Submitted by John Dillinger
Ionics plant was never run at full capacity according to Auditor General report

See link to Report by the Auditor General of the Special Audit into the BWA commissioned by Minister of Finance.

What is the role of the former Prime Minister David Thompson appointing Executive Chairman, Arni Walters in all these infelicities highlighted by the Special Audit?

Where is Mr. Walters now? Why has he so quietly disappeared from the frontline of the DLP Administration?

Can charges be laid for these infelicities in the procurement process at the BWA?

Why was this special audit commissioned by Minister Sinckler to cover the post-2008 period of administration at the BWA? Who was the minister with responsibility for the BWA at that time?

More questions than answers……

In similar vein, last year Minister Sinckler announced at a hastily called Press Conference at Almond Bay one Sunday afternoon that he would commission a Special Audit of the UWI with regards to claims by the UWI of funds owing to that institution by the Government of Barbados. Was that audit ever done?

On a related note:

There was the Barbados Advocate  headline ” BWA facing water service challenges

The article says that Dr. John Mwansa, Engineering Manager at the BWA was delivering a presentation called “Barbados’ Water Service Challenges” where it is reported that he said limited access to finance, an ageing infrastructure in need of replacement and unaccounted for water levels or non-revenue water are amongst the challenges to maintaining good water quality in Barbados.

Dr Mwansa went on to say that “we have very limited access to finance, so in terms of the solutions that we have to implement, we have to look for the options that will give us the best bang for our money”

He continued “We have an ageing infrastructure in need of replacement and in case you didn’t know, water utilities are the most capital intensive of all the utilities. Unfortunately, most of our infrastructure is below ground, so people don’t see the extent of the infrastructure that we have and what you are paying for”

Dr. Mwansa also revealed that the level of water unaccounted for is relatively high and is now estimated at around 49%. The rates charged for water are also not adequate to cover all the operating expenses and capital investment requirements, he suggested.

Reading this article made me VERY angry as a subscriber to BWA’s “services”. Am not really certain if we can describe what they provide as service. But I digress. Can someone please explain why in times of immense hardship,  Barbadians were made to suffer the imposition of a 60% increase in water rates by way of a Budget from the former Prime Minister and Minister of Finance by way of his dictate in his 2009 Budget presentation? Why are we Barbadians being asked to compensate for water that is being lost to the tune of 49%. That’s literally half of all water produced and pumped by the BWA being “lost” and cannot realize revenues for the BWA. Why has not the BWA been brought under the rate application and hearing mechanism of the Fair Trading Commission as has been the Barbados Light & Power Company and Cable & Wireless trading as LIME? Why is the BWA’s Engineering manager Dr John Mwansa complaining about a lack of finance to implement solutions? So exactly where did the 60% increase water rates go since July 2009.

The Prime Minster in his 2009 Budget presentation stated that revenues generated from the then existing water rates were insufficient to cover the costs of providing water and wastewater services. He added that it was not enough to maintain the then existing level of service and it had become necessary to increase water rates.

In his previous Budget speech in 2008, he stated that within the next 2 years, the BWA would prepare itself to come under the rigours of accountability under the FTC so that water and sewerage charges may be determined at levels that are fair to consumers and the BWA alike and remove the large burden that Government now carries in subsidizing water and sewerage rates for all persons in society.

Fast forward to some 4 years hence in 2012. Where are the improvements we were promised in service from the BWA from incurring the 60% increase in water rates? Where is the transparency in setting of water rates by having the BWA face the FTC for setting its water rates? Fellow Barbadians, someone needs to account to us for this deception which was brought down on us for which we are forced to pay for. Is it a case that we as consumers are being forced to pay for inefficiencies in the procurement process at the BWA which has been subject to questionable practices?

