2013 BLP Manifesto

The manifestos of the DLP and BLP have been released about ONE week before the E-Day of February 21, 2013. Generally people pay very little attention to manifestos in most countries. A manifesto may be described as a political tool to get political parties elected. Although we know they are usually littered with pie in the sky promises, BU had hoped this one time around, given the unprecedented challenges which confront service-oriented economies like Barbados, the electorate would have been wooed and teased by a vision articulated by both political parties (espoused in the manifestos).  How do they plan to navigate the economic and social milestones currently strewn in our path? Why is it this one time our people could not have been convinced to turn-down the political rhetoric, and instead, engage in a level of collaboration hitherto never experienced in democratic Barbados? As a highly regarded small predominantly Black country here was an opportunity created by the prevailing economic challenge for us to lead; a role which is not unfamiliar in the post-Independence period.

Kudos  to the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) for being ‘first’ out of the blocks with their Manifesto launch – a sarcastic comment you ask?. Although a trivial point, it has not escaped the notice of BU that apart from the first page which features an aggressive air-brushed image of Owen Arthur reflected on The Team for A Better Tomorrow, Mia Mottley’s photo appears in the most prominent position. To those with an ‘eye’ for these things it is called subliminal advertising and it is designed to draw the eye and create an impression in the minds of the electorate.

During the stewardship of the DLP government (2008-2013) a few issues have always occupied the attention of the BU family. Heading the list is GOVERNACE! On Thursday an increasingly cynical electorate will have to decide which party leads (by a nose) on the issue of Freedom of Information (FOI) and Integrity Legislation (IL) among others.

Related Link: Manifesto WATCH

We learned that from the FOI and IL, or what Denis Lowe called a Charter for Change which BU exposed in the McKenzie Files known as BUleak that neither Lowe nor DLP colleagues were eager to legislate and implement integrity legislation. In earlier BU blogs we also learned that William Duguid expressed a similar position on the BLP side. Prime Minister Stuart and party have bragging rights – at least an effort was made to table IL. From experience of how things get done in Barbados BU will argue that there is a lot of room between the cup and the lip. If it is one ailment which afflicts Barbados, we suffer from implementation deficit. Who do we give the nod? The party which brought IL? Or the party which because of a perception of corruption was booted from office five years ago?

Another issue which has been robustly discussed since the event is CLICO and BAICO, CLICO mostly.

The BLP has promised CLICO policyholders (does this include investors too?) they will get 100% of their money. The BLP obviously expects to benefit from 35,000 CLICO votes, or is it 14,000 which was clarified by Prime Minister Stuart on the campaign trail. The question to be asked: is the electorate capable of discerning when will this money be repaid?

Repayment, according to the BLP, is open-ended. The value of the repayment is set “as at the date on which payments of interest to them ceased.” Repayment will be made by means of “a combination of medium and long-term investment instruments and tax relief, where applicable.” We also learn that, “approximately $364.8 Million, which have now become a $76.7 million dollar problem given that the two companies have assets with a current market value of $288.1 million.” BU is unable to appreciate the arithmetic offered by the BLP. Also there is the legal reality. The CLICO matter is under the ward of the court and CLICO Barbados has oversight for premium written in the OECS. Please tell us how Barbados is able to beat home drums first which is promised by the BLP. Bear in mind the promise comes from the BLP, a strident proponent of regional integration.

The biggest suspicion thrown up by the BLP manifesto however is under the heading LAW and ORDER.

“The last Barbados Labour Party administration made the largest investment in policing in this nation’s history to make the job of policing safer.” So much money spent for such a reduction in services. The obvious question raised by this promise is – What about the safety of the people being “policed” from the Police?

We must pay attention to the recruitment of new officers and the retention of serving policemen and women and do all that is necessary to increase the numbers of the Royal Barbados Police Force. Equally, a caring government must pay careful attention to the health and well-being of police officers.” It seems to BU the answer to all our problems is to throw dollars at the problem. BU is reminded that under former Attorney General Dale Marshall is when we saw the rot taking root in the Barbados Police Force. Has building a spanking Judicial Centre at Whitepark Road solve the problem of delayed justice by the Barbados Judiciary? “How will construct[ing] an ultra modern Headquarters at Central Police Station” dissolve the many complaints levelled against the force?

BU has sufficiently highlighted our inefficient, ineffective and moribund judiciary system in the Tales from the Courts. Again the solution of the BLP is to “improve the administration of justice by ensuring that the Supreme Court and its Registry are adequately staffed at all levels including expanding the size of the Judiciary.” Let BU give the BLP the benefit of the doubt that the promises will make a difference. How will it be implemented? We want to know!

2013 DLP Manifesto

The DLP manifesto followed (meeting finished in the early Saturday morning 16 Feb 2013).

Like the BLP’s manifesto it makes a lot of promises, many of which we know will not be kept. And early scan of the DLP manifesto gives the impression – compared to the 2008 DLP manifesto and the 2013 BLP manifesto – that the promises seem more conservative.

