Submitted by Hamilton Hill
Minister Kellman and Noel Lynch, Bajan Politicians

As the hands of life’s time peace moves us closer to the end of yet another year on planet earth, we as a people are faced with the realization that it also moves us closer to the crossroad where the wrong turn takes the most stable nation in the region down the path that others bigger and more resourceful have followed, and are yet to see even a glimmer of hope that recovery is within their grasp.

The up-coming general elections may well be yet another watershed moment in the history of the land to which we all lay claims of love. If those claims are to be taken seriously then we must engage in the act of introspective soul searching with the intent of bringing Barbados back to the days of yore when party affiliation was secondary and surfaced only at election time.Today it predominates our every move.The group that speaks begrudgingly of “The Fatted Calf” are constantly reminded of the life they enjoyed while living “High On The Hog” and the unconnected lot wait patiently for the crumbs that fall from the Party Table.

What choice do they have at this point?

Even here at Barbados Underground simple debates are as educational as they are partisan, and can quickly depart from every tenet of civil discourse, only to be replaced by language reminiscent of that from a political meeting of the People’s Pressure Movement. What some may refuse to admit but cannot overlook is the fact that there are glaring traits of similarity that bind the two major parties in a way that only serve to breathe life into the growing movement of scepticism. Dennis Kellman is the government’s version of the opposition’s Noel Lynch. They both have fallen head over heels in love with the sound of their respective voices, to the point where some say that they both are plagued by that malady Bajans call “Short Man Syndrome” (see me and hear me at all times)

Lets go as far back as the murder of Victor Pele`Parris. Were we not told by one party that they would get to the bottom of that? From Atlantic Shores to Brooklyn stretched the trail of evidence and? Fast forward to Jonathan Danos and 3S steel. While working for a company called Mabey & Johnson Ltd Mr. Danos was sued for taking kickbacks on deals done in Jamaica, Panama and the Dominican Republic, yet  was in bed with the Arthur administration. Today’s government still does business with 3S. Planted in the centre of a ministry is a man painted in infamy by the then opposition.

As both sides remind us of their quest to guide us out of third world status, they find it easier to facilitate a chosen few who found over-night riches, than to find a way to replace the pit toilets that far too many still have to use in this modern day Barbados. Silly as it may sound, after this election we may be talking of the Barbados we used to know. My vote goes to the first party that gives some politician a taste of prison. Perhaps I will never vote again.

1. @ David
    Whether there is a boom or recession, what we do at home is dependent on what social, human resource and physical conditions exist. You can’t ask for analysis in addressing GDP but ignore such an approach to restructuring. Furthermore, capacity building is not solely a government activity either.

2. @enuff

Maybe but to do a straigh line comparative like Onions is attempting is illogical. It is like taking the debt burden of the USA without accepting that it is a reserve currency and therefore peculiar considerations apply.

3. Least we forget…we began on the premise of ….The present administration has been pointing to Global Recession as the one and all for everything going wrong…..Myself and Austin challenged this stating that how come other countries in the world whose No.1 income earner is alsoTOURISM..are still experiencing GROWTH…the economic indicator of choice by both economic gurus, Central Bank Governor Dr. Worrell and BLP Chief Economist Mr. Mascoll….this is how growth was isolated as the yard stick but subsequently (sought to be) changed by BU’s David….on the premise it was not an adequate indicator of well being…Though this was never in dispute..it was not the beginning premise of the debate.

David you have the last word…puddin n souse time.

4. @Onions

BU is entitled to use whatever yardstick we want to evaluate country performance. It might even be a philosophical thing. Mascoll has been told he is too comfortable with statistics by BU. So Mascoll is your mentor? Well that explains it…lol.

5. @Onions

Here is a little reading from schoolboy David:

http://www.oecdobserver.org/news/fullstory.php/aid/1518/

Whare are all those countries like Guyana, Domina and others positioned on the HDI?

