Sandra Husbands
Submitted by Sandra Husbands

Barbados it is time for something new. Of what use for Barbados to shift from DLP to BLP to DLP and back again unless this time it brings forth new models and new attitudes. I want to congratulate Grenville in taking action, to move beyond apathy to making a difference in forming a third party – [see link]. However is this sufficient to do the job?

Is that new shift enough, when the thinking and conditions which formed our political and social culture are still carried in the minds, actions, attitudes and expectations of the people, unconsciously feeding and inviting the inequities and corruption in our land.

What is it in our Barbadian nature which unconsciously cements these conditions? One element of our nature is loyalty but it is a blind loyalty, like fruit that is overripe, it spoils, not because it is intrinsically evil but excess ferments its own penalty – harbouring mediocrity, tolerating disrespect, neglect and abuse to the impoverishment of our very lives until we are emptied. Loyalty must be buttressed with integrity so we do not do damage to our intelligence to excuse the unacceptable. Time for something new.

Citizens must no longer surrender to a political party or a ‘supreme leader’ so they can sleep between elections, stay away from the polls when vexed, vote from habit or put their vote out for sale. We are building a society, which is not the sole responsibility of the few but rather that the elected few facilitate and promote the wider engagement of citizens in the process of our governance for collective economic and social prosperity. Citizens need to be informed, ask the questions, contribute to the discourse and not fear the contention of ideas. Then and only then will political parties be pressured to censure themselves, because the only way to get elected is to meet the standard desired, demanded, and defended by engaged citizens. Less than this, citizens signal, ‘if you buy me a drink’, come to my house, flatter me with political attention, make me brek my sides wid’  laughter at a political meeting, I will vote for you. The new message to political parties will be insistence on knowing the policies and how will it be achieved (read the manifestos, your binding contract and discuss these when we canvass you). The citizen’s message must be clear –‘we will lock you up if you mess with our money, and recall you if you are beyond ridiculous, and we will be heard and consulted on what is being done every year. You will not be given our gov’t because it is your turn’. It is time for something new.

Organs, structures and powers which allow this active civil engagement must be developed. It will require constitutional changes. To start the conversation, one change I will proffer is constituency councils, will become parish councils, with elected officials from churches, social groups, PTA’s, clubs, associations where there is lively and responsible engagement and information. New action groups can be formed around socio-economic issues and be part of the councils. Citizens views about policy and projects can be factored into the governance process. The parish councils will be represented at the social partnership. New administrations will not be allowed to unravel previous projects which flowed from the collective agreement of the people without their input. New administrations will perform the next installment to further project advancement, and bring new ideas and projects to the table. Should the Auditor General and PAC report to the social partnership? Should an expanded social partnership if there was no justification for inaction on matters arising from the Auditor –General’s report or PAC, be vested with the power of the recall? Members of the social partnership will be changed on a rotation basis to bring in new engagement and hold experience to make our collective strong so the necessary repairs and oversight needed by any political system occurs. TIME FOR SOMETHING NEW. But new structures, powers and procedures of whatever form they take will mean nothing until our citizens think differently about themselves and engage their politics differently. Maybe this is why this period of hardship, the uncovering of the depths of vice which permeates our political and economic structures; the inefficiencies of our systems and the barrenness of our current leaders is God’s indirect gift to us. It shakes the blind loyalty, dissipates the lethargy, breaks the fear to give us the space to have TIME FOR SOMETHING NEW.

150 responses to “Time for Something New”

1. You asked some difficult questions Bushie. The will to change? Who or what will be the catylst?

2. I here listening to de radio and fella say ” Donville is my fren” and also Jerome Walcott is my fren”.

The biggest problem in making changes in Babadus is frens.

3. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

In what context, other than the common denominator of money, can the matter of Credit Unions really fix David’s point that “to stay popular political parties have to rely on the money class”?

The best practices of Credit Union and cooperatives generally certainly have all the wondrous benefits extolled. Of that there is no doubt.

The concept of collective interest is also clearly associated with raising money in political campaigns but in real terms of a Barbados political landscape how can we practical designate fund raising to a restriction of ‘cooperative’ donations to a limit that the average CU member would give? How does that really work? It can not.