Starkly evident to BU when we compare DLP promises to those of the BLP, a conservative FISCAL approach seems to be preferred. This probably reflects the personality of Prime Minister Stuart. There is the perception that the BLP will spend a lot of money – which BU believes we not have – to increase the number of civil servants and their benefits . Similar appears to be absent from the DLP manifesto. The reality is that many of our key markets continue to make massive cuts in government spending. Our major market in the EU countries (especially Britain) and in the USA and Canada – countries from which we source our financial aid may legitimately question why are they are cutting government spending and we giving pay hikes to a moribund public sector.

Surprisingly one of the areas which the DLP manifesto fails to address is the rot in the JUDICIARY and GOVERNANCE system. It is a no-brainer that until this is addressed in the most aggressive manner, all the talk about revitalizing the overseas business sector and foreign investment etc. makes a nonsense. BU genuinely believed with the coming of Marston Gibson – delivered by the DLP – we would have seen an improvement in the judiciary after David Simmons.

On page 55 of the DLP manifesto, in the section dealing with LAW REFORM: “while adhering to the a strict observance of the protection of rights, especially those basic human rights which the Founding Fathers of our nation thought to be fundamental to the protection of the basic freedom as to enshrine them in our constitution.” But it ignores the fact that we have a justice system where these rights “fundamental to the protection of the basic freedom as to enshrine them in our constitution” are breached daily by the very justice system that is sworn to uphold them. Again in BU’s Tales From the Courts several of the issues have been highlighted: 1) holding people on remand for years without bringing them to trial and often, after years of remand, the charges are dropped, 2) despite being told by victims that they have arrested the wrong person, continuing to hold that person on remand on the basis that a confession under duress has been extracted, 3) having civil cases drag on for in excess of 20 years at first instance, not even having gone through any appeal process – that adds another decade to the process 4) the habit of the Registry of losing files which in the age of technology should have been scanned and filed electronically with access to judges on a Network/Intranet and 5) the high level of Barbados decisions overturned by the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ).

Bottomline, neither political party has addressed the important requirement of timely and efficiency delivery of justice, a key pillar required to support any stable society, a society which the DLP likes to tout.

BU has left the subject of TOURISM to last. It is a volatile industry but one which Barbados is heavily dependent. All sensible Barbadians understand that tourism performance will be affected by the economic challenges being experience in our key markets; mainly the UK. What Barbadians have been annoyed about is the fact our performance continues to trail our Caribbean neighbours. The CTO is reporting 5% growth in long stay arrivals across many markets. Barbados recorded a 5.5% decline during 2012. January 2013 was down 8.2% across all markets and an alarming 18.4% down from Canada, one of the markets least affected by the global recession. Most alarming has been the lack of engagement by Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy and government with Barbadians.

A review of the BLP manifesto shows that it consulted with stakeholders; BU does not glean the same when we scan the DLP manifesto. The DLP promised to restructure the Barbados Tourism Authority Board early in its term (2008). We are about to enter another election (2013) and no restructure. How are thousands of voters who work in the hospitality expected to vote in the circumstances?

What is absolutely scary about General Election 2013 is that many fear the return of Owen Arthur, yet the same group is uninspired by a DLP government, who for the first three years of its term seem to be caught like a deer in headlights. The BLP finds itself on the verge of regaining government and relegating the DLP to the ignominy of a one term government. How the BLP has done it can be attributed to a DLP government who many believe could have done better.

Is it possible we are entering a period in our history which makes a third party or independent appealing?

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ TO THE POINT | February 17, 2013 at 3:04 PM |
    “miler: ur stupidity is showing. you jack ass, u dont have to be in a baord room to know what is discuseed, like how owen got info leaked to him. I though u had sense, but then again, it seems that u aint gun get a chnace to sip what was promised to u. u ninconpoop.”

Anyone reading what you wrote will not be able to tell the difference between a jackass and a nincompoop, right TPP? Decipher that if you could read between the lines of bitter irony.

The people who leak information from boardrooms are in breach of their fiduciary duties and responsibility not to disclose unofficially information of a confidential nature.

Now here is piece of malicious information that was disclosed by a former member of the CLICO Board.
    Leroy Greenverbs is afflicted with AIDS and has given it to his wife and dead pal David who in turn gave it to his spouse along with the black Coachie boy Dopey.

Now, PPP the officious messenger black boy, run with that and deliver! It’s time you know your intellectual place, not so?

2. @Peter Jilkes

BU would appreciate if you use another moniker.

3. That was really enlightening and entertaining, but on another note, the last PM who told Arthur he was afflicted with an expiration date, expired first, now some are wishing that he be dug up and buried at Dodds prison.. Sounds like a paradox to me, careful what you wish for others, sometimes it’s best to bite your tongue.

4. @david
    Just read the dlp manifesto. Nothing at all on cost of living??? Seriously?

Just observing

5. @Observing

What could they have written?

Barbadians need to curb their artificial lifestyles.

We import all of our oil and food. Any tactic to reduce cost of living is a bandaid measure.

