Submitted by Ellis Chase

University of the West indies, Cave Hill

There has been something of a debate on the funding of higher education in Barbados recently. As is typical, and strange for a well educated country, clear facts and hard information have largely been absent, and persons seem to be taking political and ideological positions. The Nation newspaper recently ran an article about UWI finances after a public pronouncement by the Finance and Economic Affairs Minister. The article prompted me to seek out some hard information on UWI finances, and I was shocked at how hard it was to get some. Finally, after some wheeling and dealing I got my hands on the UWI, Cave Hill audited financials for the period 1999 to 2009.

Read full article

188 responses to “THE UWI Financing DEBATE”

1. The UWI Student Guild to hold meetings to plan protest.

Good for them. That is what University students do.

I am betting the Government will not back down but will give scholarships to those who need help.

This exposes the fundamental problem with Barbados. The economy needs to be restructured because Bajans do not intend to give up their lifestyle.

How many tuition fees equal the cost of a Bimmer, Benz or Lexus?

2. JUST ASKING | November 26, 2011 at 9:44 AM |
    “DO you know that because of what was done to Black people , somebody MUST take care of Black people in this region and that somebody gotta pay aaaa pay aaaa ???”

Very good issue you have inadvertently raised here! But this matter is riddle with controversy.

In the case of Barbados it will have to be the British. No other European nation colonised and exploited us

MILLER I was to pick you up on this point ever since. it is really riddled in controversy as suggested by JUST ASKIN because there is no evidence to indicate that people were living on BARBADOS when the BRITISH came in 1627 with 84 white slaves. The history account indicates that black people came long after the English settlers and were imported from AFRICA to work in the then developing sugar industry. So to say that black people in Barbados were colonised seems to be inaccurate from the historical records.
    On the other hand, when the British visited places like e,g Africa and India , they found thriving civilisations which they conquered and upon whom they imposed their way of life. In my view, that was colonisation at its very worst and those countries to my mind are indeed worthy of reparations.
    Of course, the atrocities inflicted upon our ancestors through the slave trade cannot be overlooked; slavery accepted as a way of life then and still very prevalent in some jurisdictions today notwithstanding. Indeed, the records indicate that our own ancestors saw it as a way of business as well by selling their own brethren into slavery.
    The question is who deserving of these reparations.

3. hants look at that GP presents events pointing them towards the ends time as precursors which would affect peoples life which i did mention as relevant to peoples daily living., Such indicators would be evidence for the coming of JESUS. that is .. now the question which u and others like David should want to know is how Soon since the bible does not say specifically but only gives indicators which in ac point of view has being going on from the beginning of this world example The flood. earthquakes, the lunar eclipse that being the moon turning to blood however we know that is scientifically untrue other geological disaster.Even homosexuality However when the word soon is interjected it present and emphasises that something of importance is about to occur of which one should take note. and should be ready .

t

4. the govt don’t even have money to fix the infrasturcture but can affor FREE education to every body. Wuh kind of economics is that! can somebody in govt. tell the natives the truth”The bread basket is empty” No more FREE lunch!

ac, you should have given the PRIME MINISTER the benefit of your sound advice before allowing him to make a political pronouncement which now has to embarrassingly retract unashamedly misquoting MR BARROW’S intention in support of his volte-face.

5. By law these so called disciples can be brought before a court as proof to such statement since these statements are being presented as fact and truthful.to different audiences and nations worldwide..

AC, should MR SINCKLER be brought to court for his misleading statements to the entire country which has brought the characters of eminent citizens into disrepute re- the payment of tuition fees in his wrap-up to the budget debate to which no one could reply. YES OR NO.

6. @GP

At the end of the day no human know when and where.

7. As I understand it tuition fees will be applied from next year. Why should a person who is already enrolled in UWI be required to pay. When that person enrolled, he/she would have done so with the understanding that those fees would have been paid by the Government. To my mind, that would give rise to a legitimate expectation that the student could enforce through the courts.