Change is hard. The impact of money in political campaigns is now deeply required and it will continue to flow from the small collective donations, larger corporate amounts and by the inside perks where attorneys, consultants and board chairmen/women get a brief, a project award and choice posts.

How do we stop the flow back from the types of $700K legal fee charges and from the board and other appointments which are very linked to political contributions?

If we can answer those types of questions (integrity legislation) then we can start to address this problem. Only then.

The Credit Union debate has clear merit but its concept as a political campaign measure goes about 2 miles along a 10 mile trip…in the real world beyond the BU forum.

So indeed what is the catalyst.

4. Any of you attending the political brass meeting Sunday?

5. Corruption has become a way of life in Barbados. It has been fed to the population as normal behaviour. It is very evident in our politics, churches, judiciary , education and almost every fabric of our social life. How can this country begin weeding out this beast? It will take draconian measures to start separating the sheep from the goats. The electorate is being taken for a very rough ride by the elected who believe once they are in power the electorate cannot do anything about it. And many of the electorate have accepted that.

Sandra I totally agree when you stated that “One element of our nature is loyalty but it is a blind loyalty, like fruit that is overripe, it spoils, not because it is intrinsically evil but excess ferments its own penalty – harbouring mediocrity, tolerating disrespect, neglect and abuse to the impoverishment of our very lives until we are emptied. Loyalty must be buttressed with integrity so we do not do damage to our intelligence to excuse the unacceptable. Time for something new.”

Do you really believe that there are people amongst us that possess such qualities??? We are all interconnected whether by family ties, business ties, political or social ties. Until we are prepared to open our eyes and see we will continue to follow blindly. Until we are prepared to take the integrity route and be prepared to accept the collateral damage along the way there will be some glimmer of hope. As a tiny society we have allowed ourselves to be brainwashed by politicians and the clergy. Have we heard anything at all from those who have their deepest concern for their flock? It will take a storm of great magnitude to wake this island up.

6. @ Dee Word
    Boss… read up about co-operatives before you incur Bushie’s wrath….

Some of the LARGEST organisations in this world are co-operatives….as are some of the best governed.
    …and it is NOT about ‘money’ or raising money, but about mutual co-operation, transparency, and governance …EXACTLY the issues we are confounded by…

It just happens that the FINANCIAL component of cooperatives is the area of outstanding success in Barbados. IDENTICAL approaches are available in manufacturing, farming, housing, public services and government.
    …over to you and google… 🙂

7. Wuhloss wunna brass bowls reallypaying attention to Deputy Dawg alias bush shit a man who cannot managed his own 4member blog but got all the answers on how to manage two hundred and seventy six thousands people wunna really got rocks in the head fuh trute doah .The domain BushTea at large has been dormant because of the lack of good management.however the self profess Deputy Dawg knows what ills society and how to fix them but can,t fix his own problems

8. Bushie

I asked in the past why the credit unions could not buy land and start cooperative farms in vegetable and animal production. I did not get any answers. I asked about supermarkets and was told they had them and the members broke them down.
    It seems the rules that are in place to keep them down. Those rules need changing. If there is one success of the Barbadian public is the credit union.
    The solutions of the new party did not speak to credit unions.

9. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

We can forgo Google for now. Let’s touch on the key point you made previously: “By pooling thousands of pennies in the COLLECTIVE interests, more than enough resources are available …without the need to be mendicant”.

Let’s take that as a core element of your cooperative governance.

Explain how that will work in Barbados to finance a political party and by so doing prevent and restrict big money donations on the one hand and 2) prevent and restrict all the other types of malfeasance we all know takes places (…the types of $700K legal fee charges and ….other appointments which are very linked to political contributions).

Please remember we both agree that integrity legislation is absolutely needed but it is your contention that because “Some of the LARGEST organisations in this world are co-operatives….as are some of the best governed” that cooperative best practices are the integral and crucial requirement to our governance success.

Clarify which organizations being run as ‘cooperatives’ do not have the requite bells and whistle standards to ensure compliance and the transparency you speak of.

