Jonathan Birchmore Richard Barrow (l), Melanie Shantelle Lakeisha Denny (r)

… King promoted a non violent philosophy and was killed. Malcolm promoted a philosophy of being non violent with those who are non violent with you. But don’t try to be non violent when people are killing, maiming your men women and children. The assassin’s gun found him also. Laws have changed but the people enforcing the laws are still acting the same. Amodou Dialo is still dead and the police that shot him 19 times are not held accountable. Brandon Johnson here in Indianapolis is beat unmercifully by three police officers that kick him in face until his eye is swollen shut, with his cheek bone broke and his teeth kicked out of his mouth. The prosecutor said he committed no crime still the police exonerated. Even if we wanted to forget, with the police still acting like this how can we forget. And the society keeps exonerating them which sends the signal its alright. Martin himself had the Deacons of Defense!! Have you forgotten? Man it is time for men to be men who have the nerve and courage to protect our women and children from this brutal behavior. Here in Indianapolis we have formed a militia to protect Brandon and his family. Bishop T. Garrott Benjamin, Pastor of one of the largest church’s here has just put up several hundred dollars to purchase a security system for the family. Hell, we aint going to be relying on police to protect our women and children. We are going to do it ourselves. Noooo!! We haven’t forgot. We REMEMBER!!Mmoja Ajabu

The story this week that two of our finest were charged for allegedly assaulting a Jamaican woman while in custody should be of concerned to Barbadians. It could not have come at a worse time for Barbados given the Myrie Affair which continues to get strong ‘airplay’ in the region. For too long we have heard stories about the behaviour of some members of our police force which betrays its credo to serve and protect.

Barbados is a small society which owes a large part of its success to a strong belief in a law and order system. The idea for example that elements in our society would routinely engage in gunplay directed at the police is alien to our culture. The same cannot be stated for what occurs in a few neighbouring countries. The reality however is that as our society changes so too irrelevant laws and practices must be tweaked to ensure their relevance and effectiveness. If we continue with the police using the insensitive and ‘brawn’ approach to delivering enforcement, rebellion by the ‘new citizen’ will be the unavoidable outcome.

The heralded Police Complaints Authority has been a no-show to date. To expect the police force like the Barbados Bar Association and other key agencies to police itself is a big joke. We live in a society today which is conditioned to challenge anything. The advent of social media and other technologies has made the task of suppressing unsavoury activity very difficult for agencies like the police. The best way to deal with the expectations of the ‘new citizen’ is to ensure transparency.

The admission last week by the minister of home affairs the police force may soon have to recruit from outside our shores is indicative of another problem which looms. They are some who believe that the nuances, mores and idiosyncrasies of a people can only be understood by having been a product of the same environment it has to serve.

If one is to look for the silver lining beyond all of the gloom of the past week it is that there is the opportunity for our leaders to usher in meaningful reform. Retired Chief Justice David Simmons promised reform, for example witnesses would be required to give recorded statement.  Several years hence the police force continues to operate as if we were a banana republic. If Barbadians accept that the police force represents a key cog in the wheel to sustaining a civil society then the perennial neglect meted out to this body by successive government must be dealt with forthwith.

1. Zack
    You’re the proprietor of a bar n reataurant and I run a ‘whore-house”. what does it have to do with the discussion?
    I have no problem discussing problems which exists in B/dos but when you (plural) want to black list my lil 166sq.mls and bias as arse, I gun keep real fcuking noise. If dat meks me a dunce, well, ‘Hail Mary’.
    ( I passin fa a drink lata ‘ron) Scotch pun de rox.

2. @Bonny…….first it was finga-foopin, now sexual assault. I waitin wid baited breff to hear dis week’s accusation. Which offica/ immigration offica bull who now or sumting mo dramatic.
    dem mekkin my arse sickkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk.
    stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee, all de time so?”

Bonny please doan wish dis las one pon we …….. ROFLMAO yuh know we got some bad mangoes and if dem mekking us look bad we gine gotta do someting bout dem. I will wait for the outcome . But to hear anuuder allegation bout who bull who gine brek muh heart. I hope de menz in blue keep dem back strait.

Leff Zack alone fuh me pleeze, he is bout de only one mekking nuff sense here. He aint fighting wid dem Jamaicans. We cud meet at his shop for a drink and have a frank discussion.

3. islandgal
    to say that we have a few bad mangoes is correct, like any other place in the world but in this allegation, to apply such, is to ‘side’ with Myrie. I would prefer to wait-out this one. There’s no way that I am stringing along with these J’cans who seem hell bent on condemning us without trial. to hell wid dem.