8. balance @ ac

By law these so called disciples can be brought before a court as proof to such statement since these statements are being presented as fact and truthful.to different audiences and nations worldwide
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    AC, should MR SINCKLER be brought to court for his misleading statements to the entire country which has brought the characters of eminent citizens into disrepute re- the payment of tuition fees in his wrap-up to the budget debate to which no one could reply. YES OR NO.

NO! double NO with a head shake!

9. David | August 18, 2013 at 6:44 PM |

At the end of the day no human know when and where.
    WHERE IST PHASE IN THE AIR

2ND PHASE ARMASGEDDON
    WHEN THE OLIVET DISCOURSE DOES NOT TELL USWHEN BUT IT GIVES US AN IDEA THAT WHEN THERE IS AN ESCALATION OF THINGS INCLUDING EVENTS PREDICTED IN THE OT THAT THE TIME IS NEAR

TRUTH IS THAT WE ARE NEARER THAN EVER BEFORE.

AND FOLK WILL SCOFF AT THAT TOO

10. as a matter of fact there is no time period representative of how “soon” in the bible all catastrophic events have happen over an over again in set times and periods, therefore the Christian interpretation as “soon’ connecting world events to the coming as jesus is false and misleading and they should be held accountable.

11. I don’t understand this one at all.

A man gets a mortal wound that hedges on being eviscerated and, his neighbours present this brilliant idea that he does not need to go to the doctor to tend to this life threatening wound rather, the bush doctors, of who there are many, suggest that if he takes the guts that are slowly sliding out of his stomach cavity and eat it, he will prolong his life indefinitely.

Both administrations have practiced this self cannibalism for 25 years.

Both have support a UWI which has done very little to generate meaningful consultancies and services and convert all that brain power to anything meaningful.

So at one end of the spectrum we have people like the Justin Robinsons and the Downes’ taking never ending consultancies from the same government, getting fat off the fatted calf that both administrations meted out and, today, when we find ourselves at this cross roads of a self imposed Hannibal Lectern the Cannibal, eating out our own guts, we incredulously wonder why our coffers are empty.

Even in olden times when the vikings would raid and pillage, they went to another man’s shores and plundered the foreigner’s wealth.

Like some type of incestuous cousins from the back woods of the Caribbean sludge, we have continued to suck at the nipples of our mothers, well into 25 years, and like some Oedipus or Nero, or the Bible’s Cain and his sister Awan, we seem ossified when Owen and his Mottley crew, followed by Fumble and his molasses compadres come to this point of evident inaction, bereft of any vision.

Did any of you hear what Richard “He Who Sees Spirits” Sealy, our minister of tourism, proffered as a solution on 13.8.13? A speech prepared by an obeah woman, or a man on cocaine, the mainstay of Barbados’ economy.

And Fumble leads them all.

We have our own breed of Taliban, men who assassinate the Bajna populace and no one is able to stand up and say “stop”

Please dont give me Mia as my knight in shining armour please dont give me Wiretapping Central as my alternative government in waiting.

History records that “the nigga wid de keys” was more deadly than the massa and this DLP government underscores that point.

Well done Fumble.

12. LOL Ha Ha hee hee…. Oh SHIRT!!!
    David | August 18, 2013 at 5:02 PM |
    Sometimes it is better to hush
    Not exactly David…… In ac’s case, it is ALWAYS better to hush…..

13. @ Caswell

If one were to extrapolate on your legitimate expectation theory then all and sundry could seek such redress in the court e.g. the person paying $1.50 in busfare then it is raised to $2, the renter whose landlord raises the rent, the bank customer when banks unilaterally raise ATM charges.

I am not being facetious but I don’t think that one would stand up in a court of law.

This is not an option or a hedge where the price is locked in to a contract.

At any rate let me give you this tangent of thought to ponder on.

Indian man holds sale and puts up sign in window, “25% off” but you notice that in all of their stores, not one item has a price attached. So indian tells customer what price they want.