144 responses to “BWA Facing Water Challenges: Special Audit of the Barbados Water Authority EXPOSED”

1. Given the seriousness of this matter BU gives support to the AG by giving this matter prominence.

2. Here is the Linkedin profile of Caroline Price who is the principal of a production company.

http://companycheck.co.uk/company/05592578

Here is the Company Check profile link:

http://companycheck.co.uk/company/05592578

A look at Hugh Price’ Linkedin Profile does not spring any confidence:

http://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?authType=name&goback=.npv_57086471_*1_*1_name_PNSJ_*1_*1_*1_*1_*1_*1_*1_*1_*1_*1_*1_*1_*1_*1_*1_*1_*1_*1_*1&locale=en_US&id=57086471&authToken=PNSJ

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | September 5, 2012 at 8:52 AM |
    “The problem with the O$A regime was not that some people were obviously dishonest?…, BUT that nothing was ever done about it.”
    “The litmus test is the RESPONSE by the authorities to that dishonesty.”

Well let us hope this is a bit clearer to you.
    Has the statute of limitations run out on the alleged illegal acts committed under the OSA regime? Both you and ac seem to know of these acts of corruption and misappropriation of public funds that were committed by OSA and his lieutenants.
    So if you want to be NOT Dishonest with your own integrity and morality in the eyes of your BBE then you have a duty to let Mr. Honesty know of these illegal activities and advise him to institute criminal proceedings against the perpetrator before too late.

“Perhaps you can see now the immense value in having a PM with a solid REPUTATION for honesty…..”

No Bush Tea. The current PM does not have ‘A SOLID REPUTATION FOR HONESTY”.
    A reputation is something that has to be earned, not ascribed by yourself to massage your own ego. Calling some one honest does not make that person honest. Leave that to when he is dead and can’t cringe in his box from the lies and deceit of the living.

Until the so called honest man brings charges against those (alleged by you, ac et al) perpetrators of criminal activities under the OSA regime, deals with the AG’s report on the BWA infelicities and fraud and acts on the CLICO forensic report findings then the Bajan Jury will remain out on your plea of innocence, honesty and integrity on the man’s behalf.

4. @Miller

The question was asked of you before, how can charges be brought unless the investigative process is done?

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | September 5, 2012 at 10:04 AM |
    The accusation and basic evidence are sufficiently there to at least start the investigative process leading to formal charges.
    It would be in the interest of fairness and balance if you should also ask both ac and Bush tea
    how can they constantly levy accusations at OSA and people who served in his administration without a shred of evidence to substantiated their charges against the people.
    Isn’t the principle of a person being innocent until proven guilty applicable to persons who served under the last administration until substantiated evidence is established through the investigative process?

6. Miller
    “…….Isn’t the principle of a person being innocent until proven guilty applicable to persons who served under the last administration until substantiated evidence is established through the investigative process?”
    OF COURSE NOT!

That maxim goes for John Citizen and Co. It does not apply to those priviledged with the authority and RESPONSIBILITY of leadership.

Leaders must accept full responsibility for the performance of their regimes. All roads leads to the leader.
    When therefore, cases of cost overruns, misappropriation of funds, underlings “theifing” etc are highlighted by the same AG and are ignored, Owen CANNOT escape direct responsibility…..nor can Stuart should he ignore these.

The problem with the DLP pursuing charges against the BLP is that it may seem like dirty politics – and with our pissy court system, it is a SURE BET that any such charges would fail eventually anyway.

The thing to do is to BEGIN with charges against a DLP crook, and then expand to those of all party faiths…… …and the Lord help Onions when that happens…. 🙂

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | September 5, 2012 at 11:28 AM |
    “The problem with the DLP pursuing charges against the BLP is that it
    may seem like dirty politics”

It will NOT be a case of the DLP pursuing charges but it will be the Crown bringing charges against specific individuals associated with the last administration on behalf of the citizens of Barbados for being defrauded of their hard earned tax dollars paid into their Treasury for the benefit of the public and not a few crooks.
    The Police, DPP and the Judiciary are not organs of the DLP but of the State.
    You seem to think that the LAW is some toy or instrument of any particular political party to be played with at the whims and fancies of the baby boy in the political manger.
    Unless the laws of the land are obeyed irrespective of which party is in power we are heading for anarchy and civil dislocation.
    The same way you constantly preach about our people’s pending downfall because of their spiritual indifference and sometimes callous dismissal of your BBE’s instructions and warnings, it behooves you also to apply a similar approach to the LAW when it comes to the people’s issues of a worldly nature. There is a good reason why the LAW is the shield of the blindfolded lady who carries balancing scales in one hand and a sword in the next to carry the fight against corruption and injustice. Let your man Freundel live up to the oath of his profession and worship the lady goddess of good governance and justice. Your BBE would be most impressed and reserve a table for him when he arrives even if done through idol worship: Well done my good and faithful servant Freundel, welcome home!