A cooperative is simply one form of business management process. How can that system alone ensure success towards transparency without requite well-managed controls?

Do you not recall the absolute corruption and deceit that doomed the Savings and Loans industry back in the late 80’s to mid-nineties. Were they not operating under the cooperative concept?

You are correct that your rhetoric works well for those who need to Google the definition of a ‘cooperative’ but not for anyone who has been there-done that. So back to you, sir.

10. In terms of speaking of something new .What is the policy of same sex marriages by the new party? Today Peter Wickham manipulated the emails sent in to support his arguments on same sex relationships. He felt that the family must be interpreted differently because President Obama felt so. Foolishness. I doubt President Obama really believe in same sex marriages but political expediency may have led him down that road because of the large number of votes the gay community gave to him.

11. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

Oopps, of course the Savings and Loans is a US corporate entity. Banks actually. But similar in nature and scope to our local Credit Union in many regards.

12. @Dee Word

Was not aware the savings and loans model operated using the cop model.

13. @ David
    …LOL
    steupsss…..mean you can’t see that Dee Word is striving to show off his middle name..?
    Bushie done wid he and that… that is BASIC stuff that can easily be found.

Shiite man!! … Wuh Sandra ain’t even last as long as Peter Wicked …LOL…

@ Clone
    I asked in the past why the credit unions could not buy land and start cooperative farms in vegetable and animal production.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    …same reason they can’t do it in the present.
    Lack of LEADERSHIP……bunch of midgets and shapers. Mostly looking to see what they can get – but being frustrated and leaving when they get to find out how DIFFICULT it is to EXTRACT material benefits like is possible in politics….
    The TRANSPARENCY is blinding…. LOL even without Caswell…

Check this out Clone..
    Suppose persons of the caliber of Walter Blackman Jeff Cumberbatch, the Mc Dowell chap, Grenville, Sandra, Artax, etc were to assume leadership in the Cooperative movement, along with Caswell and Doyle from the old guard (who actually UNDERSTANDS the concept….)

…Can you appreciate the POLITICAL, SOCIAL and ECONOMIC clout that could be brought to bear in this country…?

Boss…. even if you kept the existing shiite system of governance, the POWER and IMPACT of such leadership with 100,000 members and $1B dollars COULD be THE game-changer….

…but alas, brass bowls have the knack of thirsting during a rainstorm….
    …but wait!!
    How is it EVEN POSSIBLE to have 100,000 members and $1B in assets …..and have NO IMPACT in a country of 270,000????

shiite man, Bushie thought that only our CHURCHES had the ineptitude to accomplish such a feat….

14. @SANDRA HUSBANDS,

I was surprised with your calculated and brutal dismissal of me on July 9, 2015 at 6:04 PM. I applaud and respect you tremendously for having the courage to put yourself through the rigour mill called BU.

You have a tremendous opportunity on this forum to debate your politics, to answer with good grace those who are suspicious of your motives and to open up your ears and mind to the chatter on this forum.

Your marathon approach as to how we can sustainably transform Barbadian citizens to play a more active role in the political soap called Barbados is admirable. However it lacks urgency. I have heard that Barbados is terminally ill and that without some divine intervention it is on track to become a fail state.

I would urge you to focus on the words of the BU dame called Islandgal246:

“Corruption has become a way of life in Barbados. It has been fed to the population as normal behaviour. It is very evident in our politics, churches, judiciary, education and almost every fabric of our social life.”

Hammer home the message “No to corruption; yes to meritocracy”. Keep it simple.

I wish you all the best in your political endeavours.

15. Bushie
    You are right on. Your ideas make so much sense. I think you should also put your name in the ling. I remembered Owen Arthur saying show him the black bajan who wanted to invest a million dollars when people were protesting about the land fetching its highest value. At that time the credit union had the money of average bajans.He kept the credit unions down.This Government came in and giving all kinds of people tax free holidays for long period of time.Well let us empower the credit unions remove the taxes from the credit union and assist them in acquiring Barbados Farms lands and put all of the NCC workers and all the young graduates from the Polytechnic to work in food production to reduce our food import bill

The present credit union leaders only seemed to want to get on the committee to travel to the different conferences using the members precious savings.
    They create loan plans to get a car, build a house, travel, back to school and never do you hear about setting up businesses such as farming or other productive areas for small people.

