Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart – another matter which the PM needs to get involved.

This blog was compiled with the assistance of  a prominence industry professional currently based overseas.

The Hollywood Reporter, the bible of film and TV production in the World’s largest and most successful film production centre, reported on March 24, 2011 on the negative effect tax cuts will have on the Canadian Province of New Brunswick’s film. An extract from the report suggests that, “There will be more than 30 companies here that will be affected. Most will be forced to move to other provinces that support media and they will bring their productions with them,”  Maurice Aubin, president of Media NB and director of Mozus Productions said. Canadian provinces like British Columbia, Ontario and Quebec in the last two years have managed to woo Los Angeles producers by juicing their film tax credits as debt-laden U.S. states like New York, Michigan and New Jersey either reduce or scrap their Hollywood tax breaks.

The report goes on to refer to the amount in tax revenue lost to New Brunswick due to the tax breaks. What is kept under a veil of secrecy is the amount of tax that is actually paid in connection with these ventures, tax that will no longer accrue to New Brunswick, but instead will now benefit the respective treasuries of Ontario, Quebec, Alberta and British Columbia.

The report continues, “New Brunswick’s film tax credit cost the province $4.4 million in 2008-09, and $3.3 million in 2009-10. The Atlantic province has paid out $2.7 million to film and TV producers in the current fiscal year, and aims to phase the production tax break out in 2011-2012.” Which would mean that instead of receiving 0% tax on $0, New Brunswick is concerned that instead of receiving $10 million, it only received $6 million. Therefore, instead of receiving $6 million, it is prepared to receive nothing and let that $6 million go to the other provinces.

What has that got to do with Barbados, you ask?

It has everything to do with the lack of forward thinking in the new Cultural Industries Bill (CIB) on the part of the Ministry of Culture and the drafters of the Bill – The Draft Cultural Industries Bill Needs To Be Widely Debated. There is a substantial hole in the film industry market as a result of “…debt-laden U.S. states like New York, Michigan and New Jersey…” that Barbados, through proper, timely and effective legislation, could take advantage of to the benefit of all Bajan industries. Bear in mind the Barbados government is cash strapped and has therefore proposed to float a 50 million dollar bond to fund the development of the cultural industry. To capitalize on the opportunity which has emerged in Canada and exist elsewhere, the effective implementation of the CIB should not rest solely and exclusively with the Ministry of Culture, it is a cross-ministry matter that ought to be designed to attract a new and lucrative industry to Barbados. We can do it!

No disrespect to Minister Stephen Lashley but the Ministry of Culture is traditionally assigned to the low man on the ministerial totem pole. Although to be fair former Prime Minister Owen Arthur took culture under his wing in his final term, the debate continues why he did so. While such an approach can continue when it involves theatrical ventures, Crop Over and other such entertainments. Not to forget in-house training videos, workshops and audio recording and local TV commercials the budgets of which are comparatively small. However, when it affects the possibility of generating millions of dollars in foreign exchange inflows to Barbados, it becomes a matter of high national priority and should be handled with the importance it deserves. The glaring inefficiency of the draft CIB demonstrates that the Ministry of Culture is not sufficiently sensitive to what is required.

As a result of BU’s research and collaboration with players in the industry there is the opportunity to attract international business where a TV commercial costs over US$1 million to produce, a small-budget film costs US$10 million to produce, a low-budget TV series of 26 episodes costs US$20 million to produce. Then, there is the production of animation films and video games, all costing in the millions of US dollars to produce. Can local policymakers begin to fathom the opportunity which exist to expand our forex revenue stream and at the same time jump start indigenous cultural industries? What about tourism? The need to float a 50 million culture bond becomes unnecessary and we all know there is zero appetite for the bond anyway. 

Take the example of New Brunswick which was offering a tax credit of 40% to attract film production, which means that it had an industry that was paying 60% of its regular taxation, it would mean that Barbados had a new industry from which it was deriving at least 60% of a tax where before there was nothing. So, instead of 100% of 0 foreign exchange flowing into Barbados, it would be looking at US$600,000 out of US$1 million. Can the relevant players understand the arithmetic? Do they even see the opportunity?

Unfortunately Barbados does not have the professional experience and proficiency required by international producers and directors, the tax incentive would have to be greater than 40%, to use this number as a benchmark, and Barbados would have to issue work permits to those whom the producers consider necessary to maintain the quality of their production. However a compensating factor can be to stipulate that in exchange for additional tax breaks,  Bajans be hired for training and mentorship purposes. The result is that in time as the indigenous knowledge pool and proficiency improves international producers/investors will be comfortable to come to Barbados and hire only Bajan technical people without undue concern that the quality of their productions would be compromised.  Obviously government policy governing the quantum of the tax break can be correlated to the rising expertise in the country. BU believes that the draft CIB does not adequately address what is a massive opportunity waiting to be plucked! The CIB in its current form will be tossed into the garbage by those currently looking for alternative sites to setup.

In seems Barbados is happy to maintain the status quo which is to be treated to press reports and photographs of the Minister of Culture and other “bureaucrats” in the ministries, attending cultural events and symposia overseas and holding cultural symposia in Barbados – all at the expense of Barbadians. To france with building a cultural industry if the boys are gorging on remains of the fatted calf.

