Homosexuality Maybe Linked To Our Ancestral Experience

Submitted as a comment by Junior Burchall in response to a commenter

homosexualityThere’s so much that I could take apart in your response (the false equating of homosexuality with paedophilia; the focus on anal sex, which effectively erases the reality of women who love and have sex with women; the pseudo-fact that ‘most homosexuals in the first world belong to the upper social and economic strata’ in their home nations –  I’d love to see the data on that!), but I think I’ll narrow my focus a bit and deal with, as you say, ‘our ancestral experience’.

Allow me to take you on a quick tour of what our family was into on the continent…..well before the first European landed there. Your whole ‘it’s against nature’  argument is at best, intellectually dishonest. I mean, nature has ingenious ways of allocating the limited resources found on the planet in ways that will ensure optimal species balance, infertility and same-gender interactions are but two of the built-in mechanisms that allow the ecological balance to be maintained, …and, let’s be real: we humans have always used our body parts for the achievement of multiple aims – hands for masturbation, mouths for cunnilingus and fellatio, etc etc, etc –, so are we to conclude that these pleasurable practices should be done away with simply because the body part in question was not primarily designed for this purpose?

Afrocentric homophobes (an oxymoron if there ever was one!) are fond of claiming that homosexuality was the result of an alien cultural incursion and that, prior to the arrival of the whites and Arabs, nary a batty bwoy could be found…seen, seen…..yet, among the Maale of southern Ethiopia, men who took on female roles and had sexual relationships were called ASHTIME. Among the Meru (of Kenya), same-gender loving [SGL] relationships were seen as normal. indeed, some Meru who occupied positions of religious leadership (they were known as MUGAWE) often wore women’s clothes and hairstyles. they were also sometimes married to men. These PRECOLONIAL expressions of sexuality and gender-identity fly in the face of impassioned pronouncements within the ‘conscious’ community that SGL is un-Afrikan.

Prior to the invasions – first by the Arabs and then by the whites – our Ancestors understood that Spirit is in all things and manifests itself in ways too numerous to mention. as such, they saw sexual expression as fluid, rather than fixed, and were not disturbed in the slightest by SGL spiritual manifestation. A similar worldview can be seen among the Red Earth Peoples (so-called ‘native Americans’).

Ironically, the ‘either/or’ essentialist dichotomies that are presently being misapplied as logical arguments by some Black folks were actually the gifts of the lesser minds with bigger weapons of destruction against whom they – the ‘conscious’ – CLAIM to stand in defiance.

A point of disagreement, Brother Daniels: since gays, lesbians, bisexuals and transgendered people are most definitely to be counted amongst those who would self-identify as Black – and have been a part of OUR continental and Diasporan community from the beginning – there is no separation whatsoever between the Black struggle and the recognition of gay and lesbian humanity/ equality, the struggle is one and the same….and to embrace any other view is to put paid to any genuine aspirations for the creation of a revolutionary, liberatory pan-African movement.

I await your reply, Brother.

Tags: , ,

264 Comments on “Homosexuality Maybe Linked To Our Ancestral Experience”

  1. Bonny Peppa August 4, 2009 at 9:46 PM #

    Mongoose,
    I doan kno’ if ROK black, green, blue or purple but one ting I kno’ fa sure, he sexy as c*%t. I would kiss he all ova now.

    Bowman,
    Can’t you follow simple instructions? I specifically told you in standard English that you could understand; go and play with your likkle balls and stop humbugging de place, ya humbug.
    It sounds to me like you have ‘an axe to grind’ with BU and not Negroman per se. You want wuk.

    Like

  2. Technician August 4, 2009 at 9:48 PM #

    Jack Bowman // August 4, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    No, the subliterate racist comments of the mindless little moron do NOT alter the fact that she is gone. But it’s a moot point if she would still be with us, and with her family, if someone had kept a leash on the comments of the ludicrous cunt that you defend.

    Stop playing your ridiculous game. It costs lives.

    So now NM is to blame for the death too?!?

    Jackass Bullman……run home man….ya mudda wanna pee!!

    Like

  3. Bonny Peppa August 4, 2009 at 9:54 PM #

    Yeah Bowman, run real fasssssssss, she bladda burning she realllllllllllllll baddddddddddddddddddd. Hurry uup c^&t.