White man has similar sale, discount is publicly displayed, as is item price BUT one week previously, white man has done stock taking and increased the price by 50%. So white man (and i did not say Harrisons and Cave Shepherd) get price they want.

Stinkliar et company (which translates into Darcy Head Boy Boyce who wrote the budget speah that Sinckliar could not read) need to impress IMF.

Stinkliar/Boyce puts out these dastardly cuts in government expenditure in budget and get passing grade from IMF, IDB and Japanese Development Bank, and get money too.

Next year, Stinkliar instead of levying 1000% increase raise fees by 200% while saying to public that “he government. after much thought and cuntsultation has come to realise dat dem is a society not an economy” or some dogshite statement like that’

So Sinkliar did really want to do two tings (a) get de money from de development banks and (b) screw de bajans dem for de real price dat de injun, de white man and he, de new oligarchy, did plan to tek all de time.

I know dat did gine confuse AC and Cocky Locky Cadogan so I would ask wunna to keep de to uh dem off de ole man with me osteoporosis causing i cyan tek dem weighted ingrunce

I jes recover from de goadies operation and whaplax, de bling dat Sinkler pun me Tuesday (p)ass mekking me posterior go round”

14. @ bush TEA

Steupse……………….mek me …………it talkes more than ur little pint size ego to make me whatever u say. now two other clowns have joined your circus…LOl.

15. @ac

I am amazed!!

In your comment of ac | August 18, 2013 at 6:57 PM | your espouse and anti-preterist, historicist, presentist concepts, one which borders on idealist, yet, when you speak of Fumble’s ineptitude you err on the side of irrational thought.

There must be two people who are commenting under that moniker, in the same house!!

It is impossible for you to be one person!!

16. No pdryr ! there maybe two ac.s living inside however both woukld agree that the TRUTH supersedes all of man.s greatest and best intentions. Now ac was seeking truth from the bible thumping scholars. However i am conscience of the fact that those who claim to have a reservoiur of truthfulness falls and failsmiserably when applying it to themselves. Now how can one promote an ideaolgy based on unfounded scritural teaching and present it as factual.

17. @Georgie Porgie, ac, Hants and the other disciples, I invite all of you to stand by for the release of the latest book to come out YESHUA A.K.A. Jesus the Nazaarene for somereally interesting reading on things Christian, and which challenges the concept of a second coming. What would be your reddcourse if there was no resurrection? Stand by, coming in September.
    CAAn anybody get to Heaven without dying? For months before the election there were cries for Government austrity. Tuition fees are a large part of government expenditure.You go figure.

18. As man Alvin
    …get David to put up a chapter of dat book as a post….
    Bushie is game for a good joke…. 🙂

19. @David
    CAAn anybody get to Heaven without dying?

HAVE YOU EVER HEARD ABOUT ENOCH OR ELIJAH

RE What would be your reddcourse if there was no resurrection?

aLVIN ARE YOU AC OR RELATED TO AC?

20. ha! Ha! now answer the dam question GPcan anyone get to heaven without dying, btw where is heaven.. that too u should answer SOON as a disciple of Christ,

this for you GP did Elijah and Enoch die?
    http://www.cgom.org/Publications/Booklets/Enoch_Elijah.htm

21. ac riding GP this ought to be good …. HA HAHA

22. Where Is Enoch?
    ENOCH was “translated.” Where did he go? Was he immediately taken to heaven? NO! Because Jesus Himself said: “No man hath ascended up to heaven, but he that came down from heaven, even the Son of man” (John 3:13). Here are Jesus’ own words that no man, except Himself, had ascended into heaven!

