Submitted by BU family member (as a comment)

We, my wife and myself, recently attended a funeral in Barbados. We have attended many, and understand how important a funeral is to many Barbadians. The deceased person was the brother of a good friend of ours, and we were attending to give our friend some support, and, as we so often say, to renew our contact with him even though the circumstances were very sad.

The service proceeded according to the order of service given to us, and the eulogy was delivered. The next item, according to the order of service, was to be a tribute from his brother, our friend. However, whoever was on the public address system said that the next item would be a solo singing rendition, from someone else. By this time, our friend had arrived at the rostrum, and he turned to the announcer and said, with the microphone in his hand, that the announcement was a mistake, and that according to the order of service, which we all held in our hands (I estimate a four to five hundred attendance in the church), he was now to give a tribute to his dead brother.

We have never ever witnessed at a funeral what happened next! As our friend asserted his right to give a tribute, the minister of the church, robes flowing, nearly physically assaulted our friend, and stopped his presentation. The minister forcibly took the microphone out of our friend’s hands.

My wife and myself walked out of the church in disgust. We were the first to move, many followed, and the altercations continued in the car park outside the church as we drove away.

We did not understand what was going on there. However, we do know that the deceased person was a prominent member of the Freemasons, and his brother, who is not a member of the Freemasons, only wanted to deliver a tribute at the funeral as announced in the published order of service given to us all on entry to the church. Perhaps Lodge members at the church did not want the brother of the deceased to give this tribute. This is pure speculation. Certainly an announcement at the beginning of the service would have politely told us all that there had been a change in the published order.

Whether the Freemasons present were responsible or not for this disruption of a funeral service held in an Anglican church here in Barbados, we believe that the behaviour of the presiding minister of this church should be brought to the attention of our Rt. Rev. Dr. John Holder, and that at least some sort of formal public apology be given by the Anglican Church for this outrage and near desecration of a House of God, not to mention the disrespect shown to the deceased person, and his brother.

50 responses to “The Rights Of ALL In The Anglican Church To Stated Burial Rites”

1. BU understands it was the funeral of Dennis Springer held at the St Stephen’s Anglican Church, Black Rock, St. Michael, on Friday, 5th. January 2010. The presiding minister was Rev. Harewood.

2. Is this the Rev Harewood that was at St Ambrose and also rector of CH Ch parish church and Chaplain to the House of Assembly?

3. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

No Georgie

This is a scruffy younger man who without the robes you might easily mistake for the grave digger.

I still don’t understand what the scuffle was all about.

4. There is no reason why a Freemason would have done this. It wasn’t a Masonic ceremony, we weren’t running the show. I’d seek an explanation elsewhere.

5. If what is being reported in the Stabroek News, February 6, 2010, that the Government of Barbados ( NOT BARBADOS ) has turned down a request by the US Embassy ( Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean ) to accomodate a small number of Haitians injured in that massive 7.0 magnitude earthquake that rocked and ravaged Haiti on January 12 th, is true and accurate, then believe it, Senator Maxine McClean, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade, who particular comments were attributed to in this same on line news story, must be condemned in the strongest terms for bringing, what we believe, is a great amount of ridicule and embarrassment to our country as a result of some things she was reported to have said in the said and other news mediums.

Ms. McClean, first of all, should never have been reported in that story as speaking on such matters that clearly falls within the purview of the Minister of Health in Barbados, or even the Prime Minister of Barbados as head of the Cabinet.

We in the People’s Democratic Congress ( PDC) think therefore that it was very insensitive and ridiculous and smacked of arrogance and as being out of place for Ms. McClean to have been reported to have been speaking, and in the manner in which she spoke, to matters that essentially fall outside her purview. In this regard, it is surely no excuse for any one to say that some Ministers of Government in Barbados have already done the same.

Furthermore, an incisive analysis of some of what she was reported to have said would clearly show that the Minister for Foreign Affairs should have easily deferred to the Health Minister Donville Inniss on such a matter of the Government of Barbados being asked by the said US Embassy to accomodate some of our Haitian brothers and sisters.

For instance, look what juvenility and asininity this Minister was reported to have uttered ( from the same Stabroek on line story): “As we all know ( Who?) we are currently struggling ( who like hell?) to bring our health care system back to the desired levels of capacity and service delivery and therefore I do not anticipate that such a request can be honoured as articulated, because we have first and foremost to ENSURE that we are able to meet the demands” ( a kinda putting the cart before the horse mentality too).