    Like

  4. Mongoose August 4, 2009 at 10:01 PM #

    ROK, the Mongoose is not only prides itself on eyesight but also, how to deal with hissing snakes.

    Like

  5. Jack Bowman August 4, 2009 at 10:33 PM #

    So just try to let ne get this straight, amid the tiresome mewling of the racist middle-aged children.

    A Canadian tourist was murdered on a beach in Barbados.

    A commenter on Barbados Underground, endorsed by the owner of Barbados Underground, says that the victim of the Barbadian murderer is “white trash” [sic]
    He seeks to insult the innocent dead, but he’s so incompetent that he can’t even spell his
    insult.

    And then a man who apparently “leads” something, a man with the moral imagination of paint, says “This Bowman is a Jew/”

    And NOBODY says: “Mr. Negroman. Perhaps you need a little lie-down. Perhaps you are a comical little Nazi twat who needs a rest.” Nobody.

    David: your blog is in violation of the WordPress terms of service. My suggestion: deal with all your little Nazi twats now, rather than tomorrow.

    An elderly Canadian woman, a tourist on this island, was murdered on Long Beach. The opinion of your contributor “Negroman” about that: the murder victim was expendable white trash.

    Your response, David: zero. Your responsibility: optimal.

    All best wishes for Crap-over.

    Without question we’ll be in touch soon.

    Like

  6. victor August 4, 2009 at 11:29 PM #

    Can nobody teII me what a “humbug” sometimes written “hum bug” is? I’ve been trying to find out for ages.

    Like

  7. J August 4, 2009 at 11:32 PM #

    From all accounts Mrs. Swartzfeld was a good decent woman.

    No human being is trash or thrash.

    Negroman is an idiot and I’ve said so many times before, and it looks as though I’ll have to say so many more times.

    And he is not a Bajan either.

    He is a stupid Guyanese.

    No wonder Guyana is such a frigged up place.

    Like

  8. J August 4, 2009 at 11:34 PM #

    Dear victor:

    humbug=pain in the ass

    Like

  9. Anonymous August 5, 2009 at 12:06 AM #

    J

    Why you trying to appease Bowman? He is probably one of those white people that think they can walk about and terrorise people.

    He think he can come here and quote law to intimidate somebody; another foolbert.

    Like

  10. ROK August 5, 2009 at 12:07 AM #

    Sorry, that was me.

    Like

  11. ROK August 5, 2009 at 12:19 AM #

    “David: your blog is in violation of the WordPress terms of service. My suggestion: deal with all your little Nazi twats now, rather than tomorrow.”

    Loooooorrrrrrrddddd, jackass bowman powerful enough. Like he is a terrorist. He claiming to be a nazi too. My Lord, he is a facist. David, you need to inform the world police that we got a facist/terrorist invasion here. A persecutor of human souls.

    Like

  12. J August 5, 2009 at 12:27 AM #

    Dear ROK:

    I am not trying to appease Jack Bowman or ROK or anybody else.

    I am simply telling the truth.

    J does not do appeasment.

    Like

  13. ROK August 5, 2009 at 12:30 AM #

    Bonny Peppa,

    You going give that husband of yours a heart attack? Or that is the plan? Like you is a face-ist too???

    Like

  14. Bimbro August 5, 2009 at 4:33 AM #

    Did the Europeans ever apologized?

    **********

    Negroman, I think they did! They held a service at Westminster Cathedral about two years ago, at which Tony Blair apologised for slavery, so, I guess that they did!!

    Laaaaaaddddddddddddddd!!

    *******

    Mr. Negroman, can you explain to us why Mrs. Schwarzfeld is “nothing but white trash”?

    Thanks.

    ******************

    Jack, I think he explained why, in HIS opinion they are, at 02.18! Peruse again!! Obviously, not everybody will agree with him! I, for one, do not, at least, not completely!!

    *********

    “No human being can be considered garbage, not even those who suffered under slavery like ROK and Negroman.”

    *********

    Themis, this might seem not to require saying but, they DID N’T suffer under slavery because they’re not that old! Under post-slavery perhaps, but not the real thing!!

    Jack, wha is d significance uh Spain!! I missing someting day, bo!!

    Thanks for the defense, Bonny! I don’t knowingly, read his posts any more, anyway, so it does n’t matter what he says!!