And how did He know? Why, He came from there!
    Then where is Enoch? Let’s see what the Bible says.
    What Really Happened at Enoch’s Translation!
    Remember, Moses didn’t write that Enoch did not die. Rather Moses wrote that “Enoch walked with God: and he was not; for God took him” (Gen. 5:24). Paul records the same event by saying that he “was not found, because God had translated him” (Heb. 11:5).
    Thus the Scripture records that Enoch was not found because God took him, or “translated” him. THE BIBLE DOES NOT SAY THAT ENOCH WENT TO HEAVEN when he was translated. Instead it says he was not found.
    Certainly Enoch was “translated,” but what does the word “translate” mean?
    Strange as it may seem, nowhere in all the Bible does “translate” mean to make immortal!
    The original Greek word for “translate” is metatithemi. According to Strong’s Concordance it signifies: transfer, transport, exchange, change sides.
    The same Greek word is rendered “carried over” in Acts 7:16. Here we read that after Jacob DIED his body was “carried over”—transported, TRANSLATED—to Sychem WHERE HE WAS BURIED! That’s what your Bible says! Jacob was transported or TRANSLATED to the place of burial!
    That is why Moses said that God TOOK Enoch. God removed—translated—him so that he was not found. God took Enoch and buried him!
    In Deuteronomy 34:6 we read also how God took Moses from the people after which he died and was buried by God. “But no man knoweth his sepulcher unto this day.” God removed Moses—God translated him—and he was not found either!
    So Enoch was not made immortal after all! He was taken away and was not found. ALL his days were three hundred and sixty-five! That’s as long as Enoch lived.
    Notice another proof that “translate” does not mean to make immortal. It is found in Col. 1:13: the Father “hath delivered us from the power of darkness, and hath TRANSLATED us into the kingdom of His dear Son.” Here the Bible says that Christians are already translated—but Christians still die! We are not immortal bodies, but mortal flesh and blood. Although we were once part of the darkness of this world, now we are TRANSLATED, removed from darkness into the light of the kingdom of God.

Did Elijah Go To Heaven?
    You have been told that Elijah went to heaven. Yet over 900 years after Elijah was taken up by a whirlwind Jesus Himself said. “NO MAN ascended up to heaven, but He that came down from heaven, even the Son of man!” (John 3:13.)
    Is this a Bible contradiction? Did Elijah really ascend to the heaven where God’s throne is—even though Jesus said he didn’t?
    If Elijah is not in heaven today, then where did Elijah go?

23. yes GP and the same time point me to the bible verse wher Jesus said he was coming SOON.before his death and after his resurrection.

24. JENNIFER YEARWOOD Avatar
    JENNIFER YEARWOOD

AC…YOU ARE, OF COURSE AWARE OF THE FACT THAT THERE IS A SIZEABLE NUMBER OF PERSONS,, THNIKING,INTELLIGENT, INFORMED, EDUCATED..IN THE RENAISSANCE SENSE,, WHO DO NOT SUBSCRIBE TO THE GOD STORY ..THEY ARE OF THE VIEW THAT LACK OF ”BELIEF” I S A BELIEF….THE CARIBBEAN SEEMS AWASH WITH A PLETHORA OF FUNDAMENTALISTS,,,GENERALLY NON ACCOMMODATING,BLINKERED VISIONED….

25. SOMETHING IS GOING TO HAPPEN IN THIS COUNTRY.
    SOMETHING IS GOING TO HAPPEN.

PEOPLE LIKE ARTHUR (the call in program fella on now on Q.FM -repeat) ARE DEFENDING NONSENSE BY THIS GOVERNMENT.

THINGS ARE GOING TO HAPPEN HERE–SERIOUS THINGS.

EARLIER IN THE YEAR , I SAID THAT I SAW PROTESTS COMING

26. seems passing strange that bu contributors and surprisingly miller too have given mr sinckler a pass for misrepresenting the facts relating to the payment of fees by the committee set up to look at funding the university

27. If Elijah is not in heaven today, then where did Elijah go?

AC where in your view is heaven?

