by AirBourne / January 24th, 2013

The prevention of holding the meeting on the 16th actually backfired to the Bees' favour, even the streaming was pumping! There were at least 5,000 viewers on Friday night!
photo credit: Bajan Reporter

So despite a last-minute cancellation verging on a dictatorial tactic, the Barbados Labour Party took the victimisation and capitalised on it to boost numbers. A check with Police sources indicate attendance that night at Heroes Square from as low as 8,000 or at a peak of 10,000 people! A true meeting, this session drew not just Bees and their supporters but Dems and neutrals – it was a chance to lay out a coup de grace strategy if chosen over the current Freundel Stuart regime…

The prevention of holding the meeting on the 16th actually backfired to the Bees’ favour, even the streaming was pumping! There were at least 5,000 viewers on Friday night!

Instead the public was treated to much of what it has heard since the January 2010 By-Election, with a few exceptions which are listed further on… Kerrie Symmonds used words like “contumacious” or “megalomaniac” now really; are ten-dollar words gonna pull the voters who are undecided and did not spend a long time at school? Now when I use large vocabulary, via Internet I have the option to link the phrase or word in question to various definitions – truly, would the audience be hefting dictionaries with them? Or have such devices in their phones or tablets? Why be on their phone or tablet when they can hear what’s the next move?

Read full report

1. @Airbourne

Please confirm your confirmation of the crowd from the police. As you know the 9,000 crowd is being disputed.

2. The pin been removed from the grenade Airbourne…..and a Shylock now obviously gone running for holes….actual crowd number is irrelevant….point is the Bees are warming and the Dems in regress…..what’s next ?… CA-BOOM….heads gine rolling…watch and see….the rest…inevitable

3. sources tells me that in that number about half were DLP waiting to hear OSA deny FS allegations. SO sad many were disappointed.

4. @ ac
    The operative number now…is an Elections date….Question is why the people are being denied…..Is this Philippines now ?

5. Cannot be misled Avatar
    Cannot be misled

ac | January 25, 2013 at 7:33 AM |

sources tells me that in that number about half were DLP waiting to hear OSA deny FS allegations. SO sad many were disappointed.

So true it is incomprehensible Owen Arhur has not replied to the PM. Its either gospel truth or Owen dont give a so and so about truth or what Bajans think. What a shocking turn of events.

6. @ac 7:33
    So how many of the 300-500 in St. James went to hear an announcement of an election date? or the approximate 175 at the recent opening of the branches?

Just Observing

7. observing no sources confided to me any such detail as to your question.so i don,t know .remeber i used the word “sources”

8. It is 5:30 and the Senate is going strong 🙂

9. stupid is as stupid gets. why in God’s name would Owen need to comment on what FS said?

Is Mia Mottley a bag of rocks that you could beg someone to take her of your hands? you know they say the higher the monkey climb the more you see he tail but ac the more you talk the more i see you are said monkey.

10. I laugh at the BLP trying to say Arthur and Mottley are not at war. Listen, it pains Arthur to try to say something good about Mottley and vice versa. Do not forget a few months ago in 2012, a chorus of Arthur and his boys were saying to “purge” the party of Mottley and her crew.When the BLP loses this election all hell will break out and the first casualities will be Arthur followed by the “coleader” who believes that he is above the minions in the BLP though he has never contributed anything of significance to the party.

11. @ac
    lol. “sources tell me” well done!!!

@!
    Point us toward any public statement of direct endorsement from Freundel’s mouth about Chris Sinckler, Donville Inniss, John Boyce or Ronald Jones.

Just post the video from the hundreds there are out there and tell us what elapsed time to listen out for.

Just Observing.

12. Imagine, all those BLP lawyers who are putting themselves forward to form a government of this country, don’t even know the constitutional law regarding calling of elections in this country. No wonder they have the dumb motto:
    ‘RESTORE, REDUCE (the civil service?) REBUILD and, I dare say, RETRENCH.

13. Smooth Chocolate Avatar

@Cornwell | January 25, 2013 at 9:16 PM |
    “Imagine, all those BLP lawyers who are putting themselves forward to form a government of this country, don’t even know the constitutional law regarding calling of elections in this country”

do u really think that they did not know the law? or was it that frundel purposely carried the session to 8:30 to ensure that the meeting could not take place? what about the police who gave permission to hold the meeting, then withdrew it, do u think they did not know that law also?

Is it not obvious that the BLP anticipated that parliament would have wrapped up long before their meeting but frundel ensured that the meeting could not take place by prolonging the session? in any case, it has back fired in favour of the BLP. just look at the 1000s who attend their meeting in comparison to the 100s who attended the DLP meeting…than speaks volumes

14. Observing you’ve become as tiresome and boring as onion and miller even Carson who you criticise takes a break its your turn for a staycation. Head to Bath and hold a fresh. When you return the self righteous crap you spew which impresses no one maybe replaced by a bit of balanced humility.

On your way east tell big guts Ian Bourne the 9000 in his photo wearing yellow shirts, hehehehehehe. His photoshopping went horribly wrong. Lord come for yuh world.

More Dees liming with Nelson than reds. Elections going be the sweetest in 30 years licks and jokes galore coming. The Bees already counting eggs in the fowl bosty and you know the Dees coming hard. Get ready Observing.

15. @ Smooth Chocolate

Just not ready

A major outing one weekend has left a bitter taste in the mouth of some who attended.

They were not at all pleased with the mouthings of some speakers. Rather than give hope to the audience, the speakers dwelt on the past and obsessed with the dead.

They are not ready, some walked away saying. And to think this was their second chance at holding the event.

(Flying fish & Cou Cou, Sat 26th January Saturday Nation)

16. @Cornwall

Neither political generating any buzz at the moment, NADA.

17. @ David

You are right of course but don’t forget the DLP has not started talking yet, so if the BLP message is not generating any buzz and they effectively have the audiance to themselves, what do you think will happen when the DLP turns on their fog horns?

The one and only BLP message that has grabbed the electorates attention
    has been that of PRIVATISATION and the 15-point plan. Bajans didn’t even commit to memory the other 14 points, PRIVATISATION was all they need to here.

Bajan don’t want to hear PRIVATISATION and since that announcement, they don’t want to hear the BLP either. Why you think they had to come the next morning with a full page ad thanks the ‘9,000’ people?

18. @ David

BLP really feel the bajan electorate foolish or are bajans actually that foolish?

WARM WARM LICKS FOR OWEN WHEN THE BELL RINGS.

19. @Capital Life

Let us hope what the DLP has to say resonates. Bear in mind the electorate has our economic circumstance top of mind according to the recent Cadres poll.

How can we take these political parties serious on the eve of an election and there are no baseline issues given to the public to ruminate on?

NO MANIFESTOS!

Then again are we to take these social contracts seriously?

20. @ David

The fact that the DLP has been able to keep the BLP offensive away from the economic issue must be a really victory for the DLP thus far.

Sit down and watch the Heroes Square meeting carefully,listens all of the speakers and tell me what was the message besides ‘Times Up Freundel – Not Constitutionally but Morally’.

The BLP really serious with not pack of unfiltered non-sense tho? STUPSE.

21. Thanks , I have recently been searching for info approximately
    this topic for a while and yours is the greatest I have
    discovered till now. But, what about the conclusion?
    Are you certain in regards to the supply?