    Jack, why does your style of writing remind me of our ‘friends’ at BFP! Come on now, be honest!! Is that who u are?!! Because, if that’s who u r, u don’t allow ‘ my quite innocuous contributions yet feel able to come here and post whenever u like!!

    **********

    “David: your blog is in violation of the WordPress terms of service. My suggestion: deal with all your little Nazi twats now, rather than tomorrow.”

    *********

    Well, I think that’s, pretty much, confirmation of my suspicion!

    Folks, we need to realise that Jack may either be white himself, or, have white members of his family and perhaps, thus, be more circumspect in our remarks?!

    ROK, no, he’s accusing people like u and Negroman man of being Nazis, not saying that he’s one!!

    I can understand the anger of some of my bros and sis re: slavery but we still have to acknowledge that there are many decent white people in this world and can’t, if we desire to be taken seriously, accuse them all of being evil bastards! That simply would n’t be true or being realistic!!

    Sorry to disagree wid u ROK, but, u can’t b being entirely serious now, can u bro!!

    Like

  15. Bonny Peppa August 5, 2009 at 7:44 AM #

    J
    Negroman referring to this lady as white trash doesn’t make her trash the same way you calling him a GT banna illiterate idiot make him one. Agree? But that is again, your opinion.
    Get my pointa?

    ROK,
    Yes, I’m YOUR face-ist and yours alone.Ya cute lil’ cup-cake. (smoochhh)

    Bowman,
    Why don’t you leave BU family and go back and nestle on your batch of addle eggs. Klown.

    Bimbro,
    You kno’ dat Bonny would defen you at all cost. No questions asked. Ya devil.

    Like

  16. Terence M. Blackett August 5, 2009 at 10:15 AM #

    “GOOD GOD” – I heard BU was the MATRIX* of wordpress BLOGS but after reading a few comments today all I can say is WOW!!!!

    Like

  17. ROK August 5, 2009 at 10:34 AM #

    @Bimbro

    You ever hear the saying that when you see a man fishing in a dry pond you should leave him alone, because he know what he doing?

    Well I ain’t too good at English and I real sensitive and emotional. When I see certain words electric sparks does hit me. I don’t know where the electricity does come from but it is like 400 volts up my spine and into the mole of my head; you understand?

    Like

  18. Negroman August 5, 2009 at 11:33 AM #

    J
    As an elder I will not respond to your comments.It is an African Custom to respect your elders and I will honour that custom by ignoring you.

    Jack Bowman
    The unfortunate death of any white Canadian cannot replaced the millions of Black Africans who died as a result of slavery.

    Jack Bowman
    The threat of reporting what I said to Canadian Media will never change my views on the subject.I believe you can even carry it further by reporting what I said to Canadian Mounted Police,The FBI,CIA,Barbados Police Force,Barbados Tourism Authority or any other organization whatsoever .I am not scare.

    White People have done the most despicable acts imaginably to other ethnic groups of this world.When Blacks slaves were being executed,it was a social event where the white bastards drank alcohol,danced and made merry while Black People were being executed.

    Jack Bowman & the rest injustices were meted out to my unfortunate Black African ancestors and the white Europeans have not offered any apologies and furthermore they do not even want to discuss the issue of reparations.

    I will not apology for my statements to you or anybody else.I stand by what I posted.

    Like

  19. Anonymous August 5, 2009 at 12:14 PM #

    Bimbro I must disagree to some extent with you there; It amuses me that there were allllll these good white people and yet …… slavery was/is legal for centuries. So these sincere people didn’t have a voice for all those centuries…… to ask their fellowmen if slavery was humane? The Queen then really hurt us when she knighted John Hawkins and Francis Drakes with the laughable titles of Sir and this was for conquoring nations and worst of alll wiping out families with their hopes aspirations and worst of all their dignity!

    Naaaaa ….. not buying it they didnt want to say anything cause they were busy getting rich off of our backs!

    They then invited us to come to the MOTHER COUNTRY (what a laugh) and we were treated just as bad. I have many relatives who ‘reminisce’ about their life in the UK. Like you they readily admit that some persons were very nice but they lamented about derogatory and insulting treatment and statements that were meshed out to them.

    Secondly, why didn’t Mr. Blair compensate us with some diamonds, blood sweat and tears and loads of jewels, statues etc. that were stolen from Africa.