28. Where Did Elijah Go?
    This has been the perplexing problem to so many!
    He did not ascend to the throne of God. Jesus said so! Yet he couldn’t remain in the air forever.
    And God did not say that Elijah was to die at that time. If he were, Elisha could have assumed his new office without the removal of Elijah, for we know that Elisha died in office after fulfilling his duty (II Kings 13:14).
    The sons of the prophets who knew that their master was to be removed also that Elijah was not to die then. That is why they were fearful that the Spirit of God might have allowed him to drop “upon some mountain, or into some valley” (II Kings 2:16). Elisha knew that God would preserve Elijah from falling, but at their insistence he permitted men to go in search for him—to no avail.
    Elijah was gone!
    And where to? Certainly the whirlwind used by God could not take him beyond the earth’s atmosphere. Neither does the Bible account leave Elijah in the air!
    The Answer Unfolds
    Let us notice the next few years and see what further events the Scripture records. The new king of Israel was another son of Ahab, Jehoram, or Joram as he is sometimes called. The beginning of his reign marked the year of the removal of Elijah (II Kings 1:18 and 3:1). During this king’s reign Elisha was the recognized prophet of God (II Kings 3:11). In the fifth year of Joram king of Israel, the son of the king of Judah began to reign along with his father in Judah (II Kings 8:16). His name also was Jehoram. The first thing he did to establish his kingdom rule was to put his relatives to the sword lest they should claim the throne from him (11 Chronicles 2 1:4). For nearly six years he followed the ways of the nations about him and did evil in God’s sight.
    Almost ten years had now expired since Elijah was taken from the people. But what do you think was about to happen?

29. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

The Nation BLP Newspaper is leading the fight against the government on the UWI issue. So much for a fair and balanced coverage of the issues that gives readers both sides of the debate.

The Nation BLP newspaper is the most biased media house in Barbados worse by far than CBC , The Advocate and even its subsidiary VOB. absolutely DISGRACEFUL.

30. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

Tennyson Joseph – a certified BLP yardfowl.

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I am going to do 2 things that I try not to do.

1. Use an article on a substantive subject to comment on a non-tangential, theological thread

2. Comment on a “sanctum sanctorum” issue and pray that the masonics do not send the hibbygibby hobologlobins for me while I am sleeping tonight

To the unitiated I would share this and hope that you understand

“Touch me not for I am not ascended to The Father”

The “vehicle” which rose on Easter which Jesus the Christ incarnated in IS NOT the same “body” that the doubting Thomas pushed his hands through the wounds in the palms post glorious Resurrection!

Sinful man, enfolded in sinful frame, CANNOT enter into the same domain as PURE GOD!

There are many mysteries that are spoken of clearly in the Old and New Testaments but all men have the gift of sight but few the gift od vision.

Translation speaks of the reclaiming of “essence” and that vehicle which belongs to that domain IT DOES NOT SPEAK TO THE FODDER AND DECAY OF BODY THAT CANNOT PASS THE VEIL

This is the Mystery of the Immaculate Conception and why, for those of us who choose to believe, and respect those who DO NOT BELIEVE, this is why the Coming of The Second Adam for the first fallen adam ( purposely commonized because the 2nd is capitalized) this is why some of us are in perpetual awe that Majesty made this sacrifice at Calvary

I will not foist my experiences a la Christ on any of you but as for me, and my household, we believe in One Living God and Jesus is His Son

When Moses came back after communing with GOD during his scribing the Commamdments his “proximity” with THE PRESENCE cause Moses’ essence to shine so much that the rest of them could not look on his face

The prostitutes like Holmes Williams and Jippy Doyle and the procession of archbishops and popes have failed to speak to and of A LIVING GOD so we the masses are guided through a glass darkly.

@ All

Forgive me this digression and ranting for what has nothing to do with UWI financing and yet has everything to do with it

32. “If a Christian believes Jesus is coming soon he does not have to provide you with proof.”

