Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

There was a time not too long ago when Barbados was looked to for leadership on the regional front. We were told we were a country fighting above its weight. There was a time when a president of the USofA, or two, would visit our shores, today they pass us by. Sadly in recent years we have lost our way spiritually, economically, politically, morally…

Barbados Underground does not agree with the view that because the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) won the last general election it means all citizens, which includes the BU family, should agree with all policies being enunciated by the government. Rubbish! The DLP won the last election by a two seats margin and a little over four thousand votes made the difference in the total vote recorded at 152, 593.  Of growing concern is also the large group of Barbadians who continue to ignore the right to vote.

In the lead up to the 2008 general election what led BU to be supportive of the David Thompson opposition was his promise to communicate with the people and to lead a government committed to being transparent.. Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur had assumed a dictatorial approach to managing Barbados which offended the BU household.  Sadly Thompson died in office before he was able to achieve anything of note.

Perhaps not!

What stands out about Thompson’s brief stint as Prime Minister was his willingness to talk to the media and engage the people, especially ordinary people. In his short tenure (short of two years) as Prime Minister he held more press conferences and sessions with the media than Prime Minister Stuart has held in over three years. All political leaders by definition will offer different leadership styles, however, a single quality which separates those who make greater impact are the ones who are able to effectively communicate to the charges. In the case of Prime Minister this is defined as all Barbadians. Prime Minister Stuart must demonstrate the wherewithal to unleash a rallying cry. He must, it is what leaders do.  There seems to be a rancour which continues to characterize the local political landscape which does not make the job of managing in a challenging economic period any easier.  Yes we all agree it is a difficult period, all the more reason why we need to get over the egoistical BS, on BOTHSIDES of the political divide. BU is still trying to appreciate the tone use by Minister of Finance at the recent luncheon.

What will plague the legacy of the Stuart administration, unless there is a dramatic turnabout, is its unwillingness to engage the public. If his henchmen were as vocal as he is silent perhaps it would serve to compensate. With the exception of Donville Inniss and Stephen Lashley it begs the question, what of our ministers of government?  Worst of all has been the inability of the BLP opposition to capitalize on a glaring political vacuum.  Even in a post general election 2013 period the dissension continues. We have seen it with the egos of George Payne and Edmund Hinkson, the conflict finding its way all the way to the courts of Barbados. We have also seen it in a BLP opposition strategy where MAM has been relatively silent for the 100 days after the general election, a deliberate strategy we have been told. However, former leader of the opposition Owen Arthur and Kerri Symmonds have been very vocal representing the voice of the opposition party.

Whether you are ardent supporter of both political parties there is a melancholy which is sucking the last dregs of enthusiasm of a once proud people.

1. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Islandgal246

I certainly don’t want you to laugh, even though you and I both know that the PM drive a wicked hard lash in Donville when he take away MoH and made Minister of Very Small Business. Talk about going from having a massively large ministerial budget to virtually nothing at all. The PM clearly does not like Donville but then again most people in the DLP knees that the PM thought that Donville was empty vessel.

2. old onion bags Avatar

Donville would make a great PM…..As to the saying ” Empty vessels makes most noise….bare boo in this case…a least there is sound. Some noise is way better than no noise ….Give Donville that muchly deserving chance..his performance during the last 5 yrs at the QEH stands. Donville for PM any day….

3. Donville is a threat to the PM and the further away he is sent the safer the PM will feel. Donville is the ONLY ONE in the DLP who is showing some balls. The PM could do Barbados a favour and hand over the reigns to Donville.

4. Onions is that you talking? You actually agree wid me???

5. old onion bags Avatar

Yes Luv…..empty vessels make most noise…ya faget?..LOL..I ent eat breakfast yet and probably so too you…whaloss!

6. LOLL I gine look fuh sumting tah eat …maybe some salt fish and bakes….mmmnnn

7. old onion bags Avatar

While we at it…..poodle for MOF. Time for a reshuffle ….somebody, anybody…

8. old onion bags Avatar

@ Islandgal

I bet more could be achieved thru Min Inniss and his zest as a better minister…all that we are hearing is just nothings from the rest….we yearn to hear on the economy, yet all we are hearing is how to safely sell raffle tickets and when the 11 plus results comin out….cuddlaud!

9. To be honest Donville is the only Minister I will listen to when I hear him pon de news! The rest of them are a waste of time. And to give the MOH to that IDIOT John Boyce that is nail in the coffin for Health Care.

10. old onion bags Avatar

….totally a-GROVE….Isgal.

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

What about Lashley the man promoted to have been the most successful Cabinet Minister of them all?
    The man touted as having planted more stone and wood than any Housing minister ever.

The man’s stolen “H.E.L.P” programme was marketed to the gullible as the greatest thing since the introduction of free secondary education in Bim.

A smart man of conning intent that was able to spend over $40 million of taxpayers’ money even without the MoF, PM or even Parliament having to approve such?

A man whose kickbacks were reckoned using the formula of $28 million for you and $5 million for me thereby putting his MoF who sat next to him in Maths class at the Garrison to abject shame.

What a giant of a man from the East. Why not Lashley the garrison boy for PM and MoF?
    It’s a pity that both MoF’s and PM’s have to travel to the US of A to attend conferences and seminars on a regular basis!

12. @Islandgal246
    Name for again one thing Donville has achieved since 2008?…………………………………..a big fat NOTHING, thats what.

@Miller

You serious, that man take 5 million in Lashes, in one go? Thats 18% partner, and rich even by BLP standards. These fellas does graduate real fast

13. Devoe you showing your “Yarfowl Brigade” stripes.

14. In 2008 when the big boy at Housing politically arrived and went pun Morse big able private jet to America to look at Villages project, all he asked for was flat-screem tv’s and some brand name jeans pants, now graduated and sheltering under the raining millions?

15. no wonder why FS send him to public works after claiming he was the best Minister of Housing since Adam was a lad.