Do you accept that Barbados can afford to protect the ‘wellbeing’ of you society instead of implementing draconian measures to erode all we have achieved to date?

Mascoll and others will shout that there way is the better way but there is not blueprint for economic management in the prevailing conditions.

No Sir Barbadians have built our success on sandy ground and it is being exposed at this time.

6. Why have we become so contented with mediocrity? The same way some can argue it could be worse, what is so wrong about promoting the idea that it could be better.
    The last government was expected to turn stone into bread, but the current administration that did promise to perform such miracles are being given a pass. This government failed to prepare, and thus must be prepared to fail; because if they were serious about governing the promises made and positions taken would have been avoided. Where was this argument about living standards, access to free services and taxation when the late PM Thompson was comparing the cost of living in Barbados to St.Lucia, Trinidad and other territories?
    What policies have the current administration implemented besides firing people to employ their supporters who were already employed? It is apparent that had not for the FOREX in the bank on January 16th, 2008 we would be catspraddled by now.

7. @enuff

If you accept that government is a continuum. Why would a government operating in a global boom time not have stored forex?

8. @ David…a repeat
    You have conveniently missed the point (BLP DLP NDP)…..all I was saying we all are influenced ( as much as we try ) and have an inclination….though we may try….hard as it is…….to keep it out of our writtings.

9. @ David>>>>>your link…if I may quote from it for all n sundry
    snip>
    François Lequiller:
    If by growth you mean the expansion of output of goods and services, then GDP or preferably real GDP – which measures growth without the effects of inflation – is perfectly satisfactory. It has been built for this purpose.
    snip>
    At least we have a supporter…

10. @Onions

Are you aware that even in the days of touted growth Barbados growth never achieved much more than 3%?

11. And why would they complain about paying loans borrowed by the previous administration?

12. Excuse me all >>>Dis is nice souse today…I giong for more .Hants boy…(ummm)

13. @enuff

They should not and that is why the political rhetoric needs to be filtered.

14. @ david
    But 3% more than a previous year of 3% on top of another 3% before is better than -5% followed by .3% and .5%…lol. This is getting interesting suddenly HDI does matter…one would think that Barbados only surpassed the likes of Dominica since 2008!!

15. @enuff

Come you understand the point.

16. @Oinions

You totally lack the capacity to understand that a point can be made at different levels which has nothing to do with being partisan

When BU stated that the BLP will win the next election if all remains you were happy and ac and CCC were unhappy. In fact CCC a DLP equivalent (to you) continues to be very unhappy with BU’s content of late.

On this thread we are arguing about the lack of vision by the BLP in good times to rework the economic to guard our prosperity in the long term, you of course are unhappy.

Why can’t you understand the last point in no way negates the first point above?

17. David you just spoke a mouthful the word “continum”says it all.therefore the need to reflect is very relevant in how we vote and how govts aregoing to present and preserve our country economy for the future. It is not good enough to be selfcentred and only see what was done by past governments in the name of politics but to measure their preformance on how their policies would affect generations for years to come and that means removing of onself from the picture and putting country first

18. @ ac
    No! I am also seeing what was NOT done. What policies thou speaketh of? lol

19. old onion bags Avatar

Again David.
    I must say that your stint with the La Dodgers, has served you in good stead. How did we manage to flip the scrip …( since gone for souse) to CCC , ac and all complaints of partisan shit ? Yea bro as i see it, its just a cop out….You know what,, just like you get tired of hearing same ole BLpDlp mantra, I guess you won’t believe… I get tired hearing about a lethargic judicial system , which we will never change anyway….Solution>>…I don’t go to those articles ….If you and others ( Rossi ) don’t like DLP political rant shit …..why visit ? Is it that hard to comprehend ? You don’t hear us in your articles complaining ..do you ? I am sure if you never posted these types of political articles..I guarantee you… I (and some others) won’t be in here period. Notwithstanding your wine, a check will show the most responses go towards political articles anyway. Look only the other day , i wrote “Who Ever Said Silence is Golden ( a nothing article)..submissions 150 +. What does that tell you ? If in doubt just try posting only articles of Hal Austin’s of a highly philosophical mantra.See how active this blog gets….lol..try it.

