girl_beaten_with_piece_of_wood1

1. David this happens at all socio economic levels…it is just that we don’t see it. I listened to why the mother hit her child….”she was talking back”! This incident highlights the cruelty children are faced with on a daily basis. Who speaks for the child?

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Islandgal246

Give it up now. Listen to what Bushie is saying: he is making more sense. Like you, I had the same initial reaction but after reading Bushie, I am a bit more sympathetic. Don’t you think that your father needed counselling: stop calling the kettle black.

3. No matter what a person’s circumstances is, that does not give them the right to abuse their children. When my dad was beating my mother for years, no one called it abuse. It was an accepted norm to the police and neighbours that is between husband and wife. It was licks then, the difference is that it is recognized as abuse today. I am sure my father like Karen never saw themselves as an abuser. We have a sinister way of accepting that it is ok for parent to discipline children in any way they see fit.

Look at sexual abuse of children, this was and still to extent a hush hush topic. Many in the family will know and say nothing. Many neighbours will know and say nothing. Saying and doing nothing will encourage people to continue this crime against children. Look at the many runaway girls, many have been victims of sexual abuse that started in the home.

If you take a small sapling and nourish it, take care of it lovingly it will grow into a wonderful tree. If you don’t feed it properly, keep hitting it with sticks and weed wackers, it may not reach maturity or if it does it will bear the scars of the abuse it had gone through.

4. Caswell I don’t need you to tell me who I should listen to. Perhaps you should heed your own advice on who is calling the kettle black.

5. @ Crusoe
    Everything has its place in this complex world of ours….including violence. Obviously it is not a first, second, third or even tenth option, in administering discipline, but WHEN THE CIRCUMSTANCES REQUIRE, it may well become the best option available.
    Almost every country maintains an army whose role is to use violence should that option become necessary.

Any country that CHOOSES to dispense with that option opens itself to easy manipulation by others with less stringent morals…would that be wise?
    Same thing with parents / teachers / police / judges etc…..A wise one will walk softly…..and carry a big stick….

The main problem with Karen is that her social status and lack of resources forced her to option eleven long before it would have forced some of us more fortunate bloggers….

@ Hants
    “Bushie let us agree that you support the beating of children as a disciplinary tool and I don’t”
    Perhaps this fact just serves to quantify our different levels of commitment to discipline.
    …..Indeed, we may even agree that Bushie “supports the execution of children as a disciplinary tool” – should the circumstances so dictate.
    There are some things that are THAT important Hants.

6. Beat the slaves to keep them in line
    Beat the wife to keep her in line
    Beat the child to keep him/her in line
    Beat the dog to keep it in line

Seems fair and rational to me

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | March 28, 2013 at 7:38 AM |
    “Almost every country maintains an army whose role is to use violence should that option become necessary.”

That’s a very good point.
    Even little Christian Bim has a standing army aka Defence Force whose members are allowed to retire early (as opposed to the Police) on a decent pension on the grounds that they have to endure severe trauma and psychological distress due to exposure to violence and killing of the enemy.

Since when does the incursion into fields of mary jane and the killing of the plants constitute psychological trauma and distress?

8. OOPS! islandgal you took a big bite out of Cawell you better apologise before you get a taste of the 2×4 Bush Tea is weilding in his hand….. Why is everybody trying to convince the “old fossil” Bush Tea that is sense of reasoning is outdated and goes back to An era when men lived in caves and woman were treated as footstools

9. @islandgal

Yours and Sarge’s position is understood. No sensible person condones what Karen is portrayed in the video as doing. What is the argument is that a person who is firmly lodged in a socially insecure and unstable position and has reached out to the social services with no success will resort to what she knows best. It does not make it right but it is what it is. To understand the mentality at play here is to understand why poor working class people are inclined to have large families even though logic and rational thinking says that it should not be the case. Linear thinking will not help anyone understand what is at play here.

10. AC…these people are products of a society that uses violence as a means of control. Violence gets us nowhere, Bush tea and Caswell are Barbarians!