8. Miller i read the full report and everything that is being commented her i was horrified that no one as of yet been held accountable for purchases and undelivered goods qustions should have been asked and heads made to roll however i was also satisfied that the govt did not seek to hide these wrongdoings or cover up as a way of making itself unaccountable or look good i don,t think in OSA administration one would have seen the straightforwardness in such a report knowing it would have been negative fallout

9. project manager for west coast sewerage project is a Mr. Marville.
    project manager for capital works is a Mr. Lindo.

both of them banked the per diems from the so-called phantom study tour. both bandits also have tried to cover their tracks with the help of the human resourses manager at bwa. Somebodies gine get lock to ???? up pun this one.

CRIMINAL, CRIMINAl, CRIMINAL

10. Make up your mind Miller

Are you now saying that prosecution is the option of the Crown and NOT the DLP? ….so all along when you were calling Stuart dishonest for not charging those BLP accused you were just pulling our legs then….?

Or we’re you just making convenient political points…?

11. @ ac
    You are too disingenuous!! How many audits did OSA requests and they were laid in Parliament?

@ Bush Tea
    Again your hypocrite stripes are showing.

12. @ miller
    The current PM does not have ‘A SOLID REPUTATION FOR HONESTY.

Total agreement. Only this week the man was in the newspaper shaking Hammie’s hand–the same gentleman that was the Minister responsible for UDC when all the allegations of malfeasance and misfeasance were levelled against that organisation by the DLP.
    The likes of Bush Tea keep trying to convince BU that they are apolitical…what a myth. Facts are the apolitical.

13. @ Enuff
    The likes of Bush Tea keep trying to convince BU that they are apolitical…what a myth. Facts are the apolitical.
    Who He ?stupessssssssssssssss
    Bushie is bare Boo…..not political?….he cud not even fool a hoe…

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | September 5, 2012 at 2:02 PM |
    “.. so all along when you were calling Stuart dishonest for not charging those BLP accused you were just pulling our legs then….?”

Far from pulling your legs I was trying to knock some sense into your politically partisan head and to remove the party blinkers from your biased eyes.
    Stuart is not only a Member of Parliament but he is also the Prime Minister and therefore the Chief Servant of the Crown. He must therefore carry out the duties required of him of the Crown in the interest of the State or the citizens. If there is evidence of wrong doing by any member of the society it is incumbent on the PM to ask his ministers or employees to investigate and where necessary bring charges against the alleged wrong doers before a court of law for final decision of the ‘accused’s’ guilt or innocence. This is what our constitutional democracy requires unless you see it as a waste of time and they should be hung, drawn and quartered by the likes of you and ac;
    after being tried in the court of public opinion with the DLP foot soldiers being the police, prosecutor, jury and judge

15. DLP foot soliders?…the likes of Aarson, Clone, ! and Fractured….like they get put on hold affa D big conference, have’nt you noticed ?….I have not seen any of them in weeks,like they get ban orders from above… blog off limits. Fellows wha gine down man?…tell Uncle….Geese pulled the plug on unna LOL….

16. @millertheanunnaki: “Stuart … must therefore carry out the duties required of him of the Crown in the interest of the State or the citizens.

A very interesting choice of a word. “…in the interest of the State or the citizens.

A legal question — if the Prime Minister is given the choice between protecting the state or a single citizen, what are they constitutionally obligated to do?

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Christopher Halsall | September 5, 2012 at 4:14 PM |

“The whole is greater than the sum of its parts”.
    That Aristotelian response is a clue to the answer to your philosophical query.
    A quandary currently faced by the PM in relation to his pal Leroy of CLICO infamy.
    A removal of one defective and potentially destructive part to the whole system will not detract from the integrity of the whole. Zero or naught from one leaves one: 1- 0 = 1. Never allow one bad apple or mango to spoil a whole barrel.

