence that remains in the judiciary.”

Bro Cas; it is no secret that the tenuous perception of independence of the Judiciary which existed prior to Barbados becoming Independent was severely compromised with the passing of the 1974 constitutional amendments which placed judicial appointments in the hands of the political directorate. However, if the wording of the amendment seemed unclear ; the intent of parliament is clear in the speech of Miss Mottley who introduced the bill to Parliament. Senior layman that you are; you have given us the benefit of your education on the matter in your Sunday column. I challenge any judge to see it otherwise.

19. @Caswell

A simple question : why the misunderstanding how the parties should behave following the social partnership meeting? Was there an agreement to revert to the MOL before going public or not.

20. Is there a law in Barbados that states that workers in a statutory corporation cannot be sent home before the age of 65 or 67?

YES or NO.

21. @ Hants
    …go and fish or sleep or something do!
    That is NOT the issue.

22. @Bush Tea I asked a question. I did not ask what the issue is.

23. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

Hants, not only is your query not the issue but your question is rather strange.

Anyone can be sent home from any place of work – government or private – at any time with CAUSE or based on restructuring due to market conditions.

Just that everything needs to be handled well to avoid just this type of brouhaha.

Don’t all companies/governments have a retirement age!

The only time I know that an employee can’t be terminated is when Dad or Mum owns the company and prefers to get some work from Junior rather than fire him or when Mum or Dad won’t terminate themselves.

24. “Hants July 16, 2015 at 8:26 AM #

Is there a law in Barbados that states that workers in a statutory corporation cannot be sent home before the age of 65 or 67?

YES or NO.”

NO , SECTION 8(1) OF THE STATUTORY BOARDS (PENSIONS) ACT CHAPTER 384 UNDER COMPULSORY RETIREMENT STATES THAT ‘

A BOARD MAY REQUIRE AN OFFICER IN ITS SERVICE TO RETIRE AT ANY TIME AFTER HE ATTAINS THE AGE OF 60 YEARS.

RETIREMENT SHALL BE COMPULSORY FOR EVERY OFFICER TO WHOM THIS ACT APPLIES ON ATTAINING THE AGE OF 65YEARS.

BUT YES, AN AMENDMENT TO THE ABOVE PASSED IN NTHE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY AT 2.05 PM ON TUESDAY, DECEMBER 14, 2004 AND CITED AS THE PENSIONS (MISCELLANEOUS) (PROVISIONS) ACT, 2004 REMOVED THE COMPULSORY RETIREMENT AGE FOR PUBLIC SERVANTS FROM 60 YEARS OLD TO 65 YEARS OLDAND STATES INTER ALIA THAT
    ‘ THE RETIREMENT AGE AT WHICH PENSION BECOMES PAYABLE IN THE PUBLIC SERVICE OF BARBADOS SHOULD BE HARMONISED AT THE RETIREMENT AGE AT WHICH IT BECOMES PAYABLE UNDER THE NATIONAL INSURANCE AND SOCIAL SECURITY SCHEME.

SO WHILE THERE IS A LAW WHICH SAYS PERSONS CAN BE RETIRED AT 60 YEARS ; THERE IS AN AMENDMENT TO THAT LAW WHICH GIVES PERSONS THE RIGHT TO WORK TILL 65.

25. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

My understanding is that the press asked the President if NUPW to make a statement at the end of the talks, and he referred them Byer-Suckoo-Carter. He reported that to the Minister. There was no agreement. How could there be when the workers were waiting word on the strike action?

26. Should we not put all of this aside and talk right now about the disturbing incident that took place last night at the NUPW headquarters?

You speak out against this government and they will not tolerate it! We are at a dangerous state in this country.

It would be interesting to know what the white stuff was…….was it baby powder or something more deadly? Where would that come from?

We were warned about these people and still people re-elected them!

27. Police are investigating the NUPW threat of the white substance

28. @ Chaucer
    …and don’t you think this is a matter for authorities to make a JOINT statement of ZERO tolerance for such shiite from ANYONE?
    …or we waiting to show Bajans how things can go if wunna don’t get wunna own way…?

