The 2013 General Election is behind us and the analysis is  being processed by those interested to determine the factors which led to the final result. There is surprise that the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) ran a media campaign which was more effective in persuading voters. One DLP TV Ad capitalized on the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) blunder of introducing the privatization issue to the campaign. BLP supporters have accused the DLP that the Ad misrepresented their position.

There is the reality in Barbados that we have an ineffective media which is not sufficiently organized and respected to challenge fact from fiction which is spewed by political parties. There is no independent agency which the public can repose its confidence to get a credible view on issues disseminated by political parties during a campaign. The Ad was crafted to play on the fears of the public who rightly fear for their financial security in uncertain economic times.

Should Barbadians be concerned?

1. millertheanunnaki | March 10, 2013 at 10:08 AM | wrote”Do you know if that teacher from the Combermere School pretending to a bus driver in the DLP ad has been disciplined for his blatant breach of the Public Sector Workers Act or whatever it is correctly titled?”

Same old same old. The “ordinary man” is vilified for a “bad act” that benefits the extremely well paid politicians.

Why don’t you all work really hard to scrutinize the contracts awarded by Government to ensure that politicians and those on the stairs and bannisters are not enriched.

Since you are all in the middle to upper echelons of Barbadian society you have access to a lot of wheelings and dealings so step up.

Integrity legislation and Freedom of Information.

Stop talking shiiite an focus.

2. I’m waiting to hear when the P.M will declare his assests and invite his M.P’s to do the same, then he can ask the opposition to do the same. Failing to do this, any defaulter should be discilpined. The FOI legeslation should be passed and adhered to so that we can get a true picture of what our political people are conducting themselves. It is time this country get serious and demand more from their political people whether from the DLP or the BLP.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants | March 10, 2013 at 3:17 PM |

Well Hants, if you can find ‘nothing wrong’, either legally or morally, with an University-trained teacher allowing himself to be exploited and abused in the breaking of the law to further the political objectives of a political party that can easily be turned out of office by a hair’s breadth of a fickle electorate or through the realization of circumstances reminiscent of 1994 then may your god have mercy on your intellectual soul.

BTW, your implied slur by reference to Glyne Banny (and you know who he is since he is the same financial prostitute servicing both parties with Hutson and Boyce being his most recent clients) is in total contrast to the openly made absolution- by the current PM, a man of the finest Integrity- of all politicians who served in the last Parliament. You accusations of previous corruption are totally out of order and discredit the present PM, absolutely.

4. How can any FIRST TERM government boost victory in a second term witrh such a slender majority? Truth be told, the electorate on which of the two evils was “better”. It shows there is dire need of a serious THIRD party in Barbados, any such party emerging on the stage right now, stand a good chance of winning the 2018 general elections.

5. june boy on March 10, 2013 at 3:58 PM
    How can any FIRST TERM government boost victory in a second term witrh such a slender majority?
    ——————————
    A.K.A June Plum,

Why you don’t go and rest your weary soul? Parliament have not had it first sitting post the 2013 elections and you can predict the outcome of 2018 general elections ?

You ought to see how that arant BLP chant of ‘ one term government’ from 2008 – 2013 , could not even allow the BLP bastards to present credible proposals to the Barbadian electorate…..and when the BEEs chose PRIVATISATION…..the DEMs put that nonsense on a bus…..and BUST their ar$e !

It is DEMs now……..and DEMs again !!!

Mia Mottley leading the BLP will be just as easy to beat…….after the DEMs produce another boss ad starring some of her female ‘ victims’. Actually George Payne is at this moment compiling the footage !!!

6. Is it too much to ask if both sides would take a time out until the Estimates debate.

7. David wrote “Is it too much to ask if both sides would take a time out”

Why David. What difference is it going to make.

Millertheannanuki and his BLP comrades are suffering withdrawal symptoms by being so close…….

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants | March 10, 2013 at 6:50 PM |

Same thing goes for you and your ilk.
    Just a reminder so that when things start to go further south you want to jump your cowardly yellow ship:

“And if I found that kind of news about the son of a DLP politician I would certainly would not expose it on BU. I am a partisan DLP supporter but you new to BU so you may not know that.”
    From the cover up mouth of Hants a man for Freedom of Information and exposure of corruption and vice now indelibly etched in blue BU stone.

9. millertheanunnaki don’t waste tummuch venom on me because even though I does pelt rocks I live in a glass house.

tobesides i ent nuhbody important.