To the decision makers we hope are reading this blog note the following websites which appear to have escaped the ministry of culture when it conducted its due diligence.

To address a rising concern of BU. Recently we use some initiative -which the traditional media has been loathed to do – and  contacted three top international producers in Hollywood, Canada and London. The Internet is available to all and sundry and is burdened with too much information some times. We submitted the draft CIB and asked them if they would take the time to comment. Incredibly all three did so, asking that their names be withheld to avoid prejudice in future dealings with the government of Barbados. BU posted a blog on the matter and also to the Facebook site The Empire Strikes Back because of the number of interested parties in the arts and culture sector who are members on that page. If one is to extrapolate from a few relevant comments, it has to be concluded that there is a degree of tunnel vision that is going to succeed in making a viable industry in Barbados, a non-starter. There seems to be a reluctance to take on board the broader implications of such an industry and the need for relevant legislation and expertize.

In the world of film for example we are told the guiding principle is the Budget. How much will it all cost? Which location and country offers the most advantageous tax breaks? Do they have the necessary technical requirements like power, accommodation (hotel, set, catering etc.), ground transport, security and policing, shipping facilities for raw footage or adequate processing facilities on-site, or does it all have to be brought in? If brought in, will work permits be readily available without problems or will the greasing of the hands of local authorities and politicians be required? How much will it cost? A consequence of the process flowing smoothly is that the word will go out to prominent. The result, it is a recipe for success.

There was a meeting held on April 5 to discuss the CIB by interested person who frequent the Empire Strikes Back Facebook Page who are to be commended. However BU understands contributions and discussions on the CIB are being conducted under the cloak of confidentially and secrecy. Is this a matter of national security? Why should the feedback process on a piece of draft public legislation avoid national discourse? Would it not be constructive if a suggestion from one party has the catalytic effect on others thereby generating needed momentum in the public arena to ensure a braodbased input?

NO, NO, NO the importance of an adequate, not perfect CIB, is a national imperative to sustain economic prosperity. The agendas of a few must not lead this initiative.

1. From the BU posting in The Empire Strikes Back an invitation was sent out to various players in the different creative fields to first at least discuss on same this Creative Industries Bill. Later another invitation was sent to out to those who want to be heard to meet to review this bill at length, discuss it and see if it was indeed a good bill or not a good bill. Out of the whole of Barbados and its creative lot, seven or eight discussed openly on the BU posting…(one being a Barbadian living abroad)… and six appeared at the meeting.

The first order of same said meeting was to state quite categorically that if we were to place before anyone any concerns re this bill then NOT ONE OF US SHOULD HAVE ANY KIND OF AGENDA FOR OURSELVES…we were there to ensure that this bill was good for the country as a whole. All of us had one common thread – to try to further understand the bill in its entirety, discuss the implications and perhaps make some recommendations if needs be. In my opinion the bill rambles on and on and seems to not really say much for all of us. Please remember I say in my opinion.

Copies of the bill were already in the hands of all at the meeting and there were mixed feelings (as per usual) over same. I affirmed my opinion quite categorically and that is that as far as my little brain could fathom, this bill does not stand the test of time and should not be passed. However, AND THIS IS OF THE UTMOST IMPORTANCE – it was also understood that certain amendments were being put to the bill…and we with one voice…decided that we should see the amended bill. It was agreed unanimously that to be putting input into a bill that has been amended but whose amendments we were not aware of, would be futile and a waste of time.

With Easter in the midst it was decided to return to the round table before the end of this week to further discuss this bill inviting yet again anyone who had a particular interest in same to join us. It is just a discussion not political unrest.

I speak for myself when I say I am still of the opinion that no real discussion can happen if the amendments are not before us. What is the sense of that? Perhaps as I am told that BU has the pleasure of having many in government read this blog…perhaps I can ask openly and strongly that the Minister or anyone in the Ministry ensures that ANYONE who requests this amended bill be given a copy forthwith…even if it is in scribbled notes. Perhaps BU can get a copy and post same.

I and a few others are also disturbed by the “little bird” who has chirped in our ear that it is “imperative for the Minister that this bill be passed quickly” and that “any amendments if they are in fact amendments will appear hours before the bill is passed and no one will have a chance to review same”. I do not want to think that this government at a time of election would be so insensitive. In fact I do not want to believe it at all. Because if they really, really take a very close look at the numbers of creative people who are potential voters, they could not possibly be moving forward in this way. If only.

I am going to use the word ‘creatives’ to encompass all areas of creativity on the island, be it visual artists, photographers, musicians, film makers, craftsmen et al. I do this because it is my belief that ALL should benefit from such a bill…not just the film industry….not just musicians…not just potters…and…certainly not just government bodies who are ‘supposed’ to be the umbrella for the creative arts…certainly not ‘businesses’ that ‘supposedly’ are there to distribute funds (funds that are used to pay the expenses of those businesses and whose ‘beaurocracy’ takes forever to distribute same…and worse whose real agenda is to distribute to the usual suspects and friends!) …and most certainly not just for those who are blessed by government because of whatever reasons which actually encompasses all of the above.