16. It doesn’t matter who is in power if you Bareeks don’t get your act together you will be back using moses tolanto tokens as the greeks the drachma. No garbage pickup, striking over dismissals ,sargassum corruption, back door deals etc Hopefully BU can get it cleaned up before I get there next week

17. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

Yes David, S&Ls also called Thrifts were often mutually held member-owned institutions.

The fact that is was a US based concept meant of course that it ‘wise’ businessman took it to the ‘n’ degree of overreach and wanted to become a broad based large entity and thus some S&Ls become actual corporations and moved well beyond the original concept.

But at the core the original concept centered around the same mutual, member-owned concept of credit unions.

Bushie, fah real?? You stop just so.

There is no need to define the basics as you said but do explain how your concept makes practical sense re coop and political governance.

You were explaining, on request, the coop concept with respect to the governance model.

What is so difficult? You broached the idea.

When you are asked to defend your own brass-bowlery you tend to slip away quietly anyhow …afterall as you suggest, I am just Ingrunt.

18. @ lawson
    How much do you want to bet that YOUR precious continent goes to the dogs even BEFORE our brass bowls do….? Did you take Bushie up on getting a one-way ticket after all…?

LOL…we only foolish…. but wunna got NUFF wickedness to pay for…

Taking the bet? 🙂

19. @ Dee Word
    …so what do you think the “BU 10-Point Plan” is all about…?

20. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

Bushie you are obviously a bright fella and surely you have done some serious stuff in life and likely continue to do so, but sometimes you is definitely be playing a sweet game of Monopoly.

I read the 10 Point Plan a few times, actually most recently a week ago, after I read Grenville’s Solutions.

In the same view the intelligent and bring Grenville had always written some impractical Solutions, so that led to the re-read,

You were definitely playing monopoly when you wrote that plan as a serious, practical and workable governance solution.

Kudos to both of you for the energy and fortitude to put thoughts out there, however.

But if you – and 10 others- honestly believe that your 10 point plan can work anywhere other than in some form of Singapore dictatorial governance -definitely not BIM – then I truly accept my moniker that I am perfectly Ingrunt!

21. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

oh dear, correction: In the same VEIN the intelligent and BRIGHT Grenville had ALSO written some impractical Solutions, so that led to the re-read

22. BT not a chance why do you think the richest resident of Barbados came to Canada to get a liver…….because they grow on trees up here. Canada has it all So one way tickets are not in the cards. But if you need another organ to wave at AC you should make a round trip up north….bring a parka

23. @DeeWord

You are defining an S&L by its origin but we know the S&L of Whitewater fame had long morphed into something else.

24. SANDRA HUSBANDS Avatar
    SANDRA HUSBANDS

Tremendous contributions from some of the writers above, and the debate on the cooperatives. I think if I read the posts right the change in attitudes and outlook is necessary so they use the structures for their benefit. For example a few years back, some leaders in the credit union/cooperative movement wanted to invest in a cannery to take excess agricultural produce to smooth out gluts and scarcity, regularise farming income and develop economies of scale for production because the produce could be stored and exported. Another section of the same cooperative movement, tore it to bits and did a hatchet job on it so ordinary members viewed it with suspicion. It died. Unchanged attitudes and thinking destroyed a good thing. I learned that crafting a path for SBA. We put in all the changes- financing, health insurance, credit guarantees, discounts, marketing support, joint initiatives, government contracts, but much of that did not begin the growth until transformative education commenced. I slackened the pace and started building for sustainability. Fireworks today was a masterful exposition on this same concept. John King spoke about creating a sustainable cultural industry. His solution – create the audience for the products. Our cultural industries will not grow if it does not have its own audience in the next generation. How do you grow an audience, John was asked. Every example John gave was about education to shape the thinking, explaining how the Americans did it. Whether we are discussing a republic or defeating NDC’s; broadening wealth participation or improving consumer interests, the thinking of the citizen is key to make the structure work and protect it from hijack, sabotage or apathy. I wrote earlier on FB about the republic, that simply to shift from our present form to a republic form without the discussion and formation of what and how the new Barbados will empower the people to create a Barbados that can work for everyone, would be a travesty to the purpose of Barbados. A watershed moment of such magnitude is needed that presents citizens with an overwhelming need for change, because it pierces through the distractions, unseats the apathy, and strips naked the complacent, so they want to take the challenging journey of change. It does not require all 277,000 but a sufficient critical mass to qualify as the ordinary citizens moving their own state forward.