The Minister of Foreign Affairs must be told in no uncertain terms that so-called bringing Barbados’s health care system BACK TO THE DESIRED LEVELS OF CAPACITY AND SERVICE DELIVERY has nothing to do with bringing critically injured, sick and dying Haitian sisters and brothers here in Barbados BUT HAS VERY MUCH TO DO WITH PROPERLY RECTIFYING SOME DLP AND BLP GROSS AND RECKLESS
    MISMANAGEMENT OF THE MANY OF THE FINANCES, RESOURCES AND PERSONNEL INVOLVED IN THE HEALTH CARE SYSTEM IN BARBADOS. What does making polyclinics in Barbados more efficient and opening up them for longer hours have to do with accomodating some very unfortunate Haitians? What does making sure that that all the operating theatres at the QEH are working have to do with bringing in those Haitians?

Too, could any one in their right senses believe that this minister was speaking against the dackdrop of Haiti being ravaged by that earthquake, with over a hundred and fifty thousand people killed, hundreds upon hundreds of thousands more injured, millions of Haitians displaced and homeless, roads and streets badly damaged, with water, electricity and telecommunications services entirely disrupted – and many damn hospitals and clinics destroyed and some doctors and nurses having lost their lives too?

Who in their right minds would think that the Minister was speaking against the backdrop of an ongoing emergency, relief and humanitarian crisis in Haiti still?

Who in their right darn senses would believe that the Minister of Foreign – seen in the Stabroek news story to be really lacking in diplomatic skills – would appear to be acting as if the Government of Barbados has already – since the earthquake – given accomodated medical assistance to our Haitian brothers and sisters before? Who would believe this shit?

Furthermore, she was reported to have said: “We all know ( who again is she talking about – what a presumption!!)the situation with beds and whether its in general wards or the surgical intensive care Unit ( drooling on and on and on and lacking in substance, is not she?) and therefore the truth is ( and she appears to come to her senses but she has not), we simply are not in a position to provide that support at this time because we are not talking about a short-term minor situation….. we are talking about serious care, which we are PROBABLY not able to deliver in Barbados ( what of substance did she really say there, oh how redundant).”

How in this world the Minister of Foreign Affairs could be reported as being so out of depth on the substance of the matter is so unbelievable – she does NOT even provide any cost statistics on the money and resources and professionals it would take to accomodate at least twenty critically injured, sick, dying Haitians, and yet could be so misleadingly emphatic that the Government of Barbados is PROBABLY not able to deliver such care to a small number of injured, sick and dying Haitians, is really monstrously ironic symptomatic of the heartlessness and unconscionableness of a government that says, hey, a field hospital in Haiti is definitely what is required – and with Barbados’ continued participation in it – but at the same time it rejects a request to accomodate some Haitians in a case where it would cost just as much or less as Barbados’ participation in that field hospital as it would to accomodate here some of our Haitian brothers and sisters in, say, that part of the old General Hospital which was partly recently refurbished by the former BLP Government and which was said by the then said BLP Government to be used as an emergency facility for the 2007 Cricket World Cup

Clearly our party would think that there was nothing in the story that suggested that the Minister does NOT know that Haiti still needs help in what ever ways possible, and esp. since the Prime Minister was reported to have said that medical services are of the highest priority in relationship to the earthquake in Haiti ( Advocate Saturday, January 16, 2010), and, therefore, as a consequence it could only be construed by our party that the Minister of Foreign Affirs and by extension the Government of Barbados have failed in their moral duty to make sure that a small number of suffering Haitians who are direly in need of medical humanitarian care are provided for here in Barbados.

What a colossal shame!!

6. PDC:

Wannah fah real??????? Where the f### we gon put them if we can’t place our own old people in homes??????

I cant vote for wannah!!!!!!!!!!

7. Amazing! A service is taking place in a church. They was an unannounced change in the program of events. The presiding minister seem to be in favor of the change. Yet there is speculation about freemason involvment????

Is the Rev. a freemason????

If this is how we process information, It is no wonder that we can only muster patchwork solutions.

8. What is this thread by
    The People’s Democratic Congress // February 8, 2010 at 9:18 AM

doing in the midst of this blog?

9. @ Anonymous,

PDC is right!!!