This bill must help (and show to be expedient in this help) ALL ‘creatives’ on the island of Barbados. This bill must ALSO be user friendly for ALL ‘creatives’ who want to come to this island in order to further the business of creativity… for to not wanting to include them in our creative process only narrows us as a people. Of course, this latter sentence may not be how other ‘creatives’ here see their world but my opinion is that if we are not prepared to learn from those who know more than us, we will get nowhere fast.

One of the things that disturbed me in the comments made on the BU posting were those who felt the bill should be passed because of the time frame and then let amendments happen afterwards. Are you joking? If this bill is passed those who it touches will not wait for years for amendments, they will leave this island in droves. Those from outside who wanted to do business and bring money with them will do business elsewhere. Simple ting.

To me when a bill of importance to the people of a country is to be passed, then the people of the country should understand every word…not be bombarded with yet another bunch of papers that the average person who is to be affected by same cannot fathom not even from the first line. And please do not tell me that the meetings held so far between government and a few “creatives” were any different. I guess the old adage is: “give the people a whole lot of jargon, invite them to make comments, ignore the comments because they do not understand what we say, let them just put their hands up in the air and repeat after me ‘we are the government, let us pass this bill, because we love you and want only to represent you, so you have to trust us’.” I say not on… and… outta order!

Right now the bill in its entirety does not speak to me nor to all ‘creatives’ and hence the call to see these ‘amendments’ we have heard about…because…just perhaps the Minister has seen it fit to take the advice of many and in fact address ALL areas in a meaningful way and, therefore, as I mentioned above – all this discussion is futile.

I was also shocked to find out that “draft people” are not readily available on this island and in order to draft a bill it takes years. But then another ‘birdie’ told me that this bill like many other bills just follows a format already imbedded within government. Lawd have is mercy – who to believe….because if the latter is so, then a bill should not take five years to come to the fore for discussion. And amendments from these discussions should not take another four years to be placed within.

So the rush to pass such an important bill should not be on. And if there is a rush….what is the real reason behind this rush?

I think any government should realize fast…a land without “creatives” has no culture. A land with no culture is no land at all. The dollars in revenue that local and overseas “creatives” could bring (albeit we are not seen as humans who work but instead as humans who just play) would be zero. If the “creatives” of this country were to leave for greener pastures…then perhaps those who have forced this migration might wake up and smell the frangipani for there will be a dead country to deal with.

I can say for sure that the ‘creatives’ of this island…the ones who have had years of experience…the ones who have worked hard to get where they are against all the odds thrown at us…are tired. Tired of being used and abused in our own land. Tired of the no respect for our own. Tired of watching the political games played with us. Tired of putting input that goes straight into a draw to be forgotten. Tired of broken promises. Tired of wasting our time. TO PUT IT MIDLY JUST TIRED

AND THIS IS THE MAIN REASON WHY INPUT HAS NOT BEEN FORTHCOMING NOW. THIS TIREDNESS IS A RESULT OF YEARS OF SLAMMING AGAINST WALLS. IT ENT HAPPEN OVERNIGHT BELIEVE U ME. Add to this those with an agenda for themselves because they happen to be “in like Flynn” or even those who may not have an agenda but are just simply fighting for their own survival…UNDERSTAND PLEASE THAT THEY ARE SCARED TO OPEN THEIR MOUTHS IN CASE THERE IS RADIATION IN THE AIR. AND THIS IS SO VERY, VERY SAD. Any government that does this to its people is no government at all. I do not care who is in power.

Just to end off. If the words of one person asked by me to donate 5 bottles of rum to an art exhibition (a well publicized one I might add and one that would run for 2 weeks with advertising push that would last for at least a year) is anything to go by: “Our charity budget has been depleted. Sorry.” Ahhhh…that is when I truly learned that we ‘creatives’ are deemed ‘charity’. And by the very business that we helped to create from the blending of the rum to the logo on their paperwork to the chairs they sit on et al. Well if that is how big business see us…this bill ent doing nutting for us…and if by chance this is how the government perceives us then forget the Creative Industries Bill and just add us to whatever charity bills you got already then…give us all the funding and tax exemptions that charities get please for it would be more than we get now! Simple ting.

2. As for the rest of what BU says above…I personally agree. And yes! there is much to be lost in revenue all around if this bill is not adjusted accordingly. The film industry is huge and very important…but the little man sitting on a beach trying to make a dollar from his art is equally so. Call me a socialist if you like…but for me…if I fighting, I fighting for all and for the common good. Otherwise the fight is just not worth it.

3. @David. Excellent!!!!
    @Rosemary. Superb!!!!

Nothing to add.

4. @Rosemary

Your position is understood and there is nobody on the planet who can accuse you of having an agenda. Several objectives have to be achieved by enabling a relevant legislative framework to fan the flame of our nascent creative sector and at the same time create a nexus to the international world which adds avenues for economic opportunity, training, mentorship etc which will help the local creative cadre. There are competing priorities here and some decisions will have to be made to kickstart this project and gather momentum as we go along. To try to satisfy all things to all men is not achievable. Our financial resources at this time in particular is low.

