For the past three weeks the world has remained horrified at the news coming out of Haiti. Much has been stated about the untold suffering which has been visited on Haiti throughout the years. The images beamed across the world by a Western press has exposed the destruction of Port au Prince now rubble, over one hundred thousand dead, over one hundred thousand people relegated to amputee status, and over one million people homeless.

As if the horrific scenes unfolding on a nightly basis was not enough to make grown men cry – delivered courtesy of CNN’s Anderson Cooper and Doctor cum journalist Sanjay Gupta – we have had to witness another horrific event although not being reported as such. How many Black children have been adopted, in the process of being adopted, or simply stolen from Haiti during this period of uncertainty and distress in Haiti? The images of Black children being taken legally or otherwise by White people from Haiti has been troubling to BU.

The turbulent history of Haiti which has led to an unstable political and economic environment has seen an exodus of Haitian bodies and minds now dispersed around the globe. The point which needs to be made may offend some. If we go by the many reports, Haitian children including babies labelled as orphans are being snapped up by White families in the USA. BU acknowledge the humanitarian response by those driven to adopt the many children which have been orphaned in Haiti. What must be acknowledged also is the reluctance of the Black Haitian middle class living in Haiti and many others living in the USA who appear to be sitting on the fence as the future of Haiti is being whisked away on planes on a daily basis.

What will happen to those Black Haitian children raised by White families in the USA? What kind of identity will these children develop? Will they be able to identify with the country where they were uprooted in the years to come? So many questions. BU suspects many of the babies removed from Haiti in the last three weeks will grow up knowing Haiti as a distant place. What effect will the removal of so many children have on the aspirations of a country which was struggling in the people resources before the earthquake?

The success of any nation is dependent on its people more importantly its children. The surrender of Haitians at home and abroad to the removal of its children without a whimper is of concern.

132 responses to “What About The Haitian Children?”

1. UNICEF is organizing teams to inspect
    orphanges.and locate avaiable bed space for children.
    Hopefully these missionaries would be
    prosecuted to full extent of the law.This
    would send a positive message to the world that the Haitian government is serious about protecting their children.

2. I’m just a wannabe DJ – Rub A Dub Soldier
    I like roots music such as jazz, soul, R&B, blues and contemporary music such as hip hop. In my small universe I am the chief rocka just like a Soldier

3. @Hopi, I agree, those who do the crime should do the time. However don’t give the imprssion that only white people traffic children.

4. @crossroads

You sound like those people who would say that black people sold themselves into slavery. Trafficking in human beings has always been a white man thing. They love to have slaves.

5. BU Should ban everyone for being too radical
    Stand Up To Your Judgement
    Death to Capitalism
    Death to English Colonialism
    Death to Traitors
    Death to Yankee Imperialists
    Death to Maoists
    Death…

6. Item 1 Evidence
    The Mighty Diamonds – Stand Up To Your Judgement – Roots Reggae

Stand Up To Your Judgement

7. More Diamonds –
    Roots Reggae
    Unruly Pickney
    Country Living

8. sorry that was another hyper typo link up above “⇧”
    Country Living*

9. Correction: They did’nt sell themselves, they were sold by their own family.

10. The Lyric Archive
    Twinkle Brothers lyrics
    Rasta Pon Top

11. On a more serious note,it is sad to see that the US Army is now being used to invade sovereign countries just so some wicked fake Jews can rule the whole world at their own pleasure,,these people need to be rounded up by the masses as soon as possible or we will all be going down..for fake Jews and their wicked policies.
    http://www.infowars.com/not-your-fathers-army/

12. The Difference Between Old School & New School
    Categories :
    • BDP
    • Beastie Boys
    • Big Daddy Kane
    • Dancehall
    • Disco
    • DJ
    • EPMD
    • Juice Crew
    • Kool G Rap
    • MC Lyte
    • MC Shan
    • Public Enemy
    • R & B
    • Rakim
    • Rap
    • Slick rick
    • Soul

13. [Milk]
    Do you understand the metaphoric phrase ‘Lyte as a Rock?’
    It’s explaining, how heavy the young lady is
    You know what I’m saying King?

[King of Chill]
    Yes my brother, but I would consider ‘Lyte as a Rock’
    a simile because of the usage of the word ‘as’
    And now.. directly from the planet of Brooklyn
    MC Lyte — as a Rock!
    MC Lyte :
    I Cram To Understand U

14. Mass vaccination planned for Haitian people under the guise of curtailing infectious diseases …now we are seeing the real reason the US Army is down there….oh yes kids first everyone else after..mass sterilization campaign on the way..and what ever else is in those needles..Hopi…the Haitians look doomed yuh…some sort of Voodoo better start working soon yuh.
    http://news.xinhuanet.com/english2010/health/2010-02/03/c_13161607.htm

15. Don’t be surprised if we hear about some new strain of H1N1 or some other new killer disease that will obviously have been started by those dirty Haitians coming from the corporate owned mainstream media to push some new killer vaccine that they already have stockpiled in a warehouse belonging to Donald Rumsfield and associates….wait and see..then scare the whole world by telling us it is a worldwide pandemic…AGAIN…..remember..you read it first here from us Bajans.

16. This message is for the fake Jews and New World Order pussies……you can fool some people sometimes..but you can’t fool all the people all the time..remember that imbeciles.

17. Hear The River Jordan
    I’ve got to be holy
    Walking into Jerusalem
    Just like that

nyabinghi
    </a

18. The UN has warned Haitian hospitals that are charging patients fees for drugs
    that they would cut off their supply if they are found doing so.

19. Rok
    You sound like those people who would say that black people sold themselves into slavery. Trafficking in human beings has always been a white man thing. They love to have slaves.
    ——————————————–
    Wrong trafficking in human beings has always been a black man thing.
    The slave trade in Africa went two ways West and East. Slaves were taken to the Middle East -black men sold by black men.
    Slavery still exists in the Sudan .
    No white men there.
    White people usually women and children have also been sold for the slave trade for the harems of Morocco and the Middle East.

20. The people who gave their children to be adopted by missionaries did so freely in the hope that the children would have a better life than growing up in poverty and now earth quake ravaged Haiti.

21. @David

What is your view on the fact that Barbados has refused to accept one injured Haitian into the country?

22. I think the decision made by Barbados was hastily and not well though out. Afterall with Barbados looking for tourist
    from other countries in the world this would have been an opportunity for Barbados to show the world that we truly
    care just by going that extra mile to help
    even if it was one victim.

23. Swiss Government freeze all of baby”Doc
    assests ?

24. UShas committed another additional one million dollars to fight child trafficking in haiti.

25. The state in Haiti has not been that of a culture for many years, the every day life of a child living there has been fear, that his limbs will be chopped off by militia, getting raped by a junkie while he looks through a garbage heap for the scraps that will sell for a mud cake to eat, when given this reality, that it could get worse, seriously, culture will be the last of his worries. Its very important that systems are there to protect the children given to adoption, but when all is said and done, it could be easier for a nation such as Haiti to have a chance at a better future if their orphans are cared for by other richer nations and those who are left can put their finances into a better future and a renewed culture without fear for their future children and perhaps a better culture that the orphans of this earthquake can return to.