Anywhere in B’dos is better than what obtains in most of Haiti at this moment. We can’t even accommodate five Haitians?

Moreover, the inability to house the elderly does not mean we can’t accommodate the young(er). When the young Ghanaians were up Paragon were we not looking for spaces for old people then too?

It is a good thing the prison fire occurred under the Bees, because clearly this government would have thrown up its hands just as is the case now.

The government appears lazy, incompetent, rigid and visionless.

10. Whether the brother in attendance or the Officiating Minister is a Mason or not, the alleged behavior by the Minister is embarrassing and deplorable especially to have taken place in a house of worship.

I do agree that a public apology should be given either by the disruptive Minister or on behalf of the Church.

However, I got a feeling there is more to this to cause such an outburst.

11. I attended the funeral, and I too left early in disgust. Dennis Springer was most certainly a very prominant Freemason. His picture was in his Funeral Programme, wearing a large Masonic apron and a heavy ornamental chain around his neck. The eulogy made reference to his membership.

I think the person who gave the eulogy is a Mason, and I think the Rev. is a Mason.

The Masons must declare themselves publically if they want to be seen to be respectable. If they hold onto their secret activities, then denominations like the Baptists and the Seventh Day Adventists will continue to hold onto their condemnation of them. I feel sure that the lady and the gentleman who first walked out of the church were very strong and committed Christians, and to walk away from a fracas was the most sensible thing to do, even if their verbal outburst, which I witnessed, was inappropriate.

BTW, the coffin was closed, so we did not see the body. It was rumoured that the coffin was empty, and the Freemasons kept the body for their own ceremony later!

12. Wait, did the deceased have a family of his own?

Did the Masons took on full responsibility of his funeral arrangements, et al? If so, I would think it is then and only then that the Mason clan would have 100% control from beginning to ending, but giving the deceased immediate family an opportunity to participate somehow.

13. It is possible that the deceased’s brother, who wanted to give a tribute, started it all in the church. The family must have been involved in the order of service, the choice of hymns, and the instructions to the printers. However, someone then decided that this tribute was not wanted, but the deceased’s brother had made up his mind that he was going to get up to the rostrum anyway, which he did.

The first we all knew that something was amiss was when the minister snatched the microphone out of his hands, after which many people got up and left the church.

14. It would appear to me that the sensible and professional action which the minister should have taken, seeing that the man was determined to give his tribute to his brother as announced in the programme, would be for him (the minister), to have stood down and let him get on with it.

If the tribute then turned out to be inappropriate, the minister would have every right to intervene, and to save the speaker from further embarrassment.

15. Based on what has been reported the family may have a good reason to ask for an explanation from the priest in charge. The brother also has good reason to escalate the matter to the Bishop.

A funeral ceremony is one where there should be a reverence and respect operating. It is incumbent on the St.Stephen’s Church Council to properly address this matter.

16. Authority figures in Barbados have a bad habit of displaying poor taste and bad manners. Where I the brother of the deceased person, I would have slap that Rev. and demand that he learn some manners.

17. PDC is incorrect. It is within the purview and authority of the Foriegn Affairs Ministry of Barbados, to speak to the issue of granting entrance to Barbados of any kind, and for any reason to anyone. I believe that in this instance, where entry would have involved our health services that consultation between the Health and foreign Affairs ministries would have taken place.

In addition to the above. I also believe the reason given for the refusal is consistent with one of several reasons given for adopting a manage migration policy.

If we had allowed in Haitians (black people) we could have been accused somewhat of xenophobia against (In-do Guyanese) although the humanitarian factor could withstand such an argument.

An essential requirement for Earthquake victims, particularly victims of such events occuring in highly populated area such as a city, is Orthopedic care. Is Barbados a known center for such care?

18. Enuff is entirely correct. PDC, weirdly, is correct. “David”, typically, can’t begin to grasp the difference between “based on” and “on the basis of”, a failing of basic English that makes his every utterance suspect. And Mr. Hinds, characteristically, is several light years out of touch.

Fascinating to watch the truth of Pan-Africanism, when those fearsome Spaniards are virtually the biggest donors to aid the the wretched dying in Haiti (http://www.guardian.co.uk/news/datablog/2010/jan/14/haiti-quake-aid-pledges-country-donations).

Fearful to watch the truth of Pan-Africanism, when the Barbados contribution consists (much too largely) of underarm deoderant and hand-soap.