10. the miller

the more the monkey climbs the more he shows he tail. Even if the dlp campain on moral grounds, does it mean that the blp could be immoral. lord have mercy what a logical man.

Was cyntihia forde a public officer when she ran for elections, was she a public officer when she used to canvass for tom adams. was the then deputy chief education officer a public officer whe she used to canvass for wood.

a drwowning man will catch at straws. That what the miller and prodical are doing.
    Remember what is good for the goose is good for the gander.

11. Observing(...) Avatar

@TTP
    Are you implying that if the fish dives deep then it is ok for the fowl to stoop low too?

Just observing

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@TO THE POINT | March 10, 2013 at 7:28 PM |
    ” a drwowning man will catch at straws. That what the miller and prodical are doing.”

No TPP, we are not clutching at straws but burning down the straw man of Integrity you are trying to hold up as a paragon of virtue and law abidance.

We shall soon see how well stacked he is when the whirlwind of truth comes along in a few months propelling a chariot with the spiked wheels made by the IMF labeled Privatization on one side and cost reductions and operational efficiencies on the other.

Hope you will be brave enough to gather together the pieces flung hither, thither and yon.

13. Today Caricom most astute and adoring Prime Minister , Hon. Freundel Stuart, held his ‘Thank you’ motorcade. Thousands lined the streets or joined the motorcade.

You can imagine my utter amazement to notice that Miller, Onions, Observing, Prodigal and Tackle were gathered on the back of one of the motorcade trucks dressed in DEMs yellow shirts……and singing Freundel is the MAN.

What a DAMASCUS moment for these BLPites in the Bayland, St. Michael today.

14. I offered an olive branch when i beseech david to see if he could get his bloggers to stick to the topic, but it seems like, the miller, the hust asking, the prodical et al are hell bent on heaping fire and brimstone on the dlp. So we are duty bound to protect the integrity of this wonderful party which has done so much for poor barbadians.

15. ‘Fractured BLP | March 10, 2013 at 8:02 PM |
    Today Caricom most astute and adoring Prime Minister ,
    ‘———

Are you smoking something? You really think the rest of Caricom really have such opinion?

Stop posting nonsense.

16. millertheanunnaki | March 10, 2013 at 7:00 PM |

@ Hants | March 10, 2013 at 6:50 PM | Just a reminder so that when things start to go further south you want to jump your cowardly yellow ship:

The only “ship” I could be jumping from is a fishing boat…painted yellow and blue.
    Actually at my age I will have to roll over the side not jump.lol

17. @Hants

u gon kill the miller

18. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I am not the one to be defending Cynthia Forde, but in order to set the record straight, there was no law preventing a public officer or teacher from canvassing or running prior to December 31, 2007. Barrow amended the Constitution in 1974 to give Parliament the power to pass a law to restrict public officers; other than a judge, DPP and Auditor General who were already restricted, from taking part in politics. Parliament only passed the relevant law in 2007. She first ran in 2001 and Tom Adams died on March 11, 1985: both dates were prior to the coming into force of the law.

19. Gabriel Tackle Avatar

@Fractured
    That truck would have had to be going to jenkins and I would be in a straight jacket..never,never me and that lieing dlpee, 6 for paddy and 4 for knight,sparks will fly by Tuesday night…

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ TO THE POINT | March 10, 2013 at 9:20 PM |

Caswell has some goodies of knowledge sharing away @ Caswell Franklyn | March 10, 2013 at 9:26 PM | .

Le us see how you deal with that either by way of your obfuscating counter arguments or walk away with your beaten tail between your legs confirming that you are not really a man of integrity but a boldfaced law breaker.

But you can always say that since the law was passed by the BLP you as a DLP politician are entitled to break it. What is one BLP man meat is another DLP poison; right TPP upholder of law and order and firm craft man of the country’s fate.

21. Caswell,
    While there was no law , there was the General Orders providing rules and regulations against public officers taking part in activities for political office.

Before Cynthia Forde there was Glynne Clarke ( who was alsvo a teacher ). Indeed Glynne Clarke lost at the polls at his first try. Did he go back into teaching ? If so, why not ? It is there that this issue can be seen for what is is ?

22. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The General Orders in this regard could not be enforced because they were seeking to overrule a constitutional provision. The Constitution is the highest law of the land therefore no ministerial order, as the General Orders happen to be, can overrule the Constitution. That is why the Constitution was amended in 1974 to give effect to the intent of the General Orders. However, Parliament never passed the required law until December 2007.