29. The Police will make a statement

30. @Bush Tea

Barbadians have become so politically polarized and ignorant majority of the time they have no idea the need for outrage when required.

31. LOL
    de police? ….POLICE???!!
    They will make a POLITICAL statement about what will be tolerated in Barbados bozie?

No wonder we are having earthquakes…

32. The Police will state the protocols to followed on the receipt of packages

33. “Prodigal Son July 16, 2015 at 10:11 AM #

Should we not put all of this aside and talk right now about the disturbing incident that took place last night at the NUPW headquarters?

You speak out against this government and they will not tolerate it! We are at a dangerous state in this country.

It would be interesting to know what the white stuff was…….was it baby powder or something more deadly? Where would that come from?

We were warned about these people and still people re-elected them”

Mr Prodigal do not make a fool of yourself by insinuating that the incident of ignorance at the NUPW could have been politically inspired.

34. Balance,

If you do not believe that the incident was politically motivated………then you live in la la land!

35. @ Balance
    Prodigal Son is a paid political agent

36. And you are not??????

37. NO

38. It is amazing how you could make comments like that and you do no know of whom you speak! I could only attribute that to a low level of intelligence.

39. Prodigal daughter aka P P

40. Even at time we should have our leaders calming the nation all we continue to get is silence.

JAs

41. I am still in shock about this incident. My head is in a tailspin. I really don’t know what to think. Is this really what we’ve come to in Barbados? Lord have mercy! I hope the earthquakes shook some sense back in some heads.

42. prodigal can u give an update as to why it is taking so lofor the adventurers tomake a statment .btw amm could not be that another adventure of the white sort was used as a diversion to take the red light off the young misguided turks. seems suspiciously funny that all if a sudden after the news broke about the young turks upsurging the system that somone of a different political persuasion would want to pull the rug from under an issue that was heading down a slippery slope unless that someone had an interest to protect

43. Why blame the government for the white powder delivered to the NUPW? To me that is ignorance. Let the investigations take place.

I believe that the union should have a strike fund to pay the Sanitation workers because they are always the first to be called out. The rules of the public sector states you are not paid if you do not turn up for work. Why would they strike again if they were not paid. They are being used by people who always get paid. Some smart sanitation worker must asked the union leaders what about my pay when I strike.

44. @David “Even at time we should have our leaders calming the nation”.

Earthquakes adding to the tension.

45. Caswell, could you please help me?

The government and some contributors, seem to be implying the regulations that govern central government agencies are not applicable to statutory corporations. Hence, central government laws do not over-ride any law which suggests that statutory corporations are with their rights to retire employees at age 60.

Yet, the government is referring to the Code of Conduct and Ethics in the Public Service Act, 2007-1 amended by the Public Service (Amendment) Act, 2010-1, which states “officers shall not be paid for any day of portion of a day during which they are on strike,” as their justification for not paying the SSA employees who participated in the recent industrial action.

Or does the government have the right to apply laws for statutory or central government agencies as necessary when it is convenient for or applicable to a specific situation?

46. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Artaxerxes

Pensions in the Public Service is governed by the Pensions Act, cap. 25, and the Statutory Boards (Pensions) Act cap. 384 sets out the the terms and conditions for the receipt of a pension for employees of the statutory boards that are mentioned in that act. However, the Pensions (Miscellaneous) Provisions Bill of 2004 inserted the identical provisions in both cap. 25 and cap. 384. As a result the retirement age for both categories of workers were changed to coincide with the National Insurance.

The Public Service Act does not apply to statutory boards. Sanitation is therefore not governed by that act.

47. HELP ! HElP! the Dean of knoweldge and common sense asking for help lawd hav merci. but one thing fuh sure ac like to see yuh sweating . all that sh,,t talk yuh bring to table about the young turkeys yuh had to eat.

48. the Union duty is to advice the strikers about striking laws and regulations not at the eleventh hour the Unions once again asking govt to rescind a striking rule to satisfy the striking workers not one dam penny they deserve , like my gran ma tell me nobody gonna help uh ride that big foot mule uh hear,,

49. […] submission Unions seize chance for redemption originally posted 12 July […]

50. And then how the PM and Hal Gollop will get commissions and even bonus too…