11. “To understand the mentality at play here is to understand why poor working class people are inclined to have large families even though logic and rational thinking says that it should not be the case.”

David many poor people with large families have brought up outstanding children without the help of a 2×4.

12. There are now cases of self mutilation in schools mainly girls doing this to themselves. Even though women have made lots of progress in this country, some of us do not value our girls, many are abused physically and sexually.

13. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Islandgal246

What barbarian what? I have never laid a hand on my father in anger much less a hockey stick or a chair foot. You admitted physically abusing you father and probably sending him to an early grave and you call me a barbarian. Could you imagine how your father felt after feeding and clothing you, and you turned around and lick the piss out of him? Why couldn’t you and your siblings hold your father and kiss him, tell him how much you love him and reason with him. You, his little girl broke his heart and killed him and then you are indecent enough to come on BU and boast about it. It you have a god, pray for forgiveness. “Honour thy father and thy mother that days would be long in the land……”

14. @islandgal

It is important not to generalize. Recent scientific studies all point to the fact our poverty segment is growing at an alarming rate. This is a reality we have to face s far as predictable behaviours is concerned. Yes poor families may be able to raise 12 children but there are several other cases where this is not the case and which is likely to lead to situations being discussed here.

15. Caswell please do not go there…… I should let my father continue to brutalize my mother, the mother of his children? That is why men like you would get away with all kinds of abuse because you fed, clothe and put a roof over your children’s head.

16. It seems that as a society we haven’t gone forward at all. Abuse of children and spouses is condoned by the courts, the police and society.
    When people stand up to their abusers they are condemned because they should be grateful because their abusers for feeding and clothing them. Such backwardness!

17. Sargeant |

Beat the Bishop … keep it in line .. 🙂

18. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Islandgirl246

I am not saying that people should not stand up to their abusers: far from it; I am saying that there are options for dealing with the problem other than becoming an abuser yourself. You could have shown your father love. Instead, you beat him to a pulp, broke his spirit and send him to an early grave. Mind you, if he died within a year and a day of that beating, you might be guilty of murder and conspiracy to commit murder. You should note that there is no statute of limitation in a case of murder. If I ever find out who you are, I am not to sure that I will not report you to the Police. Don’t worry though, with Leacock there he would likely accept a plea of manslaughter or you might get off entirely because of diminish responsibility. Leave Karen alone you murderess.

19. “Leave Karen alone you murderess.”

Caswell you have been accused here on this blog of having paedophile tendencies yet I have never call you one BUT I will now! YOU Paedophile!

20. Leave me alone you Paedophile!

21. I got my hockey stick waiting for you Caswell. You think you could frighten me? You piece of fowl pup! Talking nuff shoite bout murder, you think you are a lawyer? I will gladly give you my name and address you fcuking idiot. COMMER I will deal with you fcuking child molester!

22. And I forgot that you have been accused of being a sticky finger thief too!

23. islandgal246 on March 28, 2013 at 11:23 AM
    And I forgot that you have been accused of being a sticky finger thief too!
    ————————————
    Islandgal is that you…….standing up for your rights? You go girl ?

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP | March 28, 2013 at 12:26 PM |
    “You go girl”

So sweet of you, Fractured, to empathize with a girl like yourself.
    I love that kind of support coming from a girl like you. Sounds like a real she/she position to take it in.
    Pity Caswell is a batty-man hater or he would give you a good grinding from behind. But we leave you to our friend Lemuel to tar and feather your backside with his 7×4 plank of wood soaked in Chinese brush.
    Pity Caswell is a batty-man hater or he would give you a good grinding from behind. But we leave you to our friend Lemuel to tar and feather your backside with his 8×4 plank of wood soaked in Chinese brush and vaseline.
    Right, honey chile? Bitch!

25. Hi Miller by you last comment we understand it is that time of the month when most women like yourself go through their regular monthly cycle….so you are a bit angsty !

Your pains will soon be over !!

