Submitted by Charles Knighton
So what is your (dis)order?

The  storm brewing over the latest edition of psychiatry’s so-called bible is not merely a matter for “eggheads”. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, or DSM 5 in shorthand, holds vast sway over human lives. It separates the sick from the well. It determines what kind of drugs and other treatment millions of people receive—and whether insurance and government aid programs will support those treatments. Yet the latest DSM in 19 years has arrived amid spreading doubts about whether the manual’s vast authority is merited.

Psychiatry’s great problem has been that science has been unable to identify the biochemical causes of mental disorders, leaving the American Psychiatric Association (APA)—which produces the DSM and profits greatly from its sales—free to codify disorders based merely on clusters of symptoms, all the while persuading themselves that they are proceeding scientifically on a project that is instead built on fictions, seemingly assembled primarily to justify the prescribing of tablets of dubious value.

We are all, to some extent, crazy. If you come to know any human being well enough, you eventually gain access to the basement where the traumas and wounds and deprivations are stored; rummage in there for a while, and you begin to understand the neuroses and fixations that shape his or her personality. The successful, reasonably happy people I’ve known are nuts in a way that works for them. Those who struggle and suffer fail to sublimate their preoccupations to some meaningful use.

About 50 percent of the population, the APA admits, will have one of its listed disorders at some point in their lives. Shy, like Emily Dickinson? You have “avoidant personality disorder”. Obsessed with abstractions and numbers? You have “autistic spectrum disorder,” like Isaac Newton. Suffer from “narcissistic personality disorder,” with some hyper-sexuality thrown in? You must be a politician. To be skeptical of these neat categories isn’t to deny that minds get broken, stuck, or lost, and need help finding their way out of misery. But psychotherapy, despite all the obscurantist jargon its adherents prefer, remains an art, not a science; there really is no bright line between nuts and not. If you’re an old lady who lives amid piles of newspapers and personal treasures, you have “hoarding disorder”. If you’re a CEO who exploits sweatshop labor to pile up countless billions, you’re on the cover of Forbes.

For those who are interested, and all should be, I recommend “The Book of Woe: The DSM and the Unmaking of Psychiatry” by Gary Greenberg.

31 responses to “Order in Disorder–Cuckoo! Cuckoo!”

1. Charles Kinghton
    We have not agreed on much in the past and may likely not agree on anything in the future. However, you have point your finger on a critical issue. An issue which, though vastly important is unlikely to find resonance amongst this community. The truth is that even if you were to disagree with your government you maybe diagnosed with a mental disease and assigned to some psychiatric facility some where.We have watched the AMA as operating within a national security state changed the PDR to be able to do this. If a baby cries too much these criminals that idiots on this blog like to protect can diagnose that baby with a mental ailment. If a parent refuses to give their babies all those dangerous vaccines those parent could find themselves in mental facilities and we now have thousands of studies to prove that ALL vaccines are dangerous. Mind you NO DOCTOR IN THE WORLD CAN PROVE THE EXISTENCE OF A MENTAL ILLNESS but yet they prescribe powerful medications daily. What an Alice in Wonderland. We call again for the overthrow all governing systems everywhere by any means necessary.

2. It seems that we have reached a point where there is no right or wrong and further; that the wishes of the individual no longer considered.Are we to believe that in a capitalist market decisions are not likely to be affected by money and greed?

3. .. It’s like post war they’re looking for the communists or who the Marxist is
    10,000 pictures on Facebook
    That’s like the pot calling the kettle narcissist
    Come on really
    Saying the devil but you’re the chief arsonist
    Hypocrites can’t even see their own part in this
    No reflection
    Vampire paradigm
    No introspect
    This star that star rants has a breakdown
    3 months before, pure obsession, picture can’t take down
    Children it’s a shake down
    They’re just looking for a sacrifice
    They’ve been doing this since before Bobby Darrin sang Mack the Knife..

4. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Prov.26:4

Answer not a fool according to his folly, lest thou also be like unto him

5. @GP

Who is the fool.