18. @millertheanunnaki: “A removal of one defective and potentially destructive part to the whole system will not detract from the integrity of the whole. Zero or naught from one leaves one: 1- 0 = 1.

A typical response from someone who doesn’t understand mathematics. Or the law.

Yes, 1-0 == 1. And 1-1 == 0.

And -1-1 == -2.

And 1+1 == 2.

I suspect it will take you a little while to think about how 1+1 == 2.

But it can happen….

19. @ Chris
    …are you OK? LOL

@ Enuff
    Where did Bushie ever claim to be apolitical? Bushie is a BBE yardfowl

@ Miller
    Bushie leaving you in CH’s hands. He will sort you out 🙂

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | September 5, 2012 at 5:09 PM |

I have already sorted out Chris. He is looking after the readymade jacket I gave him a few days ago. He will make a very good stepfather capable of teaching his adopted piccaninny pure and applied mathematics. (LOL!!).

21. Is it amazing that in all the years we have practiced parliamentary democracy under both political parties we find ourselves in the same place every 5-years? Interesting indeed.

22. “however i was also satisfied that the govt did not seek to hide these wrongdoings or cover up as a way of making itself unaccountable or look good i don,t think in OSA administration one would have seen the straightforwardness in such a report knowing it would have been negative fallout”
    i am entering the discussion with much reluctance for fear of the accusation of bias towards the BLP but i must remind AC that her friend OSA commisioned the Special Audit of the Urban DEvelopment Commission, the report of which is used with gay abandon by the DLP to his discredit while not giving him accolades for not seeking to hide or cover up the wrongdoings of an institution in his term of office.

23. @All

Please confirm if Yellow Door is the company led by Mary Sportas. We appear to be missing up companies.

24. Heavy Duty Change Avatar
    Heavy Duty Change

Where is the Prime Minister traveling to this weekend and why is Richard Sealy NOT going to be acting as Prime Minister in his absence?

I am hearing its going to be Sinckler, Inniss or Estwick. Please can you sniff out the facts?

25. @Heavy Duty Change

Not aware that Richard Sealy will be replaced.

26. Heavy Duty Change Avatar
    Heavy Duty Change

My souces confirm that Dr. Hon. David Estwick M.P. it to be sworn in this morning as acting Prime Minister for the duration when PM Staurt is off the island.

I am also advised that construction work at the Villages @ Coverley and Port Ferdinand Marina has stopped. What are you hearing on this, any truth?

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Heavy Duty Change | September 7, 2012 at 6:25 AM |

One wishes that his stay overseas would be extended by the hand of Fate.
    Long enough that Dr. David would administer some much needed medicine to the sick patient called the Barbados economy. He would first have to sideline the current quack and return him where he really belongs– to the Foreign Affairs to let his mouth run ad nauseam.
    The Barbados economy is too fragile and vulnerable to be left in the hands of a child like Chris and his gnome like sycophant of a governor.
    With David in charge we will now see some progress with the CLICO forensic audit report with a swift flight overseas from justice by a certain Leroy. David will not tolerate that man and would do his utmost to see justice prevails.
    Freundel is grasping at straws and has come to Christian understanding that David is the only one in his Cabinet capable of at least attacking the economic ills that beset our once fair land. By bringing David in from the cold he would be honouring his pledge to a dead brother and allow merit and commonsense to prevail over wickedness and spite by the dead. Chris has had his chance and has blown it. Time to step aside, Chris and let a more capable, astute and “anti-bullshit” man take over where he belongs.
    David, as your ma said to you “time longer than twine”. Your star is on the ascendancy and the planet you stand on is about to be at its perihelion. Good luck, my friend. TC will now RIP.

28. @ Miller

On point Brother, on point.

Does this mean that Dr. Estwick is about to be named Deputy Prime Minister as the DLP prepares its party machinery for the Mother of All Battles?

If yes, the Dr. Estwick can be a deliverer of vicious and piercing attacks on Owen, Mia and Mascoll.