    What you want to bet me that if persons with Ancestors from the African continent had to disregard the religion factor and agree that we have been used abused and insulted enough. And that all of us will not stand for it anymore. I bet you that this entire planet would shut down. cause there will be no more Jackasses for a fellow to ride!

    I like your spirit Bimbro but I cant agree with your analysis I aint buying it!

    Like

  20. Bimbro August 5, 2009 at 12:42 PM #

    Bonny, ur one romantic devil!! I doan know wha tuh say!!

    Laddddddddddddddd!!

    ROK, no, which electric-words do u mean!!

    *****************

    “The Queen then really hurt us when she knighted John Hawkins and Francis Drakes with the laughable titles of Sir………”

    *******

    Anonymous, I don’t usually respond to anonymous posters. Please give urself a name so we can know who we’re addressing! However, re: your quote, all I can say is that, “you’ve got a long memory”!!

    Laaaaddddddddddddd!!

    Plus, I’m certain the gentlemen involved received their knighthoods for services other than in respect of slavery!! Keep things in perspective, bro!! For instance, when I was in Bim it was conventional to thrash your child, if u so saw fit, to within an inch of it’s life! I doubt whether that practice continues today – moral of the lesson being – ‘different strokes for different times’ – as per slavery!! I also, remind u that we were n’t the only people ever to be held in slavery!! plus, remind u of our own people’s involvement in ‘the evil trade’!!

    Mr Blair convened a very formal and official service at our most important cathedral here in London, about three years ago, at which he apologised for slavery! So everything’s alright now!!

    ***********

    “What you want to bet me that if persons with Ancestors from the African continent had to disregard the religion factor and agree that we have been used abused and insulted enough. And that all of us will not stand for it anymore. I bet you that this entire planet would shut down. cause there will be no more Jackasses for a fellow to ride!”

    *************

    Anonymous, that could n’t possibly happen. Unfortunately, u and many other West Indians delude urselves that Africans give a **** about us!! I reiterate, ur fooling yourselves! I think, given half a chance, they’d drown us all in the sea – I shoud know, I live among them here, in the UK!!

    Thanks for the input A, and see u soon again, hopefully, this time with a name!!

    Like

  21. Bonny Peppa August 5, 2009 at 12:44 PM #

    Negroman,
    Wait, how you kno’ dat J is a elda?You got dah kinda vision?Man tek she on man. Beg you African Custom fa a few minits an tek she on man.
    I is a elda too and I does get tek on real cruel sumtimes bout hay.

    Bonny is a ‘struction-mekka’ taday.

    Anonymous,
    You like my spirit too? If you like Bimbro’s ya gotta like mine too. We is one, see?

    Like

  22. Bonny Peppa August 5, 2009 at 12:55 PM #

    Bimbro,
    If you mus’ ask, one such word is Bonny,another is Peppa. Referring to ROK an’ dem electrik sparks. You cud ask he fa de ress.

    Like

  23. Negroman August 5, 2009 at 1:07 PM #

    Bonny Peppa my darling sweetheart that 12 inch thing like it still got you dizzy.
    Tuh too sweet my dear.Luv yuh.

    Yes J is an elder all of us know that and as a rule I try not to disrespect my Black elders.

    J with her brilliant English skills has not posted any significant contributions to this blog.She is a nit-picker who deals with trivia.She is brainless & a simpleton.

    Jack Bowman where are you I am waiting for your reply.

    Come & challenge me yuh scum bag & human rat

    Like

  24. Anonymous August 5, 2009 at 1:16 PM #

    Bimbro so because he went into a church all is good oh come on Bimb

    And I never said to go back to Africa I meant if all of us stood firm and treated each other with respect forgetting about religion we would be a force to reckon with. THAT IS A FACT!

    But our problem is that we continue to know who we are and sell ourselves short! We could be great entrepreneurs if we could only stop red eye each other!

    We were taught well!

    Like

  25. Bonny Peppa August 5, 2009 at 1:23 PM #

    Negroman
    My plum-puddin.Be careful how you addressin’ me cause ROK could be very jealous at times. Jus’ be careful. He never mixes business wid pleasure.(teehee)
    Where do you get your names from. First it was rat-catchers and mango-sellers not you refer to Bowman as a human-rat. Dat is a classic. Luv um.

    JackAss Bowman ya human rat.
    Lorddddddddddddd help ma.