20. @Onions

Of the 150 who many were your comments?…lol

21. old onion bags Avatar

Why that substantiate my point exactly.. ( about 50 )..real dedication to the cause..lol

22. @Onions

You are correct though, the main interest of the blog is political.

23. For anyone who missed it.Old Onion Bags is as credible as Albert Branford is objective.One and the same,perhaps.

24. @ Truthman Burton….Putrid and foul-mouthed language from Bonny P? She has the status of sainthood in relation to the man that was able to commandeer your so called loyalty…the man you call boss….the object of your idolatry.Do you think that we have forgotten his profanity laced late night calls to anyone,and I do mean anyone who evoked his ire?All this while he held the highest office in this land.But who cares?Not you fa sure.Know why?Yours is the type of loyalty that can be bought. I hope ya listen to POPSICLE and ya ent sell nutten else.

25. Seems like Hamilton Hill now resurrect from the dead….I thought you went to Islandgal’s excursion….or D dog FA_rt on you….but that’s another ting for another blog…..What you want Hammie ? What ails you lad ?

26. @ enuff v

For sure i am not speaking about the policies of the past government.! for sure they were only laid and presented on a platter of :self interest” for surely the evidence has presented itself in the present and the way the economy was tittering on a hill of national disaster. Enuff what has OSA said of recent about the economy.and BTW since MIA’s response to the budget speech i haven’t heard nay word from here about the economy

27. @ Hammie
    And don’t tell me a fart can be putrid….I know……(come to Islandgal’s article Pig Rustic for more info..lol)

28. Gone with the wind Avatar
    Gone with the wind

I used to get satisfaction reading BU but with Old Onion bags posting morning, night, evening even foreday morning the blog is now boring. This Old Onions clown sometimes post 80% of a thread. His constant rubbish is sickening and the clown really should stop. I’ve stopped reading BU when Onion bags leaves I will consider reading BU again. Goodbye David.

29. @ David
    Why don’t you listen to the Gone wid the Wang..and BAN the Ole Onion Bags for pete sake……

30. Tell that Ole Wind Bag…the word FART..is in the English dictionary….ole epithet…..not my problem if you find it unacceptable.or otherwise..

31. @gone wid de wind
    So! i bet yuh going be keeping yuh eye so close to the monitor trying to find out wuh going on at BU save yuh idle threats because yuh already hooked !Onions it is not the first blogger to make several comments here and he won’t be the last; as fuh yuh just don’t punish yuhself by peeking because yuh might go blind as onions going be here for the long haul.

32. Thanks ac…the guttural of some…..

33. But ya know what..come tomorrow…I taking a vacation from this blog…I gine China..

34. But ya know what..come tomorrow…I taking a vacation from this blog…I gine China..
    Say it ain’t so, this blog can’t survive without your wit and wisdom

35. Onions; Before you go. Tell us a bit more about the rumour that Mr Broomes is packing his georgie bundle and will be leaving before the new term starts. Or is that another rumour like the one AC tried to set up that he had packed his bags a few months ago?

36. @ ac
    “For sure i am not speaking about the policies of the past government.! for sure they were only laid and presented on a platter of :self interest”

Both the RDC and UDC were established by acts of Parliament in the BLP’s first term. Despite the hollering and shouting by DLP members such as the late PM Thompson and Verla Depeiza about closing down these institutions whenever the DLP became government they remain intact. In fact new tenancy agreements were recently signed with a single landlord to lease offices for both agencies; and allegedly for 25 years at a cost four times the previous monthly rent in one instance. Clearly there is no short, medium or long term plan to close down either. Therefore is your party only promoting self-interest too or have they identified the value of these policies to our society? Please let BU know.