Tragic to watch what Caricom fails to do in its adolescent pointlessness.

Always excellent to read Mr. Hinds’s opinions. Once I’ve read them, I know what NOT to think. How much of a complete dick can one possibly be?

19. I’m with you Adrian.

If some jumped up sky pilot attempted to interrupt my speech about my brother, given the strong emotions swirling on his day, I would do exactly the same.

On his recovery from the first slap when, as was his duty, he offered the other cheek a left hook would have been delivered to reinforce my right to speak.

Pugilism reinforcing eulogism..sweet.

20. Does anyone know what Jack is going about? He reference my name, but I am not sure why! lol

21. @ Adrian Hinds

HAITI, WE’RE SORRY!
    Date February 05, 2010
    Brief by TREVOR YEARWOOD

But yesterday, McClean told the Press: ” . . . As we all know, we are currently struggling to bring our health system back to the desired levels of capacity and service delivery and therefore I do not anticipate that such a request can be honoured as articulated, because we have, first and foremost, to ensure that we are able to meet the demands.

“We all know the situation with beds and whether it’s in general wards or the Surgical & Intensive Care (Unit) and therefore the truth is, we simply are not in a position to provide that support at this time because we are not talking about a short-term minor situation.

Is there any mention of a lack of facilities to address orthopaedic injuries? No!!

The minister speaks about a lack of beds.

“…..I also believe the reason given for the refusal is consistent with one of several reasons given for adopting a manage migration policy.”

People are suffering, no need to even mention fellow BLACK people. Any government that refused to help because of a need for consistency with its managed migration policy would be nothing short of inhumane and should be ridiculed.

22. @ Enuff:
    I used my understanding of the event in Haiti. It was an earthquake. It was an Earthquake in a highly populated area. Crush injuries were the order of the day and weeks to follow. Treating these kinds of injuries require overnight stay in a medical facility. Overnight stay requires beds. Crush injuries also require surgical intervention, and after care. Our QEH is stretched is it not? Just look at the wait times the average person has to endure to get help. I did not require specifics from the Minister McClean to agree with her assessment.

It is clear that you used emotions, your feelings to conclude as you did. The facts of Haiti Earthquake injuries, what is required to treat such effectively, and the facts surrounding our QEH, the evidence of its limitation to provide adequate care to its mandated citizenry, is what I used to conclude as I did.

We should all use our feelings, our beliefs, facts, and Ideas to process our environment; all four all the time. To do otherwise can lead us to the kind of patchwork thinking you are exhibiting.

23. Straight Talk administering a Left hook. Man that would be better than a Sam Lane boxing promotion. lol!

…. I have little tolerence for condescending behaviour directed at me from authority figures.

24. You are still fishing for reasons to justify the government’s position. Assumptions, presumptions will not do.

So if we had a mass casualty in Barbados what would you and Ms. McClean do?

25. @Enuff:
    I think I presented reasonable explanations for my opinions. You are yet to confront them with reasonable explanations of your own.

Fishing? I am on point and asserting facts relative to the issue of Haiti’s request made via the US Embassy to Barbados. Your unrelated question is the kind of jumping jacks debating skills I have seen emanating from a fella who runs a sparsely attended free forum. Do you know him? lol!

26. Explanations?

My opinion is based on the comments, i.e FACTS, of members of the Cabinet. Unless you are also officialdom your opinion is null and void.

This is not a hypothetical situation, it is reality. Too many seem unable to divorce hypotheses from realities, even our elected MPs in parliament.

As I asked before, what would these people do if there was a mass casualty situation and additional beds etc were required?

27. @Enuff:
    Haiti’s earthquake and the resulting injuries to some of those who survived is indeed a reality.

Barbados Health services its limitations and inefficiencies are also realities.

Recieving “real” patients into a country with “real” issues and inefficiencies in its healthcare system, would be “really’ stupid, unless the symbolism of helping without being able to “really” help is all that matters.

28. @ Adrian

If you understand the principle of the widow’s mite you would see that you are standing on shaky ground. (pun intended)

One does not assist a fellow human being (their neighbour) because it makes sense – either economic sense or logical sense.
    One assists to the limit of one’s ability because there is a brother in need.

The response of Barbados to the request for assistance to Haiti was therefore insensitive, untimely, undignified and unfortunate.