25. SANDRA HUSBANDS Avatar
    SANDRA HUSBANDS

Exclaimer I will always want the ideas and engagement of our diaspora. Any new governance model for Barbados going forward must provide avenues for your engagement, contribution and skills so we do not squander your value to this very important process. I wrote a couple of papers a few years back for models on engagement of the diaspora and building a real culture of domestic investment and structuring new systems for managing an aging society t avert the crisis of the elderly in our society. Imagine if the wealth of ideas and expertise of our diaspora tackling different problems with the real possibility of those ideas once sound could be incorporated into the notional plan. How wealthy this country would be if it could meaningfully harvest the value of all its citizens. Then Barbados is really not 166 square miles but a fluid state wherever Barbadians are found.

26. SANDRA HUSBANDS Avatar
    SANDRA HUSBANDS

Sorry, national not notional plan.

27. wait can not belive that it would take a read of bush sht 10 point plan to come to the realization this jerk is a dictator, i have never read his sh.ity plan all i did was check his political friends those at the head of countries, the guy never miss a beat to lick a,rse of Chavez ,Saddam and Castro and a couple other tin horn dictators in the middle east,

28. PETER PARKER. Avatar

So sandra you going with this new party?

29. Minister of Business and International Investment in the new party or the new version of her old party.

Wha wunna tink ?

30. Sandra no elderly crisis in Barbados….they just dump them at the door of the QEH.

31. Very perceptive Sandra…
    …and you hit the nail with your example of what ails the Co-operative movement, and of what largely retarded opportunities for its meteoric growth in the past.
    BTW… it was Caswell and his clan that wrecked that co-operative idea…. ha ha ha … he has since matured quite a bit.

Here is the point.
    Had the idea been supported by persons of your training, reputation and image, the results would have been VERY likely different. There were many of us who saw the vision and value of that idea …but who sat quietly by …while the Caswell gang did their demolition work…

Perhaps you need to consider withdrawing from the BLP now …and, along with a few others whose hearts are correctly placed, (from all sections) join Phillips and more importantly, GUIDE him to a better articulation of a new approach…

32. @ AC
    …the VERY least you can do when you see REAL ladies in the blog is to keep your donkey closed and stop soiling up David’s space…. come back tomorrow…

33. BARBADOS led by flag bearer Darian King,

Good luck to our atheletes.

34. Thank you Exclaimer for your compliment. Geeze I am now a Dame WOW!

There is nothin’ like a dame,
    Nothin’ in the world,
    There is nothin’ you can name
    That is anything like a dame!

Bushie you old fart tek dat !

35. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

Ms Husbands you have been there in the SBA the trenches over the years and I am encouraged by the real world comment you made re: “a cannery to take excess agricultural produce… Another section of the same cooperative movement, tore it to bits … so ordinary members viewed it with suspicion”

Some BU pundits present absolute sweet utopian scenarios that have no basis in the real world.

I really can’t conceive of a management practice that is not already in place that properly and effectively executed will not bring the desired results. Clearly it’s about the people who clog the system rather than the systems themselves.

As a lad I was introduced to the patrol system as a scout. Seemed awesome to me as each of us made the other better when we worked to complete our tasks/roles as required.

Several years later I was introduced to the Japanese Quality Circles via Deming’s Total Quality Management. It was fairly obvious to me then that this was the same concept of Lord Baden-Powell’s patrol system.

So systems abound out there, they morph and are updated but if the people ‘tear them to bits’ rather than work them efficiently and effectively we will still get abject failure like your Credit Union cannery project.