6. Georgie Porgie Avatar

medical illiterates who post inaccuracies on BU

7. So GP then who are the medical literates then??

8. Charles Knighton Avatar
    Charles Knighton

“Answer not a fool according to his folly, lest thou also be like unto him”
    “medical illiterates who post inaccuracies on BU”

Oh, poor Charles, unable to understand the big words and complex ideas of the intelligentsia. Such comments are demonstrative of the disdain which many in the modern pantheon of Olympian deities, i.e. the medical profession, hold for us mere mortals. It also explains the unmitigated arrogance of those responsible for DSM 5.
    A medical literate, Duke University psychiatrist Allen Frances, who was the lead author of the fourth DSM, is waging a fierce campaign to discredit DSM 5 and persuade the APA to order a rewrite.
    And you say?

9. GP’s comment does seem harsh if one considers that a google turns up many similar concerns which have been expressed in different fora.

10. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE A medical literate, Duke University psychiatrist Allen Frances, who was the lead author of the fourth DSM, is waging a fierce campaign to discredit DSM 5 and persuade the APA to order a rewrite.

ANSWER SEEMS VERY CLEAR TO ME FROM THIS STATEMENT ABOVE

NB YOU WILL GOOGLE A LOT OF INACCURACIES TOO

11. Georgie Porgie Avatar

we now have thousands of studies to prove that ALL vaccines are dangerous. Mind you NO DOCTOR IN THE WORLD CAN PROVE THE EXISTENCE OF A MENTAL ILLNESS but yet they prescribe powerful medications daily.

science has been unable to identify the biochemical causes of mental disorders,

Rubbish!! PLEASE KINDLY GO LOOK UP THE TRUTH BEFORE POSTING JUNK ON BU

12. But Georgie,

Good Chris’, yeh don’ got tah behave so… If there are gaps or inaccuracies, I certainly would like to see an informed opinion. All like wunna so getting ol’ wif age …

13. Georgie Porgie Avatar

but baffy the statements made by these jokers dont make sense

do you see me arguing with the lawyers on BU. I sit and read and learn

do you see me cutting and pasting articles online about stuff I dont know anything about on BU

14. Al’right Georgie

I guess I will not now know if Psychiatry’ is more of an art than a science cause you tell me to go and find out by myself … Christmas gone soon come hear, and I mekkin’ up my gift list already. I just lettin; ya know

15. Georgie Porgie Avatar

THE PRACTICE OF MEDICINE IS BOTH ART AND SCIENCE BAFFY

THIS SECTION IS ALSO RUBBISH
    “the American Psychiatric Association (APA)—which produces the DSM and profits greatly from its sales—free to codify disorders based merely on clusters of symptoms, all the while persuading themselves that they are proceeding scientifically on a project that is instead built on fictions, seemingly assembled primarily to justify the prescribing of tablets of dubious value”.

ARE NOT DISEASES OR DISORDERS BASED ON CLUSTERS OF SYMPTOMS?

16. speak u’r branes
    there are mad people on BU, some acting, though analysing cut and pasted comments means you are looking at others peoples personalities

17. Charles Knighton Avatar
    Charles Knighton

There is a MAD ASS doctor in the house!

18. Dr.GP
    What do you think about this extract?

Yet the debate is so polarised that the American Psychiatric Association (APA) is publishing the $200 fifth edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) into a maelstrom of controversy. Indeed, two of the DSM’s fiercest critics, Dr Allen Frances and Dr Robert Spitzer, are former chairmen of the task forces that composed previous editions.
    Now, just two weeks before the new edition appears, the National Institute of Mental Health, the world’s largest mental health research institute, has announced that it is withdrawing support for the manual as “it lacks validity” due to the unscientific basis of its classifications.
    http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/health-and-families/features/the-diagnostic-and-statistical-manual-of-mental-disorders-has-been-updated-but-should-we-beware-this-manuals-diagnosis-8608342.html

19. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Ask Knighton
    He knows all about it!

20. Thanks for your response GP.

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

David all it says is that two factions of the psychiatrists are at war.Its does not warrant the asinine addenda appended by you know who.

Some of us must stop cutting and pasting info about which we know nothing on BU.Others must refrain from posting large inaccuracies.

22. @GP

It says a little more, see copy paste from the article.

“Indeed, two of the DSM’s fiercest critics, Dr Allen Frances and Dr Robert Spitzer, are former chairmen of the task forces that composed previous editions.”