23. Crusoe on March 10, 2013 at 8:30 PM
    ‘Fractured BLP | March 10, 2013 at 8:02 PM |
    Today Caricom most astute and adoring Prime Minister ,
    ‘———

Are you smoking something? You really think the rest of Caricom really have such opinion?

Stop posting nonsense.
    ——————————
    Hi Crusoe,
    I said PM Stuart. Not the low – life cuss bird Owen Arthur that no one misses from around the Caricom Prime Ministerial gatherings. The very same Owen Arthur – the $ 75,000.00 cheque thief !!

24. @Fractured BLP

Can you be more civil in your comments. Why do you have to try on a daily basis to discredit the work and contribution of former Prime Minister Owen Arthur? Let us behave in a gentleman like manner and give people their due. The former minister was and is still respected throughout the region.All our former Prime Ministers have contributed to the nation in their own ways.

25. Caswell Franklyn | March 10, 2013 at 10:40 PM |
    The General Orders in this regard could not be enforced because they were seeking to overrule a constitutional provision. The Constitution is the highest law of the land therefore no ministerial order, as the General Orders happen to be, can overrule the Constitution. That is why the Constitution was amended in 1974 to give effect to the intent of the General Orders. However, Parliament never passed the required law until December 2007.

Well in the third edition of the General Orders of May 1997, Owen Arthur as Prime Minister at the time giving the Foreword in the that document said ” Under section 72(1) of the Constitution, I have been assigned responsibility, inter alia, for the conditions of service of public officers and employees. I therefore make the following General Orders pursuant to the relevant sections of the Constitution of Barbados, and every other power enabling me to do so.

Several amendments have been made to these Orders since they were last published, and those changes have been incorporated into this third edition.

While the Public Sector Reform Programme may result in changes to these administrative arrangements, I felt that having copies available to officers was necessary since their provision still govern their functioning in the Service. I am aware that some provisions in the Orders are still in need of review but I am confident that further modifications will be made to this document in the future.

At section 3 .18.1 states that Officers and employers of Government are expressly forbidden to participate actively in politics, including the following:

(a) being adopted as a parliamentary candidate;
    (b) canvassing on behalf of any party or candidate for election to the House of Assembly;
    (c) acting as agents or sub-agents for any candidate for election;
    (d) holding office in party political organisations;
    (e) speaking at political meetings.

Where does the roles of Cynthia Forde and Glynne Clarke square with the above with regards to their activities as teachers ?

26. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Fractured BLP

Would you stop misleading yourself and subsequently others on BU. I am very aware of General Order 3.18.1. What you failed to understand is that the General Orders cannot override a constitutional provision. Section 44 (1) of the Constitution only barred three categories of public servants from seeking political office: judge, Auditor General and DPP.

In 1974 the Barrow Administration passed an amendment to the Constitution that would allow Parliament to pass a law to restrict other public servants. The law was only passed in December 2007 and came into force on December 31st.

As Minister responsible for Establishments, Arthur had power to make rules to regulate the Public Service, but he had no power to make General Order 3.18. 1 since it would have been unconstitutional and therefore it would have been void and of no effect. You must be aware that the General Orders were not passed in Parliament and therefore could not meet the requirements of the 1974 amendment which is now section 44 (2) of the Constitution.

You would do well to stop you political crap trying to mislead others to score cheap political points. You are clearly wrong!

27. Caswell

The mumbo jumbo you passing off as an authority on the Constitution is designed to confuse some people on BU.

The question remains, what was the role of Cynthia Forde and Glynne Clarke as BLP political activists, while still employed in the teaching service ? Glynne Clarke failed on his first bid for political office , why he had difficulty going back in the teaching service ?

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP | March 12, 2013 at 6:52 AM |

So you take great pleasure in describing Caswell’s explanation of people’s Constitutional rights and responsibilities as mumbo jumbo?

Well, well, and you continue to repeat issues that the people of Barbados already ruled on in January 2008 and February 2013.
    The people (some of them at least) displayed their gullibility by entrusting confidence in your promise to make a difference and voted against the same stark and shameless law breaking by our leaders but you continue to insult them and laugh in their faces by perpetuating this arrogance and dictatorial behaviour.

The BLP broke the law and ignored our conventions so we DLP can outdo them to show the people who is really boss.
    Never mind we fool the people into believing that we the DLP and its leaders are people of Integrity and sworn to uphold the laws of the land.
    Carry on my friend. Time longer than twine.