37. old onion bags Avatar

@ Sarge
    Say it ain’t so, this blog can’t survive without your wit and wisdom

Morning boys…..dun kno Onions can leff in hay…..tell musty Hamiliton Hill (Gone wid the Wind epithet) if he can’t handle a fart….he may need a proctologist…..besides fellows, tell me how I cud abandon ac or Check-it or Caswie, an Observer…these fellas like fingers pun the hand….Hammie fa real doa I think you need an enema ….(drink lil glabba salt first)..you would come out a better man..”shite-free”….any way Onions got to cook today..wifey going out….bake pork fellas ..wid garlic ..bet wanna din kno Onions Le Cordon Bleu….first I got to stop by Caswell and lend my support..latter fellas

38. “Old Onion bags posting morning, night, evening even foreday morning the blog is now boring.”

@Gone with the wind…….I think that ole onions has overstayed his welcome LOLL. He talks a lot of hot air through his rear and has confirmed it that his farts can be putrid. He even talks while he is sleeping and I can imagine how many flies he has caught having to keep his mouth open all the time. Ole onions is making a mess of a good thing. He has failed to understand that less is more?

39. ole onions the guy everbody loves to hate. wait i cooking pork chops too maybe dat is some of island gal influence wid dee pig .

40. @Enuff
    What is the purpose of your question like David says govt must be a continuum and if some policies left by a past governments working it would be foolish to abandon them .until such time these policies become outdated the possibility is that the RDC and UDC is one of the few policies that both government agrees on and that is nothing wrong with that. lessons should be learned and not be abandon or discarded for political one upmanship putting country first must be at the forefront

41. Watchin TV…….Aussie .v. WI….The Umpires give a decision for LBW ..Sammy …thought it was for a catch that did not carry…TURNED It DOWN…we all gine mad !

42. Onions

You cooking for de family? How many yuh bury so far? Exhibit No 1 in the debate about rising health care costs.

43. @ Sarge
    Boy you ain’t kno nuttin….Onions is a Four Star General when it comes to cooking…..D rest of the extended grans…dun put in invitations…so you
    would kno..Onions working a baby duck ( stuffed wid green golden apples and Eclipse) as well as jug jug..green pea rice, veggie christophenes , baked cauliflower surprise wid cheese,scratchers (chicken feet) and ham hocks…dem belly burST !

44. WHAT nonsense you talking ????
    DONT you know that Old Onion Bags is one of the best if not the best on this blog and has full support ???
    WHY dont you “Gone with the wind “go with the wind and leave Onion???
    I still want to know howcum Onion gets a column (post ) and not me JUST ASKING ???

45. @Just asking….stop asking and write something!

46. @ ac
    You have answered my question. Thanks.

47. Onions;

Anything further on the AX matter. This is on the web (I haven’t got the newspaper yet)

Prime Minister Freundel Stuart has scheduled a meeting for tomorrow with the Barbados Secondary Teachers’ Union (BSTU) and the 30 teachers who staged a three-week strike at the beginning of the last term.

And the affected staff wait to see if “stage two” of the Alexandra saga, for which they have been looking since return to work January 25, will take effect.

A reliable source told the DAILY NATION the time and place for that meeting are yet to be announced and that the teachers had been advised to report for work today for the usual planning session and meetings on the first day of school, but stay away tomorrow.

This means that there could be some disruption when children turn up for the first day of school in this Trinity term – for the second straight term.

48. old onion bags Avatar

@ Check-it
    Yo Buddy(-in-chief Ax)..lol…Redman really don’t know what to do having confided in the PM. She is weighing her next move carefully….for the outcomes could be a hanging.Never “people in here” ..have already spoken for the PM (Stage II)…we await to hear him speak (break silence)…by the way he should be back from visiting IMF and World Bank friendlies…and be in a good mood or bad mood depending on the outcome of this weekend’s adventures..Well see ole friend but I won’t be too eager.