26. lol @ Islandgal
    Bushie was nicely trying to get you to see the Hypocracy in your tirade against Karen…but no….you gone and interfere with Caswell.
    ….and now looking to find yourself in the hands of the DPP fuh murhduh….or is it farhduh? 🙂
    ..this time the poor man was not even beating yuh mother…. You mean after all these years you have yet to figure out that a woman screaming out every night and lots of ruckus in the bedroom may not have anything to do with being abused….. 🙂
    …look how you going and get lock up nuh….!

27. Bushie please do not make light of a serious case. When a man takes up a cutlass on many occasions and lashes a mother with it in front of her children it meant that he will one day kill her. When a child has seen a mother lying on the floor with blood streaming from cutlass wounds can a child forget that scene easily? When a child sees her mother thrown against a door by a father and her arm breaking the glass and getting cut can that be erased from that child’s memory? When the police confiscated several cutlasses from my father and nothing was done you call that justice? ? When a man beats his wife until she is a bloody mess you call that a rukus in a bedroom nuh? I will gladly stand in front a judge and tell him if I had to defend my mother again I will do it all over again. Who speaks for that child?

28. Most of beat tar to go to the Olympic cinema to see the picture “Norman Is That You”. Fractured is that you, again.

29. Bushie
    This time I must side with Island. That father needed the 2X4 regularly around his head, feet and shoulders. Please I am not getting into your ruckus. Island, over to you.

30. wow !with so much beating going on up in here i think it is time to call in the Mod Squad!

31. Lemuel you is a real wutless gallows-bait fuh true…..
    Agreeing that some lashes was due to IG’s father is agreeing with BUSHIE, ….not Islandgal and her crew of non beaters. 🙂
    …she is saying that only she have justification to share licks….

@ Islandgal
    Bushie apologies for joking. Hopefully you will see that to Karen, this may well be an equally deep emotional experience with trying to raise her children and just as Bushie should not make light of your personal situation, wunna should also give her the benefit of SOME doubt.

Bushie tired with this issue now though…it a bit too obvious and pedestrian….

32. Thank you Lemuel……Hypocrites like Caswell who quoted “honour thy father” what about honouring your wife and children first? Respect is earned and it cannot be earned by force. As I said before I didn’t hate my father, I was the one who was called to go to him when he got sick while some of my siblings told me to leave him to die where he was. I encouraged him make a will to include our mother who was divorced from him. One day I overheard him whispering to an old friend that I was the prettiest of his children. My siblings said that I was his favorite but never knew that. As I got older I would go to see him often more than any of his other children. He gave me joie de vivre , he gave me a love for all types of music so there was lots of good in him as well.

I will agree that Karen needs some counselling on parenting before it is too late before one of her children turn on her and can anyone blame them if they did?

33. yes the woman does need mental help . no amount of jail time can cure her. maybe out of evil might come the help she truly deserves. situations like these are desperate signs that a person is crying out for help, now may not be too late. Island gal as for situation that was completly different and only Caswell and Bush Tea can compare the two as the same. However one should think not once ! not Twice ! but mutiple times before listening to Bush Tea call for unleashing Caswell on this society in any kind of leadership role cause the two of them together we all be dead

34. Islandgal246

I am now back home and I see that you can dish it out but you can’t take it. When you are put under pressure, you become nasty. Just put yourself in Karen’s shoes and see how you would feel after all the judgements you posted about her situation.

I was abhorred when I watch the video and my first reaction was like yours. Then I read Bushie’s comments and I became sympathetic for the mother’s situation. You refused to learn anything from Bushie, even though I can detect that you have some kind of crush on him. By the way, I don’t think that you murdered your father. As I understand it, you would be guilty of manslaughter because you did not intend to kill him.

35. Caswell…… you can kiss my big black toe nail!

36. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Islandgal246

Thanks for the invitation but I don’t think that I would be able to stomach the smell.

37. Respect de oman dem

38. gingerbread girl is Anthony da Silva of Innotech Services. he grew up watching his mother get beat. that is why he is as he is today.