6. I don’t think anyone was seriously expecting to hear anything about the high cost of living in Barbados or any plans to lower it.

7. @david and well well
    So this is finally an admission of what we knew all along without admitting it. Lol

Just observing

8. I dont think anyone has confidence in Manifestos. After all, in the last election, the main issue bar none, PROMISED by the DLP Leadership (including PM Stuart), was a recuction in cost of living.

But, instead of that (at the time on these blogs it was stated early to raise the VAT, but before doing that they raised ALL of the folliwng):
    – land tax
    – road tax
    – professional fees
    – cut allowances (could have reduced tax band rate to compensate if as they say, ‘it was illegal’, so, simply compensate by changing bands. But no, not done so it was simply a money grab.

Is THAT reducing cost of lviing?The ONE thing they promsied above all? If they knew it could not be done then why promise?

No.

Hence, we know that their manifesto is irrelevant.

9. @crusoe
    You forgot bicycle tax! Lol

10. @miller the scavenger, i am balck and proud, r U. U ninconpoop, why u worrying with an illiterate like me that cant even spell or consturct a sentence poperly. the irony is u dumpsy like me. U will get ur handouts black boy,

11. @David

that should go for others, i am seeing arguments that would led one to believe that others are double and triple monikering. Hope miller got only one.

12. Crusoe ……yuh forget de cheaper food from Dominica and cost u more!

Seriously the DLP failed to keep their promises, tell me why should I believe them now?

Many may say Arthur is promising pie in the sky and won’t produce BUT wasn’t the DLP’s 2008 manifesto promising most things that never came to fruition? Let us face it the DLP are incapable of governance in times like these. They have continued to spend and spend yet there is no growth. This year’s Tourist season will be disappointing, Sugar a dismal performance and nothing to export. The DLP has done nothing to grow the economy. They have governed continually looking over their shoulders.

We will see on the 22nd and may that day come quickly!

13. David “We import all of our oil and food. Any tactic to reduce cost of living is a bandaid measure.”

Don’t worry David. The landscape of Barbados will change dramatically in 2 years when there is no forex to import.

Kitchen gardens and car pooling will be part of the new economy.

14. Lollll..someone seems to think I’m miller..LOL! I don’t even think that we’re the same gender ..not to mention age

15. @isalnd

i dont think u understand development economics, not u want tal the shoite u did. This country has done well in the circumstance, look at britain,spain,ireland and the list continues. U fah real girl. yes the people will decide who they want come feb 22 and there will be a lot of surprieses.

16. @to the point
    No amount of explanation could get through to you so I won’t even bother but I implore you to do your own research and stop swallowing political rhetoric you hear on either political platform.

17. If per chance the DEMs are returned to office i would expect the decline to continue as they would feel they have a mandate to continue their failed policies….the party of denial willl continue to live in the land of illusion and place that folly on all Barbadians….

18. @D

i need no advice from u, for 31 years i have been researching issues yah hear. Give the advice to ur leader, one of the commandments say thou shall no lye to ur coutrymen and women.

19. Onions

Time bomb or not, Fruendel has already put an end to Owen Arthur’s ambition to be Prime Minister again. What a clown he would have to be to send a hand written to Fruendel Stuart begging him to take Mia off his hands.

Barbadians want a respectable Prime Minister not one who takes cheques written to him personally, who cashes those cheques on Election Day (21st March 2003) and maniacal enough to want destroy a fellow party member and who whom he has wronged.

SHAMEFUL. Time clean up politics in Barbados, time put OSA into retirement for GOOD.

20. @Bee gone

onion has been promised some of the goodies like what he got last time. lying aurthur has no INTEGRITY. EVEN THOUGH I AM NOT A BEE, WHAT HE DIS TO MIA WAS SHAMEFUL AND HE THOUGHT THAT THE DEE WOULD HAVE SELF DESTRUCT AFTER THOMPSON. HE HANDED OVER TO MIA AND IN 5 YRS SPENT 24HOURS IN THE UPPER CHAMBERS AND DRAW A SALARY.

21. He can’t trick anyone in Barbados again. He is done and I along with thousands of bajan say ‘Good riddance’

Owen is never going to be able measure up to Fruendel, a decent, kind and intelligent man who has a good moral grounding.

22. @roverp
    In the back of my mind is that fear as well. Most of them “barely” got in, and to “barely” get back in will amplify the arrogance. It would be up to the now undisputed leader to correct, chop and change where necessary to move us forward. If he doesn’t then he should be prepared for a backlash in under 5 years.

Just Observing

23. Greetings I am so glad I found your blog page, I really found you by accident, while I was searching on Yahoo
    for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would
    just like to say thanks for a tremendous post and a all round
    enjoyable blog (I alo love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the minute but I have saved
    it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much
    more, Please do keep up the awesome work.

24. Hello, i read your blog rom time to time annd i own a
    similar one and i was just curious if you get a loot of spam remarks?
    If so how doo you stop it, any plugin or anything you can recommend?
    I get so much latwly it’s driving me insane so any assistance
    is very much appreciated.