5. @Rosemary, I completely support your thoughts. Barbados stands at a crossroads – the old school politicians may find themselves on the wrong end of a low key version of a Bajan Summer, as they realize that thanks to social media and a plethora of Blackberries, iPads, laptops, smartphones etc. you cannot HIDE AND WORK LAND. The old ways of victimization etc. must change, and we must PUBLICLY hold our elected officials accountable for their words (read – election promises!) and actions/inactions.
    Specific to the Bill, how can we discuss or improve something when we do not have a current draft to work with? There is no excuse for lengthy delays in this era of computers and technology. We do not have scribes and quill pens anymore. We have computers and word processing and project management programs! You can make changes in minutes and circulate in hours.
    We need to take advantage of the technology and MOVE FORWARD.
    This Bill has the potential to be of huge benefit to everyone. It’s not about a bigger slice of the pie, it’s about a BIGGER PIE.
    My “agenda” is very simple – I want to live in a better, more peaceful and prosperous Barbados. I make no excuses for wanting to make money via my hard work & talents.
    My opinion about the role of government in this case is that it should be a facilitator, a provider of “grease to the wheels” and then it should get the heck out of the way and let the industry professionals conduct their business with a MINIMUM of interference/control. Accountability and oversight, YES, but that is all. The business of government is government.

6. On the subject of draft legislation and the time it takes. It is time government examines if some of this work can be outsourced to private sector and beyond. The country CANNOT continue to be held ransom with congestion of draft legislation in a world where doing business must be done in as efficient a manner as possible to compete. The days where our little colonies were protected by preferential treatment have long disappeared. To boot Barbados because of our so called ‘graduation’ cannot drawdown on loans targeted to developing countries.

7. All of above so clear.
    Why can’t the draft be the same?
    In it all, we need clarity, transparency and collaboration.
    Is this so hard to achieve?

8. @Rosemary Parkinson

Have you ever attended a political meeting during the fracas immediately before a general election? I, in collating materials for one of my election management platforms/software solutions, have ventured into the night to collect video of the fiascos.

A meeting at Eagle Hall with the Rt. Hon. Owen Arthur or the Rt. Hon. Chris Sinckler will have a “first circle of acolytes” about 25 ft deep, 1 body every sq. ft, then a second circle with one person/3 sq. ft with rings of observers steadily decreasing until one experiences the “9th ring of Hell”.

Here, lies the group of souls the ones who, wish to hear the politicians speak of how they will change the real life Dante Inferno that Barbados has become.

These are they who also want to hear the politricians (spell check is not working on my computer) speaking of “a time for change”.

These are the souls that have ventured forth to hear (de fanciful imaginations of) the BLP and BLP speak of “what they plan for this political hell that we bajans are living in.

These are the ones that lie almost flat in the tilted front seats of their cars, with caps over their eyes (both men and women) fearful that roving cameramen from CBC or the BarbadosToday might perchance snap a picture or capture some video while they are at the meeting.

We are where we are, honest Bajans, afraid to show ourselves in the light of day, hiding in the shadows, afraid to open our mouths, sound off our voices, write on the BU, without pseudonyms, hide under cover of caps, in cars with tinted glasses.

We are afraid to show up at town hall meetings, to take the microphone and speak against the incompetencies of a bill, or law, or treaty drafted by those who dont really care if the supposed beneficiaries are disenfranchised, drafted by those who breathe a rarirified air that lesser mortal like you and i can never inhale.

Drafted by Incompetents you say? I think not for were they such, good men and women like you and me would not sit idly by and watch as these things evil are perpetuated upon us and generations unborn

Yes these bills are by some divine intervention and osmosis, written by the Right Hand of God, incarnate now within the bodies of some of the same duffuses that you and i will elect come Jan 2013

9. Interesting to note that top American film producer Gina Belafonte is calling on more Caribbean films to be produced by Hollywood. She made the comment during the Caribbean Tales Film Festival 2012 on the go.

A case of the cart before the donkey?

10. Could it be that the cart know more than us donkeys? We shall see as the blind man said.

11. “as debt-laden U.S. states like New York, Michigan and New Jersey either reduce or scrap their Hollywood tax breaks.” and debt-laden Barbados is supposed to give tax breaks.

I guess government could use some NIS funds to compensate for the loss revenue/tax breaks.

I hope young Bajan musicians will start using the internet for information on how to produce and sell their music. Computer with a good sound card and editing software (Pro tools) and you can start.

Paintings and carvings etc. are increasingly being sold online because more and more people are comfortable shopping online.

Don’t wait for Government incentives. Spend less time on other blogs and work on your ebusiness.

12. Interesting. outside the box.

http://victorwooten.com/

13. @Hants

What we are discussing here is the need for government to facilitate a whole sector as stated above. Of course artistes can do their thing by peddling their stuff but that is nickle and dime stuff.

14. Sorry David i only know how to make money from the nickle and dime stuff so I will leave this debate to those of you who can think big.

15. @Hants

Maybe you are missing the point.

The cultural world is comprised of many disciplines, some for example in order to flourish must-do so within a rigorous copyright framework.

16. @David that is why I will read the comments and learn from our more educated BU brethren.