I gun leff Zack fa you bozie. He call me a dunce but um in gun stop me from gine by he bar fa ‘one pun de rox’. LOLL

4. @Bonny Peppa: “I gun leff Zack fa you bozie. He call me a dunce but um in gun stop me from gine by he bar fa ‘one pun de rox’.

Wow.

And we in Barbados claim 98% literacy.

5. Halsall
    I mek up part a de 2% dat illiterate. Ya duncy retard. stupseeeeee. ya does mek ma tu sickkkkkk.

6. Christopher Halsall says, incorrectly: “And we in Barbados claim 98% literacy.”

No.

“Barbados” does not and cannot claim 98 percent literacy. On standard measures (PISA and so on), Barbados ranks at about 90 percent literacy. Of those 90 percent, about 50 percent can be judged to be what is termed “functionally literate”. That’s to say, they can understand road signs and supermarket labels, and they can sign their own names. At the age of fifty, we Bajans average out (on global comparisons) at a standard reading-age of eleven.

Wunnah I wid you on dat souse wid flying fish pudding ya stupseeeee!!! wid dat wunnah stupseeee!!!

7. @ Chris Halsall
    You might be a Barbadian but you clearly ent nuh Bajan.
    Wuh suh rong wid Bonny Peppa sentance?

8. The European Commission has just announced an agreement whereby English will be the official language of the European Union rather than German, which was the other possibility.

As part of the negotiations, the British Government conceded that English spelling had some room for improvement and has accepted a 5- year phase-in plan that would become known as “Euro-English”.

In the first year, “s” will replace the soft “c”.. Sertainly, this will make the sivil servants jump with joy. The hard “c” will be dropped in favour of “k”. This should klear up konfusion, and keyboards kan have one less letter.

There will be growing publik enthusiasm in the sekond year when the troublesome “ph” will be replaced with “f”.. This will make words like fotograf 20% shorter.

In the 3rd year, publik akseptanse of the new spelling kan be expekted to reach the stage where more komplikated changes are possible.

Governments will enkourage the removal of double letters which have always ben a deterent to akurate speling.

Also, al wil agre that the horibl mes of the silent “e” in the languag is disgrasful and it should go away.

By the 4th yer people wil be reseptiv to steps such as replasing “th” with “z” and “w” with “v”.

During ze fifz yer, ze unesesary “o” kan be dropd from vords kontaining “ou” and after ziz fifz yer, ve vil hav a reil sensi bl riten styl.

Zer vil be no mor trubl or difikultis and evrivun vil find it ezi TU understand ech oza. Ze drem of a united urop vil finali kum tru.

Und efter ze fifz yer, ve vil al be speking German like zey vunted in ze forst plas.

If zis mad you smil, pleas pas on to oza pepl.

9. Franklyn on 10 April I note that you mention of a case of child molestion and sexual abuse. It amazes me that none of the bloggers picked on it. As a matter of fact it frightens me that it has been so noisily quiet. Normally I believe you writings but this one? It runs me very cold. How could this be so if as you write it went as far as the courts? And what about the mother? How the hell could she sleep with that man. No wonder our people are so cruel. Again if what you report is true, just imagine, without therapy, how cruel this citizen could become as an adult. Our country is sick

10. BAFFFFFFFFFFFF
    you crazeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

Black Milk
    Chris is as Bajan as de maple leaf pun de Canadian flag. He is a klown too. LOLL

11. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Delight

You wrote, “Normally I believe you(r) writings but this one?”

I try my best to always tell the truth. I have no reason to lie, if you want proof just go to NUPW and ask any member of staff who is the sick bastard that raped his minor step daughter? He still works there. I could name names but I don’t want to victimize the young lady again.

There are too many instances in this country where law breakers escape punishment because they have connections, usually political connections.

12. @Black Milk: “Wuh suh rong wid Bonny Peppa sentance?

Hey, nothing’s wrong with it.

So long as you want to be a small insular island unto itself.

If, on the other hand, you want to compete globally, there’s a lot “rong wid” it…

13. Random Thoughts Avatar

Bonnie Peppa wrote “Which offica/ immigration offica bull”

No Jamaican man is going to report being homosexually assaulted by a Barbadian (even if in fact that happens)

You remember John Lee Malvo who was convicted of multiple murders and John Allen Muhammad was was sentenced to death for the same murders?

The autorities still list the motive as unknown. But in life the primary motives for evil doing are money or sex. And if ya can’t follow the money, then follow the sex.

