Submitted by The Scout

rope-nooseQuite recently, the then Foreign Affairs The Hon. Chis Sinckler signed an agreement to retain the death sentence in Barbados, However, we have all come to realize that this is just a formality, since any attempt at carrying out that sentence is blocked even if it meant convening a court session in the middle of the night. All kinds of arguments about human rights are brought up by the Caribbean and the World human rights association/societies.

At present, we have a number of murderers in prison, some who are still eligible to be hung, yet it seems we’re purposely waiting for the time to expire just to keep them at the expense of the taxpayers of this country. While we in Barbados who are members of the CCJ are reluctant in carrying out the death sentence, St.Kitts, a member of the British Privy Council, at 8.A.M today 19th December 2008, hung a man who two years ago murdered his wife.

Will this hanging open the door to such executions in Barbados?

With so many murders being committed in our neighbouring countries and the influx of all kinds of people into Barbados, we need to send a strong message to those who think they can come here and get off easily. I urge the powers that be to take another look at not just retaining the death sentence but for heinous crimes implement such.

175 responses to “Recent Public Execution In St.Kitts”

1. Death is very final and for a society to adopt the death penalty is to me in this 21st Century the sure sign of a backward society – and I do not believe that Barbados is that.

But it is, this society backward as hell and full ah hypocrites

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhh

2. BAFBFP // December 22, 2008 at 6:45 am. Thanks. Many years ago, I had to do a lot of soul searching on this issue and I also did a lot of research.

Gear Box // December 22, 2008 at 6:47 am. Difficult and very personal to each individual and most of them spout without actually knowing what they are spouting about. If one is going to take someone’s life away in a cold, judicial manner, then maybe it is a good idea first to know exactly what process is involved.

3. @ BWWR
    I don’t suppose that you ever did any such research into the plight of the victims of murder and of their families….
    …or is it OK to just say sorry to them?

4. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

BAFBFP // December 22, 2008 at 6:45 am

BWWR
    By far and away the most intelligent comment to date on this sordid topic.
    ————————————

I agree! Well said BWWR.

5. Bush Tea // December 22, 2008 at 7:37 am . Not worthy of you at all, Bush Tea, you are much better than your comment which shows no thought or thoughtfulness – a first (and hopefully last) for you.

Of course I researched the matter from the point of view of the victims and I am neither stupid nor unfeeling. Each of us has to weigh the matter for ourselves and come to our own determination. However, we must look at it from ALL sides and not just make cursory decisions. Most murders are committed in HOT blood, not cold. An execution is carried out in COLD blood. Most murders are committed when someone is under some sort of influence, whether it be drugs, unrequited love or psychological and psyciatric reasons. Executions have none of these mitigating factors. ALSO, as we have seen from the USA recently, many murder convictions have been overturned once reexamined in light of DNA – and the World has not stopped turning, so we can expect even greater scientific and other breat throughs in the years and centuries to come.

Anyway, I said this was a matter of personal conscience. My belief is that executions are barbaric and revenge-motivated and I have a strong personal prejudice against both. And also if there is the SLIGHTEST possibility of an innocent person being put to death, then the death penalty has got to go.

Now, you can preach all you want about victims and their families, but the victim is dead and past all pain and the family is going to have to cope with their pain no matter what and I have found that the best way of doing that is on my knees praying to my creator to give me the strength to follow the teachings of Our Lord when he was unjustly put to death. The other way is revenge that that Lord says is HIS. This is my personal belief. I do not impose it on anyone else, I merely now state it. If I try to folow what I perceive as being what my Creator would wish me to do, I would also NOT want to, under the cover of state-sanctioned murder, involve other people (like warders and doctors and priests and family) in something which does not remove pain, but rather exaccerbates that pain and increases the number of people hurt and adversely affected.

Finally, Bush Tea, you are inexcusably presumptuous in assuming that I myself am not related or was close to the victim or victims of murder (s). You have no idea of what I may or may not have undergone in my thought process to reconcile any loss I may have sustained. If you peronally have suffered through the aftermath of someone close being murdered, then your presumption is mitigated, but not excused. If you have not, how DARE you.

Maybe a little reality on your part would be a good thing.

6. should hang all those convicted of muder here in Barbados too

7. David I tell yah change sides while you still can…

Final call for Georgie Porgie …

8. @ The Scout Dec 21, 2008 at 4:39pm

You asked: “If you were faced in a situation with another person and it was a case of you taking his/her life or that person taking yours. What would you do?

You thought I evaded the question…so here goes.

In a situation as you have described perhaps I should say I would blow his/her head off, but that notion is stopped by training. I would aim for the larger body mass and in that mass the heart as I might never get another round off. That is the reality of the situation you have described, and I would not hesitate.

However, that is a different situation from asking the state in my name to carry out legalised executions, but we can as you suggested leave it there.

Have a nice Christmas you and yours and don’t forget to do a little exercise between all this feasting.

May you walk a golden path overarched with peace and tranquillity.

BWWR
    A very good exposition, to the point.

9. BAFBFP
    I’m listening Sir.
    You know already just what I am going to say, and from whence I’m going to quote. So why should I bother?
    What I have to say will make no difference.