29. If there is one lesson the Sandiford era thought us is that the local private sector has to be onside with the political directorate. Would an Estwick have the private sector on his side?

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Biomus Pirate | September 7, 2012 at 9:21 AM |

So be it! That’s what our two-party adversarial type of politics is all about.
    At least he will be doing it with clean hands even if on the trigger of a political gun.
    One man that would feel the full impact of any political bullet would be darcy the quisling deserving of a watery burial in the No. 53 grave in the fictitious marina would be most appropriate.

31. Auditing at the Barbados Water Authority should be continuous and random. Auditors should audit the Barbados Water Authority entirely but certainly purchasing officers in the purchasing department. One of them, Winston Roach travels quite extinsively in the United States, specifically the Brooklyn, New York area and Canada, specifically, the Montreal Quebec area.

32. @ David

How exactly did the Sandi era establish that lesson?

The local private sector likes politicians who are intelligent, sensible to the commercial realities and can make decisions rather than pontificate about what policy to implement and how to do so.

Trust me the local private sector would have absolutely no problem with Dr. Estwick either as Minister of Finance, deputy Prime Minister, acting Prime Minister or actual Prime Minister.

33. @Earnest Jones

BU wishes Minister David Estwick all the best, we do not always agree with his methods but he seems to be someone who is not afraid to make decisions. The point remains that he will achieve only if he has the support of private sector. Also it is interesting that his national profile remains low manufactured or not.

Congrats to him on his appointment. Election gearing?

34. Recall during the Sandiford misgovernance of Buhbaydus that the private sector had threatened to withhold the payment of current taxes and a certain known dlp operative went to press to deny that such a decision was taken by the biggest conglomerate on island.What followed was that key political decision makers got the message and the rest is history.

35. @ David

Agreed, his National profile has remained low but at the same time his intelligence, experience and ability to make decisions (tough or otherwise)remains high.

Sinckler knows only too well now, those who push up their head usually achieve only the swift removal of it. You don’t see every week now it seems that Peter Wickham begging to keep Sinckler relevant in the context of Barbadian politics?

The question now is who was the smart ass one that taped the meeting of the EAGER 11 at Sapphire Beach where and when Richard Sealy had alot (understatement of the year) to say about FS and his lack of management and political skills?

36. @ Earnest Jones

We have been hearing a lot about Pegasus and Sappire tapes.

37. All optics. Opposition awaits. The IMF talking about FOREX now look out.

38. For the past two days the BWA has been running a public service announcement , re the burnt out pump at Hampton Pumping Station, which has affected supply to much of the central and southern parishes.
    The announcement ended with the assurance that water tankers will be coming around , as usual, to service the affected areas.
    For the past two days I’ve yet to see a BWA water tanker at any of the affected areas.
    Perhaps the goodly Doctor Mr Lowe can enlightened us smelly and thirsty residents why he is feeding us a mirage.
    Where have our tax dollars gone in relation to transport in the departments that this guy is responsible for ? No water tankers and Sanitation refuse pickups, few and far between.
    Perhaps the Knight of Foursquare should be running an advert, “Can’t get drinking water! Drink Heineken, we have warehouses full of.”

39. FREUNDEL is a real slow -ass slug-a -like
    Look how the man never reshuffle the Cabinet though
    Look how the man aint call election when he shoulda have called it.
    What kinda Prime Minister Freundel Stuart is though ???

40. @David

I read some aspect of the Auditor’s report, and I am amazed that the then Minister of Finance who is supposed to be an economist would allow and give approval for such a project. Was an evluation of the project done and who did it? Why would a utility be guaranteed a return of 18%? What is the BLP guaranteed rate?

Is this how taxpayers money is to be used? Is the Director of Public Prosecution going to be asked to lay charges against those guilty of breaching the Financial rules, or this is how business is done in barbados? I wonder which Barbadians have interest in the company/companies that are/were involved or supposed to be involved in supplying goods to BWA?

41. Why would a utility be guaranteed a return of 18%?

Because clean water is essential to our existence.You can’t live without water.

simplistic reasoning.

42. I am genuinely pleased to read this website posts which
    contains loots off uswful information, thanjks foor providing
    these kinds of statistics.