But looka what was the hard backed Muhammad doing with the homeless teenager Malvo? And why did Muhammad plan to “set up a homeless camproung for black children in Canada?

It is my belief that Muhammad was likely a homosexual pedeophile who had been sexually assaulting Malvo for years and in his deluded mind hoped to continue so to multiple “effective orphans” children far away in the Canadian wilderness. And that Malvo even in the face of a lifetime in prison did not reveal that there was something perverse about his relationsip with Muhammed.

14. Random Thoughts Avatar

Dear Christopher Hallsall:

In linguistics what Bonny Peppa is doing is called “code switching.” Most people can do it. You may not be able to do it because by your own admsiion you are dyslexic. But believe me Bonny Peppa can write in standard English, AND in very creative, colourful and understandable Bajan.

Bonny like Hants (in Canada) and man wiv no name *in England) can read, write and speak standard English and Bajan. And I am sure that Hants has no difficulty understanding and being understand in Canadian English, not man wiv…in the Queen’s English.

Its a linguistic skill possessed by most non-dyslexics.

15. What is BAFFFF…………….?

16. @Christopher Halsall,

Bonny Peppa has always written Bajan and we real real Bajans understand everything she writes.

Barbadians are taught “English” in all schools and learn Bajan by de stan pipe.

Since you Mistah Hallsall posture as being an intelligent person you would understand why we real real Bajans sometimes write like Bonny Peppa.

In a play on the words of our great Bajan songwriters MADD, doan touch bon bon, lef she lone.

Wait! it near 12.30. I gine an guh sleep boh.

17. @Bonny Peppa | April 12, 2011 at 4:09 PM |
    Zack
    You’re the proprietor of a bar n reataurant and I run a ‘whore-house”. what does it have to do with the discussion?
    I have no problem discussing problems which exists in B/dos but when you (plural) want to black list my lil 166sq.mls and bias as arse, I gun keep real fcuking noise. If dat meks me a dunce, well, ‘Hail Mary’.
    ( I passin fa a drink lata ‘ron) Scotch pun de rox.
    ========
    Blacklist my foot. People like you just doan like to hear the truth about certain things come to light. Wrong is wrong regardless of who doing it, so it needs to be dealt with. I am glad to hear people speaking out about these things because it needs to stop.

You are of the opinion that I talk too much because I said I know that many police drink while on duty. This just goes to show the type of mindset you have.

18. @Random Thoughts and @Hants…

I am well aware of what Bonny is doing. And, yes, I can understand what she’s saying.

Much 11k3 1 c4n und3r$74nd 07h34 c0d1ng$. (7h47’$ 1337 g33k, BTW…)

My point is if one want’s to be understood, one should communicate in a manner which facilities understanding. “Be responsible for the listening into which you are speaking”, as a very good friend once told me.

If, on the other hand, one wants to confuse, 7h3n 741k 1n c0d3…

Even our own Minister Responsible for Education was in the newspaper only a few days ago encouraging the use of Standard English over Bajan.

Some Bajans seem to take delight from communicating in a manner which is unassailable to most “outsiders”.

H37, 7h47’$ c001. 1f y0u w$n7 70 b3 1n$u1$r.

19. CH
    If I tune to a Trini station I gine hear Trini, ef i tune to a Vincy station, I duz hear Vincy and doh talk bout St. Lucia, but in Barbados yuh can’t talk nuh Bajan pon de radia.

It’s not the proper thing to do and would incur the wrath of the guardians of the Queen’s English. After all, we are an educated people and the only way to demonstrate such, is to always speak “properly” and preferably with an accent.

You eva try watching one o dem old movies pon BBC?
    Sometimes I duz caan even understand wuh dem duz be saain and dem duz be speaking de Queen’s English.
    I wonder if it is because my brain has been corrupted by speaking too much Bajan?

20. @Black Milk: “You eva try watching one o dem old movies pon BBC? Sometimes I duz caan even understand wuh dem duz be saain and dem duz be speaking de Queen’s English.

Translation: “Have you ever tried watching one of those old movies upon BBC? Sometimes I can not even understand what they are saying and they are speaking the Queen’s English.

@Black Milk: “I wonder if it is because my brain has been corrupted by speaking too much Bajan?

Possibly.

Please understand that it is harder for the receiver of a message over a noisy channel to reconstitute the message than it is for a broadcaster to send it. (Basic information theory.)

21. @Chris Halsall
    I now see dat u is a trickster, u playin u smart but u caan trick me nuh more. I now kno dat u cud understand bajan real gud.

Should we not determine if the broadcaster is only fooling around with the transmitter or trying to send a message, before we press the preset button?