If someone had later sold that idea to Bizzy and it was as successful as the original sponsors expected and in the absence of your nugget of info Bushie would be pun here cussing Bizzy too, rather than the brass bowl CU members who knocked it down. LOLL

36. bush sh,ite the least u can do when u see ac on the blog is to go over on the other side and please u are no gentleman. just another street bully with long horns and a hitler moutstache

37. St George's Dragon Avatar

I am not convinced that Credit Unions are the shining example of how Barbados should be run. For an indication of why read this:
    http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/03/04/credit-cut/
    Of course the BSTU is just one minor Credit Union but while we like to dress it up differently for foreign investment consumption, Barbados does not have a particularly strict financial oversight regime. You don’t have to look further than CLICO to see proof of that. Foreign banks and of course that’s all we have apart from the Credit Unions, come here with first world restrictions and governance. For all their faults, I suspect one of those banks is less likely to have financial problems than one of our home-grown Credit Unions. It’s not politically acceptable to say it, but the BSTU will not be the last of the Credit Unions to have problems.

38. SANDRA HUSBANDS Avatar
    SANDRA HUSBANDS

Grenville is a good Christian and he is a person of integrity, who has ideas and feels passionate about the country. Many others of goodwill in the country want to make a contribution but do not want to be dirtied. So they sit on the sidelines hoping it will change on its own or the notion of a third party and clean slates become attractive. Sadly many morph into the thing they despise unless the root of the problem is addressed. Politicians are drawn from the same societal pool of good and bad, bright and dumb, sincere and diabolical. Strengthen this pool and we will draw leaders from a better group of candidates. The society for too long has accepted the broad brush which paints all politicians as evil while pulling the few examples of real scum for evidence. The scum exists but Barbados did not get here today because of scum, it got here because real men and real women worked and sacrificed to shape it and deal with its issues by entering politics, ngo’s, education, etc. Barbados needs to find its good leaders again to bring to political, economic and social life, persons who have the vision, a competent team (meaning well and wanting to do well is not enough) with a demonstrated ability and soundness of strategy. They must be realistic and practical, yet hopeful and determined. We need to rescue the country because the more disengaged our citizens become from their work, their politics, community and families. Disengaged, while at the same time burdened with a taste and expectation of the American life, at the same moment experiencing major economic hardships, is recipe for a major implosion. It is a grave danger. Therefore we have to reach them, educate and influence them as to how we will move forward, for their lives are the raison d’etre for the existence of the society and economy. This is needed right across the region because our survival depends on an enlightened functioning citizen who can make the new platforms work for them.

39. So we have two good Christian persons of integrity who have ideas and are passionate about their country. One is experienced in political matters and one is so inexperienced and naïve that he badly needs a person of like mind but with political and business experience. We have many people on BU and other places who recognize the disease and are ready for the cure. What say we put them all together?

@ Islandgal,

Great post, sista! You could put down the 2×4 you don’t need it.

@ Exclaimer, you took that like a man. This “bored housewife” is impressed.

@ De Ingrunt Word,

We have to start with the ideal and move towards the realistic.

@ Bushie,

Am I part of the “etc”?

40. @ Dragon
    Nobody expects you to like cooperatives.
    You are from a sector that believes that the good old plantations system is the way to go…

…and what ‘Problems’ are you talking about at PWCCUL? … don’t be naive … OPEN, TRANSPARENT actions led by Caswell and other members to PROTECT and GUARD the members’ assets are not ‘problems’…. these are STRENGTHS!!!

If Your gangs from Plantations Ltd, Goddards, BS&T etc enjoyed such safeguards then a lotta people now called ‘SIR’ would be warded by Colonel Nurse instead …and those entities would still be Barbadian….and going strong – LIKE PWCCUL….

CLICO would still be operating safely if it was modelled on PWCCUL rather than on SAGICOR….

Don’t rush in where angels fear….

41. The last politician who saw my mother alive in this world was Mia Mottley. I like many others in my household have voted for Mia. I have once hosted Mia’s talks with the community at Pinelands Community Pavillion in the Pine and once, when Antionette Thompson was alive I was slated to speak on one of her platforms when she was running with the DLP.