23. Georgie Porgie Avatar

“ two of the DSM’s fiercest critics, are former chairmen of the task forces that composed previous editions.”
    AND THERE IS A FIGHT BETWEEN THESE TWO AND SOME OTHER FACTION
    It does not warrant the asinine addenda appended by you know who.

24. Charles Knighton Avatar
    Charles Knighton

Excepting psychiatry, in every medical specialty symptom clusters are identified, a tentative diagnosis is determined, and lab work is used to confirm said diagnosis. AS SCIENCE HAS BEEN UNABLE TO IDENTIFY THE BIOCHEMICAL CAUSES OF MENTAL DISORDERS, this process of diagnostic confirmation is NOT POSSIBLE with a psychiatric diagnosis!
    One also wonders about those whose symptom clusters led to a diagnosis of Asperger’s syndrome, as Asperger’s syndrome has been struck from DSM-5. As these are people from the same profession who gave us frontal lobotomies and the phenomenon of repressed memories which ruined so many lives, I am skeptical of all labels based on current science.
    My apologies for the MAD ASS comment.

25. Knighton

Man don’ apologize man … Not ’bout hey …If de man want cussin’, he suppose to get cuss … HA HA. Look Georgie shoulders broad hear, he ain’ nah cry baby, so cuss he ef he is to get cuss … HA HA HA … MURDA

26. Georgie Porgie …..why can’t you open up and discuss things like a grown man? You are accusing others of cutting and pasting yet you are doing the same when you said “Answer not a fool according to his folly, lest thou also be like unto him” Where you think that came from? You are always on the attack , man calm down nuh?

27. ✂————————— Cuss and Paste ———————————-
    HA HA HA HA MURDA … FIGHT … CAT FIGHT UP IN HEY TANIGHT … HA HA HA MURDA
    ✂———————————————————————————–
    And here’s a little something that you might not like
    My DJ’s name is Mix Master Mike
    It’s a real pity that you people gotta bite
    But I can understand ’cause he sounds so nice

28. @Charles Knighton July 10 at 9:09 p.m. “Excepting psychiatry, in every medical specialty symptom clusters are identified, a tentative diagnosis is determined, and lab work is used to confirm said diagnosis. AS SCIENCE HAS BEEN UNABLE TO IDENTIFY THE BIOCHEMICAL CAUSES OF MENTAL DISORDERS, this process of diagnostic confirmation is NOT POSSIBLE with a psychiatric diagnosis!”

Clearly Charlie has never seen a real, real madman. The sort of madman that existed 50 or so years ago before the advent of modern treatments and drugs. Clearly Charlie has never experienced a reality that does not exist. Clearly Charlie knows nothing about mental illness, or the treatment of mental illness.

Clearly Charlie knows nothing about the on the ground practice of medicine. Dear Charlie: If our parents and doctor’s waited for the results of lab tests before beginning treatment many of us would not make it to age 2. If you touch an infant Charlie and you detect a fever you begin treatment. You do not wait for the results of lab tests. You begin treatment or the child may have a seizure and suffer permanent brain damage while you wait.

Doctors are not scientists in a lab. Patients are not lab rats.

Doctors are scientists, but they are also compassionate human beings.

It is not possible to measure compassion in a lab either.

But that does not mean that compassion is not real.

Jus’ sayin’ ya know.

29. […] Order in Disorder – Cuckoo! Cuckoo! (bajan.wordpress.com) […]

30. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Simple Simon
    GOOD POINTS
    you will recall that my initial response was Prov.26:4

Answer not a fool according to his folly, lest thou also be like unto him

YOU HAVE ANSWERED HIM ACCORDING TO Prov.26 5
    Answer a fool according to his folly, lest he be wise in his own conceit.

CLEARLY KNIGHTON IS A JOKER FROM A PACK OF CARDS WHO WANTS TO BE RELEVANT. hE POSTS HIS JUNK IN THE ADVOCATE AND HERE ON BU. IT IS VERY CLEAR TO ME JUST AS YOU HAVE DEMONSTRATED THAT HE KNOWS LITTLE ABOUT THE ART AND PRACTICE OF MEDICINE.

HE IS ALSO INCORRECT IN MANY OF HIS STATEMENTS