22. @Black Milk: “I now see dat u is a trickster, u playin u smart but u caan trick me nuh more. I now kno dat u cud understand bajan real gud.

Thanks for that. Now, shall we get down to the business at hand?

23. Zack
    drink a cold bare/bear/beer (cannnnn rememba which is de rite spellin) from ya bar n cool down man. I know some church peeple dat does drink a grog too so doan kill a police fa a lil ‘drink’. Chill.
    I refuse to cry down my lil 166, I doan k wah you sa.

Halsall
    you is a rale puss-c fa tru.
    I more qualified in Ingalish dhan you would evva tink. I in got ta prutty-up na Ingalish fa you nor na non-bajans. ya idjit. If yu cannnnnnnn undastan de lingo, jess keep ya han pun ‘scroll-dung’. ya puppet.why you sa ig’runt doe? stupseeeeeeeeeeeee.
    you got dis ting bout tawkin down ta peeple dat i doan like a’tall. U cum across as a rale snob. I is a bajan but you like you want me ta speak patois, or wah de ass um name. who de fcuk you tink you is?Looka, go n bade do.

24. Ok CH.

People have died before in police custody. For ages, accused persons have gone to court and sworn that they were tortured by officers and forced to confess to crimes that they did not commit.
    The methods use by officers to extract information and confessions have even become comedic material.

The authorities know these things but precious little have been done to eliminate the possibility of such claims ever having merit,
    and so we are where we are today.

Whether by accident or design, certain topics on this blog tend to generate “discussion”.

Unfortunately, this does not appear be one of them.

25. @My dear Aunt Pepper: “I more qualified in Ingalish dhan you would evva tink. I in got ta prutty-up na Ingalish fa you nor na non-bajans. ya idjit. If yu cannnnnnnn undastan de lingo, jess keep ya han pun ‘scroll-dung’. ya puppet.why you sa ig’runt doe? stupseeeeeeeeeeeee.

I understand everything you say. Even the “F” word encoded in fcuk.

My first question is, what are you trying to communicate?

My second question is, are you trying to bring good to the conversion, or are you simply seeking auto-gratification, but without the euphoria?

26. @Black Milk: “People have died before in police custody. For ages, accused persons have gone to court and sworn that they were tortured by officers and forced to confess to crimes that they did not commit.

Before we start this conversation (which should perhaps be a new Blog), could you please tell us all what jurisdiction this particular debate is going to be based upon?

27. @ Chris Halsall
    I was under the impression that this thread was about the RBPF and the need for reforms in the way it executes the “protect, serve and reassure” mandate.

28. @Black Milk: “I was under the impression that this thread was about the RBPF and the need for reforms in the way it executes the “protect, serve and reassure” mandate.

So answer my question. Or is this statement an answer?

Either way, please provide evidence to your claims.

29. I just got back my land line after it went dead shortly after posting the above.
    I have watched too many X-Files and First Wave episodes for my own good.

This is Barbados, there is never any evidence.

30. @Bonny Peppa | April 13, 2011 at 3:23 PM |
    Zack
    drink a cold bare/bear/beer (cannnnn rememba which is de rite spellin) from ya bar n cool down man. I know some church peeple dat does drink a grog too so doan kill a police fa a lil ‘drink’. Chill.
    I refuse to cry down my lil 166, I doan k wah you sa.
    ============
    See why I would have to refer to you as a dunce? Because you know church people who does drink, you telling me it is ok for a police ON DUTY to drink. Too simple minded.

31. Zack
    ok Zacky ol boy, you win. i is a dunce. i surrenda.you win dis roun. de drinks pun me.

but i cannnn rememba you tawkin bout police ‘ON DUTY’. my bad, sorryyyyyyyyyyy.
    de drinks still pun me.

32. @Bonny
    See my original post below in which I specifically said “ON THE JOB”.

Zack | April 11, 2011 at 5:11 PM |
    @islandgal246 | April 11, 2011 at 6:54 AM | I understand that if drug testing were to be introduced in both the police and defense forces, there would be s very high rate of failure. I am also wondering why don’t they have random drug testing. And that includes alcohol as well.
    =================
    Many police drink on the job all the time…I know that for a fact.

33. @Zack

The head of the Barbados Defence Force confirmed in the press last week that there is random drug testing.

34. Police Brutality on women is a NORM for the Kingsland Police dept. in Kingsland GA. quote from dgriffis@kingslandgeorgia.com

35. Hell ya it is! They practice what they preach, BRUTALITY towards Women folk.