The simple point that I would like to make is that competencies are not the sole legacy of one political party oven another.

The challenge that many of us face is that we are scared “faeces-less” to declare what our persuasions are because support for one single candidate is perceived as our allegiance towards B or D.

“Tremendous contributions from the writers above ….6.37 p.m. without singling out a specific individual speaks to my perception of “standing with feet firmly planted on either side of the divide” and not giving specific credit to whom it is due lest we offend other BLP readers.

At the end of the day Mrs. Husbands this is about “only remembered by what we have done..”

De Ingrunt Word in his remarks speaks of your contributions to the SBA for these many years but I tend to take a difference stance, one that is evaluated by the bottom line of those contributions while in the SBA trenches.

Now please do not take this as a personal castigation, when you get on the side of the 12.41 train to Eternity, you dont see people, you see contributions and the efficacy of that contribution in quantitative or qualitative terms.

So for me my query would be to bring the books of the SBA to table and let me see the bottom line of the parties that were helped during those cannery years and what is the leverage of the SBA now post your contributions.

We have to stop splitting hairs while our country is in the lurches of death, Fumbling around between sugar cane and tourism.

I have often wondered about this soft underbelly of the travel matrix known as the Caribbean Archipelago AND when in examining Tunisia, what a similar action would do to our Caribbean region and our respective Tourism product.

Here we are 8 years post CWC2007 and my global crossing platform that immediately tells you who embarked and who disembarks from a plane yet in 2015 THERE IS STILL NO FAST LANE FOR CARICOM passengers in our respective airports like that afforded by US-VISIT (my patent)

What is it that makes America so quickly embrace an idea to manage 1.2 BILLION yearly visitors but makes a region with 1.4 million purportedly misappropriate similar technology BUT THEREAFTER FAIL TO IMPLEMENT IT FOR EIGHT YEARS?

Do not get me wrong, this is not a point about my patent issue, it is the bigger picture of competencies and efficacious actions that work for the advancement of our nation and our region and that is at the crux of this issue of Time for Something New…soon to be the BLP party slogan

42. St George's Dragon Avatar

“You are from a sector that believes that the good old plantations system is the way to go…”
    If you are as right on that point as on the stability of the credit unions, then we have big problems. And by the way, I didn’t mention the PWCCUL. That’s one I hadn’t remembered. My point is the credit unions that don’t have a Caswell Franklyn to expose wrongdoing. My fear is that the authorities aren’t exactly on the case.
    And by the way, great change of subject there. Move the topic away from the stability of the credit unions to shady dealings in big business. That’s exactly the sort of thing ac would do and you would pull her up on.

43. Any uh wunna wen Ilaro last night ? How about you Bushie ?

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/07/11/pan-time-at-ilaro

44. I bet there was not one speck of garbage at Ilaro last night.

45. How is the Garbage strike affecting people living in Sandy Lane estate, Royal west moreland and Fort George heights?

46. @ Dragon
    Sincere apologies…. missed the specific reference you used….LOL …no comment.

If you disagree that “You are from a sector that believes that the good old plantations system is the way to go…” please advise Bushie on the correct general preferences then.
    Surely you will admit that Plantations worked well for the Dragon clan…

The difference with cooperatives revolves around their philosophy of ‘persons before capital’, and results in the kind of total openness and transparency that negates many of the problems seen in normal businesses….SERIOUSLY!! …Yet there are many BILLION dollar cooperatives operating successfully all over the world in multiple areas of business.

47. St George's Dragon Avatar

Wrong clan I am afraid. My clan is many generations of agricultural workers.

48. LOL @ Dragon
    …the Goddards too. 🙂

49. @ Bushie,

I tekkin yuh advice. I gine fishin. tummuch licks sharing on BU.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/69678/headlines

50. St George's Dragon Avatar

Now I understand. I always thought that there was an element of self-determination in life. I now realise that my many generations of agricultural labouring ancestors have consigned me to be a crypto-capitalist, slave owner mentality, exploiter of the poor. Not sure how that happened.