Clearly the correct response should have been that ‘we will assist to whatever extent we can with our limited and already stretched resources.’

…even if we could only then assist 1 person (i.e. if like the widow we only had one mite to spare) we would have played our part.

Secondly, can anyone convince the bushman that Barbados is indeed in the position of that widow? I think not! Despite our ongoing complaints, this is a specially blessed country…. and to whom much is given, much is expected.

If we choose to define ourselves to be so pitiful that we cannot assist our neighbour who is in dire need, we may well reap exactly that status that we are sowing….spiritual laws are unrelenting.

Adrian, I am disappointed in a man of your esteemed upbringing (on Holmes’ hamcutters), seeking to justify passing Haiti’s request on the other side of the road, instead of stopping like the good Samaritan and helping where we can.

….and to deflect those who proffer that we are helping in our own chosen way – let me say that true help is a response to REQUEST for genuine assistance, not what is convenient for us to do….

29. @ BT

Normally I agree with you and am one of the first who would have cussed because we did not help Haiti. However, BT we don’t have any room. That is a fact!!!!!

On another point ….. There are many good (LOL) barbadians who have left their parents and grand parents for the Government to feed ……….

30. The deceased name is Denys Springer a former Senior Security Officer in the Ministry of Defence & Security

31. It is a fact that the QEH and other health institutions in Barbados are bursting at the seams. One of the reasons is that many bajans have left their parents at these institutions and refuses to return for them when they are discharged. Right now there are about 60 persons at the QEH alone who were discharged, some over a year, and no-one will come for them. This brings me to another query, if there is a health crisis in Barbados, where are we going to put those who needs hospitalisation? Right now there are patients in the A&E dept for over three days and more awaiting beds in a ward.

32. BT boy it seems that we must share in the emotion of disappointment.

If I were to apply the principle of the widows mite to Barbados efforts of assist to Haiti, I would be mindful that a mite was currency and that Barbados and Barbadians gave of their currency and generously so, to Haiti.

Also, with the story of the good Samaritan, money was used to help, after further rendering of personal assistance, would have conflicted with his other personal conciderations.

Barbados gave where it could and did so with money and other donations.

In this case and on this topic I give you two points to Enuff’s one. You, at least used your emotions and beliefs to filter this situation through to arrive at your opinion. There are still facts to concider.

33. Appreciate your position JC! No doubt it is the same as the senator’s and I expect that you are an honest, well intentioned Bajan -like Bush Tea happens to know that Sen. McClean is.

However this is a matter of principle. Do you think that the widow could afford the two mites that she contributed? The story says that they represented her very LIVELIHOOD.

Obviously we cannot contribute on the scale of the USA or even Cuba or Jamaica, but to openly DECLINE any assistance on the grounds that we cannot afford to…??!!

Surely you jest….. at times like this you take the shirt off your very back to offer support to the unfortunate victim…. you sacrifice your meals for a day to feed the hungry orphan…..
    …..that is what being HUMAN is all about.

On the other hand, we can pass by on the other side of the road – offering our sincere condolances- while we hurry home to take care of our own pressing issues.

34. @Bush Tea

Please stop using your fancy browser with all the bells and whistles and try Firefox when posting on BU. It seems WordPress has a hard time with IE browsers which have certain addins.

35. @ Adrian

But don’t you think ‘giving what money we could afford’ represents those in the story who contributed grandly to the treasury?
    The thing about the widow was that she gave her all, pittance though it was.

What money what?!
    ..two dub fetes and a big-up party at Brian Lara’s house and the money raised….
    Perhaps our money just buys our conscience. What the suffering Haitians really NEED is medical help and a temporary shelter for those too broken to help themselves.

36. Sorry David – Safari
    …changed!

37. What the suffering Haitians really NEED is medical help and a temporary shelter for those too broken to help themselves.
    ———————————————–
    They do and they have. The Israelis were there within 3 days with their medical teams and set up a field hospital. Also the Cubans have been there with numerous medics . The Americans are there in force and have taken treated hundreds of people and have helped to get aid out.
    The UK has sent 10,000 emergency packs which each include tents that can house up to 10 people.
    There have been lots of appeals here Barbados can only do what it can do it cant send what it hasnt got!
    The military here usually send in a disaster team to emergencies in the region so I suppose it has done the same in this instance.