17. @Hants. The way I read this is that it is about building an industry that will likely have a positive effect on the economic wellbeing of many already existing industries. It is about attracting foreign capital by competing in a marketplace that heretofore has not been tapped by Barbados. If, at first, we have to give a little to gain a lot in long term, think of it in terms of the small businessman who sinks what he can afford into starting a business so that he can make money in the long run on his investment. Now, I might be wrong, but that seems to me to be the thrust of what is being said. If I am right, since it seems that all we are being asked to provide is a tax incentive (taking less tax) on money that does not currently come our way at all, then it makes sense to me and I don’t understand why there should be any resistance to giving it a try.

18. @David Weeks…sounds to me that therein lies an amazing documentary….if it does not teach us something it could at least make us laugh heartily.

@David BU…I am positive the Minister of Culture would love to be kind enough to inform us creatives that there is absolutely no truth in yet another rumour circulating that there are in fact no amendments to the Creative Industries Bill. I am asking him to squash these malicious people who are saying that this bill will be passed as it is written, whether we the the people like it or not. I know this cannot be so. I ask this, of course, in the interest of the transparency promised at the last elections…and keeping in mind at all times how appreciative we are that such a bill has even been considered for us. Would not want anyone to believe for one minute that all the hard work that has gone into the drafting of such a bill would go unnoticed.

As it has been pointed out to me, and rightly so, I might add…the time has come for all of us to be thankful to all those who thought a Creative Industries Bill would help ALL Barbadians in these fields….that is why I know the Minister would want to allieviate our pain and tell us the truth…

And may God bless Bim.

19. @Hants

Guess your point is the same which top Bajn musical arranger is making by stating the obvious?

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/branckers-word-to-artistes/

No wonder our cultural industry will stay rock bottom when people like him, great though he is, and who should be leading from the front to put pressure on government to enable the environment for the Arts to flourish and more.

Of course the artistes have to get up and fight for themselves which many of them do on a daily basis but this is not what the conversation is about.

It is ironic that when we look around today every sector is asking government for assistance and the most fledgling and neglected sector is being criticized for doing the same.

20. Wonder how this is possible if we listen to Mr. Brancker:

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/caribbeantales-gala-outing

21. maybe as one being close to cultural industry it could be that brancker realised that are those who wouldo very little for themselves to achieved through hard work and those who have achieved as does little to help in the financial area of the industry and would look towards the govt for handouts i would hardly believe branckers statement would include the givers and selfachievers of the industry

22. Interesting to listen to the 12:30 news and hear minister of tourism Sealy promising that his government is committed to setting up a Film Commission. Why not have done it in year one of your term Sir?

Now Mr. Brancker this is what some of us mean when we suggest the need for government facilitation not to be confused with artistes working hard.

23. well maybe brancker is seeing things from the inside out while others are seeing from the outside in brancker should know of what he speaks being in that arena for a long time . i am certain that he is not against govt help but his point should be well taken and the accused should take note. like in most organisations they are the givers and the takers.

24. @ac

There is no need to over analyze for godsakes. For the first time ever there is enough evidence that a government albeit motivated for political reasons is hell bent on enacting the CIB, the thing to do is for all partners to jump onboard and forget the damn past. Sometimes it is about sighting when there is the opportunity. Instead the few submit suggestions covertly James Bond style and the others do nothing. The result a CIB enacted which with broad input fits the bill.

Instead we have some of the fat cats positing ish.

25. @David

r u aware that roam was not built in a day and it is better late than never. you have to start at some point.

26. the CIB which is a positive way forward although need some more needed improvement would not weed out the real from the fakers and having an insider deal with such issues should be seen as much needed input and not a derogarty against those in the industry

27. @ac

If you understand what Brancker saying you would realized it has nothing to do with the CIB. Read the full article and not what is online. He is saying the artistes should work hard and not look for handouts and to an extent all understand what he is saying. However we are talking about everybody hands on deck to work to improve the Bill in a public discourse.

You may have the last word.

28. Just thought I should post this very, very interesting although long article here…read it word for word…although it talks of many of the ills of the USA and in part about the world…our own politicians and heads of large corporations including banks and insurance companies would do well to read and perhaps learn a thing or two. The world is open and all eyes are on you….do it right and we will love you….do it wrong behind closed doors and we will hear it all, and talk about you, we will cry out until you are forced to do right… and most of all in your downfall…you will wish you had followed a different path. This world could be so wonderful…this life so peaceful and happy for all but….then there is greed that encompasses all actions such as politricks, corporate theft or white-collar crime….but today…with technology to give sight to the people, a new order is in place ’cause as I said above…we see, hear and speak it all now. Bless and wake up! Be good to yourself!!

2012: Indications Suggests the Downfall of the New World Order
    By Paul Adams – Activist Post

“We are grateful to The Washington Post, The New York Times, Time magazine, and other great publications whose directors have attended our meetings and respected their promise of discretion for almost forty years. It would have been impossible for us to develop our plan for the world if we had been subject to the bright lights of publicity during those years.” – David Rockefeller, at a 1991 Bilderberg meeting.