10. Man no man Doc, yah gotta say something, hold a side, tek some lashes…!

you must have this year a BUDOTY (BU Debater of the year) announcement base on a vote. MME did pun he own fah too long, but now we got a last minuite surge by BWWR, could be close. Wah you say?

11. BAFBFP

I believe in the death penalty on the basis of the scriptural injunctions. I do understand the opinions of those who point out the difficulties and intricacies of deciding whether one is guilty or not. I suppose that is why the original Genesis injunction was slightly modified with the concept of the cities of refuge in Joshia20 etc.

Now I have said something, held a side and will now tek some lashes. Lol.

You know I blog on a medical site and these jokers dont understand the principles you stated. They react negatively to everything that they dont agree with…….they dont think that lashes should be shared, as we Bajans do.

Best wishes for the holidays to all BU participants in 2008. It has been great fun – lashes and all. As man………
    Man no man Doc, yah gotta say something, hold a side, tek some lashes…!

12. Over the last two years there have been at least two cases in Barbados of repeat killers before the courts. Disconcertingly, they got convicted of manslaughter (again) and may be released in about 12 years time.

If we do not wish to apply the death penalty then please make life imprisonment really mean that… imprisonment for the rest of the killer’s natural life.

But then the bleeding hearts will say that too is cruel and unusual.

13. CarsonC

You like you would just hang a man because of his ethnicity based on your argument. Um doan wuk so CC.

14. […] bloggers Gallimaufry and Barbados Underground take note of the recent execution of a convicted murderer in St. Kitts. Posted by Janine […]

15. […] bloggers Gallimaufry and Barbados Underground take note of the recent execution of a convicted murderer in St. Kitts. Posted by Janine […]

16. Georgie Porgie

Most Doctors I know are egomaniacs. The responses that you would get on the medical blog would therefore not surprise me.

I am glad that you are at least accepting that the determination of guilt is a technical, increasingly scientific process and that the justice systems around the world seem slow in their desire to appreciate and keep abreast of pertinent developments.

But on the subject of “first do no harm”… that’s alright, I’ll soon be cracking my first bottle of wine so in the spirit of things I wish you too and the rest of you the very best for the season and the New Year. (From this I exclude anyone who would refer to people like me as “bleeding hearts”)

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BONNY PEPPA

“You like you would just hang a man because of his ethnicity based on your argument.”

That is what YOU are doing.

18. CarsonC
    I rest my case. Have a jolly, merry Christmas.

19. BWWR wrote “I agree with the executioner and I stabd by my statement that executions are a soft option for governments”

I don’t normally agree with BWWR, but in this instance HE is right.

20. J, you really are a complete idiot, whether you agree with me (she and proud of it) or not. If you agree, I may just have to consider that I am completely wrong.

21. opinions are verbal farts my friends. might mean something to you due to the content of your digestion of topic…but it stinks to some, is good for you, and ultimately dissipates into the air, with little memory of it afterwards! if talk was money boy, all a’we would be rolling in the dough!

22. CARSON CODOGAN
    You are a real fool——-with a massive chip on your shoulder. Get over it man–everything is not about black and white.
    To answer-your question–no–white people in Bim do not kill each other. They are too smart to SHIT on their own doorstep.
    To say that investigations in murder are abandoned because they point to a white man, is utter foolish, uneducated raving by a fool.The investigators are all black in BIM and i am sure that they would love nothing better than to convict a white man.However,they are honest, abiding citizens and that is why they hold such jobs. Thak goodness you are not one of them.You are blinded by hate and jealousy.Get off your ass and do a decent days work–AND__get over it.

23. Rum Pig, Carson has irked you to respond so honestly. Problem with the Carsons of BIM, and the world is, that whereas the rest of the world tries to move forward in a productive, progressive motion, he and they are held back by their own chains that bind them. Black or white… people commit crimes against man. But no, to my knowledge either, there are no whites in Dodds doing time for murder, rape, or other physical hideous crimes. Neither are they Muslims, and I wager abet against any Chinese. If Carson did a little introspection, he would see that the other races in this Island have a mindset of forward motion. Thus the thriving businesses to which they put their hard working hands, they do not sit back and wait to be “unleached” and “freed”. Freedom is in the mind Carson.. definitely get over it. No one owes you, or any other person on this planet a damned thing. You want to bring race into things that clearly simply stem from ignorance. If you don’t like the colour of your skin, and all the negative intonations that it evokes, go hide in a cave, as that is where your mentality clearly lives. ALL of Barbados’s governmental positions are held by intelligent, self-propelled individuals who do not think that they are owed anything but make a difference, and perhaps educate clowns like you to see the light of day….grow up!

24. Well said Annonymous. There is nothing more restricting than the chains of your mind.
    Carson is shackled and the poor bugger cant free himself.Let us pity him

25. Carson C.
    Man, Anonymous and Rum Pig, by de way, I love de name Rum Pig, giving you licks like fyah man. Licks well deserved doe. You evva hear dat it is betta ta keep ya mout shut and leh people tink dat ya is a idiot dan to open it an’ prove dem right? Well nex’ time , keep yours zippedddddddddd.