So does MAD people. Jesus is coming is a whole lotta hog wash. Wunna did waiting from the time wunna came from Africa when the slavemasters gave wunna a God to believe in. A God that tell wunna that it is better to believe in him than the African religion wunna had. If GP was the last doctor on earth I would never go to him for advice.He is delusional!

33. GP is delusional
    here is something
    GP is delusional
    islandgal says so
    how she know
    GP is delusional
    last doctor on earth
    she would go
    would GP refuse she

34. lot o people
    grudge UWI graduates
    hate UWI
    never went
    will never go
    glad that students of black people put under pressure
    grudgeful minded
    hate UWI
    would like to shut UWI down
    grudge ful /misery loving
    build a road- they quarrel
    build airport- they quarrel
    build a cross-over -they quarrel
    st lucia got 10 on Gros Islet hi-way

grudgefull minded /short sighted people
    want to stop UWI
    HIlary
    they even oppose cricket team in local cricket/keith holder foundation school is all that/but has a problem with uwi
    grudgeful minded
    vex with UWI
    WHY ?

35. @ ac
    …much respect!

36. CONCLUSION OF WHERE DID ELIJAH GO? ………………………….. Letter Comes from Elijah!
    Yes, after this wicked rule by the Jewish king, God chose Elijah to write a letter and have it sent to the king!
    The contents of the letter are found in II Chronicles 21:12-15. In part it reads: “Because thou hast not walked in the ways of. . . thy father . – . but hast walked in the way of the kings of Israel.. . and also hast slain thy brethren of thy father’s house, which were better than thyself. . . thou shalt have great sickness by disease.”
    From the wording of the letter, it is clear that Elijah wrote it after these events had occurred, for he speaks of them as past events, and of the disease as future. Two years after the king became diseased the king died—having reigned only eight short years (II Chronicles 21:18-20).
    This proves that the letter was written about ten years after Elijah had been taken to another location by the whirlwind.
    God used Elijah to convey the message because he was the prophet of God in days of the present king’s father—and the son was not going in the ways of his obedient father, Jehosophat.
    The letter he had others deliver was recognized as his—proving that he was known to be alive someplace. Just how much longer he lived, the Bible does not reveal. But in that “it is appointed unto men once to die”—Elijah must have died somewhat later. See Hebrews 9:27. All human beings born of Adam, and that includes Elijah, must die—for we read: “In Adam ALL DIE” (I Corinthians 15:22). Elijah was a man “subject to like passions as we are” (James 5:17)…subject to human nature and death! The prophet, being mortal flesh as we are, could not have lived much beyond his seventy years.
    To suppose that God gave him the power of an endless life of nearly three thousand years already is to read into the Bible what is not there! He was mortal, subject to death, and after being lifted into the atmospheric heavens, spent the remaining years of his separate life at some little-known location on the earth, living as every human being, before he naturally died.

37. Was Elijah on the Mount?
    The only remaining texts that puzzle people are those relative to the appearance of Moses and Elijah on the Mount of Transfiguration with Jesus. The record of the event is found in Matthew 17:1-9; Mark 9:2-10; Luke 9:28-36.
    Leaving the mountain, Jesus told his disciples: “Tell the vision to no man (Mat. 17:9).” A vision is not a material reality but a supernatural picture observed by the eyes.
    Moses died, and was buried (Deut. 34:5-6). Both he and Elijah were still dead in their graves, but in vision both they and Jesus were seen in the glory of the resurrection—an event to which Moses and Elijah have not yet attained (Heb. 11:39). The vision was granted the disciples after Jesus had spoken of the glory of immortality in the coming kingdom.
    How plain the Bible is! Elijah is dead in the dust of the earth awaiting the resurrection of the just. Elijah, some years after being removed in the whirlwind, went to the grave, but will rise again to live forevermore!

38. this story is fascinating to say the least mindboggling the most but what is most alarming is that many Christains who were fed untruths on this mystery of Elijah and Enoch have gone on into eternity forever buried in ignorance because of a lack of knowledge .PEACE