38. It is not a matter of principle. The matter is real, principles are not. Principles in particular the two from which you seek guidance on the Haiti relief matter, are static, and reference a time and a situation though similar is not exact in its realities to what was ask of us. We therefore should mould the principle to fit the situation. We gave and did so generously.

39. I was asking a family of mine who is an inspector of Police what we have done so far ……. It seems that we have sent containers to Haiti and more are being sent.

40. @ Adrian,

“Recieving “real” patients into a country with “real” issues and inefficiencies in its healthcare system, would be “really’ stupid, unless the symbolism of helping without being able to “really” help is all that matters.”

I guess despite the inefficiencies, the Bajans currently being successfully treated at the QEH are lucky because they are UNREAL patients.

Your position on this matter sits perfectly with the original theme of this thread and its title, as the more you speak the more your self-made burial becomes imminent.

41. Your position on this matter sits perfectly with the original theme of this thread and its title, as the more you speak the more your self-made burial becomes imminent.
    ————————————————-

Wait you plan to kill me then place the blame on me? lol! Needless to say that I don’t understand what you are saying. Maybe you wish for me to “go away?”

My guess is that I will die and you will not. Biting lips hard not to call you an idiot, but I am thinking it though. lol! chupse.

42. So then Adrian, am I to believe that, were the bushman again to find himself in the position of being your neighbour, and I were to arrive home one unfortunate evening to find my little shack flattened by fire and my six little pot starvers injured, starving and roofless, ….all I could expect from you would be a few sardines and an extra sheet?
    I would have expected, hard as things were with you and yours, that you would have taken in at least two of the pic’nees and maybe the wife till I could at least catch myself.

….now I hearing that you left 6 sardine cans, two cornbeef tins, and a bed sheet on my old step and lock all your doors….?

….dat don’t sound like my old neighbour at all.!!! You would have announced that ‘me casa es su casa’ … and meant it…. in the old days.

Wha dem yankees do to you A?

43. @ Bush Tea,

Give Adrian a break. He would have given you a big pot of porridge (oat meal) for the kids along with the case of sardines.

On a positive note : as of last Friday, ordinary Canadians, like me, had contributed $113,000,000 to the Haitian relief fund. The government promised to match these private funds $ for $ and was so surprised at the generosity of us Canadians, they announced that tomorrow is the DEADLINE to have one’s contributions matched.

You can still donate after that, but lo and behold, they aint giving anyting after tomorrow. They wanted to cap their contribution at fifty million, but people raised hell on the radio, the papers and phoned their MPs and they relented.

I love raising funds for my charities up here. Canadians are generous to a fault with their money, but just dont impose on their time! Dont ask any favour that takes up any of their time! They just never have time.

44. @ Adrian Hinds

I must admit that you were right about orthopaedic care being requested.

However, it was not the only request and my stance remains–we could have helped some of the amputees. A few beds, change of bandages, food and possibly some physiotheraphy.

45. Why thank you Enuff. I do try to be up on the FACTS of a situation.

@Bush Tea.
    There are so many holes in your little scenario, that I don’t know where to begin, but try I will.

1: I would hope that you were returning home from WORK. If not, and you were known to be aversed to work I might have been responsible for the fire. lol!

2: Any help I render is just that, and at some point rather sooner than later, the extent of my help will be made known. It would not be forever or any period of time that encourages dependentcy etc.

3: More help would be extended to children and for a longer period if I deem it worthwhile than to any adult.
    I will only help people who are actively helping themselves.

4:Of course I would seek to find out your plans going forward, and they better not be a “I don’t know, ” Because I wouldn’t care if that is the case. Now of course I would give you something to think about the future, because how much and what kind of help I give will be determine by your plans.

46. OUR CARIBBEAN: A US envoy’s ‘pressure’ on Barbados

Published on: 2/12/2010.

by RICKEY SINGH

THERE IS ONE THING the chargé d’affaires of the United States of America for Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean, Brent Hardt, should be quite pleased about as he continues with his media forays into regional issues of interest to him – and that is the very favourable coverage he enjoys in this country.

At the same time, as known, it is not unusual for American diplomats, not even of ambassadorial status, to cart their influence around – occasionally without any modesty – while carrying out their official functions. In the process they can over extend themselves in the anxiety to influence official policies and, unintentionally, upset governments to which they are accredited.