In 2012 the New World Order will suffer major defeats to their totalitarian one world government/population reduction agenda. The defeats will not be from violent revolution, massive protests, or people continuing to beg corrupt politicians for mercy – as if 535 politicians really represent 315,000,000 people. No, the defeats will be attributed to a mass awakening and a significant portion of the population simply refusing to take actions that violate their conscience.

The elites only have two primary tools, which are well know to anyone that reads the alternative media: secrecy and deception. Their criminal enterprise will end as millions more, if not billions, awaken in 2012.

The Time is Now

Since the 1990s, researcher David Icke has been saying that there would be a point in time when the New World Order agenda is out in the open, exposed for all to see. Fortunately, that is when the agenda is most vulnerable, as many people will “wake-up” and see that humanity and their loved ones are in great danger. That time is now.

Justified by the War on Terror hoax, the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) was recently signed into law (assuming Obama is legitimately the president, which is a huge assumption). The legislation declared the United States a battlefield. The military can arrest American citizens, detain them indefinitely, torture and interrogate them without charge or trial. In essence, this Act implemented martial law in the United States. It also nullifies the Magna Carta of 1215, Bill of Rights and Posse Comitatus, which prohibited the military policing civilians inside the U.S. since 1878.

In 2006, KBR was awarded a contingency contract from the Department of Homeland Security, allegedly to support its Immigration and Customs Enforcement facilities in the event of an emergency, Market Watch reported.

Last month a document originating from KBR demonstrated that the government is activating FEMA camps across the United States. Entitled “Project Overview and Anticipated Project Requirements” the document describes services that KBR is looking to farm out to subcontractors.

Make no mistake, like 9/11, passage of the NDAA was the globalists’ coming-out party, and your opportunity to inform others. The tyranny has now been revealed in black and white on paper, and thousands of articles have been written to support you in discussing the issues with others.

Evidence of Globalist Defeat is Everywhere

Ron Paul

Ron Paul is leading many polls despite unprecedented smear campaigns by the shameless Big 6 Media. Whether elected president or not, Paul is educating the public about the private Federal Reserve bankster cartel, ending murderous and unconstitutional wars, sound money, health issues and individual liberty. He also has received more campaign donations from members of the military than any other candidate, a sign that many in the military are informed and will not carry out treasonous orders if given.

Fraudulent Banking Known by Its Victims

More and more people are learning that the Federal Reserve is a private cartel that enriches corrupt banksters by creating money out of nothing and loaning it at interest, thereby enslaving the population with a debt that can never be repaid. Recently the head of security at the San Antonio Federal Reserve bank admitted that the institution is private, as did a San Francisco Federal Reserve employee.

Additionally, the public is aware that the largest banks were bailed out with $29 trillion dollars created from nothing. Those same banks continue to foreclose on the homes of people that actually had to produce a good or service to make their monthly mortgage payments.

Many people are taking action against the New World Order’s banking system. November 5th was hailed as Bank Transfer Day, the final day in a month-long demonstration to move money out of the big banks and into smaller, localized credit unions. Leading up to November 5th, $4.5 billion was taken out of major financial institutions. Additionally, local credit unions across the country accumulated around 650,000 new customers in the month of October.

Fake Drug War Exposed as Absurd

It is now common knowledge that the drug war is a fraud. Low-level street dealers of marijuana are arrested and placed in cages smaller than those of many zoo animals — at taxpayer expense. At the same time, the CIA imports massive quantities of cocaine and heroin to fund their murderous black operations. U.S. troops openly admit that they support the Afghan heroin trade.

People are waking up! Recently Montana jurors used their power of nullification by refusing to convict a man for marijuana possession.

Jury nullification occurs when a jury returns a verdict of “Not Guilty” despite its belief that the defendant is guilty of the violation charged. The jury in effect nullifies a law that it believes is either immoral, or wrongly applied to the defendant whose fate they are charged with deciding.

Once a jury returns a verdict of “Not Guilty,” that verdict cannot be questioned by any court and the “double jeopardy” clause of the Constitution prohibits a retrial on the same charge.

If you sit on a jury, never forget you have the power of nullification.

Related to the drug war, emails show ATF agents congratulating each other for blaming border violence on guns bought from U.S. dealers despite the fact that the feds delivered the weapons straight to Mexican drug gangs under the Fast and Furious program. The purpose of the program admittedly is to demonize the Second Amendment and push new gun control regulations.

Corrupt Congress Exposed

The people are now aware that most members of Congress are as corrupt as Don Jon Corzine. “The median net worth of a member of Congress climbed to $913,000, a 15 percent increase from 2004 to 2010. During the same period, the net worth of the average American dropped 8 percent, to roughly $100,000.” Congress’ approval rating is currently a whopping 16 percent. The polls show that 83 percent of the population disapprove of their government, and therefore may be indefinitely detained as enemy combatants without charge under the NDAA.

Vaccine Dangers Well Known

The number of parents that refuse to inject their children with toxic vaccines is rapidly increasing. They must be aware that voluminous research proves vaccines are deadly.

Before his death, Merck vaccine scientist Dr. Maurice Hilleman admitted the presence of SV40 and cancer viruses in vaccines. It is estimated that over 200 million doses of SV40 contaminated viruses were given to the public, a possible explanation for the dramatic increase in cancer rates over the last 100 years.