    Negro, you just ain’t easy a’ tall.

    Like

  26. Themis August 5, 2009 at 2:10 PM #

    And Jack Bowman, while you may think you can write in the Queen’s English., you clearly cannot read it well enough to understand it. You have completely misquoted me!

    Like

  27. J August 5, 2009 at 3:54 PM #

    J ..brilliant English skills..she is a nit-picker who deals with trivia.She is brainless & a simpleton.

    Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  28. RN August 5, 2009 at 5:47 PM #

    @Bonny Peppa…….I too am a vessel.

    Wait…you’re a WOMAN, Hopi?? Ok. Cool. I knew I liked you. But I was beginning to wonder about you after your last post to me:

    @RN…….This is my last question to you for the day, I promise! But pleeze answer dis one….

    Why are so many of your men unhappy and insecure with their ‘little tools’ to the point where they are getting EXTENSIONS?

    You ain’t never had white meat yet, Hopi? Like so many of your beautiful and loving black sisters?

    I know you’re enlightened and don’t have a problem with all white men. You already said so on the Boardwalk thread:

    “Hopi // July 20, 2009 at 11:55 pm

    @RN…….My problem isn’t the white man you know, its with US. We seem to ‘thrive’ in IGNORANCE! We aid and abet the enemy in our destruction.”

    Yep, you got that right.

    Ignorance is everywhere, and has no colour…

    Like

  29. Hopi August 6, 2009 at 12:33 AM #

    @RN……………Why you don’t answer all my questions though?

    De only white meat I had was pork and I done wid dat too, since I learned that it is a hybrid of a wild boar and de white man. Is dat true?

    But on this IGNORANCE let me tell you something. We Black people got de market cornered.

    Like

  30. Bimbro August 6, 2009 at 2:22 AM #

    Ok everybody. See u pun ‘De Race Card’ blog!!

    An Dave, I in rating nutten!!

    Like

  31. Bonny Peppa August 6, 2009 at 9:48 AM #

    Bimbro,
    Dah doan mean dat you in gun get rate. ya kno’ de butchers gun be waitin’ to slawta you. Doan mine dah, I gun rate you good evry time. I deceitful so. Tek dah. (smoochesssssssss)

    I luv de ratin’ ting man.

    Like

  32. Bimbro August 6, 2009 at 12:28 PM #

    Ok, Bonny, thank you and love to you too!!

    Like

  33. Jack Bowman August 6, 2009 at 2:08 PM #

    @ ROK

    Oddly, the hyperlink that your signature provides, to link visitors to your NGO site, no longer works. Could you give us an alternative internet address?

    Many thanks.

    Like

  34. ROK August 6, 2009 at 3:36 PM #

    The hyperlink probably knows who it wants to let in. I have not changed anything… but very funny you want to get on the website, what you looking to do now, stir up trouble? Well look for another website. Ask Negroman for his.

    The official BANGO website is a closed site and accessed by members only. Our listserve again is for members only. If you are talking about our blogsite it is http://bangospeaks.blogspot.com and an information site on the igloo platform.

    Like

  35. iWatchya September 7, 2009 at 11:06 AM #

    ROK:

    http://www.virtualglobaltaskforce.com/

    Please check out this website and take a look at the links for law enforcement. Quite easy to make a report for these corrupt people to be aprehended.

    Perchance, do you have a daughter? I am amazed that you could to callously brag about this on the internet. Do the right thing. Please.

    Like

  36. Mr... May 19, 2010 at 10:01 PM #

    ROK and Negroman are both lacking knowledge and are obviously racist by their comments…

    Like

  37. Donna Yearwood October 31, 2016 at 1:58 PM #

    Shouldn’t it be “may be linked”?

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sick Women « Barbados BlogWatch - May 19, 2010

    […] is solely in that context that we reproduce, without comment and from the international public record at Barbados Underground, Mr. King’s statements about “sick women”: “Let me tell you how […]

    Like

  2. Winner finally chosen in that much anticipated contest to select the best Bajan tourism slogan for the Barbados high season 2014–2015 | Barbados BlogWatch - March 11, 2014

    […] Bonny Peppa my sweetheart & darling.Greetings. The elimination & extinction of sub-human,hal… […]

    Like

Join in the discussion, you never know how expressing your view may make a difference.