It has happened previously here and elsewhere in our Caribbean Community. Successive governments in Barbados have had to come to terms with such diplomatic faux pas – as viewed – and dealt with the sophistication required to preserve good relations with the government and people of the United States.

A current example of official concern is one involving the diplomat Brent Hardt and the Barbados Government in his handling of a request for this country to help provide medical care, of a special nature, for some of the Haitian victims of the January 12 earthquake devastation, among them amputees and others suffering from head and orthopaedic injuries.

Further, according to the request, that such Haitian patients be accompanied by a few close relatives while they recuperate in Barbados. On the surface, it seems an appealing humanitarian request.

However, if Hardt had no intention of embarrassing the David Thompson Administration, he may well have succeeded in doing just that by going public with his initiative AFTER being separately told that it was not possible by two cabinet ministers, BEFORE he made a written request for medical care for the injured Haitians.

He was advised that, regrettably, it was not practical at this time for the Government to provide such assistance, given existing demands for hospital beds and meeting specific domesic health care needs. Basically, in the words of a headline in last WEEKEND NATION: “Sorry, No Room”.

My understanding is that both Minister of Health Donville Inniss and Foreign Affairs Minister Maxine McClean had communicated to Hardt why his request could not realistically be entertained. Then followed the diplomat’s surprising letter which, to say the least, did not accurately reflect the ministerial positions that had been conveyed to him before his written request, as he made known to the media.

The question is, why? When he claimed, as reported, that the “significant medical capacity in the Caribbean” made these countries “well placed” to treat the injured Haitians, was Hardt speaking out of first-hand knowledge or assumption? And which of the other governments in the region had he communicated his request to before, or after, engaging the attention of the Foreign Affairs and Health Ministers of Barbados?

Perhaps when, as I understand, he receives an official written response to his request on behalf of the injured Haitians, we may learn why, in the first place, the Barbados Government had to suffer such an unnecessary inconvenience to explain to a United States diplomat its inability, at this stage, to offer the medical care needed by the injured Haitian earthquake victims. Why push Barbados on the defensive when, like other CARICOM states, it is also currently actively involved in various efforts to help the people of Haiti?

47. I hope you not using Rickey Singh to support your case Adrian…. All this says is what we always knew – Americans have no manners.

I like your response above though…
    “1: I would hope that you were returning home from WORK. If not, and you were known to be averse to work I might have been responsible for the fire. lol

…. brutally honest as always Ha Ha..

But Bush Tea done know that you get my point….

48. ha ha of course I get your point. Just having a difficult time applying it to the US request and our subsequent refusal to land Haitians here for orthopedic care. lol!

I wasn’t debating in a vacuum.

49. It’s a pity this thread was hijacked by the PDC. I too was at this funeral, and am a friend of Neville Springer, the brother of the deceased.

I am not saying that the conversation about Haiti has not been a useful one, but someone has said to me that the hijack was done deliberately to close down discussion about the Freemasons.

Are the PDC members of the Lodge? Do we need to know this, and about membership by all politicians and religious leaders?

I understand in the 1990s the UK House of Commons discussed such disclosure from members of the Police Force.

50. permres:
    The problem wid wunnuh bajans is that you all are too fearfull and like to hide behind a lot of nonsense as to why things occur. The Brother of the deceased should have stood his ground no matter the position of the person challenging him. This is what i mean by a symbol of a thing superceeding the thing it self. The reverend is presented as a servant of God, he is not God, and as such I would have embarress him for his rude behaviour, FREEMASON or no Freemason. Such a title is held by a man, who can bleed and feel pain just like I do.

I was once a Lodge man, and I had reason to embarress an elder in our lodge for his greed and his willingness to use his position to help himself to the Lodge finances. No fear from me.

Another story:
    I once had to put some licks a shoplifter. I then called the police for him. In court his lawyer with me in the dock started to relate his clients side of the story with the words “I AM PUTTING IT TO YOU”, then aks me to ANSWER. I said to him “answer to what?” you did not ask me a question, you made statement about things you know not of as you were not there. He then look at the Magistrate asking him to make me respond. I said the samething to Judge. I said to the Judge until he restate his comments making them the words of his clients I have nothing to respond to, he was not there. The Judge made him do as I said. Now I don’t know if I was within the law or not, but it felt right to me. If you wrong me no matter who you are I will never forget or forgive you, and these persons who like to unfair people must be made to realize that they will get old, retire, and become joe citizen again at some point.