By 1999, numerous pathologists, microbiologists, and virologists throughout the world had detected SV40 in a variety of human cancers such as brain tumors, bone cancers, and lung cancer. These were the very same cancers that were created when SV40 was introduced into animals. After careful study documented in peer-reviewed publications, leaders in SV40 research announced that SV40 was a class 2A human carcinogen.

As reported by multiple sources during March of 2009, including the Times of India, vaccines contaminated with deadly live H5N1 avian flu virus were distributed to 18 countries in December 2008 by a lab at an Austrian branch of Baxter. By chance the batch was first tested on ferrets in the Czech Republic, before being shipped out for injection into humans. The ferrets all died and the shocking discovery was made.

Czech newspapers immediately questioned whether the events were part of a conspiracy to deliberately provoke a pandemic, following up on accusations already made by health officials in other countries.

Initially, Baxter attempted to stonewall questions by invoking “trade secrets” and refused to reveal how the vaccines were contaminated with H5N1. Later Baxter said it was an accident. However, the probability of mixing a live virus biological weapon with vaccine material by accident is virtually impossible.

At least 49 girls have died with thousands more hospitalized after receiving the once popular Gardasil vaccine. Of course, only about 10 percent of adverse vaccine reactions are reported.

Vaccines are also an important tool of the global elites who through the Rockefeller Foundation and World Health Organization, have decreased fertility rates for global population reduction.

Population Reduction Program Exposed

It is now well known that the global elite have imposed their absurd Malthusian religion of death on everyone else. In 2009, a “secret billionaire club” meeting took place in New York and was attended by David Rockefeller, Ted Turner, Bill Gates and others. The attendees focused on “how their wealth could be used to slow the growth of the world’s population”.

In the latter half of the 20th century, eugenics supporters adopted polices of “population control.” This was crystallized in National Security Study Memorandum 200, a 1974 geopolitical strategy document prepared by Rockefeller’s Bilderberg member stooge, Henry Kissinger, which targeted thirteen countries for massive population reduction by means of creating food scarcity, sterilization and war.

The goal of the mass murderer is to reduce the world’s population from 7 billion to 500 million. In fact, they have even created a monument called the Georgia Guidestones to enshrine their perverted fantasy.

Obama’s top science and technology advisor John P. Holdren co-authored a 1977 book, Ecoscience, in which he advocated the formation of a “planetary regime” that would use a “global police force” to enforce totalitarian measures of population control, including forced abortions, mass sterilization programs conducted via the food and water supply, as well as mandatory bodily implants that would prevent couples from having children.

People around the world now understand that they are under chemical attack as part of a soft-kill operation. Deadly and dangerous toxins ranging from Aspartame to Fluoride, GMO, Mercury-tainting, pesticides, cross-species chimeras, bisphenol A (BPA), plastic compounds in chicken, high fructose corn syrup, cloned meat, rBGH and new aggressive GM species of salmon have all entered into our diets and environments — whether we want it or not.

In what is known as chemtrails/geoengineering, the population is being sprayed with aluminum, barium, strontium, and other strange ingredients like red blood cells and fungus. Toxic sulphur dioxide is also being sprayed with malice aforethought.

Manmade Global Warming Hoax Revealed

Indeed, there is a war against the general population, and the global warming fraud is also part of it. On page 75 of the Club of Rome’s 1990 publication entitled The First Global Revolution, the organization outlined how they would manufacture ecological scares in order to manipulate the public into accepting the imposition of a dictatorial world government run by them.

“In searching for a common enemy against whom we can unite, we came up with the idea that pollution, the threat of global warming, water shortages, famine and the like would fit the bill…. All these dangers are caused by human intervention… The real enemy, then, is humanity itself,” states the report, which can be read in full at the end of this article.

Maybe that is why 31,487 scientists, including 9,029 with PhDs, reject manmade global warming.

There is no question that depopulation is the intended End Game of the global elite.

Al Qaeda is Run by the Pentagon/CIA

Al Qaeda is a U.S. tool for regional destabilization. In 1979, al Qaeda, in the form of the Mujahideen/Taliban, was America’s secret weapon in Operation Cyclone. It was geopolitical strategist Zbigniew Brzezinski, (Council on Foreign Relations, Trilateral Commission, Bilderberg Group member) then National Security Advisor under Carter, who trained and funded the Mujahideen to fight the Soviets in Afghanistan. Osama Bin Laden (aka Tim Osman) met with FBI agent Ted Gunderson in the 1986 as Gunderson openly explains. Most recently, the U.S. funded Al-Qaeda to topple Libya’s Gaddafi. “Admittedly the ‘rebel’ forces included more than 1,000 al Qaeda soldiers while enjoying total backing – weapons, planes, funding and forces – from the U.S., Britain, NATO and other allies.” The Bush and Bin Laden families invested together in the Carlyle Group.

False Flag Terror now Common Knowledge

With that said, it is becoming very difficult for the globalists to advance their policy using false flag terror. Kurt Haskell ensured that the public found out that the Christmas underwear bomber was a government patsy used to scare the American people into accepting airport naked body scanners.

Likewise, the American people didn’t fall for the bogus plot cooked up by the FBI and DEA to frame an Iranian used car dealer, claiming he tried to set up an assassination, thereby somehow justifying an attack on Iran.

Alternative Media – Whipping the New World Order

Secretary of State Hillary Clinton made a tacit admission during a U.S. Foreign Policy Priorities committee meeting, arguing that the State Department needs more money because the US military-industrial complex is “losing the information war” to the alternative media.

Like a bottle of 1947 Chateau Cheval Blanc, the alternative media keeps getting better. The talented researchers and journalists not beholden to corporate masters control the Overton Window. Ideas once thought radical, such as abolishing the private Federal Reserve and exposing false flag terror, are now freely discussed.

Whistleblowers and Researchers – Defeating the NWO

The globalists no longer have the benefit of secrecy. They have already played their cards.

Increasingly, more military and government employees are becoming whistleblowers, now that they are aware of the corrupt fascist agenda around them.

FBI Agent Coleen Rowley revealed the FBI’s willful failures to prevent 9/11.

“During the early aftermath of September 11th, when I happened to be recounting the pre–September 11th events concerning the Moussaoui investigation to other FBI personnel in other divisions or in FBIHQ, almost everyone’s first question was Why?–Why would an FBI agent(s) deliberately sabotage a case? (I know I shouldn’t be flippant about this, but jokes were actually made that the key FBI HQ personnel had to be spies or moles, who were actually working for Osama Bin Laden to have so undercut Minneapolis’s effort.”

That sounds similar to the 1993 World Trade Center bombing, where certain individuals within the FBI refused to let their informant Emad A. Salem stop the attack.

Lieutenant Colonel Anthony Schaffer went public regarding the existence of the Able Danger program that had identified alleged 9/11 lead hijacker Mohammed Atta and three other al-CIAeda operatives operating in the United States prior to 9/11.

Over 1,600 architects and engineers say the official 9/11 story is a fraud as do hundreds of government officials.

Other government whistleblowers and contractors have recently exposed plans to treat Americans as enemy combatants and the fact that FEMA concentration camps are being activated.

Former FBI agent Ted Gunderson exposed CIA drug running, false flag operations, mind control, and child abuse.

Even researcher Fritz Springmeier is back in action, exposing the crimes and mind control that the globalists inflict on humanity.

How to Stop the NWO Quickly

While the tide is turning and humanity is awakening, much more must be done to restore our freedoms and quality of life. We all must continuously perform the following simple actions:

Inform others of the real government by emailing them important articles.
    Distribute flyers to inform your neighbors.
    Boycott corporate sponsors of the Council on Foreign Relations, Trilateral Commission and Bilderberg Group.
    Refuse to take any action that violates your conscience.
    Practice agape love.

To conclude, in 2012 the Globalist agenda is ripe for defeat if we continue to inform others and refuse to support those attempting to enslave humanity.

About the Author

Paul Adams is your humble servant and holds a Juris Doctor. He is passionate about educating himself and others to achieve peace, equality and justice for all.

29. By the way I have no idea if all the gentleman says is true….I just thought it might be a good article to read….and perhaps think about. Hmmm…

30. …and moving right along just saw this….how funny to read and post the above first:

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/on-way-out/

31. Minister Lashley…scrap the Creative Industries Bill, Sir. It really does not do anything for us “creatives”. There is a group that will soon have some “good advice” for ya…a group with no agenda at all but to really really help “all creatives” on the island….might even be able to write up the draft in no time at all,Sir, if the one that is posted is anything to go by…and you can put that before Parliament before elections and perhaps even get re-elected…the worse that could happen is that you might be one of the few Ministers of Government always remembered in the best of light for ever. This could be your top achievement Sir. And achievement that is best for our country, is top priority, right? I knew you would agree Minister. Bless.

32. Look David i did read the article and in two of my posts i did adressed the points Brancker was making if you had read my posts you would have realised that some how you seems to be on attack mode i think this blog was design for a free flow of information from the sublime to the ridiculous without one having to feel a sense of being intimidated no matter what the subject and your little quip about “having the last word”is a covert attempt on telling one to shut up be that as it may

33. @ac

The term ‘you may have the last word’ is because we are both restating the same positions which maybe boring for some. We are at a point where in Barbados a CIB will be enacted by the political directorate and we have jackasses in the industry refusing to step up to the plate by offering constructive input. The point made by Brancker about artistes needing to work hard is a truism which does not the point of the government asking for input to the CIB.

Look you continue because these kinds of debates where we focus on the pedantic gets us no where.

Good to here Minister Sealy talking about establishing a Film Board, now we need input from the locals. Lets here them.

34. David can you provide a link where I can read a draft of CIB.

35. @Hantsie

The link is above but here is the link direct from the government website.

http://www.gisbarbados.gov.bb/Cultural_Industries_Bill_2011.pdf

36. Interesting to listen to Ben Arrundel in the news today, picked up to his credit by David Ellis, the importance of ensuring the right structure is established to facilitate a Film Commission. Often times doing business in Barbados requires weeks and months of bureaucratic jockeying. Such a structure will not encourage success.